Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Liberty University

  • Liberty University Reviews

    Ranking: #52
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: SACS & TRACS

3.2
180 Reviews
5 63 
4 34 
3 11 
2 33 
1 39 
0 0 

Liberty University Reviews:

Good School, Comparable to other Online Schools

MBA - May 9, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall Liberty University is decent school. I didn't like the constant marketing calls to register for courses, but they updated their communication preferences which allowed me to opt out of them. It is a Christian School...expect to apply a Christian Worldview to assignments. You will get as much out of it as you put into it. My biggest problem with the school is reading the work of other students. The fact these students have bachelors degrees (a pre-req to get a MBA) is scary. After reading the other reviews of people complaining about low grades I'm hoping these are same classmates I had to deal with in class...they deserved to fail based on the quality of their work. In fact, the complaints actually make me feel better because throughout my degree I dealt with incompetence and assumed they were getting the same grades as me so the school could keep collecting their money. It seems that wasn't the case now. At the end of the day I'm happy to be a Liberty Alumni!

Was this review helpful?

Liberty University is all about the money!

MBA - July 24, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is all about the money. I was a little over halfway completing my Master of Arts in Executive Leadership. However, I will no longer stand in the ranks with hypocrites. Although I have a grade point average of 3.83, I dis-enrolled. This college forces a secular view wrapped in a false Christian wrapper. The material is completely outdated and extremely overpriced. I was an online student. Forget about staff and faculty being helpful. I felt like I was the instructor. I continually made corrections to the course material. Yet, the professors only kicked the can down the road. Stay far away from this college. I am willing to sacrifice 9 credit hours to transfer to Campbell University.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 54 people found the following review helpful

Great School but you have to hold yourself accountable.

MBA - April 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While my BS was from a brick and mortar, my MBA came from Liberty University Online. If your going to go to an online college you should hold yourself accountable for your grades, homework, tests and time management skills. I saw a lot of people leave during my time there because they 'forgot' to do homework or submit their financial aid in time. LUO was great about giving me notice on the financial end and I received scholarships all semesters which was a blessing. They called me at the beginning of every quarter for academic advising and I had my own counselor who I could contact 7 days a week. I've never had a problem contacting anyone in person there, their hours are much later than a traditional school which is great when you already have a career and family. As far as grading, their programs are accredited so they are very hard on you- we had 10-12 page papers due 4 times in an 8 week class, plus the quizzes, posts and discussion boards. It is not something you do if your looking for an easy degree because they are held to the same standards as any other school. The tests are not open to the public so you can't google your answers. You have to read dozens of books and write reviews of them in short periods of time. It is a great school but not for everyone. It IS an openly Christian school so I'm not sure why the complaints about it being Christian? It's a private school so they can teach Christianity in their courses if they want to. I never felt overburdened by the infusion of Christianity and never made to feel out of place or overly criticized because I am not a Christian. Don't apply if your offended by people mentioning Christian beliefs because you won't last very long and you will waste alot of money. I would openly argue their principles in my papers- as long as I had sound argument and provided sources this was never an issue- they were very accepting of it. To anyone wishing to go to LUO I wish you good luck, it was a great education. I could never have received an MBA while working full-time and raising a 1 and 3 year old so it was a good fit for me.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Suz

MBA - November 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started the MBA program July 2011 and graduated with an MAML Aug 2013, love economics, accounting though is not my thing. The course material was demanding, however mid 2012 - to Aug 2013 the level of study, assignments, quizzes, and papers tripled as did the standards for achieving grades. I actually enjoyed a more rigorous and demanding standard. In fact, it is impossible to attend this school and hold a demanding career. I hired a tutor for the Corporate Finance class, he holds an MBA from Texas Tech. His feedback was - the class was the most demanding course he had experienced as a tutor. I chose Liberty because of its exceptional technology platform and its hybrid option. There are several onsite classes to integrate into the online program. In addition, it worked for me because I am a visual learner and enjoy an independent self-disciplined environment. In fact when attending UCSD it was tedious listen to some of the best-qualified PhDs...of course each teacher has the ability to engage their students or not. The point is prior to enrolling figure out your optimal learning style. Another thing, I was raised as a Catholic and as a Catholic you read the RC missal - it wasn't a problem sourcing bible related information when needed, weaving it into the text, it adds perspective. For me it was a great experience. If asked the question - knowing what you know now would you make the same choice? The answer is yes. BTW, I am an author and my first paper is publishing in Dec. It’s a manuscript written during my Executive Communication class. Laws, S.M. (2014)‘Corporate communication: identity, image and reputation’, Int. J. Business Competition and Growth, Vol. 3, No. 4, pp.344–349.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Thieves, thieves, thieves

