Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grantham University

  • Ranking: #56
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council

3.0
189 Reviews
5 43 
4 56 
3 17 
2 26 
1 47 
0 0 

Grantham University Reviews:

Professors do not seem to want to work with you and I feel I've wasted my Post 9-11 GI BIll

Criminal Justice - June 1, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided to apply at Grantham University as a gentlemen from the college came to our mess hall at the Vermont Air National Guard to offer college options. I decided to go with the Criminal Justice major. (They only offer Bachelor of Arts for CJ degrees by the way.) They seemed helpful at first when I was enrolling and I had a part-time job, I was able to keep up while getting decent grades. I won't lie and say that I'm a hard working student, because I'm not. When I was out of a job, I nearly had a 3.1 GPA as I had LOADS of time to work on papers and anything they needed me to do to pass. I got a part time job and was able to fluctuate between 2.5 and 3.0, until I was scheduled more hours and was doing work they could have just hired more people for. I'd work on things here and there, but when I needed special circumstances, the professors were not always helpful. (When my mother passed, I fell behind and was granted extra time to complete the courses and I did, hence why I said "not always helpful.")I changed to a degree program of Bachelor's of Science in Computer Science late last year. I've asked for extensions near the end of the term due to just wanting to take some time to decompress from work and spend time with my family: No incomplete granted. I have been working many hours of overtime at work to ensure we have coverage as I have a full time job now and I work 3rd shift and sometimes 12 hr overnight shifts on Friday or Saturday nights.I hear weekly from my soon to be step daughter about how she never sees me because I'm working or sleeping.) I understand they don't HAVE to give you one, but I just feel they should be a bit more understanding to the personal lives of their students outside of Angel or BlackBoard. Every student that attends here has a job that helps them play bills and has a family, but if you end up with a job that only gives you one day off a week at times, this college is not for you. Apparently, if you are in the Air Force or any of its components, (Air National Guard, AF Reserve) wanting help with your CCAP; talk to your Base Education and Training Office about CLEP,DANTES, or any local colleges offering free courses to you and your fellow airmen. It'll be less of a headache in the end. I regret even filling out the interest card.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 21 people found the following review helpful

VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!

Criminal Justice - August 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Grantham University since July 2, 2014, the instructors are great. The financial aid office is one big JOKE I have called them and they states that they are missing documents and for me to referee back to goafo. Of course gofao is not telling me anything, called back and then they tell me they can NOT help me I need to call the student loan people myself (which was a lie per student loan officer) I still have an balance when my loan was sent to this school in 8/5/2014. Financial aid has no compassion, no people skills, no nothing just rude and worthless! This is my opinion and no one can change it. I will not be returning as a student next semester.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 33 people found the following review helpful

dont waste your time

Criminal Justice - November 16, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

No support in this school period! Calling them is wasting your time. Financial Aid department is horrible. Disbursements are stalled and no one tries to help. Now I cant find any school who will accept credits from them. total waste of time.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 25 people found the following review helpful

poor student services

Criminal Justice - October 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I transferred to Grantham because I was told over and over that they are Military friendly and would go above and beyond to help those students The classroom was pleasant enough with decent instructors but the financial aid department is a joke. As of today I have waited 78 days for a refund of financial aid money. Everyone I speak with acknowledges that mistakes were made but nobody has the authority to fix it. So I am stuck waiting while they sit back and drag their feet. However, when my GI bill money is sent to the school it is credited immediately.This tells me that the school is much more interested in their bottom line than helping the students. Every job I have ever had has worked under a system where I'd there is a weak link then others step in and pick up the slack This is NOT the case with Grantham. I would not recommend this school to anyone at all.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 24 people found the following review helpful

GU has been good to me

Criminal Justice - September 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To all those who say that GU has failed them and is not a good place to attent, that is you opinion. Opionions are like friends, well all have them. In my opinion, I think that GU has been the best thing for those who are soldiers and do not have the time or Money to attend a Major University. They Have been there for me every step of the way. I have had some challenging classes and tough instructors who are either Chief of Police to Lawyers. From day one, my stundent progress Rep and has been in constant contact with me the whole way through. I am near completion of My BA in criminal Justice with only 5 classes to go. It is what it is. The University ir recognized, so what's the problem people. Find what works for you and stick with it. If GU is not for you, move on and kick rocks. Bashing GU for what they have done to you, seems like a personal problem. If you donthave nothing nice to say don't say nothing at all. I have encouraged all my friends and co-workers that are not in school to attend GU for the simple fact that they are great for the hectic hussle and bussle of a soldiers life. As a soldier I am grateful for GU giving me the opportunity to further my education goals. Thanks GU.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Grantham University Review

