Penn Foster : High School Diploma Reviews

Penn Foster logo

554 (In Progress) on April 11, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
IGNORANT GRADERS The graders are less than 4 ear degree students. The assignments are vague which helps the grader be more opinionated. Help is not at hand. Most questions they reply with something other than asked. They take 2 weeks to grade a paper, guess it takes them that long to read it. They actually have to search the internet for answers because they haven't enough knowledge. They do blackball smarter students as they are ignorant and jealous. Only some colleges accept their credits. These classes are made up of test out exams like dante's, excelsior and clep that cost under $100 each. So why pay $250 and still have to do a ton of work. It is designed to be hard so you feel like a real colleg. come on. I've been to real colleges, prestige, state, computer vocational, and even a religious college. All were regionally accredited except for the computer and penn foster. It is ridiculous at all the assignments they want a person to do. Testing out is a much easier and cheaper options.

90vizual (In Progress) on March 16, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BEWARE:CREDIT SCAM I was very excited about going back to school to get my high school diploma. The classes were fairly easy and materials came on time. I ran into some financial hardship and i was unable to pay for a couple of months, mind you when i enrolled in Penn Foster I never had any forms to fill out and had NO documents that required a signature.A couple months passed(3) and now I have received something in the mail stating I owe them 1,042.00. As far as I'm concerned I never finished,or signed my life away at any point for me to owe them. will be contacting attorney general's office to resolve this matter.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 24, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
please This school is great! Please use your own judgment. I drop out of high school in the 12grade peen foster help me obtain my high school diploma at 34. It was quick and easy you get what you put in to it. Several colleges I would like to attend accept this diploma. So please do your own research despite what others think. I look at all the negatives comments I was a afraid of wasting money and time. I was prove otherwise if your wanting to go back to school or have your child home school I think it's a excellent choice.

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 1, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
blackballing smart students I already completed most of public high school here so the courses needed to graduate were minimum. But apparently if you bust your butt to get it done your in trouble. They make you take more exams that are not required by the bored to graduate. If you have all the time in the world to do a little bit of work them this is for you! They refuse to take the flag off and won't let me continue to college but expect me to pay them $700. I can never get in touch with an instructor and all they care about is money.

Ashleynicole035 (Graduate) on June 10, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This School Saved My LIFE let me just start by saying I AM SO GLAD I herd about Penn Foster! They are affordable, helpful, and a life saver! Without this school, I would still be a high school drop out at 22! I see a lot of customers / students complaining about how their diploma / criedts were not accepted by the school of their choice. It is probably because they didn't do their homework first and asked the school's Admissions office if they recognize diplomas/ credits from this school before enrolling. And people, believe me when I tell you, this is NOT an uncommon problem. It is actually more common than you think. I completed PF Earlier this year after being forced to leave my old school the year before due to the fact I owed tuition. So, I basically had to begin a new with these guys. I was so surpriised at how well paced and simple the course were. And, I don't get the complaints with the shipments and stuff. You DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT have to wait for your books to get to your house in order to start your next course. Most of the material you need is already there [in PDF fouls] . All you need to do is pass all your unit exams to move on to the next course. Once you complete all your courses , you get final exams [just like you would in a normal accredited schools.] After you pass your exams, you recieve the credit for that course. I honestly had the best experience with this school. I got nothing less that a 90 on all my quizes and exams and graduated with a 4.0 ! The thing I love the most is, they REDUCE your tuition for students that graduate with an A average! You Honestly CAN NOT find a better deal with this school! Thank you Penn Foster! Hats Up to You Guys! Because of you guys, I will be starting Pensacola Christian College in the Fall on FULL SCHOLARSHIP! I owe EVERYTHING TO THIS SCHOOL.

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 9, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Was Just the Ticket to My Future and I have Returned I attended Penn Foster High School back when it was International Correspondence Schools and my diploma reads ICS/Newport Pacific High School, Scranton Pennsylvania. I had a 4.0 GPA and much to my surprise the diploma was received well enough to get me into one of the Mid-West's top Catholic Liberal Arts Colleges where I earned an Associates' of Arts degree in Liberal Arts. I graduated Penn Foster (then ICS) in 1996 before the advent of the internet and even then support and instruction was excellent. I liked it so well that since I need new marketable skills in the new economy I have returned to Penn Foster to get an Associates' of Science in Accounting. After I complete that I will transfer those credits to Thomas Edison State College in NJ for a Bachelor's so I can become a CPA, while working in the field of accounting as an accounting clerk. Some people are complaining that they don't get their diploma until their account is paid off. I honestly can't believe someone would be as stupid as to believe any school will issue a degree/diploma with a balance outstanding. If you think any will just go to any private high school or college and complete your program and leave owing money and see if you get a diploma/degree. At least with Penn Foster you can get a job if you owe a balance with your skills by paying the sum of $10.00 for a transcript to take job hunting. No other school I know will issue a transcript if you owe any money. Please get real.

