Independence University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Certificate Programs:
Nursing (2)

Associate Programs:
Respiratory Therapy (28)


To link to this page:

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 31, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Happy!!!! Don't regret attending! I have recommended this school to my sister & best friend! They're both attending & have had a great experience just like me! If you want to succeed, you will...if you want to find excuses for why you didn't succeed, you will! This school gave me every reason to succeed and I did!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 25, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Im starting to believe the complaints I have been attending this college for 7 months and I am running into problems with my clinical site which I was suppose to start 3 months ago. My adviser has been contacting the Alliance Dept to check on the site 3 months later after complaining each week and I still have no clinical site. And will be put out of the program July 25. I have contacted my adviser Kris Carlson and she was good at replying promptly now she have not replied in almost 2 weeks after I stressed my disappointment. I put a reply in before expressing how great the school was but now, I am seeing the true side of the being disorganized and act like they really dont care.Disappointed in IU, I will keep you posted
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 3, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No problems with the school.... Graduated with my Assoc in Applied Science. Found a job within a month. Make more money working 3 days a week than I ever did working 5-6 days a week. Not sure what other people are talking about. If you thought this was gonna be like High School and the teachers were going to hold your hands and help you graduate... it aint that Jack! Remember that public schools get public funding based on their grad rate. This is college and all ANY college cares about is money. I started out at a brick and mortar college to get my prereqs out of the way and it was no different. Kids coming up to the professors and saying "I didn't get my paper done in time" and the profs were always like "So?" Grow up... if you are in college... you aint a kid anymore. Act like it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 3, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Okay experience so far I am currently a student at IU with 3 months left until "graduation." I am on the honor roll but also have a husband, son, mortgage, and a full-time job. It has been very convenient for me and my needs as an adult. You HAVE to make your own time to study. It's not pre-school, YOU have to do your part to get this degree. It will not just be given to you. I have had a good experience with the material. HOWEVER, I have been assigned 3 different advisors since I started. When I was looking for a clinical site, the advisor asked me for 5 hospitals that I would like to do my clinicals at. She said that all of them denied me and the closest site was 2 HOURS AWAY! A couple weeks ago I called the hospital closest to me and the RT Director informed me that NO ONE contacted me from Independence. He would of gladly let me in, but could not now because he took on another school. I am spending hundreds of dollars a month in gas, car repairs, and extra baby sitters. Pulling a 60 hour clinical course in four weeks with 4 hours driving a day is the most ridiculous thing I've ever done. It's a hospital in the middle of NOWHERE with little technology. I'm terrified that when I graduate and work at a large hospital 5 minutes away from my house, that I won't really know anything. It's ridiculous.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 10, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
So far so good I have been attending IU RT program since November 2013 and I have not had any problems at all. My adviser Virginia stayed with me the entire time, I gave her hospitals in my area and I had a clinical spot secured that same day. The professors care and enjoy when we ask them questions. When I email my professor, I only have to wait a day for a reply back. This college have been such a bless since I am military spouse and it is difficult to complete a program before it is time to relocate. If there were problems before, they must have fixed the problem. I love this school and I will encourage others to attend because it is a great school. So stop listening to these debbie downers and come join IU's community so you can seek the wonderful opportunity that they offer.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 6, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
So Far So Good I read many of the reviews on this site and also another site, but I wanted to investigate for myself before signing up. My advisor, Danielle, was very personable, patient, and knowledgeable. She asked me a lot of questions about myself. She wanted to make sure that I was a good fit for the program. She also thoroughly explained the program to me. I did not feel lost and I asked questions when I did not understand. She was patient and went over anything that I did not understand as well as the financial Aid Advisor, Heather. I was given her work cell phone and email to keep in touch with her. I did my part and turned everything into her in a timely fashion and she has gone the extra mile to help me. The next day she had a clinical site scheduled for me, so I think this is an old myth that they do not help you find a clinical site. So far, I'm impressed. I still have a month before school starts and I already have a clinical site. I'm sure that when the program first started there where some kinks that needed to be fixed. It seems that they work hard for the student, if the student is motivated. If your a working adult or single mom (like me) then I would definitely recommend this school. So far, so good. Give them a chance to fix whatever concerns you may have. Please forgive my grammar, I'm just excited to tell people about the good experience that I have had so far:-)
