Penn Foster : High School Diploma Reviews

Penn Foster logo

Jakin74 (In Progress) on July 31, 2017

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Ok, but don't expect any help from the school to further your kid. So my son is finishing PennFoster, he has 3 classes. We chose this school because he was playing JR Hockey so we needed the access since we were always on the road. If your kid needs much help not the program for them if they do well I checked with our State board of regions they accepted them no problem. They like to change rules mid program, now if they did or the accredited body did I don't know. My son did great on his college placement exams, better then most of the local colleges students did. I can't say weather PennFoster classes helped that or my son smart enough on his own I know he does well. Here's where the problem is: No support to help the student to go further. My son wants to enroll concurrent with college this allows him to take two courses 6 credits of college a semester for free. I had to have an official transcript to the college. They won't send one till the program is paid so no problem we paid it and I will say they gave us an 25% off offer at the time if we paid by the end of the month. So we paid the day we received on the phone by credit card. So I jump on to order the transcript and I'm still showing a balance so I can't. I call them back and now I'm informed it takes 3 business days to drop off. So now we are screwed till the next week. I get up and check on Monday since that would be the 3 or forth business day depending on when they start counting and guess what its not cleared. I call back and now the magic number is 7 to 10 days, Maybe when that comes it will be 30 days. So completely screwing my son that's worked his ass off and now may not get to go to these classes. The next thing is we scan and email the concurrent enrollment paperwork that the college needs to allow them to go concurrent and all they need to do is sign it stating the expected graduation date is 4/3/2018 and have a principles signature and counselors. They refuse to sign because the anticipated grad date is that but they cant say it is an expected date and cant sign because there isn't a principle or counselor, this letter is typed up by the Director of the program who couldn't just sign the form and put director next to his name. To be honest my son has done the entire program in under a year minus the 3 classes he has left but we can't sign because there is not expected grad date only an anticipated and his title is director not principle, oh and we are still waiting for the payment to drop off even though they have the money so I can order transcripts. So here's what i get from them and to be completely honest, the diploma is good it is official it will be taken, The employees at the school don't care about you or your kid, you are a 2nd class citizen. I hope someone from the company reads this and corrects all these problems because regardless if this school is a for profit then should care about their customer (the kids) to fix the everyday operations so they can support the students. I'm retired at a young age and if I had run my businesses like they would all have been bankrupt.

Tlynns (In Progress) on June 7, 2017 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't listen to the bad reviews! I enrolled into this program originally 15yrs ago. At that time this was Thomas Education. Then I had children and put it on hold. My bad, but I'm glad I did. The accreditation is far much better. My son was bored in traditional high school his begigining Junior year at age 16. He found Penn Foster and I agreed to let him use their services. He is now a Student at Portland Community College. He was except by two tech schools but chose PCC. Yes, he had to take entrance exams but who doesn't anymore? After he was enrolled for a month or so, I started recognizing the logo and was like, "wow this is my old school"! I called them up and they found my transcripts and was willing to transfer credit. I will say the meterial is harder now. The exams are short but if your aim is to learn then study the material. The tests are not easy by any means. You really have to dig to find the answers. Some of them are worded in such a way that you have to know the material to answer correctly . But anyone can cheat on any online program, even k12, another my children have been on. Talking about lack of knowledge and correspondence from teachers. Extremely poor!!! Free$$$ to let your child fall and reach for peers.com or photo.math to cheat in a heartbeat. Only career minded and little bookworms can really get through k12 without falling behind and having to carry Last years work over to the next. Unless you can sit 8 hrs by their side to do the work. YES 5-8 HOURS AND DONT FORGET THE RESTRAINT OF CLASS CONNECTS! IIn high school k12 online your student will have 7-9 teachers. All needing at least 2 class connection live a week! That's 14-18, 1hr live sessions a week. Sounds easy enough but not when the also have 8hrs of work to do and life! Keep in mind you're their learning coach. Do you have that time? On top of house work, taking care of the family, a job, or other children to tend too. They're teenagers, their going to cheat the minute they can or just not do the work if you stop paying attention. Cheating with homeschool or any online school is possible. Even in class today kids are using their cellphones to cheat through class and homework only to find a failing grade on their test. The material is designed to teach yourself but you have to follow it. My teachers have always been there for support and walk me through any issues I may have. If you put your children on it be a coach and make them go through the steps. So what if it goes by fast. It's that much faster they can start on a college career. If still young yet like 17 or 18 to enter college, do another online course that will earn more credit while waiting for maturity to enter a sit down college. I'd never set my 17 year old daughter next to a 20 year old young man anyway. This program is amazing. You get a real diploma, accepted into most community colleges and all tech schools. I have three hours a day to do my work. I have 3 hours a day to watch over a student. We work together. I chose being a mother of my own education. Get it while your young it's hard raising a family and earning a diploma at the same time. Some do it but I chose to give my whole self to five children while I had young ones in the home for 20 years. It's my turn and Penn Foster has been there for me and my family!

