Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

DeVry University

  • DeVry University Reviews

    Ranking: #74
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association

2.7
140 Reviews
5 22 
4 36 
3 13 
2 25 
1 44 
0 0 

DeVry University Reviews:

very good program

Technical Management - May 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DeVry is like anything in life. If you are willing to work hard, you will succeed. I am only three classes away from my BA and then on to my MBA. I am currently deployed in the Middle East with the Air National Guard. I have wife and kids and work 50 hours per week and in the private sector. I have many challenges, but DeVry is not one of them. The pace is very fast and only for the self disciplined. It has given me hope for a second chance. Thanks DeVry!!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Good Choice, Perfect Fit For Me

Technical Management - November 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree from DeVry University in 2010 and I'm very happy to be working in my current field. At six months from graduation I got a job in my field (IT) and was well prepared for the job. I however opted for a more managerial/business side of the field and took another job with better pay. The professors are very knowledgeable. If you can manage your time right the help and support is there. Excellent use of technology to say the least. The degree got me the interview, my skills got me the job.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Technical Management

Technical Management - August 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended DeVry in the mid 80's in Kansas City, Missouri before it became a corperation that is only interested in making money. The classes back then where very technical and advanced and you learned a lot. EVERYONE was getting a job if you where a graduate from Devry. Now in 2008 and above, it is very easy to get A's at Devry. They have really dumbed down the classes. My advise would be to go to a community college then a state college and get the same degree for less than half the price.Devry is too expensive.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful

I wish I saw this review before I went there!

Technical Management - June 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish I had seen this review before I enrolled in this school. I went to the "online" school because I am an older student with a full time job and children, and could not swing the "brick and mortar" for my bachelors. DeVry is expensive. Customer service sucked. I got the BSTM with concentration in Operations Management. Big mistake. I should have just not gone back to college because I can't get a job in my field at that level. Now I am strapped with a HUGE student loan to pay back. Their methods of delivering financial information was horrendous. Now don't get me wrong, I worked my butt off in my classes. some of them were HARD! most of my teachers were good. but all in all i would NOT recommend this school to others. Also, did anyone notice in the beginning of this web page, it states that DeVry is a non profit school. that has to be a typo.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

DON'T GO TO SCHOOL HERE - WASTE TIME/MONEY

Technical Management - May 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I only attended a sort time. From the start the run around with admissions and the administrative problems should have been an indicator that they aren't on the up and up. Forget getting help when you need it, even though they pimp out their support network while you are attending like help is just a phone call away. The student advisors are pretty useless for many reason. The cost was almost double as I anticipated. I went to Devry without shopping much because most will say they are a good school and will get you into the job market. They are just another pay for education that will shuttle you through like cattle and try to manipulate you when you get frustrated with the run around. They are in the education game to make money which, they all are. It's just a matter of how much money you want to waste. I think the money will be a better investment in another school.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

financial

Technical Management - January 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been reading about how expensive and negative feedback from former students that don't have a degree. The ones that have a degree have nothing but positive things to say about Devry except the high tuition fees. If you want low tuition fees, join the military and get the GI Bill, I'm currently in the military and have tuition assistant provided by the military 100% paid tuition. I probably won't finish my degree but then i have my GI bill to finish my degree. i guess sacrificing my life for my country paid off someway.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Finance

Technical Management - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently enrolled in DeVry University's Tecnical Management program with a focus on Finance and all I can say is, so far so good. I've only had two problem with their financial aid department and one of those was patially my own fault. They did tell me to hold on to my refund checks (although they didn't state why) and I didn't listen and spent it on a new computer instead. The next 8 week term rolls around and I owe almost $600 that I couldn't pay and ended up dropping the class, so next time someone tells me something, I'll listen. The second issue I had is that they never return your calls. If you have an issue, you're better off going to speak to someone in person. Other than that, I've had no problems. The teachers are always there to help out, the on-line classes are easy to understand and get through for the most part, and if you have difficulties in your classes, they have tutoring centers on-campus. I have to ask, how does one fail at DeVry? You either have to be really stupid or just not try at all because it's nearly impossible. As for DeVry being a for profit school, name me one that isn't. I see the only way of this school costing more than $60K is if you persue both an associate's and bachelor's degree here and take my advise, go to a community college for your associate's. You'll save a lot of money. That being said, if you don't have the time to meet with the advisors and success coaches face to face, go to on-campus tutoring if you're having a hard time in class, go to the career fairs, or do a co-op program, then maybe DeVry isn't the school for you. We are all adults here and the DeVry staff isn't there to hold your hand and spoon feed you instructions on how to make it in the real world.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

