Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Northcentral University

  • Northcentral University Reviews

    Ranking: #60
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

3.0
283 Reviews
5 66 
4 69 
3 34 
2 42 
1 72 
0 0 

Northcentral University Reviews:

Overall Good Experience

MBA - April 12, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a couple classes away from completing my MBA through Northcentral University. The university is very affordable and offers flexible scheduling. will definitely recommend this school to others in the future. Thanks NCU for a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Distinguishably Coordinated Communication

MBA - September 10, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Many instances of poor writing are evident that was produced by the faculty, including the dissertation chair. The writing does not meet upper-division and graduate-University writing requirements--the composition consists of short choppy sentences that are of the same sentence style, and that frequently contain modification and predication problems. Much about subordination and coordination should be important to the administrators and faculty of NCU. Their awkward wording conveys problems--readers are bound to misinterpret passages such as, "With the increasing turnover rates, the specific problem was to investigate..." Please notice that the introductory phrase incoherently modifies its subject in this case. As an introductory phrase, it illogically relates to its subject. Comprehensive and logical wording should be, for example, "the...turnover rates caused the specific problem..." Furthermore, the specific problem cannot investigate--only an individual or group of individuals can investigate. The problem in this case was the effect of increasing turnover rates on the emotional intelligence of the leader; and, the related loss of profitability. As this passage is worded in the Best Practices for the Concept Paper example, no distinct cause-and-effect relationship is conveyed between the subject and predicate, and the absence of a fully logical connection between the subject and predicate leads to confusion. Even more trying are the oxymoronic passages such as, "If you turn in a revised milestone document, you do not need to turn in a status update", and, "Please update me each week by the due date with your progress for the week"--"it is very important to NCU policy that you turn in a weekly progress report." The first clause in this case obviously is contradicted by the 2nd and 3rd clauses. Awkward wording such as this is common in the NCU Syllabi and Welcome Letters. Furthermore, my objectively worded questions about such awkward wording were ignored by the Chair, mentors, and advisors. These mentors and Chairs have not diligently pursued the subject that they are intending to instruct; nor have they prepared their syllabi. They have not read what I've submitted, and the feedback from my Chair is poorly written. Is such incoherent writing common in America today? She is not knowledgeable in language education. Wherever I have edited and revised reports and assignments for students, and as I have worked avidly in class, my faculty members have expressed gratitude for my contributions. Avid reading and writing skills clearly are not appreciated by the highly paid Department Chairs at NCU who do not understand that many students today graduate with their first degree only to discover that their senior parental figures sold their home and moved to another community. Private-interest groups are dominating financial outlets so unjustly that the literary standards of the U.S. are declining. Scholarly writing should be void of faulty expletives--poorly focused sentences that use "it" and "there" with no reference to what "it" and "there" mean. Sentences with "there" are existential sentences that should mean "there exists." However, such expletive patterns, including "it [+ a conjugation of the infinitive 'to be']" are commonly overused and misused. Conscientious University instructors do not boast steadily about their achievements as they ignore the need to answer critical questions and to improve their wording. Learning institutions must include a faculty of instructors who are concerned about proficient communicative interaction between instructor and student; and, they must convey a sense of responsibility and accountability for their actions. If NCU representatives sincerely were concerned about achieving educational goals, they would offer valid feedback with each assignment that they return to their students. Appallingly, they have been intensely offended that I posed concern about their contradictory and awkward wording. Yes, I passed the Comps and DIS1, and my GPA is 3.97; yet, the NCU system abounds in incoherent wording, communication gaps, and superiority complexes that are not evident in the most highly accredited learning institutions; consequently, I must report my observations and experiences about inevitable misunderstandings that are inherent in the Chair-Committee-student scenario. The mentors and chair do not converse or relate interactively with students about textbook assignments and milestone projects. The consequences will be severe now that I have complained to my advisor and the BBB about my NCU Chair. I complained because she is not knowledgeable in the areas of English and language instruction, which are the topics of my research in the instruction of English as a second language. In fact, I have learned that NCU maintains no English Department or English-credentialed instructor whatsoever. The salesmen who enrolled me did not reveal this issue to me. Since then, I have offered to edit/revise their literature. However, neither my Advisor nor Chair have responded conscientiously about the issues that I have shared here--these being but a couple of many more communication problems that are inherent in the operations of NCU. Of course, subversion is occurring throughout our nation today. Our academic standards are being compromised as we must interact with strangers who after all may advocate for war rather than for peaceful resolve. One may read and report about what one has read at NCU, but that may render naught as the NCU mentors and Chair are not supporting an active learning agenda. Neither are they accounting for the original promises that their sales people promised their perspective students. They should be willing to work with me; however, they are predisposed in their own agenda and private interests to respond appropriately with any hint even that they have read my work or the assigned textbooks. One would hope for improved attitudes and performance levels. Overwhelming is the quest of the faculty and staff for thousands of dollars and more, with no regard for the quality of their product. Without a doubt, active-duty military members and governmental employees are an asset for NCU's reputation, credibility, and financial portfolio. Remember, though, that these students are working from a business orientation that does not parallel the high literary standards of upper-division and graduate academia. Profit-mindedness is causing a deterioration of our national academic standards and excellent verbal skills that include critical and analytical reading and writing proficiencies. English majors who represent Cambridge and Oxford Universities and other Universities throughout the world would not approve of the practices to which I have referred here.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 40 people found the following review helpful

