Nova Southeastern University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Certificate Programs:
Graduate Certificate in Conflict Analysis and Resolution Graduate Certificate in Peace Studies Substance Abuse Studies College Student Personnel Administration Peace Studies Health Care Conflict Resolution Family Systems Health Care Family Studies
Bachelor Programs:
Business Professional Management (1)
Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2)
Bachelor of Science in Computer Information Systems (1)
Bachelors of Health Science (1)

Masters Programs:
Conflict Analysis and Resolution Cross-disciplinary Studies College Student Affairs Education: Teaching and Learning (1)

Doctoral Programs:
Doctorate in Conflict Analysis and Resolution Education (7)
DBA (8)
DBA (2)
DCIS (11)
ITDE (2)
PharmD. (1)


To link to this page:

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 1, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good School Well, I am currently enrolled in NSU's Masters of Criminal Justice Program. I plan to graduate in December 2014. I must say this school is rather expensive. Also, NSU was fast in processing my grade change and financial aid. In addition to that, my program was very hard. I managed to keep a 3.5 G.P.A, but the workload was crazy. I've seen a lot mixed reviews about this institution, but I am satisfied! I look forward to graduation :).
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 27, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Ph.D. Computer Information Systems I just completed the doctorate program in Computer Information Systems at Nova. My dissertation was in the area of network security. I was very pleased with the quality of the program and the professors. It is not easy to complete the required coursework with the required minimum 3.25 GPA which allows students to work on the dissertation. The dissertation itself is very tough. While working full time it took me 5 1/2 years to complete the program. 3 years for the required classes and the rest for the dissertation. I averaged about 30-35 study hours a week during my first 3 years and about 40 study hours a week during the dissertation. I hold a Master in Computer Science and had about 20 years of telecommunication experience when I started the program. I really enjoyed the experience at the Nova campus, where a student is required to attend 3 days at the beginning and 3 days close to the end of each semester for tests and classes. I made some great friendships that I will cherish forever. Those people who are considering Nova Southeastern as a possible school for a doctorate degree, and wonder about the school reputation, should take a look at dissertations or publications from students who completed the Ph.D. program at Nova and judge for themselves.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 21, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Run Like Hell from thise former mailbox diploma mill! I was in the EdD CYS program and we did not get the final class in writing the proposal let alone the dissertation. Once they got your fortune in student loans you became invisible. The Southern Regional Accreditation office should tell them that support all of the (racket) cluster groups during the proposal and dissertation process. They certainly ruined me--I was accepted when they just had a mailbox; now they are the worst of graduate professional institutions. You have 120K to throw away, the NSU is for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 4, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Decision- Worth Every Sacrifice The DBA program at NSU was and is not an online degree. I entered the program not knowing what I was getting into but I graduated because I was willing to make all of the personal sacrifices to meet the requirements to pass each course and complete the publication, comprehensive exams, and dissertation work. This is a research doctoral program. The work is often tedious, time consuming and demanding (every degree program at every higher education institution should be this demanding). This meant regularly skipping family events, religious events, and even doing without sleep to complete the required work on time. Despite having experience as a practitioner of my subject (accounting) and having a solid academic background including a degree from an engineering school, I found myself faced with a steep learning curve that I had to master in a short period of time. From a financial management theorist's perspective, it took me less than 2.5 years after graduation to recover (via after-tax dollars) the cost of pursuing the DBA degree. It was well worth every sacrifice I made to complete it. Even if I hadn't graduated with the DBA degree, I would do this program all over again just because it changed how I interact with the world and my thought process. Like every good program, the quality was constantly improving as I progressed through the program. This forced people to evolve as they progress through the program or they had to leave the program. If you aren't a very motivated or serious student, this program is not a good match for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 10, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not worth the money! I just completed my Ed.D. and I had much of the same experience with lack of responsiveness from professors as well as my dissertation co-chair and other staff. This held me up an extra semester and cost me $2600.00. I requested an exemption from this due to being reassigned a new co-chair and that being the only reason I was not completed in the 3 year time period, but was refused after 6 months of e-mails never being returned. I believe this school is completely out for money and not looking out for their students. I only spent over $50,000.00 for the whole program, I guess it was too much to ask for an exception due to their faculty's negiligence!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Porfiriorubiroso123 (In Progress) on September 2, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Review from a current candidate I have been a student all my life and a college professor for many years. Therefore, I thought I was prepared for the game that it is getting a PhD. I went to NOVA at the recommendation of my dean. The course work was mostly a review of my MSIS graduate classes or classes that I teach, and I got through it fairly easily, even with a full time consulting job and adjunct teaching. My 30-year professional experience is in supply chain management and electronic commerce, so I was pleased to see that NOVA included those topics in the DISS coursework. Therefore, I tailored my selection of courses and paper-writing to set myself up for a dissertation in e-commerce. By the time I finished my coursework, the only e-commerce professor in the entire program had left the school and I was forced to scramble. NOVA does not allow a dissertation topic that a member of the faculty is not interested in. Therefore, other professors refused to work with me with e-commerce as the topic. So the game began. I later found out that my desired professor had not left but was simply "visiting", so I campaigned to the dean for him to be my advisor. This was thankfully approved, only to be