Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grantham University

  • Ranking: #56
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council

3.0
189 Reviews
5 43 
4 56 
3 17 
2 26 
1 47 
0 0 

Grantham University Reviews:

GRANTHAM UNIVERSITY RECOGNIZED BY ABET

Engineering - October 2, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Grantham Univeristy and landed an Electrical Engineering job for the Air Force. To all those Grantham doubters all I can say is you were wrong. Even ABET surveyors thought it is one heck of a valuable program. As I know most have never taken our word as graduates that this schhool is great and vaues its students learning. I'll gladly show you the supporting documentation below. Yes, I'm smiling ear to ear while I say that we told you so... http://www.grantham.edu/in-the-news/grantham-university-recognized-abet/ http://main.abet.org/aps/Accreditedprogramsearch.aspx

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

BS EET

Engineering - December 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Some companies and other schools look down on Grantham for not being regionally accredited and abet accredited. I believe the classes to be as hard or harder than a brick and mortar school classes. One thing they do need to incorporate in the instrumentation class or make a new one, is PLCs.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Financial aid issues

Engineering - August 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is a good school, I have invested 2 years of time and money so here is what I think. With the exception of one Professor the Professors are wonderful, helpful and very accommodating. I am very disappointed, in a couple of the classes that I have taken and one professor.(CS192, based on Raptor programming) CS192 Does not have a text book and just access to power-points, I took the computer programing course and failed because I did not have a book. I spent over 20 hours a week on the class, the instructor told me I could attend live web cast on Monday nights at 7, I work and have a family. One of the reasons I chose Grantham was because I travel for work and have a family. Most of the time I am in some remote area with limited internet. I would turn in the assignment and get 2 points, then told by the teacher to resubmit the work because, I only grasped part of the assignment. I could not keep up with the work and re-work and asked for an incomplete, only for the teacher to say he offered help and I did not take it. The help he gave made no sense, it was the written code that seemed to be an answer. I wanted to learn what I was suppose to not copy code he gave me. I would have appreciate partial credit and everything I did learned came from a lady on You-tube. Financial aid issues The following is a praise of one young lady Cleniqu and a guy who's name I don't know, they are VERY HELPFUL when you call financial aid, and will go OUT OF THEIR WAY to find the answer to your question or questions. They should make the other people that work in financial aid take a class from them. Grantham DOES NOT report to the Federal Government that you are in school (I found this out the hard way after my Federal loans were placed in collections, I was under the impression that I was under an in school deferment. I was completely wrong and am now waiting on the issue to be resolved so I can buy a home) and they take their time dispersing financial aid. I have attended Arizona State University and never had these issues before. DO NOT expect your funds in a timely manner. Several of the girls in financial aid are rude and sounds annoyed when you call. They said that dismemberment starts on day 31-32 of the semester, yet several other steps have to be completed before your funds can be posted to your account, once the additional steps are completed it takes an additional week for your account to reflect the update. Then she said Grantham has 14 days to release the funds, then mail time. So after it is all said and done it can take over a month to receive your funds after dismemberment.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Grantham worked for me.

