Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grantham University

  • Ranking: #56
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council

3.0
189 Reviews
5 43 
4 56 
3 17 
2 26 
1 47 
0 0 

Grantham University Reviews:

MS

Information Technology - April 4, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed my bachelor's and I'm about to complete my graduate degree -MS Information Technology from Grantham. This is a great school with highly qualified instructors who are ready to teach you. I believe the school is good for everybody who is willing to take the challenge to learn. If you are mature student who works full time/part time and have a family this is the best school for you. You will receive current information and as for the flexibility, it's fantastic. My company is now paying for my tuition and my salary has increases.If you going to study MSIT, I would advise that you get some certification in addition and you will be good to go.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL AT ALL COST!!!

Information Technology - September 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I 1st started Grantham University it was in the beginning of this year (2014) & everything was Okay for my 1st two terms, HOWEVER THIS term has been absolutely HELL and all of it is coming mainly from their Financial Aid department, I completed all of my forms in JULY, was sent an email saying they didn't receive all of my forms ALTHOUGH I did send them, so I sent them again received the same email, So I tried to get in touch with someone at the Financial Aid department it LITERALLY took me an entire month before I could get in touch with someone to explain to me what was going on as to where I stood, the person I spoke with said they had received all of my information and that it should have been processed accordingly, and to bear with them as they switch from an old system to a new one which is probably why I been receiving the emails, since speaking with someone then I have received more then 15x the email stating my files are still not all in, My Financial Aid is not processed, my student account is on hold because of this crazy shenanigans, When I try to call and speak with someone you NEVER get an answer, The phone always says FA Department has HIGH call volume (As If) and eventually if you wait to long on the phone the phone systems automatically kicks you out to leave a voice mail that never gets returned, I got tired of selecting FA Department in the phone system cause it automatically dismisses you that I starting routing my calls to The Student Advising Department, and since its not their department of expertise they really cant help you with anything, I am two months past the allotted time I was suppose to receive my FA Money, I'm failing in all of my courses right now because I don't have books, they are not available for e-download and I cant buy them myself because I don't have a job, I've stated my concerns many times with different individuals that work at that school and obviously they do not care about their student, BUT they will send you an EARLY bill to cover your courses, but will not make sure that you have the funds to cover yourself in your education. FACT OF THE MATTER IS THIS SCHOOL SUCKS STAY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY FAR AWAY FROM IT IF YOU CONSIDERING TO GO, THEY TREAT YOU LIKE A DOG THAT SHOULD LIVE UNDER A DOG HOUSE SO FOR YOUR OWN GOOD DON'T EVEN MAKE THIS SCHOOL A LAST OPTION!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

24 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Not a bad school

Information Technology - August 16, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ok, I have read the reviews that are posted, and I have to agree with some of them. The good ones that is. Not to say that I haven't had my problems with the university, but that happens in any school. I am in the Army, and they were very adaptive to my needs. I took classes while overseas and had books delivered on time for the most part. If I didn't have a book, my instructors were understanding and allotted more time to complete the coursework. As for if the degree is useful, it is for me. This degree allows me to get my commission and allows me to progress at work. I will be completing my Masters with them. The only issue that I have is when degrees are completed it takes forever to receive your degree or even the transcript. This is not the instructors fault, but the admin office.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

FINANCIAL AIDE

Information Technology - August 14, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started taking classes 4 Jun 14. On 16 Jun 14, I was awarded the VA 31 benefits so my education would be completely paid for. I tried to call my financial aide officer from 16 Jun 14 to 1 Jul 14 with no avail until 2 Jul to which my financial aide documents had already been processed. I then just told the financial aide office to just disperse my loan as I was never able to talk to someone about cancelling them. It is now 14 Aug My student account has been in the negative(meaning my refund) has been that way since 13 Jul I keep being told 30 days more everytime I ask a question. Due to all of this long waits on phone never talking to anyone my account totally messed up I dropped my second semester on the second day. Now I am being told my account is on hold for refund as they are still reviewing my account as I may owe something.... I have emailed everyone and done everything i can and I am never going back. THIS IS THE WORST SCHOOL. I am now a student at UMUC within the first days of me registering my VA, my books and I was registered for classes in a matter of 5 days. Whenever I call I get an answer within 5 minutes and if I email I get same minute response. I am a veteran and currently work in DoD. I will never recommend this school to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Still enrolled at Grantham and hoping to graduate

