Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

  • Ranking: #68
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

Kaplan University Reviews:

ZERO STUDENT SUPPORT-Grading BIAS!!!!!!!!!

Business Administration/Management - May 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The instructors are allowed to grade as they "feel". Each class is run and operated by the instructor, not the university. If you have an issue with an instructor or have a concern like question specific assignment criteria or grading practices. Tough luck! I was told by the dean, who refused to get involved. I maintained a 3.96 GPA until my last term. I took a lower level elective (200 series)and questioned the grades I was making, as I could not get above and 81. My capstone grade (upper level series 499) was a perfect 100. All of my grades had been 96+ in all other classes the year and a half that I attended. Nothing happened when I reached out help in week 2, 3, 4, 5, & 6. When I emailed the teacher, repeatedly, she said I insulted her by questioning her and my grades then became worse. I called student advising 5 times for intervention and was told to work it out myself since the school has no influence over individual instructors and how they grade or communicate. My 3.96 GPA tanked my very last week because of this class and I even recieved an academic warning letter from the dean of another department for the "tone" of my emails with the teacher. All of this happened my last week of what was supposed to be a joyous time. The school never asked my side and didn't care that I tried to resolve the issue with their advisors prior to my "blowing" up in the last email with her. She was equally nasty but used a bettwe writing style to communictae it to me. The bottom line is that I tried to get help and was told tough, take the grade and move on with life, despite it's impact on my near perfect GPA. My graduation will always be shadowed by the disgust of this event and the university's unwillingness to help. DO NOT ENROLL HERE!! ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY, YOU ARE STUCK!! I had numerous problems with financial aid as well. Idiots!! I had to get an omndsbusman to review my account 3 time in 1.5 years there because the financial aid people screwed my account up. All 3 times, the omndsbudsman found accounting errors to my benefit. Getting help and anyone to listen to you is IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

You Get Out Of Kaplan What You Put Into It.

Business Administration/Management - May 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University Online is not a brick and mortar school. It's not meant to be and it doesn't function like one. It's not supposed to. I have taken online classes from four universities two brick and mortar universities and two online schools, Kaplan and Phoenix. It's the same at every school. Online classes are guided self learning. If you want to learn a lot you have to spend a lot of time studying. You won't be spoon fed in a classroom room day to day like you are at a brick and mortar school. If you want to argue about the quality of Kaplan's education then take a look in the mirror and look at the quality of your study habits. I have two degrees I've obtained from traditional schools and this will be my first online degree. I am completing my BA in Criminal Justice and I'm about to complete my 7th and 8th classes. If you go to class do your work and pay Kaplan on time you won't have any problems. It's the people who don't do there work and try and drop out, people who don't communicate with the university what's going on with their lives. It's those people that are leaving the bad reviews. Get off your butts do the work stop being lazy and dropping out of class, stop expecting the teacher to study for you and give you an A for not doing anything and stop blaming Kaplan for your lack of commitment to your personal goals. With that said there are a few things Kaplan can work on. I do have a hard time getting a hold of my personal academic adviser on the phone, but I have always been able to get someone to help me if I put in the enough effort. I haven't had any trouble getting a hold of my adviser via email. The required assignments aren't graded very harshly in areas such as grammar. I think Kaplan gives A level credit for B level work sometimes. Like any school though it does depend on the teacher. I have had two teachers out of eight that graded very strictly. Of the eight professors I had seven of them were good and five were excellent. I did have one professor that I find entirely lacking and it appears the rest of the class agreed because he no longer works at Kaplan. Brick and mortar universities are going to remain to be important entities especially in areas of research and development of new technologies but online learning is the way of the future. Hop on the train or get run over!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid sucks - all help is based on prewritten scripts.

Business Administration/Management - May 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Do not have any problems and your experience will be fine. Unless the problem is Kaplan based, like a new IT infrastructure, then you will be screwed. As an Alumni of the Undergrad degrees, I thought Kaplan would be a great place to get my Masters Degree as well because I was familiar with the technology, the course layout, and the support team that was in play for the undergrad courses. Everything was going fine until such time as I had a dispute with a billing amount for a class that was dropped within the so called drop period. Shortly after I had dropped out of a class, because of a technical issue with the IT infrastructure, I was hit with a bill that was over 50% of the class price. I could not access the classroom so I could not get my coursework done. When I tried to call Technical Support, I would wait for over 2 hours and still not get a hold of anyone, thus it went unregistered or recorded. I had to make a decision on what I was going to do. So I called the Academic Adviser and was offered little help other than to drop out....BIG MISTAKE! I have been disputing the bill ever since and still can not get anyone with a brain on the phone to listen to all the facts before making a decision. The support sucks, the financial aid team sucks, and no one will give you the information you need in order to get the right people on the phone or by email. They start billing you and expect payment even though the payment is in escalation. I gave a 4 for overall based on the fact that the books and the teachers are pretty top notch. The Support plain and simply sucks. You have been warned.

Was this review helpful?

TERRIBLE Accounting Practices

Business Administration/Management - February 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If anyone needs to learn anything it is the Kaplan Student Accounts department - they need to learn basic mathematics in adding and subtracting. I am a cash student and my account maintains a credit balance (meaning I have over paid) but I get phone calls routinely advising I am past due. When you look at your ledger, it never matches the amount owed when you make a payment. To add to the problem, it takes an act of Congress to get someone on the line. Then they wonder why you are upset...go figure.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan University served me well!