Engineering - May 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started with Grantham University a little over two years ago. Here's my run down. I was in the Army for 7 Years and with my AARTS they transferred 16 credits. I have received my Associate of Science in Electronics and Computer Engineering Technology with Honors because I worked hard for it. English was brutal, General Chemistry was tough and Pre-Calculus was a mind-bender. But most of the teacher's helped me when I asked. Some teachers even had a SKYPE™ account to work with me. I'm now re-enrolled in a Bachelor's Degree program for Electronics Engineering Technology. Each Teacher is different. Some go out of their way to help you and some do the minimum...THE SAME THING AT A BRICK AND MORTAR SCHOOL. How do I know, my wife attended an actual college and the teachers were different for each class too. Some classes are easy and some are challenging...well duh, I may know more about one subject (easy) and less about another (challenging). The entire idea behind getting a degree in the first place is not to say you can remember everything you learned in two or four years, but that you studied it and meet the requirements to work in the field or know how to find the answers needed to work that field. That's why you don't sell your textbooks. You may need to reference them in the future. The price is right for me and fits my budget since it is covered by the GIBILL. My student advisor is AWESOME. She calls me all the time and helps me whenever I need it. I work in the Engineering field already and my employer recognizes the degree. Granted it's not ABET accredited but my paycheck increased and it is recognized by some pretty big named companies in engineering. As far as the AARTS, they will transfer based on what the AARTS suggests. It is not absolute. They look at your experience and stuff to see how to properly transfer the credits. I would not transfer all the credits both if you haven’t touched an electronic course since AIT and you just retired from being staff oriented for the last 12 years. You can request an unofficial AARTS copy for yourself and ask why some may not have transferred. I receive real text books that ARE used in other big name universities...I looked. Not many online degrees offer lectures. The idea for online degrees are to not sit in lectures to learn but to learn at your own pace, which could be faster. Of course you have a minimum learning pace. The Terms are perfect with the amount of time needed for the school to assess if you understand the course. And don't think big name colleges or universities don't have multiple choice tests--LOL, they do. I know someone who went to a big name school and they grade the class on a curve, which means if the majority of the class passes, so do you. How fair is that? Grantham grades you on you, not a curve. All in all, Grantham worked for me. I suggest it to my friends all the time and I have seen many success stories. Maybe some people just have bad luck or a crappy advisor...you can always request a different advisor. This is not a diploma mill either, by any means....I earned my degree through some late nights and little sleep. I think with Grantham, you get out of it what you put into it. I’m a proud Grantham Alumni and will continue to better my education through them. And FYI, Grantham is A+ with the BBB.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful

BSEET 5 classes left

Engineering - July 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There is no hand holding at this school, so if you keep your expectations at a minimum it isn't too bad. It is up to you to follow up, and schedule your classes carefully. Each course has a strict timeline of 8 weeks. For some classes this is not bad, but for the precalculus and calculus classes it was brutal. There are many complaints regarding the difficulties in transferring credit to other institutions. Having researched transferring to different schools, I would like to post what I found. Generally, some credits would transfer. I found that for similar courses of study, other colleges had slightly different class names. Since the classes were not one for one, less credit would transfer. Transferring to another school would also had required me to take more elective classes. Most colleges require that a certain number of credits be completed at their institution as a requirement for graduation. Most schools have placement exams, and if the courses have been completed then a CLEP or similar would be the most effective way to transfer. For the difference in cost of tuition and books, it isn't a bad trade up. It is best to stay with one school, if possible, because it will result in the quickest route to a degree. While much is learned while going to school, the purpose of going to school is to establish the knowledge that provides the skillset to be able to research a problem and provide an effective solution. The research that is done, over time, provides experience, and is what most employers ultimately want.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Bachelor Electronic

Engineering - June 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am severely dissappointed. When I first started I took 35 credit hours straight with no problems, because I knew the material and teaching me wasn't necessary. then I started the signal and system theory course. All of this course was new and foreign to me and I recieved no help and have failed the course twice, there is no examples that even closely resemble the test questions, the labs are utterly confusion with no examples, the homework is left to google.com and no one will help me anywhere. Sux all around, I am attending this fall to South Alabama, what a waste of time this school has been.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Very Pleased

Engineering - February 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very pleased with my experience. I have 3 classes remaining to finish my BSEET. I have been accepted into a regionally accredited and ABET accredited university for a Masters program in System Engineering. College is what you make of it. If you choose to learn, then you will. Conversely, if you try and cheat your way through, that will be evident in a job interview. Although, in Engineering classes, I don't see how you could cheat. I would say that if you are not strong in math don't attempt Calculus and Physics online.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

great college

Engineering - May 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed two associate degrees at two separate regular colleges. Grantham university has been very challenging and I’d recommend it to anybody interested in continuing there education.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Electronics Engineering

