National American University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
Applied Management (9)


To link to this page:

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 20, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Make another school choice Do yourself a favor and look else where. Receiving a good education is imperative to your future career. Students which are not passing are pushed through by instructors with actions like adding points to previous exams or emailing the answers to the final. This school definitely lived up to it's reputation of being a joke. The only thing worse than the commercial jingle is the program itself.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 28, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The Last Resort in OP The treatment that the student nurses of the first bachelor's class of graduates and current nursing students at the Overland Park, KS campus is approaching criminal and many of us are considering hiring attorneys. The assistant dean threatened students that they would be removed from the program for telling the truth about how their administration and teachers treated students. Almost half of the students failed their state boards. You can look this up on the state board website. There have been questionable teachers who do not have the degrees that they said they had and one who has made advances toward students - we were told that they have no one else to teach and to not tell anyone. I guess the only hope we have is to report them to the Kansas State Board of Nursing and local better business because we do not want to deal with the school dean anymore for fear of retaliation. The best teacher we had was forced away for caring too much about us. This is real and a call for help.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Ripple122 (In Progress) on November 13, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
buyer beware I was in school at NAU this past spring. Besides being told false information to get me into school I wish I had done more research and just read the hundreds of poor reviews for this school as well as visited the Better Business Bureau to see there d- status. Just saying... Its really easy to look them up and just read what others have to say.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Matthew.snow2 (Graduate) on June 2, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Corrupt Had several advisers while enrolled, on a couple of occasions advisers placed me in classes without my consent or knowledge which resulted in me having to pay for the class. Financial aid department also overcharged both student loan providers and VA costing the student money. The school sought reparations for overages 2 to 3 years after they happened. These "over payments" were taken care of with VA and student loan providers however the school is still seeking money from student even after debt had been settled with originating parties.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Miroj1 (In Progress) on May 29, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
There are much better MBA programs I took one class in the school's MBA - Management program. I had more challenging high school writing courses. It was really very easy and not very challenging. You are better off going to a state school, because you will get more out of the classes and it will not cost as much. I also used to work in the Direct Online campus in 2011 for a year. The school is really subpar and is only worried about one thing...profits. Management was ridiculous and treated their workers like children. I say this because management would force their workers to go outside and play children's games similar to Duck,Duck,Goose and tag outside on their front lawn. It was an embarrassment for many of the workers who were there...much like the school's $60000+ Bachelor's degree programs. I would you invite you to go on NAU's website and try to find out how much a degree, any degree, would cost. It will probably take you awhile.... On another note, I talked to many online students who graduated with a NAU degree who were stuck working two or three entry level jobs just so they could pay off their student loans. These people never did find a job in the field they 'graduated' with a degree in. My advice is to steer clear of this school and it's expensive/near useless degree programs. Their degrees are worth more than a high school diploma, but many employers will not recognize these post-secondary degrees as legitimate, especially if they are online.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Umhb2010 (In Progress) on December 29, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
HORRIBLE University and Employer I have a complaint based on work place discrimination and National American University also violating rules set forth by the Department of Education. I worked at for-profit National American University in Austin, Texas for a year and it was a horrible experience. When I started training as an admissions advisor in 8/2011 there were 30 individuals being trained for the university's Texas locations in Austin, Georgetown, and Dallas. By the 10 month period over half of these individuals where fired or had quit. The School started by setting quotas for the admissions advisors as if they were sales associates selling a new car to students. The university would also do whatever it took to have students enroll with the university. If students came to visit the university, management (Director of Admissions and Campus Director) would basically force students to fill out an application even if they were uncomfortable or unsure. From that point on the university treated the students as though they were in a call center and for harass the students at least 3 to 4 times a week. If students were not called at this rate admissions advisors would be reprimanded. Many students even cited that they felt as though they were being harassed. National American University also did not care about student welfare. The management system wide is forced to push admissions advisors maintain the high enrolled status and would do anything to ensure this. In several cases, I