Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Norwich University

  • Norwich University Reviews

    Ranking: #8
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: New England Association of Schools and Colleges

4.4
97 Reviews
5 57 
4 30 
3 5 
2 5 
1 0 
0 0 

Norwich University Reviews:

Blanket Beating hidden from news

Master of Business Administration - March 22, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see that someone will be reading this first.I just hope that my writing this saves someone's Life someday.So,I have a half brother Gregory that attended this school in the 90's.His Dad(My step Dad)didn't want to press charges.This fact has bothered me for quite sometime as I have seen Gregory try to over compensate for being Blanketed in a closet by a Head Masters Son that he refused to do Homework for at the time.A short time after this took place he started lifting weights.Now,he still does but to such extremes he could get hurt.It is ashamed that this did not get brought forward to the News as it could of Opened up the EYES of many to what can happen at this type of school.It is sad.And probably even sadder that it still doesn't get brought to anyone's attention.Yes,it has been years.But Gregory suffered greatly.And maybe this school isn't all it's cracked up to be.They owe him a Life.I just finally am trying to figure out how to get this out.So I started here with you.Thanks,Beth Baker Pretty sure it was Business Administration he was in.

Was this review helpful?

MBA w/ Emphasis in Project Management (1.5 course to go!)

Master of Business Administration - January 20, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'd first like to say that this is a rigorous program with little room for a personal life, so strap yourself in...it's going to be a bumpy ride! Expect to work Mon-Sat every week to keep up with assignments. Sundays are your little reprieve so make the most of it. On average expect to write about 10,000 words per week between discussions and individual or team assignments. It won't always be that way, but expect that the majority of writing to be marathon in nature, albeit substantive. At first, it comes as a bit of a shock...but after a week or two of engagement, you get used to the extensive workload really quickly. Expect team assignments every other week for a year and a half! Moreover, expect to read 4-6 chapters between two books weekly to absorb the material throughout the week. One GIANT PLUS is that NU provides your courseware and books. You will receive new books two-three weeks prior to the previous course ending. The professors are VERY knowledgeable, but remember, we are ALL different--so are they, just like in life there are various extremes of people you will need to work with. You will do well to keep an open mind. Some professors are fluid and work with you...others...well you get my point. The worst thing you could do is alienate yourself by being argumentative right off the bat. Develop relationships with them for better or worst, it will help you traverse the rough waters. IF you happen to want to participate in the project management concentration, know that the learning curve is STEEP the first course, with a TON of information. You will be overwhelmed and out of your depth in the first course. To add insult to injury, there is a graded exam after each week--if you're not ready for them, they can singlehandedly undo you! My suggestion, ORDER Rita Mulcahy project management prep book from Amazon (it is the most popular--for good reason). Be sure it's for the current PMBOK edition. Rita breaks it down to the layman (that's what you will be until you get a handle on the subject). The PMBOK is dry and a VERY tough first exposure to the body of knowledge. Do yourself a favor and have a commercial study guide in your possession BEFORE you start...or, project management will eat you alive...you're welcome. Don't get me wrong, project management is where I want to be! I am now halfway done with my second project management class with one more to go. Having Rita on the side has allowed me to absorb PMBOK a heck of a lot faster with GREAT real-life examples that the PMBOK does not provide. Last, YouTube is your friend throughout the entire program. Get to know it. You can view lectures and subject matter experts to get the gist of EVERYTHING this program throws at you. The only problem with YouTube is the labeling--people don't label their videos appropriately so much is lost because of it. After a class or two, you'll be a whiz at searching YouTube for the not so obvious! Another problem is brevity...expect concepts you're looking for to be BURIED in a two hour video. Or a video that's explaining a two hour concept in 2 minutes--it's simply not enough. Despite its setbacks, it's a GODSEND...hope it helps! Update: Norwich no longer uses the Angel online platform. They now use Moodle with is web based. Look up Moodle in YouTube. You'll get an idea what I'm talking about. You get a student email through google, and it's accessible through your smart devices--something Angel did not do! I love it. I view course materials and discussions on the go!

Was this review helpful?