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 13, 2017

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
my truth about peen foster i read reviews on penn fosrter high school and was uneasy about if i should attend, so many bad reviews so if i was you reading this looking to know if i should pay for high school diploma which is not cheap i would do some research first. I looked in to two schools i was looking foward to going to two colleges here in texas, one Lone star college said they appected and two Houston Community College said they appected penn foster high scool diploma and that was a go a head for me seeing that the schools i wanted to attend appected it. So you do the same make calls see what colleges in your state appected the diploma and what colleges dont. As far as finihing the diploma I had tranfer credits from my high school 16 and only need 5 to graduate so that took me no time to finish I signed up in Jan 2017 and finished that feb 2017 and paid in full on 03/06/17 and will receive my dipolma my the end of this month they told me it tke 3 weeks to receive.(I have to write back to say if i recive diploma on time end this month or beginning of April.) As for getting in touch with them honest never had a bad experrience once,always easy to get intouch with i call they answer or call back in a timely matter email and got an answer never rude or had the rum around. I would tell any one to do their research before they invested into anything i have yet to see if this diploma will be receive by employees.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 6, 2017 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
HORRID! mysterious charges will be applied to your account with no explanation! if you have any issues you will not get assistance! very little materials provided! couldn't get any response from any instructor! ended up paying $2,175 for a sub par education that isn't as widely accredited as they claim! absolutely deplorable! WOULD NOT RECOMEND!!!

Clif.doenitz (In Progress) on February 18, 2017

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Penn Foster High School program My granddaughter graduated from the High School Program in 2015. These other reviewers that say the High School program is not regionally accredited must be stupid. All you have to do is verify with the accrediting commission or agency. One reviewer said the community college told her the high school was not regionally accredited which is false, and they should know that. My granddaughter now has 15 college units with no problem getting into a local college!!! Do your homework, if a school says that Penn Foster High School is not regionally accredited, prove to them they are!!!

Addictive_arts (In Progress) on October 6, 2016 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High School Diploma Program Substandard I enrolled two children in the program ages 13 and 15. One was a 7th grader who moved to 9th grade in the Penn Foster program. The other daughter was in 10th grade. Both children ran through the courses (1 credit) at a rate of 2 per day. These classes were so simplified that they would never have laid a solid foundation for college. The younger of the two children who is college bound noted this herself and raised concerns. Please if you are not an adult learner completing your education for the purposes of job or promotion do not rely on this program to prepare you for college or life. This program is not suitable for children who have their whole life ahead of them. We switched to a K12 program it was free and better. Penn Foster is not for or about the child learner. Biggest parenting mistake that we will pay dearly for financially while our kids have to return to a more structured program feeling behind.

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 25, 2016 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A teachable moment? I chose Penn Foster's high school diploma program for my son. I have since found that Penn Foster's support, while reasonably quick to respond, does not do well in following up on school issues. For example, they requested that I had to submit a high school enrollment application before they would mail texts. My son and I completed the application and faxed it. We waited 2 days for confirmation but received no word. I emailed support again and asked if they had received the fax. Support replied" "please give us a few days to look through our faxes for your son's application." It was a true "what the heck"? moment. Rather than risk further delay, we faxed the application again. I emailed support and informed them. That was 3 days ago. Still no word. This issue has delayed my son's studies for a week and counting. I find it simply absurd that an institution has difficulty finding at least ONE fax. It reeks of stupidity. My advice? Do not use Penn Foster for high school education.

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 14, 2016 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very Good High School Program I signed up for this program in 2014 wanted to further my education. I signed up for high school with early college classes. In order to get your diploma you have to take a total of 100 exams. You have to write essays the whole nine yards. They don't just hand you a diploma you have to work for it. At any rate, the school is regionally accredited for high school,(I checked). I have been accepted into community college with my diploma. Just because you have the diploma you still have to take a college entrance exam so study hard while attending.

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 25, 2016

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Getting a job and fearing your diploma is not accepted! I finished my diploma last year, this is my second time graduation high school. I finished my 4 years in my native country but right after I finished I moved back to the states. Now the school closed down and there was no way to get a copy of my transcripts as this is a 3rd world county and nothing is ever in order. I am now 35 yrs old and looking for a job has never been so demanding... I actually lost a really good job with a large institution where I could have moved forward in my education. Word of mouth was no suffice with no valid documents I was good as NADA!! This was back in 2012 which is when I saw the Penn Foster commercial and I was immediately hooked. I don't have time after work to go to a night class for a simple G.E.D... I feel like I was cheating myself. Well, thankfully I completed the program and I am very excited to even hang this sucker up, my only dilemma is would certain employers accept this diploma without any issues??!! This is my current situation at the moment. I moved to another state and literately everywhere I apply they want everything, Diploma certificate along with the original transcripts. I was able to do an income tax class with HR block and they did accept the diploma and I was able to become a tax agent. They said that in order for a person to qualify the IRS needs copies of the persons educational background. So lets see!! Im keeping my fingers crossed... So far the CC here does accept it which is a plus.

