Henley-Putnam University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies (18)
Intelligence Management (13)
Management of Personal Protection (3)

Masters Programs:
Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies (2)
Management of Personal Protection (1)
Intelligence Management (2)


To link to this page:

Jasonpic (In Progress) on June 20, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DSS As a career federal employee and former U.S. Army Officer I am VERY impressed with the faculty AND support staff. I am pursuing the Doctorate of Strategic Security. I recommend this course to anyone interested in pursuing a Doctorate in the intel or national security field. I am heading into my second set of coursework and cannot explain the value of my lass DSS coursework to my current duties.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Chrisrenkema (In Progress) on April 20, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I would be remiss As a current student at Henley-Putnam, Masters Management of Personal Protection, I have had nothing but a great experience. I received my Bachelors from the University of Phoenix which prides themselves on online education. Henley-Putnam has clearly used some of the growing experiences from UofP and other online institutions to perfect the learning experience. However, as I read the reviews already depicting the faculty, it has been remiss in not mentioning the administrative staff. With only three (3) classes to go and my scholarship running out, the administrative staff have been working diligently in assisting me with finding alternative means of completing my Masters. The administrative staff is phenomenal and should receive equal accolades as the faculty. I look forward to completing my Masters but do not look forward to parting ways at graduation with such a staff and faculty nothing short of phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Phil.rolen (In Progress) on February 20, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Doctorate in Strategic Security I was very hesitant to enroll initially because the school only has national accreditation through DETC. First off let me say that while they are working on regional accreditation and should have it soon, 95% of all HPU DSS students are military or federal employees. DETC accreditation is 100% accepted by the government for career advancement. The next thing to bear in mind is that you are going to quickly lose interest in your accreditation worries all together when you join a classes completely full of individuals with amazing resumes and decades of operational experience in the Strategic Security field. Your professors are either active or retired intelligence and counterterrorism officers and very engaged and responsive in the process. My first set of instructors included a PhD from Stanford and the Agent in Charge of Counterintelligence at NASA Langley Research. The next two have been equally impressive. Look across the internet at online schools and the loads of complaints written in reviews about the school staff. I challenge you to find a poor review about HPU anywhere. This school staff is really great. I really hope they get regional accreditation because I would like to teach college some day. For now however, I work for the federal government and this incredible school is equipping me with the tools needed to secure my future and continue effectively serving my nation as a subject matter expert on a vital issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Declan (In Progress) on October 1, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Top-Notch, Target-Centric School I am a relatively new student at Henley-Putnam University (HPU). Having said that, many who read this review may stop there and skip my review of the school. However, if you are someone who - like me - is looking for a school to answer those deep desires to make a difference, then you will read this review. I entered HPU after an exhaustive search for a school that focused on exactly what I wanted to learn. My previous experience with brick-and-mortar schools have yielded a lot of school loans with very little knowledge, other than elementary general education skills. I think this is the case with a lot of students. So, why did I choose Henley-Putnam University? 1. No bulls**t: Prior to entering HPU I had a ton of preconceived notions and some very unrealistic goals. I thought of myself as a fairly learned fellow about the intelligence community, but then quickly realized I didn't know jack! HPU's enrollment coordinators cut through all the BS and got down to brass tacks, which allowed me to focus on my future goals with realistic expectations. I am a civilian. I have zero experience in the military and no experience in law enforcement. They helped me realize being a civilian is not a handicap, which a lot of other schools made it seem. 2. Cost: Pound for pound, the average undergraduate student will get more bang for their buck at HPU than at any other school. If you are a civilian like me, and you cannot take advantage of G.I. loans, or other loan programs, the money you spend out of pocket is well worth it. It is worth every penny. If you are in need of grants or scholarships, they will help you find money, but they don't promise you anything. Grants and scholarships are hard to find, but HPU will walk you through it, and their payment plans are very flexible. 3. Support: Since I enrolled, HPU staff from every department have checked in with me on a weekly basis to make sure I am good to go. When I have a question, they answer it within hours of sending an email. When I need them on the phone, they are there. I've even spoke directly with one of the founding members on the weekend! I can guarantee you that does not happen at any State University... 3. Resources: HPU's website, and their educational gateway (Moodle) is the best I've ever used. Their list of resources are vast and it is all part of your tuition. 