MBA - September 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are considering this school as an online education source, please turn and walk...no RUN away from this decision. I was 3 credits from my MBA at another school, and because I wanted my degree to come from a better school (so I thought), I transferred to Liberty, a school in the town my father lives with a wonderful presence and sterling reputation...yeah right. Don't get me wrong, my issue is not with the curriculum, or the professors, or even the method of delivery, it is with the misguidance that the mislabeled "Academic Advising" department gives you, the delayed responses, the responses that address all but your issue, the volleyball net of a support scheme (advising/registrar) and the skill with which they have mastered the passing of the buck. I was at a 4.0 average, and a mere 15 credits from graduating with my MBA when I encountered issues with the blackboard/ConnectPlus system used for one of the finance classes I was taking. One semester the issue was so bad I had to withdraw the last day of class before I completed my final assignments/exams to keep from getting a failing grade and affecting my GPA. I took the class again, and this time the kinks seem to have been worked out until the fourth of July, final exam. I was at an A in the class until this point, and might I add an A in the other business class I was taking. I attempted the final exam in this class and was kicked out after the second question, loss of connection. McGraw-Hill's ConnectPlus saw that as an attempt at the test-- I failed. I had one more attempt. I logged back in and began the test again. I made it to the fourth question this time before the system disconnected me-- I failed again. Getting a 12.45 out of a possible 90 points. Until this point my exam and homework grades were in the 80-90% range consistently, barring one other issue with a test that timed out early. This issue cost me a valuable 140 points in this class, which put me down to below a C. Failing grade for the semester. I had no reason to believe this would happen, nor could I have prepared for it. I could not submit my final for the other class either, however, this professor was nice enough to accept an emailed copy of my final paper rather than the safe assign submit through blackboard which would not allow my submission, and with a late penalty I got a B-68% in that class. Altogether, with the fail and the B- my GPA for the semester was a 1.3. A grade of C+ or better is needed to pass the class. I got a grade of 68% in that class. I missed a pass by 10 points. Because of technical issues. Had I gotten the 140 points that this cost me I would have been at 83%. B. I'm good with a B. So my 4.0 would have dropped to a 3.8. I could live with that. I immediately contacted Advising, and asked for assistance in scheduling a retake of the final exam. Their response was technical issues must be taken up with the instructor, retakes because of technical problems are entirely at the instructors discretion??????? This is an online University. Technical issues are going to happen. They have no policy in place to safeguard someone's GPA? This is a direct reflection of a person's learning ability. My GPA says I am a terrible student. That is not the case at all. I am and was a 4.0 student until this fateful day. I have appealed, and complained and jumped through hoops, and when I thought all was lost, one kind (or so I thought) person in Advising finally understood and begged me not to leave the school, stating that something could be done, that he had spoken to someone in the registrars office, and if I email them describing my situation, it would be taken care of. So I register for the new semester. Now, four weeks into the new semester, and three more instances of the passing of the buck, I am told that NO-NOTHING WILL BE DONE ABOUT THIS. The class in question has since been satisfied by transfer credit because of the issues, but the grade and the damage remain. To those who say that the ones who complain are lazy and cannot handle the work. You are wrong. I am far from lazy, and I always complete my work and help others with theirs. The fact that you can morally judge someone's character via a snippet of information such as a review by a very upset student who spent a lot of money to get nowhere in their education shows the type of mindset you bring to the table. Enough said. Maybe Liberty is hiring in their advising, financial aid or registration departments.... My only recourse it seems is small claims court for the tuition that I have wasted. I certainly hope this does not fall on deaf ears. STAY AWAY by all means from this terrible 'institution'.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

MBA - June 29, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've enjoyed studying at the Helms School of Government, I'm currently studying online and haven't experienced any negativity. I will be officially graduating in December of this year and will begin Doctoral studies in the spring. School is what you make it.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Great program and military friendly.

MBA - May 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Liberty University is not one of the top MBA's in the country - but that does not mean it isn't valuable. The education is solid and you will only succeed in the online program by completing the work and illustrating complete understanding of the material. I came from an extremely difficult undergraduate program that is top 10 in the nation overall as an institution. So, I am familiar with a challenging curriculum. I chose Liberty because of the pace of the curriculum, the fact that it can be completed completely online, and because it is very military friendly. My last point is in regards to some of the posts that state it is overwhelmingly Christian. There is no denying that it is a Christian school. And, I can only speak from the online perspective. However, I did not find the Christian integration to be at all overwhelming. The Biblical values and Christian integration was minimal and only inserted in areas where it made sense to discuss.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

They treat you like an adult!

