Kennedy Western University Comments

Sept. 5, 2007, 2:01 a.m.
0 votes/
99.8% does mislead well.  Or attempt to.
In law school we called that quoting the book title and never reading the book.  Footinmouthmaximus (A little Latin).

http://tlo2.tlc.state.tx.us/statutes/docs/PE/content/htm/pe.007.00.000032.00.htm
Sept. 4, 2007, 6:31 p.m.
0 votes/
Illegal only if 
(1)  uses or claims to hold a postsecondary degree that the person knows:
(A)  is a fraudulent or substandard degree;
(B)  is fictitious or has otherwise not been granted....
 
Keywords for those of you who graduated accredited schools is "That the person knows".
This is why Oregon lost the KW lawsuit.  The WNU students and faculty believe their credentials to be authentic.
Note:WNU is not required by any law to inform students of any Texas Laws.  Therefore how would any student know of the Texas definition.
Oh, I suppose you have memorized the entire legal code in your state.  You will try to say, Ignorance is no excuse under the law, but time and again under prescident law you are proven wrong. 
How about this- Name one person convicted under the Tx. law.
Texas can not and will not touch this.  It is a "Hot Potato."  Texas knows the first attempt at a conviction will end up in some WNU student owning the state of Texas.
Also left out is that the Employer must press charges, at which time the states AG will advise them otherwise.  Even if all is successful in getting a conviction it is just a misdemeanor, more likely just a warning.
Sept. 4, 2007, 2:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Texas lists KWU / WNU specifically and says:

Institutions Whose Degrees are Illegal to Use in Texas

The Texas Penal Code (Section 32.52) prohibits the use of fraudulent or substandard degrees "in a written or oral advertisement or other promotion of a business; or with the intent to: obtain employment; obtain a license or certificate to practice a trade, profession, or occupation; obtain a promotion, a compensation or other benefit, or an increase in compensation or other benefit, in employment or in the practice of a trade, profession, or occupation; obtain admission to an educational program in this state; or gain a position in government with authority over another person, regardless of whether the actor receives compensation for the position." Violation of this law is a Class B misdemeanor.

http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/AAR/Private...
Sept. 4, 2007, 6:05 a.m.
0 votes/
What made you to enroll in California Miramar University (formerly known as Pacific Western University)?  Did you compare any other universities?  Between Warren National University & California Miramar, why them?
Sept. 4, 2007, 4:47 a.m.
0 votes/
I keep seeing on this site that WNU is illegal in 3 soetimes 4 and sometimes 7 different states.  This is just not true.  I called the office of degree authorization in all 7 states and below is the general description for all.  (Remember, civil service jobs pay about half of what private sector pays and only make up about 2% of the jobs in any given state).  


"There are Colleges and universities which are not currently accredited by an accrediting body of the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (www.chea.org). Degrees from these institutions will not be accepted by the Civil Service Commission as satisfying any educational requirements indicated on job specifications." 

The lady in Texas even said that it is only a misdemenor to use an outright diploma mill diploma and Texas has yet to prosecute anyone for fear of not being able to get a prosecution.
Also her supervisor told me they are not allowed under federal law to call WNU a diploma mill.
Sept. 4, 2007, 4:08 a.m.
0 votes/
Today I enrolled in Pacific Western.  I am going to try it out.  Wish me luck.
Sept. 4, 2007, 3:53 a.m.
0 votes/
were there no accredited Universities before 1951?  How did our nation survive?  Oh how?

Oh that is right, ALL UNIVERSITIES were substandard prior to alcohol binge drinking, sex, drugs etc.
Accreditation, which happened curiously around the same time as LSD introduction, and communist teaching on campus does beg the question----Is it possible WNU standards will have to be lowered to get accreditation?  You bet.  That and a little grease money into the pockets of politicians.
Sept. 4, 2007, 3:11 a.m.
0 votes/
I love all this dialogue!
I've taken courses at the #2 public university in the nation - graduate level 18 credits thus far and I've done the same at KWU for undergraduate and actually the UVA one's were extremely similar.
What I liked about KWU is their asynchronus model, which is very nice and I can't wait for that to be so widespread.
Bricks and mortar schools have their place especially when heading straight into them from high school.
KWU is for the mid-level professional who has to keep a job down and a family together and still move ahead and keep up with what is going around.
I'm thankful to KWU - it has helped me finish up my undergraduate - took me almost two years.
I'm also thankful for those faculty from accredited higher education who saw a need and were willing to fill that need and provide their expertise even if the university is unaccredited.
It's been said truth generally goes this way:
1. It is first ridiculed by the establishment
2. It is then violently opposed by the establishment
3. It then becomes commonplace
Higher education is changing and it's places like KWU (now WNU) who venture out and seize the day!
Bricks and mortar institutions are changing, but they wouldn't change as quickly if it were not for front line efforts by places such as KWU/WNU.
Just ask our founding fathers what it cost to birth this country!
Sept. 4, 2007, 2:44 a.m.
0 votes/
WNU Board of directors
Why accreditation is just around the corner-------------------------
Paul Saltman 
President, Warren National University 
Cheyenne, WY 
B.A., California State University, Northridge 

Robert Patterson 
COO, Warren National University 
Cheyenne, WY 
B.A., University of California, San Diego 

Barry Soosman 
Attorney 
Westlake Village, CA 
J.D., University of Southern California 

F. Barron Fletcher, III 
Managing Director, Parallel Investment Partners 
Dallas, TX 
B.A., Yale University 

Clark R. Crosnoe 
Managing Director, Parallel Investment Partners 
Dallas, TX 
M.B.A., Harvard University 
B.A., University of Texas 

Donald W. Jungerman 
Partner, Four Corners Capital 
Dallas, TX 
B.S., Texas A&M University 

Judy Catchpole
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Wyoming 
Casper, WY
Sept. 3, 2007, 10:16 p.m.
0 votes/
Inside scoop is that they will be accredited before 2009.  Likely Fall/winter 2008.
Sept. 3, 2007, 9:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I think you have put the truth out about this university. As the Oregon Settlement clearly states that they are not a substandard school or diploma mill.  They offer students up to 30 Credits based on Work Experience, does not make them a diploma school.  Majority of Online Schools have the same practice, except, its hush hush with them.  Instead WNU is open and straight to the point.