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 9, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Do Your Research I think Penn Foster High School is a great way for people who have dropped out of school to finish getting their high school diploma. My husband took this course...but before he enrolled, he called local community colleges that he was interested in going to in order to find out if they would accept a degree from the school. The studies are self paced. Although many of the exams are open book, you do have to study in order to pass the exams. It took him three months to finish his senior semester...he is now a junior in college. The only thing we disliked about the school is when we call in to ask questions about transcripts and grades, they are a little reluctant to give much help, if you have not paid all of your fines. Other than that, I think the school is awesome for working students.

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 17, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good Experience My husband graduated from Penn Foster last year. The program worked great for him. He is now a Maintenance Engineer and attending college for his Associates in HVAC. I agree that the materials are slow in being shipped but that is a small price to pay for anyone who has difficulty in a traditional school setting. As far as not getting your diploma until tuition is paid off, that is understandable. You don't get the title to a car or the deed to a house until they are paid off. It is to ensure they are not scammed by students. All-in-all, a great experience.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 20, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pretty Good Great school so far. I recommend it! Tuition for the HS program was low for me since i completed 9th and 10th grade. The only problem i have is how slow they take to review transcripts and transfer credits. As well as how you have to wait for courses to ship out in order for lessons online to unlock. Besides that its a great school. I love having live chat around in case i ever have some direct payment or anything school related. You can call a teacher over the phone if you want but honestly i haven't called in so far.

Jamalloftonzoe (In Progress) on October 10, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great school January 2012 I completed my high school diploma course at the age of 29. This school allowed me to set a goal for myself finishing in just 6 months of starting the course at a 9th grade level. They kept the books coming and ensured that I would not run out of things to do.I rated the teachers low due to the fact I had very little contact with them. The only problem I had was at the end when the electives slowed me up you have to wait until all your tests with the elective are graded before you can move to the next on. It is now October 2012 and I plan on returning for Pharmacy Tech course. Thanks Penn Foster

Abfamily5 (Graduate) on September 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Diploma worked perfectly for us My son complete high school with this program in about 2 years. The diploma was treated like a regular high school diploma at the state college (Georgia Highlands) he attended and his grades in high school got him the Georgia Hope scholarship which allowed him to attend college tuition-free. The course work was definitely on the easy side. If you want something rigorous, I would try something else. This program would be great for someone who is having trouble with high school academics or who needs to get a diploma quickly. I thought the cost was very low compred to other schools which give you an accredited high school diploma.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 7, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A true honest story and honest opinion from someone who is almost done! Penn Foster has given me 3 years to complete my school work. Sadly, I fell behind because of dramas an other problems in life, now I have to complete what I have in a 1 months time, here's what I did. Good: We explained this to Penn Foster over the phone, the lady was very understanding and immediately sent out 4 lessons to me and I got them in 3 days. I progressed very fast and got all 4 done in about a week!(half way done) Bad:After that, I paid Penn Foster off what I owed, now I have no more payments to make. All of a sudden, my books have been taking over 3 weeks(not days) to get to my house! Which is outrageous when you only have a month to do your schooling! But, This does not bother me, since all of there books, once they are sent out to your house, become instantly available online to read and tests become available, so really, I don't have to wait for them dragging there feet. When I called asking for them to send my books again like the nicer lady did for me. THIS lady didn't want to, we signed a waver and everything to release the rest of my books. She said they will... 5 days later there JUST Preparing to be shipped and some are back ordered?... Outrageous, I don't have time for that! You think they would help me out a little if I have such little time left, but obviously not. I'm trying to get this done, but there always seems to be a loop hole I miss, which leads to me having to spend more money. If I can't get my school done this month, I can get a added 6 months for another $75, I really, really don't want to spend anymore money on this stuff, I just want to work hard to graduate. Clearly, It is a REAL highschool diploma program and weather it's treated like a GED or not, either way I just want to get it done but it's clearly a very money driven business(as anything)they does not care how you progress or get your work done as long as you pay them there money, even then they want a little extra. As far as the books go, they were very easy and you could learn on your own past with no black and white areas. Yet, American History was very much all over the place! I had 2 huge books I had to go over both of which contradicted each other, but they wanted answers from both of those books. It was very frustrating to me and my grades kinda sucked on that one...But atleast I got it done. OVER ALL: School is school and business will be business. It's as simple as that and nothing is perfect. But if your going to be home schooled and going with Penn Foster, I can't think of anything better as long as you stick to the 3 years they give you and not play around! If you stick to it you'll have plenty of breathing room for your studies and you won't end up having to be in a mad rush like me! Though I can't promise they we be quicker sending there books to you, they may take even more time if they have 3 years to kill! So, just do the books online and you'll truly be able to work at your own pace!