Disappointment

Master of Business Administration - April 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm completing my first MBA course at Norwich and it will be my last course (Strategic Management). Unfortunately I have had very poor experiences from the Admissions Office, Program Lead, and Bursar Office. All of these contacts are very slow to respond to concerns or questions. They generally do not answer their phones, call you back, or respond to e-mail inquiries. In addition, the Bursar's Office made a significant oversight, which almost removed me from the course. I never received an apology or any response from them on it. I can only review the first course, but I'm unimpressed with the content so far. The topics covered are incredibly general and the text books provided have little to do with the subjects being reviewed. In addition, the essays and reports are not aligned with the reading and topics for the week; which makes it very difficult to complete the assigned essays. In addition, the program setup is nearly all self taught, there is little substantive interaction from the professor. The online class system is also very difficult to navigate and is somewhat unintuitive. The first course is also a complete repeat of what I learned in my Business Undergrad 10 years ago. I would have hoped to learn some new practical information to help me as a manager. You will not find that here (could be an MBA thing in general). In addition, no one has heard of Norwich on the West Coast. It has a good reputation within some circles (military), however, it does not carry any weight if you do not live in the NE.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Masters in Organizational Leadership

Master of Business Administration - May 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am writing this for the Masters in Organizational Leadership (MSOL). The MSOL was not an option on the pull-down menu. Overall, I love this degree. My writing and research abilities have improved tremendously! The readings are fantastic and have opened me up to a whole new world of books. My classmates, even though it is virtual, are supportive and offer more ideas. I chose this program because I wanted something more then a "check in the box" MBA, did not have time to go to class 2-3 times a week, wanted a quality online program from instructors who cared and the program is affordable, compared to most. There is some room for improvement (needs to update their online interface, the angel program seems to be a generation behind, and just a bit more interaction between instructor and student would help. For instance, utilize voice lectures more). I would also modify a few of the seminars. Instead of focusing strictly on Emotional Intelligence in the second seminar, have multi-topic seminar focusing on EQ, Social Intelligence and the other intelligences that have come into being. This could fall under a "Talent Management" seminar. Overall....highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great Program but lacking in one area

Master of Business Administration - August 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started by MBA at Norwich when the program was in its infancy. Overall the program was great and the materials were appropriately challenging. I never completed the residency due to the fact that the administration, particularly one individual, would not work with me. I had a doctor's note indicating that I should not attend. That individual felt the need to forward my personal, protected health information to a variety of administrative employees at Norwich. I expressed that I would no longer communicate with them via email so that I did not have to have my personal information strewn about the internet. I proceed to write letters to arrange for attendance at future residency. I never heard from them and now am about to send a certified letter to the Dean and see if I get a response. This school is great if you have no unfortunate issues going on in your life -- if you do, they won't help. Also beware that if you complete the program at the beginning of the year and take out loans, you will start paying on those loans immediately regardless of whether you attend residency and actually get the degree that you are paying for. Truly, I am interested in their MSIA program and would consider going back if they could assure me that they have figured out how to support the exception situations.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

An excellent online educational experience

Master of Business Administration - August 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I spent quite a bit of time researching online masters programs prior to my commitment to Norwich University. As a business professional, I travel a great deal. Enrolling in a land-based university graduate program just wasn’t feasible. What caught my attention about Norwich was their promise for individual attention and support throughout the program. They really do follow through on that promise. I was also impressed in how relative the coursework was in today’s workplace. I was amazed at how quickly I was applying what I learned in the classroom to my day-to-day tasks at work. My program really did balance classroom learning and real world experience. I believe the program at Norwich is one of the best online programs in existence, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a challenging educational experience. It is a fine university with a proud tradition and heritage, and that tradition and heritage stays with you during your entire educational journey and after graduation. Finally, I was also impressed by the fact that before graduation, graduates must attend a residency program at the university. This requirement provides graduates with a true sense of what it means to be a Norwich graduate and really ties you into the university and its history. QM - MPA - 2009

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

An Online Program with a Soul

Master of Business Administration - July 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided on Norwich because I wanted to be proud of the school name on my MBA Certificate and I was seeking a solid education. Both demands were met. In hindsight, the program was rigorous but you had the entire semester's deliverables scheduled out so you could manage your time accordingly. The professors were very knowledgeable and flexible. As long as you are proactive, self disciplined and serious about learning, Norwich University is for you. It will make you proud walking accross the stage receiving your diploma.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Program!

Master of Business Administration - June 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

NU's MBA was a very rigorous program, but well worth the work. Professors interact with students more than just grading papers; they encourage learning and growth in discussions, over the phone, and so on. Sundays become very valuable family days because you'll be working evenings and Saturdays, but the education received is worth it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

NU MBA - Super Program

Master of Business Administration - June 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was a tough program! I had to complete the prereq seminar because my undergrad was not in business, but I think it was a great help throughout the course. My prof took whatever time was needed to counsel me and help me where I needed it. The people in my cohort were super and I learned a great deal from them, a real force-multiplier. From people working in finance currently, to CEOs and business owners, we had a great connection and supported each other throughout. The system setup by NU gave us the capability to communicate efficiently. The support I received was first-class, from instructors to program administrators they were always available and worked hard to make sure everyone had what they needed. The school puts 100% into making this a program that challenges you, teaches you and makes you grow into someone you might not have known you could be. I'm proud to be a garduate of Norwich University!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Solid Education

