Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of the Rockies

  • University of the Rockies Reviews

    Ranking: #72
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: University of the Rockies® is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association. (www.ncahlc.org)

2.8
57 Reviews
5 13 
4 11 
3 8 
2 6 
1 19 
0 0 

University of the Rockies Reviews:

Masters of General Psychology

Psychology - March 1, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

University of the Rockies is not the right school for you if you are looking to be licensed as a clinical psychologist. With that being said, the program is great for individuals who are looking to grasp fundamental concepts of psychology. The university prepares you for a career in research and teaching. All instructors are licensed professionals. I can say that I did not find the work challenging due to my background in counseling theories. Pros - Good staff, good instructors, great curriculum and easy to accomplish while working full time. Cons - For Ph.D students - Not APA accredited , Masters Degree students - you wont receive letters of recommendation for graduate school as required by an APA accredited program. You will be in debt until you either find an APA accredited program that will accept you, so you can defer student loans or find a job that will pay you enough without a license. Final thoughts, If I can do it again, I would go for a professional counseling degree. Cheers, Rockies Alumni.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

The effort you put in is equal to the quality you get out.

Organizational Leadership and Development - January 30, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a military veteran using the remainder of my post-9/11 GI Bill to complete a PhD in Organizational Development and Leadership. The school is great when working with military vets using the GI Bill because they are a yellow ribbon school. The cost of attending out of pocket is almost nothing. The academic standard is high and the professors are engaged. I have read the complaints about the UoR and find them to be associated with lack of effort or an unwillingness to read the program requirements. On-line degrees that are accredited have as much weight in the professional world today as the brick and mortar schools that dot the landscape. Not everyone can afford Harvard or Yale, but the experience can be as educational if you take your time to actually study. I do not worry about the quality of education that others are receiving as I go. The UoR will fail a student that doesn't achieve academically and this is a sign of a good program. If you are trying to decide if the UoR is right for you; ask yourself if it will advance your goals in life, speak with others in your field, ask lots of questions, and remember the UoR is always accepting students to begin at many times in a year (unlike a traditional program). It is working for me and has already advanced my career outlook.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Holding education for ransom-BUYER BEWARE

Psychology - November 26, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

BUYER BEWARE I was contacted by Ashford University about attending their school toward completing my education. I signed up and they took control of just about everything. They said "just attend classes and let us take care of all the finances". At that time I thought wow, this is a great school. Little did I know! I attended my classes and obtained good grades completing my Bachelors degree. Toward the end, they contacted me saying that I was such a great student I should couture toward achieving my Masters Degree. They said I would be able to get a better job and I totally bought into the dream of achieving a higher level of education. Little did I know! I was so dumb. They used psychology on me totally feeding my ego telling me how smart I was when I completed my Master Degree. As I finished the Masters program my student loans had risen to a very high level. I was getting very uncomfortable. I was then contacted my the University of the Rockies by a very determined sales person named Terrance. He was very pushy and once agin sold me on the dream that I had received such good grades that I should carry my education forward by receiving my Doctorate. He called me about 30 times and I once again I bought into dream of obtaining a higher education. I was about 59 years old at that time and I was unemployed due to budget cuts and he sold me on the fact that I could be very marketable with a Psy. D. I worked hard for the next three years and took all the classes including three trips to Denver for in residence classes. I was then 63 years old and have applied for so many jobs and have not received even 1 offer. I know that my age has much to do with this but many employers do not think much of I have now taken all the Psy.D. classes and just before my last class, the capstone class they say I have run out of financial aid and they very abruptly removed me from the class rooms. They tell me I can take this last class which will cost $4,900 but without the money no class. The stung me along for about 8 years of school and as soon as the financial aid maxed out they dropped me like a hot potato. They are a for profit school. Guess what, I would out that the University of the rockies is a sister school to Ashford University. They strung me along for years. I worked hard and accumulated $125,000 in student loans and just that quick they rug was pulled out. I was such a idiot, I completely bought into that educational dream and all I really got was a very large bill that I cannot come close to paying back. Let alone take the last class with a shot at a dissertation. I feel like such an idiot. I fell for all the tactics and they manipulated me the whole way dangling the carrot and kept trudging along. I worked so hard. I had a 3.9 GPA. with all A's except 1 B in statistics.. WARNING-do not buy into this organization, Either Ashford and especially the University of the Rockies. They pray on people by selling them on a dream all the while taking money using the financial aid. Many employers do not really recognize a degree from an online school. Yes, some do but many don't. Do not stack up student learns in hopes of a dream that will never happen. Do not be an idiot like me. Do not cave their their sales pitches as they are just massaging your ego. Local school are much cheaper and just as easy to deal with. I was dumb and m=now have no real resource to fight it and their parent company BridgePort Education is so big I could never fight them. Stay away they have a very savoy business model and its all about profit not educating people. In the end did get an education, I learned the real difference between and for-profit and a non-profit school.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

unsatisfied

Organizational Leadership and Development - October 6, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school gets you through your classes then gives you little support as you work on your dissertation. If you do a good job they make your rewrite it because they want you to represent them in the way they need it. They also will then hold you back if you do not conform to their needs, by making you dummy down your work so they can understand it. This school is not worth your time or effort. Those who support this school need to get a life and a clue about what is really going on in academia.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Very disappointed in the Rockies