As they have also applied for accreditation from the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, we have to see where that goes.  I think its typically 2 year process, so maye they will receive it in 2008.

I would like to hear from othera, as do you think North Central Association will give them accredidation or not?
Sept. 3, 2007, 9:49 p.m.
0 votes/
Yes, I would be interested in comparing the pay-stubs.  Typically, degree is a footing in the door and after that, it comes down to industry experience and whether you are part of the boys club or no.  No?
Sept. 3, 2007, 4:04 p.m.
0 votes/
Would you like to compare pay-stubs?

U238
Sept. 3, 2007, 2:19 p.m.
0 votes/
"Do not believe any of these accreditation lies about not getting jobs. Go forth and shine!"

It's one thing to try and rationalize your own poor decisisions on education, but please don't try and mislead others into the same mistake.
Sept. 3, 2007, 1:48 a.m.
0 votes/
Warren National University, formerly known as Kennedy-Western University, is an American distance learning private university that offers undergraduate and graduate degrees. It was established in 1984.
The institution has administrative offices in Agoura Hills, California, and corporate offices in Cheyenne, Wyoming. It is named for Francis E. Warren, the first governor of the state of Wyoming.
Licensing and accreditation
Warren is currently not accredited by any accreditation body recognized by its country. The institution is licensed by the Wyoming State Department of Education under W.S. 21-2-401 through 21-2-407. Warren has applied for accreditation from the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
It has been a member of the Mountain States Better Business Bureau since 1996.
Warren National offers nine degree programs: Bachelor's and Master degrees in business administration, computer science, management information systems, and health administration. Also offered is a doctorate in business administration.
The State of Oregon passed a law in error making it illegal for graduates to list Kennedy-Western on résumés, and referred to the school as a diploma mill.
In July 2004, the school filed a lawsuit challenging the law on behalf of three former students.
In December 2004, Kennedy-Western and Oregon reached a settlement (as Oregon conceded they violated the US constitution and slandered KW). Under the terms of the settlement, graduates of Kennedy-Western may now list the school on a résumé as long as they note in the résumé its unaccredited status. 
Under penalty of a felony, Oregon State Office of Degree Authorization staff may not ever again refer to the school as a diploma mill or substandard in any respect and any attempt to interfere in private sector affairs by state government will be met with swift federal executive prosecution/punishment of such individuals up to and including heavy fines and imprisonment, however, the State still does not have to allow the degrees to be used for governmental employment (or for professional licenses which make up less than 2% of the total workforce).
Sept. 3, 2007, 1:46 a.m.
0 votes/
On WNU (my club).
I studied nuclear science.  I loved my classes.  I had a crazy teacher he wore dark glasses.  Things are going great and they are only getting better.  I'm doing all right, from getting good grades, my futures so bright, I gotta wear shades.

100 thou a year buys a lotta beer!!!

Do not believe any of these accreditation lies about not getting jobs.  Go forth and shine!
Sept. 3, 2007, 12:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Good question.  
So even MIT was once unaccredited?

Yup!  And if you have a pre accredited degree there you may be illegal in at least 3 states!
Ref: Some Clown on this website who keeps repeating it.
Sept. 3, 2007, 12:40 a.m.
0 votes/
More proof that existing schools are maintaining a monopoly?  Yup.
Sept. 3, 2007, 12:38 a.m.
0 votes/
A decade is about how long it takes for a university to get accredited.  So please tell me, anyone, cause I gots ta know.  How do we start a new university pray tell?
Sept. 2, 2007, 8:17 p.m.
0 votes/
Accreditation is a club like anything else.  People who like golf for example are a club.  People adore people who are like themselves because they are in love with themselves.  Everything from collecting tropical fish to what color our skin puts us in a club.  One may choose to belong to several clubs.  For example a recent news story of a guy who belonged in the Black club, NFL club and Dog Fighting club.  People who condemn others for belonging to a certain club have prejudices because they likely know little about the club they ridicule.  Many choose to live their whole life in ignorance.
Accredited Universities like Dog Fighting clubs believe their way is the only way, and it may be so for them.  There will undoubtedly be others who disagree that it is ok to abuse another club for who they are.  Let our creator judge.  That is his final business with us.
Sept. 2, 2007, 6:33 p.m.
0 votes/
I liked my KWU matriculation.  It was asynchronus and very helpful for me attaining my goals.  I've taken online graduate level courses at the #2 public university in the nation, the University of Virginia and my experience is very similar.  The main difference I came away with is that we chatted more on the UVA graduate courses than on the KWU undergrad courses.  In fact I received better scores at UVA than at KWU, but I'm sure I've learned much since my KWU degree so that played a part as well.  What about all those physics professors at accredited institutions that observed the fall of the twin towers buildings on 9/11/2001 and aren't applying their physics education to the alleged reasons for how the buildings fell?  Why don't we hear from them and their accredited students?  Now there's something to think about.  I digressed; me thinks folks protest too much regarding accreditation.  Yes accreditation can be good and was sorely needed back in the 1800's with the plethora of colleges rising up back then, but when forced then it is stifling.  Freedom-wise, if an institution does not want to be accredited so be it.
Sept. 2, 2007, 1:37 a.m.
0 votes/
"She said you can get an associates degrees in less than two years there. True?"

Unaccredited universities vary in their curriculum and timing.  Here is a sample of unaccredited degrees you can find on Google quickly.

