Kaplan University : ASSOCIATES IN MEDICAL ASSISTING Reviews

Kaplan University logo

Bomazeverchick92 (In Progress) on June 1, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ASSOCIATES IN MEDICAL ASSISTING Well, i have took like 20 min's out of my time to actually read over a lot of reviews on this college and i must say, alot of it is pleasant to read and a lot is not. i started kaplan university ONLINE in october 2012 and so far it has done me well! Im in my 4th semester (starting june 2013). I can say that its not a bad school. i had the benefit of transferring my community college courses to kaplan and now i only have to do 1 year instead of 2 for the associates in medical assisting program. Im defnly happy about that. I graduate april 2014. Since i started kaplan i have been on the presidents list and holding a 4.0 gpa. The only problem i have READ with kaplan that kind of made me nervous is the clinical sites. I have a group that i started on facebook in october where we help one another out so much that we are really a family. we give help on assignments, discuss things about class ect ect.. <<here is the link : https://www.facebook.com/groups/331121063653910/ . But as i was on the site i saw a girl post something about her clinical site being over 60 miles from her house. WHEN I SAW THIS I FREAKED OUT. One of the main reasons i freaked out is because my 3 year old daughter is a cancer patient. I cant be going to a clinical site monday-friday for 8hrs that is 2-4hrs driving time. THATS RIDICULOUS!! I was so scared that i had to read more into it and talk to her about it. i need to be put somewhere close to be able to be there for my daughter and get there on time ect ect... As she had this post up a lot of ppl where commenting on it and LUCKILY ONE OF THE CLINICAL SITE INSTRUCTORS COMMENTED ON THERE AS WELL AND SET EVERYTHING STRAIGHT!... so thats pretty much the only problem i ran into. other than that i do see a lot of ppl complaining and stuff. just do your work, go to the 1 hr long seminars. the thing about being online is that things are done at your pace BUT THEY DONT PLAY AROUND WHEN THINGS NEED TO BE IN ON TIME!!... if anyone needs help come to my site we are very interactive and willing to help you.

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 6, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not Bad I am in school right now for MA. The only problem I have came across is some of my teachers have a strong accent and they are hard to understand over the computer. I do think some classes need to be in a school because they where a bit hard to get with only having 1 class week. The teachers did help me if I emailed them any questions. I say if you are thinking of Kaplan then do it, if you are unsure they usually have a campus somewhere around you that you can talk to someone. I know my state does.