Engineering - November 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello, I want to say that my experiences with Grantham was positive. I had help from the instructors on the weekends and whenever I needed help too. I'll be graduating in a few months and I am glad I chose this school. If you like learning online then Grantham is a great school for you. I highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks ~~~~~Bioguy96

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Don't believe it until you try it

Engineering - November 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently in the Computer Engineering Technology program and thus far I'm very satisfied. Unlike some of the others I have a broad scope of background education, b/m and online. I've done the Strayer University thing, I've done the Old Dominion University thing, I've done the ECPI thing, and I've done the Cleveland Institute of Electronics thing, and overall I have to say that I like Grantham more than any of the others. They have a very good curriculum and the price is right. Don't knock it 'til you try it. It's not for everyone, but if you're an independent person who is comfortable with managing your own time and educational goals then you'll do well and earn a respected degree. Hey ODU and Strayer accepted my DETC credits from CIE... so there you go.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Only want your money!!! Their policy is garbage!

Engineering - September 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Their policy is, that if you fail a final you will fail the whole course. You can get all A's while taking the course but if you fail the final for that course thats it, no more chances, you gotta take it again. Thats the stupidiest policy Ive ever heard of, I called my student representative and I asked him what was the purpose of having me taking all these exams for 2 months,(7-A's, 2-B's and 2-D's, enough to pass a course I would think) if only the final counts and he could not answer me. I just wasted 9 months of my life. Please stay away from these people if you value your time and money!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

EEt grad

Engineering - September 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you want a valued degree that you can obtain online then GU is your choice. As a graduate of the EET program I can attest I worked very hard like any other graduate and it was not easily handed to me. They have very good instructors and chatting with other students has been very helpful to form online study groups--it does work--i recommend GU to all of you. take care

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

It is a pity Grantham is not Accredited Regionally

Engineering - April 25, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a lifetime learner that has been attending college for 15 years now in addition to having a very successful career. I have attended 4 colleges/universities so far. I currently have 2 Associate’s, 1 Bachelor’s, and 1 Master’s all from regionally accredited and very respected colleges. With that said, I can say without a doubt that I have learned just as much if not more from my studies at Grantham. You talk about how Grantham is a joke, but I would submit to you that college in general now is a joke. That goes for regionally/nationally accredited degrees. College was never meant for the masses. It was meant for the few that really wanted to learn. To truly do this one must be committed to a lifetime of learning in addition to furthering the body of academic knowledge. Here is the scenario in a tradional degree mill university. You attend class, try a little and graduate. If you don't want to learn, you don't even really have to try. You are just basically paying your dues by enduring hours of lecture that is really not teaching anything. Real learning occurs through self study and through real life of that knowledge. In addition to my academic experience, I have also taught at the adult level for many years and have found that students who are taught independence in learning make for much better workers. Traditional schools are sorely lacking in this area. You can talk about regionally accredited colleges all day long but it is all a joke if the person attending has no desire to learn. If you attend a class and sell the book immediately afterwards then you fit in to this category. With that being said, I agree that a degree at Grantham has less value than a degree at a regionally accredited school but only because of tradition and ignorance. It is a pity Grantham is not regionally accredited because I have learned far more from them than I ever did in a traditional college. Because of time constraints in a traditional setting the instructor either does not use the text book at all or skips large sections in the interest of time. Despite skipping sections of the book, you often sit through hours of stories and political crap that add no value to the learning. At least at Grantham I am being tested on ALL the material in the text book and am not being led astray by an instructor that is politically motivated to further their own agenda or even worse by an instructor that really doesn’t even know the material themselves. Sure at Grantham students can take the easy way out and fake their way through the tests but you can also do this in a traditional college. If you don't believe me ask the average college grad to tell you anything they learned from a class 6 months after they finished it. I would be very surprised it they can tell you anything of value. Grantham on the other hand because of its lack of spoon feed learning and heavy reliance on independence a truly motivated Grantham graduate could easily tell you what they learned.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Computer Engineering Program