Criminal Justice - July 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For me this has been a wonderful experience. the academic advisors email throughout the course making sure you don't need anything and when you do they will always get back to you with an answer. Not all my teachers have been stellar but for the most part they give you assistance when needed and if you are going to be late on a assignment then they ususally grant you extensions no questions asked. Right now I am finishing my degree in CJ and I wwill continue my masters through this University. Those that have problems here are probably impatient and just negative all around. things are going to go wrong but if you know how to ask for help it is there for you.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Nothing But Bad Experiences

Criminal Justice - April 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in this school with the advice of a friend, I started my Major In BA, but switched to CJ, simply because I needed my degree for promotion reasons. From the day I switched it was nothing but problems, the student rteps dont return your phone call or email even though I have been in the school of almost a year and send them my records they claimed they did not have it, Very few of my prior credits were evaluated even though they were from a regionally acredited school, think they want you to take more of their classes. I felt like I was a piece of meat the only time I heard from my student rep was when she neded me to sign up for a new class from the day I enrolled in the class i never heard from her again. I recently had to call and ask that she be changed as my rep because she has failed me in every endeavor, from the computer scholarship program, enrolling in classes, getting my transcrips and processing my enrollment. I sined up for a class a mont prior to the start date, I am deployed so I thought being proactive I will sign up and have my books on time, worng! she sent me an email one day prior to the start date " sorry your class was not processed in the system even though E,ARMYU had it processed, she was just too dran lazy to take care of my enrollment before the start date. I can write a thesis on Grantham, they boast to be military friendly, NOT! ALL THEY CARE IS THAT THEY GET THEIR MONEY, I am stuck I am so far along that it would be stupid to change schools, maybe I am just unlucky with the great reviews I see posted here. My soldiers always ask me what is the best school i tell them dont touch Grantham with a 10 foot pole.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Transfer

Criminal Justice - August 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently moved to a different base. I went to the education office to see about transferring the 90+ credits from Grantham, seeking regional accreditation. THe first school i talked to will take 67 credits, and will award an associates after taking 15 credit hours with them. Grantham has evolved dramatically over the last few years, but im tired of waiting on them to upgrade. Regional accreditation opens more doors than just national. THats the truth. I will still persue my bachelors with them being so close already.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

the truth

Criminal Justice - August 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ive been with grantham for a while. Im almost done with the bachelors. THis school has come along way, as has online ed in a whole. It fit good with all the moving around and deployments. THis degree is not worthless by any means and will open many doors, but not as many as a regionally accretited school. I have a 2 yr degree from them it is recognized by the military and federal governemnt and by two states when inquiring about state jobs. I did have 2 police departmentstell me they wont except transcripts from a nationally accredited school. As far as transferring, it isnt easy and they all wont transfer. I did find a regioanlly accredited school with minimum effort that will accept 67 credit hours from them. I i have to take a a few steps back but will transferr some credits to have aregionall accredited degree and will also finish with grantham, their degree will get you more money from your military retirement as well ;)

Was this review helpful?

No Complaints

Criminal Justice - May 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Other than the whole accreditation thing, I don’t really have any gripes with Grantham. My BA in Criminal Justice enabled me to score a job with the Department of Veterans Affairs, in Boston, where I will be working as a Veterans Service Representative; the credits I earned from Grantham are recognized by both Harvard University and the University of Massachusetts, but I’ve decided to continue my studies with Drexel University, in Philadelphia, which also recognized my Grantham degree; and, in my last job, I was finally promoted.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

OK at best

Criminal Justice - April 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was turned on to this school knowing what it was but was limited on what i could do. My friend got a promotion because of this degree. I called certain police forces that require education, no problems so far with this school. I dont expect all the doors to be open but some are. I started with them and will finish, which is the only way to go with this type of school. If you plan on transfering look elsewhere, it wont be immpossible but it wont be easy.Hear this haters and lovers alike, honestly, when i started in 05 it seemed like a joke. It has evolved, with the recent implimentation of the angel system and others, it is no joke. Im glad im approaching the end becasue it has become very demanding. It is clear that this school is a business first but it is also clear the are striving for better recognition. I hope they get it for all those that put everything into this school. Good Luck to all.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