Rochville University – Can get your unaccredited degree in 5 business days.  

www.affordabledegrees.com

Almeda University

You may already qualify for an unaccredited degree!  Just the time it takes to assess your life experience.

www.almedauniversity.org

A federal employee got her Doctorate from unaccredited Hamilton University with a 4 page paper.

http://www.gcn.com/online/vol1_no1/22294-1.html


For Kennedy Western / Warren National, a gal got 40% of a Master’s degree in 16 hours of study, so an Associates should be less, you could guess.

You can read the sworn Senate testimony about it here:

"Federal Employees have Obtained Degrees from Diploma Mills and Other Unaccredited Schools, Some at Government Expense."
http://www.gao.gov/new.items/d04771t.pdf......
Sept. 2, 2007, 12:31 a.m.
0 votes/
"It May Take Hours, But You Too Can Earn a University Degree"

http://www.oregonlive.com/news/oregonian...

The Oregonian Newspaper 7/4/04
Aug. 31, 2007, 5:09 a.m.
0 votes/
It is my pleasure to see that in the great nation as America, there are still Idiots and Fools that exist.  We wonder why so many of our high paying respectable positions are being sent to other countries, blame it on folks like Elliot & Anna.  Where did they read or see that KW or WNU is a Diploma Mill?

As for the notion that one can get Associates Degree in less than two years, this is true with even online institutions that are accredited.  

What a shame, I can see why our country is headed in the wrong direction. It's because of the friendly fools such as Elliot & Anna.   

Education was about fostering/creating a thought process, if WNU gives Indepedent Study based ones learning style, than why not. It's better than brick & morter, where person has to sit there for three - fours hours and listen to professors yap yap yap.  For some this work, others Online works.  

I think what I would like to know is why does everyone feel WNU Should not be accredited?
Aug. 31, 2007, 4:40 a.m.
0 votes/
To Anna
No, of course not.  Just respectable careers.
Aug. 31, 2007, 4:38 a.m.
0 votes/
I want to be a movie star.  Do they teach that there?
Aug. 31, 2007, 4:32 a.m.
0 votes/
To Anna-
They are a diploma mill, not million.  Basically you just send them $10.00 and they send you a degree in a day or two.  I stopped by their office in Wy. and used a credit card to get a Phd in about 5 minutes.  I now work as a brain surgeon in Brooklyn.  Messed a few brains up, but my brother in law who got the $800.00 law degree is my lawyer, and a good one at that!!  He gets me out of trouble and I write him free pain killer scrips for his help.  Oh and my mom is my scrub nurse.  You guessed it,  she got the $250.00 BS in Nursing speed-course from them.
I think some of the accredited university doctors here may be catching on.  Never thought I would last 15 years here at the Mount. S.  I guess if they lay me off I will go do the pilots course at WNU and try working for Delta - yea that sounds like fun!
Aug. 31, 2007, 4:16 a.m.
0 votes/
This website must be owned secretly by WNU.  It is so pro WNU.  
My girlfriend says WNU is a Diploma Million.  What does that mean?
She said you can get an associates degrees in less than two years there.  True?
Aug. 31, 2007, 4:09 a.m.
0 votes/
The end is near for old school technique.  BYE-BYE old school, hello online learning.
Aug. 30, 2007, 6:54 p.m.
0 votes/
Let's be honest, WNU is a legitmate instituion that is trying to make a difference in the world of education.  They are not claiming their students will be Academia Research Scholars, rather students who can contribute the corporate sector. 

With that, there are tons of other schools online that have been accredited, which are bogus.  They compare nowhere interms of their technolgoy infrastructure, online education values, library resources, but still end up getting accredidation.

The only thing university does which a lot of online schools do is get work credit up to 30 credits.  Because of this, they should not be accredited?   Other than that most online schools transfer up to 90 Degrees in the Bachelors Program, same policy is with WNU/KWU.

Explain to me why the school shouldn't deserve accredidation?
Aug. 30, 2007, 5:47 a.m.
0 votes/
"Common, boring, average and ordinary brick and mortar Universities be scared. Be real scared. Online learning is coming like a tidal wave on the beach"

Couldn't agree more.  Luckily there are hundreds of legitimate online degree options from regionally accredited universities to choose from.
Aug. 30, 2007, 2:50 a.m.
0 votes/
PLEASE PEOPLE JUST STOP THE WARREN NATIONAL DEBATE.  THIS IS JUST FREE PUBLICITY FOR THEM.  OPEN YOUR EYES, THIS  UNIVERSITY DOES NOT DESERVE THE ATTENTION.  WNU IS RAPIDLY GROWING AND TAKING OVER.  THEY REALLY ARE RICH (LOTS OF DOUGH RICH).  ALL THE PUBLICITY JUST GIVES THEM FREE NAME RECOGNITION.  I HATE TO SAY IT, MONEY TALKS AND IF THE DEMOCRATS GET ELECTED THEY WILL BE IN WNUs HIP POCKET.  WITH A RAPIDLY DECAYING INFRASTRUCTURE IN THE US, THE GOVT WILL HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS ISSUE AND WNU IS FAR AND BY STRONGER FINANCIALLY THAN ANY OTHER UNIVERSITY.  THEY WILL OWN THE DNC -PEOPLE-PLEASE GET A CLUE.
SHOULD THEY GROW AS MUCH IN THE NEXT 15 YEARS AS THEY HAVE IN THE LAST 10 YEARS THEY WILL DOMINATE AMERICAN CULTURE.  JUST STOP THE DEBATE FOR THE GOOD NAME OF ACCREDITATION.
Aug. 30, 2007, 12:16 a.m.
0 votes/
Steers and ......
Aug. 29, 2007, 7:13 a.m.
0 votes/
The State of Texas calls Kennedy Western "University" a:

Fraudulent or Substandard Institution with No Known Texas Connection

Fraudulent or substandard degree" means a degree conferred in Texas in violation of the Texas Education Code

http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/AAR/Private......

