Norwich University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Masters Programs:
Master of Military History (9)
Master of Business Administration (19)
Master of Arts in Diplomacy (17)
Information Assurance (18)
Masters of Justice Administration (5)
Master of Civil Engineering (5)
Masters in Public Administration (MPA) (9)


To link to this page:

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 10, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
mpa Very enriching experience. Caters to military audience allowing flexibility where appropriate, especially during increased OPTEMPO plus positive feedback when writing is clear, concise, and direct in nature.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 22, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Disappointment I'm completing my first MBA course at Norwich and it will be my last course (Strategic Management). Unfortunately I have had very poor experiences from the Admissions Office, Program Lead, and Bursar Office. All of these contacts are very slow to respond to concerns or questions. They generally do not answer their phones, call you back, or respond to e-mail inquiries. In addition, the Bursar's Office made a significant oversight, which almost removed me from the course. I never received an apology or any response from them on it. I can only review the first course, but I'm unimpressed with the content so far. The topics covered are incredibly general and the text books provided have little to do with the subjects being reviewed. In addition, the essays and reports are not aligned with the reading and topics for the week; which makes it very difficult to complete the assigned essays. In addition, the program setup is nearly all self taught, there is little substantive interaction from the professor. The online class system is also very difficult to navigate and is somewhat unintuitive. The first course is also a complete repeat of what I learned in my Business Undergrad 10 years ago. I would have hoped to learn some new practical information to help me as a manager. You will not find that here (could be an MBA thing in general). In addition, no one has heard of Norwich on the West Coast. It has a good reputation within some circles (military), however, it does not carry any weight if you do not live in the NE.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Jeff.rebhun83 (In Progress) on July 23, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great school, great people, great program! My friend, a Master's in Diplomacy Norwich grad, introduced me to this school and told me that there was a bachelors degree completion program. I was disenfranchised with American Military University and I was wasting away in community college trying to decide my next move since I work full time. Luckily, I applied to this program and was accepted. For an online degree program, I was highly impressed with the faculty and staff. There was never a time that I was not answered within a couple hours of asking questions of the staff and the instructors appeared to have extremely diverse backgrounds that enriched the learning environment. Interactions with the instructors was the rule rather than the exception and we even got phone calls from them the first week to ensure that we had real contact with our instructors. Currently I am in my last course and will be graduating in December with my bachelors of science. Care is taken to account for ACE credits that were earned through military training and/or college credits that we have taken. I was even enrolled in studies that were similar to courses I had taken at my local community college and I was given credit for them and auto withdrawn without any charges to me personally. Lastly, although I was unable to attend, those of us enrolled in the BSSSDA were invited to Norwich's Residency Week. It seemed like an exciting cap to the program, but work got in the way. As a side note, this program is geared towards SOF types, both active and veterans, or current or former service members that have served in a capacity that supported SOF. An application has to be submitted with an essay and resume. This school is great and I love the place. I am glad my friend recommended me. Not only do I get to be part of a school that has a rich tradition and history, but they allowed me to complete my bachelors online giving me the most flexibility.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 26, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Overall a good program I completed this program in 2011. For the most part, the professors and students are highly motivated individuals who are a pleasure to work with. I do believe the students are high-caliber types and rarely did I feel anyone in my class was just doing the bare minimum to get by. Because of this, the online structure works quite well. There are 5 courses and the final capstone course focused on writing a thesis. I was quite happy with the courses and the material. This has very little to do with names, dates, and places. It has everything to do with the larger theories and trends in historical study. I learned a great deal. There is, however, one bad professor. Anyone with this degree knows exactly who that is. Sadly, he is in a position of authority and treats his students like a tyrannical dictator would abuse the lowly peasants. He uses personal insults, offensive stereotypes, political rants, and subtle threats to keep his grip on things. In no way is his personality conducive to learning. He does teach some classes and if you are the unlucky ones to go through his class, you will spend 3 months keeping your mouth shut and trying to survive. Most troubling was my experience at residency where an entire class almost revolted and the MMH faculty did nothing to resolve the obvious problem. You may or may not deal with this particular professor in a class, but he is the final authority on captstone subjects, so you'll have to get through him at least once. He puts forth minimal effort and often gives nothing more than a scathing sentence in response to any submitted material. I learned the hard way that no one, not even his superiors, will do anything to stop him. I believe this shows a serious lack of leadership on the part of Norwich and the MMH program. It may sound odd, but I've steered several coworkers and friends away from this program because of this. The MMH program is challenging and rewarding, but Norwich really needs to take a look at the value added of an underperforming professor having so much authority despite year after year of complaints from the students.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Pjs.msia (Graduate) on June 13, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great business-oriented IA program but very challenging I am an information security professional with 20 years military and civilian experience who needed a Master's degree to lengthen and broaden my career-path. I considered several other programs including James Madison University, Northeastern University (my Alma Mater), and Carnegie Mellon University (former employer). All great programs but Norwich fit me best with a strong business management-focused information assurance program that is tailored to someone in the senior management ranks, or someone who wants to get there. Be forewarned, however, that the amount of work can be overwhelming. Norwich is a military academy and a strong work ethic and self-discipline are expected traits. Expect to spend 20-25 hours per week on this program over six eleven week seminars. This is a case-study based course where you are conducting and writing the studies using your employer as the subject. Expect to analyze real problems. Expect to write a 2500 word paper every two weeks, a 2000 word exam every three weeks and a 12,000-15,000 word end-of-seminar paper every eleven weeks. Excellent writing skills are necessary for success. A strong support structure at home is necessary if you have a family and a full-time job. I am self-employed and my work requires 40 weeks of travel annually. Seriously, 40 weeks. This program was flexible enough to fit into and around my obviously demanding schedule. Also expect excellent support from the university staff. The professors are top-notch and are recognized leading expert in their various fields. The MSIA support staff were always available, always helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Mixed feelings My experience with this program has been mixed. All professors marked too easily until the final professor who has no business teaching a class of civilians. He seemed to make it his mission to destroy the self esteem and motivation of his students and bordered on bullying with his comments. For the cost of tuition I would not recommend this course based on the inconsistency of the professors. I honestly have to say that this professor single handedly diminished my esteem for the entire program so if you are lucky enough to avoid him you might be fine. There is truth to the fact that some professors indoctrinated into the military life style cannot interact appropriate with civilians lacking the same indoctrination. In terms of workload, it was rather excessive considering it was supposed to be compatible with people working full time jobs. It would have been ideal if I had a part-time job. If you have a full time job look forward to dropping friends and social engagements for most of the next year and a half.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Nbhamilton (Graduate) on April 13, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
M.A. in Diplomacy I had never taken an online course before attending Norwich. So I was a little skeptical, even after researching all the various online graduate programs available. My career required an online curriculum and I now know I made an excellent choice. Some of the professors were more engaging than others and some of the reading material, especially in studying the international political economy, were slightly outdated. Overall, however, the quality was exceptional. There were also a few instances that perhaps the grading of papers seemed a little lax. For example, I feel that if you earn an A on a paper, it should be nearly publishable, with perhaps only minor technical / grammatical errors; I received some As I'm not sure I deserved, with substantive drawbacks to my arguments.. I could not find data on the average and median grade for each class I attended. The online interface was easy and accessible, even for a Mac user like me. I learned much, much more than I expected to going into the experience. I would recommend this university to anyone who is seeking an online M.A. and I actually may go back if I decide for an MBA.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Firesq8 (Graduate) on February 26, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Nowich MPA tough but rewarding Just completed the MPA program (waiting for residency) and am proud to be on the verge of a degree from Norwich. Outstanding program. Well structured, logical, excellent faculty. You need to be organized and self-motivated - they will offer all the support you need but will not hold your hand. Challenging but worth it. No problems from admission to completion. Worth your consideration.