Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grantham University

  • Ranking: #56
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council

3.0
189 Reviews
5 43 
4 56 
3 17 
2 26 
1 47 
0 0 

Grantham University Reviews:

Grantham University

Business Admin - April 14, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student at GU now and I really do not have issues like some of these I am reading. Just like any normal University's some of the Instructors are horrible but I have had some awesome Instructors as well.(Instructor Ryan Douglas is great!) He genuinely cares for his students, like I have stated they have some nonchalant Instructors as well. My biggest issue with this University is transferring my credits from my prior University and I was told that they would accept some of them; yet it has been almost a year and nothing has been done.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good school for older adults

Business Admin - October 17, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started Grantham to obtain the BSEET. I already had military and an AS Electronics behind me. A lot of previous course work and tech school transferred over. I later quit Grantham, and then came back to finish a business admin degree. I had already worked in engineering for a few years without a BS Engineering, and getting one wouldn't help much now. So I decided to go the business route due to my experiences that engineering in big business isn't really my thing. I am ready for more managerial type work. If you already work for a corporation or are in the military a Grantham degree is great. It will combine with your experience and help your career out. If you are an 18 year-old kid working at Subway I would advise you not to go to an online school; I feel experienced working adults will benefit from Grantham much more than younger people who are not in the military or working for a major corporation. Overall Grantham has been a good school. It isn't a fly-by-night kind of place, and the advisors are sometimes good, sometimes not so good. My advisors in the past two years have been excellent. I can say that Grantham today seems of better quality in all areas than Grantham from a few years ago.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Worth the Effort

Business Admin - April 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After reading many comments from other former students, I decided to chime in with my opinion. I live in Slidell, La, just down the street from the former Grantham University. I was in the Louisiana National Guard at Camp Villere, and we were solicited to continue our education using our benefits; tuition exemption is an earned benefit of LANG membership. I didn't have time to check out the program because we were deployed that year to Afghanistan, but when I returned I did start to take a few classes. Hurricane Katrina put a stop to my continuing education after a few classes, but I picked back up in 2008 as a full-time student at Grantham. I'll admit, the classes were at your own pace, so I waited a month to get started, then spent every spare moment of the second month completing assignments and reading the books. After they switched to Angel, the classes were more structured, and I got into the rhythm of assignments and discussions. I only experienced one issue; after completion of a class, I was informed that that class was no longer part of my curriculum, but despite that change, I learned new information from taking the class, got to keep the grade to boost my GPA (not all A's are given, I had to earn my grades), and they refunded me for the full cost of the course. I graduated with a BS in Business Admin in 2011, immediately got a new job based on my degree, and earned my MS in Information Technology from Grantham in 2014. Admittedly, the Master of Science degree was a struggle, and maybe I could have slacked off (it appears not all students put forth the same effort into assignments), but I am pleased with my decision to attend Grantham. My bosses like that I have continued my education. You get out of it what you put into it. At times I feel like I am not respected for having attended an Online institution, but we cannot all attend the same university. I held down a full-time job the entire time I was enrolled, and balanced personal time with my course work obligations. Still, I have been rejected from Textron for not fitting the description of the desired intern due to my online degree because they really wanted someone from a big Ivy League Institution. It is what it is. I have a great job because of my earned degree from Grantham. What else is there?

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Performance Improvement

Business Admin - December 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just completed another course for performance improvement. So far two instructors have been exceptional, one mediocre, one terrible. Two courses were fairly well designed, one needed improvement and the last was a disaster. Just as the perfect storm the terrible instructor was paired up with the class that was poorly designed. Attempted to get help from the school and that essentially stopped at the student advisor level as the chair essentially took no action to rectify a poorly designed class or an instructor whose focus was more on form than on function. They will get only one more chance, then I move somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid

