Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Norwich University

  • Norwich University Reviews

    Ranking: #8
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: New England Association of Schools and Colleges

4.4
97 Reviews
5 57 
4 30 
3 5 
2 5 
1 0 
0 0 

Norwich University Reviews:

Pinned

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - December 11, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MPA in August of 2015. I learned so much during this time. If you are thinking of Norwich for your master's program, be prepared to wok-alot. The assignments are tough and a bit unforgiving in my opinion. However, the professors I had were all understanding when those life things happen and you are late with an assignment-as long as it is not a regular occurrence. I found all of the professors to be knowledgable. I have read some who have said they received little direction during their program. At first I was somewhat confused until I realized the intent is for you figure it out on your own. Rarely was there a problem. The first class will be tough-plan on spending 40 hours a week; and I am not kidding about this. Lots of research and lots of writing. You and your APA manual will become very good friends. The capstone was interesting to say the least, but like many, I was just glad to be done--18 months down. Was it worth it? Yes. The residency requirement is very cool--really good time. Would I do it again? Yes (but I have no intent to!!) Recommend it-yes, if you are willing to commit the time and effort you will be successful. The degree has changed the way I look at problems and develop pragmatic solutions. At residency, we were given a tee shirt that said 'Expect Challenge, Achieve Distinction." True

Was this review helpful?

mpa

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - May 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very enriching experience. Caters to military audience allowing flexibility where appropriate, especially during increased OPTEMPO plus positive feedback when writing is clear, concise, and direct in nature.

Was this review helpful?

Nowich MPA tough but rewarding

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - February 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just completed the MPA program (waiting for residency) and am proud to be on the verge of a degree from Norwich. Outstanding program. Well structured, logical, excellent faculty. You need to be organized and self-motivated - they will offer all the support you need but will not hold your hand. Challenging but worth it. No problems from admission to completion. Worth your consideration.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Well Run Program With Challenges

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - July 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MPA program is designed to provide students with a solid foundation of public sector topics such as public management, policy development and analysis, legal and ethical issues, research, and statistical analysis. The professors consistently engage the students and are very accessible by phone, email or other methods. I actually found that my professors at Norwich were much more accessible than the professors at the university I attended for my undergraduate degree (I attended a major public university in New England with an excellent academic reputation). My experience with the virtual classroom setting proved to me that distance learning programs do in fact offer significant challenge, requiring a certain type of individual to actually complete the program. Distance learning is probably not for everyone, but I would highly recommend this program in particular to individuals who are highly self-motivated, enjoy reading and researching topics, and are especially adept at writing. The amount of work required is sometimes overwhelming, but the satisfaction you will gain upon completion is not likely to be easily matched in a traditional classroom setting. This is mainly due to the fact that the rigor of the program combined with the dedication it requires of the individual helps build the level of accomplishment. The culmination of the degree experience is the required residency at the university, which I can say from my personal experience was absolutely the best part of this program. It provides you with an opportunity to get to know a great school, become friends with your classmates, and become part of a great tradition at the school. I would not recommend a distance learning program without a residency requirement, even a short one such as is required by Norwich University. I highly recommend this program to anyone interested in truly earning their MPA.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

The best one out there

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - September 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm almost half way through this program, and I could not be happier I chose Norwich for my graduate studies. The school is definately focused, demanding, and productive. I really feel I'm getting the best education out there in this field. The instructors are of the highest caliber, and the other students are from such diverse backgrounds--all of them working in some field related to public administration, and all of them dedicated to the quality education we're receiving. If you're looking to work toward a graduate degree that will give you the tools you need to become a great leader, this is the program for you.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Education / Applicable to Current Positi

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - August 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my second on-line masters program and it is TOP notch. It exceeded my expections. It is wonderful to be able to apply the information learned in the weekly classwork to my daily position as a Town Administrator.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Top notch school...

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - August 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I searched for 3 years to find an MPA program as rigorous and challenging as my undergrad program had been. I reviewed close to 30 various schools offering distance learning programs and just happened upon Norwich. I am about to begin the first half of my second seminar and have found the program so far to be everything that I was looking for in furthering my education for my career. The instructors are leaders and not just teachers. They are tops in their fields with extensive and active backgrounds in various aspects of the field of Public Administration. The school stays in contact with you at all times and even has alumni groups across the nation with which you become involved. The academic programs are tough and the sacrifices to meet the study requirements are many and well worth the effort. They say Expect Challenge: Achieve Distinction and they mean it. This program is not for the unfocused or the weak willed, and for that I am glad. Norwich is an excellent choice to gain the attributes of and to become a leader in your field.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MPA

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - August 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The program keeps you very involved and the seminars are up to date with current events and related materials.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Norwich MPA is Excellant !

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - August 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about half way through the Masters of Public Administration degree at Norwich. I have found the course to be challenging and more importantly, thought provoking. The students come from a diverse background. All have experience that they use enhance the discussions and exchange of ideas. I have learned much from the course, but even more from the other students. What a great mix! The resources that Norwich provides are absolutely top shelf. From the personnal assistance that I received during my initial entry into the program, to the guidance and mentoring I received from a well-credentialed staff, to a research/resource library, I rate the whole experience as excellant. Don't expect an easy ride. The pace is quick and the course requirements are challenging. But I can already tell that the education will be well worth the price paid. Norwich has a very distinguished lineage. It has made history both as a military institution as well as a traditional school of higher learning. The program motto fits it well;"Expect Challenge-Achieve Distinction".

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Masters of Public Administration

Masters in Public Administration (MPA) - August 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Masters in Public Administration has been a great experience, with fantastic teachers. The on-line pace of the coursework is great, the professors have great credentials and know the world of public administration. Real world examples are tracked and studied throughout the courses. I would highly recommend having experience working in public offices prior to attempting this degree however. Many people comment on the requirements for writing, but in this field, writing is real-world. The classes emphasize and strengthen your ability to communicate concisely in a public administration setting. If you want a degree you can be proud of, Norwich University is the place for you.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Norwich University in any way.