Grand Canyon University : Nursing Reviews

Grand Canyon University logo

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 20, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't do it. 50% good instructors and 50% incredibly awful instructors in the nursing program. The marketing department at Grand Canyon University is exceptional and has managed to give the nursing, and all other programs, a remarkable reputation. In this case, it is undeserved. The clinical placement people did an amazing job getting students clinical experiences in the local hospitals and great hands-on experiences. Some professors really cared and went out of their way to help students while others were collecting paychecks and couldn't have cared less. They were condescending and unhelpful and hostile when challenged. I graduated with honors from the program this past year and am especially proud of that accomplishment because there was very little support or help from half of the instructors. The good ones -- and you know who you are -- deserve medals for working in that environment. It's expensive and time-consuming for all involved. I understand all programs have their areas where improvements may be implemented, but this program could use them at almost every level. The Dean of Nursing appeared to be too busy having meetings, luncheons, and her photograph taken to supervise her personnel. Very disappointing.

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 18, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GREAT University! I am SO GLAD I chose GCU! I am almost done, well, four more classes. I am so glad I chose GCU for my RN-BSN degree. ALL of my Professors are GREAT and so HELPFUL. I remember I used to attend Western Carolina University, Cal Poly, Pomona, and other community colleges. I have NEVER met any Professor that are SO GREAT, so helpful, professional, kind, and understanding like professors at GCU. I am doing online, but feel so close to my professors at GCU. I learned SO MUCH, all up-to-date information. I am currently in "Trends" class and my co-worker thought I'm doing my Master degree in Nursing. My co-worker received a Master degree in Nursing Educator from Cal. State Fulleton and her CLC assignment (course re: "Support your BILL SB 352" they (five students) only wrote one page letter "Brief" to oppose this "BILL". I feel I am learning so much more in BSN program. I am so ADMIRE my Professors and GCU staffs. They all are extremely helpful. Of-course you have to study and do your homework in order to learn and earn your degree. I am strongly encourage anyone to return school for BSN choose this school. You will be so GLAD that you did (like me). I don't work for the school. I am just an experienced RN living in California, returning to school for BSN. I am just a student who just LOVE GCU, and SO GLAD I chose GCU. Just in my Cardiac (Tele) unit there are seven of us attending GCU. My CNO asked us if I like GCU. We told him what a great school to attend! (our hospital and Benefactors given us scholarships to return to school).

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 27, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Online University and Nursing Program, RN-BSN I have taken seven RN-BSN courses and really love it. Instructors are EXCELLENT and counselors are GREAT (especially Millitary Enrollment Counselor are the BEST). Instructors are very supportive and EXCELLENT. Courses are very interesting with latest information for learning. I just don't understand why some people given bad reviews about GCU. You have to read and do your homeworks no matter what school you attending. All my professors are very very good and graceful. I am so GLAD I chose GCU to do my BSN and I highly recomanding to anyone that have a very busy schedule, then this school will fit well for you. My friends went to University of Phoenix, Brandman, and were very unhappy because they have to attend class and stand up in front of class for presentations, plus many more on top of it. I don't know what more I can say except I am VERY HAPPY with GCU. Four more courses for me to EARN my BSN. I am so proud of GCU. Most nurses in my hospital already graduated from GCU and said the same thing about this university "great school, great RN-BSN program". Some of them already started MSN program.

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 8, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
RN=BSN (GCU ADDING EXTRA COURSES IN MY CURRICULUM) I took Statistic, Patho., Health assessment, Speech/Communication, and two Psychology courses. I don't need to retake these class. GCU is VERY supportive and AGREED I do not have to take them, BUT GCU added two more classes which I do not need (to make up for money ??). This will prolong my graduation. The thing is English is my second language and I have been trying extremely hard to pass all previous classes with good grades. Two extra classes is a lot for me due to English. It has been extremely stressful making me so depress and just want to stop all total.

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 28, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I love it! I was scared off initially by all of the negative reviews. Once I started my courses I soon realized that a lot of the people who failed probably deserved it. I put in a lot of time into each and every class. I see people answer discussion questions that appear to have little or no effort. They seem to be trying to skim by and BS their way through. Which in my opinion is why some fail and get angry. You only take once class at a time and the work load can get heavy at times. I agree the most annoying part of the class are the CLC projects. I have had really great groups where I spent less time than I would writing a paper, and others where only a couple of people do the majority of the work. But this does not only happen at GCU, I have a friend who had the same experience at a local University. It is true that each instructor is different, but each instructor is different at any college you go to. Nurse should have experience with this as nothing is ever the same. I feel so supported at GCU, they always check in on me and have always helped me to succeed. Do not be fearful of what people are saying to you. Not every student tries 100% or does work honestly. My guess is, someone who goes from an A to an F probably plagiarized. Someone did this in the last class and the teacher flipped out and made it clear that you will be failed. I see that sometimes people post things that are sighted incorrectly and that is a form of plagiarism.