Business Admin - July 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started my first class with this school on 6/4/14.The school started received financial aid on 7/7/14 and already my account is paid out. The financial aid award letter that I received said that I would get $6566 for the first term and that I had received a Stafford and Direct loan. When I realized my refund was only $1078 I was puzzled. I contacted my for aid advisor and she said I had only received a Stafford loan for $3248. When I looked at the financial aid receipt of the account receipt the Direct Loan was applied. The financial aid officer said that I was reading into it too much. I asked her if my loan is only for $3248 and my classes cost $2170 how is the refund $1078 she put me on hold for a long time and I guess once she realized that I was going to stay on the phone until i received a believable answer she hung up the phone. I called back to her direct line and no answer. Something isn't and i will get to the bottom of it ASAP!!! Also when i first enrolled as a GRADUATE STUDENT THAT PACKAGED ME AS AN UNDERGRAD AND MY HIGHEST LEVEL OF EDUCATION AS A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA! THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RED FLAG FOR ME!!! NICOLE

Was this review helpful?

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Worthless School

Business Admin - April 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has to be re-evaluated by the Department of Education, the classes are to easy and that doesn't seem right. I've put together work in a matter of 2 hours and low quality work to see if there is any checks and balances; there isn't any, I got an A with no comment on the work! Earning a degree from here will not be respected and employers look down on a degree from this school, as I've gone around asking HR managers and they laughed when I mention the school. I can't transfer none of my credits and lucky I only took two courses here and didn't waste my time. I transferred to an R.A school a respectable school and enjoying the experience. Don't waste your time giving them your money for a degree that is not worth the paper it's printed on.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Great and flexible experience

Business Admin - March 27, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been attending Grantham on and off for the last few years and am in my final class for my BS in Business Administration. The student advisors have always been very helpful and responsive. I always get calls and e-mails from them checking in on me to ensure I have no issues. The courses are very flexible as I learn on my own time at home, work, or anywhere that has an internet connection. As for the accreditation concerns. Is it a nationally accredited college? Yes. Does that mean it is any different from an regionally accredited school? No. Unless you are going to some ivy league school, a degree from a nationally accredited college is just as good as a regionally accredited college. The Department of Education approves of this accreditation and so does the military when applying to become an officer. The only people that cry about accreditation are the ones that have degrees from regionally accredited colleges and realize that they wasted a lot of time and money sitting in a classroom for four years. Grantham has good text materials, online libraries, weekly lectures (Most of my classes have video lectures now), and helpful instructors. As with any college, you get out what you put in. Just like a bricks and mortar college, if you study hard you will get a lot out of it. Military and Work experience transfer. I spent 5 years in the Military and have multiple IT certificates. I chose to go into a different degree than IT and was still given 35 credits towards my degree. This satisfied about 1 years worth of general elective classes. If I would have went towards an IT degree, I would have had about 45 transfer credits. Almost enough for the 60 of an associates degree. I chose to go a different route in case I wanted to get out of IT in the future. Overall my experience with Grantham has been great. I've been able to work full time, have a full time family, and still go to school full time. If you are looking for a school that is flexible, I would recommend Grantham University.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL IT IS A SCAM!!!!

Business Admin - November 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let me say that I have to remain anonymous because if they check this and see my name you will be surprised how they retaliate against you, trust me I know and have proof of this. Beware this is not a real school and as a student they will let you know at every step they dont care about you are your issues more than they care about their money. I have gone to a few reputable schools as well as attended a very small and local school and Grantham is byfar the worst at teacher responsiveness, getting their students their financial aid disbursements on time and customer service issues. I can say that the student advisors are for the most really great people and will do all they can to assist and since ive dealt with them they try to go above and beyond what is required and that eases some of the frustration however Its been over a month since I received this grantham educate card which is supposedly a great thing since refunds are supposed to hit the card right away however that too is a scam because it will never hit the card faster as you can have it direct deposited in your personal account in the same amount of time, so this card thing is a total lie and a huge misrepresentation of truth. My student account zeroed out over two weeks ago and Im still awaiting my refund which they claim can come any day now yet the card company doesnt even have my payment file and they claim when they get it that it will take an additional 24-72 hours to receive and not the same day as their website represents. The teachers will not respond back to any email so dont bother and the ones who do are so rude and over the top its ridiculous. Please I humbly beg you future sttudents and fellow Military students look elsewhere for your education I have made a few formal complaints into this univbersity and I plan on making quite a few waves into their business dealings as I have enough students to back my claims up so it is going to be a class action type of thing. Trust me Grantham University regardless to the so called student reviews that say its a good school. tthe actual retain rate and graduation rate is very low do the research and they will try to tell you its the military people who make these rates so low as they are always moving around. Well its an online school so it can be done and their are no wars right now so again whats the excuse? Do you research and you will see the major complaints im not making this up.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Grantham is not a real college