I love online learning, and encourage all those considering that option to look into real, accredited, online universities.
Aug. 29, 2007, 5:17 a.m.
0 votes/
Common, boring, average and ordinary brick and mortar Universities be scared.  Be real scared.  Online learning is coming like a tidal wave on the beach.  WNU is one of the wealthiest universities on gods good earth.  Positioned for success.  Payback for your arrogant and corrupt government politician backed so called accreditation programs will be sudden and final.  It is not too late to come over to our side.  Believe in God and also in WNU.
Aug. 29, 2007, 5:09 a.m.
0 votes/
Again, WNU debates go nowhere.  No winners no loosers just people wasting their time and giving WNU free publicity.
Aug. 29, 2007, 5:02 a.m.
0 votes/
Warren National University, formerly known as Kennedy-Western University, is an American distance learning private university that offers undergraduate and graduate degrees. It was established in 1984.
The institution has administrative offices in Agoura Hills, California, and corporate offices in Cheyenne, Wyoming. It is named for Francis E. Warren, the first governor of the state of Wyoming.
Licensing and accreditation
Warren is currently not accredited by any accreditation body recognized by its country. The institution is licensed by the Wyoming State Department of Education under W.S. 21-2-401 through 21-2-407. Warren has applied for accreditation from the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
It has been a member of the Mountain States Better Business Bureau since 1996.
Warren National offers nine degree programs: Bachelor's and Master degrees in business administration, computer science, management information systems, and health administration. Also offered is a doctorate in business administration.
The State of Oregon passed a law in error making it illegal for graduates to list Kennedy-Western on résumés, and referred to the school as a diploma mill.
In July 2004, the school filed a lawsuit challenging the law on behalf of three former students.
In December 2004, Kennedy-Western and Oregon reached a settlement (as Oregon conceded they violated the US constitution and slandered KW). Under the terms of the settlement, graduates of Kennedy-Western may now list the school on a résumé as long as they note in the résumé its unaccredited status. 
Under penalty of a felony, Oregon State Office of Degree Authorization staff may not ever again refer to the school as a diploma mill or substandard in any respect and any attempt to interfere in private sector affairs by state government will be met with swift federal executive prosecution/punishment of such individuals up to and including heavy fines and imprisonment, however, the State still does not have to allow the degrees to be used for governmental employment (or for professional licenses which make up less than 2% of the total workforce).
Aug. 29, 2007, 4:56 a.m.
0 votes/
Another government accreditation ape
Aug. 29, 2007, 4:52 a.m.
0 votes/
To:Ho Hum
And your reference for your "fact" is....?
Aug. 28, 2007, 6:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Of course, 98.3216% of statistics with no credible source cited are just plain B.S.

I had the best laugh at this one:

"Only about 25% of employers actually check the educational credentials of new employees. The other 75% base their hiring practices on experience and word-of-mouth referrals."

Of course, again, no source cited. Any competent corporation, and all universities verify credentials. The ones that don't must be sole proprietors, small partnerships, or fast food restaurants that do not have the savvy or the means to protect themselves.
Aug. 28, 2007, 4:21 a.m.
0 votes/
The debate over accredited versus non-accredited came up all the time when I worked for the U.S. Department of Education. Because the academic world sees the nature of degrees versus experiences from a different perspective than does the workforce, neither is willing to budge much on their stance. And here's why: Statistics show that 60% of those who attend college, whether they be traditional universities, online universities, unaccredited or accredited, never actually use what they learned or were supposed to have been taught after they graduate from college. They use the degree to get in the door, end up doing something totally different or unrelated to their educational background, and actually do quite well. Statistics also show that 43% of new hirees are retrained to do their jobs using concepts vastly differently from what they learned in college. The shocking statistic was the number of employers who actually verify educational credentials when hiring someone. Only about 25% of employers actually check the educational credentials of new employees. The other 75% base their hiring practices on experience and word-of-mouth referrals (opinions) of your references or previous supervisors. But of course, they don't tell potential employees that.

A friend of mine who sat on regional and national accrediting bodies for probably 15 years told me "accredited or nonaccredited, it's all about money and poeple keeping their jobs these days; school officials will promise or say anything to the accrediting bodies these days to keep their doors open." I'm inclined to believe him at this point because I've seen some accredited institutions that should never have been opened!

Just some thoughts...

Robert
Aug. 27, 2007, 10:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Ref: TheFalconNest
You just made my point -Thank You_
Aug. 27, 2007, 10:33 p.m.
0 votes/
Ref:indianpoint
What you are saying is not fair.  You are just mean!
Not everyone is as smart as you.  I barely passed college and can not remember anything I learned back then (1974-1977).  I spent most of my time getting stoned, LSD DUIs, car wrecks jail etc. Heck I do not even know if Armstrong State College, Ga (My school) is now or was accredited back then.
I make about 90K a year at a paper mill as an engineer and never had to take the PE test.  I know I could never pass because I cant even pass the EIT.. Itried 3 times and gave up..
So you can take your tests for defending degrees and stick it.
Aug. 26, 2007, 10 p.m.
0 votes/
On accreditation:
I have a PE license I have to defend with periodicity.  I have to take an exhausting exam that has a high failure rate.
I have a reactor operators license I have to defend with periodicity.  I have to take an exhausting exam that has a high failure rate.
I have a BS in nuclear engineering (yes an accredited university) that well, lets just say I get to keep for life, unchallenged.  I could get in a car accident and become a blooming mental retard and still use the damn thing.
Accreditation monkeys sell accreditation as this great thing to end all worldly wrongs.  
Why not make it a lot tougher?  Why not make degree holders have to defend the degrees and keep them current (A BSME today anywhere is more difficult than MIT in the 1950s.
Here is why it will never happen.  Ready--------------------------------
Degreed people could not defend their degree and would by and large loose them.

