Excelsior College : nursing Reviews

Yourlifeisgold (Graduate) on August 1, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Completed school, debt free, and RN now I graduated from Excelsior College with my A.D.N. in 2012. When I had first contacted the school about their program, the advisor really sold me with the point that an Paramedic had completed their nursing course in 45 days. That was what reeled me in, as I wanted to finish quickly and go at my own pace. Once I enrolled, I completed the rest of the nursing courses in 47 days which was a huge accomplishment for me. However, to my disappointment, I received no recognition from anyone at the college, not even a 'good job' or encouragement. I was met with a rude lady on the phone who was very rude to me when I had asked her about my time of completion and subsequent inquiry over the CPNE and how soon I could apply. She basically shot me down, and reprimanded me for wanting to take the CPNE without studying for at least 6 months to a year for it. She was not nice and again, very rude to me. I did not need her or anyone else's approval or recognition for what I accomplished but it would have been nice. I worked my butt off to try and beat that paramedics record and since they used that as a selling point for me, which WAS the deciding factor on whether or not I was going to use their program, I was disappointed. I do not think that the CPNE is fair...nor is there much consistency between test sites and all the different CE and CA's. I made my recommendations after I passed and left it at that. I got my diploma and passed boards with flying colors. I'm not in debt as you pay as you go. I ignore all Alumni emails from them, am happy that they have a program that is conducive to family life and not all of the people at the school were rude and ugly. The instructors in the nursing program were very supportive, but their is a huge lack of consistency, too much room for nurses to make their own "judgement" against students work , and it is more difficult than a traditional school to get through. It can be done though, and for that matter, I would recommend the program, but only go through excelsior. NOT COLLEGE NETWORK, RUE, OR CHANCELLORS. They just want you to pay them extra money, and the school doesn't indorse any of these companies.

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 27, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Must be self motivated! Most people that have bad things to say about this program failed. The program is not easy and does require you to study and know what you are doing with little to no teaching. Currently they do offer classes that you can take toward your ADN program instead of simple taking the exam. I took the exams and attended the workshop before my clinical weekend. Taking the tests were cheap, the workshop and the CPNE (clnical) is what added up. I was able to pass the clinical on my first try. I saw alot of people fail during that weekend, but they were all aware why they failed before they left the site. The clinical is not easy, and if your someone who is not confident in your skills, then this is not for you. They give you a study guide with very specific step by step instructions, if you know what they want you will pass. I feel like after completed the program that I truly accomplished something, if everyone went in and passed, the program would definently get a bad reputation for the people it turned out. Every nursing school have students that dont pass, this program is no exception. The key to the CPNE is the workshop and other materials that they give you. I knew financially I had only one opportunity to pass this clinical. So thats what I did. Motivation and self discipline is key!

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 4, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Exceslior College Associate Degree I think in some ways, Excelsior College is an excellent nursing school. Only problem is it does not hold much weight in the job world. Most employers don't want to give jobs to a nurse with an online degree. So, in that respect, a degree from a traditional program does hold more weight. The online nursing degree seems to be more for an LPN who's already working in the setting that they want to stay in and advance their position to an RN. In nursing, employers ask about "clinical experience" as a priority. Regardless of the quality of that clinical experience, its all about hours and/or semesters of clinical time for a lot of these companies. This frustrates me because I sure didn't get my degree because someone liked me. I was not in any clicks. I had to work for mines too, and I'm sure that most students from a traditional nursing program would not be able to pass the CPNE. Believe it or not, there are some traditional program grads that have very little to no clinical decision making skills. Passing the CPNE requires you to have the clinical skills of a first day orientation RN. But, just the same, I think Excelsior College should offer a locol 360 hour clinical preceptor rotation to all of its ASN/ADN graduates. I also think the quality of clinicals at some traditional schools could use some improvement. But overall, no matter what school you go to, you're only going to get out of it what you put into it.

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 3, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Option if you're self-motivated Excelsior College is a great option for working adults. I was a LPN with a Bachelor's degree in another field when I first started to consider Excelsior's LPN-RN bridge program. I was initially reluctant to attend Excelsior because it wasn't as sexy as some of the other schools I considered attending. In the end, I chose practicality over name brand. I received a great education at Excelsior because I put in the effort. I took personal responsibility and accomplished my goal. Excelsior is competency based education...this is great for those who prefer to work at their own pace. I will begin my MSN through Excelsior in a few months.

