Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Henley-Putnam University

  • Henley-Putnam University Reviews

    Ranking: #5
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: DETC

4.5
46 Reviews
5 35 
4 7 
3 0 
2 1 
1 3 
0 0 

Henley-Putnam University Reviews:

Beware of Anonymous Posts

Intelligence Management - May 2, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I noted the most recent reviews are from anonymous reviewers; it appears their opinion is based on a personal issue and clearly not comprehensible. I am a current DSS student and have had nothing but a professional and demanding experience from HPU. College, especially distance learning, is not meant to be easy; HPU requires working for your degree, many times at your own pace. This takes dedication and drive. HPU is private and makes a profit but the price is not anywhere near most Doctorate/PhD programs; on top of this HPU is NOT a diploma mill. Do your research, contact alumni and current students, and most of all make your critical educational decision based on facts.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Top-Notch, Target-Centric School

Intelligence Management - October 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a relatively new student at Henley-Putnam University (HPU). Having said that, many who read this review may stop there and skip my review of the school. However, if you are someone who - like me - is looking for a school to answer those deep desires to make a difference, then you will read this review. I entered HPU after an exhaustive search for a school that focused on exactly what I wanted to learn. My previous experience with brick-and-mortar schools have yielded a lot of school loans with very little knowledge, other than elementary general education skills. I think this is the case with a lot of students. So, why did I choose Henley-Putnam University? 1. No bulls**t: Prior to entering HPU I had a ton of preconceived notions and some very unrealistic goals. I thought of myself as a fairly learned fellow about the intelligence community, but then quickly realized I didn't know jack! HPU's enrollment coordinators cut through all the BS and got down to brass tacks, which allowed me to focus on my future goals with realistic expectations. I am a civilian. I have zero experience in the military and no experience in law enforcement. They helped me realize being a civilian is not a handicap, which a lot of other schools made it seem. 2. Cost: Pound for pound, the average undergraduate student will get more bang for their buck at HPU than at any other school. If you are a civilian like me, and you cannot take advantage of G.I. loans, or other loan programs, the money you spend out of pocket is well worth it. It is worth every penny. If you are in need of grants or scholarships, they will help you find money, but they don't promise you anything. Grants and scholarships are hard to find, but HPU will walk you through it, and their payment plans are very flexible. 3. Support: Since I enrolled, HPU staff from every department have checked in with me on a weekly basis to make sure I am good to go. When I have a question, they answer it within hours of sending an email. When I need them on the phone, they are there. I've even spoke directly with one of the founding members on the weekend! I can guarantee you that does not happen at any State University... 3. Resources: HPU's website, and their educational gateway (Moodle) is the best I've ever used. Their list of resources are vast and it is all part of your tuition. 4. Teachers: My past experiences with teachers usually included grad students, or the guy you sat next to in your last class who is now teaching you! At Henley-Putnam University, your instructors are the real thing! All of my teachers so far are current members of the intelligence community. They are in the fight right now. 5. Curriculum: Henley-Putnam University is very much like a law school. If you want to learn law, you go to a law school. If you want to learn intelligence management (like me), or counter terrorism, you go to a school that teaches it. The curriculum at HPU is top notch! The books are very target-centric - very niche. They are not books you see on the shelves at your local book store. And if you think Internet classes are easy, think again! HPU operates on a very strict honor platform. Most exams are proctored exams. If your book is 500 pages, you will read 500 pages of that book. If you like to write, then you're in luck, because you will write a lot. My writing has improved ten fold over the past 6 months. 6. Tradition: Like any school, HPU has traditions and school spirit (Go Knights!) We are very involved in community and school spirit. My list can go on and on. Before you consider another school, give HPU a call. I know how scary a distance learning school can seem. HPU is not for everyone. Accreditation is a huge concern for HPU. Although HPU has one of the highest rankings as a distance learning school, they are working on regional accreditation, and I believe that before I graduate, they will be regional accredited. As for worrying if you'll be taken seriously by the intelligence community, call and ask them. I did. Find out for yourself. Best call I ever made.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Solid Program and Instructors