4. Teachers: My past experiences with teachers usually included grad students, or the guy you sat next to in your last class who is now teaching you! At Henley-Putnam University, your instructors are the real thing! All of my teachers so far are current members of the intelligence community. They are in the fight right now. 5. Curriculum: Henley-Putnam University is very much like a law school. If you want to learn law, you go to a law school. If you want to learn intelligence management (like me), or counter terrorism, you go to a school that teaches it. The curriculum at HPU is top notch! The books are very target-centric - very niche. They are not books you see on the shelves at your local book store. And if you think Internet classes are easy, think again! HPU operates on a very strict honor platform. Most exams are proctored exams. If your book is 500 pages, you will read 500 pages of that book. If you like to write, then you're in luck, because you will write a lot. My writing has improved ten fold over the past 6 months. 6. Tradition: Like any school, HPU has traditions and school spirit (Go Knights!) We are very involved in community and school spirit. My list can go on and on. Before you consider another school, give HPU a call. I know how scary a distance learning school can seem. HPU is not for everyone. Accreditation is a huge concern for HPU. Although HPU has one of the highest rankings as a distance learning school, they are working on regional accreditation, and I believe that before I graduate, they will be regional accredited. As for worrying if you'll be taken seriously by the intelligence community, call and ask them. I did. Find out for yourself. Best call I ever made.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

E_pena (Graduate) on February 21, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School..Unique Programs I had a phenomenal experience at Henley-Putnam. From Staff to Faculty nothing but 100% support. Definitely a rigourous program if you shoot for the stars and take a full load or more. The professors have extensive knowledge and currently work in their fields in addition to lending their expertise to the university and its students. I have read reviews from other sites with nay-sayers doubting the validity of HPu and their accreditation. the university is DETC accredited and currently undergoing the WASC process. I graduated from Henley-Putnam with my Bachelors in TCT and was accepted to the graduate program (MSCJA-Homeland Security)at Chaminade University of Honolulu (Spring 2013). So I believe that speaks volumes.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Toddv63 (Graduate) on April 2, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent School and Professional Staff I have just completed the Master’s Degree program in Terrorism and Counterterrorism. In short I highly recommend this program and this school. You will find them incredibly helpful, supportive, professional and genuinely focused on your success. Over the course of the last two years I have worked full time and managed a full class load. No one will find such an endeavor easy or without the need to compromise between work, home life, family and school. The trick I found was to just focus on the class in front of you and don't dwell on the scale of the mountain you are climbing. I found the instructors and the administrative and support staff to be invaluable and incredibly patient and tolerant partners throughout the program. They were very fast, sometimes within hours, in responding to questions as well as grading papers and work. The online interface is intuitive and very user friendly. Know up front, you will work for your grades, there are no short cuts and there are no easy-breezy classes in store for you in the master’s program. There is however a cadre of empathetic experts, many of whom work in the fields they teach and fully understand the time stressors you will face. They will grant you considerable latitude on timelines but not on quality or quantity – you will have to meet the requirements of the course but you will find an ally in every instructor. The final thesis will be a bear and you will want to anticipate that and try and identify a topic early so that you can write your papers through the classes accordingly, in other words start building the framework of your thesis through your papers as you progress so it’s far less stressful and less work at the end.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Joelujan33 (Graduate) on September 10, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Top Notch Degree Program Completing my degree with HPU was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The instructors in the TCT program were prompt with forum responses, grading of assignments, and any questions regarding the syllabus. I would recommend and have recommended this program to anyone interested in intelligence, homeland security, or counterterrorism since it provides insight into all three. HPU prides itself on being a smaller university with specific programs which is one of the best things about attending HPU. I was accepted into several Masters Programs from regionally accredited universities with no problems. I am very proud to be a graduate of HPU.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 3, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL Outstanding school, with outstanding faculty. I'm about half way through with my Master's Degree and I would not think about going anywhere else. The only thing I have to ding them on is the cost, but I still feel it is worth it. I would recommend them to anyone considering a field in intelligence or homeland security.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Witt1610 (In Progress) on August 31, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Solid Program and Instructors I'm an intelligence community professional with more than 30 years experience. I'm in this course to organize knowledge I've accumulated over the years. My experience has been uniformly positive. The instructors are well experienced in their disciplines, current in their information, and always willing to engage the individual student to any degree necessary. Assignments are reasonably challenging and entirely manageable. Grading has provided plenty of useful feedback. This institution is everything that the previous online 'big name' institution I attended was not.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 24, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