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The ignorant will weed themselves out. If you want to go to school and be lazy (not doing your discussion posts, seminars, and projects) do not go to Kaplan, it will be a waste of your money. If you are willing to work hard and do what you need to do, you will pass. I think people are being spiteful, I have only seen one valid complaint and I would be heartbroken too. Her case is not the norm I think there were issues that were out of her control but that is how life goes. I wish her the best and hope she can get it straightened out. I am a Kaplan graduate, I have returned to obtain my master’s degree and I have never had a problem with the financial aid department I took out student loans, but I did well and became a part of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and received several grants through them. You will have classmates that you think are ignorant but they weed out early. After the 3 year mark you will love the amazing atmosphere when you are surrounded by uplifting people who are working just as hard as you are.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 10, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
2nd year Kaplan student I am in my 2nd year their and never an issue. It is NOT easy you must work for it and I have 4.0 gpa and I have EARNED it. I have other degrees I went to Nursing school in town graduated with high grades and I can say Kaplan is harder LOL For the person with DUI it states you must PASS a background check you can view the background check they did if anything is on it you can not work in health care. I no NURSES of many years have lost their license and ruined/ended their careers from a DUI. I am in KY. and I no if you have anything other than a parking ticket or something like that you can not get your license and if you have one you will lose it. I also no MOST places want experience, some 2 years worth and it is HARD to get ANY job right now. My daughter in law graduated 18 months ago with her RN and yes zillion nurse jobs available ALL want experience she just got a job finally, and yes she has tons loans as well to pay back and attended our local University. For ones FA saying they never received stipend checks their is one tiny box you must check to receive any money left over if you don't check that box it is applied to the next term again you must read everything before signing and you also must fill out an educational expense form requesting additional money otherwise they are not mind readers and can not do it. MOST of the bad stuff I have read is things that really was not Kaplan's fault like FA,DUI or failing for not attending seminars that are half your grade etc... I sit and watch people in my class daily trying to do the classes without the proper software required for the school and not turning homework in on time and then they get mad. The US gov. does not just give money out for nothing. It says in MANY places and was told to me many times I MUST make sure that my state accredited them for my chosen career and they do. You need to check with your state for ANY online or out of state classes to make sure it is accepted to take boards etc...in your state. I have talked to my local testing facility and they said they love Kaplan students because they tend to pass with higher scores than the local quick cheap programs. I watch EVERY $$ transaction and print everything and keep it. I also do my work and apply myself to my studies. The only issue I have had was 1 teacher did not post our grades on time and then our finals was late which made my scholarship for 4.0 GPA post late thus making my money to me come few weeks late.She was fired. Even after almost 2 years I still get calls checking on things monthly and everyone has been great. My stepdaughter is in another online program and has NOTHING that Kaplan offers no seminars,no tutoring nothing live and she is going to be an educator it is a scary thought their. On person about lab fees. I asked them when they took my $900 for that and at the time I was not even close to needing it but it includes,scrubs,stethoscope BP cuff etc...I did not need those either BUT it also includes the arm(very expensive) and fake blood and things to draw blood and give injections and things this is why it cost so much. I agree I have a few classmates that should not be their and they will not make it sadly. They ask questions that a 5 year old would ask,never do their work on time and totally do not get it. Some IMO never read the directions or they are really slow and should not be their. Like one of you I too challenged 2 points being taken off a grade for APA format. It was correct and I knew it was and I brought it to their attention and backed myself up and got my 2 points back. I have checked and my local University WILL accept my credits from Kaplan if I wanted to transfer. Again like said check credentials in your state,work hard and read ALL the papers you sign and most of the issues in these post would not have happened.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 7, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Kaplan is HORRIBLE and they are LIARS! I've been a student at Kaplan for more than a year now; Im trying to get my associates in medical assisting. When I first called to get information the advisor was very helpful and nice, but he lied and gave me false information regarding a previous DUI just to get me into the school. The advisor told me I had to get a background check, so in my case I informed him that I had a previous DUI back in 2009 and if this would affect getting into the healthcare field, he said "Oh dont worry about that you will be fine". Well that was a big fat LIE! Just recently I had to pay out of pocket for another background check and this one showed my DUI. I emailed the Director of Clinical Practicums and Programs this was her response:"School of Health Sciences policy requires that all students complete a successful background check prior to full admission to a program that requires a clinical. The results of your background check include information that may cause potential clinical sites to decline hosting you for the required clinical experiences. Please review the attached form and if you would like to continue with full enrollment in your current academic program, complete the form and return it to me." FYI, I informed her that I told the advisor about my DUI when I was getting information on the program and he gave me false information. She never mentioned or gave a damn about it! Not only are the advisors a bunch of liars, the financial aid department are liars and incompetent. I HATE KAPLAN! They wasted my time and my damn money. I have kids that I have to support and now I have this bullcrap school that I have to pay for!!!! I dont know where to go from here or who to speak with regarding this matter. Does anyone have an idea of who I can contact?

Yarinetterivera2318 (In Progress) on January 9, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Love this school so far! I just recently started on my Associate for medical assisting program and it's been pretty great so far. My teachers are so nice. They're understanding. I'm doing online btw and the people at Kaplan are just so sweet! Any questions I have they answer. No attitudes. They're reassuring and they tell me whenever I have questions or concerns to let them know and they will help me any way they can. I STILL have one person calling me making sure everything is going well with me. Something I don't mind. She is the sweetest. I would really recommend Kaplan to family and friends.

