Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grand Canyon University

  • Grand Canyon University Reviews

    Ranking: #70
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA-HLC), The Higher Learning Commission.

2.9
273 Reviews
5 68 
4 55 
3 25 
2 48 
1 77 
0 0 

Grand Canyon University Reviews:

Enjoying it and still continueing too

B.S. Psychology - June 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AWESOME SCHOOL I have been going here for a year and I love this school and have recruited one of my friends who is doing the exact program I am doing. I think that with any school it is what you make of it. I did have a problem and had considered transferring but I remained with the school and gave them the opportunity to fix the problem in which they did and Iam set to possibly graduate if all goes well in may of 2015.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Another non-Christian student warning

B.S. Psychology - November 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Yes, this is a Christian school and I was totally fine with that. My first few classes went fine but I was unimpressed with the quality of the course work. The instructors were just above mediocre but I gave it a chance because I thought was maybe just adjusting from attending a brick and mortar university. Many people in these courses can barely form coherent thoughts or use periods correctly. I decided to keep pushing through and see what happened during my next few courses. That is when I entered the Christian Worldview class. The first week went fine and I was glad to know I was not the only non-Christian. By the 2nd week, the professor's character was crystal clear. I went out of my way to be respectful and I followed every assignment perfectly without being judgmental; that treatment was not reciprocated. The professor and two other students jumped on everything I said and even made comments to other students that were obviously about me. The professor was condescending towards any view that differed from his own. The best part is that a great number of his replies in the forum were not grammatically correct and sometimes they were flat out incoherent. I was more than shocked but I just kept my mouth shut and pushed through. I got an A in the course (just like all of their other courses) for those of you who think I might be bitter about my grade. This experience paired with the quality of education GCU offers left a bad taste in my mouth. I plan on transferring to another university as soon as my current course is over.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 34 people found the following review helpful

So Far So Good

B.S. Psychology - November 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the last week of my first class. After reading the reviews, I started not to attend this school. Before I registered for this school I was registered for another online University. I started on the 28 of August and withdrew on the 30 of August. I will not go into details of the other University. Grand Canyon has been a wonderful experience for me. It is not a perfect School, but it works for me. The Instructor is great, and knows his stuff. The Faculty and Staff are very helpful. I love LoudCloud class room. So far I am pleased and glad I chose GCU. It might not be the number one school. I assure you it is not the worst.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Positive education experience

B.S. Psychology - October 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have found GCU to be a very good School. The only complaint I would have would be in the financial aid counselors and that is some of them not all of them. The Teachers are knowledgeable and interested in their students. Admissions counselors are open and they listen. There is a level of honesty and integrity that I admire. Their use of technology is appropriate and solid. They are always trying to improve their system and programs. Like many things you get out what you put into the experience. You can go to the best college in the world and not learn a thing if you make that choice. My experience with GCU is why I have continued on to get my Masters in psychology at GCU.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Great School so far!

B.S. Psychology - October 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

GCU so far has been a wonderful experience. The professors are wonderful and so helpful, the courses are challenging but are possible, and the staff and administration have been great so far! I have read the reviews from some of the people and realize that GCU is a wonderful school. Some people have had a bad experience (mostly those in the online program)due to the financial and academic administration. But my experience as an on campus student has been awesome so far and I look forward to the next few years.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Non-Christians Beware

B.S. Psychology - September 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not Christian and I was well aware going in I would be taking Christian-oriented classes and be working with Christian teachers and classmates. I am accepting of others beliefs and was not concerned it would interfere with my education. What I was not prepared for was how condescending and judgmental the textbook and lessons would be to non-Christians. When the class posted responses to the teacher's questions each week, I expected college level statements and intelligent, thought-out conversations. At least 8 out of 10 students in each of my classes could not put a sentence together that was not filled with misspelled words and bad grammar. Most of the responses to my statements were filled with scripture from the Bible. The use of critical thinking in a business setting does not include responding to a co-worker with quotes from the Bible. I attempted to ask the teachers valid questions in a respectful tone. I either received no response or a very condescending response that implied I was clueless. I felt I was constantly having to defend myself and choose my words carefully, while the Christian students could post garbled run-on sentences with some scripture and the teacher would respond with favorable comments. I was disappointed. I wanted to finish my degree with GCU, but after 3 classes I gave up.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 41 people found the following review helpful

Buyer Beware!!! Get Everything in Writing!!!