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Garrymm (In Progress) on October 18, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Fabulous! I have to agree with the reviewers who state the school lets you know your expectations up front. I would encourage everyone entering an Online program to READ the information provided including upfront and future costs. NOTHING is for FREE and it will be HARD work! Anything worthwhile is hard work. I put in between 12 - 15 hours per week after working my full-time job. I know I am responsible for MY work and for getting it done on time. I LOVE how this university lays out the courses and love that I know, from day one of each course what the next 4 weeks will entail. I plan ahead, then dive in. DON'T listen to complaints from individuals stating it's IUs fault the student could not find a hospital for their clinical rotations, it is the student's responsibility! I love IU and the opportunity they have provided to me to continue on with my education. A traditional school would absolutely not work for me. Thank you IU and I can't wait to move on towards my Master's degree!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 5, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School- NOtice the complaints are from people who did not graduate!! I think everyone should keep in mind that most of the people on here writing negative post either got kicked out due to bad grades or not turning assignments in on time. I have completed my CRT, and RRT through them and had a very positive experience. They are up front and tell you that you have to secure your own clinical site. When will people realize that this is a college not a pre-school. Take responsibility, do the research, know what is expected of you up front before you sign a contract or start a class. I am in my third program with them working on my MBA and love the school!! I have one class to go!! So again if you are reading these reviews keep in mind the trend. The ones who have made good grades and graduated have positive comments, the ones that are kicked out due to bad grades and not turning in assignments have bad comments. Its just like any other college you have to apply yourself and its hard but it can be done.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 27, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Avoid at all costs Please take it from someone who already had 3 Bachelors and a Masters going into the Respiratory Program- Do Not Attend Independence University! Support is horrible, they are constantly changing policies and procedures, and making money will always come before you. I completed this program only in an effort to add knowledge to my current job, but it was a nightmare and a waste of money. I am now arguing with them over a bill which has surfaced after more than two years post graduation. Anyone who thinks this is a good program has never experienced a real online or brick-and-mortar school. Go elsewhere!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 9, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Convenient I like that the program is mostly online. It makes working easier, since I can't afford to quit my job to go to college. The laptop isn't great, but it gets the job done.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Slkhmk76 (In Progress) on May 16, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Respiratory Program This school has a great respiratory program however when I discovered I wasn't cut out for respiratory and switched to the new medical specialties program it completely failed me. The classes were not set up to be user friendly, I complained several times and my complaints fell on deaf ears. I am left with no degree and a huge bill due to the fact that I was spending so much time getting things set up on my own that I would fail the class itself because of lack of time (it was a 4 week program, 2 of which were spent getting homework set up so I could use the program), therefore I would have to retake the class and pay for it again. Oh and I can't get my transcript until my balance is paid, therefore 3.5 years of work is worthless in the work field.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 12, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
they dont offer disability services. I had switched schools to IU submitted my paper work did my own work as far as having a site for testing and clinical. Because I was already set up with a local university before switching I was told it would be faster to go through iu over my older university. I have reading disabilitys and need help reading tests or extra time to read them. From day one I asked for them. There response was positive and said yes we can accommate you. After months of being enrolled I stated to my instructors I had a disability I kept getting the run around and failing classes I said I need my extra time or something. They kept changing contacts for me in the end they drop me from school and I was not to come back they sent me a bill for 7k for repeated classes some which I never took. I sent a letter as they said to fill out why I dropped out I stated I need got my accomedation which I requested and I sent a doctors slip stating I had disabilitys they said its to old and used every reason they could to not let me in school or give me what I needed by law. In the end I chananged there billing with the BBB which ended up being a joke IU stated we proved what we said we would. And the student never asked for accomedations. Or had a doctor send them. The bill stands as is and in accoring interest and late fees pay it or we will report it to collections. I was blown away the BBB has no legal power to make them do anything. I am looking for a lawyer now to sue IU. For all charges as they where in violation of the ADA. I am sure if you are a perfect smart straight forward rich person iu would work for you but if not I would avoid them some people use them but rarly do they finish with iu there transfer credits don't transfer to other colleges I have found either. I am currently trying to find a signed document to bring to my lawyer but a esigning is not legal enough because anyone including the school can fill in your signing. Iu uses esigning to fill out your forms which is legal as long as no one challenages it which I am I. A did recive documents I didn't like and said no not to sign and got them back in an email signed. Be very careful of there esigning ask them to mail you the forms via usps and have it read over by someone you know that's good with legal matters. This university is really a made up one it uses a diffrent name steven hagers which ofers everything the same and the kicker is your fasfa never goes to iu it goes to SHU. Avoid the university they barly meet what it takes to operate legaly very shady place. Believe the warnings there are other places.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 2, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
