Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Jones International University

  • Ranking: #62
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation:

2.9
26 Reviews
5 9 
4 3 
3 2 
2 5 
1 7 
0 0 

Jones International University Reviews:

Pretty Comparable to Most Online Universities

MABC - February 23, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pretty comparable to most online universities. I have earned two degree and a certificate from three different online universities. Teachers are very responsive, and often use text, phone, and Skype to interact with students. If I would happen to pursue another degree I would not hesitate to enroll again at JIU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

thirty grand gone!

MABC - July 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I might as well have voted for Obama than expect any respect for a Masters degree from this joke of a school. I have gotten drunk with many of the faculty in the final stages of old age and their golden parachute funded by my federal dollars. I turned in complete garbage for most of my assignments and still managed to graduate with honors.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Expensive, bad services and little learning required.

MABC - March 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is one of the most expensive universities in the US. My papers have never been corrected for gramatical errors and it shows in the forums that other students are not either. At the master's level, AT LEAST basic grammar should be required. The BIGGEST issues is the lack of support and service. My "academic advisor" is still working on his bachelor's degree yet is "advising" me on my master's. Financial aid is a joke!!!!!!! I have been burned so many times that I started checking weekly to make sure I didn't have to pay out of pocket again. Even after being told in writing on 7 separate occassions (over 7 weeks), it was messed up again. Several hours of phone calls finally got it fixed a few weeks later. My financial aid was received a month ago an I still haven't received my refund. I filed taxes 2 weeks after JIU had my money and I got my taxes sooner. SAVE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!! There are a few state schools that offer online degrees. It's a better reputation, better support and less money. I transferred to Colorado State University and couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great School- Military friendly!

MABC - February 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student with JIU in their MBA program. I truely enjoy this program and institution for many reasons. This is the only school that i know of that offers the same military pricing for Vets and spouses that they offer to actives. Not only that but they truely have all the support I nee to get through this program with confidence. I am excited to finish this degree and put it to use. You cant go wrong with JIU!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

You'll work for your degree

MABC - December 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

JIU isn't really used by students in California, so I heard about it via word of mouth. I am a police officer in a very busy city. A "brick and mortar" school isn't for us and we just don't have the time. After researching a multitude of online programs, I found that JIU was a legitimate institution that wasn't a paper-mill. I wanted to earn my degree and truly learn. I ended up investing a lot of time into each class and took about two at a time. My entire program was only 1 year! Overall, it was an excellent program. It was kind of expensive, but I feel like it was worth the price. Professors make themselves available to the student and I never felt like I was on my own. I was assigned personal academic and financial aid advisers to assist with my experience. That was a perk! Great school. You get what you pay for, so choose wisely when shopping.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

really happy

MABC - October 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was pleasantly surprised at how much interaction I had with my professors. When I ran into trouble areas (in my Capstone class), my professor went out of her way to contact me early and set me on the right path. I really enjoyed the experience of school again at 5o years of age!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

J.I.U. is tops in online universities!

MABC - October 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

One of the best online universities for continuing education. The staff, professors, and students excel all acceptations based on my own personal experience.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Jones International University in any way.