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 14, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I don't recommend Excelsior College to people I graduated from Excelsior College Associate Science Nursing program in 2010. I always wondered if I could have received a much better education from a traditional nursing school and I probably always will question myself about that. But on the other hand, I work with many nurses that came from traditional nursing schools who don't know their ass from a hole in the ground and I wonder how they ever passed NCLEX. Really, they don't even have basic nursing judgement, no skills; just blows my mind. Whats even more frightening is some of them have been nurses for years. I'm really not trying to be mean by saying this, I'm just telling you what I've seen and its scary. But then there are some nurses from traditional nursing schools who's knowledge and skills are much higher than mines. The reason I don't recommend Excelsior College ASN program to people is the cost and unpredictability of outcome. You pay almost $1000 enrollment fee, almost $500 annual fee, $390 for each multiple choice exams. Now they have added on focused clinical competency assessment exams, which is more expense. Finally the CPNE for about $1800 in addition to travel and lodging expenses which is at least another $500. All the money spent prior to the CPNE is for not if you don't pass it. There are many who failed the CPNE three times and now they are out of thousands of dollars and still have no degree. All they do have now is wasted time, years, and money. I would definitely do it differently now. There are piss poor nurses from every school I'm sure, traditional and non-traditional alike. But as far as time and money, I recommend going the traditional route. Also, more employment opportunities will be available with a traditional degree, preferably a bachelor's degree. Most hospitals are moving toward only hiring bachelor's degree prepared nurses. And if you plan on going into management in any other type of facility, you will definitely need at best a bachelor's. The best way is to go straight through a traditional bachelor's degree program.

(In Progress) on May 14, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Jerome: I don't recommend Excelsior College to people I graduated from Excelsior College Associate Science Nursing program in 2010. I always wondered if I could have received a much better education from a traditional nursing school and I probably always will question myself about that. But on the other hand, I work with many nurses that came from traditional nursing schools who don't know their ass from a hole in the ground and I wonder how they ever passed NCLEX. Really, they don't even have basic nursing judgement, no skills; just blows my mind. Whats even more frightening is some of them have been nurses for years. I'm really not trying to be mean by saying this, I'm just telling you what I've seen and its scary. But then there are some nurses from traditional nursing schools who's knowledge and skills are much higher than mines. The reason I don't recommend Excelsior College ASN program to people is the cost and unpredictability of outcome. You pay almost $1000 enrollment fee, almost $500 annual fee, $390 for each multiple choice exams. Now they have added on focused clinical competency assessment exams, which is more expense. Finally the CPNE for about $1800 in addition to travel and lodging expenses which is at least another $500. All the money spent prior to the CPNE is for not if you don't pass it. There are many who failed the CPNE three times and now they are out of thousands of dollars and still have no degree. All they do have now is wasted time, years, and money. I would definitely do it differently now. There are piss poor nurses from every school I'm sure, traditional and non-traditional alike. But as far as time and money, I recommend going the traditional route. Also, more employment opportunities will be available with a traditional degree, preferably a bachelor's degree. Most hospitals are moving toward only hiring bachelor's degree prepared nurses. And if you plan on going into management in any other type of facility, you will definitely need at best a bachelor's. The best way is to go straight through a traditional bachelor's degree program.

Jenni.griffin31 (Graduate) on March 2, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excelsior College I had my doubts about this school from day one. I was very successful in a traditional clinical program and had to drop due to unforeseen illness. I wanted to believe that this was a real program with real graduates. I did not realize that this whole program was a scam until the first day of the "clinical". I made all A's and two B's on the tests. I liked the fact that I felt like I learned a lot from the exams. They have you read real textbooks to make it look legit and take easy tests that really emphasize useful information. Then comes the "clinical exam" where the sleight of hand trick works. This is where the hook and bait really is. I literally memorized this study guide almost word for word. I practiced the "labs" which involve real nursing skills such as giving an IV push, administering and IV piggyback. They charge big money for the "skills kit" which is hospital equipment marked up about 1000% price. They even have slick marketing fashion models on the front of the "workbook" they sell you at a superinflated price. This is not a college. You have to keep paying them a $500 to have the opportunity to be repeatedly scammed out of $3000. They also insist that you stay in the "recommended hotel" which is $180 per night that has an "Excelsior discount" but for the nights you "test" the discount is unavailable. The "instructors" you talk to on the phone even market this hotel because you don't have to walk in the cold. BIG RED FLAG FOR SCAM Now folks why would you have to pay money to be scammed out of more money. Gosh, you can just give it to a person in need, pay someone's medical bills, put it on a down payment on a house. After you "fail" the "clinical" would you really want to pay these money vacuum cleaners another 2000 plus dollars. Real nursing programs have competitive admissions, teach clinical skills as well as book knowledge. This is not real.