Business Admin - April 13, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I got a BS from Rutgers University. Then I made a mistake of going to Grantham for my Master's. Classes are a joke, no lectures, only stupid assignments. My GPA was 3.8 for sub-standard work. Since Grantham isn't regionally accredited, I'll go for a second Master's from a real college, which Grantham is not. Also, admissions reps lie to students. One of these scam artists told me that there is not need to bring student balance to $0 to get a diploma, only that I won't get a transcript until I'll pay it off. Not true- they will not give you their even useless shit diploma unless you'll pay every penny for the useless education they provide. DON'T GO TO GRANTHAM!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

20 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Not worth it

Business Admin - November 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in two classes at Granthum. I was enrolled with American Military University previously and made the MISTAKE of switching schools and enrolling at Granthum. My experience at Granthum is awful compared to that of AMU. Plagiarism is going on and unchallenged in my programming essentials class. I have checked the comments of one of the fellow students in that class by copying and pasting his comments and then doing a search in Google. I get EXACT hits on his comments, word for word from other sources. All he is doing is copying and pasting. He continues to do this, so I am sure he is getting good grades. Meanwhile, I give honest input in my discussions. This devalues my honest work. Also, the instructors give "canned" comment replies with giving no thought about the work you've turned in. The "class room" is more difficult to navigate than any class I've ever taken at AMU. Lastly, my civilian employer informed me that they would not honor the National Accreditation that GU has. So, I am heading back to AMU as soon as possible. Do yourself a favor. Look into AMU or another regionally accredited school... and one that only accepts honest, original assignment submissions!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 25 people found the following review helpful

They DOn't care about students all they care was about money.

Business Admin - August 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Well i was enrolled there for a bit, then I stopped because I wanted to enroll in Local College for automotive So when I asked for Grantham University to send my transcript to the local college they refused because I still owed money. They refused to work with me even when I offered to pay most of it upfront, and then pay rest monthly once I got my GI Bill rolling. They didn't care, they basically told me balance has to be 0. All they cared about was getting their money.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Agree with former instructor post

Business Admin - June 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completely agree with the former instructor's post. I too am a former instructor for Grantham University and quit for the same reasons stated. Plagiarism is a constant issue. You can fill out the academic dishonestly form 1000 times and it won't make a bit of difference. Students are given absolutely no sanctions for copying and pasting directly from the Internet. They know this and many take advantage of it. Grantham does not go by any of the policies they have laid out (as the previous poster mentioned). Over the 3 years I worked there, 100% of the time (this is no exaggeration) if a student appealed a failing grade, administration changed the grade to an incomplete and gave them another 30-60 days to complete it. If they didn't complete it then, they gave them another incomplete period. Basically, no matter what junk a student submitting, you were expected to pass them. They use an antiquated version of Angel and the curriculum comes directly from whatever text book they choose. If you point out an error in the course (which there are many because they are written by non academic staff they have in house) they say it's locked down and they can't change it (even if it is completely wrong, a spelling error etc.). Administration gives absolutely no support to the instructors. You are expected to not make waves and pass everyone. From a student perspective, if you are looking for a really easy way to earn a nationally accredited degree to help you move into Officer's training in the military, then I would jump on this. It is my understanding that the military will accept these 'degrees' and it truly does not get any easier than this! I could have stayed on and collected checks for awhile longer but my conscious just wouldn't let me do it. This is not a dig against nationally accredited schools. There are some out there that do a good job on the curriculum and students do earn their degrees, Grantham just isn't one of them!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Grad 2007 Enrolled PhD-Regionally Accredited Univ.