Crystaldailey2 (Graduate) on January 6, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Recent Grad of Kaplan I am a recent graduate of Kaplan. I have read many of the comments posted here and some I really disagree with. I have never had a problem with this school or their financial aide department, however I remained very proactive with my educational goals. The found me an exceptional clinic to do my externship with and I was offered a job and began working 2 weeks before I officially graduated. I am proud that Kaplan is the school that I chose and I have recommended friends and family to Kaplan and they are now enrolled. Once I pay down some of my school debt, I plan to return to Kaplan for my Bachelor's Degree.

Slsfuentes (In Progress) on August 3, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Half of you are just bitter... First of all, I would just like to point out that many of you who are complaining about failing classes and thus being dismissed from school have absolutely terrible grammar. Remember, a lot of points can be missed by submitting unintelligible work. Also, those who fail tend to be bitter and search out sites like these to find someone to listen to them and gripe. Many of you complaining, with the exception of one, about financial aid and not receiving left-over FA back. You're upset because you didn't get money -- it's not like you LOST the money. It's in your loan account and you currently don't owe it, isn't that enough? Less debt is of utmost importance. I have been a student at Kaplan for a year and have never had an issue. To the person who graduated with an Associate's in Medical Assisting and claim employers laugh behind your back for receiving your degree from Kaplan - actually, not true at all. I've met four physicians who look up to Kaplan for offering such a well-rounded program. The professors are very credible, qualified, and intelligent. Remember, the staff at Kaplan are only human. They do the best they can and sometimes computers and programs have glitches and information is sometimes skewed when passed electronically.

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 3, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Do your homework before falling for Kaplan!!!!!!!!!!! All I can say is DO NOT DO IT!!!!!!! Biggest mistake of my life. All the from Financial Aid down to the instructors. I took a Algebra class and received a big fat F, then I took survey of math which I thought was a little more intense then just a algebra class with a differnet instructor next term and received a A. tell me how that happens? ended up costing $1800.00 to retake a math class I should not have failed in the first place. I even went to tutoring and the tutors were not even sure how to figure out the way he way trying to teach the algebra.All they want is our money money money. The school I am attending now at least gives a check for what is left over after my tution is paid every 12 weeks , where kaplan took it all plus made me make a monthly payment to them every month for 10 months. Please make sure you check around before making the same expensive mistake I did.