That said, I think we see who the real scammers are.
Aug. 24, 2007, 9:52 p.m.
0 votes/
I am just amazed at the fact that Aiken Tech had the audiocity to question the credential/work completed at Cal Poly Tech.  Over the years, my thoughts have been that Education is a Business and just as corporate their goal is to make $$$$$$$$$$$.  Whether they are Non-Profit, Profit Based, University, College or On-Line, at end of day, its all about $$$$.  With that, than comes in the fact of accredited vs unaccredited and its all a scam. For example, when folks go to HR Block, Jackson Hewitt, Liberty Tax, to get their tax returns completed, they dont question the fact that most of tax preparers are thought by those institutions. They are not accredited to educate, but still offer jobs after completing their 8 - 10 weeks of coursework.   I am a strong supporter of On-Line education as it has a lot of benefit in the modern world of work-life-balance and shame that unaccredited school trying to go for their creditation is being shot down completely.  

Bigtoe - What was Aiken's justfication for not accepting the credits?
Aug. 24, 2007, 3:12 p.m.
0 votes/
My wife had about 3 years of a four year degree (BS in accounting) accomplished at expensive California Poly Tech (regionally accredited etc.).  Then I took a good paying job in Aiken South Carolina, and we moved there. 
She wanted to finish her degree and the only nearby college was Aiken Tech.  
Now here is a relatively unknown hick-town college albeit regionally accredited, DOE-the whole 9 yards.  Get this-they only credited her for about one fourth of her work.  She spent another 3 years in school.  Now give me a break!  Cal-Poly vs Aiken-Hick-Tech-the nerve.
My point is, if you ever transfer to another school it may not be on your terms and you may have to take what you get and these universities know it.
Personally I do not know anything about KWU.  But in our case, the transfer of credits was so lousy that from the sound of things it would not have made much difference had she come from this KW or WN or whatever.  KW would have cost less it sounds like, and since 3/4 was thrown away, well you be the judge.
Aug. 24, 2007, 5:09 a.m.
0 votes/
No.  Only other unaccredited universities will even consider it.
Aug. 23, 2007, 11:45 p.m.
0 votes/
Has any student been able to get their credits transferred to another institution or continue for another degree program with either WNU or KW Degree?  If so, please advise on instiution where you continued or that accepted your coursework.
Aug. 23, 2007, 3:29 a.m.
0 votes/
I got my degree from Rochville University.  They are accredited, unlike Warren National.  WNU is a fraud!
Aug. 20, 2007, 5:34 p.m.
0 votes/
If you are going to waste $10,000+ on an unaccredited degree, go to Rochville University instead, you can get it in 5-7 business days according to their website.
Aug. 20, 2007, 4:07 p.m.
0 votes/
"A Warren National/KW degree (about 10-12K total) would certainly accomplish more extra income earned per income spent ratio."

$10 - $12,000 for a college degree???  I suppose that sounds right if the Senate testimony gal could get alot of classes waived for undocumented "life experience" and pass two graduate classes in a weekend.

That was for some type of engineering degree.  Makes me feel safe.
Aug. 19, 2007, 5:25 p.m.
0 votes/
I need to revise what I said above.  I must have been drunk!

What I meant to say is "And their degrees are far far superior to Harvard".  That said, you would be quite misguided if you spent 150K tuition on a Harvard Degree, 200K counting books -and 275K after interest charges.  Oh, and not being able to work while attending Harvard would tally about 500 to 600K total loss-cost (for those of you who graduated University of Oklahoma, that is a cool half million plus). A Warren National/KW degree (about 10-12K total) would certainly accomplish more extra income earned per income spent ratio.

The biggest no brainer in the history of planet earth!!!
Aug. 19, 2007, 5:44 a.m.
0 votes/
And there degreees are better than harvard!

You are stupid if you go to any other collige than Kennedy western
Aug. 17, 2007, 5 a.m.
0 votes/
Does Kennedy Western University even exist any more?  I thought it was closed?
Aug. 13, 2007, 9:25 p.m.
0 votes/
The less government involvement the better.  Our founding forefathers (I know, a bunch of dead white guys)wanted government out of the education business.  Fact is they wanted small government all around.  You accreditation wonks really just want government involved because that is what brings you your power and feelings of superiority.  I trust the wisdom of our forefathers more than "Igloo".  
Degrees should have no impact on who we hire just as Job history should not give life experience towards education.
Aug. 13, 2007, 5:54 a.m.
0 votes/
You should have included the next paragraph of your link...

"In order to ensure a basic level of quality, the practice of accreditation arose in the United States as a means of conducting non-governmental, peer evaluation of educational institutions and programs. Private educational associations of regional or national scope have adopted criteria reflecting the qualities of a sound educational program and have developed procedures for evaluating institutions or programs to determine whether or not they are operating at basic levels of quality."

http://www.ed.gov/admins/finaid/accred/accreditation_pg2.html#U.S
Aug. 13, 2007, 5:53 a.m.
0 votes/
Trying to explain accreditation to Kennedy Western "graduates" is like trying to explain snow to Egyptians.
Aug. 12, 2007, 8:54 p.m.
0 votes/
http://www.ed.gov/admins/finaid/accred/accreditation_pg2.html#U.S.

"The United States has no Federal ministry of education or other centralized authority exercising single national control over educational institutions in this country. The States assume varying degrees of control over education, but, in general, institutions of post secondary education are permitted to operate with considerable independence and autonomy.
Aug. 12, 2007, 8:44 p.m.
0 votes/
The Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Office of Education, Bureau of Higher and Continuing Education, Division of Eligibility and Agency Evaluation state as follows: 

"The United States has no Federal ministry of education or other centralized authority exercising single national control over educational institutions in this country. The States assume varying degrees of control over education, but, in general, institutions of post secondary education are permitted to operate with considerable independence and autonomy.  


The United States Department of Education states: 

"Degrees granted or issued in conformance with cited statutes...are all equally legal under the law. Judgments of value and applicability of a certain degree are not made by the law or by the State. The appropriateness of a degree or the applicability of a degree to a job or the transfer of education credit is decided by those who must render such evaluations for those specific purposes."  

Warren National University receives its licensure through the State Department of Education, under W.S. 21-2-401 through 21-2-407. Such oversight requires the University to meet the standards as indicated within Article 4: Private School Licensing.
Aug. 12, 2007, 8:16 p.m.
0 votes/
Nice Try Mr or Mrs "Accreditation Defined".