Engineering - April 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I work as a digital Design consultant (VHDL - ASIC/FPGA design) and decided to take some online courses in computer Engineering. My original degree field is EE from USF, and so I wanted to get more formal software courses under my belt. I've been very happy with the technical content and organization of the course material. There is good useage of simulators, software IDE's, languages etc. Additionally all the required software tools & books are conveniently shipped to you as part of your tuition. The customer service varies. Sometimes it seems to take an excessive amount of time to get books for a new class, and it seems as if you are disconnected from the counselers. Then shortly after you'll get great service and direct support with periodic check-in's to make sure you are staying on track. Overall support has significantly improved since 2006 and is now quite good and consistent. I can't compare this to other online universities, but compared to a standard regional university I would recommend this school if you need the flexibility and are a self-starter. (e.g. can learn/study on your own)

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Grantham rocks

Engineering - April 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is a great school. I've been to both traditional "brick and mortar" universities and now online schools and Grantham's curriculum is so far the best I have had. Grantham puts more emphasis on the selected program of study as opposed to taking a bunch of general electives(philosophy, foreign language, etc.) that have nothing to do with your major. They do require some general electives as does any accredited higher learning institution, but considerably less than the traditional schools I have atteneded in the past.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Worthwhile

Engineering - March 31, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been with Grantham for over 2 years now. I have also attended a State University. Grantham allows the flexability for me to attend to school, without that I coud not. Sure, I have had a few problems with Grantham, but I have had the same problems at the State University.(e.g. Poor communication with instructors and administration problems.) No University is without its share of problems. The classwork is demanding if you put the effort into it. Despite what others say, I say you can not cheat at Calculus I or II. You have to know it. Online schools:"Its not easier, its just more conveniant." As far as National Accred vs. Regional Accred. I believe in National, it may not be that of Harvard, Penn State, or University of Wisconsin. But then again, I work 40 hours a week and support my family. The closest University to me is 2.5 hours away. B&M University's are not an option anymore, but I have been to one before. I believe the quality to be the same if not better at Grantham. Grantham offers what they promise. It is up to the student to get his/her degree. Just the same as everyone else.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Well Satisfied w/ My CHALLENGE

Engineering - February 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The online education has been the challenge! It is hard to feel as though I am as successful as I would like to. If you do not excel this way watch out but there are programs available through this school so I HIGHLY encourage you to look at this institution. I am sure their programs will be of great reward to you personally and professionally. I have already been awarded my A.S. while working toward my B.S. and have had ZERO out of pocket expense. LOOK HERE!!!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

a great university

Engineering - January 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is a very good school!!!! I'm in the military and it cost my TA $250/credit hour. With the help of Grantham they payed for the remainder of my tuition = $0 out-of-pocket expenses for me! The electrical engineering tech course allowed me to gain a vast amount of knowledge. Also, there are hands-on projects too. Its very challenging especially the programming. I was able to apply what I learned on my job and my boss is very impressed by my new technical background. One thing I would like to comment on is although Grantham's cirricula is ABET based I would like them to persue official ABET certification. They can do it! Otherwise, no complaints here.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

EET

Engineering - January 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, a horrible experience. Severe problems with support. Lack of return phone calls or e-mails from staff and little support from teachers. I felt like they only cared about getting my money and once the check was written, I was written off. Like everyone else has said, you will have major problems transfering your credits anywhere else and will have difficuly convincing anyone that you went to a "real" school. I've had employers outright say that they will not hire anyone with a degree like this, and others were very sceptical. I'm sure I was looked over by employers that never even gave me a call back. Bottom line: Look before you leap.

Was this review helpful?

great school!