overall great program I don't understand why I keep seeing the complaint that you have to find your own clinical site. They tell you that up front and it is printed on your enrollment form which you are required to sign. Any person who doesn't thoroughly read a document prior to signing it has no right to complain. Upon completing this program, I got a 3.75/hr raise. I wad very satisfied with the program. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone dedicated to furthering their education online.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Hunnykins2 (Graduate) on March 29, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Disappointed at the end The books are e-books and you can't download them. So even though you pay for them they aren't yours. They are little help with finding sites or providing evaluators for your area. Often, it is left up to you to find people to evaluate you or get a site for clinicals. While the courses were decent, you don't even have to pass the final. Take it twice and if you still don't pass you can still graduate. They also manage, as others have mentioend, to find money you suddenly owe them after you graduate. If you look at the student discussion page (accesible only after you enroll), you will find tons of complaints and comments regarding not being assisted, left to fend for yourself , etc. They know some people work and can't attend a physical school so they wring every penny they can and then add more or you can't get your transcripts.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 5, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Do not go to IU RES Therapy This "University" is a joke just another way for them to get your GI Bill or Pell Grant Money. I was in the program for two years, went through many advisors who were a joke, and so unorganized. They did not help me at all, they actually created more problems! The college is so disorganized, all of the syllabus' are old and do not pertain to the class or material you need. You have no idea what to study for on your exams. You basically will not have a life for the whole time you are enrolled. Be prepared for that. Actually, I bet CoArc will pull their accrediation soon...the people who sold you on the college were just pushing for the enrollment numbers that's it. Now that CoArc has seen a HUGE dropout rate and failrate they are on the verge for looking into the matter. That's why the school went public accepting Pell Grant Money. That is a for sure paycheck for them. They don't care about if you pass or not it's all about the money. Don't you get it. They can't get enough enrollment as a private college...sooo anywho... Do not waste your time there. If you decide to leave or transfer later in life to another college...your credits won't transfer. These classes are hard. I got all A's but got out of the college because they were really pushing me to go full-time. If you fail your classes you can bank on it that you will also lose your Pell Grant for life, or student loans. You will not be able to use them for another school. Again, you are waaaay better going to TECH college or a community college. You will get better education, and you avoid a longtime of headaches and nightmare from this wannabe University. Oh, and good luck finding a clinical site. No hospital in my area will accept IU students, they are blackballed from the hospitals because they know how awful this school is. You are also dependent on how they train you if you even get trained. There is no set clinical teacher you basically just shadow you learn only what they want to show you. Don't waste your time....move on!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 30, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Misunderstanding This program was originally attended for students that were already a CRT wanting to become an RRT. If you have little to no concept of respiratory, please go to an on sight school. YOU REALLY NEED HANDS ON.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 18, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
you get back what you put into it. I have read all reviews and I have to say I agree with alot of it. However my experience was different. They tell you upon enrollment that you have to find your own clinical site. Once I requested a list I worked on securing a spot asap. I had the same academic advisor the whole time. Of course its expensive! You pay for the experience of an online education. For the most part my questions were answered in 24 hrs. My clinical site was wonderful and my preceptors were all very patient and helpful.I have now graduated and have many wonderful job prospects.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
AVOID AT ALL COST! Independence University's faculty consists of some of the dumbest most incompetent professors I've ever met or even heard of. Most cannot even answer a simple question, while a few would not return my messages. Easily over 95% of the exams have errors and you will be counted wrong even if you get the question right. Some teachers will refuse to give you credit for these erroneous exam questions even if you direct them to the page from the textbook. Finding hospitals to do clinicals at is a pain in the butt, the school didn't help me one bit. I could continue but it isn't worth my time to even think about this college's deficiencies. Just do yourself a favor and AVOID I.U. AT ALL COST!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Malishka217 (In Progress) on August 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
