Penn Foster : Pharmacy Technician Reviews

Penn Foster logo

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 16, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Can't find a job This school has NOT done anything to help me get an internship or a job. I COULD NOT even get a volunteering position at the hospital with their useless career diploma. Their booklets weren't even that helpful in preparing for the PTCB exam. I ended up buying other study guides off of amazon, passed the exam, and became certified. None of the pharmacies wanted to hire me because I attended an online program, with NO hands on training in a pharmacy! Hiring managers told me they considered my pharmacy technician education to be INCOMPLETE because my school provided no hands on training! I hope I get lucky and find a job soon. My advice: talk to a pharmacy technician recruiting agency FIRST before you choose a school! Get in contact with a recruiter, they know what employers want and will be able to advise you. Do your research!

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 9, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not a bad school Hmmm I'm a little confused to on the negative reviews. I do agree shipments of the books is kind of slow but I guess it doesn't bother me as much because I do work full time. I haven't had to contact the school at all so not sure about customer service and I undeestand not shipping the diploma until its paid . I don't think it's a scam at all it's on you to read the books and complete the courses

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 30, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
good programs Back in 1993 took the automotive tech diploma course and ended up having a nearly 20 year career because of the training I received at Penn foster. I was injured on the job and can no longer work in the field and so I returned to once again get career training at this school.

Mhazel25 (Graduate) on January 27, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
AVOID PENN FOSTER Just wanted to WARN anybody even thinking about utilizing this "school"... Ensure that you DO NOT take ANYTHING that you are being told on the phone as the truth...Do your own research in this so-called "school".. Take note of how many complaints there are with the better business bureau -- AND THERE ARE ALOT !!!!! ... Research your state -- these clowns arent even recognized in ALOT of states ( even though they will tell you they are )--- What you are not told or lied to about might result in alot of wasted time and your money !!! BEWARE OF AND STEER AWAY FROM THIS "SCHOOL" --- There are alot of different legitimate schools that will serve you much better -- research the others and choose any school except these CROOKS !!!!!!

AbbieLBrown (In Progress) on August 18, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Double Check MAKE SURE you check to see if Penn Foster is certified in your state! I almost signed up for it but found out that the certifications wouldn't mean a thing for me. Check with the board of Pharmacy for your home state before registering.

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NOTHING IN LIFE IS FREE AND EASY One thing I will tell you is you have to read your materials. One more thing, I found out early on was the the self check at the end of the each chapter will not help you on the exam. Be diciplined stay off of facebook ect..READ YOUR BOOKS ! I just pass my state certification and I'm proud to say I'm a "CphT". The only people complaining are the ones that don't want to do the work. If you need someone to hold your hand go to the community college.

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good Program You don't have to be a genius to research what you want to do. Take some time and read through the program requirements and where your degree will be accepted BEFORE you enroll! I had a great experience here! My materials always shipped on time. They were full of useful information and I learned a lot. I got my certification just fine. If you are not a good independent learner or you don't RESEARCH YOUR PROGRAM then it's not for you. But I did research; I know what states my certification works in and I got more than I expected. Overall a great experience.

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 13, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent school I'm a little puzzled as to how many people are saying this is a bad school because of this and that. Did you not read everything before signing up? Such complaints as I didn't know you had to be done by this date (they tell you this when you're signing up and it's on your course material every time you log in), it's not accredited US wide (it clearly states where it is accredited and you would need to research this regardless of the school you attend), you complain that your state won't take their program-this too is YOUR job to research. I guess we really do live in a society where you have to blame your ignorance on someone else. I have had no problems, why because I actually read before I signed. I kept the teacher and support ratings at 5 because I have not had to utilize them. This is a good school but you actually have to read the print that they clearly lay out for you to make a decision. The books are good and easily understood, the exams are easy to take once you read the books, and the workbooks are excellent too.

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 31, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Worked for Me! I give the school so-so scores because I didn't have too many things come up where I had to contact an administrator or staff member except for once about three years after I had graduated, so I can't honestly give them a good or bad in that category. I needed a copy of my transcript for a military packet. I called the school and they sent me my transcript free of charge and in the mail the next day. I have done the Travel Agent, Gourmet Cooking and Catering, and Pharmacy Assistant programs from the school and although I do agree with the other reviews that things can be a bit outdated, I found the materials to be informative. I got hired as a Travel Agency Manager a few months after graduating from the program and not only did the program help me land the job, the courses I took really paid off on the job. Hey, it's an affordable program for us everyday people, and I will use them again!

Kakarns (In Progress) on December 4, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Read this first!! So reading thru the other comments here makes me think of one thing... you know how most people ONLY post comments if they had a bad experience? Schools must be the same way. Most of the reviews here seem like they were student error, not school error. Or the people who had the issue must not have looked into the policies before signing up. This is a great school, but it isn't something you can just breeze through and get a diploma. To be honest, you really do have to want to learn or this is a waste for you. Also, make sure you look into the fine print and policies before you do ANYTHING in life, school is no exception. I had a great background in medicine from my father, who was a US Navy corpsman before taking this course and I was surprised at how much I learned! It's great for someone who works full time but is interested in moving into another career or advancing what they already know! I'm very aware that I may not find a job easily afterward, this isn't a golden ticket for a job (but I have friends with master's degrees with the same issue in this economy). Just make sure you're ready to learn and I wish you the best of luck with your new career choice! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Penn Foster