Rasmussen College Comments

Rasmussen College Reviews

Nov. 27, 2010, 10:01 p.m.
+11 votes/
If you look at the Florida Board of Nursing, you will find that Rasmussen nursing programs are approved in the state.
Nov. 13, 2010, 4:03 p.m.
+6 votes/
its very odd that those who are still defending  Rasmussen college regardless to where the campus is locaed are still in a state of  denial or un aware  or  just  ignorant of just what  rasmussen really is and that is a  diploma mill issuing degrees that are  worthless and cheatng students with  hard selling them  to obtain studnt loans from the  government.. The  governmant needs to investigate rasmussen college for  fraud and mis representation and prosecute them if enough  evidence is found that shows them guilty as  charged  or if not  put on 10 years of probation with monthly auditing
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:45 a.m.
-2 votes/
Absolutely agreed!  Students being cheated like this is really sickening to read, and if we are a fair and just country then these institutions need to be thoroughly investigated -- and, yes, refunds delivered to students.  It's unethical, and no doubt there's something that makes this form of shady dealing illegal as well.  It does seem to be about pocketing money from government-backed programs, while doing as little work as possible to educate students.  And grade inflation.

There are plenty of issues, all of which must be justly handled.  Our country's students and workers deserve better.
April 27, 2011, 6:51 a.m.
+2 votes/
I agree with you. As I stated in my review, Regional accreditation means diddly squat nowadays. It seems like at one time regional accreditation served as a seal of approval that helped people make better informed decisions about colleges, but nowadays as long as schools have the thousands of dollars to pay for the accreditation and have the paperwork that will pass, almost any school can achieve regional accreditation. Rasmussen College is a joke.  
Nov. 13, 2010, 6:31 a.m.
+2 votes/
Well, I've been attending Rasmussen for some time now, so I believe I have can make an accurate statement.

I love the college. I love the staff, every instructor I've encountered has been nothing but helpful and delightful. My admissions counselor was Corey C. from Orland, FL. He helped me make my decision, which is his job, but he didn't force it on me. After Corey, I was introduced to Anthony, and he was my financial aid advisor. He was very helpful and understanding. He knew that I didn't know what most of the paperwork meant, so he explained it all to me and I didn't feel like I was a burden on them. Jeff Laing is my Academic Advisor, and he's a very awesome person to know. He helps me out with literally every need or question that could possibly arise. 

The classes are challenging, but not too challenging. I can see my grades at any point, which helps with my confidence. There are online communities just for the students, which makes it easier to interact and get to know your classmates, just like in a real college environment.

The college offers so many different tutoring opportunities. There's no reason for someone to do badly in a class, because of the myriad of resources for tutoring. There is also always someone you can talk to. Nearly 24 hours a day, there's some way for you to get in contact with someone.

Overall, I'd give this college a 4.8 out of five. It is on the expensive side, but I can't go to college in person. If you have the ability to go to a community college, then do it. But if you need the independence and portability of an online college, then I think that you'd enjoy Rasmussen. :) By the way, I'm persuing am associated in web design.

And, I am a real person. If you'd like to ask me questions about the college, you can email me - twinfinroxy06 at yahoo dot com. [I don't want spam being sent, so I typed it out.] <
April 28, 2011, 8:54 p.m.
+2 votes/
Okay if you like being 40,000 in debt with a bogus degree, yeah go for it! 
Nov. 13, 2010, 12:17 a.m.
-1 vote/
I  attended  Rassmussen college in Ocala  FL  and  I was given a  HARD SELL on the college by  3 college recruiters 2 at the  mall and one on campus, They get you all psyched up and  hyper  wanting  to sign up for classes and  they before you say let me think, they  shove all the paper work under your nose and  get you to sign before you change your mind.  the  really  dishonest thing about this is you have 48 hours after signing  to back out and owe nothing to them or student loans..My experience was I signed up for the criminal justice program and the very first 3 days  had computer problems and could NOT sign in, the other major problem is I live  30 miles  west of Ocala where their campus is and  cant always  drive. so on the 7 day, I was  sent a letter from  Rasmussen that I had been dropped  due to not attending class.  Thanks to them I now  have a   3 thousand dollar student loan to repay.  Pissed off with Rasmussen in FLA
Dec. 18, 2012, 6:03 a.m.
+5 votes/
Did you not email/call them..............
Nov. 7, 2010, 1:06 a.m.
+2 votes/
Attention: NIKKI AUSTIN..Please be very careful about signing up for nursing with Rasmussen.  I signed up for a Clinical Laboratory program about a year ago - college was accredited - but THE PROGRAM WAS NOT - an organization called NAACLS accredits college laboratory programs - Rasmussen, Ft Myers was never under consideration or even in the application process for consideration as far as laboratory programs go. Check everything out with the Florida State Board of Nursing and make sure that you can sit for your boards with a degree from Rasmussen. For nursing Edison does have a considerable wait, but better rounded education at a fraction of the price. (And you will sit for your boards with a degree from Edison.)
Sept. 20, 2012, 2:43 a.m.
+1 vote/
It does not have to have a regionally accredited nursing program in order to sit for your boards. However it is nationally. The school itself is Regionally accredited. i graduated from a school that was not regionally accredited only nationally. I've been a nurse 5 years since. Fortis College formally Gulf coast college.
Nov. 3, 2010, 2:36 a.m.
-1 vote/
i am debating between rasmussen and university of phoenix and have read icky reviews about both schools.. any ideas of better online schools?
Dec. 31, 2010, 4:18 p.m.
+4 votes/
I was a student at the UOP and I was 18 credits from my AS in CJ Do Not Go to UOP they have instructors just to make sure you do the work they do not help you. They charge a lot and even double when you re take a class. I still owe thousands they took student loan money and then charged me when I dropped out of the school do your re search DO NOT GO TO UOP I know a lot of people who have had a bad experience with them. 
Sept. 21, 2012, 8:12 p.m.
+2 votes/
They do NOT charge you double when you retake a course!  LOL!  Thats illegal. 
Oct. 20, 2010, 7:38 p.m.
+3 votes/
in response to Kia, Rasmussen College has been awarded a 10 year grant of Regional Accreditation.
Oct. 20, 2010, 7:22 p.m.
+3 votes/
I hate to see all of the negative comments.  I have graduated with my Bachelor's degree, and am proud to say that it has worked out.  I received my Bachelor's Degree in 3.5 years and am now working on my MBA.  I also got help finding a good paying job.  That was my goal at the end finding a good job to support my family.
Oct. 14, 2010, 12:15 p.m.
+3 votes/
Hello just jumping in on the conversation.