You will get what you put into it

Technical Management - December 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a veteran, both combat/campaign and disabled, and I used my Post 9/11 Chapter to complete my degree. This college is not for everyone. If you do not do your research, have a clear understanding that this is not gradeschool, you will not be pushed to finish your degree, you have to do that yourself, then you should not only avoid this college, but all colleges. I graduated this with a 4.0GPA for 41 semester hours needed to finish my degree, and has taught me very much. If you cannot take the time to attend class on your own, then you will fail this. It is not easy, but you have to be actively engaged in online school or classroom environment to pass. I did have a handful of problems with various aspects, but nothing that wasn't solved with a single phone call. I chose not to use student services, tutoring, career advice, or any other student program other than financial aid to process my VA paperwork. I did my own research, homework, and fully understood what was provided and was able to easily find all the answers to my questions before AND during attendance. This school, like any other, is only what you make of it. If you put nothing in, you get nothing out. VA wouldn't fund this school if it wasn't properly accredited or worthwhile. I received 100% tuition for the whole of the program, paid nothing out of pocket. Now, most of this institution falls under VA Montgomer GI Bill or Post 9/11, this is not vocational studies. For those that saw this does not have an intern program upon your graduation, shame on you. If you are going to spend $30-40k for a car, you are going to do your research and buy the best car of value. Why wouldn't you do the same thing for school before attending?

Was this review helpful?

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful

I had problems also

Technical Management - November 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not going to lie, I had some issues with finance and with the admissions process but it wasn't anything extremely unmanageable. I had an issue with VA and tuition assistance payments, I had problems with transfer credits, problems with degree program updates, and I even had problems with a hold on my account after I graduated but you know what....I worked through them. Life is not always easy and corporations are not always efficient but learning to understand and manage both adversity and complications is what makes us exceptional managers. Do leaders complain or do they find a way to work through issues and come out on top? Maybe the people having all these issues simply need to assess how they treat their fellow members of society and when they realize how poorly they are acting they will find that they can accomplish everything they need simply by being kind and realizing that everyone has feelings rather than idolizing themselves. People are so quick to judge others but how often are they willing to judge themselves.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Concentration in accounting

Technical Management - August 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Devry got rid of my degree!!! I started my degree in 2003 and wanted an accounting degree but I didn't want to do 3 years for my Bs in business so they talked me into the BSTM concentrating in accounting. I graduated in 2006. Today I found out my concentration doesn't exist anymore because they revamped the accounting degree program and now it's called a BS in accounting. They also changed my concentration to a "general specialization" with no notice or warning. I'm so devastated! I feel so ripped off. I want to sue them but I don't know if I can or how to do that. I'm so humiliated because I only found out when I was in the final rounds of a very important background check. I feel like a liar. The woman at devry said a lot of people faced the same problem and all I can do is call it a BSTM with accounting courses. It's so degrading. I was so proud of my accounting degree and now I have nothing!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Devry University Opinion

