Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Henley-Putnam University

  • Henley-Putnam University Reviews

    Ranking: #5
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: DETC

4.5
46 Reviews
5 35 
4 7 
3 0 
2 1 
1 3 
0 0 

Henley-Putnam University Reviews:

Comments of HPU should be respected by everyone here whether positive or negative

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - July 9, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just want to mention answering to May 2016 regarding Anonymous comments that shouldn't be read or taken in. Everyone here has a right to put comments that sees fit to how they were treated good or bad. So it shouldn't have to be disputed by another here that we should respect each other's comments whether they have experienced good and or bad from this university. After being expelled that something good came out of this from going to another school tells you this university couldn't handle the pressure and for fear that they would be reported knowing they can get away with what they do in this university. That's the way of the world why we have a messy world and it is not justly right for the people who gets messed over but they don't care as one of the advisors from HPU, who has a Master, which now I have a Master from another university and also am a member of an honor society, that advisor who acted out via email wickedly to rid of me and was happy to go tell this to a tutor. What kind of school is this sounds like a corrupted messy world there that doesn't show their concerns to students but only liked the selected few? The ones who spoke highly of this university, kudos to you but the ones who gets messed and haven't got the taste of that, should reconsider and be compassion for them, not downplay them the ones who had bad experience and they haven't experience it but to respect everyone's comments with dignity!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Do your thorough checking before going to Henley-Putnam University

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - March 23, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As you know Henley-Putnam only has a lot of good things said about them but students don't know what's going on behind closed doors, just seeing the outside surface who they are. I"m surprised I'll be only one who had a bad experience with them unless people are afraid to step up. This school is for profit private school, is not regionally accredited and is not Title IV (where they could have been qualified institution on military base) as most schools are. They have 800 students and is a small school. I feel that I am being treated differently from Henley Putnam University as a retired veteran. I started with them in the summer then I came back to re-enroll for Dec 2014 class through Feb 15 the first class, then back for Mar 1 through May 15 for a second class. Couple of examples of my experiences with Henley Putnam, I found out by another school regarding my financial assistance as this school didn't tell me I would have gotten full tuition assistance. Another example was the enrollment advisor is hardly there to answer her phone and you about have to catch her on emails most of the time. She said she in meetings and all but then after speaking with President of the school, she isn't, very confusing of that told to me. The first class, I was given a mentor going for her doctorate degree as my first time attending and following through this time. As I attended the first class, I was considered an honor student because given a mentor made the difference. They realized for my second class to slack off the help from my mentor only just give me the resources then I do it myself. I did my first assignment then I dropped almost 3-4 grades down. Now what does that tell you. To me is political and not playing their cards straight. Henley-Putnam said I now fall under Student Code of Conduct www.henley-putnam.edu. As I emailed trying to get financial taken care of and more classes to take as I withdrew from that class I was not doing so good in after a drastic drop of grade from first class to second class that tells me something is seriously wrong with this school. The President of the school said they are transparent, meaning they constantly monitor your calls and emails. They lectured me of how many emails and calls as I had questions of things need to be cleared as this school is not good at. The second instructor does not want to be bothered as much to help his students why it was initially a problem then the other students and I were turning to each other but that didn't help much like I thought. I was threatened maybe to be expelled but the President said he will have my report forward to the Student Review Committee if appropriate to keep me as their student even though I started out as honor student and then almost a 'D' student. How sad is that? Wouldn't that tell someone something is wrong here? This school should have been investigated more thoroughly and I'm surprised no one spoke up. I started realizing the problems from my financial assistant information not being corrected initially to being passed around to people not sure who i should be under to having to ask too many times to get answers to my questions. So I learned if you question this school too much or not say how you feel, they will get rid of you, even though they know it's true. This school is about Power and Money. If you ask them of the issue here to dispute, they will back up everything they can to win whether right or wrong. It's power and money these days, folks!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 23 people found the following review helpful

DSS

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a career federal employee and former U.S. Army Officer I am VERY impressed with the faculty AND support staff. I am pursuing the Doctorate of Strategic Security. I recommend this course to anyone interested in pursuing a Doctorate in the intel or national security field. I am heading into my second set of coursework and cannot explain the value of my lass DSS coursework to my current duties.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great School..Unique Programs

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - February 21, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a phenomenal experience at Henley-Putnam. From Staff to Faculty nothing but 100% support. Definitely a rigourous program if you shoot for the stars and take a full load or more. The professors have extensive knowledge and currently work in their fields in addition to lending their expertise to the university and its students. I have read reviews from other sites with nay-sayers doubting the validity of HPu and their accreditation. the university is DETC accredited and currently undergoing the WASC process. I graduated from Henley-Putnam with my Bachelors in TCT and was accepted to the graduate program (MSCJA-Homeland Security)at Chaminade University of Honolulu (Spring 2013). So I believe that speaks volumes.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Top Notch Degree Program

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - September 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Completing my degree with HPU was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The instructors in the TCT program were prompt with forum responses, grading of assignments, and any questions regarding the syllabus. I would recommend and have recommended this program to anyone interested in intelligence, homeland security, or counterterrorism since it provides insight into all three. HPU prides itself on being a smaller university with specific programs which is one of the best things about attending HPU. I was accepted into several Masters Programs from regionally accredited universities with no problems. I am very proud to be a graduate of HPU.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