HPU - Terrorism Studies Master's Program I am in my second quarter at HPU, and I am very happy with everything. I have learned a great deal already, and the instructors are all very helpful and accomodating to people with crazy schedules. The website is easy to navigate and use, and so far I have just really enjoyed my classes.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 24, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An excellent program Henley-Putnam University is a great online school! After seeing some other schools' online programs, I fully appreciate the well thought out layout of the HP website and program. The website is easy to navigate, the courses are laid out in a sensible manner, and the instructors are knowledgable, approachable, and easy to contact. Unlike other online degrees that take off points for submitting assignments late, HP is understanding of working students, and is very flexible on turning in work. I was shocked when my wife's instructors would give her no leeway in due dates (especially since she's military and has some pretty long hours), but at HP, they work very hard at helping working professionals meet both their work and school responsibilities. The instructors cover many different view points, know their courses, and have experience in what they teach. They are also very willing to listen, and willing to change scores, provided you can argue your case well enough to justify it. A nice change of pace from instructors who refuse to recognize any view or answer other than their own. The Staff is responsive and helpful, for issues regarding grades, tuition, tech support, or any other issues. The only issue I have ever had is the mandatory purchase of a laptop included in the program, I feel this should be optional, as most master's students already own a computer.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Sullivanate (In Progress) on January 23, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
great program This university is top notch. Some of the best professors I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Navydaniel2 (In Progress) on December 21, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The best distance learning experience...period. I've just completed my 4th course in the MS, Intel Management program and couldn't be more pleased. I'm active duty military and have attended both traditional universities and online schools. My enrollment at Henley-Putnam University has been an outstanding experience; better than any of the other online schools I have attended. For the first time since beginning distance education, I'm receiving REAL feedback on my assignments--and plenty of it--from experienced instructors who know what they're talking about. I have literally turned in 3-page assignments and received 2 whole pages of valuable feedback. I don't know about too many other online programs, but in the ones I attended before, I would receive feedback that said only, "Good paper." Thanks, but that doesn't teach me anything. Don't believe the nay-sayers' hype. HPU is worth every penny. _Dan
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Mary.weber (In Progress) on December 12, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MWeber My experiences at H-P U have been nothing but positive. The quality of instruction, the diversity of the instructor's backgrounds and the quality/breadth of the reading material make for a positive and rewarding educational experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Christopher.price (In Progress) on October 3, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Henley-Putnam great school, great instructors, best customer care and service of any school i have attended.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Blancolblanco (In Progress) on September 27, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Real World Applications I've found Henley- Putnam to be an efficient, effective learning environment. Where a flexible staff nurtures and fosters creative and critical thinking from its students. Concepts and frameworks that are applicable in real world environments. What you learn you can use on the job!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Steve_paulino (In Progress) on September 22, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Real World Learning Having worked in the intelligence field for about 12 years now, I have found Henley Putnam to offer the greatest number and most applicable courses suited for real world experience and application. The instructors have not only revealed knowledge in the material, but also a caring for student comprehension and success. And I just can't say enough about how well the support staff at Henley Putnam look after the students. I for one couldn't be any more pleased.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Three_days_complete (In Progress) on September 9, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
As close to perfect... This college has been a life saver for me! I am in the military and have moved around an average of once every 4-6 months since I've been in. Since I started at Henley-Putnam University, I have been able to work at a pace that better suits me and from remote locations where I normally wouldn't have the ability to access a decent education. I was skeptical when I began looking for online schools because most of them seem like the educational version of the "get rich quick" scheme. I started at HPU and found out that their courses are just as hard as any college course and it takes just as long to finish a degree as if you were going to a traditional classroom college. The professors at HPU have treated me very well and understand the nature of my work (as well as others), because of this they are willing to work with me when necessary. They are interested in my degree completion, not in laughing at me when I don't get a paper turned in on time. The faculty at HPU are unparalleled. All my papers and administrative needs have arrived overnight or two day air. I haven't had an unanswered question and every time I call, the faculty are so nice that I feel like I'm talking to friends and not to people on the other side of the country that I've never met. Ok, enough of the mushy stuff. FYI, as a small example of their "service before self" mentality: A book that I bought from their website was the correct book but the incorrect version, the replacement is in the mail at no extra charge. Also, the computer that is sent to the student at some point into their classes was excellent and comes with a 3 year tech support warrenty which is worth its weight in gold. I understand that I am paying for it with the cost of tuition but I am just happy that I'm not given the minimum. All together, I think it that enrolling at Henley-Putnam University was one of the best decisions of my life and as James Cagney would say, "thats for the record".