Blubrd11 (Graduate) on August 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High School Diploma I took the high school course. I found the textbooks laid out in an orderly fashion. I was guided step-by-step how to proceed in my studies, was even given a timeline for when tests should be taken. Of course, life gets in the way sometimes and I didn't keep on the timeline they set up, but I did complete the course within the allotted time. I would recommend Penn Foster to anyone. I see what people are saying about how "easy" it is to "cheat" and get the answers from the text, but that comes down to each individual person. If they want to cheat and get the answers the easy way instead of doing the work, they are only cheating themselves and not getting a true and accurate depiction of what they have actually learned through their studies. Thank Penn Foster for allowing me to finally achieve my goal of getting my high school diploma. A 55-year-old woman who dropped out 2 months into the 12th grade in 1974

Anniepedro18 (In Progress) on July 7, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very Slow sending out material, not able to work at my own pace. When I enroll I was under the assumption that I would be able to work at my own pace and had 3 years to complete, however; I could work as fast as I wanted. I now fully understand that the welcome letter they send you, the website and enrollment counselor are very much incorrect. I enroll thinking that I could finish within a couple of months as I ( for now) have the time to dedicate several hours a day to it, to my surprise and a sad one at that, I have to wait several days after I complete an exam for them to open up the next class and allow me to take the exams. VERY slow to send out material, and why do they bother the books are online, till this point all the materials I have use for my test have been on their website. Not happy, If you are in a hurry, do not enroll. You will be better just taking GED. Very Slow.

Babygirlalways (Graduate) on June 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
PennFoster High School I took this course and it was a mistake! They say they are accepted by ALL accredited colleges, when truthfully, it is hard to find one that does! I am currently having to take my GED so that I can attend college! If you are a parent of a child who wants to attend college, I suggest you go through the school's homeschool system in your area. Going through your nearest highschool is MUCH easier and less expensive! I graduated last year and we are STILL paying off my tuition, and of course, you don't recieve your diploma until you pay it off. The only good part I found about this institution was the help. When you call with questions or concerns about homework, it usually doesn't long for them to help you. The tests are SUPER easy. However, they suggest that students use their study guides, which gives the answers! That is not learning! My parents were smart enough to take all my books away while I took my tests. When we called to complain about their false advertising, they told me there was nothing they could do! Their operators for complaints are very rude and unkind.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 27, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Generic Education We are a military family and I thought this was a great idea for my daughter since we were moving around a lot. I had a few family members who raved about Penn Foster and how great it was and how simple.. Yes.. How "simple" it was. I should have listened to those words more carefully. I have noticed that everyone on here who likes it all say how fast and EASY it is. This school may be good for the college courses but I can tell you from a parents stand point.. DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD HERE! This is a generic education and so not worth the 3000 dollars we spent on it! I am sorry that we let our little girl down like that.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 2, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pennfoster High School Diploma My sister and I are about to complete all high school courses. The program has improved greatly. You must study and learn before you can pass any of the lessons. It's very simple, you fail the lessons if you don't study, period. We love the flexibility of having our own schedule during the week. We work at our own pace. The learning material and text books are great, I miss nothing from going to a regular public high school.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 1, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High school dipolma So slow to sent out materials, and why do I have to wait to finish my exam to sent out my book. I would like to finish this program asap but now I have to wait for those book to ship, I dont have to to sit on the computer all day to read online materials they have out there. will be better if they sent materials a heads so I can continue and go on what ever where ever and when ever I want.