Business Admin - July 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Since graduation in 2007, I have been on a fast track to complete my MBA and now on track for Doctorate degree. I am a current academic aministrator, college professor and mult-business owner. Ask yourself this question. "Why am I here, what do I plan to accomplish?" This school is dedicated to providing you with the foundational material and skills to prepare any individual for success in the future. Do not be the barrier to your own success. Create opportunities if current ones do not exist. We live in a unique world where we have choices; we do not have to take a job or stay in one location, discover what you like and find an opportunity to complete your next objective in life. Words from the wise, move forward not backwards and you’ll soon make your dreams for yourself and your families come true. If you want to know more, Google Shaun Manzano.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Buyer Beware

Business Admin - June 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't say enough bad things about this school. It has been nothing but problems. When you farm out your curriculum, and have teachers that aren't PhDs, you never know what you're going to get. Very unsatisfied. If I had to do it over, I would have gone to a real school.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Worth the Time and Money

Business Admin - January 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham met all of my needs and then some. They followed me from the states, to Iraq, and back, twice and my student reps couldn't have been better. Grantahm allowed me to accelerate my education on my terms and was a huge value. Completing my degree is definately a lifetime highlight but the confidence received from successfully teaching myself College Algebra, Finite Mathmatics, and 2 Statistics classes after being a so-so high school student will pay dividends as well. This school is not for the weak or fainthearted. You must be a self starter, able to self learn, and possess a disciplined stick-with-it-ness to acheive success. The course work was challenging and relevant and I have already applied the knowledge gained to my daily work. All in all an outstanding experience. Perfect fit in meeting the demands of military members. Rangers Lead The Way!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Promoted

Business Admin - November 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Promoted! Thanks Grantham! 20 yrs of experience is worth about as much as a degree from Grantham. How do I figure that. With just a degree I would need almost 20 yrs experience to get the job I had without a degree. To get the promotion I need both. Having one without the other, doesn't get you promoted. I've posted on several Grantham bashing web sites just to say "if it doesn't work for you, try something else." Those who have a career and know Grantham will meet their needs should enroll. If you're looking to start a career, depending on you level of aspiration, I would recommend you look elsewhere. Just being honest, but It has and continues to work for me.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

BSBA

Business Admin - September 15, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Under Grad degree in July 09; I started my degree back in 2006 so that’s not too bad. Over all Grantham is a great school for the money. I too had three student Reps over the years, but people move on to better jobs so I understand. My instructors where there for me and my student Reps always..always helped me whenever I needed help. As for my credits, I have gone on to Post University MBA program, this is one of the best colleges in the country and they accepted my credits. So don't think you cannot use your Grantham credits anywhere else, this is not true. I went to Post University because of less course work and I think a better overall MBA program.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

MBA Program follow up review

Business Admin - June 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This post is follow up to my April 2008 review. I am currently working on the fourth class in my MBA program. Overall I am still pleased. My SPR has changed which is annoying again but the classes are still time consuming and challenging. The last class I copmleted was BA645 which is project management. (This class in particular related directly to my job and resulting in my earning a bonus for progress on a project that nobody said could be done.) I take the time to read and understand all of the material and find it worth the effort. As I stated before, you get what you put into it and this time next year I plan to start shopping around for a new job with my MBA. Expected grad date is July 2010. It all boils down to knowlege, certifications and networking being the keys to sucess.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MBA program