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 26, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Starting Program in a few days! I went on this site to read reviews and was very surprised at the negative responses. I was initially concerned and then questioned why I was even researching reviews. Virtually everyone I know who has gone here to obtain their BSN has been very happy with the program and personally I have found them to be very welcoming and supportive every step of the way during the admissions process and I look forward to achieving this degree with them. Nursing school by its very nature, is not easy and I do not expect that this will be either but I am willing to do the work and as far as the grading process, all nursing programs have a more stringent grading scale with 75% as a failing grade. This should not have been a surprise to anyone. I will post an update further into the program.

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 13, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pleased overall I just completed the RN-BSN program at GCU. 8 people from the floor i work on have also completed online nursing degrees there including my nurse manager. It was very conducive to my active work schedule and not overwhelming. I can see where people who are not comfortable with technology may have some problems however, if you know the basics of powerpoint and Microsoft word you will be fine. This is a great option for people who are seeking a BSN without having to take all the " fluff" classes many universities require. I was able to simply take all nursing classes, aside from one short statistics class. Overall, i strongly recommend this program to all RN's who want to continue their education. I received a 3.8 cumulative GPA and worked 5/ 12 hour shifts a week and planned a wedding. Definitely do-able for anybody to succeed. I never felt scammed or mistreated. It is somewhat pricey but, to be able to complete the program in one year and not take extra chemistry, biology, ethics, and whatever else courses it was worth it to pay a little more.

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 10, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Avoid this school!!! Like another review on here I was proud to go to this school too, at first. I'm half way done and it has been the worst experience ever. First it is way to expensive, second the teachers treat the students which are professional RNs horrible, disrespectful and the instructions are vague. I am upset almost every week with this program. I wish I went somewhere else. Also there are group projects in every class and most of the students don't help, so if you don't do the entire project yourself you get a bad grade along with your group. This is just a horrible program period.

Kimptruong (In Progress) on March 11, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Program RN-BSN student I am learning so much from GCU materials. I love my on-line professors. I don't believe any bad comments about GCU. My instructors are all very supportive and very understanding. I love Ms Chrystal Davis Carter. She is enrollment counselor. She ALWAYS there for me. She never tired of me asking questions over and over. I feel like I am her only student. She never hang up phone until I am fully understood my subject. I really love everything about this school. And of course you have have to study hard to pass your class. Courses are very interesting and everything are up-to-date. For a private University GCU prices are not bad. Library and tutoring staffs are incredible. They are soooooo helpful and NICE. I am not an easy student but I love this school and have NOTHING bad to say about GCU. I would love to obtain MSN after my BSN.

Sunnyskies519 (In Progress) on February 7, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GCU Nursing Scam Please read this and the other reviews and take them seriously. I have begun my BSN education after being a nurse for 8 years. It is a terrible waste of money and time at GCU. My instructor is irritated at questions for the instructor. My counselor tells me to bear it because we're veterans and we can. I am utterly overwhelmed and the technology to assist me on the GCU website takes a class in and of itself to navigate. If you have time and are not working and have a lot of computer tech experience, this college may be right for you. If you are looking for ease if use and classroom support you must look elsewhere.