Master of Business Administration - August 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Solid education. The pace is fast and fairly demanding. The school is a bit pricey but perhaps this helps to weed out those looking for something easier. Certainly the professors vary by subject (like every other school in the world) but this isn't a limiting factor. Each one has a very rich work experience background as well as loads of education. Be prepared to spend a significant amount of time writing and analyzing the case studies and assignments. Each week expect to write a paper avg'g 7 pages. The breaks between the classes is typically 1 week, so have the honey-do list cocked and ready. Upon graduation, one will look back at the different subject areas and realize that the amount covered during the 18 month program is crazy. There isn't an area that is really left uncovered as far as standard discussion within the business community. I was concerned starting out that the lack of time spent with other students would impede my networking as this is a major reason for the MBA program in general. This isn't the case as one will work extensivly with the other students (sometimes nightly over the phone) and will develop strong bonds. This is cemented all the more upon graduation at the final week while at the school. Some of the case studies are a bit dated but the application still rings true. Heard that the administration has been working to rewrite the program and make it even more robust. The program works closely with a local publicaly-traded company to provide real business scenerios that are not uncommon in the every day work place. Once you start, don't stop. just keep plugging and watch the amount of students fall out as the rigors are high. One a weird level this is almost satisfying to see as you get closer and closer to graduation. Norwich seems disinterested and trying to lighten the load in an effort to bring in more business. I think this will eventually work in their favor as the credibility continues to rise.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Norwich University MBA

Master of Business Administration - October 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program requires one to stay very focused and disciplined to stay in. It isn't well known outside of some specific channels but the degree packs the punch necessary for gaining a jump in the market place. You will find that the required discussions are very time consuming. The papers that are required to write (apprx 10 pgs/wk) are also pretty time consuming. One must manage their time with incredibly tight windows with the job and family. I entered the program looking for a solid, mutually respected MBA program and feel that I am getting my money's worth. The professors are incredibly knowledgeable (PhD/CEO/VPs/COO/CFO) with regard to today's business practices and strategies. I researched my options for well over a year with regard to online MBA programs and UoP and DeVry were too lite of degrees for me. This program is a good choice if you have the considerable extra time to put into studying and writing. If not, I encourage you to look into Kaplan or DeVry. The experience at Norwich can be summed-up perfectly by it's motto, Expect Challenge, Achieve Distinction.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Pleased with MBA program

Master of Business Administration - October 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about 1/3 of the way through my program, and I have to say I am pleased with the program. With any online program, there will be things to be desired, but overall I have been impressed with the University. The materials are always delivered ontime, the online classroom setting is very easy to navigate. The material is challenging, yet reasonable to manage class, personal life and my professional life at the same time. My instructors have been a pleasure to work with, and have been responsive to all my questions or concerns. Compared to my undergraduate program at a different "unnamed" online University, Norwich is way above in quality than that school.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Quality Online Education Program

Master of Business Administration - September 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In summary, the program worth the money I paid for. The program not only provides interesting reading materials, it uses up-to-date real-life case studies to solidify concepts learn from reading materials. Team projects and online discussions make the learning both challenging and fun. Team projects allow students to learn about group dynamics and how to resolve conflict as well as promote team work. Instructors are knowledgeable, supportive and helpful, and they are pretty good at responding to questions in timely manner. On the other hand, the course works are very demanding but it is definitely worth the time and effort to do well in them. I learned a great deal after each course and able to put what I learned into use at work right away. I will definitely recommend the program to others.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Norwich MBA = ROI

Master of Business Administration - May 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I notice some students point to negative aspects of the SGS programs at Norwich; I can’t echo those comments and personally had a near perfect experience while a student. Sure, some processes could be improved (i.e. being able to use mobile technology with the site...which may be possible now), but overall Norwich is a sure bet. Norwich is a strong option when considering an MBA. I completed their MBA program in 2007 and couldn’t be happier. I am 110% satisfied; I would recommend Norwich to anyone that has the discipline to complete a rigorous 18 months (24 if you don’t have a Business degree), and wants a quality education that you can actually use. Granted it is hard work but well worth it and a great value in my opinion for the quality of instruction you receive. From day one you are made to feel a part of the “Norwich family” and the staff, faculty, and administrators are all working exhaustively toward your success. Without a doubt Norwich and their staff genuinely care about you, your education, and your experience with them; despite being an online student I felt well informed and the customer service is hands down better than anything I have experienced by any organization, particularly a university. I also would give a thumbs-up to my fellow students. They are all very well educated, professional, and great friends that helped make the experience that much more rewarding. In terms of ROI, I have more than reaped my investment, my income has increased over 40% since enrolling in and completing my MBA.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