MBA - May 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Yes, they expect you to apply yourself and be responsible for yourself. It's Christian, get over it. They are very open about that, it's no secret. If that bothered you, then you did a poor job of researching where to get your degree from. Might be an early sign that you may not be able to complete your degree with such poor research abilities. Many negative posts I have read make me wonder if people expect a degree to just be handed over? You have to work for your grades and the instructions for the entire course is given before the course starts. For those who are upset that there wasn't enough time to complete assignments, you started too late. You also signed up for a compressed 8 week class, did you think it was going to be easier since it was shorter? For the complaints about quizzes, yes they have quizzes just like every other class I have taken for the past 30 years. The instructors do not give out the answers but will be happy to tell you what page in the book the answer is on. Too much cheating going on online. It's an ONLINE class, seems like some people are expecting the instructors to be online 24/7. The online part is your benefit, sitting at home taking the class. Instructors give great feedback when you ask questions in a timely manner. However, if you procrastinate and are asking a question on Saturday about an assignment due on Sunday, remember it is the week end and the instructors have lives too, you should have asked on Wednesday! I found the work, very time consuming, challenging, very in depth, and right on par with what they said it was going to be. It's college and a Masters Degree, so I wasn't expecting easy and simple. Liberty did frustrate me many times. That's life, oh well. Nothing major at all, because I was responsible for my work, papers, grades, etc.. Follow the directions to the T, and you will do fine. Liberty does not sugar coat the classes. Grow up people, except the challenge and excel. Late assignments are not excepted, Liberty makes that very, very, very clear. Accept it, it is their rule. You had weeks of notice. Quit complaining and just go somewhere else. Too many people want to blame their problems on a school, their boss, or anyone but themselves. Bottom line, great school, you will learn, but YOU are expected to be responsible for yourself. Imagine that, they treat you like an adult!

Was this review helpful?

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Do You Have What It Takes?

MBA - April 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

LIberty University's MBA program is one in which you will truly be challenged. I graduated from high school with a 4.2 GPA and my undergraduate program with a 4.0 GPA. My current specialization is Marketing and Project Management. This program is very fast-paced and is very successful at weeding out those who do not have what it takes. If you want to get a degree off of the internet with little effort, then the Liberty MBA program is not the place. You will be challenged and pushed every step of the way, but you will see yourself growing and learning concepts that you can apply in everyday life and business.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 22 people found the following review helpful

First and Last Experience

MBA - April 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am grateful I don't have to pay for tuition due to my employer paying for my education. I heard decent reviews from a coworker regarding the MBA program so I decided to proceed. As a student who has graduated with high honors from undergraduate and graduate school (so yes I already have a Masters), I already have high expectations and don't play regarding my education. However, you must be warned that LUO has quizzes as part of its curriculum. I thought that was strange because my last Master's program at another university was soley research based with tons of papers. Well, be aware if you don't get all answers correct on quiz, you cannot get the right answer from the professor due to the school's policy. Sounds like IT does not want to update the tests that are automatically graded..nothing is a failsafe. I may understand the reason behind it, but learning experience does entail learning from your mistakes. I never heard of not being able to get the right answer after you have already been graded. Anyway, it is good to find things out before you are in too deep. Plus it should be told to students during the webinars and admissions, but then again wouldn't that be a wierd thing to say...."you will not be able to obtain the right answer from your professor if you get an answer wrong on your quiz. Good luck with your program!"

Was this review helpful?

21 of 36 people found the following review helpful

If your expecting an easy degree look in other places

MBA - July 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am almost finished with my MBA. To those people who complained, they more than likely quit. We all know people like that in life. It's never their fault. It is tough, because as a student you are required to learn. The online quizzes, sorry google search is no help. Many people expect that an online class will be easy. I must say it was harder than actually going to school like I did for my BS. In the end there is no one to blame but yourself for not trying hard enough. If you can't learn it don't blame the instructors or the schools. Same textbooks as all of the other schools. The youtube recommended videos are posted by the people that wrote the book!! I learned that if I did my homework early in the week then I had plenty of time to ask questions. The Instructors don't reply back fast enough on the weekend, but HELLO, you had 5 previous days to ask questions about the assignment due Sunday night. Unlike attending college in person the major differences were. 1. You complete 100% of the book 100% of the time. 2. There is no review. No teacher to give hints as to what will be on the test. No areas, wink wink, to focus your studies on. No study groups. 3. If you wait till the week end, it's your problem. You are just too late. Most of the time the instructor will still reply during the weekend. 4. You either get it or you don't. Grad GPA grading scale is tough and they warn you from the beginning. If you want a free degree Liberty is not the college for you. If you want to learn and devote yourself to completing the classes, then you'll learn a lot. John

Was this review helpful?