I was thinking about enrolling in Rasmussen but after doing research I decided not to.

If you want to check accredidation just google the chea database also no school can get pre accredited for ten years.

The tuition is very expensive and the financial aid rep told me that tution is usually raised every year.

I would suggest that any field you plan on working in you should call some of the employers in your prospective towns or cities to get a feel for what they expect education wise from there employees.

You can even ask them if they would except a degree from whatever college you decide to attend.

If it is a degree that requires state licensing such as medical or legal programs etc. call the licensing agency and ask the same questions you would ask the employer.

you may have to attend a community college that does a combination of campus and online classes.

Good Luck
April 28, 2011, 8:48 p.m.
+4 votes/
Wise, wise choice my friend.
Oct. 6, 2010, 7:03 p.m.
0 votes/
I went to the online campus for 2 quarters the classes were ok not great just ok. The staff with the exception of my admissions rep of rude as heck. They are overpriced but so is any other for profit school. Some of their policy's are just dumb. Who would limit the number of times a student can reenter. That means more money for them if you come back.
Oct. 31, 2010, 5:44 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am considering going to Rasmussan for the new nursing program that is opening up in FT Myers fl in Jan 2011. The reason I am planning on attending there is because its a fresh program  with no waiting list. Can anyone give me feedback on the nusing program in other places that the program is already being taught in to give me an idea of the quality of the program. Thanks again...
Oct. 2, 2010, 3:53 a.m.
0 votes/
Thinking about going to Rasmussen St. Cloud Campus. They are the only campus around with the degree I have in mind (Criminal Justice ie. Specialization in Psychology). Is this place really as bad as everyone says it is!? Before I make a wrong (or right) decision....i need some feedback!! Thanks!!
Nov. 3, 2010, 3:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Is there anything we can do about going there, getting 10,000 in debt, transfering and only 1 or 2 credits transfer?
Sept. 25, 2010, 10:56 p.m.
+2 votes/
THANK YOU for all of your reviews! I was thinking about going here because it offered an online degree but from what the majority of you guys have to say, it's not worth it. I'd love to know where you guys DID end up going? (I'm in IL and looking for an online school for a Bachelors)
April 28, 2011, 8:57 p.m.
+1 vote/
I went to CVTC in Eau Claire for a degree in Paralegal instead! Wayyy more ideal. Public schools don't need to beg anyone to come there. I was on a waiting list but at least I knew it was affordable and legit. 
Sept. 23, 2010, 6:40 p.m.
+2 votes/
It just doesn't make sense to me to go to Rasmussen and pay over $450 per credit when you can go to a community college and pay $165 per credit. 
It seems like a good school and there are a lot of tutoring options available on the campus, but to me that is not worth over $20,000 in loans for a AAS degree.
Sept. 17, 2010, 12:29 a.m.
+2 votes/
I decided to look at other schools, NOT ONE WILL EXCEPT CREDITS FROM RASMUSSEN!!! That means $22,000 out the door with nothing to show for it. Not to mention you may want to be careful because there is a cap on the amount of loans you can get for a under-grad degree, thanks to one year at Rasmussen for an AAS, I am now in half that amount. I was told I have about half left before I reach the cap.
Jan. 27, 2013, 3:06 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am working on my HIT degree .I have made the dean list  7 times and the honors list this last semester MY GPA is 3.61 and so when I say this college is not preparing us in the HIT program  to take the state certification, tells you I am  not some disgruntled student who could not make a good grade and is blaming raz for their stupidly. This college is expensive they do not care AND I have several course editors tell me that we are not getting the education to go with the cost or the right education  to go  with the degree...in fact one course editor and that is what is teaching you BTW for the HIT degree. Anyway she told me that she was getting min wage for this .. This is so wrong any way you try and spin this. 
Jan. 26, 2013, 6:23 p.m.
-1 vote/
I was there 2010-2011 and did not finish,trying to get my HIT, I ended up dropping out and owe Rasmussen. I hate going over there, online classes are a joke, they make me,feel.retarded sometimes commentjng on those posts. Too many things they want you to do, I chose online,bcoz it was home base, it was too much w work n too many school work . I tried to go traditional classes they wont let me and change degree.I would like to get my transcript but they wont give it to me because I owe,them. Unless I pay them. Im back in college and pursuing my RN at other college which I really wanted. I was talked on getting HIT instead of my dream. I wan egg my transcript.. .
Jan. 19, 2013, 12:31 a.m.
+3 votes/
How is the fa depth? Do you get refunds? Do they have direct deposit
Jan. 15, 2013, 4 a.m.
+11 votes/
While Rasmussen didn't teach me much, they did want I wanted them to do.  I wanted to get my bachelors degree as quickly as possible.  They were very upfront about the costs, which are astronomical.  I got my B.S. in about 2.5 years.  I got a great job.  Any for-profit school will look a bit unsavory on a resume, but a B.S. is a B.S. So many of these comments seem to be from students who either were not given accurate information upon enrolling, or just didn't take time to understand what they were starting.  I now work in HR and can assure you that Rasmussen is accredited.  If they were not, you would not be able to get financial aid from the government.  I can't speak to nursing etc.....but my business degree has served me extremely well and the program was accredited.  If you want a high quality education, don't enroll at Rasmussen.  If you are willing to pay extra money and can stay on top of your work without a lot of guidance then Rasmussen may be for you. 
Jan. 15, 2013, 3:23 a.m.
-2 votes/
I graduated a year ago from Rasmussen in Minnesota with my B.S in business management.  My degree is not worthless and has opened a totally new career for me.  However, I HATED Rasmussen.  Don't go to a for-profit school.  You will regret it.
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:39 a.m.
+4 votes/
Addendum....have withdrawn from Rasmussen and will be attending CSU Global online for my Bachelors degree.  I have yet to receive a response from my student advisor regarding my withdrawal or complaint. Rasmussen is more interested in getting your tuition than ensuring you are getting a quality  education!!
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:19 p.m.
+2 votes/
You are so right! Your online instructors are all located in the Midwest, or are looking to make extra money.The school is loaded with bs. I would not recommend this college to anyone, including my worst enemy. 
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:31 a.m.
+2 votes/
Very disappointed with Rasmussen online.  Everything was going great until my third quarter when I got an instructor who did not grade assignments timely, did not respond to questions and was pretty much not available.  I ended up dropping the class and was told I would not be refunded, and would have to repeat the class with no guarantee that I would not get the same instructor.  I dropped the class even though I was getting a B in the class because I was not learning what I should to be successful in the class and in future classes, and have since withdrawn from the school.  I have filed a BBB complaint, we'll see if I get my money back for this class due to the poor instruction received.
Nov. 30, 2012, 5:31 p.m.
+3 votes/
Let me emphasize how much of a SCAM the online Rasmussen degrees are! I enrolled into the Web Programming degree last Feb and have struggled badly every semester since. I have always been a straight-A student and even made the honor roll every semester at Rasmussen, HOWEVER: they do not "teach" you anything! First of all, I noticed that the assignments did not match the readings whatsoever in any of my classes. I felt stupid and completely lost. I just barely got by. Only after my fourth quarter there did I have an instructor admit "They deliberately design the course to not match any specific book." Well no wonder I was lost! The instructors are glorified message board moderators. Most instructors, when asked for help on an assignment, will take 2-3 days to answer you back. And even when you break down asking for help, they tell you to "consult other resources and collaborate with other students in the class." WHAT?? They avoid all responsibility with helping the students out. After four semesters, I finally dropped out entirely, defeated and discouraged. I contacted the Dean and she was completely perplexed and surprised by my story. They are utterly clueless about their own program and their own inept instructors. Now I owe $13,000 and have no degree to back it up. Not that I would trust a degree from them anyway!
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:33 p.m.
+2 votes/
I agree!!!! I am currently searching to find who in the state or federal departments I can contact regarding their scam. 
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:22 p.m.
+2 votes/
Octavia run! run as far away from rasmussen as you can!!! Rasmussen is based only to let you leave with a large loan and no degree or diploma. 
Dec. 14, 2012, 2:30 a.m.
+2 votes/
There are a lot of wonderful instructors, who really care at Rasmussen--However, Rasmussen does not pay their instructors enough to afford giving students what they deserve. I teach online, and because the students are my priority, I give them the attention they need, which means I earn approximately $8/hour. Good for you for talking to the Dean, because enough students do not, and I can't even imagine not responding back to a student who is asking for help, and then helping them! The online course work I have taught is not not contrived to not match, but there are weeks when I do feel like a big grading cog, versus designing and fostering a learning environment I dream of for the students . . .I am so happy to hear a student voice their opinion on this. Not all courses are designed to mess with the students, and there are a lot of fabulous instructors--just keep in mind, they only earn a fraction of what one student in a course pays for it. Consider the incentive? Many people simply do not care anymore, nor do they have any integrity related to ethics. 
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:31 p.m.
+1 vote/
so what you are saying... is money helps teachers WANT to teach? I thought you got into the profession because you wanted to teach, not to make the big bucks. So you are saying since the instructors did not get paid enough, their desire or want to teach was not there? why take the job??? 
Dec. 19, 2012, 5:28 p.m.
0 votes/
what you don't seem to understand is: no matter with whom you speak with, your grades or loan situation will not change. I have also spoken with the dean, only to be told how sorry they are you had a bad experience. Will my school loan be deferred? or exempt? not! with the online method of teaching change? no! You may be one of the very few that really cares about the students. In the 16 months I attended, I had three instructors that were helpful. 
Nov. 26, 2012, 2:27 a.m.
0 votes/
i just started school at rasmussen on the 1st of october but i wanted to known if i can change my major well make it shorter from an associates degree to just a certificate
Nov. 15, 2012, 1:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Okay, if these colleges are frauds, why are they allowed to operate?  Why take student money? Why defraud the student?  Why put out cheap "A" grades?  Or teach outdated materials?

