Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

  • Ranking: #68
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

Kaplan University Reviews:

Wonderful Opportunity for those WHO ARE NOT LAZY and do not expect everything handed to them on a silver platter

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - January 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They give you everything you need, to succeed. I have a wonderful experience. My academic advisor Laura is the best and I plan to keep her as my advisor while pursuing my Bachelor's. I graduate in April 2015 and I am excited. No degree is worthless, you have to make plans on marketing the skills you have learned. This is a wonderful opportunity for people like me. I went to the local community college to ask questions and they looked at me as if I had crawled from under a rock. I have had classmates, who do not turn in work, do not research for their discussion board discussions, and then blame Kaplan. Kaplan is not the place for students, that need their hands held. I have never, in two years, asked a question and did not get an answer for it. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL AND THE OPPORTUNITY I AM GETTING. The work is very challenging, and if you are lazy and think that you should be petted the whole time then you will not do well. I just got done writing a paper, and thought I would pull my hair out, but I did a good job on it. My professors have been great, a few were kind of blah, but the same can be said for some professors, at a brick and mortar school. My experience has been great, you get out of life, what you make out of it.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful

My Awful Experience at Kaplan

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - August 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received 1 hardback book then received terrible ebooks. Their ebooks are not worth the time to attempt to writ your papers. Time there as an AA student was great. BS defree had the WORST instructors ever. They just wanted to get though the seminar and feedback via email was awful! I then began receiving chemo therapy so I didn;t do well because I wouls go inti remission and then back to chemo. They dropped me because they had TOUGH restrictions on returning. My grant and all my loans PAID for my last course. Now, all of a sudden I owe them $983! WHAT? Can't even get a reason from Financial aide other than we will garnish your check! DON'T GO HERE INLESS YOU ARE WEALTHY!I'm going to contact the National Loan company and see what they can tell me.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great Education

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - February 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Associates and am 3/4 through my Bachelors. Despite all the haters out there, my experience has been outstanding. My Associates degree is in CJ as will my Bachelors and I have been attending classes’ non-stop for 3.5 years. My instructors have included judges, District Attorneys, Chiefs of Police, Sheriffs, lawyers, cops and various other professionals...almost to a person they have been outstanding, extremely knowledgeable in their fields, have a variety of real-world experiences and have shown a legitimate concern for my success. Every organization has its naysayers and Kaplan is no different, but I can say as a person who is employed in the law enforcement field and has been for over 16 years, their curriculum is very current, follows the latest trends and evolves constantly. My experience has been great and I would recommend this school (and have) to anybody. Their online program is solid and they have improved the tech side of it continuously.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan Professor

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - February 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was an online KU instructor for over 7 years. The ideals the school has are excellent. Its execution of those ideals is pitifully lacking. Revenue is the only thing that matters to KU, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Washington Post. The instructors do not matter at all; the course content does not matter very much; and the students matter even less than these two combined. The standards for admission were apparently non-existent when I taught at KU; some of my students could barely write a sentence, let alone a paragraph or a paper. They never should have been admitted to the school - or any school. Despite this, instructors were demanded to do whatever it took to retain that student - and by retain it was clear that what was meant was enrolled and passing. The goal was clear - though not clearly stated: students must pass because only passing students can pay tuition. If too many students dropped out, failed out, or even got average grades (that's Bs and Cs at the college level as a general rule of thumb across the United States) instructors were quickly punished by having their teaching assignments reduced or they were simply fired. The school's website boasts integrity and dedication to higher learning, but the only thing I could find the school dedicated to was cashing student's tuition checks - typically from the Federal Government in the form of loans or grants. All that accurate, but negative information stated, every single one of the faculty I interacted with had a degree in their subject field and were dedicated to student learning. Note that learning does not mean success; some students learn that they are not ready for college, or that they are not in the appropriate program - and these students change majors, transfer, withdraw, or fail. Note that these options are not dependent on any institution or its faculty, but rather on the natural and average attrition rates across all schools of higher education. In short, KU is a good school for those who cannot attend a better on-ground, or online, institution. KU faculty are on par with their colleagues in similarly accredited institutions. But the administration at KU has absolutely no regard for its faculty and even less for its students. If you want to attend an institution that focuses integrity - both academic and personal - STAY AWAY FROM KAPLAN IN ALL ITS DERIVATIVE FORMS.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan Student Review