Technical Management - July 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Devry is a good school "for some folks" but not for others. A Devry Degree is what "YOU" make of it just like any other college degree. Bottom line if you graduate from Devry and have a good GPA with no "other" limitations you will be able to find a job in your chosen field. It is all about what you know and how you present "what you know". I would not recommend Devry to the young person who just graduated High School. If you are a recent High School graduate you would be better served going to a regular 4 year college. Mainly because credits will transfer and the degree from a normal 4 year college is better respected than a degree from Devry. Now then....with that said..... Devry is perfect for the person who is working full time and cannot attend "normal" college classes due to class hours. Devry is also perfect for the older person who didn't have the opportunity to go to college when they graduated from high school. Many of the classes at Devry are difficult and demanding they are not a guaranteed pass. If you don't do the work you will not pass. The professors are excellent regardless of what you may have heard and they will help the student who is trying. More so than the professors at the 4 year colleges. All my professors had Doctorate or Master degrees at a minimum. When I went to a regular 4 year college I found the professors were not as involved with the students due to the large classes. At Devry the professors were more in tune with the students (smaller classes) which was beneficial to the students. The professors were always there when I had questions. Devry in my opinion is geared more for the older "student" who works full time and cannot attend regular classes. If a person needs a degree in order to move up in the company and to "refresh" skills Devry fits the bill. The company I work for paid for my degree which allowed me to move up in the company. I have no doubt that if Devry was not recognized as a competent school, my company would not have paid for the degree. Devry isn't easy, and a high GPA is essential if you apply for a job with Devry listed on your resume. A 2.0 GPA from any college doesn't carry the weight that it used to. If all things are equal a degree from Devry isn't as good as a degree from a regular college. BUT a 3.9 GPA from Devry will have more weight than a 2.0 from most normal Universities. This doesn't include the name Universities such as MIT or the Ivy League Universities. Devry Pros: Fast Degree Wonderful Instructors. Online classes available. Professors have real world experience. Job's are out there for Devry Grads "WITH" decent GPA's. Cons: Fast paced. Expensive like any college.... Devry is frowned on by some employers. Credits will not transfer. A degree from a normal University will carry more weight than a Devry degree. Bottom line. If you have a 2.0 from Devry it will be difficult to find a job in your field.... So if you decide to go to Devry remember that your future job depends on your GPA. Simple as that.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Worth my time

Technical Management - June 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my degree this week and I am completly satisfied. I had no problems with the level of support and am very happy I chose DeVry. I do not blame them for making a profit and for anyone who does, will you be working for free? I also do not blame them for trying to attract students. They attracted me by telling me what was available and then it was up to me to see if it was true or not. The work was much harder than I had imagined, as I had credits from a previously attended University sent to DeVry. I finnished my senior year at DeVry on line and I put in an average of 15 hours per week per class. Due to my work schedule - I travel oversees often, online is the only way I could have completed my degree. It is expensive, but for me being able to do the courses online out weighed the expense

Was this review helpful?

16 of 23 people found the following review helpful

It works if you WORK IT at Devry!!!

Technical Management - May 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have nothing Negative to say about Devry. I will be graduating in Dec 2012. However, I will complete my requirements in late October. I have no complaints, all of my professors and Instructor have been on point with facilitating the courses minus the one or two who tried to make my experience less than desirable, but in those cases, I post on three different days, complete all of my assignment, study for test, and keep it moving. Yeah, you have to have tough skin as well as a strong desire to acheive your goal. So, with that being said, you have to stay focused and keep reaching for that finish line.. Keep your head up and never let'em see ya sweat, until you take that statistics class, I'm an online student and I took this class online...PLEASE!!!!! DON'T DO THAT TO YOURSELF!!!! I was a total wreck, and looked like "Hell In Heels" at the end of the session, I was just a mess!!!LOL

Was this review helpful?