Psychology - August 5, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was so excited about this University when I first started off on-line. They sold their services very well, and I trusted these people with my time, energy and MONEY! and to make a long story short. I took the comps 3 times and failed all three times, now mind you if I was completely clueless or DUMP OR LACKING THE INTELLIGENCE to the program I would have never started, but I GOT GOOD GRADES Y'ALL... I would say my name but it is not important right now, but I too finished my degree plan with an OUTSTANDING GPA....but guess what NO DEGREE....I WAS COMPLETELY HURT...NOW mind you all my former classmates, I am a pretty good test taker, BUT JUST LIKE ONE PERSON STATED THE COMPREHENSION EXAM IS A JOKE...AND I AM SEEKING RESTITUTION I AM GOING TO GET MY DEGREE. I WILL get help from a Lawyer to seek out my matter at hand. I loved this school y'all and before my mom died I was working on this program, I can only imagine what my mom would be thinking right now.. You guys we all know that working on a Masters Level is hard, WE KNOW THAT, however when you walk away with a great GPA and can't pass your Comps SOMETHING IS VERY WRONG don't you all agree! I know that I am smarter than the average 5th grader and perhaps some professors but dang this is ridiculous. I too also know that some people passed there comps...well I call them WOW PEOPLE.... AND I AM HAPPY FOR THEM TRULY...But we are smart as well...sooooo was it a, I am going to get their money thing, or was it the sound of people first or last names that might have disqualified us, or could it have been our racial backgrounds...WHO KNOWS? Just speculation But all in all I am very disappointed with the Rockies. Now mind you only two or maybe three of my professors were great...and gave me feedback on what I need to improve on during the program, I corrected them and moved on and advanced in my learning...so why in the name of SAM HILL (meaning what the HELL) I could not pass the comps beats me but I will soon find out. Keep in mind I had 3 qualified people to check my work before I turned it in, and you mean to tell me they are also dumb....I don't think so...Mind you some of us are not good test takers, I get that, but 3 times taking a test in a row does not look good on the University's part...are their professors and the ones that graded our Comps Incompetent...Welllll! again only speculation on my part. Just upset y'all. I would like to study the material all over again and perhaps fly out there and retake the Comps in person. I was told this year in 2015 that a person would look into it for me, but that person never called me back, they probably fired that person just for looking into it, I would not be surprised! Well that's my true story and I am sticking to it. I would say to those who have issues we need to get together and do something about this injustice. DID YOU ALL EVER SEEN THE MOVIE CALLED THE FIRM WITH TOM CRUISE...WELL this is how this story is looking as far as the University of the Rockies goes...Lot's of corruption, and money taking, and who knows what else and it's not a funny situation when it come to people lively hood and MONEY THIS IS SO WRONG!...but justice will be serviced one way or another. In a legal manner of course.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

The comp test is jajoke

Psychology - August 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am so sorry I enrolled in this school how their teachers can grade your completed work and give A's and B's then for the person to fail the comp test tells me their teachers are not teaching the material needed to pass. A student's grade reflects the skill of the teacher to teach and pass the course. I do not think taking the test a second time is worth my time ,effort or money. I would not recommend this school. I am just so sorry I did not go to a different school for my masters what a bad deal this was. If it is true you get what you pay for this school should be free, I got nothing.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

This school has lots of issues and you should avoid it

Organizational Leadership and Development - August 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is terrible. They have had so many issues over the 6 or 7 years I have been involved. I continue to work on completing my dissertation but the process is terrible and the university does not maintain any semblance of being student centered. In fact, those who have power over the dissertation process do not know how to integrate their knowledge with that of others, and push their agenda well after students have already spent considerable time and money in another direction.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Human Services

Human Services, Mental Health Administration - July 30, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My name is Robert, I would like to say that I enjoyed my time with U of R. Most of the instructors are understanding and helpful however; we must understand that you will get what you put into the program. I was worried about the exam however; I put the same effort and detail into the test however; the results was exactly what I expected. A passing score. In most cases your grade will dictate your effort.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

30,000 bucks, completed program, no degree.

Psychology - May 13, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the University of the Rockies Psychology degree program in three years. Completed it. Most of my grades were A's and B's with a few C's (statistics and algebra). Once the program is completed there is a mandatory exit exam. The exam covers all information from all previous courses. Knowing that I would have a hard time with math and statistics, but any other subject would be no problem, I felt that I would do fine on the exam. Wrong. I failed it not once, but three times. After the first time I was referred to a kind of small discussion group with a facilitator to answer questions. My one question and only question was would I be able to see my failed exam to figure out what I did wrong on it. I was told no. Evidently no only could we not see our failed exams, but we were not allowed to even know what parts of it we failed. We were told only basic things about taking any exam to prepare to re-take this one a second time. So, in order to get my degree, I re-took the exam, fearing that I would fail again, and I did. Same experience for the second failed exam; you are not allowed to see what you failed on it. You are not allowed to see results of an exam that you failed twice and see what you needed to study. I skipped the third study sessions. There really was no point. I took the exam for a third time and failed again. I was dismissed from the program. However, I was told that if I wanted to take the exit exam again that I could write a letter to the University explaining why I deserved to re-take it. By this time, though, I had had my limit. So, $30,000.00 went to UOR and I got a big nothing. Oh, except I still owe the 30 grand. And they actually had the nerve to send me a bill for a little over a thousand dollars for something else that I don't remember. They used to call me three to four times a week for payment for that thousand + dollars. I gave them the same answer every time: Send me my degree and I will send you money." I have read other reviews from people who act like previous students are stupid and did not read the "fine print" before they enrolled. I am not now, nor have I ever been stupid. I have a BS in Criminal Justice Administration and I did very well in that program. I read the fine print. I completed this program and by God I deserve the degree, but because UOR is a scam school I will not get it. See, not only would I have to write an explanation letter about why I should be able to take the exam again, I would also have to PAY a fee to take it. So, would I recommend this university? Nope.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Stay away,

Organizational Leadership and Development - May 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay away from this School, the admission process went well. But this school is the most inconsistent school.The first course said, there was a team project but it really was not a team project. The instructor a Tara Revel, did nothing to communicate to the class, all she said was, to contact tech support. The student advisor [name omitted] is a big JOKE. First he is your student advisor, then he is your financial advisor, who claims to know everything about financial aid, them he refers you to another guy, who also graduated from Queens University. School needs a major over hall.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Money suction

Psychology - March 18, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know you guys are expecting eithe a raving review or a complete bashing. This is a little of each. I am currently in the PsyD program and am completely finished with all classes, and am working on the Dissertation project, so I am basically looking back on the program. I read most of the evaluations and posts. Here is what is wrong or misleading in nearly all of them: This school (as well as all online schools) use a tool to check for plagerism. This is copying someone else's text for papers or assignments. Seeing posts stating they used all their assignments for repeating a class is basiclly either impossible or just not true because the AI program which is online will catch this and give them a big fat "0" for that assignment as well as a message to quit or get kicked out. When I began the school, my agenda was to have an inexpensive way to get my PhD. Online schools are ususally more expensive because it is the ease of accessibility that students are after and not less expensive. I smell a lot of unmet expectation in these posts just to be fair to the school and the online forum. This school is not a diploma mill as I sense from the posts that I see. What I have run into in this school though, is that after the classes have been finished up and it is time to tear into the dissertation, suddenly all support and help dries up. You are left with a "chair-person" which generally does not really care if you finish or not, and an ongoing dissertation bill of around $1500 per session on extension courses with you left on your own trying to get finished up: Basically the carrot and pony routine. The longer they can string you out in extension courses, the more cash they are raking in. You are redirected to changes in the dissertation by your chair to make you restart your progress and eventually hoping you will just go away in the end... with your student loan maxed out. A dissertation is a quite complex process to finish up, and many of the courses are based on the processes to accomplish this task, but when you are getting into it, you suddenly realize that your paper has nothing at all to do with these courses. I suggest reading a lot of books on dissertation process in APA format before embarking on any of this school's PhD programs because they are all preliminary to the Disseration as the forte of the program which is its finale. I undserstand all the things I have been through so far with the courses from beginning to end, but the dissertation task to finish and graduate is a money making cash cow for them. I have yet to meet any student which has finished on time and did not require extension courses like mine to finish. If they are needing more money, they simply tell you that you need an extension course. On the same line, one point that I found was that they constantly express that they have to raise your tuition each semester because the costs of the school are growing. I talked to another student which just began because my tuition has risen to around 200% of what it was in the beginning of my trek, to find his tuition was the same as mine was at first. I am tracking his progress to see if his tuition rises like mine has done, and so far it has tracked to the same time frame as mine did. This is a little bad in my opinion since you are quoted pricing based on your initial tuiition price which will most definitely rise over time. I have had good teachers, and some which were real stinkers too. I think this is normal for any school though.. Remember high school when you had a good teacher and one that was a total jerk? same concept. Remember, taking courses online is not cheaper, but is easier to fit into a person's schedule... definitely not cheaper! Hope that helps you guys and you can understand my talking points here. Good luck in your adademic work as obviously you are looking into this by reading this blog thingy. :-)