Www.lguicrkly (Graduate) on March 22, 2016

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Can't get into a South Dakota Collage. When I enrolled into Penn Foster one of the first things I asked was, will I be able to use this degree to get into collage? The lady I talked to had told me that shouldn't be a problem.I tried enrolling in a community collage and was devastated when they denied me entry due to not having a high school diploma from a regionally accredited school. I did not know until then that Penn Foster was not regionally accredited. In a nut shell I was told to go get my G.E.D first and then reapply. I think Penn Foster is a good school, but this school did not live up to my needs. Basically I paid way to much for high school refresher courses.

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 3, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I still can't tell if it was worth it This school is for students who just want their diploma. The books they send out for literature are ridiculous; the one about Native Americans and 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' were okay, but the ones about a slave finding god and a short story about a homosexual boy killing himself made me feel uncomfortable. I even emailed the school and asked why we didn't read any of the nationally required books and they never answered. It feels like the school gives more privilege to the Christian students, seeing that they allow them to say that woman deserve to be raped (because me wearing shorts on a hot summer day turns men on and they can't control themselves) and the staff doesn't stop them from discriminating against the LGBT community. A majority of the students can't even spell correctly. But hey, I'm not going to college.

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 14, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I feel accomplished First off I am a full time stay at home mom who recently got out the army after six years. One day I told my husband that I wanted to finish up my high school education. He asked me if I wanted my GED or my diploma? At first I said a GED would be ok I guess but then he said no you actually completed high school you just didn't pass the graduation exam. so you shouldn't cheat yourself by settling. I tell you what Im so glad he said that to me because I am now only 3 exams away from completing my diploma. although I only had to complete 5 courses it was still hard I was supposed to graduate in 2008 and its 2015 I haven't seen most of the work since then. I am here to say that with the dedication to stay up countless hours reading the course materials and making sure you complete at least two assignments a day you will be done sooner than you think. I know if I can do it anyone can after all I have the attention span of a child I'm so easily distracted. Once you turn your phones and the TVs off and staying off the deadly social media you will be surprised at what you can do. I have stayed up 4-5 hours after my family had gone to bed to get work done. You have to do what you have to be successful. your success is up to you!!!!

ROXANNEDELEON04 (In Progress) on June 7, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
PENN FOSTER IS THE BEST!!! GO FOR PENN FOSTER!!!!! IT TOOK ME A COUPLE YEARS AND FINALLY MADE IT. I GRADUATED THIS MONTH AND IM SO HAPPY TO KNOW I CAN FINALLY MOVE ON TO COLLEGE. :)

Zeneshipman (In Progress) on June 4, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Veterans Affiliated Really? They claim to be VA Accredited Which is right but not as a Full time student. The Va will only pay for a one !/4 of the bill because its no different than any online school. The school say's that you go at your own pace but if you graduate from the 8th grade to the 12th grade in 3 years you have completed 4 years of school. This is not part-time but you are lead to believe that the VA will pay you full time as a student. How wrong can you get. I cancelled the program when I called the VA but the VA Rep told me a different story so I am stuck with a 3000$ a year bill. The CO by the name is Frank F. Britt is a rip off. ZENEIDA DAVILA

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 30, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
finally did it The school is good so far as being patient....although i do believe that you should get an e-mail. Stating that courses completed and graduation. Date plus anticipated date for diploma to arrive.I just graduated Yesterday!!!!I am so happy about it since it took me every bit of 3 years plus had to do 3 test retakes which costed $25 per course....nearlyv fainted when i saw how much money i had to pay to the school.I make waitress salary of $2.13 plus tips,i mean this school costs a lot......waiters need education too so i can progress to a better career but waitressing always comes in handy when customers actually show love for good service......I do pretty well,however doesn't. Hurt to change scenery.pennfoster is a lifesaver for me....,I finally graduated...at 34 years old !!!Don't. Goof off,come to pennfoster,you will be happy if you do.