later notified by the professor that he is no longer interested in those topics, so I would have to find something else - by the time he had strung me along and made this momentous announcement, I was already 3 semesters into dissertation and had conducted a significant amount of research that was now wasted. While scrambling to start from scratch on an entirely new discipline of IS, my advisor posted a "No Progress" report without any warning, meaning that I was now on the verge of being kicked off the program if I did not do something soon. Luckily (?), I lost my consulting job and was out of work for 3 months, which allowed me more time to find a new line of research. I am now on my 7th semester of dissertation. Although I am tremendously disappointed, please do not interpret my comments as those of a disgruntled student. I will continue to work on this program, but I wanted to warn everyone that your experience can vary significantly depending on what your research interests are. The IS discipline is a very large field. If your area of interest is human-computer interaction, privacy, or user interface design, your experience might be quite pleasant. On the other hand, in my most recent dissertation feedback, I was called "stupid" and a "weasel". I am over 50 years old, I don't need that kind of "motivation". I must admit that I was not mentally prepared for that part and found myself taking a semester off to deal with my deep depression. Unfortunately, there are a few professors in this school that take a perverse pleasure in demeaning students to the point of borderline hazing or bullying. Believe it or not, this is not uncommon at other PhD programs, I just did not expect that from a program like NOVA's that is targeted at professional adults.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Ben32097 (In Progress) on August 5, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Liars, Thieves, and just plain Stupid I tried getting a degree from NSU. I send in all my financial paperwork and they tell me everything is good. My tuition was paid for. They tell me to go ahead and register for my first semester classes, so I did. After I registered and already started taking classes, they deny me any tuition assistance. However, they wait until after the drop date, so I can't drop the classes. I quit doing any classwork because it would be useless. I can't get credit for it because the tuition wasn't paid. I contacted the financial aid office and all they could say was, "sorry, maybe you can get a loan or borrow money from friends." I requested they drop the classes, they refused. So anyway, they are expecting me to pay them $5000 for classes that I am unable to take or get college credit for. Otherwise, it goes on my credit report and lowers my credit score. What a ripoff!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Zdaniel (In Progress) on July 27, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A postive experience Just completed the EdD program (2013), and overall was quite satisfied with the program...although it took longer to finish my dissertation (and thus it cost more in ongoing fees) than I had expected; but much of the responsibility for this was related to my own failure to adequately & regularly commit the time needed to make regular progress. Expectations were high...and I had to work hard to make it to the finish line. I had very good support and advice from my dissertation committee. They took a real interest in both me and my topic, and in the end I am quite proud of the result. Courses were challenging, and required doctoral-level thinking and writing. Looking back, I've grown personally and professionally through the process, and would recommend the school to others. Now on to paying down those student loans.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 22, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Communication I am working on the Ed.D program for Education Leadership. I am impressed with the professors and the coursework; however, communication is a problem. I emailed one person three times before I received a response, and that was just to tell me the name of another person to contact. My professors rarely respond to questions within 48 hours (standard protocol), which can be very frustrating.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 10, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DPT, Physical Therapy Review I have four words to describe this program: RUN the OTHER way! Seriously, I do not know how this program is accredited. You will learn information in one class that contradicts information in the next. The lack of communication throughout the program is absurd. The lack of professionalism and appearance of favoritism is also absurd. The grading is unfair (depending on who your grader is on practical exams, depends on what grade you get. There is no consistency across the board when it comes to grading practicals). Heaven forbid you fail out, you are treated like a piece of worthless garbage (this is second hand information that I fully believe). If you are in danger of failing out, there are no tutors, no recommendations on who can help, and the faculty will tell you to “ just memorize the Power Point slides” DO NOT go to this school. All Nova cares about is money. This program is NOT student oriented in the least. Do not waste your time or money, there are MUCH better programs out there.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Esalveggio (In Progress) on February 6, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bad Experience I had started my PhD in 2004, as a result of it being (then) a job requirement. I am actually ABD, and had one semester of dissertation. After an accident (2009)that almost had me lose my leg, a job that kept me overseas for over a year (14 - 16 hour days), then moving to another state for a new job, I decided to re-enter the dissertation phase, and finish my degree. Imagine my shock, and anger, when no one wanted to look at me, due to my having been out of the loop for almost 3 years. I had an interesting discussion with 2 fellow classmates just recently - their cohort was about 6 months (maybe a year?) behind mine,and they were having the same problems - major politics. They had asked if I had finished my degree, and if not, what were the problems I had encountered? It seems there are (still) very few professors in the InfoSec programs, and if your topic is not within their field of interest, you do not have a dissertation topic. There is absolutely little to no help. While I enjoyed my time at Nova, some of the professors were extremely difficult to work with, and communications with some of them is virtually non-existent - even if you in their class....and their success rate in producing PhD's, overall, is not something to be proud of. With 30 of us at ABD, seemingly out of luck, of ever achieving our PhD, NSU has failed in their quest to help. Maybe a class-action suit would wake them up. As it stands, I am now involved in pursuing my JD online, as I had no hope of ever finishing with NSU - thanks for nothing.