I am not saying Rasmussen is a fraud.  I am saying that if our country values education but if there's proof that people are being exploited, especially as "Diploma Mill" has been said, where are the people demanding justice?  And didn't people elect politicians that would straighten out this country?

Is there no justice for people anymore?  Just bailouts for slimy corporations that will screw everyone over, even for the most serious of venues?  Is this really our society?
Nov. 15, 2012, 1:59 a.m.
0 votes/
Well, "handouts" or "corporate welfare" - since colleges get all the money upfront, I doubt many are saying how their presence is going to shatter the economy if they fail...

But my other points remain.  Our system is broken and it's the working class taking the brunt, from both sides (bad schools, employers won't employ or train from within) - that's what it feels like right now.
Sept. 24, 2012, 5:52 p.m.
+1 vote/
I feel so cheated by Rasmussen College I attended the Mankato campus for Massage Therapy 
I didn't know that 99% of my instructors had no type if degree in
Teaching or any type of allied health degrees. Why do I have to pay $24,000.00 for a education that was taught by anyone off the street. I would never ever recommend
Rasmussen College to anyone
Aug. 10, 2012, 11:03 a.m.
+4 votes/
Rasmussen college is an unorganized, organization. They preach lies of schedules, class work, hands on training, and clinicals. They are filled with empty promisses and only care about scamming you out of all your loan money. As a student "Who Pays" to attend a college, "Who Hires" their staff and instructors to work FOR YOU, they believe opposite and preach how lucky you are for them picking you? NO WE PICK THE SCHOOL WE CHOOSE TO ATTEND, WE ARE CLIENTS/CUSTOMERS , WE ARE THEIR BOSSES THEY ARE NOT IN CONTROL OF US!!! THE STUDENTS ARE WHO PUTS FOOD ON THEIR CHILDRENS PLATES, WE ARE WHY THEY HAVE A CAREER, WHY THEY MAKE A CHECK, YET WE ARE MINIPULATED, VICTUMIZED, BULLIED, AND ROBBBED FOR OUR MONEY.. THIS SCHOOL SHOULD BE PROSECUTED AND THE FACULTY PUT IN PRISON
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:42 a.m.
+1 vote/
Students are told that by instructors as well.  We're paying the money so we should have expectations.  