Kstatuto (In Progress) on March 5, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Medical Office Management I would like to put a different spin on all of Kaplan University reviews. I enrolled did well received excellent grades, no problems what so ever until it came to my last term three class one with an externship. I eagerly awaited this day to come to almost be done. Filled out all clincal placement paper work and submitted every document required in the time alloted. On 1/20/2012 was emailed where I would be completing my externship at and instructed to call and set up an interview with the site. I did as instructed and instead of getting an interview date I was asked to fax my resume. I did exactly that with a very nice cover letter, four days had passed and I had not heard from the proposed site, I called to make sure they had received my fax and was informed yes they did and they would be forwarding it to the doctor and if the doctor like my resume she would call me. Strange response I thought but I thanked the voice on the phone and she rudely hung up. Moving right along since time was moving closer to the new and final term to begin I email Kaplan letting them know that I had not heard from the site yet or even given an interview date, Kaplan informed me give them time and if I had not heard anything by 1/30/2012 let them know. Sure enough 1/30/2012 came and went and nothing from the proposed site, I informed Kaplan again I had not heard anything and was informed via email that the Kaplan staff would follow up. On 2/2/2012 I receive an email informing me of site termination, the email informed me that the site was no longer williing to host me and that I should not contact them, it also informed me that since I was terminated from the site or not excepted after an interview I would have to meet with the Assistant Dean and a Clincal Manager via phone conference to further discuss what led to this and was given two dates and times to pick for this conference call. Now let me state this baffle I was and confused I was so I picked the early date which was 2/9/2012 at 3:00 pm. The day came and guess what they emailed me the wrong time so the call never took place and how they apologized for making this error, and gave me the 2/10/2012 at 2:30 pm (anyone seeing a red flags yet because I was). During the conference call with the dean and a clincal manager I was informed that the site no longer wanted to host me because I made numerous phone calls to them and harassed them for an interview. Now remember I told you I called this site twice, once to introduce myself and two to follow up to make sure they had received the fax I sent them. When I informed the dean and the clincal manager of this then the story changed to well the doctor overheard a conversation with you and a staff member which made him uncomfortable and therefore he decide not to host you. When i pressed Kaplan what conversation did the doctor overhear because their was no conversation beside me asking did they receive the fax I sent and was told yes and if the doctor like it she will call you. (now Kaplan is saying he as the doctor and the site is saying she as the doctor not really sure who the doctor is but not really that important but another red flag I think.) Kaplan could not give me a particular answer to this conversation the doctor overheard, but contined to inform that since I have no site (remember never granted an interview with the site) I was going to automatically fail the Externship class and that I would have to do a remediation plan and discuss what I learned from this experience, and why they should grant me another site after I take a term off. (Remember this was suppose to be my last term.) Confused I was in tears I was and shocked all at the same time. I kept asking how could this be I am in my last term and I have no more money or funding I should say to come back to retake a class that I am going to fail because a site lied to you. I had the phone records to prove that I made two phone calls, did not matter, many emails later nobody cares that the site lied, I am being force to pay for a class that I will fail because Kaplan did not inform me in the email on 2/2/2012 without a site you will fail the class, which had I know at that time I could have dropped the class because according to their polciies you have 7 days to drop a class, and remember because they screwed up the time on the first phone call it pushed me past the seven day drop period. So I could not drop the class, have to pay for it and then take a term off and hope they approve the remediation plan which is a letter I have to draft telling them why I should be granted another site and figure out where the money will come from to pay for this one class which is only three credits so very little funding will be available for me. So what do I get out all of this a big fat nothing because without the externship class I do not get my degree. I put in two years and spend thousands of dollars for nothing and Kaplan will not admit or at least take credit for the fact that they did not notify me of certain issues in the very first email of the site termination which had I know at that point I was gong to fail the class without a site I would have dropped the class and saved the money for a future course. You can say it did not happen like this if you want but I have the emails the phone calls and everything documented and guess what I walk away 30,000 in debt with nothing. If I was was to paste the remediation plan here you guys would be like are they serious. I just wanted to share my story which is not good, I am so destroyed right now and I do not even know where to begin to fix this, but what I do know is KAPLAN UNIVERSITY DOES NOT CARE THAT THE SITE GROSSLY LIED TO THEM AND RUNINED MY NAME AND MY EDUCATION. Thank you if you read but if you have any suggestions how I can get this fixed please help because I do not think they will grant me another site because theres a part when I was told there are no guaratees, oh did I not mention that yeah no guaratees we will find you a site after you do the remediation plan and take a term off. HELP HELP, I know somebody must know how to help me fix this. Why do I think they will not becuase I have filed a grievance and everything and in the emails to me is do the remediation plan and as far as we are concerned this matter is closed. What a fine mess I am in now. To pay back all this money for what, I did not even get the worthless degree I was striving for and a site or should I say a person lied on me with no regards on how this would impact my life. The sited does exist because its around the corner from my home just know this it was not one of the twenty sites I chose when filling out my application for a site placement. No I swear I never went there or anything but I do wonder if they have pulled this stunt on somebody else. Please let me know anybody. I was never granted an interview. So lost right now.

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 14, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good Experience except with Clinical Department I graduated May 2011 with AA in Medical Assisting. The professors were very helpful and insightful with the exception of maybe a couple of them. The assignments were challenging and caused you to learn a lot from them. One must be disciplined and determined to achieve. I was determined and graduated Summa Cum Laude and feel as though the program prepared me well for the real world. You must take responsibility and turn in your documents and make certain they have been received on time. I had no problems with financial aid because I was responsible. Good school! Try it out for yourself.