Risse1123 (In Progress) on February 22, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't Do It This is a scam. A very expensive one. The CPNE has a 68% pass rate on the first try, but they still collect the $2,300 (rounded) with each attempt, travel and other accommodations not included. They give you a CD-ROM Study Guide to study from. They expect you to attend the several conferences and workshops, each about $300, and in faraway cities that require flying. In addition to this, it is $400 a year to even be enrolled with the college. The exams are $390, but go up every year. You study to pass the exams, but you get less than half of the education you would get out of a standard, preferred nursing school, and you pay 80% more money. Most standard nursing schools have a transitional LPN-ADN program that is only 2-3 semesters long and costs a lot less than Excelsior College. Plus, you also get to attend graduation. You have to fly to Albany, NY to attend graduation with Excelsior, as well as pay an additional fee, around $450, to even receive your degree. As hard as you work and as much as you sacrafice in nursing school, you deserve a proper graduation. You've earned it. If you are serious about getting your degree, consider how much money you are willing to spend. If you fail the CPNE and cannot afford to retake it, you will be without a degree and stuck with their loans for years. It's not worth it. You will learn so much more and get so much more clinical experience at a traditional nursing school. One more thing to think about: A lot of state boards and hospitals are not accepting Excelsior graduates. They require additional clinical time or more work experience than with traditional school graduates. Look it up. Try Maryland, Georgia, North Dakota, California, Virginia, Kentucky, Washington, Colorado, and Vermont state board websites. They all have additional requirements in order to receive a license in these states, and I'll bet they cost money.

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 27, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DON'T WAISTE YOUR MONEY DON'T WAISTE YOUR MONEY. They won't do anything to help you. Their system bogged down when I was trying to take one of their "mandadory" classes that had nothing to do with my degree. I couldn't take the test because of their system, and their response was "too bad, pay for the course again and maybe you can finish it this time". They don't care about you - just how deep your pockets are and how much they can squeeze out of you. The counselors were non existent. There are much better schools out there to choose from. DON'T USE EXCELSIOR

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 30, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
LPN-ADN program I recently graduated from the excelsior program after being an LPN for 11 years. It was not easy, and I would have been very disappointed if it was. The CPNE is very stressful, and it is not for the timid. After reading post that the program is a scam, I can assure you its not. I passed the CPNE on my first attempt, if I had failed I'm sure I would be upset. This program is not cheap, so paying out of your pocket can be a burden but paying back student loans when you graduate is to. The study guide they give you tells you exactly what to do. If you do it their way you have nothing to worry about. The key is to be prepared their way. I did actually learn alot while preparing for the CPNE and I am looking forward to the potential my upgraded license will bring me.

Novan1360 (In Progress) on August 5, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
You must study their way for the CPNE I took all of the ADN written exams without failing one. I failed the CPNE two weekends ago in Madison, WI. If you want to pass the CPNE the first time, you must study the Excelsior way or you're sure to fail as I did. I will be retaking the test as I realize my biggest mistake was in preparation. It's not about anything but doing everything the excelsior way.

Klhahl (Graduate) on July 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Awesome if you can do it I literally Just received my AASN completion notice and was looking at RN to MSN programs when I saw these reviews. While I am saddened by people reviewing it poorly, I understand. Some people will always look to blame someone else for their shortcomings, in this case the school. Its true, this program may not Be for everyone. Passing the CPNE is no small feat, it is Thee test of your clinical Competency at the level of a Graduate nurse, not a student, your practicing and learning comes on your own- which isnt even entirely true. Tbey offer ma y additio al courses and workshops to aid in your success. They give you the blueprint to pass, they are clear when they say, the requirements outlinef are the minimum standard accepted for success, if you do not complete these standards, you will not be successful ,there is practice and review that is up to you to perform. This school is nationally accredited, it has been deemed an appropriate means of further education for specifically nursing by the National League for Nursing (who also designated it a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education) and by the Accredidation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) formerly the NLNAC or National League for Nursing Accreditation Commission, the top two places you look at Any nursing programs to see if they are accredited by these facilities. It is Not a scam. It isn't a diploma factory, if it were, these people who were not successful would in fact be here singing its praises. I will likely go on to take my RN to MSN with Excelsior, I had zero complaints. I had been an LPN for 16 years when I started the program.

Will919 (Graduate) on July 11, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pleased with my ASN via Excelsior (Regents) I was a student at (Regents College) now known as Excelsior and completed my Associates in Science Nursing in 1999. I am very pleased where it's got me. Currently I am a RN on the Rapid Response Team in a large Level 1 Trauma Center. There are only 5 of us out of 800+ RN's. I had to test against RN's with BSN's to obtain the position,. Ultimately, I believe Excelsior prepared me well. I know some folks complain about the CPNE. I believe CPNE is the only way Excelsior can verify that a student is ready to clinically function as a RN. Students must understand this. There are workshops and forums to help students achieve this. I don't think Excelsior is for everyone. However, if you are motivated and have the ability to study on your own this program is for you. It worked GREAT for me I was able to get through the course quickly but having said that I worked my butt off. In closing I am grateful Excelsior was there for me.....Thank you Excelsior!