Information Technology - July 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

O.k., so I am currently enrolled at Grantham University. Like every university, it has its good and bad points. I have attended a total of 6 (Yes 6!) colleges over the past 8 years of my military service. I guess I am a positive person, because I found each to be a unique experience. I'm not sure that an online situation is right for everyone. I'm not saying that at all. My brother graduated high school this spring and I pushed him to a traditional community college. If you wonder why, it simply has to do with maturity. At 18, he just isn't disciplined enough to succeed in an online environment. For me, I am 33 and capable of sticking to my goals. I plan the work and then work the plan! Got that attitude in Army. We getter done. For me Grantham has been a blessing. They accepted a lot of my transfer credits (The one's related to my degree focus) And as long as you do your work on time and don't make excuses, they are pretty cool about everything. When you are deployed, they work with you on extensions. Little hard to turn in daily homework or comment on blog posts when you are in a battle theater. So it has taken me a little longer than I initially planned, but should be on course to graduate early 2013. Has it been easy? No. Has it been worth it? Yes. I plan to stay in the service and use my degree in a Green to Gold Officer program. I'm just trying to be encouraging for others who might be considering Grantham U or any other solid online school as an alternative to completing your degree. Just do it. The investment you make in your education is worth while. And if you are in the service, Military Tuition is a great cost reducer. Use it while you can.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful

"Good" Online school, always improving

Information Technology - January 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started at Grantham in 2007, and iitially wasn't very impressed. The courses seemed too easy, and without due dates for many assignments I had no real guidance, just a textbook and a list of assignments to email to an instructor. The website was not easy to navigate back then either. BUT.....After taking a break for a military deployment, I returned to taking online courses at Grantham and Completed my AS in Computer Science. The website has improved so much! And as for the usefulness of a Grantham degree, after being jobless for almost 2 years, that degree got me a job almost immediately. I decided to continue at Grantham in pursuit of my BS, and I can honestly say that every course I have since taken has had a reliable, knowledgeable instructor who grades quickly and is easy to reach to answer questions. My only complaint is in student-student interactions. Many courses require the use of a discussion board where you post your thoughts on a question and respond to 2 other sudents' posts. I find that MANY students simply reply "nice post!" or "I agree" in order to get credit for "responding". Sometimes I miss the real conversation and debate that occurs in a classroom setting. It can also be hard to sort through the spelling and grammar errors of other students. I have sometimes wondered how some of my classmates even graduated high school...but that is no different than I felt in my time at a traditional university and in the military.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Honest Opinion of Grantham

Information Technology - November 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently received by Bachelors at Grantham. Overall I have been impressed with the school. Now I know there is a issue with accreditation among a lot of folks. Nationally vs regionally does not make a difference from a workforce standpoint.Its an individual/business bias. Actually very few employers even ask about accreditation. If and when a company/business does a degree audit it will still show its accreditation by the Department of Education. Most employers don't know the difference anyway and neither is better than the other. Only area it might affect you is transfer of credits going from a Associates to a Bachelors to a Masters. But its no difference going from one regionally accredited school to another. Ask me how I know. They will not accept all transfer credits either. But for those that plan to go to a regionally accredited from a nationally accredited there are a number of schools out there that will transfer over credits with ease from nationally accredited colleges. For those getting teaching degree's or other specialized degree's I would recommend you stick with RA. Most of them will not accept a NA as it stands right now. Currently there is a national body at the federal level that is trying to level the field and have all colleges and universities that accredited at both the NA and RA levels make it easier on the student in credit transfer.But keep in mind schools whether RA or NA are going to try and get as much money out of you as they can. Doesn't take PhD to figure that out. Do your research on both accreditation. Go to the Department of Educations website. It has all the info you need on the subject. Don't take my word or anyone else word read it for yourself. Then make your choice from there. I'm finishing up my MS in Information Management-Project Management at Grantham. And oh by the way my degree from Grantham so far is netting me a 6 figure income.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Save your money