can recall situation in which advisors met with students who were not capable of being in a higher learning institution such as NAU seeing as they do not provide the services needed to help the students. For example, I can recollect situation where students could not read/write English (the school does not provide translators r assist students) or students with mental disorders (the school does not provide any services to assist students) were forced to be enrolled with the university. Many of these students were also enrolled into online classes that require a high level of self-teaching to pass. I believe these situations were a major disservice to the non-traditional students in the Austin Community and the workers. I just want to reiterate that the university forces the advisors and the students into these situations I remember several instances where advisors knew the university could not assist the student and portrayed this to management. However, management forced advisors to enroll students or their job would be at stake. This created an environment in which campus from Dallas to Austin and Houston fought over the enrollment of students. I remember a situation where A student I as trying to help was called 10 times in one day by admissions advisors from other campuses. These advisors where scared for their jobs and where trying to fight to maintain the high level of enrollment and were encouraged by management to engaged/use such tactics to enrolled students. There was also another instance, where all admissions advisors met with management and was told they would not receive paychecks in they did not find a way to enroll more students. I can recall another situation in which a young lady told to choose her child or the university. The university instituted working on Saturdays and gave short notice to advisors. This young woman could not work because she could not find a baby sitter on such short notice. She was fired that day. The creation of this hostile work environment, created a negative atmosphere in which the university did not care about helping the students, but finding ways to increase enrollment to help the profitability of the university. On a weekly basis, admissions advisors were subjected to performance meeting to discuss the quota of students they needed to meet in order to keep their job. These meetings where very negative conversations with the Director of Admissions where advisors are chastised for not reaching the weekly goals or told the need MORE students (even if the quota is met). The push for the goal to meet such high quotas created a VERY negative environment for admissions advisors and students solely for the conquest of increasing the university’s profits. I resigned to go work for another university, but I felt it is my duty a resident in the Austin area to report this employer because it is not a good situation for employees or students. The university is also under investigation by the department of education.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 24, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Scam For a school This school is a big scam! RUN FAST! You will not get your refund before six months and if you try to express yourself, You will get blocked and suspended from their online application such as the facebook page! I'm so ready to leave this school! SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Lavera_1120 (In Progress) on October 6, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Run Fast!!!!! The Worst School Ever!!!!!! I enrolled this year for the Fall semester and it has been a nightmare ever since! The financial aid office has been telling me lie after lie about what is taking them so long to get my student loan money and grant money. I would not have enrolled without the money already in place, but they told me that they would provide me with a voucher because they knew the money would be coming since I never had a problem with any finacial aid or grants at the current college that I was enrolled in. I was already enrolled at Blue river Community college and always received approval before classes began. I switched to National American University because I changed my degree plan and National American university's program was easier to get into whereas Blue River required students to write an essay for the H.I.T program and then wait for an acceptance letter. I started september 4th. I called after three weeks of class to inquire about school loans and grant money and was told that they were still waiting on my transcripts! My previous school never took this long getting transcripts. My advisor then called me a week later to tell me that I needed to fill out another form to request the transcripts from a previous school in Texas. I had already filled out the forms when I enrolled in August! I again filled out the form electronically. I get an email three days later from the finacial aid office telling me that they still don't have my forms to request transcripts. I then spoke to the director who assured me that there was a mix-up in information and that they would have my transcripts the next day and a package for my student loans and grant will be processed and even if the transcripts are not received then they will not hold off any longer and will send for the student aid money. He said he spoke to the financial aid office and they said it would take two weeks to process and then one more week for me to receive it. I walked into the school to check on the progress of the student aid this week and the worker told me that my paperwork was sitting somewhere on her desk along with other students and that she was going to send it up that day and it would be 4 to 6 weeks before I would know or receive anything. I was floored! Two days later I received a letter from the school that I have a balance of 2,206.00 that was due on the first day of class! I am ONLY taking two online classes that are $316.00 per class and I did not have to buy any books for these classes. How in the Hell do I owe this amount?!!! I am going back to Blue River after this semester ends in November. My warning to others is Stay Away from National American university! They are liars, they are a rip off school, and read the blogs and reviews!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 23, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