my opinion Im almost done with my A.S. Respiratory Therapy. It has been a bumpy road. If you find yourself a clinical site and stay on top of it like a hawk you will be fine. The school fails to provide their students with the hospitals that are excepting their students so stay on top of things. If your adviser is giving you crap like We advise our students to keep looking for a site while our "Alliance Department" continues to make calls....it's bullshit this department doesn't do anything. Do it yourself. Make sure all the forms are signed and submitted on time and you will be fine. Plus every time you fax over any kind of paperwork...make sure to call them and ask DID YOU RECEIVE it if they say yes write down the name and date and time of this confirmation. If you stay on top of things and not let the school just handle it you will be fine.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 19, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL!!!!!!! THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY I was in this school for a year and my first couple of months looked promising and then literally all the sudden, teachers were hard to get ahold of when you need them, the school was vertually impossiable to get anyone to call you back with any questions. I had atleast nine diffrent acidemic advisor while attending this school and everytime I would finally get ahold of them, they did not know how to answer ANY of my questions!! I can go on and on about what this school has done to me and how this school has ruined my life!! The tests are also questionable too, alot of the questions i got right were marked wrong, so you really have to be careful, they are SNEAKY! Its like they only intened to graduate so many students and the rest just play with and take thier money, Needless to say this school has taken very close to 20,000 from me and I have nothing to show for it!!! Its sad too because when they dropped me from the program they told me to sit out for 16 weeks and then reapply and write an essay and they will let me back in, so I DID just that and guess what they wont let me back in for the same reasons they dropped me!!!? So they mad me go through all that knowing that they had no intensions of letting me attend the school again!! Yes during this school I great! Always attending classes, turning everything in on time, made ddecent grades too, I did fail one class and retook it again the following month and that fail even though i took it again still calculated into my GPA. Needless to say that class was horriable and the material they gave never matched the course test (thats another long incident there too). MY advice to anyone attending this school is I hope you are one of there choosen ones that they dont use and take advantage of!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 19, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ASRT For profit education! Problems all around including following CoARC accreditation standards! The instructors are knowledgeable, kind,and professional. The rest of it is horrible! If you choose to go o this school know an education attorney and know CoArc’s accreditation standards before you sign anything! Books included in tuition were never received in a timely manner. Student advisement is a big key to success in an online education. I found them to be marginal and of little help with NO immediacy to students. They would even inform students that their 24-hour turn-around time limit on your request had not expired. Student advisors/employee turnover rate is high and I always got someone who is NEW at his or her job. I had an advisor that kept reenrolling me in the same course repeatedly without my consent and I have four “F”s on my transcript. Even after several requests to fix my transcript, I have not had any response from the school. All correspondence signed by the registrars stamp, which indicates to me that no one is really taking responsibility for decisions. They even have boards and committees that do not exist and will not give the names of the people who sit on them. The school is based in one of the most religious areas on the globe so be aware of any type of communication that most of the rest of the world does not find offensive THEY will! A large group of students, including myself was forced into an outside clinical group just so we could enroll in IU’s ASRT program. The group was a clinical group run by man who has numerous open warrants out for his arrest, and he did not hold the credentials or licensure to perform the tasks in the state he was practicing! When IU’s relationship went sour between the individual all IU could say was that he was not an IU employee and took zero responsibility for his defrauding and embezzlement of IUs ASRT students.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 18, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The Warnings Are True!!! The reviews that are listed here paint a very accurate picture of this university. I too was a few classes away from finishing and then they kicked me out and wanted me to re-enroll with SIGNIFICANTLY different requirements and financial obligations. I am now stuck with a $12,000 bill and nothing to show. They are completely disorganized and not student centered in any way, shape, or fashion. STAY AWAY!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not that bad This school has been around for 30 years and would not be here were it not accredited by CoARC. I know RTs who have graduated from this and gone on to good jobs. I am almost done. The school is not perfect. No online school is. Online classes are faster paced and require you to do alot on your own. Until I got their routine down I was pretty frustrated but then I got the hang of doing 2 courses every month. It's hard and all I do is work and school. But the degree to keep me competitive in the field will be well worth it. I am already in the RT field and needed my RRT. I can't go to a brick and mortar school and this was my answer. I am sorry that people have had problems getting their clinicals. Luckily I do mine in the hospital I work in. But many students were able to find someplace to do theirs at so it requires alot of effort on your part. This is hardly a scam school and is accepted by the NBRC to sit for our boards.