Courtneymorgan2011 (In Progress) on April 11, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High School | I love it! I am a military wife with a toddler. Moving around so much and raising my daughter that I had no time to sit in a classroom and finish my high school diploma. Penn foster has been nothing but amazing! The staff is always so helpful and there when you need them. The Student Community site they have is great! It is so nice to be able to communicate with other students and the teachers/staff. If you are considering Penn Foster you should do it! I have no regrets getting my education with them! -Courtney M.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 25, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Penn Foster High school... not impressed If you are intelligent at all and plan on going to university do not go here. It is one of the worst programs I have ever been in and I am constantly worrying if I will get into the university of my choice in a few years. I went from all honors and AP classes freshmen and part of sophomore year to kindergarten education and I am MISERABLE. Please do not enroll here. I am looking forward to finishing high school my junior and senior years. I hope doing this school doesn't ruin my chances to get into University out of state. I hope all my credits transfer. I did online school to help my stress and anxiety levels and they are through the roof worrying that my education isn't good enough- and here it isn't. I am 16 and I hope this didn't ruin my chances in uni. This place is horrible.

Valerie0825 (Graduate) on March 9, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
bad customer service Bad customer service experience. I would not recommend to anyone. My son could not attend college this semester because of lack of information customer service gives you. Is a hassle to deal with them

Kushdream (In Progress) on August 22, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Its bitter sweet,but not bad I Really like pennfoster,it gave me another chance At something that i always knew was important. Something that i gave up on which was high school. My honest review is that I never had a major problém With the school.when i first started i was excited and Couldnt wait to finish.i did test after test while i worked A 12 hour shift with all the free time i had.so its really Is what you put in it..it seems the test that i really took The time to study for and read,i did excellent on them. But the ones i tried to scan through i didnt do so hot So i went back over it and did better.I think if you read And take notes right the first time,it can advoid alot Of time...i am almost done got one more assignment That is only because i tried to cheat and had to do it over But thats my mistakes not the school.Im done paying And havent had any issues.as far as instructors they always Was helpful and always email me back. I tecently called Because i was so excited to get my essay grade back So i can hurry up and complete the test i cheated on And the instructor said that they had alot of essays to grade So they havent got to it yet,but will get to it soon. I got Irrated and told the instructor im a just quit. The instructor Imform me that i have came to far and will be foolish To quit and she found somebody to grade my paper Within 24 hours,that meant alot to me at the time because It showed me that she understood my feelings and It wasent all about money.she wanted me to finish As bad as i wanted to finish...but its my 8th month only Because i took some time off to invest in my niece a sweet16 After that i came straight back to it...Because i need This for me and my future. I read millions of reviews But this is mines i enjoyed every moment and cant wait To attend COLLEGE!!!!this is my story try it for yourself :-)

Taylor_humphreys (Graduate) on August 18, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Positive experience, but very basic I graduated from Pennfoster high school in September 2011. Obviously it has been a while, but now that I have gone out in the real world I believe I'm better prepared to leave a review based on getting into college, and the like. First, I will say this program isn't for everyone. The reason I enrolled was because I was having personal issues in public school, and also believed that most of the work was not necessary for what I planned to do. At the time, my plan was to graduate, then attend beauty school to become a stylist. The requirements for beauty school were a high school diploma (or GED) and to be at least 16 years of age. I knew I could graduate faster with Pennfoster, therefore starting my career earlier. I enrolled in beauty school right after turning 17, graduated a year later, and have since then worked in retail and am now planning on going to college to pursue a career in education. Pennfoster is a great program for those who do not need all the "extra" stuff. If I hadn't realized that cosmetology was not for me and ended up continuing that path, the education from there would definitely be sufficient. One huge disadvantage is how basic it is. My math is horrible, and am going to need tutoring to pass the compass test to get into college. I wish I had stuck it out in public school looking back, because I really didn't learn more than I already knew. But on the other end, it is great because they are accredited. I've never had problems on that end. Also, my brother is currently enrolled in this program and I've been told there have been changes made. I'm not sure of any specifics, though, this is solely based on my personal experiences.

Smart2princess (In Progress) on April 19, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High SChool with College i took the high school problem with no problems. But in my English College course, problems began. First of all, the graders has little or no education. I rebutted all the graders comments. I had asked about the header when putting the essay in rtf format. They said Ok, that's how it is. Then, they took off points. The header was done according to format. They made unfounded comments. I asked for an explanation of the point reduction and they never answered my questions. I then asked for another grader to grade the paper. The English Department Head agreed to do this. I had asked for a grader that would be unbiased in their grading. The next grader used the same already graded paper, and did nothing but agree with the first grader. Some comments were different.Yet, when I also proved their comments wrong as stated within the essay, they act as if they cannot understand English. The original essay, as I found out had been graded twice by the grader. i guess someone found a problem with how the grader graded my essay. But, the English Dept head wants to resolve this issue while stating their would be no more reviews. Obviously the graders were he same person, or just agreed. None of my rebuttals about all their comments that were unjustified for the point reduction. The English head never once answered my questions. My essay was just fine for the high school English, but since it was only about 2 months difference, both essays were on he same level. I had to write essays in my private Christian school, too many. I have to wonder if they are against Christian students since that is about all the information they know about me. Insults were actually made, but the so called 2nd grader removed them. The first grader had removed my headings from pages 2-4 which was one of my complaints as they deducted points from the grade. The next grader added them back in proving they had knowledge of my complaints. The second grader also made some ludicrous statements.Obviously, they do blackball smarter students, as others have complained. Now I am concerned that if I contact the school if they will intentionally flunk me. This transcript will go with me as I have to now decide upon a different college. I will write again when I have more information.