16 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Poor Customer Service

Technical Management - April 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student in DeVry starting 2008; I was contacted and recruited by DeVry, while I was attending CCAC. Before I joined DeVry I was accepted to CCAC and US Air Force Reserve with my High School Diploma from India, as well as in DeVry itself. I Have a Cumulative Total of 69.00 Credits, 52 Hrs Completions and a GPA of 2.5085 from CCAC. Out of the 69 Credit from CCAC 43 Credits was transferred to DeVry towards my undergraduate work in DeVry. As of March 27 2012 or present I have a total of 80 Credits with a GPA of 2.59 towards my undergraduate work. Know DeVry put a hold on my Education. Claiming my High School Diploma does not meet the requirement of US High School Diploma. So I end up requesting a Commonwealth Secondary School Diploma from PA Department of Education thru DeVry itself. Because In Accordance with PA Department of Education regulation, 22 PA Code, Section 4.72 Credentials other than high School Diploma: “ The Commonwealth Secondary School Diploma may be issued to an applicant who is a resident of this Commonwealth and does not possess a Secondary School Diploma upon presentation of evidence of full matriculation and the satisfactory completion of a minimum of 1 full year or 30 semester hours of study at an accredited institution of postsecondary education.” Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of Education issued me the Diploma on 04/05/2012. My Issued Diploma no: 0965518 Then i submitted my Diploma to the Dean in DeVry at Pittsburgh site. Thy made a copy and faxed it to the DeVry ‘a main office in fort Washington (Olivia Martinez). And they are not accepting it. (Frustrating part is DeVry staff is in Pittsburgh location where I am attending is alright but this registrar Olive is in Fort Washington is the one denying it as if she is holding a grudge, and there is no way to have a face-to-face conversation as she is in fort Washington and I am at Pittsburgh, this Olive person is rude and stubborn.) DeVry is not taking hold out of my account and is denying my right to release my official transcript of Undergraduate Work. I have paid full fees to DeVry on my undergraduate work and I am in good standing. I cannot transfer to other school because DeVry has put a hold on my official Transcript. I feel this is unethical on DeVry’s part as they are the one that recruited me out of CCAC; I was close to my completion on my associate in Accounting. DeVry explained to me it is better to go straight for undergraduate instead of wasting money and Time towards associate degree. DeVry hold towards my education is greatly effecting my time towards my graduation and my school loan payments, as I would have to start paying my Loans, plus its effecting my promotions good standing/ awards/achievement with my Military career as well as my Civilian Job. DeVry took money for all the classes; I took in DeVry, and it seems that all the time and credits I accumulated in DeVry will not be counted.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 36 people found the following review helpful

DeVry

Technical Management - September 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The professors are excellent. It's a lot of work & you have to be dedicated. These are accelerated classes & if you get behind there's a high potential to fail or get a low grade.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

They're all about the Benjamins, baby.

Technical Management - July 31, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't comment on most of this because I never attended DeVry, but a big reason I didn't attend is because of their sketchy recruiting methods. I had one meeting with a course adviser here. We went over some of the details of the Technical Management course, and he invited me back for a second meeting to meet with a financial adviser. All this was well and good. A few days later, I came back for my second meeting with the financial adviser. Before we had discussed anything, he had me get on a computer in his office to start filling out some forms. He got a phone call and took it, then proceeded to stay on the phone and, between words over the phone, pointed out to me what I needed to click and fill out. Some way through these forms, I come to a promissory note. He instructs me, casually and while still 'on the phone', to go ahead and sign it. Mind you, this is within the first 5-10 minutes of my second meeting and after no discussion whatsoever of finances. If I had been a bit younger, a bit less experienced and a bit more naive, I might have fallen for the trick and committed myself to a serious financial burden, but as it was, I was 24 and already bitter at the debt I had acquired as a result of what secondary education I had already experienced. I told him I wasn't ready to sign that, and he seemed confused. He, as well as the course adviser, played it off as a misunderstanding between us. When I came to the next meeting, they tried again to get me to sign a promissory note. I declined, opting for further deliberations on my part, and both the financial adviser and the course adviser seemed confused, as if it was totally normal to simply sign years of your life away with minimal discussion. Something tells me that they take advantage of many people who don't know any better. I've opted to skip further schooling for now, and while I do intend to go back to school at some point, it will absolutely not be through DeVry. While I'm not religious, I see great truth in the saying that "money is the root of all evil." DeVry is a for-profit institution. Those whose primary goals are money cannot be trusted to look out for your best interests.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 31 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with DeVry University in any way.