REVIEW FOR NCU - MBA PROGRAM

MBA - June 4, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After I finished my bachelor degree at California State Northridge, I continued working full-time at an international company. Four years later, I started looking for an online school since my work always make me travel and it is time consuming. I found NCU located in Arizona. I can say that some professors are very good, while others are newbies. It is ACBSP accredited and not ACBSB like most brick and mortars. Initially, instructors focused on citing APA and grammar. Then, they will give you resources, articles, and books to read and study. Here is the thing, you have to do all the work on your own. You have to motivate yourself for every single assignment, and reward yourself for every good work. I have friends who said they can't study on their own, and they prefer going to brick and mortar university to meet people. To me, meeting people and networking is not as important as retaining information and focus. If you are up to the challenge, and are discipline to work on your own, NCU can be good for you. If you want a teacher and drive to a classroom, obviously you can decide to go to a regular university. What I like about this school is the flexible schedule and great materials to learn from. I also like the good grades I have received for all of the assignments. It is EGO BOOSTING. I like the silence and the ability to choose my own schedule. I like the way I can bug the professors when I don't understand their topics and don't have to worry about seeing their faces in person. LOL. Remember that you will save in gas and not worry about driving. I am almost halfway through my program, and I will finish this in less than a year. My best advice for most assignments is read it thrice. Then start reading the textbook thinking on the assignment. Write an outline. Outlines are great because you can then fill in the blanks with sources, and paraphrases, or quotes from the book. You can also ask a professional in your family for help. All the best to you!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

MBA program at NCU

MBA - April 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am half way through my MBA at NCU. I selected this school because I wanted my degree to have business accreditation and NCU has Global Business Accreditation from ACBSP. It is a solid program and has a very competitive curriculum. It requires one to invest a lot of time to do research on the topics everyweek and write business papers as assignments.The teachers and advisors are very helpful and supportive. I am working full time at a highly reputed organization and my employer is reimbursing for my degree from NCU. I would definitely recommend NCU for aspiraing MBA students.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

NCU is average online school

MBA - October 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am at the tail end of my MBA with an emphasis in healthcare administration. I am worried that my degree from NCU will not be looked upon as favorably as other schools. The education is decent but I've had a couple of big issues with one of the instructors and that has put a bad taste in my mouth towards NCU. I am also very disappointed in their constant tuition hikes and their clever marketing ploys to jack up their profits. They disguise their schemes by telling you they want you to finish your degree faster when really they just want your tuition money more. They are a "for-profit" school that is more concerned about money than your education, sadly.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 20 people found the following review helpful

A school in decline

MBA - April 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated from the MBA program at NCU last month. The school is in decline. In the 3 years it took me to complete my degree tuition went from $850 to $1,850 a class. As many have mentioned, the steep tuition increases and changes in policy came with the recent management change. Academically, there nothing wrong with NCU other than dated technology. However, the tuition increases, constant policy changes, and lack of communication from the administration make the school difficult to recommend.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Continuous Cost Increase