But students are not being robbed... manipulated?  Absolutely.  Victimized?  From what  I've read from others, there's something that probably should be investigated... but "robbed" implies a threat of violence (e.g. "robbed at gunpoint").

Some say regulations hurt the economy, but if these schools can get away with sloppy teaching (or non-teaching, by the sounds of some complaints), then it's high time some regulations get put back in.  And students refunded, for obvious reasons.  Fleecing is unethical and illegal.  In a way, I can see where "robbing" is indirectly accurate - companies want people with higher degrees.  If you have no degree you'll never get a job, so it's hardly by choice that people are going back to colleges.  
July 13, 2012, 4:55 p.m.
+4 votes/
As with all colleges and universities, the success of the student depends on the student (their motivation, dedication, ability to learn, etc.).  I teach part time at Rasmussen College (online).  There are pros and cons to every online institution, but I'll be honest about this institution since it is not where I draw the majority of my paycheck from.  I also took one class there about 10 years ago when seeking my CNA. (I'm not at all in a medical profession now, but that's unrelated).

Rasmussen is a good school for most majors.  Nursing, in particular, has an outstanding reputation for students passing their boards on the first try and getting hired at any kind of medical facility.  However, the institution does charge quite a bit for tuition (almost more than I paid for my private liberal arts undergraduate education).  I think part of that stems from convenience, though.  They have a good mix of fully residential, residential and online, and fully online students, so the education opportunities fit just about any schedule.

Also, unlike many of the online colleges listed here, they have great support staff.  You can get hold of just about anyone during regular business hours and many people outside of business hours.  I've heard good and bad things about other teachers, but we are supposed to respond to students within 24 hours (and most of us do).  We are also kept to a weekly grading requirement (which most of us meet), so that students can successfully navigate through the 11-week quarters.

Right now the company is growing, and there are some growing pains.  If you are going for a school with flexibility--this is it.  If you are going for the best value dollar-wise--go to a state school.
March 7, 2012, 3:55 a.m.
+1 vote/
Rasmussen college is a scam.  There is no one to help you in the online classes.  All of the instructors have other jobs they care more about.  Went there for two years.  Just was horrible.
Jan. 25, 2012, 5:57 p.m.
0 votes/
Thank God I saw this before it was too late. I was just about to enroll in this so called school. I see no reason why a majority of the comments say the same thing other than  the truth being spoken. I'll just take this as a sign to stay away from the school. Thanks everyone for your input that helped me make the decision to go elsewhere. I'll email this page to them and see how they respond to it! XD
Jan. 13, 2012, 7:54 p.m.
+4 votes/
 I went to this "college" for 3 quarters. It was a complete joke. The online instructors do not care. They don't check your work and can barely answer questions about the topic. I had online courses and was HORRIFIED by the number of students in the class that could not spell. Some had no idea how to form a sentence. The admissions rep was VERY misleading. All of the classes that I took were not approved. Finally, I got smart and got out of there. None of my classes transferred to a community college. I took the same classes at a community college and learned SO MUCH MORE than what is being taught at Rasmussen. I went to a community college for FAR LESS money, took ABA approved classes, and have a college with a good reputation on my resume. I would never put the Rasmussen name on my resume. I think employers see that as a red flag. Save your money and get a good education. Do not enroll here. 
Aug. 31, 2012, 1:58 p.m.
+1 vote/
Not true - regionally accredited colleges always take other regionally accredited courses. Rasmussen has been around 112 years and is an excellent institution of higher learning.
Nov. 29, 2011, 12:15 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have taught 3 quarters at Rasmussen and my experience is such that I would never hire a Rasmussen grad based on their education! (work experience and references, maybe).  
The "Academic Dean" excused a student who could not compose a complete sentence or comprehend test questions by saying that he "does OK in my classes". Most online students don't read their textbooks and google the answers to quizzes and labs.  A majority are operating at a middle school level academically.  Many copy and paste text from the internet or purchase papers online.  Many speak English as a second language and are not adequately prepared for college work in English.
  There ARE some good students at Rasmussen, and there are some good faculty, but "for profit" is the driver and this is a business.  Community colleges are a much better avenue for someone looking to really learn something and do well in their chosen line of work.  Spend your money wisely and choose a public institution!
Dec. 27, 2011, 11:54 p.m.
+3 votes/
I am a student and have 1 semester left to graduate. Now I am extremely worried and upset that nobody will hire me based on the fact my school possibly has a bad name. I did a lot of research before enrolling and to my knowledge they were accredited the proper way. I do admit to seeing and being frustrated with classmates who cannot compose a sentence, when having to respond to discussion posts, but did not realize they were being passed on through just to obtain a graduate quota!!! I wish I knew which instructor you were, but realize you cannot disclose that information. I have also felt at times I knew more than some of my instructors, who also could not compose a sentence in proper sentence structure! It is too late to withdraw and I can only hope for the best! I was not even looking for Ras/bashing when I accidentally stumbled upon this site either. Oh well it is what it is, but I have had to work very hard day and night to complete my course work and have found a lot of it to be very challenging. Anyone who says it is easy must be a genius, because I was a straight A student in high school with little effort and to keep A's in college has taken a LOT! That is all I have to say and I hope that not all employers judge students as a whole who have graduated from Rasmussen, because I have worked extremely hard to graduate with honors!!
Oct. 13, 2011, 4:20 p.m.
+2 votes/
   This school is by the WORST! I should have saved my time and money and just went to a technical school or community/state college. Rasmussen college the employees they will tell you what you want to hear, sell you a good sales pitch. For example, "You complete the course we guarantee 100% job placement, u will have 9 different computer certifications" blah blah... 

this is not the case. I completed my courses.  Didn't make a dam difference. They make false promises.  Ryan Anderson, who works in the Fort Myers office should be a used car salesmen and shouldn't work there.  The front desk reminds me of being in high school were kids were allowed to help out and run the desk. 