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 5, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Fantastic!!! Bachelor Degree in Health Science Please do not listen to all the negative responses in regard to this University. It is ridiculous, especially the responses from individuals who are complaining that they are enrolled with people "dumb as bricks" or can not get in touch with their professors and so forth. Also it is important to remember just how many students advisors deal with on a daily basis, either online or on campus. It is not always possible to quickly get back to a student within the same day and the policy is to get back to a student either within 24 hours or 48 hours which is quite reasonable. I have experience with both the online and regular on campus colleges and both have their pros and cons as is to be expected. If Kaplan University was not valid then explain why the government would offer students financial aide to pay tuition to the school? (It exists on the FAFSA website)No matter what there will always be people "dumb as bricks" in classes with you either on campus or online, and also people need to realize that every professor is different, most of the professors I have had online or on campus have been pretty good but sometimes there will always be one that seems to be out to make your life that much more difficult etc. I am considering going on the path to becoming an RN or going into Radiology and I am proud that I have received my degree from this University but as with every college or university, it is up to the student to research each place and figure out which one suits you best. Just please do not judge a college by reviews since most people that take the time to leave them feel like they have been scorned in some way. I enjoyed the two years I was with Kaplan and of course the coursework was not always easy but I got through it! You can too! My GPA was between a 3.6-4.0 throughout the two years. The downside is that the college only offers one scholarship which is based upon if a student takes three classes instead of two during a semester, I personally did not take up the opportunity because I did not think I could handle it while working a full time job as well. However others may differ in that aspect.

Chelelee96 (In Progress) on February 5, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Kaplan University-Medical Assistant Program I am now in my third term at Kaplan. I have had excellent instructors and massive support from my advisors and financial aid team. When starting Kaplan, they tell you that you may attend for your first three weeks but if you have lower than a 2.0, you will be dropped from the classes. Then the money is refundable. This is true, as I saw it happen to many of the first time students. They tell you that over and over, so those people who claim not to know why they were kicked out....enough said. My mother is an English Professor at a prestigious University(not Kaplan)I have attended many of her classes and learned a lot about college life. Kaplan is just as professional as any of the classes I have seen. It is worth it to me to pay the extra money because it includes everything: books, clinicals, scrubs, and nursing equipment. And everything arrives on time. Their text books are outstanding and included Cd-Rom games and interactive quizzes. I also received a Mosby's Medical Dictionary along with my med term. text and flashcards. That was just for one class, and I haven't even mentioned the MP3 downloads to study with. I love attending school at Kaplan. There is one thing to consider, though, do not attend if you don't expect to finish your degree at Kaplan. The credits are hard if not impossible to transfer, but that is true for any online college. I would recommend this school to anyone. I will be pursuing my bachelor's degree and furthering my education at another college to become a Physician's Assistant. I could never have had the time for this, had it not been for Kaplan. I have 4 children and a disabled husband and father in law to care for. Thanks to Kaplan, I have a renewed sense of hope for my future. I wish everyone could experience it.