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Ifiwru (Graduate) on January 19, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An Overall Great Experience ! In December 2011, I graduated from NSU, MHSc - Leadership Concentration. I found my instructors to be well-educated and helpful. I felt that I received an excellent value for my money. My instructors were quite learned in their respective fields and each and every one of them did not hesitate to share personal experiences that enhanced many of the concepts taught in the various courses. Curiously, the required textbook were cheaper than the ones I bought in undergrad ! That was a pleasant and unexpected surprise. Although the tuition is somewhat pricey, as there are some add-on fees that reoccur every semester, overall, I believe I received what I paid for.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Cliftonwise (In Progress) on December 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ITDE program head is the problem for the dissertation writer I completed all the ITDE coursework 3 years ago. For the next 2 years I paid the fee each semester to stay in the program and work on the dissertation (concept paper, proposal, and final paper). The other committee members are never on the same page with the department head who is also on all ITDE committees. Some will like what you have and he will generally not. After 3 years and I'll admit, a BAD advisor, then a GREAT replacement advisor I passed the concept paper. Then for a few years of rewrites I never could get a proposal passed. The head of ITDE always had multiple complaints. My advisor, who is the head would never take up for me and step on the toes of the ITDE head. She would like my paper enough to propose it but would not push it through. Anyway, I spoke with upper administration and they said that the ITDE head was the problem with SO FEW graduates from the ITDE EdD program. They said that the other programs more than made up for the lack of graduates in that program. This does NOT help mme or the other ITDE students. I know many ITDE students in the same boat as I. Just a warning. Find out what you can about this process in ANY school. Stay away from ITDE at NSU while this guy is still around.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Aaa25mph (In Progress) on November 18, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A Useful and In-depth Education I'm currently in the Phd program in Education. It is an in-depth and rigorous program. A degree from Nova is not a walk in the park. If you want that, go somewhere else. You will definitely acquire the skills you need to progress in your designated area. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Dollargw (In Progress) on September 10, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DBA I spent the limit - 8 years workin on a DBA in Information Technology managment. The University did not have a full time professor to chair my dissertation committee so I went through 3 Chairs. The 1 was sick and in declining health, but they would not release me from her till she passed away. This cost me 2 years. They could find me when they had a bill, but all critical communication when to an old incorrect address. I found out over a phone call that my program was terminated. Preston Jones was no help or support and would never release me from the chair in failing health. He is a poor excuse for an Assoc. Dean.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 20, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
They Will NOT accept STANDARD STATE PUBLIC SCHOOL CREDIT I've attended 3 Florida public schools and have never received such poor customer service. Given the higher cost for Nova I assumed otherwise. The departments don't communicate well with each other and as a result many basic mistakes were made with financial aid and registration. I was willing to overlook those mistakes but ultimately the straw that broke the camels back for me was their refusal to accept standard SAME STATE Florida credits that applied to my major even though the syllabus and objectives of the courses were identical. My advice to anyone wanting to go to Nova is they FIRST make sure they receive those transferable credits. They will try and prolong it and tell you to take other classes to get you in. DON'T do it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 6, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Choice The school provides results based on the effort the student invests. I received a good education from the institution. I worked hard and the professors worked hard. They were knowledgeable and effective (well with the exception of 2 but there are bad apples in every bunch). My education has made me competitive with my colleagues that graduated from more prominent institutions.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 12, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
More Value Than My M.B.A. I finished my Ph.D. with the DISS program at Nova in just over 3 years and I'm pretty surprised at the negativity of most of the reviews of the Ph.D. program so I guess I'll be a counterpoint to those. I have an M.B.A. from UCONN and frankly got a lot more out of this Ph.D. program because the courseware was highly relevant and caught me up with currents in I.T., and I've been a practitioner in the field for 23 years! Likewise, the teachers were knowledgeable in the field and, while there was some unevenness in their effectiveness, I found it all relevant. Most important, I hooked up with a very helpful and supportive advisor within my first year and so was able to achieve my goals quickly. This is a very solid program and I wouldn't have been able to achieve my Ph.D. any other way, since I have a senior position in IT during the "day." What folks have to realize is that the professors are there to help, but its true: they clearly state your idea needs to resonate with one of them to proceed. I think, moreover, you really need intrinsic motivation to keep pushing yourself. They're there, but its more important that you're there driving and pushing. They won't do it for you. This was an excellent experience and I'm proud to have gone to NSU.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Shoporpost (In Progress) on November 1, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NSU Advanced Applied Behavior Analysis Program I will earn my Master of Science degree in Counseling, Advanced Applied Behavior Analysis in December of 2011. This two year program has met and exceeded all of my expectations. I am a student in the distance learning/online program. This is an excellent way to further your education if you are a self-directed person with enough discipline to keep up on extensive amounts of reading and writing. The quality of education I have received via this online program is just as excellent, if not better, than the education I received as an undergraduate at a local university. Overall, the professors have been outstanding. All of them have held Ph.D. or Psy.D. degrees and have had vast amounts of clinical experience to bring to their students. One or two have seemed a bit disorganized regarding the on-line teaching format, but even those professors were still extremely well informed in their respective subjects. I have been very excited to be learning from people who are so outstanding in their academic areas and who obviously love teaching. The depth of experience