MBA - January 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have really enjoyed NCU until my last year. The classes, mentors and assignments are challenging while also manageable with a full time job and being online. My frustration is with billing. The classes have continued to increase in cost by $50 - $200 each year. When I started two years ago the classes were $1450 and now they are $1870. It seems that as I get closer to graduation and more committed to the program they charge me more. I also selected NCU because I could take a few classes a year and stretch the cost out longer than normal schools but in my last year the dean passed a new rule that you had to be continuously enrolled or dropped. Between the increased cost and continuous enrollment, NCU has turned a great program into an over priced school.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

MBA - Great program

MBA - January 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I learned a great deal in my program. I could study hard and do my work on my schedule. It was great. The school is top notch and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Another Happy Student

MBA - August 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student enrolled in NorthCentral. I am in agreement that this school is not designed for someone that need their hands held. It makes you think outside the box. That is a benefit because these teacher will not be around if you are at an organization and you are relied on to make decisions. I had no problem with the responses when it came to asking questions. I have completed 2 BA degrees and is now enrolled in a MBA program. Out of the three years here, I had no problems with anything. I have even had responses when I have asked questions on the weekend. I am sorry that others feel the way they do and maybe they have not gotten what they were looking for. I have recommended it to friends and they are enjoying it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

It's Aliright

MBA - January 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am nearly half way done with my MBA at Northcentral. While it is all online and you are stuck to learn things on your own, I have never had a problem. My mentors answer my questions quickly, but if you are expecting this to be the same as the attention you would receive in a class room, you would be mistaken. This is a program for those who can handle doing their own work without being baby sat by a teacher. This works well for me because I work full time and I can do my work when it is convenient for me. I have a wonderful adviser who does an awesome job making sure I am enrolling in the correct classes and she always responds to my questions the same day I e-mail her. I could go on and on... but I really like the program, but it is definitely not for everyone

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

A Real Student

MBA - July 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't help but wonder if some of the positive reviews aren't courtesy of the NCU marketing department? I am a real student and I would not recommend NCU. I graduated from UMUC, which is an awesome school, and I regret not staying there! Ugh! NCU is a "for profit" institution. Since I enrolled, they have significantly jacked up the tuition rates, so I feel like I fell for a "bait and switch" con. The course material is ambiguous and the instructors really don't care. The "turn around" time for a submitted assignment is glacial! Don't bother asking a question about an assignment, either. NCU is not worth the money! Trust me, I am a real student. I do not work for their marketing department!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Very Very Little communication. I don't recommend.

MBA - February 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been a student for about 3mos, and the exchange with the professor (aka mentor) is very limited. I was led to believe one could at least call & clarify questions. you cannot. all communication has to be via a very antiquated web interface that is available on the Univ's website. i constantly felt like my hands were tied & that i was never getting a single ounce of value from my course. my spouse, signs up for a course with a California online university & there is direct participation from the professor, the students, etc. The professor at that univ, has comments & guidance on a daily or at least weekly basis. There is so much interaction there. After seeing that, I'm strongly considering asking for my payment back. But I think I have lost the $1500 that I put it. I was referred to NCU by a friend, but I would strongly recommend you consider alternatives.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Happy Student!!!!!!

MBA - February 3, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Northcentral University is a great schooland a terrific value. It is both regionally accredited and accredited by the ACBSP. The school is currently going through the re-accreditation process, but this is a standard procedure to retain accreditation. I am currently enrolled in the MBA program and I love it! This is not a school for someone that needs their hand held every step of the way. There is support from the staff but students must be proactive and take ownership of their own education. There is good and bad everywhere. My husband is currently attending University of Phoenix (both on-line and classroom)and he has had problems from the academic advisor all the way to the on-line system having missing information. Although it is hard watching his struggles; it makes me appreciate NCU all the more. This is your education and your future don't settle for anything less than what you know you deserve. Do your research, aks questions and then ask more questions. No matter where you end up going to school make the most of it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Northcentral University in any way.