Veterinary Technician

Level: Associate
Language: English

(42 reviews)


Vet tech degree program

Get More Information About the Veterinary Technician Program

Recent Reviews

Beware of accreditation claims made by this school
November 12, 2015
Beware of claims of accreditation. You will not be able to transfer credits to a real regionally accredited college (perhaps Excelsior in Albany). I called admissions as my daughter is interested in the vet tech program. Having a graduate degree in education and being familiar with accreditation standards and processes I am disappointed in the slick sales and poor standards this school represents. It does not take much to be honest to potential students. DEAC ...

October 2, 2015
Don't waste your time. I'm at the end of semester 3 and I'm going to finish. But choice some place else, I wouldn't recommend this program. The instructors are horrible, the courses are ok.

Incredibly Bad Program
August 29, 2015
While the cost of this program is good, the quality of education and instructors is extremely poor. There are many technical errors in their curriculum. Many of the instructors are new to the field. The program director is basically a poster boy and has no real power in the program to help the students and defers to other faculty to make decisions. The skills that are required to be performed in the two practicums are ...

Not a negative thing to say!! PF Proud!
June 2, 2015
I absolutely love Penn Foster College. It's impossible to come up with even one negative comment. They do offer online programs, so if you aren't a self-starter, or able to motivate yourself to keep going, it's probably not for you. I have taken many online courses through community colleges, and have had some bad luck. I was hesitant to pursue another online degree, but really wanted to take an accredited Veterinary Technology program in order ...

May 29, 2015
I LOVE PENN FOSTER!! I have been enrolled since 2012. This school is amazing! I am currently enrolled in the Veterinary Technician program to earn my Associates of Applied Science in Veterinary Technology. This Program is nationally accredited by the AVMA and we have an amazing pass rate for the VTNE (veterinary technician national exam) When I decided to enroll with Penn Foster I was living in Oklahoma and the closet brick and motor school ...

A Great online school
May 27, 2015
I love Penn Foster School and would recommend it to anyone! This is my third program with Penn Foster, and I am in the Vet Tech Program now. The school is fully accredit, the program is wonderful, the Instructors are very helpful and the classes are fun and challenging. If you are looking for a program that is self-paced and payment plan friendly, then check out Penn Foster! Please note that if you are NOT ...

Here's a positive review...
May 21, 2015
Penn Foster is not for everyone, but's the school for me. I'm enrolled in the Vet Tech program and love it! It's an online school, an online program, but it's not easy; it's still college. My top advice I can give to any perspective students is to do your research BEFORE enrolling. Doesn't matter what program it is, always make sure you know Penn Foster's policies, program-related requirements, your state requirements, and any further ...

Read all 42 Veterinary Technician reviews

You can help by Writing a review

Get More Information

Looking for more information about the Veterinary Technician program? Simply complete this information request form and their admissions office will contact you to answer any questions you may have.

Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

April 30, 2012, 3:55 a.m.
0 votes/
I am a 3rd semester student in the VT program...only because my credits don't transfer anywhere else (that I would want to go).  I certainly would not take the VT course with this school if I had to do it over.  
It is true that Dr Sirois WAS very rude to many of the students.  I still have her emails to prove it. My husband sat and listened in on her comments to students during a webinar once and couldn't believe how unprofessional she acted. She is, however, no longer at Penn Foster, having suddenly resigned with no explanations given to the students.
I am worried what will happen with the program's accreditation at this point.  Those of you who are posting "rose colored glasses" remarks and are still in your first semester...beware.  You haven't attempted your proctored exams yet!  You better know every word and concept in your books before you take that test...because it is closed book, short answer/short essay only and you will have ten minutes to respond to each question (unless you're cheating).  AND...the grading is so subjective all you can do is pray that you pass.  I hold two Associates and one Bachelors degree and WAS a 3.8 GPA student when I entered Penn Foster.  Disagree with a question marked wrong on any test?  Good luck getting a response from anyone in the education department.
The online forum and the webinars are archaic in view of other online course presentations I've used, and the webinar conductor "Citrix" is a pain in the rear to work with when their system fails.  But it is a pretty easy task to log on once a week for a couple minutes and log back out of the forum and sit through 2 hours of webinars per month to get that infamous "P" grade that everyone thinks is so hard and elusive to get.
The two biggest pitfalls for students in the VT program are (1)finding a veterinary clinic that will allow you to do your "hands on" part of the program (Practicum 1 & 2) and (2)finding a clinic that still does film xrays, not digital.  These are both required to complete the VT program because they are required by the AVMA...and Penn Foster will give you absolutely NO HELP with this. If you are already in the program, start looking now for clinics to work in.
As far as getting your materials in a timely fashion, call the school and pay the extra money for expedited shipping...otherwise, prepare to spend a lot of time waiting for your books.  I am currently 16 weeks behind the goal I set for myself to complete this program through no fault of my own, it is all from waiting for books (often have to have them re-sent when they don't arrive after 15 days), proctor approval (waited 6 weeks).
April 30, 2012, 3:32 a.m.
0 votes/
Did you get that information from Dr Sirois, or did you actually find those statistics elsewhere?  
March 14, 2012, 8:51 p.m.
0 votes/
I love this school! I'm am army wife and mom to a three year old. This school is completely different than what I would expect.