and the enthusiasm they bring to the courses has made my two years with them educational and inspirational. I have found these professors to be very responsive to questions, discussion board posts, emails and phone calls. They realize that on-line students do not have the support network that "in person" students have, and have accordingly made themselves very open to inquiries from students regarding more in-depth explanations and questions. The textbooks for each course have generally been the latest versions of well-regarded texts in their subjects, and I have appreciated the variety and diversity of viewpoints that is offered through the textbooks and NSU at large. The online format of my program has been via "WebCT", although NSU says they are changing all of their programs to a "Blackboard" format in the near future. WebCT is okay, but in my opinion there are many parts of it that could be improved to help online learners share more with classmates and to help professors use multi-media in more efficient ways. I have not used Blackboard so I cannot review whether or not it is a better system in those regards. The counseling courses have included a very well rounded selection addressing cultural and diversity issues, ethics, research and professional development. The Applied Behavior Analysis courses, in particular, have addressed every point listed by the Board Analyst Certification Board regarding the information a potential BCBA or BCaBA should learn if they hope to be an effective and ethical practitioner. The professors in this part of the program have been particularly outstanding. The course work has been challenging, but not intimidating. I am a married mother of 3 children and have had to carefully budget my time, but the built-in structure of an online program has helped me to stay with each course semester by semester. If you do not complete an assignment on time, the chance to submit it goes away, and that tends to keep me from slacking off and procrastinating. There is a lot of writing. In fact, almost everything you do will involve a lot of writing. Discussion boards are heavily used to enhance understanding of topics. Papers are plentiful in most courses. Online classes involve some presentations and some discussions via microphones and/or webcams, but even those also involve writing. Expect to be required to read most of every textbook, to have at least two texts required for most classes, and to have 2-4 papers per class. Some classes have fewer papers and more exams, some are vice versa, but generally there are a few papers and a couple of exams per course. I have loved having the 15 week semesters because it gives you so much time to get in-depth in the content area and to get to know classmates and the professors. The fellow students have been great at NSU. I wish we could have more ways to interact, but there are limitations due to interacting only online, and the fact that everyone is from all over the globe. The administration/support staff is effective, but not outstanding. I have usually received only short replies to inquiries and have never felt encouraged to turn to them if I needed help or questions about the program answered. This part of the staff is the weakest part of the NSU program, in my opinion. Overall, my experience here has been very, very positive and I know I am going to be an excellent BCBA, in large part thanks to the skills I have gained here. If I had to choose again, I would definitely choose NSU and online learning again. NSU is hideously expensive, though, so brace yourself for quite a load of student debt by the time you are done.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Mparks (In Progress) on July 13, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Doctor of Education -Organizational Leadership My experience at Nova Southeastern University where I am currently in the final stage of dissertation approval (Format review) was exceptional. I did the course utilizing a blended methodology of face to face and online sessions supported by WEBCT. The professors were all excellent and very supportive. Library service, technology and other online facilities were of the best quality. My Dissertation committee is the best. I received informed and timely feedback and a lot of technical and moral support. I would highly recommend this university to anyone who wants to continue his or her education and gain a fulfilling academic experience in a professional and supportive environment.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 24, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Want to be seen as a piggy bank? Go here! I had the supreme misfortune to attend Nova for a year. Don't get me wrong, a teacher here and there are decent, but in general they are just there to supplement their income. But that is nothing to how the administration views its students. Students, are treated like cattle. The financial aid department is deplorable, loses paper, and makes huge mistakes. For me, they made a mistake that wound up making my account ineligible to receive loans. Administration told me, "well, just borrow money from your parents." Really? So I told them to drop me from the rolls that were mid-session as I couldn't afford the high tuition. They did so. A week or two later I received a bill for the full tuition amount! I told them that this was their mistake, I had unenrolled because of their screw-up and they continued to harass me. Still are.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 11, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Coursework Not BAd, Dissertation a Travesty I have recently completed all the course requirements of the EdD degree in the ITDE department. I have been working dilligently for the past three years on the dissertation part of the degree. The first three years I had a dissertation advisor who was a boob and did not know what was expected by the dissertation committee. I sent in three dissertation concept papers and got them all turned down. I wasted my time. I had my dissertation advisor changed, the new one is extremely helpful and available. NOW, after three years of killing myself I am burnt out. Anyway, the school should keep a better track on the students and who the advisors are. The dissertation should be one the STUDENT is interested in, but NO, it has to be of interest to the dissertation commitee members. Also, After you complete the coursework in 2 to 3 years it is a $2450 a semester fee to keep in the program until you finish the degree. Like I said, I am ABD - All But Dissertation. AND don't know what to do next, as the future of completing the dissertation looks bleak and unattainable. I don't have much of a choice, if I plan to try and finish the dissertation. If I had another choice I would surely take it. I have spent about 70k so far on the EdD at NSU. It would be such a waste to not try and complete it. I wish I could find another school that would transfer my credits and grant me a degree without the dissertation requirement. I would jump on board. I know many other students at NSU that would too, as there are any in the same boat as I. Many...You would not believe how many. If you know of a school I will pass it on... 3000 characterss is NOT enough. I will add in the comments...