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 4, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I should have listened to the reviews Granted, no person ever writes a review before entering a school, however, my experience with the university comes not from attending the classes, but from applying to the school. I started contacting the school last year and I was given the admissions list that I was to complete before I was to be admitted into the school. I completed every aspect of that list and submitted it to the admissions counselor for review. At that time, I was told that my admissions packet looked good and that I was a shoe-in for admittance. However, a day before the admissions decision was to be made, the counselor contacted me, saying they lost my letter of intent. I thought; how could you lose a letter emailed to you? I asked them about it and it became a heated argument between me and the counselor. Anyway, I gave myself a few days to calm down after this exchange and contacted the admissions counselor again. I thought we were back on track when they returned my admissions essay. They said it needed more work. Anyway, a year later, I talked to the same admissions counselor about possibly re-applying to the program again and I even re-submitted the admissions essay for review. It was returned to me and I continued to make changes to it as they prescribed. After I made the changes I thought they were looking for, it was returned. I am an Army veteran and I know from my experience with the military that when a person has a conflict with a person of 'authority', the person would make excuses to keep the person from doing something. I find that kind of attitude and conduct unbecoming of a school that boasts a long tradition. I find it sad that I have to give up on applying for a program that I want to study because someone has a personal conflict with me, but that says something about the school and the people who represent it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 28, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Godd program, Comprehensive exam is a long term preparation thing. Teahers are vastly experienced. Some appear disinterested and seeking reinforcement of theories they endorse, in one case arguing for their position when shown a picture specificly refuting that position they had taken. Institution is hard but excellent. Library usage weekly required, library staff rarely responds to queries, thus support weaker than expected considering quality of work required. Search engines obtuse relative to specific study area with Google providing more data than Norwich Google. Drop out rate seems to be well over the 50% they advertise.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MS Business Continuity Norwich is a not for profit University that employs professors who are professionals in the industry of study. The work load is intense. Don't even bother if you can't write graduate level essays each and every week for 11 weeks, several exams, a 10,000 word final project, and 1000's of words in discussions, and sometimes live participation conference calls. I've got an MBA before the internet even existed, and this MS was much more work intensive.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Tjjq (In Progress) on May 24, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Masters in Organizational Leadership I am writing this for the Masters in Organizational Leadership (MSOL). The MSOL was not an option on the pull-down menu. Overall, I love this degree. My writing and research abilities have improved tremendously! The readings are fantastic and have opened me up to a whole new world of books. My classmates, even though it is virtual, are supportive and offer more ideas. I chose this program because I wanted something more then a "check in the box" MBA, did not have time to go to class 2-3 times a week, wanted a quality online program from instructors who cared and the program is affordable, compared to most. There is some room for improvement (needs to update their online interface, the angel program seems to be a generation behind, and just a bit more interaction between instructor and student would help. For instance, utilize voice lectures more). I would also modify a few of the seminars. Instead of focusing strictly on Emotional Intelligence in the second seminar, have multi-topic seminar focusing on EQ, Social Intelligence and the other intelligences that have come into being. This could fall under a "Talent Management" seminar. Overall....highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 29, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Program but lacking in one area I started by MBA at Norwich when the program was in its infancy. Overall the program was great and the materials were appropriately challenging. I never completed the residency due to the fact that the administration, particularly one individual, would not work with me. I had a doctor's note indicating that I should not attend. That individual felt the need to forward my personal, protected health information to a variety of administrative employees at Norwich. I expressed that I would no longer communicate with them via email so that I did not have to have my personal information strewn about the internet. I proceed to write letters to arrange for attendance at future residency. I never heard from them and now am about to send a certified letter to the Dean and see if I get a response. This school is great if you have no unfortunate issues going on in your life -- if you do, they won't help. Also beware that if you complete the program at the beginning of the year and take out loans, you will start paying on those loans immediately regardless of whether you attend residency and actually get the degree that you are paying for. Truly, I am interested in their MSIA program and would consider going back if they could assure me that they have figured out how to support the exception situations.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Eugenegurevich (Graduate) on August 24, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MCE Program Circa 2010 Coursework applicable both immediately and for the future of one's career. Project Management coursework prepared by Mike Puddicombe are world class. Structural analysis and steel coursework is robust. Use of technology in learning is highly effective, outclassing traditional brick and mortar education in many areas. Experience of learning with and meeting such a diverse group is truly unique and eye opening, especially through the residency and through weekly discussions. This program is truly what you make of it. If you spend 20 hours per week you can make it through. If you spend 30 or more, you really get a worldclass education. This program is on the rise, and quickly. Look for considerable improvements to an already superb program. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Phxrattleraz (Graduate) on August 5, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An excellent online educational experience I spent quite a bit of time researching online masters programs prior to my commitment to Norwich University. As a business professional, I travel a great deal. Enrolling in a land-based university graduate program just wasn’t feasible. What caught my attention about Norwich was their promise for individual attention and support throughout the program. They really do follow through on that promise. I was also impressed in how relative the coursework was in today’s workplace. I was amazed at how quickly I was applying what I learned in the classroom to my day-to-day tasks at work. My program really did balance classroom learning and real world experience. I believe the program at Norwich is one of the best online programs in existence, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a challenging educational experience. It is a fine university with a proud tradition and heritage, and that tradition and heritage stays with you during your entire educational journey and after graduation. Finally, I was also impressed by the fact that before graduation, graduates must attend a residency program at the university. This requirement provides graduates with a true sense of what it means to be a Norwich graduate and really ties you into the university and its history. QM - MPA - 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 2, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MISA program The Norwich MSIA program is a fantastic program. I entered the program with a technical background and lacked the security management skills. After completing the program I have accelerated my career. Currently, I am a Security director leading an entire organization's security program. Without the Norwich program I would still be the technical expert at my old company without the potential to advance into senior management.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Lengreenejr (Graduate) on July 2, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Well Run Program With Challenges The MPA program is designed to provide students with a solid foundation of public sector topics such as public management, policy development and analysis, legal and ethical issues, research, and statistical analysis. The professors consistently engage the students and are very accessible by phone, email or other methods. I actually found that my professors at Norwich were much more accessible than the professors at the university I attended for my undergraduate degree (I attended a major public university in New England with an excellent academic reputation). My experience with the virtual classroom setting proved to me that distance learning programs do in fact offer significant challenge, requiring a certain type of individual to actually complete the program. Distance learning is probably not for everyone, but I would highly recommend this program in particular to individuals who are highly self-motivated, enjoy reading and researching topics, and are especially adept at writing. The amount of work required is sometimes overwhelming, but the satisfaction you will gain upon completion is not likely to be easily matched in a traditional classroom setting. This is mainly due to the fact that the rigor of the program combined with the dedication it requires of the individual helps build the level of accomplishment. The culmination of the degree experience is the required residency at the university, which I can say from my personal experience was absolutely the best part of this program. It provides you with an opportunity to get to know a great school, become friends with your classmates, and become part of a great tradition at the school. I would not recommend a distance learning program without a residency requirement, even a short one such as is required by Norwich University. I highly recommend this program to anyone interested in truly earning their MPA.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 2, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Networking, Impressive Diversity I've just completed the 2010 Residency program for the Diplomacy degree after having finished the course work in November 2009 (I started in June 2008). The degree is incredibly challenging and requires a lot of reading and critical thinking. From weekly discussions in the online classroom to the 20-25 page term papers, you are given every opportunity to learn from engaging with classmates and to develop writing skills. While many students do have a military background I was pleased by the range of public service, private sector, and foreign diplomacy perspectives I encountered throughout the program. One professor had worked as a diplomat for the Czech government in the Balkans. At the one-week Residency each student presented one of the six term papers he/she wrote. One paper presentation was on conflict management in Somalia from a student from Ethiopia and another was on recovering from the effects of Apartheid presented by a South African student who had trained new police recruits after desegregation in the 1990s. There were literally over 100 papers presented in three days and each person could choose which presentations to attend based on their interests. I completed the degree while working full-time in the Air Force. It was an amazing experience and a perfect fit for professionals with an interest in international relations who cannot attend school in residence for 12-18 months but are still looking for a challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Apicano (Graduate) on July 1, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An Online Program with a Soul I decided on Norwich because I wanted to be proud of the school name on my MBA Certificate and I was seeking a solid education. Both demands were met. In hindsight, the program was rigorous but you had the entire semester's deliverables scheduled out so you could manage your time accordingly. The professors were very knowledgeable and flexible. As long as you are proactive, self disciplined and serious about learning, Norwich University is for you. It will make you proud walking accross the stage receiving your diploma.