Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Fort Hays State University

  • Fort Hays State University Reviews

    Ranking: #34
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation:

3.4
49 Reviews
5 12 
4 15 
3 9 
2 9 
1 4 
0 0 

Fort Hays State University Reviews:

Time for Change.

Master of Liberal Studies - April 13, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have a lot of experience writing research and some of my research has been published. During a research class at this university I had a very hard time getting a simple Problem Statement approved. My professor did absolutely nothing to help me out or lead me to what he exactly was looking for. In the end he changed ONE word and approved it. Really? So I researched him. Never published any research, EVER. His history and credentials state he is approved to advise grades K-12. This is a Master's Program. Did I miss something here? I will be transferring to another school next semester.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Social Networking Management taught my librarians ?

Master of Liberal Studies - March 5, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose this school because it was affordable and I need the most amount of student loan reimbursement. I am taking the entry level courses such as IDS801, ISD802, and IDS803, and failing two of them. I have never in my life failed courses that I have put this much effort into. I wish I had read these reviews before I wasted my time with this school. The professors are so full of themselves, taking more than 50% of your grade on an assignment away for things like, "you didn't respond to one other classmate" when they did not make it clear how many times you need to respond. They also take 25% of a grade off because you used a spelling of something they did not thing was right, even if it is grammatically correct. Be prepared to not be able to continue a degree that you just wasted a ton of time on because if you don't get a B average you get booted out. That's a bit harsh, and I have never in my life failed a class, and am failing two entry-level courses. I think that's them not me, because I answer all their questions and still fail the assignments. Also if you take Joelle Spotswood for IDS802 be prepared to fail every quiz, 50% of the class does. She asks inane questions from essays within a textbook that you would have to memorize every single word to be able to answer. All in all, not sure what I will do, maybe withdrawal, but just be forewarned, and do your homework. I have been to four different schools now with three degrees and have never had discussions that are only worth 8 points where you are expected to write 300-500 words.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Annoyed with the lack of support from the advisor.

Master of Liberal Studies - October 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, I love the education I am getting from FHSU Virtual classes. They are thorough, well planned, and intriguing. The classes are sometimes incredibly time consuming, but I would not expect anything less of a graduate school program. My only two complaints are with my advisor whom in 1.5 years of my education there has only responded to one of my many messages to this person. Second is with the MLS program with an emphasis in Art. They have not provided enough classes to support my degree to be completed in two years. I am very disappointed about this and can't get my advisor to return emails or phone calls to try to find a solution to this problem, if there even is one. Who knows I may need to wait another 1+ semesters before they offer another lectured online class or move to Hays to take my last class in person.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program & Value

Master of Liberal Studies - July 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Prior to choosing and subsequently enrolling at FHSU, I conducted thorough research into schools, various online programs offered, associative costs and accredidation and found FSHU to be among the top of the list. As a working adult with numerous responsibilities, I found the MLS program offered by FHSU to be both practical, economical and able to meet my individual needs.Overall I found the program/classes to be both challenging and enlightening and the online discussions/student participation were very engaging and thought provoking. In those instances when I did have an issue, question or inquiry for either my instructors,Advisor, Student Fiscal Services, the Book store or the technical staff,my inquiries were always answered in a timely and professional manner. My only negative comment would that some classes required several text books which as it turned out, were not always used during semester thus unecessarily adding to the semester cost. Overall,in my opinion, the online MLS program at FHSU is a quality program which engages and challenges students. I would highly recommend the program to any working adult who desires to attain or complete a quality college education from a reputable and accredited school. Although it met my needs, I recommend that you do your research and compare schools, accredidation, costs and programs offered before making a decision.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Affordable and relevant, though a bit inconsistent

Master of Liberal Studies - May 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Completed the MLS in 2009; the coursework was relevant, and as it's a lot of guided study is what you make of it. The degree has paid for itself several times over in 3 years; helped win a promotion at work, and have since landed a new Exec-level job, though having to explain what MLS from the "presitigious FHSU" (wink wink) was to an interview panel of VPs was interesting. If you're looking for a Masters Degree from an accredited, bricks-and-mortar school (vs. an online mill or for-profit mill), if you're paying for it on your own, or if don't have the GPA for a highly selective school, FHSU may be a good fit. If you need spoon-fed courses and prefer the cachet of a bigger school, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Master's in Information Assurance

Master of Liberal Studies - September 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Master’s degree in Information Assurance at Fort Hays State in the Fall of 2010. I looked at a number of different programs, but as a full-time employee chose Fort Hays because it was affordable, allowed for a flexible schedule, and most importantly to me, is certified by the NSA as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance. While attending, I was able to earn my CISSP—a goal I had long sought but could not have attained without the education I received from my Information Assurance coursework. There were two Linux classes I wish I wouldn't have taken because they weren't challenging enough, but all the other coursework was plenty demanding. By the end I was so tired of writing papers and reading textbooks I swore I was done with school for good. Anyone who says it's a diploma mill must have had very different professors in a different program because that certainly isn't the case with Information Assurance. The Liberal Arts requirements themselves are quite demanding, and me thinks the people who complain about there insignificance are the same people that complain about the insignificance of History, English, and any other Liberal Arts discipline. For what it's worth, most of my classes started with 10-15 students, but slowly dwindled as the semester wore on. There were only three Information Assurance students in my graduating class. Make no mistake, you will have to earn your degree!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Real School ...........Real Degree