Intelligence Management - August 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm an intelligence community professional with more than 30 years experience. I'm in this course to organize knowledge I've accumulated over the years. My experience has been uniformly positive. The instructors are well experienced in their disciplines, current in their information, and always willing to engage the individual student to any degree necessary. Assignments are reasonably challenging and entirely manageable. Grading has provided plenty of useful feedback. This institution is everything that the previous online 'big name' institution I attended was not.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Real World Applications

Intelligence Management - September 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've found Henley- Putnam to be an efficient, effective learning environment. Where a flexible staff nurtures and fosters creative and critical thinking from its students. Concepts and frameworks that are applicable in real world environments. What you learn you can use on the job!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Real World Learning

Intelligence Management - September 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having worked in the intelligence field for about 12 years now, I have found Henley Putnam to offer the greatest number and most applicable courses suited for real world experience and application. The instructors have not only revealed knowledge in the material, but also a caring for student comprehension and success. And I just can't say enough about how well the support staff at Henley Putnam look after the students. I for one couldn't be any more pleased.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

As close to perfect...

Intelligence Management - September 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This college has been a life saver for me! I am in the military and have moved around an average of once every 4-6 months since I've been in. Since I started at Henley-Putnam University, I have been able to work at a pace that better suits me and from remote locations where I normally wouldn't have the ability to access a decent education. I was skeptical when I began looking for online schools because most of them seem like the educational version of the "get rich quick" scheme. I started at HPU and found out that their courses are just as hard as any college course and it takes just as long to finish a degree as if you were going to a traditional classroom college. The professors at HPU have treated me very well and understand the nature of my work (as well as others), because of this they are willing to work with me when necessary. They are interested in my degree completion, not in laughing at me when I don't get a paper turned in on time. The faculty at HPU are unparalleled. All my papers and administrative needs have arrived overnight or two day air. I haven't had an unanswered question and every time I call, the faculty are so nice that I feel like I'm talking to friends and not to people on the other side of the country that I've never met. Ok, enough of the mushy stuff. FYI, as a small example of their "service before self" mentality: A book that I bought from their website was the correct book but the incorrect version, the replacement is in the mail at no extra charge. Also, the computer that is sent to the student at some point into their classes was excellent and comes with a 3 year tech support warrenty which is worth its weight in gold. I understand that I am paying for it with the cost of tuition but I am just happy that I'm not given the minimum. All together, I think it that enrolling at Henley-Putnam University was one of the best decisions of my life and as James Cagney would say, "thats for the record".

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Intelligence Management

Intelligence Management - August 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I Have been out of the University scene for sometime so it is very refreshing that I can actually do this. My experience to date has been nothing short of spectacular. I look forward to actually using my new knowledge in the Intelligence field. I should have done this years ago, thats my only regret at Henley-Putnam. To borrow a great quote from the Air National Guard, "Fuel your Future" because thats what we are doing here.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Henley-Putnam U.

Intelligence Management - August 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I tried a traditional school for my bachelor's degree but it was seriously lacking. The few courses that Henley-Putnam offers are right in line with my career goals. The instructors are been-there-done-that folks who haven't spend their entire lives on a campus somewhere, but have been out there putting in on the line for their country. They are now in a position to share the wealth and I consider myself fortunate to be there.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Amazed at the talented staff

Intelligence Management - June 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Henley-Putnam University staffs a very impressive faculty and suburb customer service. The instructors come from a vast variety of backgrounds all relating to the programs offered. They take a personal interest in your education, at the same time enjoying what they do. I have been attending only for six months, but it seems only for a month. Most classes are fun and keep you wanting more. I would recommend Henley-Putnam to anyone looking into Intelligence Management.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Value of degree program to my law practice