What a mess This school was not what I expected. First financial aid is horrible, they keep adding additional fees, tech fees and increase in total cost. There FA dept does not know what is going on. They hold my money for 14 days, why no one wants to tell me. The online instructors are not educated or even teachers most just work in the field they are instructing. A few expect me to call them professor when they are not. They lost my paperwork three times when I started and somehow it was my fault. Be careful!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 17, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Mesquite Texas Campus The dean would never return my calls and my advisor was no longer there. I did not trust the new advisor they gave me. Seemed shady and ghetto. She acted like she did not want to be bothered. She kept bragging on herself and her degree and fiance. She would not shut up and answer my questions. The financial services was a nightmare. They took my money for themselves. The campus director was never around and Saturdays they decided to just close so I could not get in the computer lab. This school has put me in debt and would not guide me at all. I dropped out and I am filing a lawsuit and telling everyone. Go to a regular school with degreed educators. Stay away from this lie. Advisors lie and look like they just got out of prision. Very unprofessional school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Veronicaqueenb (In Progress) on August 7, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ITS A SCAM...... This school is a mess and a scam i will tell nobody to go here they want nothing but your money and want help in any kind of way. Every time you call there office you will get someone different the same person never works in the office. When you call they will tell you to leave a message,they are in a meeting,have a student in there office or they are out the office...its a lie every time. I have been waiting on my money from finiacial aid for 2months now that comes back to me. I still haven't got it,they said it was sent to the wrong address and now they want me to pay 60.00 to put an stop on the check...hell no it was there mistake not mine.so now i think i might need to get a lawyer because im getting the run around,,please do not go to this school..
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 2, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Incompetent Where does one begin... I wish I would have been more diligent in my search of a college to attend. Most of the advisors are completely incompetent. It takes forever to get a response. My status sheet was incorrect, stating I completed a course that I actually did not complete. Advisor and advisor stated that my status sheet was accurate and I had a few classes to complete before graduating. There was no empathy or compassion for my sistuation. I was told that my file "slipped through the cracks" by a supervisor. I sent an email to the dean with no response, and am writing a letter to the Higher Learning Center to voice my complaint about this school and their incompetence. It has been a nightmare to deal with this school. I suggest anyone wanting to attend online courses research your options before even looking at this school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 28, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Online nightmare This school is painfully understaffed on the financial aid side, but very well staffed on the recruiting side. Beware, they have students sign documents that the student is responsible for all fees up front but are slow slow slow in processing financial aid. Look at the fine print, "Financial Aid is Available." I would not sign up for classes until you are sure you have financial aid unless you have the funds to pay for it. They are opening more and more "campus" and really trying to get students in. I would be very very weary if I were you before signing up for this school. A better bet would be taking online courses at your local community college or a well know established university.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Tricia.callahan (In Progress) on May 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Quite the Scam I am currently enrolled in the Bachelors of Nursing Program with a 4.0 GPA however not only have I been put in classes that I didn't even need for my dregree program, but they have changed my Major two times without my consent which of course affects my financial aid. I have had a horrible time getting any straight answers as well as I still have not received a refund from 6 months ago. Unfortunately, many of my classmates have experienced the same kind of treatment. The Lee's Summit Campus seems to be the most problematic. As this school is incredibly expensive I am seriously considering another school starting next semester. My advice for future students is to get everything in writing. Good luck and be careful in your endeavors.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Sonspeedy5 (Graduate) on February 26, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beware of this College Where do I start... Well, while attending all was great. The teachers, the classes, everything. My employer (VERY BIG in semiconductor industry) was paying for EVERYTHING, i.e. books, tuition, lab fees... Every term I'd get my grades (A's) and turn it in to my employer for payment so that I could pay for the classes I took that previous term. I completed my Associates and certification for my degree. Got my graduation information and looked to have a degree in hand. Years later, I receive a notice from NAU stating that I STILL OWED THEM $6K in tuition! This is impossible!!!! Every term I took, I received a check to PAY NAU! I contacted their 'collections' and talked to them in length about this. The collection agent said that she would research it with her supervisor and get back to me in a couple of days with what they found AND EMAIL ME ALL DATA supporting their findings. Guess what? I