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Read People

Human Services, Mental Health Administration - December 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do not understand all of these people who think they were lied to regarding the ability for someone to get a license to practice mental health therapy services. It clearly states in the literature when a program does not lead to certification. All you have to do is read it. If you did not do due diligence and read the fine print before you enrolled, that is your own fault. You can not blame the university.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful Experience

Psychology - April 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have already graduated from the UofR and I must say, a Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership has served me well! I have been able to compete with top competitors in the Human Resource career. With that said, this program is very challenging and forces students to not only participate in group discussions, accurately write an APA paper, and engage in follow ups (yes, you must follow up constantly with ANY online program), it works very well with Type A personalities and those that are willing to go the extra mile. Professors give strong and reliable feedback on discussions and papers. Those that take advantage of their resources, pay attention to detail, and constantly asking questions, will benefit from this program. This is not a program that you can "slack" or "go through the motion" with. You must be wiling to work hard, put in the time that is needed, and always willing to ask questions! Good luck to all future UofR grads!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

You Get What You Put In

Psychology - March 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a MA student in Organization Leadership and I find UoR to be quite substantial in helping me attain a Masters degree. I chose this school because I wanted online learning and to study independently. I found that other online schools have classes with team projects and I am interested in working for the degree on my own merit. The advisors are great. If I have a problem or issue I email my advisor and I receive a response within a day. If there is a question that I need answered everyone has helped me from the student advisors to the financial aid staff. Yes, there may be advisor turnovers but that is not unusual in any university. People move on. My classes have been quite interesting and the professors have given me feedback and insight on numerous different subjects and readings. In one class I had a medical emergency and I notified my professor and was allowed to turn in my paper late. It did not detract me from attaining a good final grade. If you apply yourself and do all the assignments, there is no problem with being successful at UoR. Many who claim this is a bad school are wrong. I am on my fifth class and I have 2 A's and 2 B's. I know that this is graduate school and studying must be a priority. No one can survive with C's. You will succeed here if you study hard and complete all the assignments. I did my research and I asked questions in the admission process. I knew this would not be the school to attend if one wanted to work as a clinician. Those who are upset should have done the research and attended a school that grants degrees in clinical psychology and licensures. For those of us who will work in business or in the private industry we are extremely happy with UoR.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Failed a passing grade

Psychology - February 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had been holding an A in the class the entire time throughout my time in class. After a wreck (have proof), I still pushed through and completed my studies. My instructor, Dr. Revell, still graded my papers and homework up until the last day of class. I turned in my final and waited for my grade as usual. Nothing was out of the ordinary. My grades should not have been less than a B (max). Instead, without warning, I was dropped from the class at $3,100!!!! And holding an A too??? WTF??? I am furious!!! No warning whatsoever! I am about to go to the media with this matter! If instructors are going to be this scary and unpredictable, then why should I bother going to school at the University of the Rockies? I'm so disgusted, I'm already looking for another school to start my Doctoral program all over again. That's seriously ridiculous when I've taken three classes (two already have A's). Oh well! That's the school's loss in keeping a loyal Ashford Alumni (also with excellent grades in the past!)! I've also been haing problems with uploading week 5 paper and told the instructor it was giving me problems. I tried uploading it again and informed the instructor. Was I getting counted against for some school technical problems? I still have no idea. I have the completed paper right here with proof of completed date. Whatever is going on, something is seriously screwed up. I have never ever in my life ever had a GPA that low! If you work hard, it should show, right? Obviously, not at this school! I refuse to re-take a course I know I passed!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 18 people found the following review helpful

No negative comment.

Psychology - January 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a new enrollee. Jen is my admission advisor. She is excellent. Kelly is my financial advisor. She is great. I hope my instructors and academic advisors will be like Jen and Kelly. I ordered my book and I got them with no delay. I enjoy what I am reading so far. I am a PsyD candidate specializing in Mediation and Conflict Resolution. No negative comments for now. Manny.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good Program - You get what you put in

Psychology - October 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student in the Psy.D. program in Organizational Leadership and have been very pleased with University of the Rockies. The coursework is demanding and the other students in my classes are accomplished professionals. I have found the professors to be excellent and the course materials very high quality. Folks who have complained that the work is very easy are probably not applying themselves. Like everything in life, you get what you put in. Is it possible to do minimal work and still pass, perhaps; however, most students take pride and their education and work very hard at this school. That is also my approach. I have learned a great deal. The professors have provided excellent feedback which has helped me develop as a writer and researcher. The cost is high, which is my only complaint but I feel I have received a good value for the money spent. I have advanced in my career and seen as my classmates have done the same. I would recommend this school. Also in terms of APA, many quality schools do not have that accreditation and it often isn't needed. If a student is unable to clarify the requirements for licensure in his or her home state to meet professional goals, they really shouldn't be considering grad school.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

As a Psychologist, be warned!

Psychology - August 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was an adjunct instructor for U of R. What I learned is that--similar to Argosy and all the other "for profit" schools--U of R takes students who should not have a doctorate degree. Online learning specifically is a money-making strategy. I'm sad to say this as I was hoping it would be a great teaching experience for me. This school, like the others, allow students to accumulate mass debt that they will never feasibly be able to pay off. The fact that it is not APA accredited is harmful because that means that a student can only get licensed in a limited number of states and I don't know of any internship site that would ever take online students. And, even if they get that far, they will never be able to hold a government position (e.g., VAs, federal prison system). Many, many jobs require APA accreditation. Do not put yourself in a position where you owe hundreds of thousands of dollars and then cannot find a job in the psych field. If your debt is over 100,000 dollars, just know that you will have high monthly student loan payments that will be based on your income and this will prevent you from enjoying the education you gained.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Definitely a for profit school!