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Keith (Graduate) on June 23, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Program! NU's MBA was a very rigorous program, but well worth the work. Professors interact with students more than just grading papers; they encourage learning and growth in discussions, over the phone, and so on. Sundays become very valuable family days because you'll be working evenings and Saturdays, but the education received is worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 4, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NU MBA - Super Program This was a tough program! I had to complete the prereq seminar because my undergrad was not in business, but I think it was a great help throughout the course. My prof took whatever time was needed to counsel me and help me where I needed it. The people in my cohort were super and I learned a great deal from them, a real force-multiplier. From people working in finance currently, to CEOs and business owners, we had a great connection and supported each other throughout. The system setup by NU gave us the capability to communicate efficiently. The support I received was first-class, from instructors to program administrators they were always available and worked hard to make sure everyone had what they needed. The school puts 100% into making this a program that challenges you, teaches you and makes you grow into someone you might not have known you could be. I'm proud to be a garduate of Norwich University!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Riffjim4069 (Graduate) on May 30, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Cream of the MSIA Crop The Norwich MSIA degree is a top-notch information assurance program from a management perspective. After conducting extensive research into graduate programs providing curricula in information assurance, security engineering and network security, I concluded the Norwich program was best suited for my particular interests and career development goals. Prior to beginning this degree I had more than 27-years of federal IT experience, with 12-years supporting various government information security programs. Therefore it was a prerequisite that the school I selected be recognized by the National Security Agency (NSA) and Department of Homeland Security (DHS) as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education (CAEIAE). Norwich meets this requirement. During the evaluation period I considered graduate degree programs Capitol College (MSIA), Capella University (MSIT), Norwich University (MSIA), and Southern Methodist University (MS in Security Engineering). Of course, this is after having quickly disqualified nine (9) other programs. I found the format of the MSIA program at Norwich University to be outstanding; it was well-structured and highly-flexible for the working Information Assurance professional (much appreciated), yet extremely demanding given the amount of weekly reading assignments, discussion topic postings, written essays, exams (from the C-level perspective), and seminar term paper. To be honest, the Norwich MSIA was the only program I found to have no disqualifiers: Capitol College – their program (completed two courses) was also in-tune with my education and career development objectives. However, there were too many synchronous online lectures that interfered with my job as an systems security engineer and program manager. While the program was somewhat more technical in nature, their courses adding little to my existing technical acumen and only lightly addressed security program management. Capella University – decent course content using asynchronous delivery; however the program focused too much on IT and not enough on security. I did not feel the program would add substantially to my IA acumen. Southern Methodist University - offers a solid graduate degree in Security Engineering through an “on site” partnership with my company. Unfortunately, their program focused way too much on Systems Engineering and not enough on Systems Security Engineering - and almost nothing on the security program management I am industry certified (CISM, CISSP-ISSEP, CAP) and have served in a variety of security management, security administration, and security engineering billets over the years. However, I have always preferred leading teams of security analysts, engineers, and IA professionals in order to meet specific business goals and objections. Clearly, the Norwich MSIA will help me achieve my professional goals by developing my information assurance knowledge, skills, and abilities.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Chuck (Graduate) on April 12, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MSIA: Worth Every Penny This is a great program with expert faculty members and a staff that stays very involved with the students all throughout the program. I have 15 years experience in the industry and I learned a LOT from the professors and my fellow students. Every seminar was directly applicable to my work and I find that I am still constantly referencing my MSIA work when doing my job. Everything is included in the tuition so there are no hidden costs and residency week was not only educational, but a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 24, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MCE Program Norwich is the best univesity to attend. The whole staff are excellent and do help you through the program. The lecturere are helpful and do response to you questions as soon as possible. You do get help from your classmates by them answering the questions aor explaining what you do ask whether the lecturer or the class. I do recommend Norwich University for those you want to earn their master degree with a relax atmosphere. Norwich University is great.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 13, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very satisfied I finished my diplomacy masters in 2008 and must say that the program was much more challenging than I expected. Having tried other online courses I was pleasantly surprised at its structure. Excellent program and solidly backed up by a stellar "bricks and mortar" school. There was one issue that arose about an instructor that was a very poor example of educator. I discovered after a simple google search that this person was a disbarred lawyer and ex-felon! The class was atrocious but to Norwich's credit that person is no longer a member of their faculty. At the time it was disheartening that such a person was allowed to "teach". Do yourself a favor with online courses, really read the instructor's bio and if it looks a little sparse google their name but most importantly, don't do like I did and just hope for it to get better - call someone!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Flatfoot2210 (Graduate) on September 29, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great program I completed my Diplomacy Degree in 2005 and am just about done with the coursework for my PhD. This is a real program, not a give away by any means, it's challenging but worth every minute. You will never find professors of this caliber on any one campus; they come from a number of institutions and are world class. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Hbcbmom (In Progress) on September 20, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The best one out there I'm almost half way through this program, and I could not be happier I chose Norwich for my graduate studies. The school is definately focused, demanding, and productive. I really feel I'm getting the best education out there in this field. The instructors are of the highest caliber, and the other students are from such diverse backgrounds--all of them working in some field related to public administration, and all of them dedicated to the quality education we're receiving. If you're looking to work toward a graduate degree that will give you the tools you need to become a great leader, this is the program for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Cathy.davison11 (In Progress) on August 30, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Education / Applicable to Current Positi This is my second on-line masters program and it is TOP notch. It exceeded my expections. It is wonderful to be able to apply the information learned in the weekly classwork to my daily position as a Town Administrator.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Randymartinez (In Progress) on August 27, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Top notch school... I searched for 3 years to find an MPA program as rigorous and challenging as my undergrad program had been. I reviewed close to 30 various schools offering distance learning programs and just happened upon Norwich. I am about to begin the first half of my second seminar and have found the program so far to be everything that I was looking for in furthering my education for my career. The instructors are leaders and not just teachers. They are tops in their fields with extensive and active backgrounds in various aspects of the field of Public Administration. The school stays in contact with you at all times and even has alumni groups across the nation with which you become involved. The academic programs are tough and the sacrifices to meet the study requirements are many and well worth the effort. They say Expect Challenge: Achieve Distinction and they mean it. This program is not for the unfocused or the weak willed, and for that I am glad. Norwich is an excellent choice to gain the attributes of and to become a leader in your field.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 26, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MPA The program keeps you very involved and the seminars are up to date with current events and related materials.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

John.lawlor (In Progress) on August 25, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MPA is Excellant ! I am about half way through the Masters of Public Administration degree at Norwich. I have found the course to be challenging and more importantly, thought provoking. The students come from a diverse background. All have experience that they use enhance the discussions and exchange of ideas. I have learned much from the course, but even more from the other students. What a great mix! The resources that Norwich provides are absolutely top shelf. From the personnal assistance that I received during my initial entry into the program, to the guidance and mentoring I received from a well-credentialed staff, to a research/resource library, I rate the whole experience as excellant. Don't expect an easy ride. The pace is quick and the course requirements are challenging. But I can already tell that the education will be well worth the price paid. Norwich has a very distinguished lineage. It has made history both as a military institution as well as a traditional school of higher learning. The program motto fits it well;"Expect Challenge-Achieve Distinction".