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 9, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Nova is all about money-not students Students are forced to take prerequisite courses that are not even relevant or applicable to the major of interest and it is extremely difficult for students to even pass those courses, thus, Nova makes more money as students have to retake classes. The actual course questions that students are given in the exam are not relevant or applicable in the real world of the field of study/career and there is no study guide on what areas to prep for in the exam. Students study the whole long chapters of the text books, becomes completely overwhelm and overloaded with very little given time to pass the exams and quizzes. Students are set up to fail! More money for Nova University! Students are left with unnecessary student loan debt and very low self esteem thinking they are losers when the truth of the matter is Nova University itself. Someone please, Students needs to be able to pass their courses at Nova University. Another thing! Don’t let them know you complain! They make it even more impossible for you with these tough classes. I think the professors and Nova itself don’t get the idea that students are at the institution because they want to learn and not for students to feel that they are a complete failure at the university’s expense due to greed! Nova needs to understand that it must be a win win for both Nova and students especially students who are prepared to work hard. Nova University needs to understand that without students and government loans Nova would not be in existence.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 8, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Former DCIS Student This was an overall bad experience after 2 semester. 1. Heavy work load, very stressful especially if student has full employment. 2. Professors are helpful in that they will tell you to redo an assignment,(10 page paper), when the context doesn't comply with their vague syllabus. Other help is minimal. 3. Professors are very arrogant and don't care about your progress. Some don't even bother to show up for a lecture. 4. Late assignments recieve a zero, no excuses, which usually means dimissal from the program. 5. All reseach ideas must fall within the area of interest of the professors, not the student. It seems that the faculty at this college are more interested in garnishing failure rather than success.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 4, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Program I have attended different universities for other programs; however, I wanted to complete my masters online because of the convenience. I heard that Nova had a great Masters in English Education online program so I did it. I have nothing but praise for the school. The course work was of course heavy but I did not mind working. All the professors were helpful; some were definitely tougher than others. I liked the ones who challenged me to do well. I became acquainted with many of the students as they were taking the many of the same courses at the same time that I was in those classes and that served as a support system. I felt like all the instructors were working with me to succeed.I've just completed the program so everything is definitely fresh n my mind. If you want to positive experience then I would recommend this program. At this level, you can't expect to be "spoon- fed" and you must be willing to work hard. I believe many people did not do well because their expectations were different from what this type of work called for. Hard work with no laziness is the key; truthfully, some students do not have the "backbone" nor the ability to do this and they need to be realistic.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 31, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very Suspect The courses weren't bad although there were only couple where I felt I learned anything or that the assessments actually indicated anything. When I started the dissertation process I only heard from my 'adviser' when the grades were due. Of the 20 or so students who started with me only a couple made it to the dissertation and all of us got no support from their faculty, advisers or committee.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 22, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bait and switch I was a student at Nova for a few semesters and generally happy. I was receiving finacial aid and there was not a problem. Midway through my 3rd semester, Nova's financial aid wrote me an email saying they had made a mistake and could not offer me finnacial aid any more. They demanded that I return the money they had promised me as a dispersment and also towards tution. They told me to go secure a private loan and pay them. I told them that I was unemployed and that there was no way that I could secure a loan. Additionally, I told them that I was stopping my program of study as it was early in the term and I could not afford to pay them. This was their mistake and I should not be charged tution for this term. I offered to pay the amount of cash they sent me, but as I was not participating in the program I would not pay tution for a program where they promissed me a loan for, and then decided later they would renig on. Nova basically said "we'll run up your student loans and then even if we can't get them anymore, we'll make you pay for education we are no longer providing."