Psychology - August 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed all of my classes, two of them twice. I was forced to take a "U" in one class because of a bad grade. When I retook the class I made all of the same discussion post and handed in the same assignments and earned a "B" grade? (I save all of my papers and discussion post in word docs) The other class I had to retake because I had a "C" in the class and needed to raise my GPA for the Comprehensive Exam. The same thing happened for this class I handed in all the same work and received a "B". I took the Comprehensive Exam and just received an "NP" grade "No Pass". Do you see the pattern here? I am using my post 9/11 GI Bill so I am limited to time and money, well when each class cost about $2100 and the Comprehensive Exam at $300 a shot I can definitely see the writing on the wall. As part of the Bridgepoint Education Corp. they are definitely that a Corporation. I am waiting for the email notifying me to reschedule my Comprehensive Exam, at another $300 of course. They do have you because the only thing worse than having a degree from a school that gets no recognition from the outside world is paying for the degree and going through all of the classes and not receiving the degree. I guess there was a reason that U of R is not listed as an approved school on the GoArmyEd website, therefore making it difficult to use military tuition assistance. I am in law school now therefore really don't need the masters degree from U of R, however 2 years and many thousands of dollars later they will get no referrals from me, as well as possibly loosing their recognition by the Department of Veterans Affairs and the U.S. Military Tuition Assistance Programs.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Please Research Other School First

Psychology - August 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would not recommend UOR to any student. This school is too expensive and they frequently change staff. The financial aide advisors are clueless and cant answer any questions. Also, the administration need to be revamped to meet the needs of their students. In addition the school administration need to be mindful of the number of enrollees and the number of graduates. They need to also hire more qualified staff that is concerned with helping the students learn instead of getting tenured. Also, they will send a lot of emails for you and when you call them in reference to the email they always have the voicemail to pick up. In my opinion this school does not represent a school that focus on "TOUGH LEADERS of TOMORROW". This school will sink you into debt that will cost you more that the degree itself. So please research other online school before taking the death sentence to UOR, it is not worth all the stress and pain.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Master's Degree in Psychology

Psychology - April 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The whole school is crap. I was charged over $21,000 for one course worth 3 hours of credit, and a "mystical" instructor who only answered questions with a single or four-word answer. Foolishly I submitted a paragraph explaining why I wanted the degree -- to help my favorite relative gid rid of a mental disorder. Two months after signing on, a friend told men that nothing mental has ever been totally cured, only "managed" until the person dies. Any educated employee should have warned me, but MONEY was their major objective. DON'T GET SUCKERED. -- Anonymous

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Interesting

Psychology - April 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know the University of the Rockies very well. I was a student there too. I agree with some comments above. But I also know many psychologists, who said things much worse about the school when they were students there... Yet they all make significant amount of money... Because they have very good jobs with the diploma from the University of the Rockies visibly displayed on the walls of their offices. A good student can be good and successful at any school, or can do bad and blame the school... instead of taking responsibility. I understand it.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Worse school I have ever seen!

Psychology - April 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the worse school that I have ever seen, I really do not understand how the government is allowing these people to exist. Student's are paying top dollar for school and they are getting nothing in return. The school know that nothing can be done to stop them!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Tough Program

Psychology - December 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm a current ground student in the Clinical Psych program. As I've moved into my final year of the program, I have to say I'm being consistently challenged and finding myself growing exponentially as a person and a future clinician. No APA, but that was never kept a secret. As I have no desire to go out of state to practice, I am not personally worried about this issue. I get others are and maybe rightfully so. For myself, I'm loving the program and have been unbelievably challenged in my education. Online stuff? I hear it's not so great. On ground? Give it a go! It's a great program.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

School of Organizational Leadership

Psychology - November 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

No communication, no feedback, no guidance, no support, no mentors, no professional development, no advisors....the list goes on and on! Some of the positions that I previously listed are present on paper but good luck getting people to do the job. As many other people have stated in their review, the only motivation to finished the program is the fact that you are in too deep (financially) and no one will take any of the credits if you want to transfer. In the beginning you stay because you think that all of the problems are related to the "growing pains" of a small university or you feel like maybe you are struggling with a doctoral level program....but that is not the issue the school is selling a program that they cannot support....imagine buying a car with no warranty...not to mention they change policies that force you to stay there longer and then tell you to deal with it....

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

If you want to be licensed, marketable and be able to move then DO NOT GO HERE!

Psychology - September 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For those of you that say "oh you should have done your research." I did do my research and UofR looked like the perfect school for me. During our orientation, APA accreditation was inquired upon, this was in 2004 and they said "Oh don't worry, we are working on it and will surely have it by the time you graduate." It is almost 2013 and they are no closer now than they were almost 9 years ago. I cannot get licensed in my state and moreover, the entire time I was in school I made it abundantly clear that I wanted to work for the VA, guess what? VA requires APA internship and program. I have an APA internship but no APA program so I can never work for the VA. It is so hard to get an internship and when you aren't from an APA program, you have to work that much harder to get what you deserve. IT is exhausting and not what I was promised. If not being able to get any job you want because you aren't from an APA school, if making $30 to 40,000 less than your APA peers, if not being able to get licensed or move freely from one state to another and be able to get licensed there is no big deal to you, then go ahead, sign up for UofR. I say all the time I wish someone had warned me but they talk such a great game and they make such awesome promises, I don't know that I would have listened, if you care about having a successful distinguished career, don't go here. If the above are not issues for you, I will say the teachers, the professors, are amazing and I learned al ot from them.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Not APA accredited or Asppb approved

Psychology - September 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I cannot get licensed in my state since the program is not APA accredited and not an ASPPB member. Know the requirements of the state where you plan to live before wasting years of your life.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Silly PsyD

Psychology - August 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Sadly, I have a dear friend here, essentially lost in the headlights and floundering in a program he was not prepared for-to the tune of $140,000 in debt.Prepared not for in the sense it is not producing a psychologist, but master holder of sallie mae debt. Please folks, this is a paper mill and you will find little if any graduates with the PsyD doing anything with it. You cannot compare a PsyD or PhD working alongside competent teachers, with someone heading out every few weeks for weekend classes and reflection papers! The BOE of CO should shut this mess down.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Bad experience