Business Admin - March 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just started my MBA with Grantham and have not encountered any problems to date. The class work is time consuming because I put in the time to read and research. I also have noticed that the class average grade is about 15 points below mine which is an A currently. This program is just as it is with any other, you get what you put into it. The next item is the accredidation issue. I have a bachelors degree from a regionally accredited university, Big Ten to be exact and I would say that I am learning more here than when I was a full time student. Grantham is not perfect but it is affordable and will add to my tool kit in my job. Bottom line, you get what you put into something and I am not worried about transfer credits. My big deal regionally accredited university gave me a hard time when I took classes from one of its satelite campuses. It is all about money when it comes to transfers.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Starting over

Business Admin - January 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Okay the books are in fact real text books, the same ones you would find in a real school. That is about the only thing you could use to compare Grantham University to a real school. Sorry Mr. Macon it just sucks! I am now starting over and going for a REAL degree at a REAL school.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

military veteran quits grantham !

Business Admin - January 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just quit Grantham.. as an employee ..way too much fraud.. this place thrives off hosing down soldiers and taking their money.. and what is worst is that only very few places accept Grantham credits..Not regionally accredited... what a scam.. Save your money ..go to a regionally accredited school.. I once swore an oath to defend America from enemies both foreign and domestic...GRANTHAM is the enemy of US Military soldiers and preys upon them and their families... that is why I quit.... being a former soldier myself.. I just could not let one more person be defrauded........

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

SUPPORT IS GREAT, CREDITS ARE NOT

Business Admin - November 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I SEE ALL THE OTHER REMARKS, IT IS TRUE, THE CREDITS DONT TRANSFER TO ALL SCHOOLS, BUT YOU RUN THAT CHANCE WITH ANY CLASS YOU TAKE, SO YOU HAVE TO DO YOUR HOMEWORK ON WHERE YOU WANT TO TRANSFER THEM TO. I WANT TO ASK WHY NOT JUST FINISH THE DEGREE FROM GRANTHAM AND NOT TRANSFER ??? THE SUPPORT I GOT FROM MY 1ST STUDENT REP WAS HORRIBLE, BUT THE ONE I HAVE NOW WALKS ON WATER WITH ME, SHE IS GREAT..... I WILL FINISH MY BACHELORS, AND THEN ON TO AN MBA. THE DEGREE IS WORTHWHILE, YOU HAVE TO PROVE YOURSELF TO THE PERSON PUTTING VALUE ON THE DEGREE, A DEGREE FROM HARVARD IS WORTH MORE THAN A DEGREE FROM CENTRAL TEXAS COLLEGE AND SO ON.... IF YOU PLAN ON TRANSFERRING CREDITS, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE, IF YOU CAN COMPLETE THE DEGREE, STAY WITH THEM.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Everything I was looking for

Business Admin - July 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So far this school has proved to be everything I was looking for. I am always able to get in touch with my instructor and I have had the same SRP for 13 months now, and I always get a response when I need it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Look elsewhere!

Business Admin - June 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am attending Grantham and wish i had done a great deal more of research! They were great while I was doing great! When I had trouble and wanted to drop a class they continually changed my studebnt rep, failed to return phone calls and basically avoided me until it was too late and I was financially obligated to pay for the course! Don't bother getting to know your student rep, they change so often. Yes, all your credits will transfer in but NO ONE will take their credits if you try to transfer them out!! They are NOT regionally accredited which is way more essential and valuable than National accredidation. Good luck trying to get a job with ANY Grantham Degree- I actually had an employer laugh whe I told them who my degree would be through. Needless to say I am now seeking a better institution to get a REAL degree and have to retake all the Grantham courses. They prey on military just for the money. The pricese are low for a reason- their school is a joke!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

look out for yourself

Business Admin - June 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

No support from the teachers or staff. I was truly on my own. Open book tests were easy though so your grade should be good. Unfortunatly, no one will take you seriously when you present your degree. Because of the poor support, I dropped out and am attending another school. None of the credits transfered though, so I'm out of luck there. Look hard if you are interested. If it's too easy to be true, it probably is.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