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 24, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Masters of Public Administration The Masters in Public Administration has been a great experience, with fantastic teachers. The on-line pace of the coursework is great, the professors have great credentials and know the world of public administration. Real world examples are tracked and studied throughout the courses. I would highly recommend having experience working in public offices prior to attempting this degree however. Many people comment on the requirements for writing, but in this field, writing is real-world. The classes emphasize and strengthen your ability to communicate concisely in a public administration setting. If you want a degree you can be proud of, Norwich University is the place for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 22, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Solid Education Solid education. The pace is fast and fairly demanding. The school is a bit pricey but perhaps this helps to weed out those looking for something easier. Certainly the professors vary by subject (like every other school in the world) but this isn't a limiting factor. Each one has a very rich work experience background as well as loads of education. Be prepared to spend a significant amount of time writing and analyzing the case studies and assignments. Each week expect to write a paper avg'g 7 pages. The breaks between the classes is typically 1 week, so have the honey-do list cocked and ready. Upon graduation, one will look back at the different subject areas and realize that the amount covered during the 18 month program is crazy. There isn't an area that is really left uncovered as far as standard discussion within the business community. I was concerned starting out that the lack of time spent with other students would impede my networking as this is a major reason for the MBA program in general. This isn't the case as one will work extensivly with the other students (sometimes nightly over the phone) and will develop strong bonds. This is cemented all the more upon graduation at the final week while at the school. Some of the case studies are a bit dated but the application still rings true. Heard that the administration has been working to rewrite the program and make it even more robust. The program works closely with a local publicaly-traded company to provide real business scenerios that are not uncommon in the every day work place. Once you start, don't stop. just keep plugging and watch the amount of students fall out as the rigors are high. One a weird level this is almost satisfying to see as you get closer and closer to graduation. Norwich seems disinterested and trying to lighten the load in an effort to bring in more business. I think this will eventually work in their favor as the credibility continues to rise.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 14, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Well worth it I had started and not compelted 2 masters programs before Norwich because of not being able to attend classing. Norwich made it possible. It wasn't an easy program but a true stretch the brain and get value for your time and money.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Behouda (Graduate) on June 30, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent and challenging MMH course This is a superb and rigorous course. History is a written and read discipline, and you will definitely read and write in this course. That said, the instructors are excellent, the learning is nonstop, and the Residency (something I thought would be disappointing) was the best of all. Take this course! Bob Bailey, MMH 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 8, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent, Challenging Program My current career field is Information Assurance, specifically an engineer in the profession with a vast technical background. I researched Norwich extensively based on quality, reputation, and the program's professor. This program is recognized as a Center for Academic Excellence by the National Security Agency, the professor's material is widely published and recognized across the industry, and the school's reputation is impeccable. In fact, alumni of other prestigious institutions recognize the reputation of Norwich: every West Point alumni I have spoken with has a very high opinion of Norwich. The real value in the MSIA program is the material it provides: concepts, principles and framework associated with Information Assurance. It is most assuredly big picture stuff, and for those who expect it to be a technical exercise in hacking will be woefully disappointed. This program is designed for the overall science of Information Assurance, to include its foundations, laws, policy making, risk analysis, and organizational concepts. It provides methodologies and strategic value vital to a Chief Information Security Officer, a strategic planner, or anyone otherwise responsible for subject matter expertise in IA. Technical skills are important to know, but they are only part of the picture when it comes to the total IA experience. I highly recommend the Norwich MSIA program for anyone who wishes to pursue IA as a profession. You will be writing (a LOT), and you will be challenged and forced to defend your research, but what you learn here will well prepare you for the real world, whether it be the boardroom, a government program, or consultancy.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 27, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Quality Education I recently completed my last seminar in the Diplomacy program. After a year and a half it is hard to believe that I am finally done. The workload was intense and almost crippling through Seminars 4-5, but the rest were pretty balanced. You are registered as a Full-Time student, and make no mistake, you need every hour of the week you can spare. I averaged 20-25 hours most weeks and even more through the tough Seminars. I took it very seriously and prioritized the program ahead of anything else in my free time, which resulted in a 4.0 GPA. I am proud of the accomplishment and look forward to residency. There are only a handful of International Affairs degress online at the Masters level. Based on my research of the others, and Norwich's reputation as a Brick and Mortar school, this was the best program I could have taken. It is not cheap, but you will have it for the rest of your life, so why skimp on a cheap online degree from somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 18, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich University MBA This program requires one to stay very focused and disciplined to stay in. It isn't well known outside of some specific channels but the degree packs the punch necessary for gaining a jump in the market place. You will find that the required discussions are very time consuming. The papers that are required to write (apprx 10 pgs/wk) are also pretty time consuming. One must manage their time with incredibly tight windows with the job and family. I entered the program looking for a solid, mutually respected MBA program and feel that I am getting my money's worth. The professors are incredibly knowledgeable (PhD/CEO/VPs/COO/CFO) with regard to today's business practices and strategies. I researched my options for well over a year with regard to online MBA programs and UoP and DeVry were too lite of degrees for me. This program is a good choice if you have the considerable extra time to put into studying and writing. If not, I encourage you to look into Kaplan or DeVry. The experience at Norwich can be summed-up perfectly by it's motto, Expect Challenge, Achieve Distinction.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 6, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pleased with MBA program I am about 1/3 of the way through my program, and I have to say I am pleased with the program. With any online program, there will be things to be desired, but overall I have been impressed with the University. The materials are always delivered ontime, the online classroom setting is very easy to navigate. The material is challenging, yet reasonable to manage class, personal life and my professional life at the same time. My instructors have been a pleasure to work with, and have been responsive to all my questions or concerns. Compared to my undergraduate program at a different "unnamed" online University, Norwich is way above in quality than that school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Cchee.mba101 (Graduate) on September 30, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Quality Online Education Program In summary, the program worth the money I paid for. The program not only provides interesting reading materials, it uses up-to-date real-life case studies to solidify concepts learn from reading materials. Team projects and online discussions make the learning both challenging and fun. Team projects allow students to learn about group dynamics and how to resolve conflict as well as promote team work. Instructors are knowledgeable, supportive and helpful, and they are pretty good at responding to questions in timely manner. On the other hand, the course works are very demanding but it is definitely worth the time and effort to do well in them. I learned a great deal after each course and able to put what I learned into use at work right away. I will definitely recommend the program to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 11, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MDY 2008 I haven't taken an online degree program before, so I can't draw any comparisons. Overall, I'm fairly satisfied but I have a few complaints: while the core curriculum--the first three seminars--are well structured, the three concentration seminars (in my case, Conflict Management) are a little more fractured. By the time I made it to Seminar 6, I actually had to go back and write down the title of each week's lecture just to make sense of where the seminar was going. At that point, everyone is pretty burnt out and not likely to complain but ultimately, when an education comes with a price tag of 25k, I want my money's worth. Three seminars seemed redundant for the concentration, and I honestly wish I'd picked Commerce. The curriculum could have done a much better job at making each of Seminars 4, 5 and 6 more distinct. My advice to new students is to network and make use of contacts. If you have an opportunity to publish or do something outside of class, take it. If a faculty member is willing to act as a mentor, accept their guidance even if you didn't care for them as an instructor. That's really where you'll get your tuition's worth.