Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Northcentral University

  • Northcentral University Reviews

    Ranking: #60
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

3.0
283 Reviews
5 66 
4 69 
3 34 
2 42 
1 72 
0 0 

Northcentral University Reviews:

Completed My EdD in Organizational Leadership

DBA Organizational Leadership - January 28, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been working full time and attending NCU. The course work was rigorous and required a high level of self-discipline. The course work was interesting and could be improved, but any process can always be improved. Many of my instructors were very helpful and I spoke with all of my instructors because I needed more interaction with my faculty. I worked hard and earned every grade, and it was challenging. I had instructors that were knowledgeable and were responsive to my needs. I teach in higher education and have been teaching for 16 years as well as consult and have extensive business experience. My EdD was truly an experience and extremely challenging. I have also worked as an advisor at another educational institution. So, I have been on both sides, serving and supporting students. I cannot speak for others and do not know the extent of their situations. I am sorry for your experience. I had some poor experiences at NCU; however, that comes with any situation, job, or event in life. It is how one navigates through the experience. In one bad situation, I had to go to the NCU leadership for assistance. In the end, it worked out well and I have to admit, the change made a difference whether I completed my degree successfully or not. I give God the glory and thank those who participated in my learning experience at NCU. I have always recommended NCU to my students and will continue. I wish everyone well.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Good Alternative to Residency Programs

DBA Organizational Leadership - December 21, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with NCU was positive. The DBA program is very rigorous. The courses are well designed and challenging. You will need to be willing to put the time and effort into the program; be self-motivated; and do well as an independent researcher.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Great Learning Experience

DBA Organizational Leadership - February 23, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My learning experience at NCU was very positive. As with all online programs, you have to be very self-motivated and driven. You need to be willing to devote time to your studies every week, and you need to be willing to work hard for your degree. If you do that, you will be fine. The NCU professors and supporting staff were accessible and helpful. The weekly assignments were meaningful, the expectations were stated clearly, and the grading was fair. Working with my dissertation chair on my research project was a wonderful experience which prepared me well for my "life after dissertation".

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your time.

DBA Organizational Leadership - March 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is one of the worst schools for quality of instructors and support for the Doctoral degree. There was no guidance about course selection and very little communication either from the school or my so-called Advisor. Their lack of written communication was shown to me as being my fault since I did not give them a change of address nor new email address. When I specifically showed them on their database that they had my correct email and home address, they did not respond. I had completed all the course work and comprehensive exams and was in the Dissertation phase when they supposedly dropped me from their program as non-responsive. When I requested re-activation, I was then told that I needed two new courses plus the Dissertation and that I would have to basically start the program over again. I was not happy. I wasted a lot of time and money.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 29 people found the following review helpful

EdD in Organizational Leadersgip at NCU

DBA Organizational Leadership - July 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

NCU provides an amazing lerining environment and opportunity for the motivated learner. Attending classes through NCU allows me to work full time while pursuing my doctorate and the reading and material is very relevant. I have been very pleased and in attendance since March of 2013. Online learning is not for everybody but if you are motivated and online learning does work for you...you will not be disappointed. The financial aid and advising have been helpful and my questions have always been answered in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 28 people found the following review helpful

NCU Ph.D. in B.A. with organizational leadership

DBA Organizational Leadership - March 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The NCU Ph.D. program is an excellent model for adult independent learners who are self-motivated, intellectually curious about learning, and have extensive professional experience. The program is great value compared to bricks and mortar schools. Many federal agencies are part of the NCU program for their employees. I have learned a great deal and am competitive at work compared to my peers who have graduated from Ivy league schools.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

This is a VERY GOOD school!

DBA Organizational Leadership - January 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have an MBA from a brick and mortar school. I also could have chosen to get my PhD from it with less cost and CERTAINLY LESS EFFORT. I chose NCU because of the work required, I wanted VALUE for my dollar. I have profited GREATLY from what I have learned. Those that criticize the program are possibly not putting forth enough effort on their own. I find the large number of texts and the quantity of writing to be very helpful in pushing me to success. I am successful in business, and the courses have helped me even further in that regard. I would recommend NCU to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

PhD At NCU

DBA Organizational Leadership - July 21, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently working on my PhD at NCU in Business with a specialization in Organizational leadership and I have to say that my experience has been nothing but pleasant. They require alot of work and provide you with excellent feedback on your work. I highly give this school 2 thumbs up for quality education and value. This school is definately the better way to earn your degree.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

NCU Suits Me Just Fine

DBA Organizational Leadership - February 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently pursuing my Phd at NCU. I researched several online institutions prior to enrolling at NCU, and found it to be the best fit for me. There are 2 traditional universities where I live, only one of which has any doctoral program (EdD) in my field of study. Not being interested in an EdD, and with both my wife and I being full-time professionals, the online delivery model was my only alternative. My NCU experience has been terrific. Mentors have been available when I have needed them, their feedback was quite helpful in most cases, materials have been more than suitable for the coursework, and the level of academic rigor is high. Some learners find they need the structure and interaction provided by the bricks-and-mortar university; there is nothing wrong with that. My undergraduate and graduate degrees were obtained through that route. For me, however, the online delivery method has been a blessing.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Northcentral University in any way.