Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

3.0
17 Reviews
5 4 
4 4 
3 3 
2 0 
1 6 
0 0 

Embry Riddle Aeronautical University Reviews:

For me, it works.

Professional Aeronautics - February 25, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It's a good school and heavy on some pretty advanced topics. The new systems for homework (Canvas) and Eaglevision (online learning) seem to be getting better slowly, and while there are occasionally hiccups I do know ERAU is ranked highly for its online learning experience. As some have said (or complained about) this degree won't do much without your FAA licenses. In my opinion, that's hardly Embry-Riddle's fault. It's like thinking that a degree in transportation will get you a job driving a truck. Without a CDL you won't be hired. The degree is just there to support the actual licenses. I came from an I.T. background so I shouldn't have a problem if aviation doesn't pan out. The I.T. field is similar to aviation in that when you have the certifications and experience if a college degree is required most anything will do. Aviation is a little looser in that literally ANY degree will work while I.T. managers probably want a science degree, but I'm confident that this ERAU degree will be taken seriously if I ever have to go back to I.T. So yeah, if you want to be a pilot or already ARE a pilot this is a great degree for you. Surprisingly a lot fo the students are NOT working towards their certificates so I don't know what their plans are other than to get some GI Bill money. Still, most of them are in the aviation industry already (or previously worked with aviation in the military) so the degree certainly doesn't hurt. For instructors, mostly good and a few not as good, but not bad instructors. For example my remedial math teacher was a former 2nd generation NASA controller. He did space shuttle while his father did Apollo...when I learned that I thought "Damn...if he's remedial then who's teaching advanced math?" Math has ALWAYS been my worst subject but he got me through, so my math requirements are DONE now and I really have him to thank for that. Lastly, with ERAU worldwide the campus staff are really good (although always busy) and look out for you. For example during breaks when I forget to sign up for classes I've gotten a phone call in the past and in 5 minutes the campus staff told me what they were offering and that I needed and I was signed up. Since I'm always busy and sometimes forget to do things until the last minute little touches like that are nice so I don't find out everything I need is already full and I'm out of luck. Overall, as long as I get the degree I'm happy. Others can say what they want about ERAU but the facts speak for themselves. It's a long standing school with plenty of brand recognition in aviation. 6 astronauts are alumni and two movies (Black Hawk Down & Behind Enemy Lines) are based on ERAU graduates. I'd hardly call that "laughable" as others have said.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

The Degree is what you make of it.

Professional Aeronautics - June 21, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First off, please please please disregard the people that give 2 star reviews. This school is a decent school but as the title of my review says "it is what you, the individual school make of it". Yes, there are a lot of students at the school that have a lack of understanding of aviation but there are also a lot of students that have a tremendous amount of experience in aviation. My perspective of this school is through online courses. These courses are set up on a teach yourself course syllabus. You can very easily get away with scraping by and doing the bear minimum or you can put effort into your education and really work for your degree. Some things this degree will get you. A check the block on a B.S., A basic education, An interview with a potential employer. What this job will not get you, A job that requires experience this includes flight time or occupational certificates. You will not get hired as an airline pilot or ems pilot straight out of the door. You will not become a astronaut. Generally you are going to need experience in order to make this degree worth anything. If you do not have experience you may want to lean towards some kind of technical degree to show your worth. The organization of this university is very poor. There is a big disconnect between the satellite campuses and the main campus. Also, some of the professors are unprofessional and irrational, at times they seem to lack understanding of the subject matter. I am not going to diss to much on ERAU because I haven't been to another school. I will say, I have chosen to peruse a different field and a different school for my masters. This is in part due to my experiences at ERAU and my need to branch out and do different things.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Waste of Time

Professional Aeronautics - July 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Got the BS in PA last year, then retired from the Air Force. Been trying to find employment for nearly a year, having applied so far for over 400 jobs! (Not a typo.) The types of jobs I should be able to get are, obviously, aircraft/aviation-oriented. However, those employers want A&P licenses, or flying experience. I have neither, and the employers in the field couldn't care less about some non-pilot/non-crew chief with a B.S. in "Professional Aeronautics." Yeah, my own fault, I know it. But it was really the only thing I could reliably attend while the AF stationed me all around the world. Sadly, so far it's only worked to get me interviewed for the "any four-year degree" jobs, most of which don't pay much, are nowhere near what I want to do, or want me to move to BFE.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Fantastic School

Professional Aeronautics - February 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2007 and I can say the school was great. I took a handful of both residence and online (when I moved). The only complaint is the teachers...they are without doubt experts in their field/course, but not everyone who is a subject matter expert can teach. I also believe, just like with any degree, you get what you put into it. I actually look forward to completing more coursework with this institution.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Have to have aviation background