New Angel Program sucks

Criminal Justice - February 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school just adopted a new learning program called "Angel" which is completely different then the old learning style. It follows the style that many online universities do today, filled with discussion boards and due dates, the only reason I liked this university is now gone. As soon as I get my transcripts from Grantham I'm going to Southern Colombia University which uses the old Grantham concept but cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

Don't Be Fooled By These Crooks

Criminal Justice - September 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took 3 semester's worth of classes at Grantham Universtiy. I am a SSgt in the United States Air Force. This is a school that just has a lot of money, and can pay off sites like military.com to do their advertising. If you don't believe that they ARE NOT regionally accredited, just look at their website: http://www.grantham.edu/other/accreditation.php They talk about how important accreditation is. And they have a very professional looking website. Many people think that "nationally" accredited is what to look for, this is simply NOT true. They 'brag' about being accredited through DETC; which is a worthless Accrediting Commission. You want your school to be regionally accredited. PLEASE LISTEN TO ME, AND TAKE MY ADVICE!!! This school's credits are WORTHLESS! 100% WORTHLESS; I cannot get ANY OTHER School to accept my credits, the "CCAF (Community College of the Air Force) who paid for these classes won't even accept these credits (and I took Math Classes, English Classes, Physc, and a few criminal justice classes). I worked with 3 other people that went to this school, and completed all of their requirements for their CCAF, and when they went to go transfer their credits, CCAF wouldn't take any of them. None of the community colleges would take them. Rutger's wouldn't take them, no well known, respected university would touch them. All of these "positive" reviews HAVE to be from the school itself. I really wish military.com would stop take this school's advertising dollars, and stop putting them out as a "military friendly school". The course books are a JOKE. The course work is a joke, you just take mulitple choice tests, that are easy, and you are allowed to use the book. There is no time for the test either. Your not going to learn anything. And good luck trying to get in touch with anyone here. Tech support? Professors? Academic Deans? Advisors? NOTHING. The people you WILL here from are the admissions folks, you will get in touch with them in a heart beat. At first I thought I just had a bad teacher. Until I realized that this school barely exsists. I got a hold of no one. I have written the Dean countless times, his name is J. Patrick Cambell. I have still not heard back from any of my emails, phone calls, or letters I've sent him. Please please please, just take my advice, DO NOT TOUCH THIS SCHOOL! I wish, man I wish someone would have warned me. At McGuire AFB, I actually got the Wing CC to post an advisory about this school at the Ed. Center. I really wish that military would just go ahead and ban this school.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

pure utter garbage

Criminal Justice - August 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Nothing that was promised was delivered. Nothing. No support from teachers just fill in the blanks, turn it in and get your grade. Hope you don't have any questions. Staff was just as bad. Calls were made and maybe 1 out of 10 were returned and even then, the person calling back was an idiot and had no clue what they were talking about. I'm sick of it and this is my last class.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Grantham - Not if you value YOUR time

Criminal Justice - November 10, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First let me say this is a 100% HONEST review, I am a current student here at Grantham, and sad to say I will be switching to AMU just after 2 classes. The horrible support I have received is just amazing. Like most people have said no problem collecting your tution but after that its a crap shoot. I was completing my Criminal Justice degree and ready to take one of my finals. Set it up with my proctor, Who is a university teacher and thier time is just as valuable, sent in my paperwork and called to make sure they got it. They did and come Friday (exam time) my EXAM WAS NEVER SENT TO MY PROCTOR.....Oops they forgot!! What the heck! This is an institution of higher learning but not responsibility! Oh and I have turned in 3 homework assignments by which thier policy states the instructor has to grade within 3 days, yeah its been 2 weeks now. Hmmmm so when you see all these reviews on Grantham and why they are the NUMBER ONE rated WORST online shcool on this site.....THERE IS A REASON!!!! GO elsewhere, dont waste your tution or military TA here. Thank god I only took 2 classes! Its to bad too they had a lot of potential but it just doesnt seem to care!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grantham University in any way.