Ldyraina (Graduate) on November 2, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Kaplan University: Worst School Ever! STAY AWAY!! I graduated from Kaplan University in October, 2009 with an AA in Medical Assisting. Most of the reviews that I have seen here about any of the Health Care programs have been prodominately negative. As for FA I did not have any problems there. I graduated with a 3.51 GPA, the only one in my group of graduating MA's to graduate with honors. About half of the instuctors in the required medical courses were lacking in educational experience to teach those classes at the college/university level. There were complaints filed against the instrutors and they were let go by kaplan only to be replaced by another unqualified instructor. As for Career Services assistance, there is none! The advertisements that I am sure we all have seen on television, they are all false and misleading. I have tried to contact CS on multiple occasions to get help and leads on employment and have gotten nothing from them. All interviews that I have gotten I have gotten on my own. I am also Certified as a Medical Assistant as of February, 2010. You would think that by now I would have obtained employment as a Certified Medical Assistant, right? Think again! I have found that anyone who graduated from Kaplan U in any of their health related studies programs is passed over for jobs and laughed at behind their backs. Most graduates come out expecting to take boards for cerification or licensing and can not pass the boards. I have tried to give Kaplan the benefit of the doubt for quite some time now, but I now realize they do not deserve it. They are only out to make money no matter what the cost to unsuspecting individuals like myself who just want to inprove their lives by get a better education. We all seem to want the same thing here. That is to improve our lives and family finacial situations. It is imposible to do that with the cracker jack degrees that Kaplan gives us. When we are still stuck working for minimum wage and having student loans to pay back for degrees that do you no good, how can one ever expect to improve their financal situation? Kaplan does not give a rats a*% how much farther in debt their students end up after going to their schools. If you are shopping around for a good school to go to, stay away from Kaplan. If you want to pay through the nose for the joke of what they call an education that they will give you then go ahead and enroll. I can tell you now though, that you will get better results by throughing you money into the wind or burning it then you will by giving it to Kaplan.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 21, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Hate this place, Dont sign up I use to attend Kaplan and then I supposively failed acidemic strageties 3 times and they blocked me from signing onto the site. Never got a letter email or phone call they just blocked me and had me go on a wild goose chase to figure out what the heck happened. Admissions Advisor said that the group discussions were not part of the grade and that you didnt have to attend if you couldnt make it well that is bs because it is half the grade. Teacher failed me because I did an assignment wrong and didnt realize it she said I could redo it and I did but then when I turned it in she said I didnt do it in the right amount of time which again is bs. Ive been trying to get back into Kaplan because I am left with this damn bill for schooling I never really even started and I get the financial aid officers hang up on me yea real professional. So I have gotten no where. I think its a shame that financial aid is suppose to help you but all it does is screw you over in the end because the school gets paid weather or not you finish.

Yoarismith (Graduate) on September 17, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
kaplan Kaplan's financial aid department is the worst. They are clueless as to anything that has to do with their students financial aid. I am a veteran and I was entiteled to so many benefits that they had no idea existed and were unable to help me leaving me with a huge bill to pay in the end. I dont recommend this school to anyone.

Jdyfuller (Graduate) on May 15, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
2009 MA grad It is what you make it. If you work hard and are determined to graduate you will. Most of your instructors at Kaplan are excellent. Everyone I met helped me, as a person who had been out of school for about 30 years and I am so happy I went to Kaplan. If you don't want a degree and are just playing, Kaplan is not for you. This is a school about people learning and growing and graduating. I know it was the right school for me and will always be proud that I have a degree from Kaplan.

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 20, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I'm at Kaplan, and it aint bad.....! I have had no problems with my Academic Advisor-every complaint I ever emailed her about, or called about, she has always reasponded professionally. And I admit-I can be quite terrible to deal with when I am frustrated. In fact, she surprised me by not taking my insults personally and maintaining a pleasant personality-as well as solving my conflicts. So franly, don't listen to the bad reviews about poor advisors-you can always request to change who your Academic Advisor is! It is simple to do. All of the phone calls are recorded, so it is easy to track. Another thing-the school prices are high. Not as high as other private colleges, but definately not as cheap as a community college. I am taking 2 classes per semester (3 classes a semester is considered full time student.) I did have trouble in my first semester, getting the required text book shipped to my house-but this problem was mostly due to the fact that the guy driving my UPS route was on the verge of quitting his job and thus, delivering terrible services and skipping houses on his route. Since then, I've had no trouble getting my books in time for class. The good thing about this school is the fact that all of the necessary text books are available in pdf format online (digital textbook) so there really is no excuse not to have the proper text book. My number one complaint about this school is the fact that most of the students are dumb as bricks...I feel offended knowing that I am in class with morons...and thusly, graduating with a bunch of idiots who may slip through the cracks, and bring shame upon my hard earned degree from this school. Other than that, school is good. The work is somewhat time consuming and moderately difficult. There are live seminars so that I can address all of my concerns and questions directly with the teacher, and I can also email them or contact on AIM. However, email takes too long for a response from SOME teachers (others are prompt and chatty!I love those teachers best)... One problem I do have is that some of the teachers are biased-my teacher removed 2.8 points off of a discussion board post that only had 3 components to grade and was only worth 30 points total. Just give me my 30 points-why take off 2.8 just because you are mad that I pointed out another students multiple spelling and grammatical errors. WTF? Whatever. Bottom line-this school is ok, just do the work and you'll be alright. Also, I had no problem getting a loan from anywhere-I went through bank of america the first time, and citi bank the second time. Just make sure you sign and return your master promisary note, and make sure you pass your classes-which is relatively easy since the website is extremely easy to navigate, and you have every opportunity to ask the instructor to clarify the material if you aren't able to understand it.