Psychology - August 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The UoR has been a pain. I have had 5 advisors from February to July. I have only had 1 instructor who gave me feedback in the 6 courses taken. The advisor scheduled me for 3 courses and withdrew me because there wasn't enough people to fill the course. Needless to say I had bought all my books when the course was suppose to start. When talking to a random advisor because mine was fired or quit, I found him to be vague and uncaring. At this time I am looking for another university that can meet my demands, which I don't think are hard. I attended Ashford University and found the same problems. I told the enrollment advisor what I expected and was promised my experience would be different. Needless to say I'm very disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

lets be realistic

Psychology - May 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

i am currently a student at UoR and found this site while doing some random research. I have read many of the other reciews on here and thought that I would like to comment. I have completed all of my couses at UoR and am about to complete my comprehensive exam here in a few weeks. I see that many people have had different advisors. I have also had several different advisors. They have all done a great job with the exception of the one I have right now. My problem was that once I got comfortable with a new advisor, they swithched me but I found my advisors to be helpful nevertheless. The advisor I have now is not as helpful or very good at explaining things. He has made some mistakes but I am making the best of it. I am pretty satisfied with my education and feel that I have learned a lot. The professors were for the most part very helpful. Occassionally I had a prof that had some odd expectations but I just dealt with it. I would recommend this school to others in the long run. I would like to address some of the other commentors for a moment if I may, Not everyone is going to love this school. Some people do not do well in an online learning environment. It works for me because I am a very self-directed and motivated person. Some people just dont do as well in online classes but that is fine, it just means that they need to find a program that works best for their needs. I read in one of the comments that someone was offended about all the negative comments and I really don't see why. Why be offended by others feelings, they are entitled to those feelings. No school can be absolutely perfect and there just may be an advisor or two that doesnt know what they are doing, but that can occur with any school. Just because a person had a bad experience does not mean that they are incompetent nor does it mean that the school is bad. As far as accredidation goes, I have recently heard that UoR is in the process of recieving the appropriate accredidation from the APA (yes this is heresay but always worth investigating). For perspective students, I would like to say that UoR is a good school. Before applying though, I would suggest that you determine if online education will work for you. I would also suggest that if you have questions for the recruiters than you should ask and know what you are getting yourself into before signing up to begin classes. UoR does not set up practicums for masters level students, so you will need to investigate your state's laws regarding licensure and make sure you meet them. I do not know what they do for a doctoral student because I have only done the masters but either way, you have to do your own research into how to obtain licensure to practice in the state you are planning to work in. The best advice is just to be informed as you can and ask questions if you don't understand something. If you don't ask, you won't get a helpful answer. I enjoyed my learning experience at UoR.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Awesome School!

Psychology - May 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I truly enjoyed this school! I have just completed my degree in Organizational Leadership and could not be happier. The University of the Rockies has taught me so much and I cannot wait to apply my education to my professional environment. The administration and professors have been so helpful and are always there to answer your questions and concerns. I chose this concentration hoping to pursue a future in Human Resource Management and have had an abundance of interviews and employment opportunities thus far. This school is quickly growing and will certainly give you the education you are looking for within a Masters program. Highly recommended school!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Go Rockies!!!!!!

Psychology - April 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My name is James Turner, and I am a student at the University of the Rockies. In fact I have just completed my Master’s in Psychology: Criminology and Justice Studies. I have also completed my Bachelor’s in Psychology at Ashford University, a sister school of the University of the Rockies. It has been a wonderful and exciting experience! And I am looking forward to entering the Doctorates program. While there have been a number of changes related to Academic Advisors, there has never been a time when the Advisor was not useful and dependent. Nor was there a time when the changes in Advisors disrupted or affected my educational development. I am offended by those who have attempted to blame Academic Advisors for their own shortcomings!!!!! Prospective students reading these comments should be advised and aware that it is more likely that those posting negative comments are students that will have problematic issues at whatever school and or program they attempt to process through. And that perhaps the problem is not the Advisors but the individual not being prepared to advance at the program level they have attempted to enter. The Advisors, the Professors, and the educational settings in the online classrooms have served a major role in motivating me to continue this educational journey. There has never been a question that one of them could not answer, or a time when one of them was not supportive. In fact, I have received some very encouraging and motivational comments from all those involved in my educational experiences here at the University of the Rockies! If you are considering the University of the Rockies to pursue your educational goals, and you are willing to put forth “your best efforts” in the pursuit of those goals, then the University of the Rockies is the place to be. But if you want a degree that you don’t have to earn, maybe you should look else where! As for me, I am proud to be a student of the University of the Rockies and would be glad to assist any prospective student with any additional information they might need in deciding where or not this should be the school of their choice. Almost every day my e-mail box is filled with offers from other schools attempting to compel me to leave the University of the Rockies. I use to read them and compare what they offer to the benefits provided by the University of the Rockies. I have even contacted some of them to see if they could provide better offers, which none were able to do! Now, I just check those offers and delete them. When they call (which they often do), I simply say, No thank you, I’m a student at the University of the Rockies!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Highly recommend

Psychology - April 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Highly recommend this online university. Classes are challenging and instructors challenge students, as well.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Excellent experience at U Rockies

Psychology - March 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at University of the Rockies has been excellent. I have completed 12 classes toward my Psy.D in Organizational Leadership and I am pleased with all that I have learned. The professors are supportive and the workload is significant. This is not an easy way to get a degree but you will learn a lot and enjoy it. As others have said you really need to be a motivated mature student to keep up. Some people have complained that the online degree is not clinical, so will not lead to licensure as a therapist or counselor. This was clear upfront in all the materials that I read. As a student organizational psychologist that was not an issue for me. Since beginning this degree I have started teaching at the college level which was my goal. I also hope to consult with businesses. I would recommend University of the Rockies to strong students who need to manage a career, family and continuing education and are interested in graduate work in psychology.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Scam College

Psychology - March 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a student formally enrolled in the criminal justice psychology program, I can honestly say this is a scam college. I found the instructors to be incompetent. Twice I have been accused of coping papers.The last time I even used slang words and even had witnessing watching me write my reports, all this started when I wrote and complained about my instructors performance. Sounds like retaliation to me. The assignments are vague and the discussion forums are a joke to say the least, a 12 year old can complete the discussion forum. Don't just take my word for it, just read other reviews. Stay clear from this one, unless you want to be scammed, thank god I figured this one out during my fourth week, so I wasn't fleeced to the max.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Very Satisfied