554 (In Progress) on April 11, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
IGNORANT GRADERS The graders are less than 4 ear degree students. The assignments are vague which helps the grader be more opinionated. Help is not at hand. Most questions they reply with something other than asked. They take 2 weeks to grade a paper, guess it takes them that long to read it. They actually have to search the internet for answers because they haven't enough knowledge. They do blackball smarter students as they are ignorant and jealous. Only some colleges accept their credits. These classes are made up of test out exams like dante's, excelsior and clep that cost under $100 each. So why pay $250 and still have to do a ton of work. It is designed to be hard so you feel like a real colleg. come on. I've been to real colleges, prestige, state, computer vocational, and even a religious college. All were regionally accredited except for the computer and penn foster. It is ridiculous at all the assignments they want a person to do. Testing out is a much easier and cheaper options.

90vizual (In Progress) on March 16, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BEWARE:CREDIT SCAM I was very excited about going back to school to get my high school diploma. The classes were fairly easy and materials came on time. I ran into some financial hardship and i was unable to pay for a couple of months, mind you when i enrolled in Penn Foster I never had any forms to fill out and had NO documents that required a signature.A couple months passed(3) and now I have received something in the mail stating I owe them 1,042.00. As far as I'm concerned I never finished,or signed my life away at any point for me to owe them. will be contacting attorney general's office to resolve this matter.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 24, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
please This school is great! Please use your own judgment. I drop out of high school in the 12grade peen foster help me obtain my high school diploma at 34. It was quick and easy you get what you put in to it. Several colleges I would like to attend accept this diploma. So please do your own research despite what others think. I look at all the negatives comments I was a afraid of wasting money and time. I was prove otherwise if your wanting to go back to school or have your child home school I think it's a excellent choice.

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 1, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
blackballing smart students I already completed most of public high school here so the courses needed to graduate were minimum. But apparently if you bust your butt to get it done your in trouble. They make you take more exams that are not required by the bored to graduate. If you have all the time in the world to do a little bit of work them this is for you! They refuse to take the flag off and won't let me continue to college but expect me to pay them $700. I can never get in touch with an instructor and all they care about is money.

Ashleynicole035 (Graduate) on June 10, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This School Saved My LIFE let me just start by saying I AM SO GLAD I herd about Penn Foster! They are affordable, helpful, and a life saver! Without this school, I would still be a high school drop out at 22! I see a lot of customers / students complaining about how their diploma / criedts were not accepted by the school of their choice. It is probably because they didn't do their homework first and asked the school's Admissions office if they recognize diplomas/ credits from this school before enrolling. And people, believe me when I tell you, this is NOT an uncommon problem. It is actually more common than you think. I completed PF Earlier this year after being forced to leave my old school the year before due to the fact I owed tuition. So, I basically had to begin a new with these guys. I was so surpriised at how well paced and simple the course were. And, I don't get the complaints with the shipments and stuff. You DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT have to wait for your books to get to your house in order to start your next course. Most of the material you need is already there [in PDF fouls] . All you need to do is pass all your unit exams to move on to the next course. Once you complete all your courses , you get final exams [just like you would in a normal accredited schools.] After you pass your exams, you recieve the credit for that course. I honestly had the best experience with this school. I got nothing less that a 90 on all my quizes and exams and graduated with a 4.0 ! The thing I love the most is, they REDUCE your tuition for students that graduate with an A average! You Honestly CAN NOT find a better deal with this school! Thank you Penn Foster! Hats Up to You Guys! Because of you guys, I will be starting Pensacola Christian College in the Fall on FULL SCHOLARSHIP! I owe EVERYTHING TO THIS SCHOOL.

