Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kennedy Western University

2.9
53 Reviews
5 5 
4 22 
3 7 
2 5 
1 14 
0 0 

Kennedy Western University Reviews:

Bachelor Degree Obtained

Business Administration - May 26, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Bachelor Degree in October 2005. Prior to entering the program, I had KW send me documents and paperwork to allow a review by my company to occur, prior to me enrolling. They accommodated and a complete review was performed by our company HR organization. Upon completion of the review, I received approval to enroll and was authorized to receive tuition reimbursement. Once I submitted my enrollment paperwork I had to complete a series of tests, through KW, to ensure I was eligible to enroll. They were not just simple exams. Upon completion of the exams with a passing grade, I was told I would receive some credit for my previous working experience, but was only given a certain number of credits for that work. I was then provided a total number of classes I would be required to take in order to finish up a degree. It took me two years to complete the classes identified, write a 100 page document, submit it and receive approval, prior to receiving my diploma. I am proud to say I received my degree in October, 2005. I am certainly disappointed that I was not aware of this diploma mill situation until after the fact. I found my experience with KW to be extremely difficult but yet rewarding. To date my company has used my degree to allow me to move forward within the company and continue to allow me to broaden my horizons.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Worthwhile

Business Administration - November 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

KWU/Warren National University is a quality education at an affordable price. Top notch support and use of on-line materials. Accredited through the state of Wyoming, they applied for regional accreditation, but could not afford the process in the economic downturn in 2008, so they closed. There are thousands of brilliant and satisfied graduates throughout the world who would agree with my assessment.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Buildings or prestigious names doesn't make you intelligent

Business Administration - March 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had to have 60 hours credit, and pass a test before being accepted at Kennedy Western University. I didn't pass my test the first time and wasn't accepted in the program. I hired a tutor, and it took me nine months to pass the test and finally I was accepted in the program. My teachers were there for me, suggested expert tutors, taught me how to research pertinent information revelant to Business Administration, and to manage my time wisely. They suggested an internship and I acted on their suggestion. I volunteered at a local business on weekends and learned so much. Experience is one of the keys to success. I am proud to be a graduate of Kennedy Western University. My teachers were magnificent. Kennedy Western University was a private school and licensed in Wyoming like so many more colleges/universities. I studied hard and took each test in front of a proctor. My proctor never let me take one minute over the time that was alloted for a test, and he mailed the test. I am a success because I read, listened,and stayed focus. The organization I worked for gave me a 12,000.00 yearly increase because they saw a positive difference in me and the success of their organization after I graduated in 2002. Buildings or prestigious names doesn't make you intelligent.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Qualified but not Accredited

Business Administration - January 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kennedy Western University has been instrumental in achieving my career goals. I was a director level manager of a fortune 500 company. I had reached a level in my career that a BSBA was required to position myself for the next executive level. To accomplish this goal an HR representative recommended KWU with the full financial support of the corporation. It was explained to me that Kennedy Western University was a mid-career institution supporting corporate managers meet their professional goals with accreditations. The course work was extensive and test proctored. My final exam was a 100 page theses. The theses was returned to me and was read by the professor, marked throughout the paper identifying mistakes with recommendations. In 2003 I received my degree. I continued to work my way up to an executive level position of a fortune 100 company for the past 6 years. I believe KWU was one of the pioneering online institutions. The professors were contracted from much larger fully accredited colleges and universities. My professors were excellent replying to question and supporting the learning process. It was not an issue of quality education rather it is mater of well-heeled institutions protecting & maintaining their competitive enrollment advantage at the time. Today most Colleges, Universities and Private Universities offer online programs as a norm. Kennedy Western University is not a degree mill it was simply an institution ahead of its time, I believe if they would have had more financial backing they would have received full accreditation. For those reading this post, I recommend looking into what it takes to become accredited a real eye opener you will be suppressed. Recently, I decided to pursue an MBA for personal satisfaction and learned of all the bad PR KWU had received and other institution not accepting KWU transcripts for further education. With Respects, Qualified but not accredited

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Confused & Disappointed

Business Administration - July 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After 18 months of hard work and a gruesome thesis, I earned my MA degree in Bus Admin back in mid 2004 (I even went to CA to finalize paperwork for degree). I never had a problem with potential employers until last year when I applied for a job and during background check I was informed that KW was no longer in existence. My main concern: is my MA degree still valid?

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Got what I put into it... NOT MUCH

Business Administration - July 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received 40% "life experience" towards my DBA. Took some fairly simple repeatable exams for coursework. Wrote a long dissertation that I found very rewarding and interesting, but nobody at the University ever read it that I could tell. So an interesting experience in limited self-study, but certainly not an academic acheivement of any sort.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

The KWU PhD in Business was damn tough 2000-2003

Business Administration - March 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did get three courses waived for "life experiences," but that's because I provided KWU the course completions from Wharton and Sloan graduate level seminars done earlier via executive education, and also proof of my then current job as EVP of a $25m annual revenues manufacturer. The taken courses were based upon excellent texts and the exams difficult and proctored. The dissertation took 1,700 hours to write. I know there are "diploma mill burn-them-all-at-the-stake zealots" out there that trash KWU for not achieving regional accreditation, but the course work was tough, the submitted work tougher, and the knowledge learned invaluable still to date. The degree was earned. I work today with several PhDs, some of them dumb as rocks that have their doctorates from very questionable, but indeed regionally accredited, institutions.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

AN EXCELLENT PROGRAM

Business Administration - July 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at Kennedy Western was very good. I was able to speak with the faculty when needed, the curriculum and text books were excellent and I felt very good about the effort expended and the results received. I think it is unfortunate that Kennedy Western was singled out when so many other universities take advantage of their students and call it "accredited" education. Kennedy Western worked for the working man who couldn't leave work to get to a class at 6PM.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Business PhD, not usuable throughout my career

Business Administration - May 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my business admin PhD in 1995 but have yet to find any acceptance for it in the workplace, whether in the higher ed field or in private employment. My current employer does not recognize it or incent me for it, nor am I allowed to use it on any work stationery or communication.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

PhD/BA review

Business Administration - February 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Demanding courses, excellent texts, difficult tests, good faculty help whenever needed. Dissertation research long and time consuming, graded and passed by PAC 10 tenured professors. State accreditation. Regional failed to attain. For-profit owners pocketed all proceeds; invested little back into programs--NACS wouldn't accept excuses. Had almost 25 year run. Still excellent online education attained.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kennedy Western University in any way.