Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

  • Ranking: #68
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

Kaplan University Reviews:

Okay if you don't have to use FA Office

Business Concentrating in Finance - March 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Academic support and Financial Aid office make this school extremely difficult to deal with. When I began my degree, they were very helpful, but have since moved to a "Hall" environment with advisors that have little training and seemingly little desire to help. Most of my experiences with teachers were positive - many of them grade on the higher level even with little effort. Had a few teacher that could have cared less to be there and put minimal effort in actually teaching the course. Really wish I would have selected another university. Overall regret attending Kaplan as long as I did. By the time most of the issues arose I was near completion of my degree.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Issues

Business Concentrating in Finance - July 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at Kaplan has been overall positive, however, I have had a few frustrating financial aid issues. Calling financial aid, almost everyday only to be put on hold for 30 to 40 minutes before someone answers, never having the opportunity to talk with the same person so I have to keep repeating my issues over and over. After talking with many, many financial aid advisors over several months regarding the same issue and still nothing is resolved. Very frustrating and scary when people are recklessly messing with your money! If I had it to do over again, I would have stuck with University of Phoenix Online.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Don't what people are complaining about

Business Concentrating in Finance - July 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read the first few comments that were dated June of this year and the ones that say they didn't like Kaplan, I don't understand what they are complaining about. I have been attending Kaplan since Fall 08 and finishing up my associates and soon my bachelors, I was never bothered by the finacial aid, that someone had commented happen to them, only twice have I had to speak to them. I know it is a real school because I get financial aid and I had to fill out a application from the FASA (if initials right) and the bank that I got the loan I chose from a bank I knew Citibank. People say they were told they will be able to get 50k job, hello we are in an economic crisis, duh. I just laugh at some of these comments. Kaplan is a great online school.

Was this review helpful?

Financial Aid 'Assistance' ruins experience

Business Concentrating in Finance - June 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In one sentence, great experience - except for Financial Aid. Enrollment period was great, a lot of assistance. I was luck to start with an EXCELLENT academic counselor - she was amazing with both proactive and follow-up communications. My current AA is okay, follows up most of the time, but schedules my classes so I can't complain. After my first full year I have had to deal with the FA office. I receive both employer assistance as well as loans, they apparently had a hard time calculating the correct amounts. At this time I am hoping the situation is resolved, but we'll see once this academic year is over. I had previously attended another online college and also had issues with the FA office. I have a feeling these are 'entry' level positions with a lot of turnover. I have not had issues with any of my teachers. Some definitely put in more effort than others. I've had some professors teach via YouTube videos, some participate more than others in the Discussion boards, some provide better feedback on papers than others. It concerns me that some students have had experiences turning in blank papers and getting an "A". As for technology - I wish I could access both classes & email via my Blackberry but was told by the Support department that their systems do not allow that right now. I also changed names between terms and there were some issues on the backend. In some places my name was changed and not in others, which was a bit confusing to the professors but that seemed to get resolved pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Look elsewhere!!!

Business Concentrating in Finance - June 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Kaplan University for over a year and I have to admit it was the worst mistake of my life. Not only is the support system that is in place a joke, when I withdrew from the University, I receive a "final bill" for almost the entire tuition for the year I attended. I received the GI Bill the entire time, so I knew there was no balance. I left in February and just last week this issue was "resolved" on Kaplan's end. I in turn now have a credit that I have been fighting to get back. It took 5 weeks and 4 faxes to get my official transcripts sent to my new University, and so far I have had to fax the refund request 6 times now in the last 2 weeks as I am told it was not received. If you call the FA department be prepared to wait on hold for clear over an hour. The support offered to students and ex-students is horrible and it clearly shows that Kaplan is a true FOR PROFIT only University!!! The tuition is also very high for the service you receive as a student. Don't fall for the Kaplan scam as you will regret it in the end!

Was this review helpful?

Almost Done!