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 5, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Avoid this school at all costs Absolutely no support! I had to secure my own clinical and testing sites and in some cases had to drive more than 80 miles to take a test. Once hospital administrators uncovered the persons and real name of the school,(IU) two hospitals backed out of their signed agreements with me sighting we do not want to deal with IU. This occurred at the last moment and just before I was to start final clinicals thus delaying my completion and with no help in providing any other clinical sites for me to attend. Angry administrators actually do their best to prevent you from completing on time and also delay you in obtaining your official AS or BS degree and diploma. I am now in the process of filing a class action lawsuit against California College and Independence University. Avoid Independence University at all costs. I will post this story around the internet so more than a few can read my story of true disgust with Independence University. I have also contacted the accrediting agencies on this matter.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 29, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Independence university Every school has it problems no school is perfect. Im enjoying all my classes and teachers. I only have 2 months to go. Good online school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

(In Progress) on March 26, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Horrible I have been a student since January 2011 in the Respiratory program..After going through many academic , not having a clinical site to go to. Finally they kicked me out one year later because the clinical site that i was going to which was one hour and fifteen mins away did not have anyone to train me, they said it was my fault how ridiculous is that. Then told me they would re-enroll me all of a sudden they can't and then they are telling me I owe them $3300. when they have already collected close to $16,000 in financial aid and grants. Anyone who is wanting to go to this school, take heed and run we are not just saying this because we are bitter it is the truth. I am over 40 and thought they were a very good institution because they sell themselves like that but take it from me someone who is going through it they are not. DO NOT SELL YOURSELF SHORT, GO TO A REAL COLLEGE!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 12, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
RIP OFF UNIVERSITY Ive been un-enrolled from Independence for 18 months now and just got a phone call from collections saying I owe $2000 for books and courses Ive never taken.I paid the amount of tuition they told me when I first enrolled,which was for as many classes as I could finish in 1 year(I finished 10).Now they say I owe them for some reason.Some kinda fine print jargain.Cant get a straight answer or get anyone on the phone.DO NOT ENROLL HERE.The entire program is shady.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Avoid!! Scam. Run away! Do not come here. They will take advantage of you, give you a moving target with your degree, kick you out and re-enroll you to get more money out of you. Run away!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Jadeheart911 (In Progress) on February 6, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
STAY AWAY! was told i had credit from back when they were california college Stayaway from Independence university! They will screw you over! AND they cannot do any clinical in many states..why?...not approved by dept of ED??? YOU have to set up your own clinical..yeah right..a hospital is going to let someone off the street who took a online course come in and thouch thier patients....NO FREAKIN WAY! You will not get clinical in NY..thats for sure!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Cleopatra0333 (In Progress) on January 6, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Do not waste your time or money In short I have been in the respiratory program for 3 years I have 6 classes left and the schol kicked me out they said I did not turn my paperwork on time BUT I did and they said to re enroll my tuition would be substantially higher. I wrote a letter to the board and they denied my acceptance back and overlooked the fact I did turn it in on time there people just did not do there part. So sad to say I wasted 3 years of mine and my families lives and owe over 15,000 and absolutely nothing to show for it ,because of course they were very fast to send me a letter of how much I owe the school. I feel so frustrated and taken advantage of. - A.G
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 26, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Accounting Office Needs to get their Act Together My Master's level courses and instructors have, overall, been very good. The online program is convenient for me and the quality of the courses has been good. I feel like I am learning and the program is valuable. The school administration, especially the Accounting Department is a mess. No one can tell me how much my courses are really costing me and I get different invoices listing different tuition amounts for the same class depending on when/who I ask. This is very frustrating because I have a student loan and need to make sure that everything matches up.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Ptrc_lndn (In Progress) on August 11, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Respiratory Therapy I have apply for their Respiratory Therapy program. I had apply for Financial Aid, Scholarships and Loans, being approved for all. The school is telling me now, they need to find an clinical site, before they can enroll me in there course of study. I sign up for there class enrollment for June 15th. Here it's August, still haven't located me an clinical site, yet. How long do it take. Any advice.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 29, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Resp Therapy I have found several sites for my clinical site and this school drags their damn feet!!!!!!! I can't understand how 5 different hospitals get the clinical contract then all of a sudden don't want me to do my clinical there. I have had the experience where they also NEVER SENT A DAMN THING where at the same time I have IU's rep telling me "oh they seemed very interested in a student"!!!! I have been waiting months on end and they never send an update or anything. If you want to be seriously disappointed then go ahead and WASTE YOUR TIME!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Independence University