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 20, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
All About MONEY !! It took me seven years to squeeze this program out as they squeezed me for yearly fees. As a working man, it took a lot of time to accumulate the money needed for each module and study material. I also had to attend some tougher classes (microbiology) on my own dime. I took some study classes to prepare for the practical exam. At bout that time I received notice from the school that I was being removed from the program as I had been a student for the max seven years! I had to get a permission letter from the "dean" to finish the program. I had to fly to Milwaukee to take the practical, which I didn't know was $2000! Add the $775 in expenses certainly put the pressure on!! Made it through the first clinical night ok, but then failed by transposing MG numbers on one patient. My second failure was for applying a nitro patch BEFORE removing the existing patch on the other arm 10 seconds later!! In my post exam interview, they offered me to re-take the practical one month later for another two grand. I can't write my response on this site. It's all about the money with these people, folks. Don't do it!! Their clinical test-out isn't recognized by many institutions anyway. For what it's worth, take a loan and go through a REAL RN program. Mike, Ohio.

Carabear2002 (In Progress) on March 22, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Can Not Get License in CA Just to let you know if you EVER plan to move to California (maybe other states as well) you can not attend this school! California Board of Nursing does not recognize this school as it does not offer traditional clinicals!

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 9, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Ok...but... I completed the AAS in Nursing a number of years ago. The exams weren't too bad, and I failed the first CPNE, passed the second. I have an AA in Humanities and a BS Management, aside from my nursing degree. When getting my transcripts evaluated, I was aggravated to find out that they wanted me to take another English class for "professional writing" which I had taken as an upper level class in my BS degree which made no sense to me. I was enrolled in the MS Nursing program, but found the classes impossible to complete because of "team projects" which are very difficult because everyone works different shifts, live in different parts of the country, etc. I wanted to do online learning becasue that is what I wanted to avoid. If I want to do a team project, I'll go to the local school and work with people who live in the same time zone! I recommend the AAS in Nursing, but beyond that, forget it.

Zobar12 (Graduate) on January 13, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ASN and BSN IN NURSING I am an Excelsior nursing graduate. Happy and proud to announce. Since then, I have moved on to my masters in nursing FNP. I wish Excelsior would add DNP and Clinical masters paths! Since graduating from Excelsior I have not been in a program as Excelsior's programs that I took. Very good school bar none. Also, shame on those states that do not recognize Excelsior Associates in Nursing degree. They have no idea. Excelsior nursing graduates can run circles around those graduates from traditional schools so recognized by CA and GA and I do not know what other state? (that do not recognize Excelsion ASN graduates). They just do not know. Go Excelsior, proud to be your graduate two times over! and ready to take the Masters in Nursing Education certificate. Cheap and affordable eduation that does not make one quit working. I have more to say, but what the heck..., nuff said.

Rmtemsguy (In Progress) on December 30, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BEWARE OF THIRD-PARTY TEST-PREP COMPANIES!! There have been some posts on this forum concerning Excelsior College requiring all the money up front for all the coursework you need to complete your degree. Excelsior College DOES NOT ask for all the money up front, or ask you to sign any sort of "contract" concerning up-front payment! These individuals obviously dealt with a test preparation or for-profit publishing company instead of Excelsior directly. My recommendation would be to always deal with the school directly. There are companies out there that print study materials, guides, etc., but have NO association with the school whatsoever. I have heard others report that some of these companies claim to have an association or partnership with Excelsior, but this claim is simply NOT true! I cannot say from personal experience what any of these companies have claimed as I never dealt with any of them directly. Excelsior clearly states on their website that they DO NOT endorse or partner with any test preparation or for-profit publishing company. Excelsior does maintain a list of these companies that have voluntarily agreed to follow a set of best practices set forth by the college, but this is the extent of their involvement with these organizations. Apparently some of these companies evaluate what you need to complete your degree, and ask that you pay for all of their study materials and other fee's up front, or sign a contract to finance the entire amount (again, I cannot speak about this from personal experience because I have not dealt with any of these organizations directly, but have heard this from many, many other people). Excelsior College WILL NOT ask you to pay for everything up front! I am within a few credits of completing my Nursing degree through Excelsior (have completed all the Nursing requirements), and have NEVER been asked to "pay ahead" like that. Please BEWARE of some of these third-party companies! Do your due diligence before either using their study materials or signing any contracts with them, and check with Excelsior and the Better Business Bureau.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 22, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not worth the money As a medical provider for a number of years I felt like cross-training but didn't have time for a traditional program. Like many students Excelsior took a back burner for the first few years, with annual fees being paid. Finally buckled down and got serious over training, completing studies to take an exam ~3 months. Near the end of the exams, another exam was added, adding extra time and money to the program. When that exam was done, another exam was added. No attempts at grandfathering students who had been with Excelsior for a while were made. Information on required exams often difficult to come by. Online FCCA a joke, no instructor input for first 3 weeks of 8 week course. A take it until you pass mentality didn't indicate that each score was cumulative. No feedback from FCCA. After years, many extra hoops and thousands of dollars, no degree secondary to poor planning and implementation of courses, poorly designed and inadequately described FCCA, and nearly non-existent clinical training requiring months on a waiting list to achieve. If you have the patience and just want a standard RN, go for it. Otherwise save your money and sanity and go with a traditional school, at least you have receive actual clinical education, and not the weekend bit you have through Excelsior.