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Bmansur (In Progress) on September 7, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Outstanding Experience I chose Henley-Putnam because all courses are applicable to my chosen area of study. Students don't waste time or money taking courses which are unrelated and irrelevant. If you put the time in and dedicate yourself to this field, you will find HP to be a very rewarding experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Blakefore (In Progress) on September 2, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Military Friendly I wanted to diversify my educational portfolio and earn a graduate degree in something other than business, management, or my undergraduate area of study. This is a tough challenge under normal circumstances -- but especially tough for a military member who has high operational tempo committments. Henley Putnam has been very understanding and encourageing. I would highly recommend the "Military Friendly" programs offered at Henley Putnam.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Hh60medic (In Progress) on August 29, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Intelligence Management I Have been out of the University scene for sometime so it is very refreshing that I can actually do this. My experience to date has been nothing short of spectacular. I look forward to actually using my new knowledge in the Intelligence field. I should have done this years ago, thats my only regret at Henley-Putnam. To borrow a great quote from the Air National Guard, "Fuel your Future" because thats what we are doing here.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Lancemjohnston (In Progress) on August 9, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Henley-Putnam U. I tried a traditional school for my bachelor's degree but it was seriously lacking. The few courses that Henley-Putnam offers are right in line with my career goals. The instructors are been-there-done-that folks who haven't spend their entire lives on a campus somewhere, but have been out there putting in on the line for their country. They are now in a position to share the wealth and I consider myself fortunate to be there.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Mpress54 (In Progress) on August 1, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Henley-Putnam University I am currently in the process of acquiring my M.S. degree in Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies. With 8 courses left to go, I have to say that I am still excited about the course-work. The instructors thus far have been outstanding, and the customer service at HP has been exceptional. This is not your ordinary run-of-the-mill online university, with a mundane and common curriculum. The areas covered are something you will not encounter anywhere else. Awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Jetweed (In Progress) on June 24, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Review of Henley-Putnam University I thoroughly enjoy attending Henley-Putnam University. The staff is military friendly, understanding, and their knowledge is world class. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable and help you to arrive at the answers through self discovery and their guidance. I am very pleased to attend this school and highly recommend it for prospective students.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Jonathan.baker (In Progress) on June 24, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Instructor's Experiences Unparalleled I have spent the past 8 years in the military attending different schools, courses, and training. Every class and experience has been beneficial. However, I have not gained knowledge as in depth and as quickly as I have attending Henley-Putnam. The instuctors are not quoting out of a text book, in many cases they wrote the book. The high level of knowledge and experience the instructors demonstrate is unsurpassed. The school is brought full circle by its amazing student services staff and easy to navigate online classrooms. My only regret is that I didn't find Henley-Putnam University sooner.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 22, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Absolutely Stellar Instruction This institution consistently goes to great lengths to ensure its students have the opportunity to relate real life information to their own career fields. I have been attending this school for almost a year now, and the staff is amazing .They go to great lengths to ensure their students are getting relevant instruction that will with out a doubt benefit the careers of its students. A truly rare opportunity to learn from tested professionals.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Jswiger (In Progress) on June 17, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Amazed at the talented staff Henley-Putnam University staffs a very impressive faculty and suburb customer service. The instructors come from a vast variety of backgrounds all relating to the programs offered. They take a personal interest in your education, at the same time enjoying what they do. I have been attending only for six months, but it seems only for a month. Most classes are fun and keep you wanting more. I would recommend Henley-Putnam to anyone looking into Intelligence Management.