First, the Merriam-Webster definition is as follows. 
Main Entry: ac·cred·it  
Pronunciation: \?-kre-d?t\ 
Function: transitive verb 
Etymology: Latin accreditus, past participle of accredere to give credence to, from ad- + credere to believe — more at creed 

1: to give official authorization to or approval of: a: to provide with credentials; especially : to send (an envoy) with letters of authorization b: to recognize or vouch for as conforming with a standard c: to recognize (an educational institution) as maintaining standards that qualify the graduates for admission to higher or more specialized institutions or for professional practice
2: to consider or recognize as outstanding

I am so sorry as I do not see a mention of Government anywhere above.  Would you go to the federal or state government for a definition of say "Bogus" or "Incorrect"?

Would you go to the KKK to find a definition of Human?  

Oh-I see you go where best suits your opinion. 

Leave definitions to the Dictionary my friend.  You will be well served.
Aug. 11, 2007, 2:51 a.m.
0 votes/
Arizona does not define accreditation on their website.  There are thousands of accredited diploma mills.  Just not accredited by Federal DOE approved orgs.
Aug. 10, 2007, 1:05 p.m.
0 votes/
"I just took a job as a school teacher with a KW degree. The staff at the middle school said KW is just as legal here in Arizona (where I work)as any other degree."

Again, more misinformation.  The Arizona department of education requires accredited degrees.  Here is a link to the state website.

http://www.ade.state.az.us/certification/faqs.asp

"An official transcript is a record of courses taken from a university or college bearing the official seal and signature of the registrar of the institution. All degrees, programs and courses must be taken from an accredited institution."
Aug. 10, 2007, 7:04 a.m.
0 votes/
Where did you hear/confirm that WNU will get accredidation before 2009?  

Their license is extended by Wyomying till 2008, so might happen even before that, no?
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:54 a.m.
0 votes/
Right, you are right-even the principal and BOE president have one.  Do I know you?
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:52 a.m.
0 votes/
Brewer- Probably becuse they all have KW degrees also.  Tell me I am not right.
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:50 a.m.
0 votes/
I just took a job as a school teacher with a KW degree.  The staff at the middle school said KW is just as legal here in Arizona (where I work)as any other degree.
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:41 a.m.
0 votes/
University of Oklahoma?  Did not know anyone in OK could even read.
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Lawaker, you forgot the question mark on your question and used a period.  

I and likely no one else can answer your question though.

Rumor has it WNU will get accreditation before 2009.
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Do tell, how did people learn before accreditation, a relatively new concept.
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:28 a.m.
0 votes/
Anything less than MIT or Harvard is worthless anyways. So it does not matter people!
Aug. 10, 2007, 6:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Warren National University, formerly known as Kennedy-Western University, is an American distance learning private university that offers undergraduate and graduate degrees. It was established in 1984.
The institution has administrative offices in Agoura Hills, California, and corporate offices in Cheyenne, Wyoming. It is named for Francis E. Warren, the first governor of the state of Wyoming.
Licensing and accreditation
Warren is currently not accredited by any accreditation body recognized by its country. The institution is licensed by the Wyoming State Department of Education under W.S. 21-2-401 through 21-2-407. Warren has applied for accreditation from the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
It has been a member of the Mountain States Better Business Bureau since 1996.
Warren National offers nine degree programs: Bachelor's and Master degrees in business administration, computer science, management information systems, and health administration. Also offered is a doctorate in business administration.
The State of Oregon passed a law in error making it illegal for graduates to list Kennedy-Western on résumés, and referred to the school as a diploma mill.
In July 2004, the school filed a lawsuit challenging the law on behalf of three former students.
In December 2004, Kennedy-Western and Oregon reached a settlement (as Oregon conceded they violated the US constitution and slandered KW). Under the terms of the settlement, graduates of Kennedy-Western may now list the school on a résumé as long as they note in the résumé its unaccredited status. 
Under penalty of a felony, Oregon State Office of Degree Authorization staff may not ever again refer to the school as a diploma mill or substandard in any respect and any attempt to interfere in private sector affairs by state government will be met with swift federal executive prosecution/punishment of such individuals up to and including heavy fines and imprisonment, however, the State still does not have to allow the degrees to be used for governmental employment (or for professional licenses which make up less than 2% of the total workforce).
Aug. 12, 2007, 5:11 p.m.
0 votes/
"accredited by an accrediting agency or state approval agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a “reliable authority as to the quality of postsecondary education” within the meaning of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA)."

http://www.ope.ed.gov/accreditation/
Aug. 12, 2007, 4:29 p.m.
0 votes/
To Ichea.  So then "Unacceptable for teaching....." is wrong?
Aug. 10, 2007, 3:37 a.m.
0 votes/
Found a great response in a Q&A for you.

"Question from Steve Keuper. Kennedy Western University:
    Many students at KWU feel that the sales folk have mislead them about accredidation not being so important, is there a way to get our money back?"

Answer "You need to discuss that with the consumer protection offices in the California and Wyoming Departments of Justice. Because Kennedy-Western has an agreement with the Oregon Attorney General not to offer degrees to Oregon residents, we do not see their promotional material and we don't know what claims they make. Their degrees are illegal for use in Oregon and a few other states."


This is part of a Chronicle of HIgher Education discussion regarding the question:

"Diploma mills continue to churn out new "graduates" every day. What should legitimate colleges do about them? Is government action called for?" 

http://chronicle.com/colloquylive/2004/06/diploma/
Aug. 10, 2007, 2:13 a.m.
0 votes/
I attended KWU and was not told any of this was going on. I knew they were unacredited and at that time I didn't realize the importance the world put on accreditation. I was told my degree would be accepted by everyone except the top Ivy league schools so I could not teach there. Since I didn't want to teach anyway I was not concerned. 