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 24, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
worst experience I had the worst experience with this school. will never recommend this school to anyone. all they want is your money, doesn't even matter if you gpa is 1 they will still enroll you as long as they get paid.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 17, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GCU - Not a bad university...but it some policy changes I'm taking my second to last class at GCU and will graduate with my BS in Nursing. The support service is good and some of the professors seem knowledgeable and others are just here because it a job. I cannot stand those that just ask you questions instead of adding their knowledge and expertise to yours. My worst experience at GCU was the CLC assignments. Could you imagine being placed in a group with people who cannot put a sentence together, those who prefer to wait last minute and their contribution to the project is pure crap. I would have given GCU a much better grade if they did not have CLC group assignments. It's not fair to be in a group with people who are uneducated, clueless, lazy, irresponsible, dumb and for lack of a better description those who think they are slick. I have heard all the excuses in the book - from I had to leave the country, I had the flu, I work 60 hours a week, my child is sick, I had a funeral and even I don't speak English well because it is not my first language. Well for all of you I DON"T CARE! Get with the program, we are all adults and should be held accountable. The CLC is graded as a group, which is not fair. If my grade depends on another persons work I don't give a @#%& what problems they may have. I was going away on vacation last Christmas and I made sure my section of the CLC was submitted 2 days ahead so I could make any corrections if needed.Well if you cannot tell I'm frustrated because I'm in a CLC group at this very minute and 2 of the group members are not living up to their responsibility. One of them I'm even starting to wonder how they even graduated high school, YES high school. I'm paying a lot of money for this program and would rather be judged on my own merit and work. I have a perfect 4.0 and I deserve it because I have put in the work. The program is thought provoking and I did a lot of research which helped me in a lot of ways professionally and personally.Well I vented and I feel a lot better. I graduate in May.....Yeah

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 3, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BSN Student at GCU Attending GCU for nursing (a cohort campus), I was excited, even proud to be attending this school; yet, I regret to admit that I'm now shocked by the disorganization, inconsistency, poor quality/unprofessional instructors (one in particular, doesn't even understand osmosis, yet tests us on the subject and don't get me started on her grammar) & overall bad treatment of us students. Our class of 9 students began w/ 30! Grading is tilted (95-100% = A); but, of course, we were not informed of this detail until we were already in too deep. The expectations unclear (eg: assignments not graded according to rubric). The Director promotes stress, zero accountability, chaos, & fear. Being offered a fat scholarship for my 4.0 transfer GPA influenced my choice, but I only learned later the program is designed to lower it- and our confidence. I feel tricked- I had other options but was treated so well by the awesome admissions counselor that I mistakenly believed the rest of my educational experience would mirror this. Reality? I have been treated like a child, publically humiliated in front of my peers as the result of an instructor who decided she hates me, and have watched many of my fellow students (several who are brillant), fail out based upon whacked tests and bogus standards. While I have no proof, I believe it is in their economic model to fail out a % of their students- after all, if you can force 3/4 to repeat the program, profits will benefit! I'm not going to suggest anyone not attend-our BSN choices are limited in AZ, but just don't enter the program blindly as I did...Make sure you have a strong spine, tons of patience, and a perfectly working laptop. They can make excuses, and they will (as in giving you your schedule the week before a new semester begins) but students are given 0 tolerance- you may even get written up! (Apparently, they do this to adults who are paying over 20K a year to be there!)

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Avoid GCU at all COSTS Biggest waste of money I can imagine. All the bad reviews...read them and run. They run a boiler-room operation that is only interested in closing the deal and getting your money. They claim to be a christian organization like that has any credibility? Scoundrels who hide behind religion are the worst.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 14, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Waste of your time RN to BSN I enrolled RN to BSN degree program this year. [One of my instructors] does not know how to add numbers. She gave me grading above 92% on all topics (It shows on the system) and finally she gave me “Failed” overall grading because she probably forgot what she gave me. She has not accounted two topics on which I got 100/100 and 93/100. I called her and she asked me to email. I did and she supposed to get back to me within 24 hours as per their policy. She never got back to me. She is so unprofessional and playing with our career. If she does not understand the urgency of the matter how we can we expect she is contributing rest of the world positively. I wonder where she got the license from and she is still cognizant. This was my first class with GCU. You can understand how frustrating it is I got “F” while I was expecting “A”. They took my money for the 2nd class and stopped me now because of F grade. The counselor says it will take a week to resolve it. The department will resolve this issue within a week. Today is the last day of the week. He agreed it is unfair but who is responsible for all these? Who pays for my time? I have to pay for their stupidity? Unbelievable? Never enroll such a college.

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 12, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
New GCU MSN student BIG MISTAKE Unless you are VERY patient with poorly organized curriculum, you should steer clear of GCU. The plus side: tech support is very helpful, and they need to be because you will be in the midst of the worst online experience you will likely ever have. Pleasant personalities and friendly support can't put lipstick on this pig. The orientation to this horrible implementation of "Angel" is a joke, you will be failing your assignments and their deadlines wading through a byzantine web organization. You have been warned!

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 23, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BSN I am half way done with my BSN and so far I have nothing but all wonderful experience. The teachers are very knowledgeable and reponsive. Personal Advisor and financial councelor are always available and willing to answer any question I may have. The only problem I want to mention is being online provider, the technology does not seem to be that up to date. Interestingly, on the program we are using, the spell checker doesn't seem to recognize so many common English words. Live technical support supposedly is "always available", but not really. Overall, it is good.