Intelligence Management - June 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The return on my investment in the education I’m receiving at Henley-Putnam is extraordinary. I am a corporate lawyer with a successful practice and the coursework that I’m receiving is very interesting and is helping me to further my personal and professional goals. For example, I am interested in the ethics of the decision making process when leaders are faced with challenges and adverse events affecting their employees, constituents, or bottom line. Every day decision makers must foresee and prevent risks as well as manage comprising factors that confront their businesses or jurisdictions. In times of critical incident management, how do you balance the equities? In tough times, you have to make tough decisions. In the point of crisis, you need to know how to think critically through the issues to understand the risks and consequences of complex events - based on case history and past events, which provides a basis for sound decision making. After I complete my intelligence degree, coupled with my J.D., I will have the qualification to provide guidance and counsel about a range of complex ethical issues in the strategic security field. There are no clear-cut lines in this industry to adjudicate this level and type of decision making process; therefore, my degree in Intelligence Management from Henley-Putnam is helping me to build a knowledgebase in counterterrorism and intelligence so I can apply these skills in my law practice and professional consulting. My experience coupled with my education will impart to me a unique value to both corporations and governments. The bottom line is that the coursework itself is a great return on my investment; I love it here and I'm having fun. The unique one-on-one interaction and connection that I have with instructors is unbeatable. I have total access to all of the teachers and they are always there for me when I have questions or need support in my studies. For example, I spent more than 20 hours on the phone (over six phone calls) with one of my instructors who helped me develop and build out a scenario I used in one of my intelligence classes on "recruitment". I was also able to speak with that person about their lengthy career in the CIA, which provided context and real world answers to my questions.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Learning The Trade

Intelligence Management - June 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For stepping into a whole-new world of learning at a higher level of education, my experience from taking several courses from this institution have been truly exceptional. My previous BA degree consisted of a concentration in Justice Studies. In order to go from Justice Studies into Intelligence Management required dedication on my behalf and mentoring and support from Henley Putnam University (HPU). Bottom line, this institution has been there for me every step of the way.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Flexible learning you can get no where else.

Intelligence Management - June 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Henley-Putnam has provided me an enviroment that not only helps me above and beyond with my crazy work schedule, but provides me with education that helps me on a daily basis in my commercial intelligence carreer.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding!

Intelligence Management - March 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Master of Intelligence Management program at Henley Putnam is exceptional. As an intelligence analyst, the degree directly compliments my official training program and enhanced my professional skills. Daily I use the analytical skills gained through Henley Putnam in a real-world threat environment and cannot speak highly enough of the dedication and support of the instructors and staff. I'd recommend the Henley Putnam to anybody in law enforcement, military, or civil defense agencies.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Keeping the beacon of vigilance bright

Intelligence Management - February 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

From the top-down, faculty and staff at Henley-Putnam University fully invest their energy and resources in helping every student succeed. The instructors are top shelf and are still active in their field of profession. HPU instructors bring forth years of experience and expertise of their field to the classroom. The issues covered in the classroom are relevant and pertinent. Each professor's purpose is to impart knowledge as well as equip a new generation with the tools necessary for their craft. In every class, I am impressed by the instructor's ability to be accessible and maintain an open door policy. The availability of professors to hold discussions is paramount to a student's success and educational process. We may communicate our thoughts through the student and news forums, email, chat room, and in some cases teleconference. Instructors usually would respond within 24 hours but in most cases sooner. In terms of class size, the virtual classroom is very intimate, about 3-4 people (including the instructor). This great student to instructor ratio allows for a focused and highly customized learning environment. Not many campuses (online or conventional) can boast a low student to instructor ratio at the undergraduate level. The support is great. You can count on the instructors to check in periodically with you to monitor your academic progress. Every quarter, a student newsletter is published to keep everyone in-the-know. Lesa Pascali, the associate dean of student services, would call or email to see how things are going. Once classes have started like clockwork Monika Bonaldo would email to see if there were any questions on the classes. My exams are proctored by Patrick Clark when I come on campus. The staff and faculty will try their best to accommodate the student's situation. I firmly believe that earning a degree at Henley-Putnam is going to open many doors professionally. The knowledge gained in class is tangible to real world scenarios. Many of the concepts are geared towards the application of systematic analysis. Our eclassrooms are powered by Moodle. It takes a little bit to get used to navigating within its framework, but it is intuitive. I like the news and student forums. The forums are an effective way to communicate between classmates and instructors. The online library resources are excellent - CAIO and LIRN are great databases for research. I enjoy being a student and I enjoy the exchange of ideas!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Henley-Putnam University in any way.