Patty1chapelhill (In Progress) on April 6, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beware!!!!! Kaplan University is terrible!s, BEWARE!!!!!!!!! Instructors do not answer emails with questions regarding projects, seminars, explanations..ANYTHING during the whole term. If for some reason you need time off your bill is due, they only weant your money. Customer service are terrible!, academic advising department treat with ZERO respect, make fun of you on the phone, and with "sarcastic comments". I was in the middle of a class... trying to drop Kaplan but once you there... you are stuck in this terrible institution.!!!!!!!!!!!! I was told several things when I enrolled. I have over $5,000 in debt and nothing but bills. I even tried to get back in classes to help get some kind of degree but no they only wanted my money. My advise don't consider Kaplan ................

Eatmeout2010 (In Progress) on March 23, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
My program is FAKE its not even in here Kaplan college of Hammond Indiana is screwed up. our hours are changed all the time. my extern ship director isn't doing her job we were just informed to find our own dentist to go to for our extern ships. i have had 3 diff teachers in the last month so how the hell do they keep my grade right. i lost my job and financial aid is refusing to help me. they harass me with phone calls wen im absent. and no one can give me loans because Kaplan isn't accredited. so much drama and i don't even attend. last month i went for 2weeks out of the 4weeks and i got a B somehow..cool huh? not so great wen you wont kno wat the hell your doing wen ur out in the field. everyone needs to kno about my school. they cant help me pay for my tuition but they just bought a new flat screen t.v. and painted the whole school. amazing right??

Pobox333lisa (In Progress) on March 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Health Care -Run Away Many of the teachers barely have bachelor degrees, and often these are in strange obscure subject matter. They charge 15-20% higher for the books. I'm in the health degree and can't wait to get out. Horrible teachers, horrible support from school.No response from the teacher or even the chair. (J. Prakash)

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 11, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Run away , don't walk I am almost finished with my first term and I am looking to transfer. There is no support. Trying to get accurate answers from financial aid is extremely difficult. When ever errors occur you are financially responsible for them. I am in the medical assisting program and they charge - $353 per credit hour, $ 100 per term (technology fees) and $900 (during first term) for clinical fees. I should point out that no Kaplan employee will be at any clinical site and I still have to pay for my: CPR, student insurance (for my clinical), shots. I already own a stethoscope and blood pressure cuff. And I haven't received an uniform either. Everyone should also know that the $900 is non-refundable. Enrolling at Kaplan has been one of the most expensive mistakes of my life.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 1, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I Would Go Elsewhere This school is about 1 thing and 1 thing ONLY. Money. That's all they're interested in and that's quite clear from how hard they try to get your grant, loan, or personal money. I requested information about two career studies programs, medical assisting and medical transcription. After speaking to an advisor 3 times for over 3 hours total, and filling out a FAFSA to see what I might qualify for, I found out the med. trans. course is over $11,000 for the first year. I would have to take on a school loan debt of $8,000 to pay for that. I declined to enroll and they've been trying ever since to get me to agree to enroll. Once you turn them down and tell them that you can not take on that kind of personal debt, they will send you to supervisors who will try to buffalo and snow you into enrolling by using such hogwash as "low monthly payments for 10 years to pay off the loans". They'll tell you about their own school loans and how easy they were to pay off, etc. They'll call you house repeatedly after you've said that you're not interested, all in attempt to try to get you to enroll even though you have bad feelings about putting yourself in that kind of debt. School can't take no for an answer and have an OBVIOUS quota to fill. I'll pass, and will take Career Step or MTEC. I'd advise anyone reading this to do the same.