Engineering - January 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is a very good school. Overall: I gave them a "9". Always room for improvement but still a great school. Materials: "9" The materials are new and free! Teachers: "8" I would like to see teachers particpate more by creating there own webpages for the corses they teach. Once created, it would be nice to visit the site for reference, email address, phone number, frequently asked questions, etc. The teachers are top notch from other top universities holding either masters or PhDs. Institution: Leadership has revamped the engineering cirricula with new ABET standards. I would like to see a newsletter from them stating what's new or processes they're looking to implement or avenues where I the stident could make suggestions. Support: "9" Staff is very encouraging, they get a lot of gripe but when i speak with anyone they're always polite and helpful. Value: It’s valuable indeed! The dept of defense recognizes the school and I could get a GS job tomorrow holding a degree from Grantham Univeristy. I've done my homework and made a very good choice. Many employers including the government realize the importance of an accredited degree and do not discriminate on its type of accreditation. So what its nationally accredited; I would like to see them as both so perhaps one day they will be. Use of Technology: Grantham uses software technology that interfaces directly with your computer. I've become efficient with many programs e.g. C/C++, MS Project, using multimeters, oscopes, and creating electrical schematics, etc. I would recommend use of videos. I've read comments about cheating. Cheating is going to and does happen at any college you attend. Is is easy at Grantham-No! The tests are taken online and Granthams policy is you're not allowed to use text, notes, etc. Remember, you can cheat at any university but you can't cheat yourself or your next job once you're hired and expected to do the job. I would like Grantham to go ahead for regional accreditation and ABET in 2008. I would like to see GU have more undergraduate (e.g. an Electrical and Computer Engineering, Healthcare Administration, Public/Human Resource Management, Biomedical Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering Technology)and PhD/DBA programs (e.g. Management of Engineering and Technology, Business, IT, Computer/Security, etc.) GU is #1!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not worth your time and effort

Engineering - January 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First let me say this isn't a "bitter" review. I have recently found(thank god) that my 75 credits I took at Grantham will apply at AMU, so I'm ditching. The coursework is like learning how to pick your nose, all open book testing. At the time I was taking it I was thinking "Cool...this is easy" but you are really getting no educational value out of them. Then as I got into the programming courses, trying to get ahold of an instructor was incredible. My Student Progress Rep ensured me that he has over 150 students, that my problem would be handled when it could be, until it was time to sign a TA request form, then it was all smiles. They are on the ripoff report for the way they treated their employees after Hurricane Katrina, I encourage all to read that. I've had 4 new student progress representatives in the last year alone, how does that say about their turnover? National accredidation is nothing compared to Regional accredidation. Don't think "A bachelors degree is a bachelors degree", as I'm finding out employers do research the education you put on your resume. Bottom line, you are only cheating yourself by going to a "college" that gives credit through open book testing. I have written base officials to have Grantham removed from ESO offices as well, and encourage you to do the same.

Was this review helpful?

Not good for inexperienced students

Engineering - January 5, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall a good tech school. I don't see this as a school that will land a job by itself, as there are too many well-known universities that will do that for you. This is a school for someone that has been in the electronics field for a number of years, has military training (or vocational/on-the-job), and simply is looking to "check the box". Transfer of credit/degree is a real challenge due to the DETC accreditation, but it can be done. The EET Alumni are super helpful, and will offer more support than the instructors have time for. The instructor-to-student ratio is abysmal, so don't expect any special attention. This is a particular problem when attempting to complete C, C++, Calculus I, Calculus II, Control Systems, and Signals & Systems Theory (SDP).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

What a rip off

Engineering - December 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, the school is a ripoff. I can not find any graduate school that will accept a degree from Grantham and since they are not ABET or regional, a Masters from Grantham is worthless for 90% of the engineering jobs out there.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Credits in California

Engineering - October 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Credits will not transfer to california public schools, but will transfer to private schools. WTF? I can get into MIT or Harvard, but not CSUN? Overall, I have applied 70% of what I have learned at Grantham to the real world, but I wish I had more options for graduate studies. At $250/credit hour, I guess that is the trade-off; compatibility for price. If you have the time, or money, go regional and find ABET. If not, Grantham makes for a good, cheap, alternative to others.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Credits wont transfer