32 of 39 people found the following review helpful

Very good quality

MBA - July 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is easy to participate with the professor or other students. The program is clear and concise, content, such as home work assignments are listed. The MBA program is about delivering consistent quality and results. This is not what you get at other schools where professors make up the syllabus as class goes along. This MBA program, like all high quality online programs, requires discipline. Your independence from a classroom means you will have to work hard, and you will have to focus. You will have to manage yourself.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Very unprofessional, do not recommend.

MBA - June 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Between GI Bill and the "Heroes Fund" Liberty is 100% free for me, which is the only way I'd ever imagine attending! I cannot believe how unprofessional Liberty seems to be. Assignment instructions through Blackboard are difficult to understand, the textbook for one of my classes (e-book for $100) was absolutely worthless and rarely matched up with the homework assignments, grades returned for written assignments are scored in a contradictory manner each week, professors are downright rude and will not answer simple questions. Regarding the e-book noted above, I asked the prof for other resources and she replied that wikipedia was a great resource. I've never heard of anybody in higher education recommending a student consult wiki! If you're looking for a place to be frustrated with assignments, deal with unprofessional professors, and be generally befuddled by the process of courses, Liberty is the place to be. STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful?

25 of 40 people found the following review helpful

No No No, very disappointed

MBA - February 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will not ever attend any classes through LUO again. They are too big and definitely about your money with nothing quality to offer. Not good online teaching at all, no real interaction or teaching happening, just offers youtube videos for instuction and the book. I can learn this stuff on my own and not pay so much. Difficult to communicate with anyone there. You will never get all of your money back if you drop classes either and you will never find someone to explain to you why. Stay away! This place is too big and the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing and the quality is so poor. My BS was online through a college down South and was much better quality than LUonline.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 41 people found the following review helpful

Great Online Program

MBA - July 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great online program. I have had a great experience with my degree. I only have 6 classes to go, and it has been a tough, but rewarding experience. This is an on-line program...A lot of the assignments have to be done individually and with the help of classmates. The professors generally answer questions within 24 hours, but that is not always the case. If you are not self motivated, you will have problems in this program. Overall, it is well worth the time and effort. You should purchase textbooks on half.com though - the bookstore is way overpriced.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Very Satisfied

MBA - July 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm just finished my 3rd class in the Masters of Science Accounting program. I really cannot express how satisfied I've been with the whole experience. The school is an excellent value and the course work has been challenging. The 8-wk format is great but be prepared to stay busy with a lot of writing, analysis, and some group work. With 7 classes to go I feel good about my choice of Liberty. The professors have been great, anytime I call the school for one thing or another they are very polite and responsive to my needs. By the way, I did an extensive search to find a school that offered an all online masters program, didn't require the GMAT, is nationally accredited, has an actual campus with real sports teams and offered 8-wk classes. Liberty fit the bill as most of the colleges here in the Boston area have a nightmare of an admissions process and work on a traditional semester course. All right I've said enough, hope this helps you!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Challenging MBA

MBA - May 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current graduate student in the online MBA program. I will be the first to say that the program is extremely rigourous. The eight week format requires a lot of focus and strong writing skills. The majority of the classes have team projects tied to the final grade. Admission into this program is straightforward, as you do not need to take the GMAT, but you need a 3.0 undergraduate minimum. However, do not be fooled into thinking that you will not get a top notch business education. Liberty has far surpassed my initial expectations. The professors are tough, but very supportive and accessible. Administrative staff, financial aid, fellow classmates are also very supportive and accessible. I am very pleased with the professionalism and real world problems posed in each of the classes. I graduated from a prestigious Christian college with my bachelor's in one of the liberal art subjects. Liberty U is not as highly ranked, but I'm getting more of a real world experience than I ever did at the other college. I highly recommend this program for a motivated individual who wants a Christian world view.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Liberty University in any way.