I was a little scared of some of the reviews I've seen, but I'm SUPER glad I did not follow them!

This school is the BEST thing has happened to me! Without them I would not be on my way to my dream job!
Feb. 23, 2012, 10:19 a.m.
0 votes/
I for one love this school. I have taken AP with different instructors and they confused me and told me they did not have the time. At Penn Foster the instructors are excellent, zealously professors! If I could go to Vet school here I would be! The webinars are very helpful and I never get bored in any of them. Everytime I go to them I learn 5 or more new things! As for Dr. Margi, she is great when you have a question for her and her outline for starting out is terrific! Absolutely love them all!
Feb. 17, 2012, 5:38 p.m.
+1 vote/
Dr Margi is very passionate about educating her students. Students are required and expected to read their materials to find answers to their questions pertaining to rules.  Dr Margi teaches 3rd and 4th semester students so first year students do not really get to know her. Bad things are said when students are unable to research information on their own, All the information is posted on the boards, it is their for all to read!!  The instructors for individual classes are very helpful.  I am not certain why anyone would say grading is unrealistic unless they were failing! The exam questions are stated in a fashion that ensures the entire material, study guide and text book has been reviewed, if not you will not pass.  If you fail you get a second try, how unrealistic is that? not at all.  The proctor exams are tough! And again they ensure the material was learned, final exams are essay answers! How many other programs make their students right out their answers?! Most are multiple choice these days, you want to pass Penn Foster you better take the plastic wrapping off your book!
Feb. 17, 2012, 5:28 p.m.
+1 vote/
This program follows AVMA guidelines, just like every other technician program.  A poster stated clinic hours and requirements are behind as far as technology is concerned???   This program has two clinical internships that total approximately 28 weeks and over 450 hours, that is a boat load of hands on time in a working vet clinic! Brick and mortar students might get 6 weeks!  As far as technology?, you are refering to the film radiographs?  well that has nothing to do with Penn Foster!! The AVMA states students of all programs must learn using regular film for Radiology. When AVMA decides to update their recommendations then changes may occur within individual schools.  Students like to blame the school but it is blame directed incorrectly.
Feb. 17, 2012, 5:15 p.m.
+1 vote/
Actually the school has had 52 graduates and has a National Exam pass rate of 100%. The number of graduates and that pass rate is excellent when compared to other online schools and National overall exam scores only average around 68%!  This program is doing what it needs, most of the intensive learning is in 3rd and 4th semesters, just like other programs, unlike other programs the combined clinicals working in actual veterinary clinics total a minimum of 450 hours, that is alot of hands on time.  The live classes do vary by instructor how entertaining or boring they are, but you will find that in every college!  You can learn from them regardless.  The director simply directs students to read their material the answers are there!!  
Feb. 17, 2012, 5:08 p.m.
+1 vote/
Nearly all online schools average 4 years to complete an associate degree, Penn Foster is no different. Deferring student loans? They offer a payment plan, staring at 30 for the first semester, each semester adds to the monthly program.  What is easier? And then your not stuck with thousands in loans when you graduate.
Feb. 17, 2012, 5:04 p.m.
+1 vote/
That is a funny comment because this program is designed for just that! working on your degree on your own time!!  It is not for everyone, that does not make it a crappy program, which it absolutely is not!  100% of graduates pass the National Technician Exam, not many schools can say that, the national average is under 70% pass rate.
Dec. 22, 2011, 2:39 a.m.
-1 vote/
I have had the most HORRIBLE experience with this school. Dr. Margi is rude, incompetent, and lazy. Their grading is unrealistic. Everything about this program is terrible. If you are looking for an distance education program, do NOT use this one.
Aug. 16, 2011, 1:53 a.m.
0 votes/
Let me say that I have never specifically had to deal with the director....the only question I ever had was when I was behind on my forum hours, and I just asked how many days/log ins I was behind and had it broken down very clearly for my by a student services agent (as in, you need 100 logs ins, so log in once a day for 100 days and you will be set sort of thing).