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 9, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Was Just the Ticket to My Future and I have Returned I attended Penn Foster High School back when it was International Correspondence Schools and my diploma reads ICS/Newport Pacific High School, Scranton Pennsylvania. I had a 4.0 GPA and much to my surprise the diploma was received well enough to get me into one of the Mid-West's top Catholic Liberal Arts Colleges where I earned an Associates' of Arts degree in Liberal Arts. I graduated Penn Foster (then ICS) in 1996 before the advent of the internet and even then support and instruction was excellent. I liked it so well that since I need new marketable skills in the new economy I have returned to Penn Foster to get an Associates' of Science in Accounting. After I complete that I will transfer those credits to Thomas Edison State College in NJ for a Bachelor's so I can become a CPA, while working in the field of accounting as an accounting clerk. Some people are complaining that they don't get their diploma until their account is paid off. I honestly can't believe someone would be as stupid as to believe any school will issue a degree/diploma with a balance outstanding. If you think any will just go to any private high school or college and complete your program and leave owing money and see if you get a diploma/degree. At least with Penn Foster you can get a job if you owe a balance with your skills by paying the sum of $10.00 for a transcript to take job hunting. No other school I know will issue a transcript if you owe any money. Please get real.

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 9, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Do Your Research I think Penn Foster High School is a great way for people who have dropped out of school to finish getting their high school diploma. My husband took this course...but before he enrolled, he called local community colleges that he was interested in going to in order to find out if they would accept a degree from the school. The studies are self paced. Although many of the exams are open book, you do have to study in order to pass the exams. It took him three months to finish his senior semester...he is now a junior in college. The only thing we disliked about the school is when we call in to ask questions about transcripts and grades, they are a little reluctant to give much help, if you have not paid all of your fines. Other than that, I think the school is awesome for working students.

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 17, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good Experience My husband graduated from Penn Foster last year. The program worked great for him. He is now a Maintenance Engineer and attending college for his Associates in HVAC. I agree that the materials are slow in being shipped but that is a small price to pay for anyone who has difficulty in a traditional school setting. As far as not getting your diploma until tuition is paid off, that is understandable. You don't get the title to a car or the deed to a house until they are paid off. It is to ensure they are not scammed by students. All-in-all, a great experience.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 20, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pretty Good Great school so far. I recommend it! Tuition for the HS program was low for me since i completed 9th and 10th grade. The only problem i have is how slow they take to review transcripts and transfer credits. As well as how you have to wait for courses to ship out in order for lessons online to unlock. Besides that its a great school. I love having live chat around in case i ever have some direct payment or anything school related. You can call a teacher over the phone if you want but honestly i haven't called in so far.

Jamalloftonzoe (In Progress) on October 10, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great school January 2012 I completed my high school diploma course at the age of 29. This school allowed me to set a goal for myself finishing in just 6 months of starting the course at a 9th grade level. They kept the books coming and ensured that I would not run out of things to do.I rated the teachers low due to the fact I had very little contact with them. The only problem I had was at the end when the electives slowed me up you have to wait until all your tests with the elective are graded before you can move to the next on. It is now October 2012 and I plan on returning for Pharmacy Tech course. Thanks Penn Foster

Abfamily5 (Graduate) on September 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Diploma worked perfectly for us My son complete high school with this program in about 2 years. The diploma was treated like a regular high school diploma at the state college (Georgia Highlands) he attended and his grades in high school got him the Georgia Hope scholarship which allowed him to attend college tuition-free. The course work was definitely on the easy side. If you want something rigorous, I would try something else. This program would be great for someone who is having trouble with high school academics or who needs to get a diploma quickly. I thought the cost was very low compred to other schools which give you an accredited high school diploma.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 7, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A true honest story and honest opinion from someone who is almost done! Penn Foster has given me 3 years to complete my school work. Sadly, I fell behind because of dramas an other problems in life, now I have to complete what I have in a 1 months time, here's what I did. Good: We explained this to Penn Foster over the phone, the lady was very understanding and immediately sent out 4 lessons to me and I got them in 3 days. I progressed very fast and got all 4 done in about a week!(half way done) Bad:After that, I paid Penn Foster off what I owed, now I have no more payments to make. All of a sudden, my books have been taking over 3 weeks(not days) to get to my house! Which is outrageous when you only have a month to do your schooling! But, This does not bother me, since all of there books, once they are sent out to your house, become instantly available online to read and tests become available, so really, I don't have to wait for them dragging there feet. When I called asking for them to send my books again like the nicer lady did for me. THIS lady didn't want to, we signed a waver and everything to release the rest of my books. She said they will... 5 days later there JUST Preparing to be shipped and some are back ordered?... Outrageous, I don't have time for that! You think they would help me out a little if I have such little time left, but obviously not. I'm trying to get this done, but there always seems to be a loop hole I miss, which leads to me having to spend more money. If I can't get my school done this month, I can get a added 6 months for another $75, I really, really don't want to spend anymore money on this stuff, I just want to work hard to graduate. Clearly, It is a REAL highschool diploma program and weather it's treated like a GED or not, either way I just want to get it done but it's clearly a very money driven business(as anything)they does not care how you progress or get your work done as long as you pay them there money, even then they want a little extra. As far as the books go, they were very easy and you could learn on your own past with no black and white areas. Yet, American History was very much all over the place! I had 2 huge books I had to go over both of which contradicted each other, but they wanted answers from both of those books. It was very frustrating to me and my grades kinda sucked on that one...But atleast I got it done. OVER ALL: School is school and business will be business. It's as simple as that and nothing is perfect. But if your going to be home schooled and going with Penn Foster, I can't think of anything better as long as you stick to the 3 years they give you and not play around! If you stick to it you'll have plenty of breathing room for your studies and you won't end up having to be in a mad rush like me! Though I can't promise they we be quicker sending there books to you, they may take even more time if they have 3 years to kill! So, just do the books online and you'll truly be able to work at your own pace!