Trying to get anyone to call you back is a nightmare unless of course you are trying to enroll then they will surely get a hold of you by calling your phone numerous times a day. 

Teachers not all of them but a couple I had like the "A+ PC hardware/software" teacher, comes in and acts like he doesn't even want to be there, doesn't want to be bothered by it, then try to get your "key" so you can go down to take the test to get certified they give you the run around. 

The classes I was taking was 410.00 a credit.  State college 90 bucks.  You do the math.  Know I am in debt by thousands & thousands of dollars with nothing to show for it.  Except that little degree hanging on my wall.  Which means nothing today!  Avoid this rip off school at all costs! Do you have any idea how many times I was told misleading information that cost me money out of my own pocket?

I don't ever remember reading about a college with so many BAD reviews  like this one.  Take it a sign from people who been there and done that. There are a lot of people out there that feel the same way I do. Just read the reviews they speak for themselves. The only reason I went to this school, because of the "100% job placement guarantee" and the "9 different computer certifications" I was promised, I thought I would be helping my family by providing for them by doing this. My wife wouldn't have to work, and I could pay for my daughters college, and we would be set for life... now  I am in debt by thousands of dollars $$$$$$$ as much as I am with no job in the "I.T Field" thanks Rasmussen College you have been a total waste of time and money and the emloyees half of these wankers shouldn't be working there. Yes I'm talking about half the people @ 9160 Forum Corporate Parkway in Fort Myers, Florida campus if you need me to name people just let me know. Again, do not waste your money by attending this school there are so many other options out there don't make the same mistake we did!
Sept. 30, 2011, 1:56 a.m.
+3 votes/
The Program managers are nothing more than glorified sales reps. It's truly a shame and I feel like such a fool for signing those damn enrollment forms because now they will probably try to charge me for classes that I never even knew I was in.  My "Program manager" seemed nice until I told her that I wanted to withdraw from the college since the payments were going to be too much for me. They insisted I take out all of these loans, get myself into debt and burden my mom who is trying to pay off my sisters loan as well. When I brought up the fact of me ending my contract with the school ...oh you would have thought hell had frozen over..."Why did you change your mind?" "I have to take out loans for my car too, and if I didn't I wouldn't have a car!" Are you kidding me! Telling me your personal business when I'm trying to explain why I don't want a frickin loan! My advice RUN FROM THIS PLACE AND NEVER LOOK BACK AT THESE MONEY HUNGRY SALES PUSHERS WHO HAVE TO MEET THEIR QUOTA!
Sept. 23, 2011, 3:46 p.m.
+3 votes/
Whether you are happy or not with the school, please fill out the Review form based on your experience.  There is only 1 review on the school
Aug. 24, 2011, 9:40 p.m.
0 votes/
If your looking at teaching for this college, reconsider.  They are crooked.  They will tell you that you are teaching a class only to tell you later that you are not teaching the class.  The pay isn't very good and they expect alot from you.  They have these corporate recruiters who  email and it is virtually impossible to get them to call you back or to reply to an email, the reason for this is the turn over for the recruiters is very high, which means they are being treated very well either. 
July 29, 2011, 10:33 a.m.
+3 votes/
As an online instructor for Rasmussen I can support the previous student's post. We are pressured to pass students that are not prepared for college. There are several good students that worked hard and deserved their grades but many did not do the work and were unable to complete basic assignments but were pushed through the courses- very unethical! This hurt not only these students but the hard working ones as well. 
July 25, 2011, 6:48 a.m.
+1 vote/
I had enrolled into an accounting program at Rasmussen in 2009 and during the first quarter I was introduced to their quality of education. Their general education courses are particularly horrible, such as their "Introduction to Astronomy" class which used at coffee table picture book with narration about how the planets looked. Their "College Algebra" class used what would be a Saxon Math Algebra 1/2 course, barely delving into systems of equations, ending with word problems dealing with nothing more difficult than filling in the quadratic equation and not even mentioning matrices and determinants. 

Their classes consist of having a weekly discussion post, a weekly response post, a weekly essay, and a final research paper, oh along with a quiz here and there occasionally. 

Their instructors often do not know how to spell and grade you according to what Microsoft Word tells them. They also do not bother to check references and the only thing about references that matter to them is whether or not it is in proper APA formatting.