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Mstemarie (Graduate) on June 20, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Worth the price of admission Having graduated in 2007 I have many good things to say about the program: -They take work experience over the ability to pass a entrance exam (GMAT or GRE) which quickens the application process and ensures you have the proper knowledge to hit the ground running. -It can be completed in as little as 18 months (if you start in December). -Your writing skills will improve drastically during the first session (or at least mine did). Yes, this is not a technical degree. You won't learn how to create buffer overflows or configure a firewall, rather it deals with Information Assurance principals and learning how to protect data from more of a management level. The program is divided up into six semesters and each class is 11 weeks long. Weekly participation is mandatory along with weekly papers. At the end of each class, a final paper is required, using your company (in most situations) as a case study. You will make recommendations to your boss on how the company may improve their security, based on what you learned in the class. This can be a bear as most of my papers were in the 20-25 page range. Overall I am very happy that I decided to obtain the degree. It opened my eyes and allowed me to see more of the "big picture" in regards to security. Going into the program I was not sure about how I would like the online experience. However starting in December (when it is cold and snowy where I live) allowed me to get into a routine and figure out what needed to be done and when. That way when the weather became warmer I knew what I had to do and how many days (not many) I could get away from the computer and have fun. Plus, you didn't have to spend an hour or more commuting to class and back. When you log off, you're already home. The instructors and staff are always willing to help out with any questions/problems and you will enjoy residency week and the campus for graduation. Just hope you enjoy climbing steps. There are a LOT of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 19, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MSIA worthwhile! I am thrilled that I received my MSIA from Norwich. After receiving the degree, I went to work for a government contracting company and almost doubled my previous salary by having the MSIA. After leaving that company, I recently started work with a State agency and was able to get a high-level job and a much greater salary than I would have without the MSIA and the previous experience I gained because of it. I would highly recommend this program to anyone wanting to better their career and education.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Trsims1 (Graduate) on June 19, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MSIA I finished the MSIA course work in November '07. Completed the week long residency capstone last week. This was an important piece in solidifying my relationship with Norwich. Residency week is truely an experience in and of itself. The Norwich MSIA program has been an exceptional experience. As a health care IT professional, it is important to maintain infosec knowledge and skills to be able implement and sustain a sound information security program to protect the privacy of patient and employee records. The Norwich MSIA program provided solid resources and instructors to help me with this endeavor. Working a flexible schedule, the online aspect of the Norwich MSIA program allowed me to coordinate studies and assignments and still make submission deadlines on time, even while traveling. The instructors were amazing. As experienced and well known professionals in the field of IA, I couldn't ask for more. Some of my instructors included Dr. Peter Stephenson, Sanford Sherizen, Rebecca Herold, and Padgett Peterson. Certainly some well known experts in the field. All interacted with my cohort and provided excellent feedback throughout each seminar. Any skepticism I had early on was removed through a little research on NU. Of course, living close by, I was very familiar with the university. As a very prestigious institute, well known throughout the world, and an NSA center of academic excellence in IA, it just made sense for me. The case study approach allowed a smooth implementation of much needed security programs at my organization. The program and support staff were always responsive, helpful, and understanding throughout. I would highly recommend this program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Kim_jones (Graduate) on June 19, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
You can't do much better than this I was already a sitting CSO/CISO of a financial services firm when I sisgned up for this program; unlike other, I took this program for long-term personal development versus professional development. That being said, I was extremely impressed with the course content, format, material, and foci. Everything taught during the course was both relevant to the practicalities of daily CSO life and provided practical perspectives on major security issues facing us today. If you wish to understand what it means to be a CISO and prepare for it in advance -- you NEED to go through this program
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

David_land (Graduate) on June 19, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MSIA As the very first class in the very first cohort (class 1 of '04) and now an Adjunct professor for this very course, I can say without question that there is no finer program. The information gleaned from the MSIA premitted me to identify areas of concern within the Department of Energy, which caused across the Department changes to ensure our information. Having taught at other colleges I can also say that they all pale in comparison to Norwich. The instruction was then and continues to be now some of the most challenging of any institute of higher learning I have ever been associated with. Ask the University what their rate of success is with students who take the CISSP after completing the program. I Dare You!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Poneil (Graduate) on June 18, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Is ok My feelings are mixed about the program. Understand this is not a technically challenging program. Academically speaking it is a little more challenging but falls short of a typical graduate level degree in terms of any rigorous academics. The instructors did not adhere to the same writing standards or in some cases were not critical enough. Overall the program is just ok but could use some improvement. It is a well balanced introduction to information assurance issues at best.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 23, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Outstanding I am a student in the MCE Online Program. This program has taught me more in the last 8 months than I could have ever imagined. It is great that Norwich incorporates project and business management into its curriculum, as opposed to most undergraduate degrees. Most professors and staff are very prompt with their responses and are all down to earth. You must keep up with your school work though, and if you can't devote at least 3 hours a night to it, it will be hard to keep up. You must be self discplined,too and develop your own time scheduling to stay abreast on your work. Words of caution: Be prepared to be challenged.. This degree will be well worth it when you are done.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 22, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MBA = ROI I notice some students point to negative aspects of the SGS programs at Norwich; I can’t echo those comments and personally had a near perfect experience while a student. Sure, some processes could be improved (i.e. being able to use mobile technology with the site...which may be possible now), but overall Norwich is a sure bet. Norwich is a strong option when considering an MBA. I completed their MBA program in 2007 and couldn’t be happier. I am 110% satisfied; I would recommend Norwich to anyone that has the discipline to complete a rigorous 18 months (24 if you don’t have a Business degree), and wants a quality education that you can actually use. Granted it is hard work but well worth it and a great value in my opinion for the quality of instruction you receive. From day one you are made to feel a part of the “Norwich family” and the staff, faculty, and administrators are all working exhaustively toward your success. Without a doubt Norwich and their staff genuinely care about you, your education, and your experience with them; despite being an online student I felt well informed and the customer service is hands down better than anything I have experienced by any organization, particularly a university. I also would give a thumbs-up to my fellow students. They are all very well educated, professional, and great friends that helped make the experience that much more rewarding. In terms of ROI, I have more than reaped my investment, my income has increased over 40% since enrolling in and completing my MBA.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Kevin.moker (Graduate) on March 26, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich University MSIA Program It is because of Norwich University that I am a Chief Information Security Officer for a bank. The program prepares you from a business perspective, which is where security belongs. In addition, the course work is very challenging. Expect to be challenged. I can't say enough about the program, the quality of the teachers and the institution's rich heritage.