Blubrd11 (Graduate) on August 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High School Diploma I took the high school course. I found the textbooks laid out in an orderly fashion. I was guided step-by-step how to proceed in my studies, was even given a timeline for when tests should be taken. Of course, life gets in the way sometimes and I didn't keep on the timeline they set up, but I did complete the course within the allotted time. I would recommend Penn Foster to anyone. I see what people are saying about how "easy" it is to "cheat" and get the answers from the text, but that comes down to each individual person. If they want to cheat and get the answers the easy way instead of doing the work, they are only cheating themselves and not getting a true and accurate depiction of what they have actually learned through their studies. Thank Penn Foster for allowing me to finally achieve my goal of getting my high school diploma. A 55-year-old woman who dropped out 2 months into the 12th grade in 1974

Anniepedro18 (In Progress) on July 7, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very Slow sending out material, not able to work at my own pace. When I enroll I was under the assumption that I would be able to work at my own pace and had 3 years to complete, however; I could work as fast as I wanted. I now fully understand that the welcome letter they send you, the website and enrollment counselor are very much incorrect. I enroll thinking that I could finish within a couple of months as I ( for now) have the time to dedicate several hours a day to it, to my surprise and a sad one at that, I have to wait several days after I complete an exam for them to open up the next class and allow me to take the exams. VERY slow to send out material, and why do they bother the books are online, till this point all the materials I have use for my test have been on their website. Not happy, If you are in a hurry, do not enroll. You will be better just taking GED. Very Slow.

Babygirlalways (Graduate) on June 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
PennFoster High School I took this course and it was a mistake! They say they are accepted by ALL accredited colleges, when truthfully, it is hard to find one that does! I am currently having to take my GED so that I can attend college! If you are a parent of a child who wants to attend college, I suggest you go through the school's homeschool system in your area. Going through your nearest highschool is MUCH easier and less expensive! I graduated last year and we are STILL paying off my tuition, and of course, you don't recieve your diploma until you pay it off. The only good part I found about this institution was the help. When you call with questions or concerns about homework, it usually doesn't long for them to help you. The tests are SUPER easy. However, they suggest that students use their study guides, which gives the answers! That is not learning! My parents were smart enough to take all my books away while I took my tests. When we called to complain about their false advertising, they told me there was nothing they could do! Their operators for complaints are very rude and unkind.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 27, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Generic Education We are a military family and I thought this was a great idea for my daughter since we were moving around a lot. I had a few family members who raved about Penn Foster and how great it was and how simple.. Yes.. How "simple" it was. I should have listened to those words more carefully. I have noticed that everyone on here who likes it all say how fast and EASY it is. This school may be good for the college courses but I can tell you from a parents stand point.. DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD HERE! This is a generic education and so not worth the 3000 dollars we spent on it! I am sorry that we let our little girl down like that.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 2, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pennfoster High School Diploma My sister and I are about to complete all high school courses. The program has improved greatly. You must study and learn before you can pass any of the lessons. It's very simple, you fail the lessons if you don't study, period. We love the flexibility of having our own schedule during the week. We work at our own pace. The learning material and text books are great, I miss nothing from going to a regular public high school.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 1, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
High school dipolma So slow to sent out materials, and why do I have to wait to finish my exam to sent out my book. I would like to finish this program asap but now I have to wait for those book to ship, I dont have to to sit on the computer all day to read online materials they have out there. will be better if they sent materials a heads so I can continue and go on what ever where ever and when ever I want.