YOURLIFEISGOLD (Graduate) on August 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I PASSED CPNE-YOU MUST STUDY THEIR WAY I will be graduating Excelsior's bridge program for Associate Degree in Nursing in a few days. I have to say that I first and foremost saw the people I tested with, some failed, some passed. You MUST study what excelsior offers you to pass. Some people never even read the study guide before going, nor do they practice their labs! It's just like any other school, THEIR way or NO WAY. PERIOD. You wouldnt go take a final exam without studying the final review, so why go take the CPNE without memorizing the study guide for it, and taking the offered support workshops? I took an excelsior workshop, was on a free yahoo group with other students called freehelpexcelsior and I passed first time, no repeats! Even if the CE says you did something wrong, and tries to fail you, if you know that study guide, then you can stand on that, and they can not fail you! its simple- You have the ammuntion, use it. Love it, will continue on with my bachelors through them. YOu can do it! I've seen it done. I did it. You can too.!

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 20, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Unrealistic Perfection with CPNE My CPNE experience started at Chambersburg with 9 LPN's, 5 who were repeat testers. Being a retester myself I was more than prepared for my 2nd go around. 5 of the 9 failed some of the labs the first evening. The labs are simple skills, there is no teaching involved, you either know how to do the skill the "Excelsior way", perfectly or you fail. By the morning of the third day there were 3 of us present to start the final day of patient testing. By the end of the day I was the only LPN who passed the CPNE. I, myself, had to argue with the examiner and the CA over the idenification process I used for my first pt. or I also would have failed. I checked the ID band then when back to the PCS form and compared the name and birthday. No where does it say that you must have you PCS paper in your hand when you check the pt. ID band but I was going to fail because of that anyway. The whole testing process expects unrealistic perfection with examiners who aren't always giving you their undivided attenton. I had examiners scan wrong meds, scan wrong pts. and gave me info from the wrong pts. chart. But those mistakes were overloooked. You are a student and should be treated like one. There should be some element of teaching by these "Masters" nurses. I realize this is only one weekend but no human is that perfect. Maybe an element of scoring with marks off for mistakes, graded according to severity would help. I'm not saying to give a passing grade away but when you have a pass/fail of 10% passing there is definitely something wrong. Unless you are someone who thrives on perfection and unbelievable pressure I suggest looking elsewhere to obtain your RN.

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 19, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Please, please, please, don't go there. Studying on your own and passing the written exams @ a testing center is OK. But the staff of Excelsior College knows they will get you @ the CPNE, their so-called "Clinical" testing. It's a RIDICULOUS SCAM. It is not an objective exam but completely subjective. If the CE said you did something wrong, there is no way to prove her wrong. Why? Because she has a master degree and you are only a "student nurse". If you don't believe me, do what we all do. Exchange e-mail with the other students you will meet in the lobby and after the exam, see how many pass. In my two former attempts, it was 0. If they would take only your $2000.00, that would be OK but they are also trying to take your pride. How can an exam be based on the slightest thing you do wrong when you are a nervous wreck "student nurse"? As a student, I can fail any CE with master or not because a human being is always going to do something wrong.

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 21, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Couldn't have done it any other way This program isn't for everyone, but it was the perfect program for me. Given my transient military lifestyle, I required the flexibility and portability that this program offered. The exam format prepared me well for the NCLEX-RN. I passed the state board on my first attempt. The CPNE is no joke. It is rigorous, as well it should be! I passed on my first attempt, with no repeats on any of the lab sims or PCSs, so it can be done, contrary to what some have alleged.

Bonniensaleena (Graduate) on February 1, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
RN I could not have done it any other way. Excelsior was an adult learner's dream school. Just do the learning, and then prove it through testing. I was well prepared for the NCLEX. Passed the first time. Did not buy any books, just borrowed them from libraries. Think I might go on with them for the BSN. Have heard good reviews, and they give a discount to former students! I do not think a motivated adult can go wrong with choosing Excelsior College.