MBA Grad

Business Admin - May 11, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed the school's MBA Program. I found the format of the program challenging, the topics interesting and enjoyed most of the required course work. I found a majority of the instructors to be very helpful and accommodating. Synchronizing schedules was difficult at times but nothing that prohibited the accomplishment of class work. My academic advisor was helpful and always delivered what she promised. When she was not available, other advisors were able to step in and provide assistance. The school's management team promptly handled the difficult issues that arose during my time with the school. Grantham is far from the perfect school but they provided me with an opportunity to achieve my goal of obtaining a Master’s Degree on my terms without draining my savings account. I will not be able to measure my degree’s true worth until I finally retire from Military Service and start my second career. Independent learning is not for everyone. If you are not a self-motivated individual or not willing to work though minor issues, I recommend that you enroll in a traditional university. Make good choices and spend your money wisely!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Impressed

Business Admin - May 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started Grantham back in 2005 however due to the military life i fell off the school boat and had to re-enroll this year 2008, everyone has been so helpful, if i leave a message i get a return call asap, as far as feedback from the instructors i have yet to need any so we shall see as i get futher along in my degree plan, overall im happy and truly impressed.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Grantham is Accepted

Business Admin - March 31, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated at the end of 2006 with a BS in Business Administration. People don't think the credits will transfer; I have to disagree. I am currently enrolled in a regionally accredited MBA program at the University of North Alabama. The MBA is also accredited by the ACBSP as well. I had one pre-requisite class, but because of my grades at Grantham, I was exempt from taking the GMAT. This society is too keen on giving up early. Every school has acceptance rules. If you don't think Grantham can help you, then my question to you is why did you enroll in the first place?

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Honest review per Virus request

Business Admin - March 31, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in '07. The only true positive I could find here is they do use REAL books and software (There is NO way I could have done this any other way). I received absolutely NO support from instructors, student progress representatives (of which I had more than I can count) or the with the use of the technology (educator system). I was even enrolled in classes that had no instructor at all. But for the real issue VALUE, it was okay because after all you get what you pay for...my $30,000 education will net me approximately $400,000 (that is an additional ($15,000 a year for the 25 years I have left in the workforce then added in an additional $25,000 for inflation) to me that is very very much worth the money spent. On a last note I have not been able to find a graduate school that will accept my GU degree and I can not justify the expense to continue on with this institution. (Although my employer does recognize my national degree I was told I would be earning more if it was a regional degree).

Was this review helpful?

Great Opportunity

Business Admin - February 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham provides a great on-line experience. Everyone has taken a few traditional courses that could have been completed in a month, but had to sit through class for 3-4 months to just waiting for it to end. Grantham is a self paced school allowing you to complete those "easy" classes in a short time. Some instructors are great and reply immediately and some take a couple days to reply. Overall, it's like any other college and I highly recommend Grantham to any working adult looking to further their education.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Look before you leap

Business Admin - February 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a disaster. My grades were great. 3.8 all the way around but that was only because I taught myself. Teachers were no where to be found. Log on, take your test, and log out. Just don't expect any assistance from anyone. Like others have said, the degree is pretty much just a piece of paper, because Grantham is not looked upon all that highly by most other schools and a lot of other employers. It may help me get a job, but I'm playing craps and rolling the dice because not a lot of people respect a DETC degree and with good reason.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Worth it for the right kind of person