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Ph.D NSU, Nova is a SCAM ! Nova, NSU is a total SCAM ! After years spent at the so called University there is little to be said about the school in the way of getting a Ph.D. The course work is usually completed within 2-3 years. The classes are not that difficult just time consuming. After the course work is where the CON begins. The professors generally have you do papers or publications. Like many of the other complaints the school system purposely slows a person down as to MILK them for all the money they can get over the 10 year period. They raised it from 8 years to 10; you know to extend their income stream more. Basically you get 1 or 2 replies a semester from an instructor that cost $4K to 8K a year. I have been called at night from other students that were in the same program as me with the same problems. I was originally told on the first day that the graduation rate was about 50%. I was then later told by my advisor that is was some where in the 17% to 11%. If I would have known that I would have walked out the first day. Many of my fellow students see the Professors as a bunch of NSU grads that raise the bar that they did not even pass. It's a fact look at the Professors, the Assistant Deans in which they all graduated from NSU. The funny thing is that they raised the bar for the Dissertation defense, and publications, when they did not even do it themselves. I have talked with many of other students with the same experience; they are just too ashamed that they got SCAMED to. Please do yourself a favor, avoid this school like the plague! Run don't walk!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Andyborchers (Graduate) on November 8, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NSU - DBA The NSU DBA program met my need for a mid-career doctorate. When I enrolled in 1992 they were the only credible game in town. Today I might choose a part-time program (such as Wayne State in Detroit), but NSU remains a credible short residency option. AACSB is on the horizon - but not in the bag yet. IMHO NSU is the most likely institution among short residency/DL programs to get accredited by AACSB.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 22, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NSU DBA Not sure why NSU's DBA program is on an online review site. The only online class I've taken has been a web tutorial for NSU's online systems. They are even doing away with the off campus classes. Love the program as it is highly research oriented. The work load is somewhat heavy, but this is expected considering that it is a doctoral program. Many seem not to finish. Fort Lauderdale campus is gorgeous, the business school facility is incredible, and the resources offered are immense.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Mcowan72 (Graduate) on March 18, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Degree for allied health professionals The BHSc program is great for allied health professionals who have two year applied degrees. It was the only program that counted the hours of my associate's degree in radiography as part of the total hours needed for their bachelor's degree. This saved me from having to go back and take another year of college. The program is good. Courses are delivered via WebCT, and most of the professors were good. There were two that were great and one that was less than great. The program involves a ton of writing. The first class for the program is a writing class, which covers how to write papers for the program. They are pretty picky over formal APA format. But be prepared to spend many hours a week writing and researching. If you are not a great writer, don't worry by the end of the program you will be. The program is 10 classes, 30 hours delivered over 12 week semesters. It is a general health care curriculum, covering topics such as health policy, ethics, and conflict resolution. I thought the program should have two concentrations options: health care management and health care education since most allied health professionals in the program are either in or moving into one of these two positions. I liked the curriculum but it is not real applicable to my job as a manager, which is my biggest complaint. The tuition is great. I paid $225 a credit hour which is very cheap. The college has a solid reputation in the health care world; they have a medical school, dental school, PA program, optometry program, and a good nursing school. Over all I recommend it to people like me who would like to be able to apply their two years of health care education to earn a bachelors degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Gstevenson (In Progress) on February 11, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not Worth it I was a student at Nova for a number of years and I knew I was in trouble when I attended a seminar on the dissertation process. I was shocked at what I heard so I asked "Does this mean that if I have a great idea that it may never get accepted at Nova". The person giving the seminar said that I was correct and that if you want your degree you are pretty much at the mercy of the instructors to accept your idea. What you should know is this, when you get to the dissertation portion of the degree, you are on your own. I thought I had a professor interested in my idea and he strung me along. I flat out asked him if the idea had merit because if it didn't I was done and didn't want to pay any more tuition. He told me that I had a good start but was unable to tell. In the end he dismissed me. This is after I paid for another semester of tuition. I sent the idea to several other professors and got at least one rude reply. In my opinion, the professors at Nova have no incentive to help you through your degree. If you do decide to go to Nova you should have an idea paper accepted before you get there otherwise I believe your chances of getting a degree are slim. I would love to see the success rate numbers if anyone has them please post them. Someone here posted that the degree was much better than going to Capella. If you look at Capella many of the instructors are from top tier colleges. At Nova most are Nova graduates. The other thing is that schools like Capella and the rest are truly interested in you getting a dissertation. Final suggestion, do your research before you pick a school like Nova to avoid the disappointment!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 6, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Happy with Nova's PhD program I completed my course work and dissertation in two years. My instructors were excellent and very supportive, especially during the dissertation process. The courses were quite rigorous and provided me with useful skills--I taught three online courses each of four semesters while simultaneously completing my coursework. This program was far more difficult than the MLIS program I completed at the University of California, Berkeley.