Lynda300 (Graduate) on December 12, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excelsior College: An Unforgettable Experience I enrolled with Excelsior College with the hopes of being near graduation by the end of a year. Imagine my surprise when I was holding my RN license in my hand exactly 10 months from the date of my first exam!! The mound of support from people that you may never meet is overwhelming. Going through each exam with others with identical goals, triumphs, and tribulations made this experience one-of-a-kind. Being disciplined is a must, as there is no one to force you to study in distance learning. And there is a lot of reading and studying. No college is 'giving' away degrees. It has to be and it will be earned. As far as the CPNE at the end, Excelsior provides you with step-by-step instructions on how to pass the exam, including information on available workshops and materials needed for success. I, along with many others, passed on the first attempt. So do NOT be discouraged by the negativity about this exam. It can be done if you pay attention. I gave a score of 1 on the teachers because, in distance education, there are no teachers or classrooms...only online friends for support and yourself. So,if you need a fast track to your degree or if you need to slow it down a bit, Excelsior College is the one for you!

Marijanejenkins (Graduate) on November 2, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not a scam I had been an LPN for many years and could not work full time and go to a traditional school. I went to this program and graduated with an AAS in Nursing. I passed my clinicals the 1st time! if you prepare for the clinicals, study exactly what they tell you to study, you can pass the first time! I hate reading some of the reviews that say this is a scam...IT IS NOT A SCAM AND CAN BE DONE! The ones that don't pass weren't prepared and now they want to blame the college! I took my NCLEX AND PASSED THE 1st time too! I have been an R.N. for 6 years, and could not have done it without Excelsior College!

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 1, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
CPNE-Excelsior college The CPNE was unrealistically ridiculous!! Four of the six students testing over the weekend were there for the second try, and I am not sure those four passed this time. Just an example of how ridiculous it was, at the simulation lab of the IV pust station I made sure there were no bubbles in the syringe, tipped it upside down (like I had seen others testing do) The CE took it over to the CA and asked if she could see a bubble. The CA started beating on the syringe with a pen to see if she could make a bubble pop up. Fluid from the syringe was splattering everywhere, then she states, no don't see a bubble. I passed that station the first time, but, by then I was a nervous wreck. The clinicals are not an indication of if you practice safe nursing, but, how much criticizem can you take and still perform to their 100% accuracy expectation. I am looking into transfering my credits to a local college and going that route. The college already told me though they didn't think the A & P will be accepted, that is another $350.00 wasted. (just for the exam not including the books) I DO NOT RECOMMEND EXCELSIOR COLLEGE.

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 1, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excelsior is GREATfor the right individual! I was a very experienced paramedic when I completed my ASN at Excelsior. I had been enrolled for several years and had completed only one exam when I got serious about completing the program and followed this method: Schedule an exam on a Friday, follow the suggested reading list exactly with great diligence, take the exam and if you pass schedule the next exam for the very next Friday, repeat. This will require 8-12 hours per day Monday thru Thursday, a high level of self motivation, great reading retention / test taking ability, and a lifetime of previous medical experience. The exam that focuses on administrative processes should be simple to pass without study, I doubled it up with another exam on the same day and made an A on it without studying, while getting a B on the other. What you have to realize is that when they say "show what you know" they mean it, and the CPNE is the most difficult testing experience I have ever dealt with. Imagine a 1980s style ACLS mega code experience for two and a half days! But it can be done! You need to actually read the CPNE preparation manual, fully understand it, and be able to perform under pressure. I attended Excelsior's CPNE workshop about three months before taking the CPNE, prepared diligently, and passed the first time; as did five out of seven on my weekend. Really only for the experienced, able, and brave!

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 29, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Difficult.....but Achievable I thought the Excelsior experience was overall positive. I had been an LPN for 32 years, but had practiced a different discipline until I returned to Nursing 10 years ago. What was great is that it did not impact my life negatively. I enjoyed my day to day life, and took a test when I felt like it. This school was great until the time for the clinical portion. I was fortunate that I passed first time around, however that is not the case for many, many students. So much time and money already invested, and then this incredible hurdle to has to be cleared. I truly believe some changes need to be made. That could make this school and this degree a much more pleasant and positive experience. It is the subjective nature of the test, and how it is graded that is the problem. It can and should be changed...for the betterment of the student and school. I would say attend this school, with the provision knowing what is up ahead. All could be for not, if unable to pass one weekend in a hospital...I had to be the most stressful weekend I have ever experienced. I cannot imagine ever having to repeat that test!

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 18, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excelsior College Needs to Change their CPNE Eval Excelsior College is capable of graduating top notch nurses IF you can pass the CPNE. It's very hard not to think that the pass/fail criteria is not a "set up" to make money off of people. Please beware when taking their Clinical Competency exam as there is NO margin for mistake or failure which is very unlike traditional nursing schools. You pay $2000.00 to travel to one of their hospital sites for 2 1/2 days and most likely you will have to repeat it. They classify you as a "graduate nurse" which is suspect considering that you can't graduate before you pass the clinical exam. I just think they REALLY need to change the pass/fail criteria and include some teaching during clinicals since you ARE still really a student during this phase. I would not be surprised when they end up in court over this.