Psychology - January 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do not understand the negative reviews on this site. First of all, if you do not have the brains to check if a school is accredited or not before you enrol, than you should not be pursuing a masters degree. I checked several university masters of psychology programs before I made the decision to go with U of R. I am four courses away from graduation and I have to say that I have worked very hard to keep an almost perfect GPA. The work is challenging and the professors are "hands on". I receive feedback on all of my papers and discussion posts from the instructors and I have never felt like there is any dishonesty or underhandedness by the school. I have a bachelors degree from a top rated college and I have found that the online program is just as much work as a "bricks and mortar" school with the difference being you can attend class when it is convenient for you. I am very pleased with the education I am receiving and I plan to use my degree to work in the health and wellness field. You get out of this school what you put into it. It seems to me that the people who are disgruntled with the school thought they were going to get a paper mill diploma, when in fact, you have to earn every credit by completing the weekly papers and discussion posts. So what if the school is "for profit". So are Harvard and Yale. Just want to add that this school also has the same accreditation as all of the other great colleges. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

University of the Rockies

Psychology - December 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The problem I have with the school is that they change academic advisors way too much. When I withdrew from the school in August 2011 they didn't withdraw me until the end of September which held up my financial aid at my new school. When I called to talk to Cynthia the financial consultant she lied about my withdrawl as well as Adam Evans. They tried to keep the financial aid money and my advisor Kristy Milan never contacted me. I had to write federal education board to get this resolved. I would never recommend this school its not APA accredited and you will only have a piece of paper that cost lost fo money that you can't do anything with. The teachers were the best asset to the school and I learned APA formating well

Was this review helpful?

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Programming Lies

Psychology - September 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Check and recheck with numerous people before you enroll with UoR, as the consultants that enroll you like to lie about the program offerings and what you will get for a degree. They also lie about how the program works, and when you turn to anyone they are very hard to hold of and then respond with terrible responses, this even includes the President, and I utilize that term loosely, who makes threats to you, the student. I have no other choice than to complete my degree due to money and time already invested in the program. The financial aid office is a joke, so expect to do everything yourself, and expect to pay a lot more than what you were initially told. Also, if you need technical support, get a paid tech support through Best Buy because what the University has is horrible, no one can ever figure out a problem. Also the data resource online libraries are minimal at best, I have had to enroll elsewhere to gain access necessary to do the classwork. The only plus are some of the professors, or I should say facilitators. This another fact that the school does not disclose to the students, as the school sets up all of the curriculum and the "teachers" has to go by what they say and their interpretation varies greatly. With only 6 week courses it is difficult to get to really know your professor until about that 6 week period. It is only through the truthful advice of one of my professors that I discovered the degree course that I thought I was going to attain was no so, and that much of the work I had done would help somewhat, but that I will have to go elsewhere to obtain the information that I need for the job I desire. This University needs alot of work to become one that can be classified as a reputatible school. Please do not consider UoR unless you are truly sure they are fulfilling your needs and talk to many different individuals at the University before enrolling, or else you will be in the same position I am in, no job, can't get a job based on the classes taken, and out of alot of money!!!!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

NO APA

Psychology - August 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Problem is it has no APA accreditation. Might as well be attending Mickey Mouse university, most states require you attend an APA accredited program to get any kind of clinical job. They will tell you about all of their accreditations, but the only one that matters in my book is the APA. Not falling for it Rockies…

Was this review helpful?

10 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Graduating December 2011

Psychology - August 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the General Psychology program at UoR, and I have been quite pleased with the experience overall. I have had issues with only one teacher and that’s over. If students apply themselves, and you want a Master’s degree, then the program is worthwhile. It takes personal commitment however, with discussions due on Thursday’s and assignments due every Monday all worth accumulated points, one needs to be seriously dedicated to their education. If you are then it’s a great program.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Scheduling Nightmares

Psychology - July 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

With only four classes and one test to complete before finishing my degree, I am concerned because I have been removed from several courses even though I was previously scheduled for them. My financial aid disbursement dates can be be affected by these delays, and I am responsible to pay return shipping for books that I have ordered. I order my books after receiving a confirmation for the class, only to later be told that the class is cancelled because there are not enough students to participate. When should I confidently order my books, and will I ever graduate after coming this far? I don't know what has changed at the University of the Rockies, but it is concerning.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Difficulty reaching someone on the phone

Psychology - June 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My only issue I have with this school is the difficulty in contacting someone. I withdrew from the school however according to them I owe a balance. I've been trying to contact someone but I never get a call back.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Does require work

Psychology - June 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I find it very hard to believe that those respondents who said the curriculum is very easy, have completed more than a few courses. I have to wonder if any of them at all have completed a stastics class. The reviewer who said they had "like a 4.0" probably took fewer that six courses. The writing assignments are challenging and have been quite carefully graded. I received my under-grad degree from University of Maryland, and I would say that the grading criteria at U of R is comparable, if not tougher. It is true that U of R does not have curriculum which supports licenture in counseling. However, it does offer challenging and yes, sometimes difficult curriculum. It is an accredited school. One does have to work hard to earn A's. I recommend this school highly for busy professionals who need a non-couseling master's degree. Be prepared to work.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great experience!

Psychology - April 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in the University of the Rockies General Psychology program in December 2010. I wasn't sure what to expect. However, the process was made smooth from the enrollment advisor to my academic advisor to the instructors. The University presents you with valuable opportunities to learn and grow. You must put in the time in order to benefit from the opportunities (work) they present you. I put in the work and graduated in August of 2010. I attended the graduation ceremony in Colorado Springs and it was a life changing experience. My fellow students knew me from the work I posted. It was as if we had known each other from attending face to face classes. The ceremony was beautiful. The staff were nice and it was life changing. I enjoyed the program so much that I enrolled in the Psy d. program November 2010. I am on my 3rd class and I am very satisfied. I set a mental goal to work hard and study, so that I can grow both academically and professionally. The University presents you with the information needed for real life application. You must apply yourself to benefit from the opportunities presented. I am enjoying the journey!!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Highly Recommend

Psychology - April 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program is GREAT! As a working parent, I never thought that I would be able to pursue a master's degree and the Rockies has made my dream a reality. I was really disheartened to see so many negative comments regarding licensee and accreditation, I think it is a person's individual responsibility to research whether the program prepares for something that the school is not capable of awarding. I checked with the Board of Behavioral health and learned that it would not prepare for license, but I was also to learn what I could do with the degree even though I would not have a license. Also, I have never known of a university that had 100% of graduates get a degree when they leave. I have already started interviewing for positions and I don't graduate for 2 more months. I have had nothing but positive responses about my degree in Organizational Leadership. For me the flexibility, quality of the professors, diversity, and service has far surpassed my own expectations. I would highly recommend this program to anyone looking to pursue a graduate degree.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Hoodwinked

Psychology - April 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled under the pretense the school would soon receive APA Accreditation. After being enrolled a number of years and accruing $100,000 in debt, the school has yet to receive APA Accreditation. Hoodwinked! One of the school's core values is Diversity. This school's treatment of minorities and people with disabilities is deplorable. One disabled, minority student successfully defended her dissentation around a topic related to disenfranchised groups. The IRB chair (L.W.)refused to come into the dissertation defense but remained outside in the hall. (L.W.) Later decided to do everything in her power to resind this minority student's dissertation after it received "passed" by the student's dissertation committe for successfully doing the research and defending her dissertation. Hoodwinked! I have met some great faculty and friends while attending University of the Rockies. However, if I had known at enrollment what I know now, this school would not have been an option!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Masters Business Psychology

Psychology - March 31, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

By simply logging into class you get credit for attendance...I had like a 4.0 and did only 3 hours worth of work a week when EA's say its 15 hours a week. This place is good if you want a DEGREE not an education....