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 21, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Kaplan is the worse school I just finished my degree with Kaplan. I had nothing but trouble with them. The only good thing that comes from the school is the instructors. Finacial Aid, business office, etc would not help me with anything. When I first enrolled I was told I would have nothing out of pocket, but by my fourth term I was paying out of pocket, and by the sixth term they had doubled what I was paying. It took threatening to go to an attorney or the media and my payments went away and I got refunded some of the money that I paid in. They scam people that are honestly struggling to better themselves. I would not recommend this school to any one.

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 2, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
this school sucks The only good thing about this school is the teachers everything thing else is bad. Once they get your money they don't give a s*it about you.

Angeliquehanner (In Progress) on June 7, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Angelique Ok, I am currently in my 5th term with Kaplan University online. I have seen many posts on here where people were told they would not have any out of pocket expenses because the financial aid would cover it. I was told the same thing and after my 3rd term I recieved a bill saying I owed $300. I called them and the reason for it was they made a mistake. I signed up for the educational expense check and when they cut the check for me, they did not take out the $100 fee for the term. I told them that there was no way I could come up with that $300, so they made it so that it would be covered by my next set of financial aid. They did this, and also fixed it so that the $100 fee for each term is paid for and not mistakenly sent to me. The only issue I have with Kaplan is that it is very hard to contact my financial aid advisor, but I can speak with any of the advisors there, so that is not a big problem. I love this school, and I am very pleased with the professors and the classes.

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 16, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
horrible and still involved with it I never got any help from the finacial aid department. I applied for a citi assist loan for me and it went to the school and the school kept it and said that i can't have a loan for me, The citi assist loan approved me for the loan to help me with rent and other things but the school applied it to my next term, which was 8months away. they never ever cut me any checks for anything just applied everything to the next terms. i could never get in touch with my fin advisor and found out i didnt even have one and the person on the phone told me i would have to call that same number back and get one instead of helping me. the constintly would block me from the site like i am now and i have no reason why. i can't once again get ahold of anyone to find out why. classes just started i dont know what classes i have because I am blocked and no one will call me back or tell me why I am blocked. Yet they got the finacial aid they needed from me for this term so they are happy. I have sent they my clinical placement sites several times, I haven't heard from my clinical person once to tell me if he has called he lost it four times. It is sooooo expensive yet I have to pay for my CPR class, Physical (insurance wont when for clinicals) and immunizations out of pocket. It is not part of the plan here. I should have went somewhere, anywhere else.

KASHANRIV (In Progress) on March 27, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
KAPLAN IS A BIG JOKE I STARTED MY FIRST SEMESTER IN JULY OF 2008. IT WAS FUN AND EXCITING UNTIL I NEEDED TO DROP FROM SCHOOL TO KEEP FROM FAILLING AND WHAT DO YOU KNOW THE A.A. WOULDN'T RETURN A PHONE CALL. BUT WAIT THE GOOD PART IS THAT I DID FAIL THE ONE CLASS GOT KICKED OUT OF SCHOOL AND DIDN'T KNOW I WAS KICKED OUT OF SCHOOL UNTIL THE NEXT WEEK. I'M STILL WAITING ON MY PHONE CALL FROM MY A.A. AND MY LETTER FROM THE SCHOOL TELLING ME I'M DISMISSED I GUESS I WILL BE WAITING. DON'T GO TO KAPLAN AND WASTE YOUR MONEY IT'S NOT WORTH IT.

Starrshine33 (In Progress) on March 3, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
HORRIBLE COMMUNICATION!!! This school has THE worst communication ever!!! My academic advisor does not respond to my emails or calls and when she finally does, it's too late! I had decided to not finish my degree there (because she took too long to tell me about the clinical course) and asked her repeatedly to drop my classes for the next term (which had not started yet) so that I wasn't charged. She didn't. Books were shipped and now they expect ME to pay to ship them back to them!!!

You can help by Writing a review