Professional Aeronautics - November 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You have to have an aviation background and career specific certificates for this program to be of use to you. If you don't have an A&P, FCC or pilot's license, look elsewhere; it won't help you get your foot in any doors. It isn't a waste of money but it is intended for a narrow range of people that have specific technical expertise. For example, if you have an A&P and would like to move up the ladder but don't want to quit your full time job to go to college full time, this is a great option as it builds on what you already know as well as gives you (at least when I did it) 60 credits for the A&P license. Take it to the bank that American Airline's human resource department is aware of ERAU as well any other aviation specific employer. But, if you aren't in aviation, very few people will have ever heard of ERAU. If you are in military aviation, it is an excellent option, lots of flexibility. This is especially true if you want to stay in the military and go to OCS. If you are a commercial pilot looking for a B.S., it is good in that you receive a boat load of credits for your certificates. Most, if not all; commercial airlines require a B.S/B.A. degree in anything, including modern history of Tibetan basket weaving. But, if you chose another college, you would need to start from zero credits as a freshman and spend many more years completing four years (+/- 120 credits) of college part time. For BSPA, you only need to finish last two years (60 credits). Price tag is steep though. Check with ERAU about allowed percentage of XFER credits, but def. try to take things like English and Math at local Community College and then transfer them I gave it a "10" for Institution because ERAU is well known in aviation, internationally. Engineering program nationally ranked #1 year after year (US News and World Report), only service academies put more pilots into military flight positions, Daytona campus is well ranked in S.E. college rankings, has strong research relationships with government and industry, more than a few space shuttle astronauts from ERAU (including two on next shuttle launch). In terms of aviation and aerospace educational institutions, it is in top 5%. Hope this helps. Great program, great school but be careful when selecting - you have to already be on an established career path.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Good degree_serves its purpose

Professional Aeronautics - November 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very useful degree. I have BSPA from main campus after four years in AF. It is not useless and serves its purpose well - provide people with real experience the required academic credentials to further their career in that same path. For example, a mechanic for Southwest would like to move into a management role but doesn't have BS in BA like other applicants - the BSPA puts him/her on even footing with the others - plus he has a number of years of real world experience. A pilot flying for small regional or corporate wants a shot at American Airlines..BSPA gives her credit for experience and requires academics to complete BSPA. She could take advanced meteorology or safety classes to enhance her pilot stick and rudder knowledge. I would go further - if you are an A&P and took a number of technical classes from ERAU - you'll be surprised how easily you fall into an engineering field that requires real world understanding of electricity and mechanical subjects but doesn't expect you to build a bridge - field engineers, sales engineers. I haven't been in aviation since I left ERAU but those academics and hands on experience put me a cut above the mechanical engineers coming out of college without having taken apart an engine or welded a piece of steel. Job titles have been: Application Engineer, Sales Engineer - oh yeah..my wife has BS in Maint Mang. and her first job was in engineering because they like her hands-on experience and the technical subject matter of the ERAU A&P program. And this is a hard school - very difficult. I believe my BS was more difficult than my MBA because the staff requires you to perform - no give away B's or C's and the school has a reputation of being for "smart" people - don't know if its true but I run across non-aviation people that were under that impression. Who am I to burst their bubble? In short, if you have a number of years of experience under your belt, its a great way to go.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Nothing but ink on a resume

Professional Aeronautics - July 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I want to start out by saying nothing is worse than a for profit online school like: University of Phoenix, Grand Canyon, Collins, etc… ERAU may stink at some things but at least their nonprofit. I went to ERAU (worldwide) and obtained my Bachelors in Professional Aeronautics. What a waste! The degree is a joke in the aviation community. I’ve had the degree for two years now and it has done nothing for me other than add ink to my resume. I recently made the mistake of starting a Masters with ERAU. I justified it because I wanted the GI Bill money. I couldn’t have been more disappointed with what I have experienced so far. In my last four classes there has been only one professor that’s worth anything. The others are all retired enlisted military knuckleheads who throw-up their worthless military training. With the exception of high tech equipment, military training is unfortunately worthless. The “civilian world” is far more efficient! The “civilian world” isn’t bound to the dogmatic promotion structure and frivolous jobs found in the military. Point being, no one wants to hear about how you kicked caulks for 20 years… This is a Masters class not a bar or VFW! The majority of the classes are at or near a base resulting in a lot of military people, which is fine. However; it is not fine when these people divide amongst themselves i.e. officers vs. enlisted and bicker back and forth. The facilities are subpar in my opinion, their old and often hinder leaning due their location on airports. I know it’s an aeronautical university but we don’t need to learn inside of the aircraft. Their infrastructure with their blackboard is horrible. They’re constantly upgrading it which only seems to worsen it. Support: my school email has been broken for two years. Why haven’t I fixed it? The helpdesk people are creatures from another planet. Use of technology: there is no tangible technology; we are shown pictures through PowerPoint and textbooks. The saddest thing with ERAU is the student knowledge base. Like I said I am in a Masters program and this semester alone there have been people who do not know: • The difference between a turboprop (turbine engine) and a turbocharger (piston engine) • What Skunk Works is • What a “glass cockpit” is • The differences with tricycle gear and tail dragger gear • What a cross wind landing is • Someone said there’s only two turboprop aircraft manufactures • What wingtip vortices’/ wake turbulence are/is • Etc… In summary, I have to highly advise people to not attend this university if you desire work in the aerospace industry. The education you receive will not help you unless it “checks a box” required for a promotion. If you want a good, respectable degree go to a State School.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 54 people found the following review helpful

Great University!

Professional Aeronautics - June 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You will not waste your time and money on this college. I just don't like that not all there degrees are available online. Oh well, it makes sense...How do learn with out hands on labs?

Was this review helpful?

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Embry Riddle Aeronautical University in any way.