Business Administration/Management - December 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose Kaplan because I have 3 children, 2 of whom are under 5. I also work full time and I change shifts often, not of my own doing. My employer does not allow us to take time off for school unless you take a non-paid educational leave. So that wasn't an option. My only viable option was to take online classes. Now, I must admit that the Academics Advisor that I dealt with was very persistent. He called and emailed so many times, I started to just ignore him. Once I decided that I did in fact want to pursue school, I reached out to him. I was pleasantly surprised that it was easy to navigate through the system. Once I got out of the preliminary classes, it was very challenging. The math class made me almost cry every night. If anyone thinks that they can just breeze through and it's a "diploma mill" I don't know what classes they took. I had essays due every week for two classes. I put a lot of effort into my own schooling and learning because I wanted to gain the most out of what my employer was paying for. I really dedicated myself to the program and have graduated with honors. As far as the human errors and people saying that they got the run around with financial aid or academics advisors; I did have a couple issues that were promptly resolved. I am the type of person that I call, email and call again till I get an answer. I kept the name of one FA rep who had helped me before and sent an email directly to him. But overall, I had no real issues. My employer pays my tuition, so I don't know if that had something to do with it. However, I feel like we are all adults and you have to be responsible enough to see an issue to completion instead of saying "they didn't call back." I now have an A.A.S in Global Travel and Hospitality and keeping my options open on going for my bachelors. It was very worthwhile and I would recommend Kaplan ONLY if a person is prepared to work for what they want out of their education. I wanted to graduate with honors and I put the work in to do so.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan is definitely challenging

Business Administration/Management - November 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my second year for my BSBA with an concentration in Human Resources. I have had my issues with FA who hasn't, the courses are very challenging I am finishing up my 2nd year and in a few weeks starting my third year. I have a 3.82 GPA after attending 16 courses, I have made the presidents list twice and the deans list six times. There has only been one semester when I did not make the honor roll, macroeconomics got me, it was a requirement for my concentration. You definitely have to put in the work, and as a disabled mother of a two and a four year old and an animal owner and wife of 18 almost nineteen years there have been times when I have thought is it worth it? Then I look at my family and keep thinking that I am going to get us out of poverty and into a comfortable life where we do not have to do without anymore and if I see something I want I can buy it and not feel guilty or have to worry. I love Kaplan they have been great so far!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

FINANCIAL AID

Business Administration/Management - September 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THE FINANCIAL AID AT KAPLAN IS A MAJOR DETERANT AND THE REASON THAT I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE ELSE TO ATTEND. I WAS TOLD BY SEVERAL FA OFFICERS THAT MY FA WAS PACKAGED CORRECTLY AND I WOULD NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS, CONSIDERING I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEM IN UNDERGRAD. I FINISHED MY MBA (WITH HONORS MIND YOU) AND STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY DEGREE IN THE MAIL BECAUSE OF THIS BALANCE. NO ONE CAN EXPLAIN AND NO ONE WILL RETURN A CALL. ASKING TO SPEAK WITH A MANAGER AND NOT A "LEAD" IS LIKE ASKING THEM TO DO SOMETHING THAT IS JUST UNFORESEEN. I GUESS I WILL JUST HAVE TO GET THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION INVOLVED.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan's Financial Aid Department Is the worst

Business Administration/Management - August 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student at Kaplan for almost two years and every term I have to call and chase down the money that they own me. Their financial aid department can not get anything right. I have called and emailed and every term it is the same thing. My frustration level is to the max with Kaplan. I am still waiting on my check from last term and I have already started this term. If it was a one time thing that would not be so bad but it is every time. I want to know what action we can take against them. I want then to pay interest on my money that they keep not sending me. Is there a government agency that oversees these kinds of things? Or would it be best to talk to a lawyer and start a class action lawsuit against them.

Was this review helpful?

Horrible

Business Administration/Management - August 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I agree with whoever made the most recent post- I am currently doing my best to get out of Kaplan and transfer or enroll elsewhere- in two years I have had 8 different academic advisors and each was worse than the next, they do not respond to questions and they are hard to get ahold of- this is the same experience I had with their financial aid advisors as well. The professors do not seem to be very understanding or in touch with the students from what I have experienced either. I want out !!!

Was this review helpful?

Incompetent Staff

Business Administration/Management - August 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You do not want to go through the headaches and waste your time with the staff at Kaplan University. They are like salesman at a car dealership. I was dealing with a representative that could not give me the answers that I was asking for but yet he had a million and one questions for me. I asked him to move on and that I wanted to know how much the fees were, and when classes for this semester started, when he said that I might not even be a good fit for the university. Maybe its because I wanted to get to real answers about the school, accreditation, classes, etc. and he wanted to talk about my goals and interview me. When I asked him if I could speak to him in person by phone and not by online chat, he stated that he couldn't take any calls. A real University would never say that,and would call you back and would be interested in your transcripts not how well you interview. I have never in my life dealt with such poor customer service.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.