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Markymarc123456 (Graduate) on October 27, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Worth it! I recently completed the DBA program and think that it was definitely worth every minute and every penny. I completed my MS at an AACSB institution, where I finished with the highest GPA of the graduating class, and went on to complete the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) program. I have to admit that some of the people NSU admits in the program are losers with no chance to complete the program. I've witnessed this first hand and I'd say that the "haters" on this list are probably some one of those losers that I came across. I'd say NSU does this to collect easy money from those idiots... Hey, easy money is easy money. The graduation rate in the program is much lower than I expected, which also shows how difficult it is to get through the program. There are several DBA graduates each year, but when you break it down on a per-discipline basis (e.g. Fin, Acc, Mgt, etc), there really aren't that many! I attended the Davie (FL) Campus. In fact, the primary reason why I selected NSU was b/c I was able to work while going to school. I was asked by two professors to continue with the PhD program at the State School where I completed my MS, but that required me to quite my Six figure salary. I would not attend any Online University due to their bad reputation. Case Western offers a similar program and is AACSB-Accredited, but that was just a little too far for me (Ohio), so I opted for NSU. It took me four years to complete the program, but if I would have been married or had children, then that could have boiled over to 1 or 2+ years. During the program, one of the professors brings in some ABD and DBA students to share their experiences with current students to help them realize how important it is to brush-up on their research skills and to get the Dissertation done ASAP. It's a real eye-opener. Also, to some extent, it's not only losers that drop out, but some people have important family matters/issues to attend to. In the first case, I have no respect for people who expect to spend money and expect to get this degree with little effort. This is a consequence of utter laziness and ignorance. Anyone who attends or completes a program and then later drops out and completely disrespects the program is a dumb-ass for not doing their initial grad-school research and should not have been there to begin with. Go back to McDonald's buddy. In the latter case, I agree that family comes first and everything else should be put on-hold if needed. I'd say that NSU has alot of potential, and it may simply take a change in the Business School's top folks (Dean) to get the ball rolling towards AACSB accreditation. There is a huge talent pool in So FLA, and they are all going to other Universities across the country. NSU is a good (& young) school and with some improvements in the Management team, will eventually become a great school but that will take a few years.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 21, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DBA is Useless and no AACSB anytime soon Sorry kids, NSU is not close to getting AACSB accreditation. They are not even close. Joining AACSB as a member is allowed to any institution and it does not mean you are any closer to accreditation. They are in pre-candidacy currently luring AACSB PhD graduates because the majority of their faculty are not AACSB qualified. I got my MBA degree there and it was a mistake. They take advantage of our ignorance because we do not know how academia works. I started the DBA there because I thought it had value - it doesn't (I got the advice from a faculty member at a "very large state university in Central north Florida). Look at the graduates of the DBA program. The vast majority are not employed as faculty in accredited b-schools. Just look at the names on the dissertations and then Google them. One thing is certain, I don't need anymore $30K lessons, thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 12, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Get over it! It is really difficult to understand the attitude of anyone throwing stones at Nova Southeastern University. The programs are fully accredited, intense and well respected throughout the business and academic realms. The campus is 'real' with walls, not virtual like many others - it does not just offer online oriented degree programs. However, I attended class on campus in Davie, FL, and continued my PhD dissertation by communicating with my advisor committee both face-to-face, as well as via the internet (who does not communicate like this today?) until I was finished. It was a rigorous program, and certainly not easy; It is also important to note that Nova has a reputable faculty across its many schools from well respected schools like Harvard, MIT, Stanford, Duke, etc., (to include a well known ex-Presidential candidate within its law school); NSU competes in numerous sports collegiately (its stadium also serves as the host training facility for the Miami Dolphins!); Consistently has outstanding guest speakers and lecturers; has agreements with several major international universities to allow for semester abroad programs; host major international professional and academic oriented conferences; has made significant headway in the areas of oceanograhy, computer science, law, medicine, and many, many other areas - the list goes on. People need to quit comparing it with the no-wall, for-profit universities that are out there - and get over it. NSU is a very good school - Period. Check it out by visiting on campus and talk with students and faculty before making a snap judgement. From someone who knows - a successful and proud Alum.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Rodbender4 (Graduate) on September 26, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great experience at NSU I completed an Ed.D in Organizational Leadership with dual cognates in Human Resource Development and Conflict Resolution in September 2007. I had a nearly flawless experience at NSU. I grew both professionally and personally. If you think studying at NSU is going to be easy, think again, the University continues to raise the bar to entrance and is seeking AACSB accreditation (not apropos to the Education program). The comments regarding the curriculum are accurate. The course work is solid and demanding as are the Professors; I had only one professor out of over twenty that I had a complaint with. Don’t wait to confer your dissertation topic with the University, write the concept paper as soon as practically possible and hire an editor. I wrote my concept paper the first semester, and had my proposal written several semesters later, I completed the program with dual minors in thirty-three months. I took as many as four courses per semester, worked full-time, and taught as an adjunct. I read Monday though Friday from 5:00pm to midnight, and wrote all day Saturday and Sunday, and I mean all day, many times, twelve hours on these days. Out of the twenty people that started the program in my cohort, 15 completed the course work; we had a couple of students fail at least one course. To date (September 2008) only three students have completed the program with dissertation. I estimate roughly half of the 15 that completed the course work will complete the dissertation in the six years allowed by the University. Like most education at this level, if you are not committed, are academically challenged, or require hand holding, a doctorate degree is NOT for you! The dissertation process is a lonely process. I strongly encourage you to begin the dissertation early in the process, once you complete the course work, it will be you, the appropriate databases, the library, and your computer. Your dissertation is going to be rejected several times; this is a right of passage. Since completing the Ed.D, I have launched my own LLC, have completed several State sanctioned Mediation Certifications, teach as an adjunct at two universities, and act as a business consultant. I am so impressed with NSU, I am considering a second terminal degree program with them. I have researched Capella, Walden, Northcentral, Argosy, University of Maryland University College and University of Phoenix. I actually completed the admission process with Capella and Northcentral. I have not pursued a degree with these two institutions to date. In the field of grounded and virtual terminal degree programs, I have to give NSU an A. No doubt, it’s expensive. If you’re searching for resume (or CV) fodder, a hobby, or a quick fix to your career challenges, this program is not for you; however, if you’ll embrace and make the process a personal journey, it’s rewarding with a number of surprising serendipities.