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Jah7714837 (In Progress) on June 13, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Positive Review of Henley-Putnum The school has been a positive experience and I'm sure will continue to be positive for me and those who attend in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Rclausen (In Progress) on June 12, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Value of degree program to my law practice The return on my investment in the education I’m receiving at Henley-Putnam is extraordinary. I am a corporate lawyer with a successful practice and the coursework that I’m receiving is very interesting and is helping me to further my personal and professional goals. For example, I am interested in the ethics of the decision making process when leaders are faced with challenges and adverse events affecting their employees, constituents, or bottom line. Every day decision makers must foresee and prevent risks as well as manage comprising factors that confront their businesses or jurisdictions. In times of critical incident management, how do you balance the equities? In tough times, you have to make tough decisions. In the point of crisis, you need to know how to think critically through the issues to understand the risks and consequences of complex events - based on case history and past events, which provides a basis for sound decision making. After I complete my intelligence degree, coupled with my J.D., I will have the qualification to provide guidance and counsel about a range of complex ethical issues in the strategic security field. There are no clear-cut lines in this industry to adjudicate this level and type of decision making process; therefore, my degree in Intelligence Management from Henley-Putnam is helping me to build a knowledgebase in counterterrorism and intelligence so I can apply these skills in my law practice and professional consulting. My experience coupled with my education will impart to me a unique value to both corporations and governments. The bottom line is that the coursework itself is a great return on my investment; I love it here and I'm having fun. The unique one-on-one interaction and connection that I have with instructors is unbeatable. I have total access to all of the teachers and they are always there for me when I have questions or need support in my studies. For example, I spent more than 20 hours on the phone (over six phone calls) with one of my instructors who helped me develop and build out a scenario I used in one of my intelligence classes on "recruitment". I was also able to speak with that person about their lengthy career in the CIA, which provided context and real world answers to my questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Copes77 (In Progress) on June 10, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Learning The Trade For stepping into a whole-new world of learning at a higher level of education, my experience from taking several courses from this institution have been truly exceptional. My previous BA degree consisted of a concentration in Justice Studies. In order to go from Justice Studies into Intelligence Management required dedication on my behalf and mentoring and support from Henley Putnam University (HPU). Bottom line, this institution has been there for me every step of the way.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Mkklinge (In Progress) on June 4, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Henley-Putnam University In my opinion, Henley-Putnam is an outstanding institution. I feel that I am learning from men and women that are experts in their field and who can support their expertise with real world experience. I also deeply appreciate the level of support that I receive from the university's non-teaching staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Sullivanate (In Progress) on June 4, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good Choice I have had an excellent experience at Henley-Putnam University. The staff at the University consistenly impress me with their accomodation and support. My professors are truly giants in their fields, and I'm grateful to have the opportunity to study under them. First-rate learning experience!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Steven.chubbuck (In Progress) on June 4, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Flexible learning you can get no where else. Henley-Putnam has provided me an enviroment that not only helps me above and beyond with my crazy work schedule, but provides me with education that helps me on a daily basis in my commercial intelligence carreer.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 16, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Outstanding! The Master of Intelligence Management program at Henley Putnam is exceptional. As an intelligence analyst, the degree directly compliments my official training program and enhanced my professional skills. Daily I use the analytical skills gained through Henley Putnam in a real-world threat environment and cannot speak highly enough of the dedication and support of the instructors and staff. I'd recommend the Henley Putnam to anybody in law enforcement, military, or civil defense agencies.