I feel I have been lied to and used. The word "Fraud" comes to mind. Anyone know where can I find a lawyer to get my money back so I can go to an accredited university?

Hoodwinked.
Aug. 9, 2007, 4:41 p.m.
0 votes/
For JAG

Agree 100%

Where you go to school doesn't matter nearly as much was what you do with your education and what you got out of it.  

Naturally if you do really well at an Ivy school the chances are you will do well in the work field becasue the reputation of the school will reinforce your academic achievments.  I would never say anything less then an IVY education isnt worth it.  There are plenty of schools big and small that rival the Ivy league schools.

UCSA, Rutgers, NYU, U.Chicago, USanFran., U.Florida................UMass.

Small Schools

Bates, Bowndin, Swarthmore, Bryn Mawr, Haverford, Tufts, Babson.............College of New Jersey.


All of these schools provide great educations comparable to an Ivy education.
Aug. 9, 2007, 12:32 p.m.
0 votes/
What major are you looking at?  I would be glad to point you towards some legitimate online programs that would fit.
Sept. 28, 2007, 9:06 p.m.
0 votes/
The following are some of the Online Education provdiers that have similar programs/policies as Warren National University. 

Strayer University

www.strayer.edu - Gives Credit for Life Experience

Work/Life Experience
Undergraduate students may be able to receive credit for their work or life experience; more information on this process is available through your Admissions Officer or Academic Advisor.

Ashworth University

www.ashworthuniversity.edu

Bachelor’s Degree
You may receive credit for up to 75% of your degree program as a combination of transfer credits from other institutions and life/work experience. Life/work experience credit is limited to 30 credits: 15 credits for general education courses and 15 credits for core and/or concentration courses. Credits must be no more than ten years old and be from an accredited institution.

Ashworth University is an Accredited Member of the Distance Education and Training Council, The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), The Commission on International and Trans-Regional Accreditation (CITA). Also, Ashworth University meets the requirements of the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission to offer instruction in career programs, associate, bachelor's and master's degree programs.

------------------------------------------------------------
American Sentinel University 
http://www.americansentinel.edu

American Sentinel University recognizes that many students have already established and achieved substantial professional goals. We acknowledge students' life and work experience by awarding up to 30 credits toward the completion of the general education curriculum requirements.

Students may receive a total of up to 90 hours credit through a combination of credits transferred from other universities, for specific professional certifications, and credit awarded for life and work experience.

American Sentinel University is accredited by the Distance Education and Training Council. The Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council is listed by the U.S. Department of Education as a nationally recognized accrediting agency and is a recognized member of the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

------------------------------------------------------------

With all this said and being an accredited US Institution, are they also a Diploma Mill? Looking at them, Warren National Makes their policies upfront, rather than being sneaky. Whats the big deal?

Based on this, don't you think WNU should be accredited also? They are following the same requirements as these universities. There are plenty of more out there.
Aug. 9, 2007, 3:45 a.m.
0 votes/
"What are the chances of KW/WNU getting accreditation? "

Virtually none.  They've been at it for 24 years and no luck.  They've moved through 5? states and no luck.  Their degrees are illegal in many states such as Oregon (see above link).

Just move on, there are tons of real, accredited schools out there.

If you are set on an unaccredited degree, I would look at Rochville University, which is unaccredited like KWU/WNU, but you can get your degree in weeks instead of months.
Aug. 8, 2007, 2:27 a.m.
0 votes/
Walter Worcestre,

That has to be the most asinine comment anyone has ever posted. I currently supervise a "Harvard Grad" and while she is quite talented and intelligent I would put my University of Oklahoma education up against hers any day.

JAG
Aug. 7, 2007, 6:49 a.m.
0 votes/
Anything less than MIT or Harvard is worthless anyways.  So it does not matter people!
Aug. 7, 2007, 6:43 a.m.
0 votes/
But have gotten 7 interviews this past month.  Before KW I never got even one interview in 6 months.
Aug. 7, 2007, 6:39 a.m.
0 votes/
I did get a pay raise with my WNU degree, I think.  Hard to tell if it was just coincidence and I have not asked my boss about it.  One day I will.
Aug. 7, 2007, 6:36 a.m.
0 votes/
Yes, true.  KW/WNU debates never do go anywhere.
Aug. 7, 2007, 6:32 a.m.
0 votes/
Warren National University, formerly known as Kennedy-Western University, is an American distance learning private university that offers undergraduate and graduate degrees. It was established in 1984.
The institution has administrative offices in Agoura Hills, California, and corporate offices in Cheyenne, Wyoming. It is named for Francis E. Warren, the first governor of the state of Wyoming.
Licensing and accreditation
Warren is currently not accredited by any accreditation body recognized by its country. The institution is licensed by the Wyoming State Department of Education under W.S. 21-2-401 through 21-2-407. Warren has applied for accreditation from the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
It has been a member of the Mountain States Better Business Bureau since 1996.
Warren National offers nine degree programs: Bachelor's and Master degrees in business administration, computer science, management information systems, and health administration. Also offered is a doctorate in business administration.
The State of Oregon passed a law in error making it illegal for graduates to list Kennedy-Western on résumés, and referred to the school as a diploma mill.
In July 2004, the school filed a lawsuit challenging the law on behalf of three former students.
In December 2004, Kennedy-Western and Oregon reached a  settlement (as Oregon conceded they violated the US constitution and slandered KW). Under the terms of the settlement, graduates of Kennedy-Western may now list the school on a résumé as long as they note in the résumé its unaccredited status. 
Under penalty of a felony, Oregon State Office of Degree Authorization staff may not ever again refer to the school as a diploma mill or substandard in any respect and any attempt to interfere in private sector affairs by state government will be met with swift federal executive prosecution/punishment of such individuals up to and including heavy fines and imprisonment, however, the State still does not have to allow the degrees to be used for governmental employment (or for professional licenses  which make up less than 2% of the total workforce).
Aug. 4, 2007, 4:33 a.m.
0 votes/
What are the chances of KW/WNU getting accreditation?  Since they are a candidate for accredidation, is this still an Issue with the HR Departments or what?