Mhamilton80 (Graduate) on June 10, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
LPN to ASN alumni from Missouri Using the online materials truly enhanced this learning experience for me, and I believe they can help anyone with reasonable tech/online skills. The school itself holds an immense reputation of manufacturing top notch nurses, and for that reason the program can be challenging. Trust me I remember my CPNE (clinical) very well. Of the six people that started two of us passed. So, don't be fooled, this program will metamorphosize you into a well prepared and well respected nurse. If that appeals to you, this may be your school. If you can't handle high pressure situations, or you think its too much, this may not be your school. Also if you aren't self-confident and self-motivated, or you can't learn their strict system of rigorous assessment, it may not be for you.

Mariewrinn (Graduate) on April 4, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bachelor Science in Nursing I looked at many options to complete my bachelor's degree. I was working as a nurse and traveled a lot when I started a new non-profit. On-line was the best way to go, plus the credits earned through examinations. For the level of practice I needed, Excelsior College provided a great experience. To address some of the negative reviews, not all colleges are accredited in each state. You must give it due diligence to chose a program that will meet the clinical hours for the state you plan on practicing in. To complete any on-line program, you will need to be a self-starter. You do not have face to face encounters with your co-students and instructors. I have classmates from around the world in my classes. I found their experiences added more depth to the program.

Jengle (In Progress) on January 22, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Madison CPNE Nursing Don't spend your time or money unless you plan to finish your ADN by paying for the final Exam at one of their "teaching" hospitals at least twice. The exam process - Labs are not difficult but are EXTRAORDINARILY SUBJECTIVE and set for failure if you are taking the test for the first time. The PCS(s) are also not difficult but again if you are only paying for the first time - plan on paying a second time before you pass - Very unlikely you will pass on the first time. Interruptions were continuous from the "lead" instructor throughout my process. He was a very high strung and arrogant CA, the regular instructors were continuously second guessed and interrupted as well. My Fail of the first PCS was on a misspelled word which the CE stated was not an issue and the CA stated failure for that reason anyway. He thought Asthma was spelled asthna....so that gives you an idea of just how subjectively knit picky they can be. All other aspects of the entire care plan and critical elements were more than satisfactory as stated by my CE. 6 Students were going to one facility and all were on their second time - they all passed the first night without repeat. The 6 students I was with had no successes and of course we had not yet paid FOR THE SECOND TIME YET - I am certain some of them will - I will not and am now discontinuing any further education through excelsior for this reason. This is very doable if you have the time and CASH$$$$$$ to repeat the program. Even when taking into account the second and third time taking it, there is only a 60% pass rate. I don't know the pass rate for first timers but I am betting it is around 10%. I have two other degrees from excelsior and two from othe institutions that are not extension or online programs and it pains me to say - DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE ALOT OF IT TO WASTE!!!! And.... Mr Gump with two "R"'s you and excelsior know who I am talking about... Get Real...You are the most high strung, rude, ego centric "instructor" I have ever met. Sorry your life has not been going well but we are people too. Personally you treated me like less than a pre-schooler; although I wouldn't have expected the rudeness and anger and obvious dissatisfaction in your own life to have shown so extensively toward a 3-5 year old child the way it did when you spoke AT me in such a disrespectful and disregarding manner. i truly hope Excelsior faculty will read this as well as anyone planning to waste their valuable time and resources in pursuit of this program. I was very well prepared and am no stranger to study. I am 50 years old and planned to excel in this new career path as I have done in my previous endeavors but not at the loss of my integrity. I am more upset about the treatment by this "Instructor" than the loss of the money and time. All any of us were looking for was a fair shake and it was OVERTLY obvious that all this instructor was looking for was JOB SECURITY by way of continued attrition and repeated PAYMENT!! Shame on you and Shame on Excelsior!!!

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 1, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I was very pleased I have just recently completed my ADN through Excelsior College and I was very pleased with the College. I went through The College Network for all of my courses who were amazing. Their courses were designed for working adults and loved the format of the courses. After completion of the courses I enrolled into excelsior college and did not think that the clinicals were very difficult at all. If you prepare with what they tell you you will do fine. I hear these storis that Excelsior College wont pss you at the weekend clinical but when I hear stories like that then the student must not have been prepared as they should have. Best advice I can give for the clinical is to act like states is in the buliding and you will do just fine. I would reccomend the program to anyone because it helped me get my degree without making any classroom attendance and it was once of the best decisions of my life.