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Joedurden (In Progress) on April 13, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Dispelling the NOVA myth I am a current DBA in Accounting student at NOVA and the coursework is extremely challenging and very rigorous. In addition, the dissertation and publishing requirements are meant to produce highly capable researchers and academicians, and they are doing so. This program is only for people who are serious about obtaining a doctoral degree and adding to the current academic body of knowledge in their field. The DBA degree is NOT an online degree. Coursework is completed in class at the main campus in Ft. Lauderdale, FL or at regional clusters like the one in Atlanta, GA – all of the instruction is in class. I have just started the third year in the program and I will soon begin the dissertation process and soon complete the coursework. Also, the school is well into the process to acquire AACSB certification and of the criticisms of NOVA that I have read in my opinion are not justified.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Ariailcpa (Graduate) on April 6, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High quality program I completed the DBA with a concentration in accounting in 2005 and am now employed as a tenure track assistant professor in a large state university system. My experience with Nova was very positive. Having received my undergraduate and masters degrees from a top tier state university business school, I found the quality of instruction at Nova comparable if not better. My professors at Nova were excellent (several were highly acclaimed scholars). The work required was quite rigorous. Nova currently has SACS accredition and is very close to having AACSB accredition. However, until AACSB status is received, obtaining a teaching position at a high tier university is dependant on your prior work experience and on your publication record. I agree that a Nova degree is what you make of it. The negative perception of Nova is not deserved. Negative comments are most probably being made by those who expect a degree to automatically confer success. I am proud of having graduated from Nova and highly recommend the DBA program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 26, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Assessing NOVA I obtained my DBA-International Management from NOVA in 2003. I did it all in 4 years. This degree is basically useless in the academic world unless of course you plan to teach at 3rd and 4th-tier schools, particularly at schools that feature oline business programs: The University of Phoenix and Walden University come to mind. Despite these drawbacks, I must say that going through the DBA program allowed me to develop excellent research and writing skills that I use quite often in my present job. In addition, I am putting those skills to good use in a more rigorous doctoral program at a reputable European university. It would be nice if the DBA program at NOVA took a more rigorous approach and the School of Business sought AASCB accreditation. As long as the program does not have AASCB accreditation, the DBA degree will have little recognition in the academic world. Also, the DBA program should accept only students that are capable of during doctoral work. I would speculate that on a given year about a third of the enrolled students do not belong and should not in the program. They are in only for the piece of paper.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 26, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
What you make of it. I'm a 2006 graduate of the DBA (Int'l Mgt concentration). It took me almost eight years to complete, by no fault of the University (currently requirements are to complete the degree within six years, I believe). What I didn't understand going into the program, and what most of the program's dropouts failed to learn, was that doctoral degrees are not about coursework -- they are about research and advancing the body of knowledge within one's chosen field. Coursework only provides an opportunity for the doctoral student to update and refine his/her knowledge of current research and theory in a given field -- it does not represent doctoral-level education. I say it again, doctorates are not about coursework -- that's masters and undergraduate degree activity. The successfully completed (and approved) dissertation is a formally published volume that adds to the body of knowledge associated with a given topic. Understandably, this is a high threshold, as well it should, since the reputations of both the University and the Committee members who sign the dissertation approval forms, all hang in the balance. In this regard, NSU succeeds. The doctoral student who has the requisite focus and determination will succeed. Notwithstanding the title "Doctor," the real value of the DBA lies in the experience of having marshalled one's self-discipline and leveraged the experience and guidance of a qualified faculity to publish at an accademically professional level of competence. Once having obtained the degree, DBAs from Nova have demonstrated for the record that they "know what right looks like." In so doing, the University has met its obligations; anything of value after that is up to graduate to generate.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 6, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Avoid at all Costs I was a D.B.A. degree student. They are a big rip-off. They are the most sued collegiate institution in the United States. They do not care about their students. If you dare to cross them, they throw you out on trumped-up charges. On their transcript request form, they have the so-called word "DOCTORATAL" which, I guess, is a combination of the word Doctorate and Doctoral.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 4, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Distance Learning I am currently a distance learner in the Masters of Teachng and Learning, but live close to Nova. Here is SFlorida, the school is known for collecting money for degrees. That being said, it produces most of the lawyers and educational administrators in the area. Not much assistance is given, but the program stresses it is for independent study. One must weigh one's needs and life's goals against what the program offers. Most of the educational administrators who would see my resume also have Nova degrees. Because I am past the mid-point of my career, I care equally about learning and the financial benefit of a higher degree. Therefore to me, a masters is a masters, is a masters.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Nova Southeastern University