Anyone out there been able to obtain a job with the KW/WNU Degree, please share your thoughts.
Aug. 4, 2007, 3:15 a.m.
0 votes/
Only a Class B misdemeanor, nice "win", LOL.

"In addition, an individual using an unaccredited degree, even if the employer allows use of such degrees, must disclose on resumes, letterheads, business cards, announcements and advertisements that "(Name of school) does not have accreditation recognized by the United States Department of Education and has not been approved by the Office of Degree Authorization." ORS 348.609(2)(a). The only exception is for schools approved by ODA. See ORS 348.609(d) and OAR 583-050-0014.

It is a Class B Misdemeanor under the Oregon Criminal Code to use a degree in violation of ORS 348.609."
Aug. 3, 2007, 2:44 a.m.
0 votes/
You just have to say so on your resume.

These KW debates never go anywhere.
Aug. 3, 2007, 2:41 a.m.
0 votes/
Oregon State does not dis-allow using a non accredited degree.  That is why they got sued and lost!  WTF?
July 27, 2007, 4:14 p.m.
0 votes/
States where it is illegal with link.

Here are the 7 seven states where it is outright illegal (10 total with various restrictions) to use an unaccredited Kennedy Western / Warren National "degree".

"Is Oregon the only state that disallows use of unaccredited degrees?

No. It is also illegal in North Dakota, New Jersey, Texas, Nevada, Washington and Maine to use unaccredited degrees. It is illegal in Indiana to use an unaccredited doctorate and Michigan law limits the legal options of users. Illinois limits the use of unaccredited degrees to those licensed by other states.

See those states’ laws

http://www.osac.state.or.us/oda/unaccred...

for details. Many other states are considering similar laws in order to prevent fraud."
Aug. 18, 2007, 5:37 a.m.
0 votes/
Johann

Duh!  Are you for real.  It is perhaps one of the wealthiest learning institutions on planet earth!
July 11, 2007, 5:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Graduating from KWU with an unaccredited degree is useless, I can't understand for the life of me why anyone would want to consider attending an institution with no academic standing in the academic community.  For the time and effort put into obtaining your KWU degree you probably could attend a smaller local college with very little reputation.  

What does attending an unaccredited school mean for those who graduate from KWU.

First off it means you'll never be able to transfer credits towards another degree with another institution.

Secondly:  Many employers do background checks on degrees, the type of degree and some even ask for a transcript, this isn't against any law.  

Third:  Depending on what you intened to do with your degree more then likely you'll never qualify for a professional license such as CPA, CFP, teachers license, RN, or ESQ.
July 4, 2007, 6:12 a.m.
0 votes/
Sorry, but if you want to spend a couple hours and get a degree from Kennedy Western, you will get exactly that, an unaccredited degree with no academic meaning.

For the same price, go to a real school.
June 29, 2007, 5:47 p.m.
0 votes/
"is currently not accredited by any accreditation body recognized by its country. As such, its degrees and credits might not be acceptable to employers or other institutions, and use of degree titles may be restricted or illegal in some jurisdictions."

"However, the university is forbidden from awarding degrees to residents of Oregon or California."

"It was shown that Kennedy-Western University was academically substandard by the United States federal government in 2004."

Another glowing review...
June 29, 2007, 5:44 p.m.
0 votes/
That is why you should take a look at the independent 3rd party links above that show:

KWU before the Senate group on diploma mills.

How you can get a KWU masters degree in a few hours.

Which states have made it a crime to use a KWU "degree"

The government hearings.

And if you need someone to explain why wikipedia is not a valid reference, that is another story...
June 18, 2007, 8:37 p.m.
0 votes/
"I am going to use the WNU credentials to get a a good job, in one of the dont tell states and when they (whatever company)lays me off for un-accreditation, or trys to, I will own that company via lawsuit.  Dont even try to tell me the companies check before hiring, they do not"

Well good luck with that.  We check everyone prior to the offer stage and throw the WNU / KWU ones in the trash, marked as "no education / does not meet education requirement".

Your may be able to get a job at the Taco Bell with a WNU degree, but any HR department worth its salt hiring at the professional level will catch the attempted fraud.
June 23, 2007, 6:47 a.m.
0 votes/
So oh dubious one, do you really believe that guy above is a Harvard professor.  Get the picture.  The people claiming to be HR and hiring people are not. This web blog has let me change my name 8 or nine times now on just this one string.  There is no accountability on this scam website.  So people like you can lie unchecked.  I think I will be an airline pilot in my next entry.  So long goof-ball.
June 23, 2007, 6:39 a.m.
0 votes/
It is with great dispair that I find myself having to condemn Kennedy Western.  What a shameful American eyesore. If this tradition is to continue,it may be the downfall of this great country.  God help us all.
June 23, 2007, 6:34 a.m.
0 votes/
So let me get this right?  I should believe anything I see on some bogus web blog drafted by artificial and virtual people like you, but another web site is not a valid reference?  Every quote on this blog is from unverifiable sources- Hello is anybody out there? Its the internet. You are the Crown Jewel of contradiction.  Let me show your dumb-Ass how it works (See HarvardProfessor in next writeup below this.  Hope I spelled dumb ass right.
June 22, 2007, 11:07 p.m.
0 votes/
Wikipedia is not a valid reference, if you had gone to a real school, you would know that.

You have Wikipedia spelled wrong.

You are right, to become a professional engineer (PE), you do not need a college degree in most states, so the KWU reference is irrelevant.

So listing your dubious credential with a lengthy disclaimer will keep you from getting arrested, and you call that a win?  Congrats!

See above for what other states call the "degree"

The State of Texas calls Kennedy Western "University" a:

Fraudulent or Substandard Institution with No Known Texas Connection

Fraudulent or substandard degree" means a degree conferred in Texas in violation of the Texas Education Code