have YET to hear back from them and have not receive a single email from anyone from NAU. This was over 4 months ago. Every time I try to contact them, I get voice mail or the run around... "You need to talk to this person or this department." I actually needed proof of my degree for work and was unable to obtain it because they have me on their list as non-payment/collections. So all these years I have been listing the degree on my resume, I have to now remove that because they, somehow, got it on their books that I did not pay over $6k in tuition. So, if you are considering going here, BE WARE that they might try to withhold your EARNED degree because you fail to 'pay' them their money... Because of all this, I have to return to college to obtain ANOTHER degree. I'll be sure to find a more reputable college/university to study under. As a working adult, in my current industry (over 14 years), this will be interesting! Online college here I come!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Hitnrun707 (In Progress) on February 11, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Horrible - Will Sink You in Debt Financial Aid here is a MESS. At one point it took me 6 months to get a loan for one quarter, and admin admitted it was their mistake and that it had been missed by 4 people. I have been at NAU for over a year and attend online as well as on campus as a Business major. It is very important for people thinking about attending NAU to be informed of several things, all of which apply to all people considering NAU no matter their location. The Central office to the school is in my city, and affects all locations and courses. Here is what I wish I had known: 1) NAU is a for-profit school, and costs roughly twice what a State school costs. 2) Alleged benefits, like accelerated courses, come at the cost of higher learning. You pay twice as much for half as much in return. 3) Financial Aid is not properly staffed to accomodate the needs of existing students. There are always problems and you will be approaching Finals each quarter before you get any loans/grant money for the quarter. *I kid you not, at one point it took me 6 months to get my loans for 1 quarter.* 4) In addition to the above, there is also the issue of customer service. They will not provide service with a smile. They often fail to communicate and follow through, and consider their staffing problems as good cause to delay and behave as they please. Research your options. Look at your State schools, think about the economy and how student loans will affect you in different situations. I really regret going to this school, when the cost is so much higher it really causes you to borrow a lot. I'm guessing I'll put of my Bachelor degree until I can get some of this debt paid down, if it was half as much I could continue. Please, don't go to this school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 9, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great I obtained my Bachelors Degree in Business Admin with a Marketing Emphasis with NAU. My Admissions Rep was amazing from the start, and my Academic Dean guided me through my degree. I graduated with honors last May, and am working in a Marketing firm! The career of my dreams! They are regionally accredited and reasonably priced. I will go back for my Masters.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 22, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Got my degree, I am where I want to be! I graduated from NAU back in 2002 via online. Seemed like after I graduated and told people about my online degree they were like "you can do that?" I did attend the Ellsworth campus from 99-00. Overall I did a little over a year of online schooling and am now looking to start my masters degree. The biggest con I can say about this school is the price-I think I paid somewhere around $200 per credit hour for my undergrad and they are now going to be charging $330 per credit hour for a masters degree. Oh and they want more credits than other universities (for a masters it will take nearly 3 yrs to get my masters vs around 2 yrs at most other schools). As far as their online program, (undergrad) I was pretty impressed. All my teachers were willing to help when I needed it and being in the military, they all were more than fair in working with me so to work around my TDYs and deployments. Overall, NAU is a great school that is regionally accredited. I am very happy to have gone there for my undergrad but unfortunatly I will not attend for my graduate degree. In this day of the online school explosion alot of private schools have gotten VERY competitive in getting your business. I could go to NAU and tap into my GI bill and take an extra year to get my degree or go to another school where everything including books is paid for in 3/4ths of the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 9, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beware I had several questionable incidents with NAU, mostly related to administration of records and office support. Beware that the college does not maintain records in the manner it should; it is not uncommon to have grades recorded incorrectly and to have to wade through their cumbersome grievance procedure to correct the errors. Due to the exceptionally high turnover in professors, academic deans, and other personnel you may experience other delays and annoyances. I stuck it out at NAU due to the time and money already invested, and the difficulty in transferring credits to other institutions. If you are considering NAU I would strongly suggest you look at other choices; you pay a lot per quarter credit (more than attending a public university) to receive a degree with much less stature. NAU does have a fairly good WebCT environment, but make sure you save all e-mails, make print screen copies, and keep your records in order. The other positive of attending NAU is their Applied Management program that allows you to transfer in previous college course work as your core focus of management. On a scale of 1 to 10 NAU earns a solid 2. I highly recommend exploring other institutions.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about National American University