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - June 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am attending Kaplan for my fifth term(50 wks.) I am getting my AAS in Paralegal then my Bachelor in Psychology. There are pros & cons with every school. Kaplan is a good school, but every school has its downfalls. CONS: If you do not have basic computer knowledge down, I would not suggest attending any online school. The Professors do not have time to show you everything & you can not learn all the basics in 1 week. Some of the students are ignorant, rude, full of excuses and think the world revolves around them. This is my biggest complaint on Kaplan. You HAVE TO STAY up to date with your Professors, academic advisor & financial dept. If you do not stay on them, you won't get anywhere. Think about it, they have how many students to deal with. YOU HAVE TO CARE ABOUT YOUR EDUCATION. PROS: When you do show them you care, they care. I stay on top of EVERYTHING. I email financials/academics 2-3 times a term. Nothing has ever cost anymore than what it should & I get my stipends in a timely manner. The flexible of the school is amazing. I have 6 children, a husband, work full time & Kaplan is flexible. The professors. I was pregnant when I started my first term & my daughter came a little bit early. My professors worked with me & were wonderful! I have had 1 death in my family & my father in law had a stroke - all of my Professors have been understanding & great about everything. Everytime I email or call academics, finanicals or even my Professors they are prompt and help me out. Currently I am maintaining a 3.96 GPA. I am not saying Kaplan is perfect. I just do not have the time to finish my degree at a traditional brick college. Kaplan is the next best thing & I am enjoying my time at Kaplan. My suggestion to anyone going to go to college online & whether it be Kaplan or another college: BE ON TOP OF FINANCIALS, ACADEMICS & PROFESSORS -> NO ONE HAS TIME TO HOLD YOUR HAND. IT IS UP TO YOU TO HANDLE YOUR BUSINESS. WE ARE ALL ADULTS, ACT THAT WAY.

Was this review helpful?

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Waste of Time

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - November 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They are an awful college with a meaningless array of meaningless on-line degrees. The degrees are not taken seriously by most employers. Plus they call you five times per day every day for payments even when you are on-time and up to date with payments.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

What a rip-off

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - August 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Potentional students, please be aware: I attended Kaplan University for two classes, received a total of three textbooks and had to drop for personal reasons. Come to find out that the bill for that period of time: $25,000. This amount is federally backed so you cannot avoid paying it. With penalty and interest, I now owe $36,000 to a school for a degree I never completed and books I never used. Since it's federally backed, nothing short of death will get you out of paying it. They have already garnished my wages and now I'm looking at getting a 25 year loan to pay them back. Money down the drain and something Kaplan does NOT deserve. Please take your money elsewhere! Unless you feel that $25,000 is worth it....

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan University Online degree

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - March 31, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am half way through my BA in Forensic Psychology. I think many people are assuming things about kaplan without getting the facts. They are acreditied and it is common sense that you would have to study after you graduate for your individual state laws as every state has different laws. I have contacted my local police department and they gave me a web site that shows which degrees from whatever institution you enroll in and Kaplan University was on there. So my degree will be recognized by Vancouver Wa, P.D. I love the classes but anyone who needs their professors full attention is better in a brick and morter college. This is an online environment so it is a lot of self study and a lot of research papers and writing. I love it and it is the best choice for me. Oh and my Pell grant and my student loans cover everything and I have never had a problem with financial aid.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

The actors

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - August 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The materials are outdated and a complete waste of cash - COMPLETE!

Was this review helpful?

Very Poor Education

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - July 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm in the process of finishing my first year of a graduate program with Kaplan. I have degrees from residential colleges and I wanted to continue my education and retrain in another field. Choosing Kaplan was not the best idea. The level of education is poor; the FA department is misinformed and made numerous mistakes with my account; the technology used in the delivery of the classes is outdated and unreliable; and the other students, while friendly, do not appear to come from strong academic backgrounds. Overall, I would not recommend this for-profit university to anyone seeking a proper academic education.

Was this review helpful?

FA - AWFUL

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - May 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The teachers and professors are Great!!! Financial Aid is awful!!!!! They promised me my tuition voucher for 1,000.00 plus an accelerated scholorship from Kaplan for 556.00, which would cover my remaining balance, which I also took out personal loans for more than 64,000.00. I however am know being told I owe a balanace because I cannot get both tuition voucher and accerlerated scholorship, this of course is only after i completed my bachelors degree in criminal justice with a 3.89. So I am being told I must pay before I get be sent my diploma, what a scam!!!! I was considering a Masters degree, but will not deal with Kaplan, a FOR-PROFIT SCHOOL!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Don't waste your money