P.Evert

Master of Business Administration - May 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I rate this program good overall because I have talked to some dedicated people, but I have suffered through 2 of 3 classes with abysmal instructors. I have one (currently) who is an executive from tech and she does not seem interested in returning calls, emails or IM’s. Previous posts are correct – a lot of reading and not all of it necessary. I think this would be an ideal program if I did not have a job or maybe worked part-time. The lecture delivery is via streaming power point and accompanying lecture text (or voice overlay). The monotone nature of the voice lends no emphasis or understanding of the text. Tuition is going up – beware of that. I have talked to several prof’s and administrators who don’t think the teacher should provide anything above the book and course materials – this is a tough way to learn. The groups try to help one another in discussion, but it becomes the blind leading the blind absent commentary from a knowledgeable professor. Discussions are graded as harsh or more than the papers we write. No warning about that – it also takes too much time to figure out the professor for each class – they are very different. As far as the name Norwich goes, the online program is a distant cousin to the actual school. I don’t have much of a sense of connectedness to the school itself. Like most colleges, please pay ontime! I think I will be leaving this school for something I can attend locally. It just isn’t worth it to teach myself this subject.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

NU Exceeds all online Expectations

Master of Business Administration - February 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

NU's MBA online degree program is very challenging and promotes "real world" learning with the ROA case studies. I have been able to apply what I have learned in my company (something I found that I was unable to do with my undergrad). I have not been disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Mostly Pleased

Master of Business Administration - December 27, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is remarkable how different teachers are in this program. I have had 2 great teachers, 1 good, 1 poor, and 1 teacher who attempted to ruin the entire program. My latest (a final) teacher has provided no feedback to any discussions. That is disappointing. However, the material taught is very applicable to the business world in my opinion. I have learned a lot and enjoy the concept of the case study based around the same company at the end of each class. It helps drive home what you have learned.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Solid program

Master of Business Administration - September 12, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Norwich is a school with a compelling history (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norwich_University) and a solid degree program. I and my cohort peers are quite satisfied with the university.

Was this review helpful?

Norwich MBA

Master of Business Administration - August 26, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In general Norwich has put a lot of effort in to all of it's online degrees. The SGS staff is highly motivated and responsive to students. I agree with comments regarding porofessor consistency and quality. A general concern MIGHT be name recognition, a lot of people do not recognize the name Norwich and assume its some kind of online storefront school. There are still prejudices in the workplace in some places against online degrees. Not true with Norwich, this school is a real brick and mortar institution thats been around since the early 1800's. When you finally earn your degree, trust me you have worked for it and you know exactly what the degree implies you are supposed to know. The instructional delivery technique really works, based mostly on lectures, readings, weeekly discussions, weekly papers, and end of seminar papers. Three personal criticisms with program: 1. Criteria for requirement to perform MBA pre-req semester is too arbitrary. Regardless of experience or knowledge, if you have no undergrad business you must take pre-req. I found the pre-req generally to be boring and in my case a waste of time (and money $7,900+). 2. Exam questions, too many are not written correctly or have wrong answers. They need to review exams for quality and accuracy. 3. Some of the technology discussed in the MBA is way out of date. That needs to be updated. Course of instruction is based on 10 week seminars, two seminars per semester and three semesters for the entire program (4 with pre-req). You get about a two week break between seminars. At the end, you are required to attend a one week residency on campus. Norwich is in North Central Vermont. Campus is beautiful and the residency is a lot of fun with various debates, lectures, and group social events. Graduation is on a Friday. Families are welcome, although encouraged to arrive later in the week since focus earlier in the week is on academic activities.

Was this review helpful?

Emphasis on school pride

Master of Business Administration - August 24, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Norwich is an excellent program that constantly challenges me. The staff makes an effort to make sure the online students feel as much a part of NU as the on-campus students. A one-week residency is included at the end for capstone and graduation activities. My one complaint is that professor quality seems to vary a bit. Some are outstanding while others are not so stellar. However, the education is top notch.

Was this review helpful?

Norwich University MBA

Master of Business Administration - August 24, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm not too far into the program yet, but I know that I'll learn a lot from Norwich. I completed another online degree in the past from a different instituion, but didn't feel that I learned a lot. Norwich has surpassed my expectations and I look forward to learning all I can from the rest of this degree.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Norwich University in any way.