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Graydon (Graduate) on March 25, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MSIA I completed the MSIA program at Norwich in June of 2007. When choosing a program I had several criteria that were important to me. They were that the program be a NSA Center of Excellence, that the program be flexible enough to fit my schedule of working full time and raising a family, and that each student be graded individually (no group assignments/grades). I looked at many different Universities and Colleges. I interviewed many different people and spoke with the heads of each program. I was very impressed with Dr Michel Kabay and the vision he had for Norwich’s program. This vision coupled with well respected and knowledgeable facility such as Peter Stephenson, Gary Bridges, and Michael Miora sealed it for me. While I was accepted at several institutions I chose Norwich. While there are many laudable aspects of Norwich’s program, the one that was most valuable to me was the cohort system. This system combines the best aspects of working in groups while grading people as individuals. The members of my cohort became very close friends. We challenged and pushed each other through the program. This isn’t an easy program. While I entered the program with a decent amount of experience and industry certifications, I still found myself working 15 to 20 hours a week on the material. The course work challenged me to consider multiple points of view and operate outside my comfort zone. I learned so much and in the process not only did I become more knowledgeable in my chosen field but I became a better person. If you are seriously considering a graduate degree in Information Assurance I would strongly urge you to explore the opportunities at Norwich University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 19, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Half Way Review I am half way through this degree and so far it has been a great experience. Professors are hit or miss but they are always good. My economics professor, however was great and showed the level the school provides. Each prof has had a Ph.D so far and has been engaged. The material is doable but not easy. The reading, especially for international law, is mind boggling. If you can write well you will definitely have an easier time in this program as all assignments are papers. If you are not a good writer now, you will be when you leave. Even half way through I am looking at the world in a more educated light and feel good about it. I look forward to a new career once completed.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Russlaw2000 (Graduate) on January 12, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Graduate of MMH I was in the first class of MMH rraduates at Norwich in June 2007. Let me say Battles, leaders and the more popular history that you find on a Barnes and Noble shelf will be found at AMU not Norwich. I have attended both, and I like them both. One is an apple and the other a hand grenade. Different schools with different missions. The first class had its issues I can tell you. The program was not fully "baked" when it was rolled out. But within a few modules we saw improvement. There are top notch instructors, outstanding instructors at Norwich, and there are a few frauds and bozos who like to hear the sound of their voice. If we had one complaint it would be that Norwich hires too many uniformed military officers at the field grade level that have all the personality of a cardboard box and cannot and never will interact well with students. They are an arrogant lot in and out of a class. When you are at the MA level, with civilian students, my-way or the highway and "I don't need to explain myself" doesn't really work. Eventually they get found out..But the great ones sure made up for the bozos. Dennis Showalter and John Votaw are legendary MH professors and authors. What state university could have offered me two giants like that? They helped me become a better writer and researcher...most of all the program itself helped me to think critically of MH matters I had never considered. But..big BUT here..the BEST part of Norwich was at the end of the program, when I went to the campus for the residency. It was something special, I must tell you. Nothing fancy.., by now my tution has helped build the new dining facility, but the opportunity to meet my classmates from all over the world was unforgettable. We debated, discussed, presented our Capstone papers and had not just a great time, a meaningful time. I know we drove Dr. Jim Ehrman crazy. We were new the program was new...lots of changes here and there.. But at Residency, he sat with us and took in our criticism..met it head on..apologized for what didn't work, explained what should and thanked us for our patience and hard work. That is what a Department Chair should do. We applauded him for the work he does to make everything work. The computer platform is very user friendly...and you actually get into some great interaction. My AMU experience, I am receiving a Post-Grad certificate in Land Warfare from them, was very different. Absolutely no discussion board interaction...and that's where the action is at Norwich.. Would I recommend Norwich? All I can say is I believe I received the finest MH education that money could buy. I am proud to call Norwich my alma mater...(well one of them anyway...) Russ Stayanoff MMH Class of'07
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 15, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MDY I am enjoying this program. The reading requirements are many and the instructors are very thorough in reviewing and providing feedback for your work. You are responsible for the readings and using the online library (which I have grown very familiar with) by providing at least five discussion submissions each week. Since everyone has a life outside of the program, I am finding that everyone in the cohort pretty much does their own thing. I feel it is going well and am looking forward to the next five seminars.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 27, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Challenging Program I'm beginning my third seminar (out of 6). The program has signicant writing requirements, and weekely participation requirements. You will find yourself challenged and wanting to put in the effort. Norwich's teachers seem to be tuned in to online learning and so far have been helpful. You will interact with them a great deal in discussions and by email. They call you at the beginning of the seminar to say hello and get to know you. Frankly, although the school makes them do this, it is a nice touch to have the professor's actually show an interest in getting to know their students. This is a structured program, and there are no real electives as each seminar is provided to you in full. The long paper that we've had for each of the first two seminars has been student's choice, and I expect that to continue. This isn't just about battles and leaders. It is a broader course discussing the use of history, the study of history, and critical thought. The support people at the school have been very responsive and friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 23, 2007

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent - if you can manage your time I am currently in the middle of this program, and it is excellent thus far. Very challenging work level - make sure you are dedicated to finishing the program, as it requires discipline to keep up with the schedule. This program places a premium on your ability to digest and interpret information. If you don't like to think, its not for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 15, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Has to be the best choice Amazing experience. True professionals that care teach for NU. With an exception here or there, professors are true practitioners or simply amazingly knowledgable academics with real value to offer students. Thousand times better experience than my undergrad work in the classroom. Earned every bit of my 4.0 with some real sweat but well worth it. If you can afford the tuition at all (get aid if you have to) don't go anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 4, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
P.Evert I rate this program good overall because I have talked to some dedicated people, but I have suffered through 2 of 3 classes with abysmal instructors. I have one (currently) who is an executive from tech and she does not seem interested in returning calls, emails or IM’s. Previous posts are correct – a lot of reading and not all of it necessary. I think this would be an ideal program if I did not have a job or maybe worked part-time. The lecture delivery is via streaming power point and accompanying lecture text (or voice overlay). The monotone nature of the voice lends no emphasis or understanding of the text. Tuition is going up – beware of that. I have talked to several prof’s and administrators who don’t think the teacher should provide anything above the book and course materials – this is a tough way to learn. The groups try to help one another in discussion, but it becomes the blind leading the blind absent commentary from a knowledgeable professor. Discussions are graded as harsh or more than the papers we write. No warning about that – it also takes too much time to figure out the professor for each class – they are very different. As far as the name Norwich goes, the online program is a distant cousin to the actual school. I don’t have much of a sense of connectedness to the school itself. Like most colleges, please pay ontime! I think I will be leaving this school for something I can attend locally. It just isn’t worth it to teach myself this subject.