Information Technology - May 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know it's "online" and all... But the whole class was nothing more than a garden variety textbook and a list of assignments. My thought was "Ok, is it that hard to put up some video lectures or something? I don't need to pay a thousand dollars to sit and read a textbook!" I would say save your money and go to the library. This school is a really poor value.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Easy classes, great instructors

Information Technology - May 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed 3 classes in 8 weeks with Grantham and had no problems what-so-ever. I am not sure where all the negative feedback is coming from. Every time I needed to get a hold of my adviser, it was usually within a day that he returned my emails. The instructors were accessible view email at all times. The classes were pretty easy but challenging enough to keep my interest. I would be continuing on but with a problem with one of my past colleges, I would be placed on academic hold if I tried to enroll again. My problem, not Grantham's. For the price that they charge per CR HR, you can't got wrong. I did a lot of researching of online colleges and Grantham is probably one of the less expensive colleges available. The others that are pretty close in price are AIU, CTU and CIU. I will be going to CIU because the programs there are pretty close to Grantham's. Plus the price is better.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

A good online college

Information Technology - April 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Lets be honest... Grantham University is an online university. It is not going to be neccessarily easy nor are you going to receive "lectures". It's ONLINE. Do you really expect an online institution to give you lectures? In my experience so far I have received weekly guidelines of what is expected to be done and what I need to submit. Following the guideline I have so far done quite well -- I have a high A in all my courses. Although I do have a secret... I ask the teachers questions and I don't put it off until the last day. I can't speak for other peoples teacher encounters but for me I have always received an answer within the 48 hour window I am afforded. (read the policy -- they MUST reply within 48 hours) So to the dissenters I ask -- what are you expecting? There aren't any lectures and you alone are responsible for your learning. If you can't teach yourself you shouldn't be taking online courses.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Grantham Is Awesome!

Information Technology - August 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham was great.I had one year of college left in a BS in CS and finished it with Grantham. The people who complain about Grantham seem very immature and want to be spoon fed. I have been taking Grantham 3 years and I have never ever had an issue with them. Trust me doing programming and Data Structures and Physics with online is tough but Grantham teachers and staff made my journey great. Thank God for Grantham. My next job promotion was because the job requires a BSCS and I had only a 2 year from a 2 year college. I learned more with Grantham that with my 2 year college. I found out what I can really do if I put my mind and heart to it. Grantham or any school is what you make. Grantham Rocks! I got this IT Manager promotion in part due to my BSCS degree. Oh yeah. And those of you who talk bad about Grantham grow up. I doubt very much you could make it in any school. Really. I have watching Grantham for 25 years when I was in the USAF and after many years of doubt I jump in and found out Grantham is improving itself every day. And there new Angel software kicks but. Go Grantham go. You do a agreat job. God bless. Robert Wisconsin

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Good School no complaints

Information Technology - January 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Grantham 3 years and I am almost done. I grad this 2010. I called my near by college and asked if they would take my degree and if I could teach their with a BS degree from Grantham, they said yes. Marshfield Hospital one of the biggest clinics in the nation told me they accepted Granthams BS degree. I am confused how I read such bad comments on this forum. Grantham is good. and another thing, if you cheat you cheat yourself and people cheat in brick and mortar schools i know. 3/4 of my degree was at a brick school I have only needed 1 last year and I decided on grantham due to the price and flexibility. Students cheat in brick schools too dont be fooled...Grantham is good and even better with their online angel system. It is nice.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Above Average...

Information Technology - November 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've read several reviews from a few of the other colleges; Devry, University of Phoenix, and Colorado Technical University to name a few. I don't think there is a single school out there that fully pleases all of its students. I am in my second year of Computer Science and as prone to complaining as I can be, I really have no major complaints about the school. I keep hearing how it isn't Regionally Acredited, but I've read the pages from the Department of Education, CHEA, HETA, and all those other acronyms that say regional vs. national should make little differenc. When I research jobs in my future field, the descriptions alway ask for an "acredited" degree. None ask specifically for regional over national. The school itself can be a pain at times... sometimes the grades don't come back as quick as they should, some instructors don't even look at your work, if you have a problem it can be a bit of a hassle to get it solved quickly... but a lot of these issues occur everywhere you go. I've attended Southern Illinois University and Richland College in Dallas, both on-campus and I've attended Cleveland Institute of Electronics online and I would put Grantham above all of those. As I've heard others say, you get what you put into it. If you don't want to do the reading, you can just skip around and do the minimum, but you can do that anywhere if you want. The key is to WANT to learn while you're doing the work. I may be back on here in six months totally ripping the school, but after 16 months I still enjoy the experience.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Grantham Instructors