While I don't think that this is the absolute BEST choice for an education, for the money it is okay. You HAVE to be a self starter and you HAVE to be independent in order for it to be beneficial for you. Otherwise, take a couple of classes at the local community college.

My only worry is, as someone else stated, the clinic hours and the requirements being severely behind as far as technology is concerned. I am hoping that either SPC or the other local community college will be able to give me information on whether or not any hospital in the area still does film radiographs.
July 25, 2011, 10:30 p.m.
-2 votes/
This is such a crappy program. I really cannot recommend that anyone use it - you're better off working on your certification at your own time...
June 29, 2011, 10:35 p.m.
-1 vote/
Penn Foster is an awful school! They treat their students with disrespect and are rude and unprofessional at every turn. They mislead the students to believe that it is "go at your own pace". They tell you that you can finish the program in 14 months but then once you have signed up and they delay your progress again and again, they say that it takes at least 3.5 years to finish the program! They will not defer your student loans even though the person I spoke to before I signed up said that they would. The head of the program Dr. Margi is rude and unprofessional. Stay away from this school they are horrible people!
June 8, 2011, 7:11 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am in my second semester of the Penn Foster Vet Tech Program. The only good thing about the program is that it is AVMA accredited and you can work at your own pace. However, expect to be completely on your own and to honestly not really learn anything. The live classes have no structure and they don't teach hardly anything. The instructors are boring and just read. Also, the director of the vet tech program, Dr. Margi absolutely hates all the students. She hates if you ask questions and is mean with every answer she gives you. She puts the students down as though we are all incompetent and she loves to bite your head off if God forbid you ask her any questions. She honestly ruins the program for me and most of the people I've talked to. I plan on finishing the program but I've heard under 10 people have graduated out of 5000 who enrolled so that definitely says something.....
Oct. 6, 2010, 4:51 p.m.
0 votes/
i would really appreciate anyone that could give me the pros and cons of taking online courses such as this one. i am looking into getting my vet tech degree but am not able to find a good accredited school located in northern ky. i was looking maybe into getting my degree online and was wondering if someone who has already taken this course and is with experience could give me some advice. this would be greatly appriciated. 
Sept. 3, 2010, 11:26 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm just starting my first semester but from what I have read/heard Sammi, is that hands on doesn't come until after the 2nd semester. From there you will have to volunteer/find a vet that will basically let you intern for them. Your options are pretty much every veterinarian/rescue/shelter thats in your area. Again I could be wrong since I'm so new and haven't had a chance to really dig, this is just what I'm getting from everything.
Aug. 14, 2010, 2:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I am now working at a vet clinic as an assistant and want to take that extra step. What does the program offer for the hands on training? They had told me on the phone that my boss can fill out paper work to see if he qualifies for on the job training. I he does not i need to know what my options are.
July 14, 2010, 11:49 p.m.
0 votes/
as of 7/13, here are what I was given for the costs per semester
1- 1430
2- 2005
3- 1645
4- 1825
March 22, 2010, 9:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Can anyone give me an estimated cost of the ENTIRE program? I'd like to hope that the cost doesn't go WAY up after the first semester? Thanks!
Sept. 20, 2009, 5:49 p.m.
0 votes/
Aug. 10, 2009, 7:30 p.m.
+1 vote/
You are confused about ratio's and fractions.  Penn Foster is teaching you correctly.  Ratios are usually comparing one item to another item as opposed to the whole.  For example if there are 2 oranges and 3 apples the ratio of oranges to apples is 2:3 or 2/3 HOWEVER the fraction to oranges to total fruit is 2/5.  I understand why you are getting confused but you are not understanding the concept correctly. is not affiliated with Penn Foster in any way.