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Curriculum outdated and too easy I just finished Penn Foster, it's unbelievably easy, and not in a good way. I was in regular, public high school for my freshman and sophomore years, and LITERALLY every single class in PF was a repeat of things I had previously learned. I did not learn one new thing. Luckily, this made it easy for me to graduate in 9 months. (could've done it in 4, but I worked and babysat.) I didn't study with the physical books once, just with the online PDF study guides, which are searchable and make it easy to cheat. Also, they've used the same tests for years and the questions//answers are just one internet search away. So if you're a parent and are thinking of putting your child in this program, don't do it. They'll end up behind. Try as hard as you can to find a home school program that's through a public school in your county. They exist, don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 18, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Mixed Feeling Ive been enrolled into this course for about 9 months a few weeks ago i got a letter saying i had to pay an extra 75.00 for a course extension. I thought this cant be because for one i havent even been in this course for a year and for 2 i read that i had 3 yrs to finish it. i contacted student services and they said they couldnt help me. but other than that i like the course and its fairly easy. i dont like that they dont send materials in a timely manor but i signed a wavier to have all my books sent to me so i can just keep working on it so i can get my diploma before i have my baby in feb. i also read that they flag students for completeing exams before their books have been shipped. i recently experienced this because they are so slow on sending them out that i just went ahead and did my exams with out reading the online things. now i cant even read them i had to wait for my books to arrive before i can continue. Choose wisely before signing up for penn foster. nothing but problems so far.

Melanie (In Progress) on September 26, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This school is too easy This school is too easy and my parents are thinking of changing me im still in high school.

Nunqueen2010 (In Progress) on September 11, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Adequate Correspondece program I found the High-School program to be helpful, and it improved my academic skills. However, I prefer, the former automated touch-tone system for grading examinations, and not the new online approach. They have really raised the roof...on the cost of this program. It was only $398.00, about 10-years ago. Can you say---price cut!

Alaskanwolf001 (Graduate) on August 4, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
My son completed with credits transferred My middle son attended PFHS, their credits transferred to California, where my son finished. Downward side we experienced was that the customer service was limited, at times we did not get an answer (follow thru) to a question, or something would not be processed (if sent directly to the school), but the regular every-day stuff, courses, testing... all good.

Rsjp100 (Graduate) on June 18, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Course Experince I completed the High School Course when Penn Foster was ICS and everything was OK. However, most employers in my area seem to think that my diploma is not good despite the fact that I am now better than those who graduated at our local schools. I also completed the Electronics Technician course when it was Education Direct so I am now capable of understanding and testing all electronic components in the field. Of course, in this field, I need to be constantly updating myself as technology advances/changes. This course gave me the foundation I needed as the starting point. Everything else depends on dedication.

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 4, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR STUDENT BOOKS First off, In the information packet,Welcoming packet and student handbook, as well as online when you chose which payment method you want to use.. THEY TELL YOU , YOU MUST PAY TUITION IN FULL BEFORE YOU WILL RECEIVE YOUR DIPLOMA!!! Some of you should learn to pay attention to your materials. Would you sign a contract without reading EVERYTHING and doing research? Doubtful! I am currently a HighSchool Student with Early College Courses and i love the program. Also, when you recieve your papers and student handbook there is a paper that states a PROJECTED GOAL DATE for an exam completion, Abide by this paper and you will receive no extra fee's as far as extended study fee's! I have one person who befriended me from Penn Foster who says they can't pass their exams ..they keep getting a 35 on exams lol.. That means : THIS PROGRAM IS NOT FOR YOU!! If you weren't good in school with teachers or have issues learning alone, this is NOT FOR YOU!!! If you really want to learn , be proud of yourself, and work well on your own GO FOR Penn Foster! READ ALL INFORMATION PACKETS AND RESEARCH BEFORE YOU SIGN UP FOR ANYSCHOOL.. It's common sense ;) (** PROUD PENN FOSTER STUDENT!! **)

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 28, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DO IT I'm A pF High School grad and I have to tell everyone about how PF changed my life and allowed me the opportunity to obtain my degree. Without PF I would still be a high school dropout but b./c of their HS program I was accepted to PenN State University, I owe everything to PF Educaiton is what you make of it! Online classes are not for everyone, everyone learns differently, some need more assistance than other and some are just plain lazy. TO all the PF haters: PF offers a solution, they provide the academic means to reach your goals but what matters most is what you do with it. Your in charge, dont blame someonelse for your short-comings Just b/c you go to school does not mean your going to be successful, look at how many people drop out of college or flunk out

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very good school! This information is accurate, up-to-date, and helpful regarding Penn Fosters High School program. I am currently a student at Penn Foster and I believe it is a great school! Many of the reviews on this site are misleading and show the school lacks in many areas. I know several people that have graduated from this school through the HS program and through college courses, and are doing well and had no problems. The school ships materials for one subject about halfway through another. With this design, you always have 2 subjects on hand to work with. The staff has always been helpful with me, never disregarding any questions. I definitely give this school an A+ and would highly recommend it for those seeking to better their education and career.

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Penn Foster