Ziemblicki (In Progress) on January 30, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GCU I only just started the program but so far I am doing well. I like that when my counselors call me, they actually spend time with me on the phone and they actually remember me, yes there are times when I have to remind them of some things like how old my kids are but come on, I can hardly remember my age half the time! It has been hard for me to get back into going to school but I'm slowly accepting that school is hard work and there is no easy way out. The price is very comparable to ground campuses. It certainly is cheaper than Phoenix and South. Bottom line is that there is no perfect school, no quick fixes, and certainly no free lunch. I like Grand Canyon so far and I plan to continue with my master's next April.

Brockandjesica (Graduate) on October 4, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Horrible school I'm not sure I can fit all my complaints in one space. I got my BSN through a cohort program. We were told we had to submit grades to be able to have our classes paid for. For the first six classes, I never submitted paperwork and had my classes paid for. When I did ask GCU to submit my grades, I never heard it it was actually done or not. My counselors changed every week and even after I graduated I kept getting e-mails about my "graduation team". Every time I tried to get information from someone, they wouldn't answer the phone and never returned my calls or e-mails. Since I was through a cohort, I wasn't planning on paying for my classes. Because GCU didn't submit my grades so they could get paid, I had an outstanding balance. Again, I could never reach someone to resolve the issue. Then, I start getting letters from GCU stating I would be sent to collections if I didn't pay up. Not my fault you can't get your crap together! So, after finally getting that taken care of, I call to have my diploma sent to me. They inform me I am one credit short. Wth!?! That would have been nice to know before I completed my program. I had my transcripts sent over to them but apparently, they never received them but didn't bother to let me know. According to their documentation, they talked to me about it (big fat lie). So now, if my credits don't transfer, I have to take a class from them to meet my one credit deficiency. If that's the case, I will NOT be paying for it!! I have never been to such an unorganized, unprofessional school! It's seriously ridiculous. I've had many nursing students from GCU complain about the same problems. I did have pretty good teachers. The only teacher I had a problem with was my spirituality teacher (weird, GCU is a Christian school). Not only was he a Nazi about our grammar and spelling, he marked papers down for errors that weren't really errors because they were "grammarically incorrect" (that's not even a real word!) I understand our papers should have proper spelling and grammar, but we were NOT in English class, it's spirituality! I got a B in that class...a B!! Who gets a B in spirituality!?! Apparently, me. So my advice? Don't go to this school and if you do, be prepared for major issues.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 18, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Masters in NRS education I have been underwhelmed by this program in so many areas. The recruiter is excellent and I do mean excellent. I now know she must have had a significant career in military recruitment due to the caliber of what she slung. They will tell you anything to get you hooked and started. Sounds so great to be assigned a personal academic & finance counsellor. A person you can count on to guide and help along the way. The greatness frimly stops at the idea. If you can ever get your advisor on the phone, they have zero idea who you are and even less interest in helping with an actual problem. The instructors are a truly mixed bag. There are several exceptional educators in the masters program but they are few & far between. Since the management is so set on keeping everything a secret this iformation is hard won! I had more than 3 instructors that we never heard from week three onward. No contact with the administration even after we finished the class ourselves. The admin has no clue and care nothing for the students. My understanding is that the Dean is setting herself up for a position with a national nursing organization and wants no problems. She has surrounded herself with incompetents to make herself look better. The class work itself offers no consitstancy and the reading & links are outdated. I had one DR. teacher that explained to me that I should only use the term overall when refering to denim and than preceeded to tell me that my paper was over-all very good???

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 6, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GCU Shakin' it's Money Maker I took classes at Grand Canyon University from 2002-2006 but never finished by BS in General Biology. I quit with 112 credits, just shy of graduating with 120 credits. This year (2010) I decided to go back to school and now GCU is telling me I need to apply as a new student and my advisor, Noelle Clark, tells me only 44 of those 112 credits are usable. The reason why, I have to re-apply under a degree program they now offer. If you are going to attend this University, do not drop out for a semester, you will have to re-apply and will lose 40% of your credits. Not only have I spent $142,297 to attend a University that offers poor staff leadership and insurmountable headaches, my BS will now cost me an additional $35,920...leading to a grand total of $174,217. I've been lied to and lied to from this school and have the emails to prove it. There are no state and national "university" standards that speak to re-enrolling students taking another major Noelle! Get your facts right!!!

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Grand Canyon University