Simoneaux_k (In Progress) on November 22, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Swindled I'm an LPN and took the online program. I took 14 subjects and a clinical. As a single parent, I worked two jobs to pay Excelsior. After paying them $12,000 cash, no loans, no government assitance. They gave me the materials, told me what to study and learn. Then failed me for petty things at the clinical. I did the whole program, jumped through hoops, paid and took new programs as they kept adding to wait i needed to do to graduate, but they failed me anyway. They were unfair, unreasonable, and greedy. As they failed me, they gave me an application to pay another $2,000 to apply to do another clinical in 6 months. I believe I gave them the money they wanted for a nursing education, but no degree because i didn't wash my hands before entering a closet the hallway outside a patient room. I didn't harm a patient. In fact, i didn't even get to meet the patient. There wer 8 of us testing that weekend. 1 student passed. This school needs to be investigated for their unfair practices. For selling products that the consumer cannot use. 12K invested, and I'm still an LPN. I'm exactly where I started 2 years ago. and I'm not the only one.

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 16, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very positive experience I am 2 classes away from finishing my ADN. I purchased my books on amazon and made payments on my enrollment fee while doing the program. I opted to go straight through excelsior without college network or any of the other publishing companies which charged up to 5000 more. You don;t need it. I'm glad I bought the 8 books and had all of that knowledge at my finger tips. Each class comes with an outline that tells you what you need to know. I saw a negative review that stated the material provided was not enough. Well as a nurse you need to be able to think for your self. If you can you'll love this program. P.S. Do it with a few friends to keep you motivated. We should be done in less than 9 months.

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 10, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pretty decent Had an issue at the beginning with them not updating my required courses. I had to contact them to find out what classes I still needed. It is expensive, but equaled out since I did not need to miss work to attend class. I am currently an LPN, and am finishing up my new state required preceptor. Passed the clinical weekend the first time, but man was it hard. Only problem now is that the hospitals in my area did not renew the preceptor contracts, so I had to wait for new ones to be signed. Now I have to travel 2 hours to a hospital to complete my degree so I can take my RN boards. I did not use their materials, I spent extra money on The College Network for their books. It was $5000 extra, but all the information was put into 1 book for each nursing component (I transferred all prerequisites at a community college, so only needed to do the nursing tests, CPNE, and state required preceptor). They did add additional requirements towards the end, but gave students lots of time to prepare, and gave us a date-ie: if you have all nursing tests done by certan date, then you don't need to take extra classes. They gave us so much time, I was able to complete 3 tests before the changes took place. I would recommend this school.

Hdeand (Graduate) on March 21, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Positive reviiew I'm writing this review for my wife, who finished her Associate's Degree in Nursing in 2002. She had been an LPN and working in a small ER for about 10 years when she decided to pursue her RN. I must admit that I was very skeptical about her choice, but I had to be supportive. I have a BS in EMS and Masters degree in Health Admin and had some reservations about the whole "on-line" or "mail-order" degree programs. I ended up eating my words and will have to say that I was quite impressed with the program. She had more one-on-one communication with her counselor during her year or so of studies than I had in the six years or so it took me to complete my graduate degree (from a traditional, and very well respected, program). She had a vast amount of experience in nursing and I would not recommend someone without experience to choose this program. It does require self-motivation, as well as work on the student's part to locate appropriate study materials. The clinical weekend is intimidating. I cannot say with certianty or with personal knowledge, but there seems to be a very high performance expectation, but, then again, the student has two days to show clinical proficiency so expectations should be high. My wife passed without difficulty (she had a lot of experience going into it). As I approach retirement with nearly thirty in EMS as a Paramedic, I am enrolling in the same program. I have only just begun the application process so I cannot speak to my own experience. I only hope my experience mimics my wife's. With luck, I'll write another positive review in another year or two.

Handyone2 (In Progress) on September 8, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
There is a reason they want all you money upfront I would question the source of any review that gives this college a 5 or above rating. They want the money for all courses upfront and then the materials don't cover the test. To be clear, insuficient materials are provided to properly prepare for the tests. And there is insufficient support when trying to get the proper information. The program does have some guarantees, however they are useless and it is not at all practical to meet the stipulations of the guarantee. Even the testing college said we needed additional materials. I have been around the block a time or two and would discourage anyone from using this program. In fact I would say that we were definitly taken advatage of. It would be interesting to see the programs overall results.

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 10, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BEST COLLEGE EVER AWESOME COLLEGE. AFFORDABLE. PAYMENT PLANS ARE AVAILABLE. IS THERE ANY OTHER COLLEGE IN THE US WITH AP PAYMENT PLAN? I GRADUATED WITH AN ASSOCIATE'S DEGREE AND NO LOAN TO PAY BACK WORKING 2 JOBS AT THE SAME TIME. NEVER MISSED A BEAT. NEVER COMPROMISED MY YEARLY EARNINGS!! GREAT COLLEGE. NOW I AM WORKING ON MY MASTERS IN NURSING AND ALL TO WHOM I APPLIED ACCEPTED MY DEGREE FROM EXCELSIOR. FOR MY MASTERS I TRIED UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX AND BOY DID I QUICKLY LEARN WHERE MY LOYALTIES LIE. EXCELSIOR IS THE BEST COLLEGE EVER.

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Excelsior College