Business Concentrating in Finance - April 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Kaplan from 2002 right after my baby girl was born until this February 2010 and my girl is eight. I have sacrificed so much precious time with her, family and fun activities so I can get my degree. I have been through so much in my life, things most people would not have survived through. I cannot believe the hassles I have endured with Kaplan but not the classes themselves or the instructors. Those were the best. It is the support you receive from the administration. First they are always horrible at answering any issues you may have. It took me six months just to get a copy of my ledger card for my work to reimburse me. Then they kick me out after I finish a term and did awesome!I actually have above a 3.0. Then I go through the whole appeals process proving my life has been really rough and it includes losing my sister in 06, she was 27 and I was 29 and my mother the year before that and she was only 45. I have been through so much more but they obviously could care less. The let me back in but they will only let me complete the last two terms by paying cash and I obviously sent them proof that I am a single mother on a limited income and they don't even care! Now, I probably have to look into finishing up somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

Enjoyable Experience!!! Great Choice!!

Business Concentrating in Finance - July 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my Bachelor's of Science in Business with a concentration in Finance. All that I can say is that I really do appreciate getting my 4 year degree on MY TERMS! I transferred my Associate's Degree in Business from a community college in which I had made special concessions for-from work hours to family time that I missed. I HATED going to a classroom. If it wasn't the parking fees that they were hiking-it was the parking and constant construction that was ongoing on the campus that made just getting to class a job! I loved just logging on 15 minutes prior to class, I loved my professors who were all well educated AND worked in the fields that I am looking to work and best of all-I was able to be at home with my baby while I was working on my way to a better future for my whole family! I did not have a moment's problem with my Student Advisor nor Financial Aid! As another student stated in their comments-simply look at the grammar, spelling and context of the words that some of these "students" who are posting in their notes. They should have been given a basic aptitude test! My fellow students in my classes were helpful and we all bonded closer than I ever could in a physical classroom. It was really cool chatting with people from all over the country-it made going to class fun-and that is what it is about. AGAIN-I had nothing but good experiences from Kaplan and am enrolling for my MBA which will be accelerated - and under my belt in 1& 1/2 years. Try that with a classroom school! Do like I did-and THINK FOR YOURSELF-and check the DRAMA at the door!

Was this review helpful?

DO NOT pay anything before getting your answers

Business Concentrating in Finance - October 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Well, I was just applying for an undergraduate course and this is what I got: - After getting the total tuition and fees, ASK FOR HIDDEN FEES!! Believe me, you will increase the price in at least $200. - My admissions advisor (SC) is very nice on his emails and phone calls, but I do not get the answers I REALLY need and regardless my satisfaction with the answers, SC keeps asking for me to sign the agreement and start paying the fees so he can "reserve" my position in the class. - I am not an American citizen and I realized that admission advisors are not of the documents necessary for international applications. First I was said TOEFL and University transcripts (evaluated by a NACES member) were enough. At this point I refused to pay any fees before making sure Kaplan had officially received all mandatory documents. Then, after 2 weeks asking for money, SC emails me saying that in addition to the University transcripts, now he needs the High School transcripts. My answer to SC was: "Due the new documents you asked (high school transcripts) we just delayed the application in at least 45 days. I am glad I haven’t paid any fees until this moment". - I asked SC to email me a web link where I could check the professors' profiles, resumes and their articles/books, however SC’s answer was: "I would love to accommodate you with your request. Unfortunately I have no way of knowing who the instructing professors will be. Once enrolled, this should be a question for your academic advisor, who at this time I am also unable to share with you exactly who that will be." Maybe it is just me, but it seems very odd that such accredited University refuses to show its professors' profiles, and if noticed the "ONCE ENROLLED" on SC answer you will realize that he is still asking for my money before giving me the answers!!! Conclusion: I do not feel comfortable with Kaplan and I will cancel my application because I do not trust the advisors and I hate when I feel their priority is to get my money instead of providing good service. I am sure their learning material is great, the use of technology is very good and I have nothing to say about the professors because SC refused to tell me who they are.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.