Was this review helpful?

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Graduate doctoral student

Psychology - January 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The majority of teachers are excellent. As with most institutions, not everyone clicks at the same level. I found the support service system and almost all teachers work very hard and are dedicated to the student customer who articulates goals, objectives, and needs. Some of the teachers and adminstration are passionate about being the leader in on-line educational excellence. Classmates are interesting from many backgrounds and thrive on educational quests as adult-learners. I have been a University Associate Professor in another field at a brick and motar big 10 school. U of R is every bit as comprehensive with educational quality and challenges as that traditional school was for students. It does require a mature student who can articulate needs and is self-motivated with time-committments and dedication.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Challenging and Rewarding!

Psychology - January 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student, working toward a Masters of Psychology with a specialization in Criminology and Justice Studies. I am only on my second course, but I have found that the work is incredibly challenging. If you are willing to work hard (you should be if you are in any graduate school), you should have no problem in doing well. The texts are vital to the understanding of the material and the discussions allow you to develop your own beliefs while learning more about the specific topics. The professors are incredibly helpful and willing to provide support within reason. All of my classmates have been able to bring their own experiences to the table which has helped me better understand the class topics from many different perspectives. I really could not say anything negative about my experience thus far. Remember- do not expect to get an A. You must work hard whether it is for a paper, discussion post or response to fellow classmates and in doing so, you will find that you have grown academically and professionally.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Trafficking in education

Psychology - December 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a former student who started the program excited and with high hopes of becoming a clinician. Obviously I was misled by my advisor who oddly quit or was fired not long after my enrollment. For what it's worth here is what I experienced. This experience is my own and may not match the experiences of others. Complaint Summary There are a number of issues with this university that I detail in this narrative, but the most disturbing was the following. I observed that the University of the Rockies took advantage of a minority student who appeared to have learning disabilities and was incoherent throughout the Residency experience as well as in online discussions. I observed that the university had admitted this student into a Doctor of Psychology (PsyD) program for which she was observably not qualified and which will likely not benefit her after graduation. Given the expense of attending this for-profit college, I believe I was witness to the University of the Rockies taking advantage of a minority student with a cognitive disability in order to receive money from her. Other issues such as “A” grades for papers not yet received and a professor’s wife grading doctoral papers are relayed below. When I started feeling uneasy about this school I looked into psychologist licensure and details further, at which time I asked my new advisor directly whether I could in fact become a clinical psychologist with this online degree and she informed me that I could not become a clinical psychologist with this degree without going through a lot more hoops and courses, all of which is far more than just taking a few courses and sitting for a state licensure examination, as my enrollment had suggested. Right about that time I saw an expose on Public Broadcasting System (PBS) about Bridgepoint’s ambiguous college degrees (Bridgepoint owns the University of the Rockies), deceptive program marketing and program misrepresentation. I quit the program at the University of the Rockies as a result. I am currently about $23,000.00 (this is paid down from what it was, which was just over $25,000) in debt for just under a full year at the University of the Rockies for a degree that I was told by outside psychology professionals and military personnel is worthless. My enrollment advisor, whose initials are J.E., gave me an original quote for the entire program of $53,000.00. Simple math tells anyone that at $25,000 per year, the total cost will be over $70,000.00 for the entire program. I was lied to on this cost quote as well. The US Navy will not even look at my first year 4.00 GPA transcript from this university. I was misled and did not realize it until about the time of the Residency. The television expose is what made me investigate further and leave the school. I was shocked that they had so misled me and other students about the value of this degree for a clinical career—or any career for that matter. I challenged the university to prove otherwise. I requested from the university actual alumni testimony and contact information, so that I could call them and talk to them myself. My advisor put me in touch with a Bridgepoint representative via e-mail. His name is Ronald Gaschler. When I directly asked him about alumni contact information and their progress, I got the run-around. He could not give me the name of a single alumna from the organizational program that went on to pursue a career with an Organizational Psychology degree from the University of the Rockies, let alone as a clinical psychologist. This raised my previous suspicions further. I started to panic. Shortly after I withdrew out of panic and let-down, I was e-mailed an advertisement for enrolling by the newest advisor, whose initials are K.W. They went through three academic advisors in a year. In addition to these issues, I spoke with one student who I was told received an “A” on a paper she had not yet turned in (she was turning it in late), a professor who told us in person that his wife corrected our papers, and witnessed a student who was incoherent in the online environment and at the Residency in our class sessions. She was such a sweet woman and tried really hard as one could tell, but she was clearly being taken advantage of and would not have qualified for a legitimate doctoral program. She was an unemployed immigrant who had come from Barbados, which she had told me and others in our free time. The university had taken advantage of at least one ethnic minority in this case, a person who will likely not benefit from this program since she failed to participate at the level of all the other students in the program. The school appears to want a certain number of “warm bodies” in order to take their money. I was not the only student who voiced serious concerns about the integrity of the education provided by this school. For instance, my practicum subject was approved within just hours of submission, which I do not understand. It seems that it should have been taken more seriously than this. Finally, the program enrollment statement I signed was ambiguous. It read: “I understand that this program is not intended to prepare students for professional licensure or certification in any field, regardless of concentration.” This is not what my advisor told me upon enrollment. She said it would prepare me for a career as a military psychologist with just a few additional courses and a licensure examination given the nature of my master’s degree. I wrote many reflective papers on this career choice in fact, so obviously my advisor led me to believe that I could become a clinical psychologist for the US military with this degree. The Navy told me that online degrees that are not APA accredited are not acceptable—not even for research. This is outrageous for the cost of just a single year at this university that is accredited by as prestigious a body as the Higher Learning Commission.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Miscommunication maybe?

Psychology - December 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a Doctoral student at this university since July 2009. I was never under the impression that U of R would be a conduit to licensure. As a matter of fact my advisor told me that the majority of states requires that a school be APA accredited and an intership - neither of which is reported in Univ of Rockies' curriculum. Point of fact if you'd like to earn a Doctorate of Psychology but do not want to be a clinician then the online program is challenging but worth it. The major focus of the online program is Organizational Development. You can in fact practice independently in this field. It is disheartening to hear these disgruntled individuals that did not do their research before beginning coursework. These individuals will have everyone continuing to have antiquated views regarding online learning and those of us that love thrive with self-structure, semi self-paced, non classroom learning will suffer. Evolve people.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Changing the future one life at a time!