Master of Liberal Studies - January 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate of FHSU. I am very pleased with the program and would advise anyone interested in furthering their education to consider FHSU. It is a fine university. The campus in Hays, Kansas is beautiful. This is a good a school, if you do not the like the program, go somewhere else, but don't bash it.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your money

Master of Liberal Studies - January 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You get what you pay for. The program is inexpensive, but it is full of courses that will prove useless and unrelated to your field. The core requires ten credits, which is a third of your coursework. These courses are often odd, and definitely worthless. There is no academic freedom, you have to get approval to write a sentence. Very little emphasis on research. If you are looking for an academic degree, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Fort Hays State University's Master of Liberal Stu

Master of Liberal Studies - July 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay away from the Fort Hays State University's Master of Liberal Studies degree at all cost. I am in the program worst mistake of my life. The course content is worthless and the workload is sometimes three times what it should. The instructors are the worst I have ever had

Was this review helpful?

8 of 20 people found the following review helpful

The Most Outstanding Value Today

Master of Liberal Studies - November 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Earned my MLS at FHSU in 2001. I had no scholarship, tuition assistance, or other financel aid, so I searched far and wide for the least expensive regionally accredited Master's degree and found FHSU's Virtual College. Northwest KS low cost of living may be the reason but down-to-earth teachers who must like the rural life are a bonus. The Blackboard on-line experience supplemented by DVD's and email worked well. Ideal for independent learners who thrive on self-study with the added benefit of limited class interaction. The overall value is paramount.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Not a Diploma Mill but getting there

Master of Liberal Studies - May 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Fort Hays State University has strengths and weaknesses. The strengths are that the courses are more inexpensive than most university courses. Online courses can be a great way for someone to get their degree who works fulltime and has a family. Like a lot of things, you get out of it what you put into it. If you just want to get a master's degree for advancement and are a very independent learner, FHSU may suit your needs. If you're looking for quality, to learn something, and be in a supportive academic environment -- I'd give FHSU a pass. FHSU is a "real" university and accredited and it has gone into online education in a big way. It has increased it's online degree programs and it's online courses. Course sizes are often large, especially for a master's degree program--with 25 to 35 students. Do not expect quality feedback from your professors or your phone calls or emails returned. For Fall 2009 courses, it is typical of FHSU. Course schedules are not fully posted and it is May and pre-registration has been going on for some time. Fall 2009 core courses are still being approved. I am not talking about FHSU approving extra sections after the first ones were full -- they did not list initial core courses! If you wish to register for classes that you need you will find that they are not listed. You cannot ask your adviser (who has a truckload of students to advise) because they do not know any more than you do. The courses may or may not be added. Since FHSU is also closing it's campus doors during summer 2009, it seems that FHSU is more concerned with cutting costs rather than helping out students or even making it easy for students to sign up for the courses they need. Courses may be taught by someone who is an adjunct/visiting instructor (without a Ph.D.) who is not actually at FHSU because FHSU farms out it's courses. Although FHSU gives little support, it's computer system Blackboard may be down for days at a time, and you may not be able to get answers from anyone (FHSU unlike most "real" universities is closing this summer though it's online courses will still be available) -- the student is still expected to turn in assignments on time, dot every "i" and cross every "t" --this can be very frustrating.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

A Perfect Fit

Master of Liberal Studies - November 19, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This degree was a perfect fit for me. The concentration in English will allow me to teach (my goal), and the instruction was top-notch. An online graduate program is not for the faint of heart, and the coursework proved time-consuming and challenging. The professors are professional and easily-accessible. This was a valuable experience for me (I would do it over again), and I would recommend this program to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

It was great!

Master of Liberal Studies - November 15, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm not sure what the first reviewer was thinking. They must not have put much work into their coursework. Online programs aren't for the disorganized. You have to be organized and above that, disciplined. If you're not that, don't sign up for any online tasks. It just won't work. I found FHSU to be one of the friendliest communities I've ever come into contact with. The instructors were not only approachable, online, but also extremely knowledgeable. Twenty years ago when I got out of high school I'd have not gone to FHSU but the current president of the university has made a vow to produce some great content and it's evident as at my graduation ceremony last year, there were more graduates then ever before and they were going to give two more graduations overseas! Not only was the education a great feather in my cap, but the value was unbelievable. This university is one of the least expensive that I researched out of the eight schools I cconsidered. You won't lose at this school UNLESS you allow yourself to do so.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Fort Hays State University in any way.