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Ghalib.bhayani (Graduate) on April 2, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MDY leads to the UN in Africa I enrolled in this degree after a great deal of contemplation (time, expense and value). It was by far one of the best experiences I have ever had. The quality of the cohorts, the professors and the admin team is second to none. Within 6 months of graduating and applying to the UN, I have been offered a contract in the Department of Peace Keeping Operations (DPKO) in Sudan. The degree certainly placed me very competitively. If you want a challenge, a reward at the end and a quality education. Norwich MDY is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Shmoov (Graduate) on February 27, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Career Move for IA Professionals The Norwich University Master of Science in Information Assurance (MSIA) is an outstanding IA advanced degree program. My big selling point on the university itself was that Norwich was a well established "brick and mortar" school first, then added an Internet degree program. They already had a well established and respected reputation and, knowing that reputation was on the line, created an outstanding online degree program. Contrast this with "no name" start-up universities that have no real campus or tradition. The degree program is designed to teach students with an IT background a wide range of IA principles. Those that are looking for a technical program - this one is not for you (though I believe Norwich has added a technical track elective seminar) - this is for those that want to manage the technical people, which is what most advanced degrees are all about. A technical background is helpful, though. This program was a great value for my money and the graduation week really brought it all together and makes you feel more of a part of something special - unlike the no-name Internet-based programs that simply mail you your diploma. I highly recommend Norwich to anyone who wants to advance their IA career and broaden their IA knowledge!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 26, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MSIA - Norwich Separate yourself from the crowd -- get a degree from a University that will mean something. Not that others won’t but there sure seem to be some diploma mills out there. I have been approached (more than once) by someone saying, "You're a Norwich graduate?" It's a good feeling -- the school is thought of highly within the military (I don't know about the civilian side). Anyway, the cost is high, the quality is high, and the time you'll have to put in is about 10-20 hrs per week. I loved the graduation! Except they need AC on campus in the dorm and in the graduation hall -- it was sweltering and I was told this wasn't the first time a heat wave hit at the wrong time in Vermont. I learned a lot and the staff was EXCELLENT. The teachers were good but each had their own style so you would have to readjust from term-to-term-to-term. It was hard getting used to each teacher’s likes, dislikes, and points of emphasis. There is a LOT of writing. Don't worry if you are a poor writer because by the end of the program, if you put in the work and get your papers in early, you will not be a poor writer any longer. They REALLY work with you on your writing. The work is not too tough...there is just a lot of it. Lots of reading and writing and analyzing. I just think it is a perfect Master's degree. Try to prepare for the CISSP at the same time you are doing your school work. Easy for me to say (I didn't/couldn't) but I wish I had. With the MSIA coursework and one of the CISSP self-study books, you should be ready for the CISSP by course end (or so I'm told). I am preparing for the exam now and the MSIA sure gives you a big leg-up. Anyway, I have ZERO regrets about going to Norwich to attain a Master of Science in Information Assurance. The degree and school actually mean something. Remember the old adage; you get out what you put in...time, money, and reputation. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 11, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NU Exceeds all online Expectations NU's MBA online degree program is very challenging and promotes "real world" learning with the ROA case studies. I have been able to apply what I have learned in my company (something I found that I was unable to do with my undergrad). I have not been disappointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 27, 2006

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Mostly Pleased It is remarkable how different teachers are in this program. I have had 2 great teachers, 1 good, 1 poor, and 1 teacher who attempted to ruin the entire program. My latest (a final) teacher has provided no feedback to any discussions. That is disappointing. However, the material taught is very applicable to the business world in my opinion. I have learned a lot and enjoy the concept of the case study based around the same company at the end of each class. It helps drive home what you have learned.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Polisci03 (In Progress) on October 16, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MDY For just about $20K, I feel I am receiving a top notch education from highly qualified instructors. Further, if you are in the military, the school is very accomodating to students overseas. Norwich lives up to its 200 year old tradition.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 18, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Overall pretty challenged The assignments started off a little difficult, but once you get the hang of it or them they seem to flow freely. The amount of reading is crazy and some is repetitive, but overall not bad!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 15, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Promising Interesting program. Many top notch instructors. Since this Master of Military History program is very new, there are some growing pains, but the university is bending over backwards to address them.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Delrey_az (In Progress) on September 15, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich University, MCE I like the program and the classes. I wish that they would use videos to present some of the learning material.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Kalpich (Graduate) on September 15, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Impressive School I took a very long look at this program before I began, but I never expected to be as pleased as I was. The classes were exceptional, the work was extensive, and I learned more in these two years than I ever imagined possible on a range of topics I thought I knew fairly well. This isn't a program for the faint of heart. It's more work than other graduate programs, and I can speak from experience since I hold a MA in education. The entire program is first-rate and very well managed. The professors were always willing to help and the support was always more than adequate. The workload is extensive and can easily fill far more time than 15-20 hours per week spread across reading, research, and writing activities. I wish I could have spent more time than that just because the questions and research, along with the discussions were THAT good. Going on campus for residency week was one of the best professional experiences I have had in a very long time, and one that really impressed me right from the start. This is one program that is an undiscovered gem.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 12, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Solid program Norwich is a school with a compelling history (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norwich_University) and a solid degree program. I and my cohort peers are quite satisfied with the university.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 30, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
International Relations with a twist The emphasis on Diplomacy provides the twist to this intensive but highly rewarding program. Topics and texts are current and the online discussion threads provide for some excellent, dynamic, debates on current issues. Great support to - from Prof's, support staff, IT etc. The only warning - watch out...if you think going 'online' is going to be easy, forget it! This program is all about reading and writing and you will do a lot of both. Overall a great program for anybody looking to begin or enhance a career in the international arena.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 30, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School - Great Program I am half way through the Diplomacy program at Norwich University, and it has been the best choice I have made in a very long time. The instructors are simply awesome; the work load is heavy, but manageable. The school goes above and beyond to accommodate the Graduate Students. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Chrmicwil (In Progress) on August 30, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Chris Willis I have found Norwich's Diplomacy MA program to be quite well structured. It certainly lives up to the Norwich motto "Expect Challenge, Achieve Distinction". I have completed 3 of the 6 seminars and have felt challenged in each one. The mix of broad student background and professor practical field knowledge/experience makes this program a perfect fit for any international relations focused professional. This is an outstanding program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 26, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Outstanding INFOSEC graudate education The Norwich University Masters of Science in Information Assurance (MSIA) program is an excellent graduate degree program. The program itself has been awarded the National Security Agency's coverted Center of Excellence status as a provider of quality Information Assurance (Information System Security) education. It is an 18 month program that has both online as well as a Residency component. The curriculum is designed to map somewhat to the CISSP requirements however many found that this was not enough to allow them to pass the exam solely on the school's training. However, any student of this program will be able to claim: 1. graduation from a recognized brick-and-mortar university with an established historical background, 2. a very good understanding of modern (but not current) information system security methodologies (some areas were lacking), 3. an EXTREMELY supportive faculty and staff from the Dean on down to the Program Director to most of the adjuncts, 4. the greatest benefit is the very strong bonds a student develops with their fellow students who come a a wide variety of fields within the industry. I cannot stress enough the quality of the education and more importantly the attention you will receive from the faculty and staff. Although there are program changes in materials and structuring on the horizon, almost everyone in my graudating class felt that this decision was the right one. Despite what you may balk at (many felt the cost of the program being the biggest problem), consider the amount of seat-time in regular attendance brick-and-mortar university, the speed the program moves you through and the quality of the education you are getting. There are strict demands; it is a regimented military university where honor and respect is demanded if not expected so standards and conduct is expected as well as inspected.