Psychology - November 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hi everyone considering UOR, I'm James Harvley. If you're looking for a great education that not only teaches you about the fundamentals of psychology but also offers a mirror into how your own opinions and belief systems are created this is the school for you! No one should have to settle for a second-rate education when your a first-rate learner so make University of the Rockies your first choice in pursuing your academic dreams. The courses are challenging but the encouragement that you receive from the instructors and other students in your discussion boards makes it feel like a whole new world of learners is their sharing the experience with you. Each of us has something we can share, an experience or perspective about a given subject that has yet to be expressed. At UoR you'll find that you're opinions are accepted and appreciated while at the same time you'll actually find the openness and transparency in which instructors and students respond to the class discussions both enlightening and refreshing. I recently graduated with a MA in Psychology with an emphasis in Non-Profit Management. Everything that you learn in the classroom is applicable to what takes place in the non-profit world except maybe that discussion on Elvis and the peanutbutter and banana sandwiches- but maybe..no that wasn't applicable unless you're playing trivial pursuit. The work is challenging and the instructors don't just hand out A's to save them the trouble of making an extra loop for a B. The discussions and written assignments work but whatever grade you earn you can have pride in that with it came the challenge you met and overcame and a chance to learn a little more about yourself and the amazing world around you. I gained a Master in Psychology but I also gained a lot of friends and memories and learned that a long road seems much shorter when you have traveling companions made up of both instructors and fellow students who have worked in the field and offer a lot of practical insight to offset various psychological models and theories. Should any unexpected situations arise or if you have any questions as all students do with Dr. Shelton and Dr. Kirkpatrick at the helm and only an e-mail or phone call away the voyage is a pleasant one. Here's your chance! Best of luck in your educational journey and Merry Christmas- James Harvley

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Jamie Bursell

Psychology - November 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a recent graduate of the University of the Rockies. As an online student, I was pleasantly surprised to find the course material challenging and thought-provoking. I would rate all but one of my instructors as excellent in feedback and discussion generation. I was able to contact most instructors by phone and by email and found them to be very professional. As with any online degree, one must be organized and make their studies a priority. I believe I got a lot out of my education at the University of the Rockies because I applied myself and I set a goal to learn as much as I could. I used my resources wisely and made my investment a priority. I believe anyone can do this if they put their mind to it. Set high standards for yourself and your will have a positive experience too!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

UofR has met my expectations

Psychology - October 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending my second online class with UofR and I am glad I chose them. I am gaining the type of education I thought I would and glad I did not listen to some of the negative reviews. I think these individuals did not read the types of programs offered nor how they could be used in the workplace. At no point does UofR state they provide counseling psychology programs or degrees that can be used to obtain therapist or counseling licenses. Those who are interested in that field should know they will need to attend a school that requires a GRE as well as an internship or practicum. It sounds like these individuals want the counseling degree without actually doing the work. I am working on a psych degree with a concentration in conflict resolution. UofR degrees can build upon a foundation already established in counseling, but not create a new one. I hope this review will clarify some of the misconceptions about what UofR offers.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Stay Away

Psychology - July 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Yes, online classes are only for those who have self-discipline. If you are thinking of UofR for psychology because you want to be a therapist, turn around and do more research. To become a licensed therapist you have to work for it. What Rockies would have you think is that you will have to do this all on your own. That's a huge lie. Most brick and mortar schools (I work for the University of Florida) and some online schools will actually include the internships and practicum work that you need to get your license into the curriculum. Ta-da! So if anyone tells you it can't be done, it's a lie. Look at a brick and mortar school and ask that person, well, why is that University of So and So can do this and you can't? I've done research into other online schools - there are some out there that have the means, networking!, to help students living all across the US and in the military get their licenses. Again, if UofR tells you this can't be done, it's bull. Talk to Capella, talk to Nova University in South Florida. Dig, dig deep. Do not waste your time with UofR. Also, between Feb 2010 and June 2010 I had three academic advisors and two financial advisors. This is not normal. I am an academic advisor at UF. One of our graduate academic advisors has been in his position for 15 years. The other academic advisor has been doing her job for three years. I've been doing mine for three years. Having a new academic advisor every semester, or in the case of UofR, every class is not professional. Nor is it normal. Nor should you have to put up with it. Also, if you decide that I'm just bitter or something, I'm not - I'm working on my degree through Capella (my cousin is earning her PhD right now and getting licensed and we both live in different cities and a different state than Capella's brick and mortar building is) - get everything in writing. If someone says, "oh don't worry about that fee, your financial aid will take care of it" ask that person to email you that statement. Not only will this save you later on, but it will have proof of who it was you talked to, who was giving you advice and show you how many different advisors you'll have over the course of your education. And lastly, careful of your instructors. I had two really great instructors that gave feedback, both good and bad. They really did encourage the students to do better. My papers came back with great reviews and reviews asking me to do a better job. But I also had one teacher for two classes who gave absolutely no feedback and perfect scores on everything. Every assignment I got perfect scores. That's ridiculous. I left UofR with a 4.0. But I don't know how valuable it is.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

University of the Rockies

Psychology - February 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This truly is a horrible school and an insult to the word university. I have experienced this school both on campus in Colorado Springs, Co as well as online. I have learned more from one episode of Dr. Phil than I have from an entire course offered by the UoR. The ad visors are horrible. They do not offer guidance, academic, or career help of any type. The classes and offered material is neither challenging nor beneficial. Everything is performed on a minimal 10th grade level. I was looking forward to graduate school until I started at the Rockies. If someone is considering the Rockies to pursue his or her education, I am begging you to reconsider. I have not met one individual who has claimed to have had a positive experience with the Rockies. The school is filled with so many holes that they will never be APA accredited. The only reason I have continued with the Rockies thus far is because I am too deep in. It is better to complete this degree and clean up my mess once I am finished Please, please, please re-consider if you’re interested in the University of the Rockies. The school should be forced to shut down until they can repair their leaks.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 19 people found the following review helpful

head of online programs is terrible

Psychology - November 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They only care about money not the student. Head of online programs is to busy to reassure doctorate students of the value of the new degree programs. They have not been tested in the real world. The cost of these new doctorate degrees should be free until they have been validated or compared to top 10 schools . Unless it is free avoid, avoid, avoid...

Was this review helpful?

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of the Rockies in any way.