Information Technology - September 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am retired Army E-9, I completed my M.S. degree from Grantham and I applied to teach online courses for them. They will not hire me because my degree in not Regionally Accredited. How stupid is that they can take your money give you a degree but it is not good enough to teach for them. I also applied to various other colleges (online instructor) and standard ground campuses and none of them accept my M.S. as good enough to teach. That school is a joke. They are a bunch of Hipocrits! To all my military members stay away from this school please.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Good School, Worth the money!

Information Technology - May 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is a great school for military members! I see a lot of post on here that say other wise but there is one thing that I learned is that when you go to any college you need to stick with that college or else you do take a chance of not being able to transfer any of your credits. Also, Grantham isn't the only school in America that has issues with transfering there credits! If you feel that you need to spend twice as much to get a degree then go ahead but remember that the people who teach classes at Grantham are also as educated as those who who teach at the more expensive colleges. College to me overall is all about money no matter were you go but getting your education is one of the most important things that a person can get. Education should be affordable to everyone not just to those who can afford expensive colleges. Good luck to everyone and I'll be graduating from Grantham University with my Masters Degree in IT next May 2010!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Grantham a waste of time

Information Technology - May 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham basically preys on Soldiers. One class will cost you a $1000.00 of tuition assistance and good luck getting any of your credits to transfer. Even AMU wouldn't touch Grantham credits. I finally found a brick and mortar school that would let me audit a class if I took it at Grantham or write a paper proving I had working knowledge. Your better off not wasting your time or money. BTW I now have my BS is psych from Corban College in Salem OR.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

straight up review

Information Technology - May 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

All this is an honest review. I have been enrolled with Grantham for over three years. The only issue that i have with the school is that my progress Rep. would change every 6 months or so. I had no problems with the new angels platform, actually I prefer it compared with the old system. Grantham is a legitimate school without this school I would have never earned my degree. Navy Mustang!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Grantham University

Information Technology - April 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wow! When is this going to end. OK, we get it. Grantham sucks. Look, I have my Masters Degree from Grantham. I've been employed for the past 20 years for a large organization and the degree from Grantham has given me the promotion that I was seeking. I needed a Masters Degree. I didnt need one from USC, Harvard, Princeton, Yale.......just a Masters Degree. This is probably the case for a lot of folks that get their degree from Grantham. We can do our own research and make our own decisions. We know, we know, Grantham isnt fully accredited.....bla bla bla. If you dont want to get a degree from Grantham than move on with life. Stop make yourselves miserable....get your degree from wherever is going to make you happy.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

School Works For Me

Information Technology - February 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After reading these reviews I had to say something! I give Grantham a 7, they met all my requirements and I enjoyed 90% of the assignments! Yes, credits don't transfer, but I did my homework, before I enrolled! Very flexible schedules, high turnovers rate of Student Rep's, instructor's are ok, no problems in my 6 years of attending. Final thoughts, yes a regional accredited college, I would recommend if you can. But, I know for some of us, this is the only way to get a degree. I'm retired Air Force and now make triple figures, so the question is "regional" or "distance" what works for you.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

2 thumbs up!!!!