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - March 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to Kaplan because getting to an on site college was becoming problematic. But I wish I had never went at all. The two community colleges I had attended before I went to Kaplan was one hundred percent better and far less expensive. I learned from those schools and learned nothing worth while from Kaplan except not to go there again. I have 3k in student loans for the two years I spent at a state community college and 10k in student loans that I spent six months at Kaplan. Not only did I have to pay that much money, but I also had to pay 80 dollars to enroll. After that, I kept getting calls three times every hour about missing documents that where submitted over and over, multiple faxes back to back. Once, I waited on a naval base while I watched them fax the documents over while being on the phone with Kaplan and they still told me that the faxes where not going through. We had the correct number, and still it wasn't going through. We even tried e-mailing and it wasn't going through. Eventually, I called my academic adviser and fax the documents over to her and she had to fax it into the finical aid department for me. But while all of the mess about missing documents was going on, they blocked me from class for two weeks, making me two weeks behind. In the last semester I took at Kaplan, I couldn't do my math work because I was never sent my math book. I kept calling and they said that they had sent it out to the wrong address and was sending it out again. By the third phone call they finally sent it out, by that time I was extremely behind. The message boards where also annoying because you didn't even have to try to come up with something creative, you could just repeat what everyone else was saying and get all points. Farther more, all quizzes and exams where open booked that you didn't even have to read the chapters, and if you knew how to work Adobe, all you had to do was copy and paste the question and get the answer. There was no learning that took place with Kaplan. They also claim to be a flexible school able to work around your hours, but they only offer evening classes. They do not have any morning classes at all! I now have to pay 115 dollars a month in student loans for an education that I did not receive. I would not waste your time with Kaplan, go some where else.

Was this review helpful?

False Advertising

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - October 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan, I am in the AS of Criminal Justice. The professor in the class is great! The rest of the staff is as follows: 1. Enrollment Advisor- Lies to you just to make the college and himself a paycheck. Lied to me about Chp 33 Funding. I was told by him that I would have "no out of pocket" expenses. I do and he is not being suspended for lying to me. 2. Academic Advisor- Thought she was good but when she contacts you she insists that taping the conversation is required, Not true! She is not professional and calls when she feels like it! 3. Financial Advisor- Biggest joke of them all. Has NO people skills what so ever! 4. Dean of Students_ Another waste of time. Says he will help you and does nothing to change the mistakes that staff people made 5. Chair Person- Another piece of work! She doesn't know her a#$ for her elbow. Terrible people skills So, as you can see, I am not happy with Kaplan and you must be very careful before you apply to this college. If you like headaches and anger issues, come here. If you want a peaceful education, looks else where.

Was this review helpful?

So far Completly Satisfied

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - October 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an online student at Kaplan. I have been going to Kaplan since November 2006 and I am completly satisfied. I have had a few times where I was unable to reach my advisor or my Financial Aid officer. However, eventually I did get them and they did whatever they could to help me and my problems. I remember I took three classes in a term and then I had an out of pocket expense my advisor helped me get a scholarship from Kaplan to help pay for the expense.I only have two term left than I will graduate with my Bachelors in Criminal Justice. I am so excited. The only thing I am worried about is if Kaplan is a credited College and I can find a Probation and Parole Officer job with my degree. I fear that the Department of Corrections will not expect my degree from Kaplan.

Was this review helpful?

Completly Satified

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - April 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have nothing but praise so far for Kaplan University. I am currently a Junior in the BS Paralegal Studies. I have a great academic advisor who stays on top of all my questions and keeps up with me ,ore than once each term. I can call her anytime for any help. I have enjoyed the learning I have received from my teachers. I have gone to traditional college as well. Mt decision to go online was easier due to work and paying for school. I can compare my learnig to what is available online at KU and with the traditional college I attended. I can honestly say that I am not lacking any assiting or learning.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan is a great school to attend.

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - February 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a little angry after reading some of the negative reviews about Kaplan University. I am currenty in my 7th term at Kaplan, BS in Paralegal Studies, and really don't have anything negative to say. The teachers are there for you, you either receive a real (hard) book or an e-book in each class. However, I do think that before you enroll in any online school you need to make sure it's right for you. For a lot of people it can be hard to make time for your homework, etc. and not wait until the last minute. After all nobody is telling you when to do it, they merely give you a deadline on the last day and time the paper or quiz is due. You have to be very self disciplined and not looking for somebody to coddle you. If this is not you, Kaplan is not the place for you.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan Awsome School