Engineering - October 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Associates in less than a year. I was really happy with that. Then I went to transfer to a 4 year school and not one school I spoke with would accept a Grantham associates for their program. They all told me that I would have to start from scratch. When I first enrolled, I was told that transfering credits would be no problem, but I guess I was lied to because they will not. Now that I am done with my associates, I can not get any support from the school. I get calls all the time asking for me to re-enroll. All they want is my credit card number. At first, I did not care about the lack of support because I was flying through my classes and making great time, but now it bothers me because I spent a lot of time and money on this and I they won't even return my calls. Absolutly no service after the sale. It felt just like the used car lot that others have spoke about.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Thank You!

Engineering - October 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The teachers were OK, save a few. I love the idea of being able to complete a BSEET, even though I have already started a family, and a life. I hope to see Grantham continue it's path onto Regional Accreditation, maybe even ABET. This format does not suit all, but it suited me. Now I am an Engineer, and I get to design whatever I can dream up. Grantham laid the foundation for me to build on, and I am forever grateful. Keep up the good work!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Challenging, but rewarding

Engineering - October 16, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great value; I picked up 20% on my salary with the AAS EET, and have 30% waiting for me once I finish the BS. The math courses were tough to beat, but the student body via the forums were extremely helpful. Some faculty were top-notch, others were absentee-landlords. I wish they had clearer standards to hold the student progress department to. Sometimes it is on auto-pilot, and everything works. Other times (the exception in my case) they aren't as proactive as I would like them to be. I loved the use of the A86/D86 programs for Microprocessor Engineering. I also like the fully-registered version of Visual Studio 2005 for C and C++. I wish they would offer up a copy of Maple or Mathmatica for precalc, calc, and calc II. I really liked the fully registered version of MATLAB. The education is top-notch technology wise; I apply everything I have learned to date on a daily basis at work. I truly believe this has made me an effective field engineer/Technologist. Overall, I am grateful that an institution such as Grantham exists; I would not have been able to get this far in my career without their course of instruction. I still don't trust the proctored exam process; I have my proctor keep copies of my answers until the classes have cleared; I have heard many horror stories of tests being lost, causing nasty delays. I would like to see regional & ABET accreditation for GU, I think they are the most qualified candidate as far as distance education is concerned.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Investigations?

Engineering - July 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham had problems for about a year after the floods but things are much better now

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Needs Improvment

Engineering - July 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall: I couldn’t use my degree for progression in the Air Force. I know I will have problems in the civilian world. Materials: “GOOD”. Teachers: Need improvement. They need to be held accountable for not meeting student’s needs (i.e. responding to emails). I had an instructor tell me to hire a tutor. I struggled through math class on my own...no help! BTW...not all instructors were bad. Dr. Sutter was great and there have been other good ones. If you’re out there “thank you!” Institution: Leadership needs to wake up and smell the coffee. You need to listen to its students, instructors, and staff for advice. It’s called process of improvement! Support: I gave them a "6". I rated it not for the 3 bad instructors I had but for the majority of the instructors that pushed me, emailed me back to do better, or study harder. Thank you! I did learn a lot from them. Overall, the adjunct instructors I had were very knowledgeable and supporting. Grantham should listen to them and take some advice. Value: It’s poor! I have not advanced in the Air Force with this degree. I have applied for State Jobs in IL...no luck there. It looks as if the only job I can get is the one I currently have. Wake up Grantham...you students need both Regional and ABET accreditation. I have been told by Grantham, We’re obtaining both since 2001. It isn't going to happen...bad on you for not keeping your word Grantham...shame on you! Use of Technology: It could use improvement. I t does use very good technology for software via distance learning. I think using some hands-on circuit breadboards, multimeter, and a hand-held o-scope would be very beneficial. Also, use video for instructing students on-line. My comments about cheating: I want to say I never cheated and for those that did...shame on you! You know Grantham’s "Code of Conduct" and its policy about cheating. It’s like any other school; if you’re caught you get in trouble. That should fall more on the person than Grantham because you can not get through life or your next job if you’re a cheater. I would like to see from Grantham: Obtain Regional and ABET at the same time. Offer a Master's program for Engineering. Start an undergrad program for Electrical and Computer Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering Technology. My final comments: Grantham if you can hear me...you know my thoughts since I constantly email about "what my expectations are from you" so wake up and smell the darn coffee. Also, for current Grantham students if you’re going to complain this is a good place, ripoffreport, and the Better Business Bureau. My advice to students is complaining to Grantham’s President, Dean and Provost and let them know just how you feel about the school. Also, let them know you’re unhappy and if things do not change for the better and soon you will take your money elsewhere. Grantham…its time to act now before it’s too late!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