An excellent program

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - January 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Henley-Putnam University is a great online school! After seeing some other schools' online programs, I fully appreciate the well thought out layout of the HP website and program. The website is easy to navigate, the courses are laid out in a sensible manner, and the instructors are knowledgable, approachable, and easy to contact. Unlike other online degrees that take off points for submitting assignments late, HP is understanding of working students, and is very flexible on turning in work. I was shocked when my wife's instructors would give her no leeway in due dates (especially since she's military and has some pretty long hours), but at HP, they work very hard at helping working professionals meet both their work and school responsibilities. The instructors cover many different view points, know their courses, and have experience in what they teach. They are also very willing to listen, and willing to change scores, provided you can argue your case well enough to justify it. A nice change of pace from instructors who refuse to recognize any view or answer other than their own. The Staff is responsive and helpful, for issues regarding grades, tuition, tech support, or any other issues. The only issue I have ever had is the mandatory purchase of a laptop included in the program, I feel this should be optional, as most master's students already own a computer.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

great program

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - January 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This university is top notch. Some of the best professors I've ever had.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

MWeber

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - December 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experiences at H-P U have been nothing but positive. The quality of instruction, the diversity of the instructor's backgrounds and the quality/breadth of the reading material make for a positive and rewarding educational experience.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Henley-Putnam

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - October 3, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

great school, great instructors, best customer care and service of any school i have attended.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding Experience

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - September 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose Henley-Putnam because all courses are applicable to my chosen area of study. Students don't waste time or money taking courses which are unrelated and irrelevant. If you put the time in and dedicate yourself to this field, you will find HP to be a very rewarding experience.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Military Friendly

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - September 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wanted to diversify my educational portfolio and earn a graduate degree in something other than business, management, or my undergraduate area of study. This is a tough challenge under normal circumstances -- but especially tough for a military member who has high operational tempo committments. Henley Putnam has been very understanding and encourageing. I would highly recommend the "Military Friendly" programs offered at Henley Putnam.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Henley-Putnam University

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - August 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in the process of acquiring my M.S. degree in Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies. With 8 courses left to go, I have to say that I am still excited about the course-work. The instructors thus far have been outstanding, and the customer service at HP has been exceptional. This is not your ordinary run-of-the-mill online university, with a mundane and common curriculum. The areas covered are something you will not encounter anywhere else. Awesome stuff!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Review of Henley-Putnam University

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I thoroughly enjoy attending Henley-Putnam University. The staff is military friendly, understanding, and their knowledge is world class. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable and help you to arrive at the answers through self discovery and their guidance. I am very pleased to attend this school and highly recommend it for prospective students.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Instructor's Experiences Unparalleled

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have spent the past 8 years in the military attending different schools, courses, and training. Every class and experience has been beneficial. However, I have not gained knowledge as in depth and as quickly as I have attending Henley-Putnam. The instuctors are not quoting out of a text book, in many cases they wrote the book. The high level of knowledge and experience the instructors demonstrate is unsurpassed. The school is brought full circle by its amazing student services staff and easy to navigate online classrooms. My only regret is that I didn't find Henley-Putnam University sooner.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Positive Review of Henley-Putnum

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school has been a positive experience and I'm sure will continue to be positive for me and those who attend in the future.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Henley-Putnam University

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In my opinion, Henley-Putnam is an outstanding institution. I feel that I am learning from men and women that are experts in their field and who can support their expertise with real world experience. I also deeply appreciate the level of support that I receive from the university's non-teaching staff.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good Choice

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had an excellent experience at Henley-Putnam University. The staff at the University consistenly impress me with their accomodation and support. My professors are truly giants in their fields, and I'm grateful to have the opportunity to study under them. First-rate learning experience!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Truly Excellent

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - February 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After taking courses at several colleges and universities, I can say with no reservation that HPU is by far the best. They are truly dedicated to providing an absolutely top-notch experience for us, their students. I strongly encourage anyone interested in security or intelligence to check them out.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Hist 390

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - February 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have finally found my home at Henley-Putnam. My first semester experience was outstanding. I would recommend this university to anyone interested in a top notch security education. Its a great change to attend a university that actually cares about their students. Both of my instructors were obviously experts in their field, and the staff at Henley-Putnam will go to any length to insure any issues are quickly resolved. If the idea of responding to an incident after the fact, (as most homeland security programs teach) does not appeal to you, and you are interested in being proactive and stopping the incident before it can occur, then Henley-Putnam is for you. I can not think of any negative aspects of attending Henley-Putnam. I am proud to be part of the Henley-Putnam family. Sincerely, Eric R. Slavenas

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Review of Henley-Putnam University

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - February 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a retired U.S. Army Special Forces Warrant Officer and graduate student who has completed almost half of my program to date, I can honestly say that enrolling at Henley-Putnam University (H-P) was one of the best decisions that I have ever made. At H-P "the world revolves around me, and they address all of my concerns immediately." The professors are exceptional and bring a breadth and depth of "real world" experiences to their classes that is second to none; they don't just talk about it, they have been there and done it. Their online format is state of the art, user friendly, and makes learning interesting and fun. I can't say enough about the H-P staff, they are very professional, proactive, competent and efficient, caring, and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that my education stays right on track. H-P is not trying to be "all things to all people;" rather, they provide a very focused curriculum of intelligence, counterterrorism, or protection studies designed for the person who knows exactly what they want. I highly recommend H-P to anyone who is not willing to settle for second best when it comes to their education. - RAS

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Henley-Putnam University in any way.