B.S. Psychology - February 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They start out great. Everyone seems to care about your academic career. Unfortunately, the financial and academic advisors turnover so fast that you get a new one every few months. Have a question about something you were promised 2 months ago? Good luck! This place is a nightmare that won't end. I spent countless hours on the phone trying to straighten out the mess that my academic counselor made for me. I finished all of my classes but now my degree is being held hostage because the small scholarship that I was promised to cover the costs of my last class disappeared!! They admit they made a mistake, but refuse to do anything about it. I can't get my transcripts released because they say I still owe $1500. This is after they have received over $20,000 from me over the last couple of years!! Don't trust a word that you are told. Find a different university or you will be sorry!!! You have been warned!!

Was this review helpful?

23 of 40 people found the following review helpful

BS in Addiction Counseling

B.S. Psychology - June 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm thankful to God for allowing me to accomplish this goal. The staff in every department were kind and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend GCU to anyone that is trying to further their education.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful

do not be decieved, stay away

B.S. Psychology - June 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has it's pro's and con's. The good thing is the advance technology that allows you to have everything you need as if you were in the classroom. The bad thing is that every other month they add additional fees to your tuition. I started school in the end of Dec. 2010. After my first 2 classes my tuition went from 1740 to 1800 and the cost of my books increased. I have only taken 3 classes and now I am charged an additional $450 for technology fee. Another bad thing is that if I have a problem with any financial issues, it takes a few weeks to be solved. Same for academic issues. During my second week of class, there was a discrepancy about a quiz grade. It's been 4 weeks and today I was told to wait until my grade is posted and if my grade is not effected than don't worry about the problem. I am so sick and tired of this school. Don't think that you can start and quit if you don't like the teacher because after you have post anything on the discussion board you are obligated to finish that class. Nothing like community college at all. If you can go to your local school university, I would suggest that you go. They may have to advantage to offer you one class for 7 weeks, but it's no peace.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 21 people found the following review helpful

NIGHTMARE

B.S. Psychology - June 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has been a complete and utter NIGHTMARE. The only positive thing (which I'll get out of the way quickly, is that the teachers are pretty lax and attentive) Negatives: Materials: Materials, what? Half the time links we were supposed to write papers about were inactive. The E-book idea while cheap and easy doesn't allow you to take in any real information. You say fine, I'll buy the book.. but you're still charged 75 bucks per class. Support: I thought I had to do everything myself. They have NO CLUE how to work with the VA or financial aid. Finance Counselors are few and far between. My student loans appeared after 6 phone calls, 3 escalations and one bitchy email. It was a total of three months! Academic Counselors? Really- I remember hearing "Yes I'll send that parent letter" "Yes I'll enroll you in those classes" or how about "Oh you didn't get my email?". I GET ALL MY EMAILS. IDIOT. I am supposed to graduate in 8 weeks because I have a Masters program starting at a REAL UNIVERSITY in the fall. I have however today been dropped from the last class I need because GOD knows why. I was never informed. Value: WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what little service they provide. A Real degree mill would at least care about graduating their students. I am SO DISAPPOINTED in GCU! Staff are lazy, overworked, and RUDE!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Great School

B.S. Psychology - January 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided to attend Grand Canyon based on the curricullum and I have not been disappointed. The workload is far greater than a brick and mortar school but the knowledge that I have gained has definitely been worth it. Occasionally I have had technical issues with the online platform but each time they were rectified promptly. The instructors are knowledgeable and very helpful. I have two courses left in my program and I plan on attending GCU for a graduate program as well.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Just finished my BS in Psychology

B.S. Psychology - October 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my BS in Psychology at GCU. This is a great school, and getting better. Many here have made complaints about being charged for classes they did not attend. I had the same problem, but they have changed their policy on that, so no one should have that problem again. This is a rigorous program, and many complain about "devoting your life to studies", but I think that is how it is at any university. It does take time and dedication, but it is so worth it. I highly recommend this university. GCU is not like UOP when it comes to financial aid, as they actually send your rebate checks in a timely manner. UOP was always questionable about financial aid, but has been reliable, and I've always known how much, and when I would receive my checks. Great school, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is self-motivated.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful

NOT A GOOD SCHOOL

B.S. Psychology - August 15, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

GRAND CANYON has took a turn for the worst, I went there 16 months and the last 5 months has been a nighmare. They decided they were going to run a university without the student being able to make contact by phone. That is wrong and no body in their right mind is going for that. Grand Canyon right now is not resprensting a Christ like university. Grand Canyon do not care about the students, they are forgetting that the students is the reason they are in business. Save your self a lot of pain by run as fast as you can. There are some better schools out there.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Sound Education

B.S. Psychology - September 21, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is for those who are self starters, and can do it alone, however I have loved some of the teachers and I think the education is top notch. You will work harder here than at some brick and mortar schools but your education will be top notch. I am three classes from graduation and have been two years at GCU.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grand Canyon University in any way.