For a four credit hour class it costs approximately $2,000 and you are required to take at least two classes per quarter if you are to receive financial harassment *ahem* aid. There are, of course, four quarters per year so you are required to be their cash cow funnel of about $16,000 per year - most of which you will probably owe in loans with exponential interest rates after the Rasmussen Experience is finally over.
Sept. 20, 2012, 12:41 a.m.
0 votes/
What did you end up getting as a final grade in that "College Algebra" class?
July 21, 2011, 11:16 p.m.
0 votes/
ATTENTION!!!PLEASE DO NOT ATTEND. This was the Worst decision of my life. I started class late because of my mom being in another state. I agreed to pay out of pocket when I finally started class a week and a half later. These people took out loans from an estimated work sheet.I did not know I had a loan until I checked my credit report. Instructors are lazy and does not give you what you pay for. Now after five years I am dealing with the same issue. I am being harassed from Sallie Mae and Rasmussen. Apparently I owe Sallie Mae a certain amount of money and also Rasmussen a separate amount of money.Just DON"T do it. I am wasting more time before now I have to seek a lawyer. Even more money. 
July 2, 2011, 4:53 p.m.
+1 vote/
I attended this so called college for two quarters I did very well,but it was only because I worked my butt off and am half way intellegent. Forget about getting a question answered
I was actually told by one instructor not to e-mail her with questions and she refused to give me phone time,when I complained to my advisor I was told the instructor was trying to build my confidence.What a crock If you are paying tuition you should have your questions answered. I am going to community college in the fall it is cheaper and there is an actual person to help you. I wonder if there are actually instructors at Rasmussen because if you look at your progress report there is no instructors name on file
June 30, 2011, 12:15 p.m.
+1 vote/
Do NOT waster ur time or ur $$ with this soo called 'college'...OMG, they suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
June 13, 2011, 12:13 a.m.
+2 votes/
For one, why would you choose a college that you claim has accelerated programs if you really want to get the most out of your learning experience?  It is up to each person how fast they want to graduate by how many courses you take per quarter. Second, Yes, the credits do transfer; you obviously havent completed enough college to figure out that you have to fill out transcript papers at any college to graduate.  and third, Rasmussen is a highly accredited college, on and offline.  
April 28, 2011, 9:08 p.m.
-2 votes/
Appreciate all Tech and Community Colleges for their affordability and TRANSFERABLE CREDITS. They offer online programs as well as on-site. The schools staff is straight from hell or reminds me of a cult. Public schools don't need to beg people to come to them, the have waiting lists for a reason. In this economy it's well worth going to a public school.
DO NOT give this school one ounce of interest. They will hound you until you spend loads of money.
April 28, 2011, 8:51 p.m.
0 votes/
Honestly if I can save people from going to this College I'd be very happy. Rasmussen is crooked. This school tries to plant the notion in your head that you will be done with a 4 year degree fast because of their accelerated programs. Don't listen to this load crap. Their credits don't transfer, and the degrees are not respectable. You'll save a lot of time and money by doing it the legit way!  Trust me!
April 28, 2011, 8:32 p.m.
+1 vote/
DO NOT ATTEND THIS COLLEGE! I TOOK TWO CLASSES AND  I'M IN DEBT 2700.00! I told them this is the worst decision i've ever made, WAY TOO EXPENSIVE! And all they said "We're sorry you feel this way."
They stalk you, blow up your phone and e-mails. They put me in classes before I was even ready. Literally. I didn't even have my loans set up and they said we will get it done. Well I decided to just go to a Tech because that school is ridiculous! I realized I could get a lot farther in life going to a public college as opposed to this joke of a school. Needless to say they sent my unpaid tuition to Collections. Now i'm dealing with that!! Seriously, don't go here, save your money no matter how much these fools try and tell you otherwise.
April 27, 2011, 6:46 a.m.
+1 vote/
I attended one year at Rasmussen in Wisconsin and I would not recommend it to anyone! In the beginning, they were calling me like a telemarketer would, about 3 times a day leaving me messages and sending me emails.
I decided to enroll because we don't have many colleges in my town anyway. I made a huge mistake because it was very expensive! My financial aid person told me that it was because they had online courses and needed the technology to support it. But, I just found out that both of the state schools near my area also offered online courses but still charges HALF of what Rasmussen charges! 
This school is a scam! Only one class transferred to the Tech college where I am right now. 
What disappointments me the most is that when I did research, I saw that it was regionally accredited. That doesn't mean much nowadays anymore I guess!
March 26, 2011, 4:03 p.m.
-1 vote/
I currently attend the Rasmussen Rockford,IL campus Criminal Justice AAS Crime scene evident. I will graduate in Sept 2011 with no job in my field of study.There is no hands on training for CJ classes you hear old war stories from the instructor that is a retired cop but will not help you to become one. The career placement offers me jobs per Jamie Hintz outside of my field such as security guard, loss prevention, Arby's fastfood chain. These jobs starting pay are 10.00hr except Arby's 8.50Hr. Other university's that I have been talking to will not accept Rasmussen credits. Yes Rasmussen will tell you the credits transfer but the other schools do not have to accept them. NIU, Northwestern, and South University will not accept Rasmussen credits for transfer. NOTE If you enroll in criminal Justice courses and over the age of 35 you have no chance of a career. Rasmussen will offer a 10.00hr job answering phones. Rasmussen Rockford considers a successful job to be a low paying if one is available. STAY AWAY FROM RASMUSSEN!!!!
March 21, 2011, 11:51 p.m.
-2 votes/
wow i can't believe what i'm reading! i was looking into this college for their nursing program. i've already been lied to as well! they said they look at the total student and it's NOT based on test scores! then they go there and tell me that i have to be in a certain percentage. "/ ugh stupid college, i guess it really is a joke. glad i got out of there before i got cheated.
March 7, 2011, 9:51 p.m.
0 votes/
Rasmussen is a scam they claim to be an accredit college but your credits dont transfer because their classes are designed for Rasmussen. The classes they give you have nothing to do with your field of study. The online instructors don't know anything. Rasmussen is just a big freaking rip off I would advise anyone not to attend enroll or even consider this college for any event the best thing this school has going for them is the computer lab.
March 5, 2011, 7:29 p.m.
0 votes/
This was the worst college I have ever attended.  Their customer service skill is horrible!  I transfer to a University.  I learned more in one quarter than I learn in a year at Rasmussen college.
March 3, 2011, 9:03 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have been attending Rasmussen College in Ocala Fl for 3 semesters now (03/03/2011). Since I have started I have had no help from any of my instructors, new courses were added to the degree I am going to school for which is Networking and they won't let me take them, they tell me that I can take the new classes after I graduate and earn a second AAS degree in Networking and I would also have to retake some classes because certain classes have now been updated. I was pissed... I am pissed. In three semesters I have managed to get myself in debt above and beyond $24,000 dollars. They charge double for the classes and books. It's crazy and if I drop out now I have to start paying my loans back in 6 weeks. I unemployed so i feel I have no choice but to stay in Rasmussen or I'm screwed."STAY AWAY FROM RASMUSSEN!!!!" 
Sept. 20, 2012, 12:18 a.m.
+1 vote/
If you would have read your student loan agreement like they made you do, you would know it's 6 months, not 6 weeks, and not only can you ask for an extension for re-payment, but if you're unemployed, you'll need student loans in another college too , right? So why are you stuck? Sounds like laziness to me. Everybody keeps saying how much they hate Rasmussen, but the reality is, no one would have done anything to better themselves, if Rasmussen wouldnt had done it for them first.
Aug. 31, 2011, 6:11 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am not sure where you got 6 weeks from. You have 6 months to start paying back loans whether you drop or graduste.
April 28, 2011, 8:38 p.m.
+1 vote/
AGREE!!! They seriously need to change their ethics and stop harassing people to "join their team"
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:27 a.m.
0 votes/
They do offer Ethics classes as requisite classes for some of their programs.  It's ironic they teach what they don't practice, but you will find that amongst MANY colleges - either public or for-profit.
March 3, 2011, 12:13 a.m.
0 votes/
I have been going to Rasmussen in Rockford Illinois for about a year now.  I transferred from another community college to go to Rasmussen.  BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE.   I am really upset with myself that I am a student there.  I haven't been in an online class or campus class that I felt I have been challenged in the class.  I have not even open my books for 4 quarters and I have made the Dean's list all 4 quarters.  The students there are IGNORANT IGNORANT people.  They have no idea how to read or write a basic sentence.  I haven't learned a thing there and basically have wasted my time for the last year.  REALLY UPSET AND BROKE NOW!!!
April 25, 2012, 9:57 a.m.
0 votes/
I completely agree. I could not believe the posts of my fellow peers when enrolled in the online classes. Spelling, grammar and sentence structure was at an elementary level. While enrolled a representative from the accreditation review board came to our " clinical' class, I told him what a joke and how easy the classes were. He had excuses and reasons to support the bs curriculum. Like the posts before this stated, no local college or university will accept the credits from Rasmussen. When I originally took A&P at RVC, I studied my rear off getting a C. Rasmussen's A&P class was a joke. I received an A+ in both 1and 2. They covered the basics and the labs and tests were a joke. I could go on and on with the scam of an education they are selling.  I wish there was a way to class action this school. It's not fair to owe money for a promised education that was never delivered. This school should be held accountable not only to the students it rips off but the government who provides financial aide to the students.   
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:29 a.m.
0 votes/
By the sounds of things, and stories told by students, there needs to be a full investigation - and money refunded to students if wrongdoing is found.  College is supposed to prepare people for jobs that demand degrees.  It's not supposed to be a money pit for students to be preyed upon.
April 28, 2011, 8:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Yes I know. They let ANYBODY in! Above all it should have been a red flag when they charged a 60.00 admission fee..
Feb. 15, 2011, 10:05 p.m.
+1 vote/
There is a Rasmussen commercial shown in WI, where a young lady states that when she would run into an obstacle, she would give up, but at Rasmussen....  Frankly, if I were an employer and this person came to me for a job, diploma or not, I wouldn't hire her.  Life is full of obstacles and giving up because of them is not an option.  This commercial makes her sound like a loser or a spoiled child.  It should either be reworded or deleted.