Business Admin - January 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It' like many of the other reviews state. If you are a self-starter who takes responsibility for your education, then Grantham is a good fit. If you are the kind of person that needs constant feedback and praise from your instructors, then it may not be so good. I am in the MBA program and about 1/3 finished. The responses back can be slow at times. I've had to wait up to 6 days (not completely unreasonable, but not horrible either). The textbooks are graduate level textbooks that are used in other universities. I really appreciate the fact that all textbooks and materials are included in the price of tuition. I can tell you there is nothing like buying one or two books at $80-$100 each plus software at who knows how much to really put a dent in your pocket book. Overall for my needs and career progression, Grantham is the perfect fit. As others say, do your research before you commit to a university. Find one that meets your style of learning.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

credits will not transfer and expensive

Business Admin - October 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is not cheap. At $250 a credit hour, you would think the credits would be worth something, but they are not. No legitimate graduate school will touch my credits. No support from staff or teachers. I was really dissapointed. Do yourself a favor and look into other options. If you must get a degree online, look into Fort Hayes State University. A lot cheaper and Regional. No one will think twice about accepting a degree from there.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not happy with the service

Business Admin - October 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Support? What support. E-mails went unanswered and phone calls went unreturned. I was truly on my own for the majority of my time enrolled at Grantham. The text books were good. They were the same text books that you would use at any school, but it goes right back to support. The best text book in the world won't help you if you can not get anyone to answer your questions. Some of the teachers were good, most were just there to grade papers and hand out grades. What I learned, I learned on my own. Overall, I was not happy with my time at Grantham. Now I hear that it's not a very respected degree to have so I'm glad I left. I'm waiting to see if the new school I enrolled in will accept my Grantham credits. From what I have read here, they probably will not.

Was this review helpful?

My experience has been positive

Business Admin - October 22, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled with Grantham back in 2005. I started with just a few credits and am already almost done with my BSBA (in just over two years!) During my time at Grantham I've experienced several changes, all for the better. When I first started, it normally took about 24 hours for my SPR to get back in touch with me to respond to my questions. Over the last year, I've noticed that their response time has been only a couple of hours (if not immediate!) My employer has already given my a pay raise just based on the fact that I'm working on my degree AND they've agreed to give me the promotion that I've been waiting for once I've completed the degree. I would highly recommend this school to others, as long as they're self-motivated and have the discipline to work on their own. It can definitely lead you to your degree quicker than most schools.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Satisfied

Business Admin - October 21, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm satisfied with GU as a whole, my studies have helped me tremendously. I have a better outlook on life as far a business is concerned. I'm currently in the military and I find that this school is on par with some of the other online school thats out there. With GU you get what you put in to it. You must be motivated and a self starter in order to achieve your goals. Whenever I had any issue's they were solved by simply giving the GU staff a chance to do their jobs (A simple email or phone call and you being patient). GU keep up the good work. I give GU a big "Hooah"

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

For those who TRULY want to do it alone...

Business Admin - July 21, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is really not an intitution of higher learning, it is a business which is ran like a used car lot. Once they get your money, forget about customer service until it is once again time to enroll. Most of the undergraduate work I did was completely on my own. I would log on and take the test and received the grade right away...no real feedback. To be fair, during my first semester for my MBA, the instructor, with one exception, were very good an provided alot of feedback.

Was this review helpful?

Grantham University

Business Admin - May 30, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've read numerous reviews about the accreditation or the staff etc. When I first enrolled, I thought it was an easy way to get a degree. But now, it seems like something has happened and they're goin in the right direction. I was also told they're getting nationally and regionally accredited so courses are going to be a lot harder. So everything is getting better with the school. They have numerous changes going on right now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Criminal Justice degree - waste of time

Business Admin - December 30, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A horrible experience. You can't get in touch with the teachers, or support staff. They are only there to hassle you to re-enroll after you complete your semester. I never received any help from them at any other time. All tests are open book, even the final exams. They allow you to pick your proctor for your final exams. Please, tell me no one cheats when their buddy is the proctor. Essentially, they send you a book and some Grantham printed booklets and wait for you to complete it. Then, they call to hassle you to re-enroll. Nationally accredited so most other school will not accept them and you will not be able to transfer to another school when you get sick of dealing with their crap. A worthless school, with worthless support, generating a worthless degree. Sign up at your own risk.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grantham University in any way.