Information Technology - November 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hi, I have been a student of Grantham University since 2006 and have finally graduated. First, compared them with other distance education programs available and traditional brick and mortar schools; I chose Grantham because of its flexibility with my military schedule. Grantham's IT courses are current and relevant to the field. I have had positive things to say about my student progress representatives, teachers, and its faculty. Grantham allowed me to complete my Bachelor's degree in engineering. I never had such good instructors that were there to help me one-on-one like Granthams instructorts have. Grantham University "has" leveled the playing field so "everyone" can achieve a high quality education. Also, have up-to-date courses and technology to keep them current with the bigger colleges. I highly recommend Grantham to you or anyone serious about getting thier degree. It takes loyalty, dedication, and time management to take classes online. I liked that versus being spoon fed as I was from some of these traditional schools I have attended in the past. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Grantham Graduate after 10 years

Information Technology - June 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student of Grantham University for over 10 years and have finally graduated. When I first enrolled in Grantham it was a small school. I compared them with other distance education programs available at the time and selected Grantham because the required courses were on par with a brick and mortar university. I have watched as Grantham has experienced tremendous growth over the years and while there may have been a few bumps along the way, I am prowd to be one a Grantham alumni. Grantham's computer science courses are current and relevant to the field. I cannot say enough good things about the student progress representatives I have had over the years and I have had several. Gratham unlike most universities and especially brick and mortar schools went above and beyond to help me continue my education through work challenges, caring for my elderly mother in law, my husband's illness and his death. I WOULD NOT have been able to complete my degree without the compassion and assistance the staff provided. Grantham allowed me to complete my high school dream of earning a Bachelor's degree in computer science. I never would have imagined that I could learn calculus or physics outside of a class room since I did not take them in high school. I dropped out to start my family. I really strugged with those classes and am very proud that I finished them. Some may say that the distance education classes are easy. I found the classes to be challenging and learned something new from each of them. You get out of an education no matter where you take it what you put into it. Grantham University wants to level the playing field so that a quality college education is available to everyone. They are constantly updating the courses to keep them current and they listen to the students to try to improve the college. Thank you Grantham for helping me and others like me achieve our dreams!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Not for those that really want to learn

Information Technology - May 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went for a few semesters and realized that I was getting no support at all. Furtherfore, I was being sent a lot of books but I was not being taught anything. Instructors are just there to grade papers and they did not even do a good job at that. I made a mistake one time and sent my rough draft instead of my final paper. I realized what I did several days later and went to send the final paper and in my in-box was a grade from my instructor. I received an "A" for my not-so-well thought out rough draft. I dont think that the instructor even read over it. If this is the kind of graduate that they are putting out, I dont want anything to do with them.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

A worthwhile experience!

Information Technology - May 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There have been a great number of negative comments about this university lately, so I want to share my thoughts. First: who should attend Grantham or any online university? You should not attend if you expect to land a dream job with your degree after you graduate. You should go to a well respected school that offers student career services, internships, and recruiting. Career placement is the best asset a big university can offer. You should attend if you're working full time and need a degree to open new doors of opportunity. Second: thoughts on accreditation and degree acceptance. Some complain about credit transfers. DO NOT ATTEND AN ONLINE DETC ACCREDITED SCHOOL UNLESS YOU INTEND TO GRADUATE FROM THAT SCHOOL. It's that simple. Most regionally accredited schools will likely not take credits from online colleges. As for the usefulness of a Grantham degree, well, that is relative to what you want. You should know what you want before attending any university. I work for the federal government. The US Govt accepts any degree from colleges with a Dept of Education approved accreditation. Yes, DETC is one of those. There is a large list of private companies that accept and even provide tuition assistance for employees to Grantham such as AT&T, GM, Lowes, Bellsouth, Verizon, etc... As with any school there are negative experiences. Online schools require greater self-discipline and the ability to learn on your own. You will not receive the same level of academic support that you would get from a brick-and-mortar school. Some of Grantham's instructors (or paper graders as I call them) offer no support at all. In fact, none of them instruct at all. They will provide assistance if you do not comprehend the material, but the learning is completely up to you. On the other hand, my wife attends a big name university and the problems I've had with Grantham pale in comparison to hers. I earned a bachelor and master degrees from Grantham. I can't complain about costs as my GI-Bill paid for all but the final semester. It took 5 1/2 years, while working full time, of diligence, discipline and hard work to obtain my Master degree. While I do not compare my degree to a regionally accredited brick-and-mortar school degree, I am very satisfied, relieved and proud to have earned it. It has served me well thus far. My bachelor degree moved me from 32K per year to 51K per year and, more recently, my Master degree allowed me to apply for (and accept) a position that makes 62K per year. Please research before attending any school!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grantham University in any way.