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Bryan.flo (In Progress) on February 21, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Keeping the beacon of vigilance bright From the top-down, faculty and staff at Henley-Putnam University fully invest their energy and resources in helping every student succeed. The instructors are top shelf and are still active in their field of profession. HPU instructors bring forth years of experience and expertise of their field to the classroom. The issues covered in the classroom are relevant and pertinent. Each professor's purpose is to impart knowledge as well as equip a new generation with the tools necessary for their craft. In every class, I am impressed by the instructor's ability to be accessible and maintain an open door policy. The availability of professors to hold discussions is paramount to a student's success and educational process. We may communicate our thoughts through the student and news forums, email, chat room, and in some cases teleconference. Instructors usually would respond within 24 hours but in most cases sooner. In terms of class size, the virtual classroom is very intimate, about 3-4 people (including the instructor). This great student to instructor ratio allows for a focused and highly customized learning environment. Not many campuses (online or conventional) can boast a low student to instructor ratio at the undergraduate level. The support is great. You can count on the instructors to check in periodically with you to monitor your academic progress. Every quarter, a student newsletter is published to keep everyone in-the-know. Lesa Pascali, the associate dean of student services, would call or email to see how things are going. Once classes have started like clockwork Monika Bonaldo would email to see if there were any questions on the classes. My exams are proctored by Patrick Clark when I come on campus. The staff and faculty will try their best to accommodate the student's situation. I firmly believe that earning a degree at Henley-Putnam is going to open many doors professionally. The knowledge gained in class is tangible to real world scenarios. Many of the concepts are geared towards the application of systematic analysis. Our eclassrooms are powered by Moodle. It takes a little bit to get used to navigating within its framework, but it is intuitive. I like the news and student forums. The forums are an effective way to communicate between classmates and instructors. The online library resources are excellent - CAIO and LIRN are great databases for research. I enjoy being a student and I enjoy the exchange of ideas!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Phildownrange (In Progress) on February 17, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Truly Excellent After taking courses at several colleges and universities, I can say with no reservation that HPU is by far the best. They are truly dedicated to providing an absolutely top-notch experience for us, their students. I strongly encourage anyone interested in security or intelligence to check them out.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Groundsmasters (In Progress) on February 13, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Hist 390 I have finally found my home at Henley-Putnam. My first semester experience was outstanding. I would recommend this university to anyone interested in a top notch security education. Its a great change to attend a university that actually cares about their students. Both of my instructors were obviously experts in their field, and the staff at Henley-Putnam will go to any length to insure any issues are quickly resolved. If the idea of responding to an incident after the fact, (as most homeland security programs teach) does not appeal to you, and you are interested in being proactive and stopping the incident before it can occur, then Henley-Putnam is for you. I can not think of any negative aspects of attending Henley-Putnam. I am proud to be part of the Henley-Putnam family. Sincerely, Eric R. Slavenas
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 8, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Review of Henley-Putnam University As a retired U.S. Army Special Forces Warrant Officer and graduate student who has completed almost half of my program to date, I can honestly say that enrolling at Henley-Putnam University (H-P) was one of the best decisions that I have ever made. At H-P "the world revolves around me, and they address all of my concerns immediately." The professors are exceptional and bring a breadth and depth of "real world" experiences to their classes that is second to none; they don't just talk about it, they have been there and done it. Their online format is state of the art, user friendly, and makes learning interesting and fun. I can't say enough about the H-P staff, they are very professional, proactive, competent and efficient, caring, and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that my education stays right on track. H-P is not trying to be "all things to all people;" rather, they provide a very focused curriculum of intelligence, counterterrorism, or protection studies designed for the person who knows exactly what they want. I highly recommend H-P to anyone who is not willing to settle for second best when it comes to their education. - RAS
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Eanormandy (In Progress) on February 8, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
First Class Instruction Where else can you get a top-flight education in these disciplines, offered by world-class instructors? Henley-Putnam Instructors are subject matter experts, not just academically, but based on years of real world operational experience in their respective fields. The instructional staff's understanding of global issues and how they pertain to national security concerns is outstanding. Yet, the most impressive aspect of this school is not its esteemed faculty; Henley-Putnam has created a challenging curriculum and successfully provided it to working professionals already in these fields, to better them as students, employees and citizens.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Henley-Putnam University