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - January 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hi, my name is Becca! I am currently attending Kaplan University to get my Associates degree in Paralegal. I am in my 5th term and have a GPA of 3.8. I am a high school drop out with a GED. Kaplan was one of the many online schools I did research on. The only problem I had with Kaplan was they do indeed call you at all hours. I got a phone call from them at 9pm on a Sunday night. Thats crazy. However, I cold not have chosen better school to get my degree. I am a mother of 2 and work full time. Kaplan has very flexible hours and are very helpful and understanding about many issues I have had. Jut recently I ws unable to access the library for 2 weeks making it impossible to do an assignment. My professor was cool with it and told me to keep her posted and submit it when the problem was taken care of. I submitted it and recieved full credit. Pretty much everything at Kaplan is great. The courses are easy at first, but then get harder and harder. This type of school is for people that are self motivated and very disaplined. If you are not ready to give your education your all, then this school or any other is for you. Thanks for taking the time to read this and I hope it is very helpful. I would recomend this school to anyone. P.S. My baby sister just got her GED and starts Kaplan in March!!! Becca

Was this review helpful?

Half a step above a scam

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - November 5, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I almost don't even know where to begin in describing all the trouble I've had with Kaplan, so I'll start with the only thing that is actually a credit to the University, namely its teachers. I could go on at length about the incompetence of their advisory staff- negligent and entirely incapable are the best descriptions. I had one not drop a class when asked, and was stuck with a zero being figured into a 4.0 GPA. I asked what my options were for taking time off and was withdrawn from the university. My appeals of these actions were denied, the report denying it being contradictory and with no bearing on the actual facts. When I returned, a change to the degree plan excluded 15 previously earned credits. I believe all of this was retaliatory for allegations of wrongdoing against my advisor. Kaplan University is one step above a scam, and their behavior can best be described as "How not to run an online university" with a little "Everything wrong with distance learning" thrown in for good measure. Take your money and time elsewhere, Kaplan is a disgrace.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan has been great!

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - January 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my 5th term (almost a year) and I absolutely love it! Although the classes are challenging, that is what I am paying for, and I have managed to maintain a 3.5 gpa. I would definitely recommend Kaplan University to anyone that is looking to get an online degree! As long as you enroll with the thought process of achievement, it is really wonderful!

Was this review helpful?

Poor College to Attend

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - December 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You recieve ebooks rather than actually recieving the actual book that you pay full price for. Most of the teachers are excellent and care about the students. The institution is extremely poor and it's extremely hard to get help from anyone.

Was this review helpful?

My Advice: Keep Clear

Law and Criminal Justice::Paralegal - October 10, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started Kaplan in the Fall of 2006, taking the paralegal course designed to provide a B.S. degree. Most of the professors were easy to communicate with, however one in particular never returned e-mails. One of the most distressing things I found was not being able to take a break from the course study. I also eventually found that Kaplan, although they claim they are accredited, is not accredited with the American Bar Assoc., causing worry over the value of the course. The school insists on using Microsoft Word, when in the legal profession Microsoft Word is not able to properly format a legal document. However the school sells Microsoft software (conflict of interest?). As with a previous post, I found myself needing to take an emergency leave. I had contracted chicken pox and as an adult it lasted 2 weeks and had side-effect infections. Rather than giving me the rest of the semester off, the school disenrolled me. My grades had been a straight 4.0 through all but one semester (3.5), and I didn't want my grades to fall over the illness. My last completed paralegal course (Litigation I), I found I did a good deal of the teaching, as the course study did not address nor mention Rules of Civil Procedure but asked students to "guess" at what sanctions a court would award in discovery disputes. I have been in civil courts (federal district, 9th Circuit, state district, and state supreme court) and knew the answers were in the rules of the court that had jurisdiction of the case. Litigation I used a poor example of a civil case, which was followed through the court system. I felt relieved to get into Litigation II, only to find the same case being used again. As with others, I found, and still find, problems with the administration of the school. My academic advisor placed me in a class where I needed Microsoft Word 2003 without asking me if I had the software. I didn't, and didn't have the funds to purchase it, even though I was offered the software at a reduced price from the school. I have had student financial advisors refuse to call me, after I left messages. Recently I had a telephone conversation with a financial advisor over the school's negligence in not having a student loan paper and them allowing that to continue for two semesters. The 3rd of October, the date of the converstation concerning that paperwork, was also the date of a threatening letter sent by Kaplan claiming they would effect my credit if I didn't immediately call them. I called the same day (Oct 9, 2007) to get a recording that the financial advisor would be away until next Monday. In my last semester, the school sent out the wrong books, and it was very confusing. I wish there were enough students dissatified, and who felt deceived, to do a class action case.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.