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 26, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MBA In general Norwich has put a lot of effort in to all of it's online degrees. The SGS staff is highly motivated and responsive to students. I agree with comments regarding porofessor consistency and quality. A general concern MIGHT be name recognition, a lot of people do not recognize the name Norwich and assume its some kind of online storefront school. There are still prejudices in the workplace in some places against online degrees. Not true with Norwich, this school is a real brick and mortar institution thats been around since the early 1800's. When you finally earn your degree, trust me you have worked for it and you know exactly what the degree implies you are supposed to know. The instructional delivery technique really works, based mostly on lectures, readings, weeekly discussions, weekly papers, and end of seminar papers. Three personal criticisms with program: 1. Criteria for requirement to perform MBA pre-req semester is too arbitrary. Regardless of experience or knowledge, if you have no undergrad business you must take pre-req. I found the pre-req generally to be boring and in my case a waste of time (and money $7,900+). 2. Exam questions, too many are not written correctly or have wrong answers. They need to review exams for quality and accuracy. 3. Some of the technology discussed in the MBA is way out of date. That needs to be updated. Course of instruction is based on 10 week seminars, two seminars per semester and three semesters for the entire program (4 with pre-req). You get about a two week break between seminars. At the end, you are required to attend a one week residency on campus. Norwich is in North Central Vermont. Campus is beautiful and the residency is a lot of fun with various debates, lectures, and group social events. Graduation is on a Friday. Families are welcome, although encouraged to arrive later in the week since focus earlier in the week is on academic activities.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 25, 2006

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Be a part of this University! I am extremely proud to be a Norwich Alum! My educational experience with the school was top notch and matched my very high expectations. Not only was I educated in my field of study but the process of assilimating into the online program was also enlightening, most importantly the power of words and communication. I feel the staff and support staff are highly committed to the students and are sincere and excel in their work. The residency cemented the experience and I have made lifelong connections with students and faculty. I definitely recommend NU as it will challenge and enrich you in many ways beyond purely academic investment. NU has an excellent reputation and that reputation will translate in your field of work. The online program is easy enough to navigate but I have seen some programs that seem to be a little more advanced. Not that it really matters, because the window dressings are irrelevant because of the quality of the education.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Mosnowvt (Graduate) on August 25, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The Intagibles Graduated in June and already have dream position teaching. The value beyond the education is the network of friends and colleagues that I have made through NU School of Graduate Studies.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Lspect01 (Graduate) on August 25, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Master's, Justice Administration This was an outstanding program. The course load was rigorous and challenging but applicable. You will come out of this program a better writer, able to conduct research and look at issues from a much broader perspective, no matter if you're in law enforcement, corrections, public or court administration. The instructors were excellent as were the majority of the books and assigned readings. Projects were very interesting. Most importantly, the student group (cohort) system literally made the program. Although it's an online program, you became very friendly and intimate w/the other members of your cohort group. Although I was initially concerned about the price, I discovered Norwich provided a superior product at a competitive price. My concerns were allayed quickly & I have no regrets about completing my master's in 18 mos. @ NU. NU was very supportive of the students and you truly felt like you were part of the long traditions and heritage that has lived in that school for the last 190 years. This is truly a high quality program w/high quality, students, instructors, & materials.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Thomas_gonzalez (In Progress) on August 25, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Master Of Arts, Diplomacy Norwich University is a proud school steeped in tradition and value. The Master of Arts in Diplomacy is a very challenging program designed to train student in the cause and effect of international relationships. NU Staff is world class and will put every effort into satisfying a students request and to resolve any issues that may arise. The cohort style class binds students to their peers to enhance the learning experience. You will be satisfied with Norwich University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 25, 2006

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very High Quality The Norwich School of Graduate Study staff in general is incredible. Topics are primarily management in nature, if your looking for a HIGHLY technical security program you will probably be disappointed. The intent is to train cyber-security managers and teach people to think deductively. Emphasis is on writing and thoughtful expression. If you do not want to venture out of the server room, you should probably consider another program. They will not let you slide by. They do not tolerate plagerism, more than one student in my cohort was expelled when caught using other's work as their own. One criticism, more than one or two exam questions during the program prove to be wrong. Students end up challenging incorrect exam questions on every exam; however, they will likely not grant your challenge and you can still pass with honors in spite of this. Program should do a much better job of doing quality assurance on the tests since some of these wrong questions are blatently wrong and contradict the assigned study materials. Once completed, you are considered a fully equal graduate with any other Norwich grad, whether civilian undergrad or Corps of Cadets. Excellent alumni. Legitmate IA program, worth the $30,000+
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 24, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Emphasis on school pride Norwich is an excellent program that constantly challenges me. The staff makes an effort to make sure the online students feel as much a part of NU as the on-campus students. A one-week residency is included at the end for capstone and graduation activities. My one complaint is that professor quality seems to vary a bit. Some are outstanding while others are not so stellar. However, the education is top notch.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 24, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich University MBA I'm not too far into the program yet, but I know that I'll learn a lot from Norwich. I completed another online degree in the past from a different instituion, but didn't feel that I learned a lot. Norwich has surpassed my expectations and I look forward to learning all I can from the rest of this degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Shane.myers (In Progress) on August 24, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Norwich MA in Diplomacy If you are looking for a program backed up by a "brick and mortar" school you'll be hard pressed to find a better mix. Norwich (on campus) has a corp of cadets and "traditional" (i.e. non-cadet) students, and the online students represent a cross section of society as well. The professors are top notch, and the University has invested considerably in the online program. This is a very fast paced program- be prepared for an intense workload, much reading and a fair/large amount of writing. The grading is rigorous, and participation is key. Strong time management skills are definitely required. The tech support and admin staff are outstanding, any and all questions have been resolved efficiently-- usually while you are on the phone! I gave slightly lower marks for professors and value as I am still early in the program and can't predict how the rest of the professors will be or what the ultimate value will be, but so far the program has been superb.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Jmssales (In Progress) on August 24, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Unique, fascinating program I should start by saying I have a degree in education from another institution, and have conducted research in distance education. Norwich is doing great things with its online program. They are very committed to the program, that fact is immediately apparent to the new student. Almost paradoxically, the tradition runs so deep there that it practically bleeds through to the distance student. I really appreciated that with a program like military history. The program emphasizes reading, reflecting, and writing. You will quickly learn that this is not your "memorize dates & names" history course. You'll be reading first hand accounts (primary sources) and determining how that fits in to the bigger picture.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Norwich University