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Curriculum outdated and too easy I just finished Penn Foster, it's unbelievably easy, and not in a good way. I was in regular, public high school for my freshman and sophomore years, and LITERALLY every single class in PF was a repeat of things I had previously learned. I did not learn one new thing. Luckily, this made it easy for me to graduate in 9 months. (could've done it in 4, but I worked and babysat.) I didn't study with the physical books once, just with the online PDF study guides, which are searchable and make it easy to cheat. Also, they've used the same tests for years and the questions//answers are just one internet search away. So if you're a parent and are thinking of putting your child in this program, don't do it. They'll end up behind. Try as hard as you can to find a home school program that's through a public school in your county. They exist, don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 18, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Mixed Feeling Ive been enrolled into this course for about 9 months a few weeks ago i got a letter saying i had to pay an extra 75.00 for a course extension. I thought this cant be because for one i havent even been in this course for a year and for 2 i read that i had 3 yrs to finish it. i contacted student services and they said they couldnt help me. but other than that i like the course and its fairly easy. i dont like that they dont send materials in a timely manor but i signed a wavier to have all my books sent to me so i can just keep working on it so i can get my diploma before i have my baby in feb. i also read that they flag students for completeing exams before their books have been shipped. i recently experienced this because they are so slow on sending them out that i just went ahead and did my exams with out reading the online things. now i cant even read them i had to wait for my books to arrive before i can continue. Choose wisely before signing up for penn foster. nothing but problems so far.

Melanie (In Progress) on September 26, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This school is too easy This school is too easy and my parents are thinking of changing me im still in high school.

Nunqueen2010 (In Progress) on September 11, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Adequate Correspondece program I found the High-School program to be helpful, and it improved my academic skills. However, I prefer, the former automated touch-tone system for grading examinations, and not the new online approach. They have really raised the roof...on the cost of this program. It was only $398.00, about 10-years ago. Can you say---price cut!

Alaskanwolf001 (Graduate) on August 4, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
My son completed with credits transferred My middle son attended PFHS, their credits transferred to California, where my son finished. Downward side we experienced was that the customer service was limited, at times we did not get an answer (follow thru) to a question, or something would not be processed (if sent directly to the school), but the regular every-day stuff, courses, testing... all good.

Rsjp100 (Graduate) on June 18, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Course Experince I completed the High School Course when Penn Foster was ICS and everything was OK. However, most employers in my area seem to think that my diploma is not good despite the fact that I am now better than those who graduated at our local schools. I also completed the Electronics Technician course when it was Education Direct so I am now capable of understanding and testing all electronic components in the field. Of course, in this field, I need to be constantly updating myself as technology advances/changes. This course gave me the foundation I needed as the starting point. Everything else depends on dedication.

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 4, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR STUDENT BOOKS First off, In the information packet,Welcoming packet and student handbook, as well as online when you chose which payment method you want to use.. THEY TELL YOU , YOU MUST PAY TUITION IN FULL BEFORE YOU WILL RECEIVE YOUR DIPLOMA!!! Some of you should learn to pay attention to your materials. Would you sign a contract without reading EVERYTHING and doing research? Doubtful! I am currently a HighSchool Student with Early College Courses and i love the program. Also, when you recieve your papers and student handbook there is a paper that states a PROJECTED GOAL DATE for an exam completion, Abide by this paper and you will receive no extra fee's as far as extended study fee's! I have one person who befriended me from Penn Foster who says they can't pass their exams ..they keep getting a 35 on exams lol.. That means : THIS PROGRAM IS NOT FOR YOU!! If you weren't good in school with teachers or have issues learning alone, this is NOT FOR YOU!!! If you really want to learn , be proud of yourself, and work well on your own GO FOR Penn Foster! READ ALL INFORMATION PACKETS AND RESEARCH BEFORE YOU SIGN UP FOR ANYSCHOOL.. It's common sense ;) (** PROUD PENN FOSTER STUDENT!! **)

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 28, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DO IT I'm A pF High School grad and I have to tell everyone about how PF changed my life and allowed me the opportunity to obtain my degree. Without PF I would still be a high school dropout but b./c of their HS program I was accepted to PenN State University, I owe everything to PF Educaiton is what you make of it! Online classes are not for everyone, everyone learns differently, some need more assistance than other and some are just plain lazy. TO all the PF haters: PF offers a solution, they provide the academic means to reach your goals but what matters most is what you do with it. Your in charge, dont blame someonelse for your short-comings Just b/c you go to school does not mean your going to be successful, look at how many people drop out of college or flunk out

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very good school! This information is accurate, up-to-date, and helpful regarding Penn Fosters High School program. I am currently a student at Penn Foster and I believe it is a great school! Many of the reviews on this site are misleading and show the school lacks in many areas. I know several people that have graduated from this school through the HS program and through college courses, and are doing well and had no problems. The school ships materials for one subject about halfway through another. With this design, you always have 2 subjects on hand to work with. The staff has always been helpful with me, never disregarding any questions. I definitely give this school an A+ and would highly recommend it for those seeking to better their education and career.

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Penn Foster