The courses are challenging, but it's worth it

Engineering - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The courses are very challenging and require a ton of self-motivation to complete. The electronics labs are done with MATLAB and Electronics Workbench and it would not hurt to have practical experience as well, but most students with a hands-on military background should not have a problem. The knowledge gained from courses taken at Grantham has served me well in my professional career and have been applicable to my field. My instructors were comparable to other universities (most are excellent resources and answer questions thoroughly within a few days), but it did help to utilize outside resources such as the open-courseware notes on MIT's website and the course notes at Stanford and UMich. Overall, I'm satisfied with the level of instruction and am proud to be a Grantham Alumnus.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Problems and More Problems

Engineering - June 21, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I earned the BSEET degree from Grantham in 2006. Materials: Some of my early classes used the dated Grantham softbound booklets, but later classes used actual college texts. Teachers: Unlike some of the other reviewers, I had no trouble reaching the instructors, and they were responsive/helpful. Institution: Administratively, Grantham was absolutely abysmal. Keep copies of everything! Value: WARNING! It appears most graduate schools and many employers refuse to accept this degree!!! For example, a "technology" degree is not considered a professional engineering degree by the US government, and you'll be told to "start over." I wish I would have known this before I invested the time and money. Also, Grantham claims to be working on ABET accreditation, but I'll believe it when I see it (they've been working on it for years now). Use of Technology: Used MicroSoft Visual Studio for programming projects, MultiSim to simulate/test circuits, and MathWorks Matlab for higher level math courses. All good! Bottom line: What a shame! Grantham offers a decent curriculum and a real chance to learn electronics engineering. In fact, a professional electrical engineer from a regionally accredited school was monitoring my Grantham coursework and thought it quite appropriate in both depth and breadth. Too bad it won't count for much. Save yourself some grief by sticking with regionally accredited schools!

Was this review helpful?

Don't trust Grantham

Engineering - June 1, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't believe Grantham will become regionally accredited They've been talking about gaining regional for about 2 years now. I just don't see it happening because this school is crap and a waste of time. Take your TA, G.I. Bill, and run. I would recommend AMU to my military peers. It's ten times better.

Was this review helpful?

Completed Degree in September '06 &still no degree

Engineering - April 17, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my degree in September 2006. When I submitted my diploma request I was told that I need to take some exams from a preceeding semster becuase Grantham did not have them. Lucky me, I had a certified mail reciept and found out who signed for them and where they were sent to. I was then told that the exams were found but had to wait for the grading process. When I inquired about how long the grading process was going to take some how only one of my exams was found and Grantham was still looking for the rest. I then email the student director. Mr. Colon emailed me back saying that my exams have been graded and I should receive my diploma soon. That was in January. I called Mr. Colon in March to ask about my diploma. He told my that it would be on its way. It is now April and still no diploma. Is there some way to shut down Grantham Univesity? I wish I had my time back so I could go to a different school. I WILL NEVER USE ANOTHER ONLINE UNIVERSITY AGAIN!

Was this review helpful?

It is what it is.

Engineering - February 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is what it is. An online school that helps you to further your education. Some complain that they do not hold our hand to complete the degree, but I went to the large schools and never spoke to an advisor or a Dean or the President. At least at Grantham I have done all of those things on many occasions.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grantham University in any way.