Feb. 9, 2011, 3:47 a.m.
0 votes/
Never ever ever ever enroll in this school.  I graduated from there with an AAS degree in digital design and animation.  The teacher for my animation classes painted homes for a living and taught me absolutely nothing.  I wouldn't be surprised if I was smarter before attending this school.  The only thing I did get from them was 30000+ dollars in debt.  Now, I'm going to have to teach myself everything.  I wish that's what I would have done in the first place.
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:31 a.m.
0 votes/
Colleges should be doing pre-entrance tests.  Not everybody has the right-brain mechanics to do animation, much less at a professional level.  It's as much an ethical issue as anything else, especially when TV shows from the 1990s had the kids telling their parents how much they studied to even pass an entrance exam!  What happened to such exams to help determine a more lucrative path for students?
Jan. 28, 2011, 10:02 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have been attending this college for one year, The computer courses have been outdated since I started, Two quarters ago we were learning windows vista, thats right windows vista, this quarter I am taking a Linux class on guess what, Fedora core 2, only 12 versions behind. Fedora core 2 has not been supported since 2004, this makes this course only 7 years outdated. I feel cheated out of my degree, you will have plenty of general education classes on campus, but when it comes to your major classes 90% of them will be online, your instructors wont answer you if you have a question, and the software is so outdated that the original programmers who made it don't even support it. How can this be an accredited college, when everything is so outdated. 
Jan. 21, 2011, 5:56 p.m.
+3 votes/
I've been attending for almost 2yeras now online Rasmussen College sucks. 
I can't tell you how many times my grades have suffered because teachers wait until the LAST day to grade things. Even in my writing class I'd get a grade...and NO FEED BACK! How am I suppose to improve writing if I have no feed back?
I've also had emails ignored, questions ignored, even had a teacher go as far as ignoring my calls. I've been told "I work a 40hour week job to so I grade when I can" Rasmussen college should NOT allow their staff to work 2 jobs at once, it distracts most of them. 
Granted all teachers aren't this bad, some are actually helpful but most of the ones I've found in the accounting course really don't care. 
TO top it off they delete your emails every semester so you have no proof of how bad the teachers are because you can't forward to an external email. 
I wouldn't recommend going to Rasmussen Online at all, its a big waste of money!
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Take screenshots, or copy and paste emails.  There are many ways one can store messages.

Instructors there, as with any college, can be of variable quality - some good, some not so good.  Feedback is one essential reason why one goes to college in the first place.  One should not be getting no feedback, or four token words as "feedback".

The last I'd checked, instructors have to have a Masters degree.  And why some courses and coursework are out of date, I've read that's a surprisingly common complaint.
April 28, 2011, 8:41 p.m.
0 votes/
I know, I think the teachers have a Degree from there or something.. At one point I was correcting my professors! That's when I knew it was time to leave
Sept. 9, 2010, 5:34 p.m.
+1 vote/
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AT THE AURORA IL CAMPUS, HORRIBLE. Admissions rep shoved this school down my throat. and her boss was just as rude and overbearing as she!!!!!!!   I could see through them like an x-ray. Don't go there, ever.
Sept. 4, 2010, 5:23 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have been a student at Rasmussen for a year, 53 credits later and I am now in debt of 20,000 dollars. That’s right one year 50 some credits and 20,000 dollars. I decided midway to disenroll in their program, which was the business management and child development course. Best choice I ever made, did I make good grades…. absolutely, even made the dean’s list SEVERAL TIMES. I did all that without ever opening a book too. Either they have the worse standards or are I am a super genius who did not graduate HS and got my GED.  Best part about leaving, is finding out how many employers laugh at graduates from this institution. My step mom is one of them who is the director of a hospice, and teaches at a local college. She informed me that she will not approve employee reimbursement for anyone who enrolls in this school. Why, because any nursing student that have ever come to her hospital to train were some of the worst, so much in fact that she will no longer allow them to do their clinicals there anymore. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS SCHOOL. I also have a friend who graduated their bachelor in criminal justices program at the cost of 80,000+ dollars and has no job.
March 25, 2012, 6:29 p.m.
0 votes/
They are very up front regarding the cost 
Sept. 3, 2010, 8:39 p.m.
+2 votes/
I work in human resources here at a major Minneapolis company, and every single time we get an applicant that went to Rasmussen, or University of Phoenix, etc the first place we put the resume/application is in the garbage.

DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR SALES PITCH 

Please, for the sake of your education, and money please go to a real accredited college. Your degree will be worth more in the real world, and will also be transferable should you want to return to school. 

Stay far far away from for profit schools!
Dec. 14, 2012, 2:42 a.m.
0 votes/
I see where you are coming from, as an instructor, I have students who struggle to write or speak in complete sentences . . .but then I have some real gems--so please do not throw out the gems, there are some really incredible students there who have so much drive and passion, and for whatever reason, the flexibility of the school was all that worked. I have students who I would hire, as their work ethic and standards are extremely high. Just to play the other side. I would just ask for a reference on a couple to give them a try. Since I teach writing, I have heard some fairly incredible stories, and believe in many of my students. 
Aug. 21, 2010, 11:23 p.m.
+2 votes/
If Rasmussen College is a scam then wouldn't the Department of Education figured that out? And wouldn't allow them to even have the ability to get financial aid? ANd if you look at different online colleges there are some that's even higher depending on what program you attend in. And some people don't have a choice but to go to school online (i have 3 kids and work full-tme). But so far I haven't had a problem with them. I tried to attend another online college and they tried to put me in one program without telling me when I told them to put me in another. And actually a community college it could be a possiblity of going through some things with them as well (I did a while ago when I did try). So far I haven't had any problems with them. My admission rep has been very helpful and very informative. She's been on top of calling me when she says she will and answered all my questions. Hopefully the rest of my experience will be this good!
Aug. 17, 2010, 10:52 p.m.
+1 vote/
I agree this is a horrible school. They are a SCAM. Yes, they may have been around since the 900's however bet your bottom dollar the name has been sold. I feel embarrassed to admit I went there at 468 a credit and to teach yourself. Please look into a community college. This school prays on the poor and uneducated. I was in the Medical Asst program and they had all the classes online, even ones that in some states are not allowed to be online class because of the material. If anyone is filing a class action suit please let me know. I was at the Eagan, MN campus.
Sept. 4, 2012, 10:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Please contact me regarding class action lawsuit...I already have an attoryney.
Sept. 13, 2012, 8:29 p.m.
0 votes/
greatdaymichelle@yahoo.com 
Sept. 5, 2012, 4 a.m.
+2 votes/
I graduated in the fall of 2011 with a degree in the accounting field and am extremely frustrated with the quality of education that I received.  I gained nothing but lost plenty of time and energy. I just got back from work and opened a letter stating that I need to make a payment of over $500 for my student loan.  I did end up with a 3.9 GPA but I can't find work in my field- maybe my resume keeps ending up in the garbage as prof86 had stated... 
The complaints I have are numerous, but my biggest problem with this institute is that so many of my former classmates(as well as a couple of the instructors)were, as others have said, completely inept.  They were unable to communicate effectively.  Some couldn't formulate a sentence in decent English, and I'm not exaggerating. Saying that some students functioned at a middle school level is quite generous; it really sucks that these poor  people who appeared in my classes semester after semester were led to believe that if they did their best they had a chance of doing something useful with their degree.  Obviously other people share my sentiments- other postings from past instructors have indicated that they were pushed into passing students who were not prepared.  While I'm sure Rasmussen enjoys their sweet profits, it reflects very poorly on those of us who don't want to be associated with or compared to other students of such a low academic caliber. I probably would have been more skeptical of Rasmussen in the first place if my cousin wasn't the marketing director.  I feel like such an idiot for enrolling in the first place. 
I have been busy trying to make ends meet; I'm a single mom and have the same less than excellent job as I did when I enrolled at Rasmussen. I just decided that I had to deal with this now, and I am happy to see that I am not alone. Please reply at your earliest convenience, I would love to share all the dirty details! THANKS TO EVERYONE FOR POSTING YOUR STORIES!
Aug. 4, 2010, 7:45 p.m.
+3 votes/
This was the worst experience I have ever had with a college. The staff lack knowledge and experience. The staff reminded me of a high school student helping out in the office. The financial aid office is the worst. They do no explain things thoroughly. It is a lot of signing forms that eventually get you into bigger problems. The instructors are not very knowledgeable about the learning material. Most of the time my instructor only put assignments on the board and left you to learn on your own. I would not recommend this school to anyone. Not even my worse enemy. I made a very bad decision by attending this school. And to top it all off I have to pay a loan I knew nothing about. SCAM!!! That's what this school seems like to me from experience.I hope no one make the same mistake I did. I am still dealing with my issue with them.
Nov. 17, 2012, 1:37 a.m.
0 votes/
Scams shouldn't be allowed to be in business to continue scamming and fleecing.

Nor should you be punished, or any student, by anyone who engages in what amounts to grand larceny.   There needs to be a class-action suit or something, if you and others who post grievances are correct.  
July 30, 2010, 2 a.m.
+4 votes/
Hi There,

I just felt like I should write the truth about this college! As a former student I am extremely upset with them and am currently in the process of speaking to a lawyer for what they did to me! Yes, they have been around since 1900... but that also means I guess that they don't have to jump through many hoops or show proof before many programs there go into affect. I have no problem sharing this so you know and watch your back! The program I was in requires a bachelors degree to obtain a job in FL, Rasmussen only offered an AS and told me that I can get a job here. Second more, they ended up getting rid of the instructors and getting rid of the program and tried putting me in another program. Of course, I am thousands in debt now and do not want to start from scratch which is what they re now telling me. They have been a horrible experience and I hope many read this before deciding to attend to their extremely unprofessional school!