Upper Iowa University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
B.S. Accounting (2)
Bachelor of Science (4)

Masters Programs:
Master of Business Administration (5)
Master of Public Administration


To link to this page:

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Hawkeyes1982 (In Progress) on March 2, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great University! I enrolled in the summer of 2009. I saw a TV ad on the local tv channel for UIU. I was shocked that they had a branch in my city and I was instantly attracted to it. I had a friend play baseball at UIU and graduate and had nothing but great things to say about the University. I had originally got information from Kaplan but after visiting UIU, it was a no brainer. I am now in my senior year at UIU and it's going great. I plan to graduate with my BS in Criminal Justice and possibly enroll in the MPA program. The professors are very qualified. I don't think i've had a professor who does not have a PhD. I even have instructors let me use them for references for jobs and that speaks volumes! They will help you and work with you no matter what. Give UIU a shot, you won't regret it! GO COCKS!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Loweryr54 (In Progress) on February 20, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Experience! I have been a student with Upper Iowa University for just over 2 years and will graduate in March with my BS in Marketing. UIU is a great institution with a great deal to offer. The staff, professors, and technical support all go above and beyond normal activities to ensure a very rewarding experience. I will admit that the experience was outstanding enough for me to apply and get accepted into the UIU MBA program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 23, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA/HR Program I am a new student to the MBA/HR program at Upper Iowa, but have been very impressed with their program so far. As a Veteran living overseas, all of my communication with the admissions staff was done by email or over the phone. Class registration went very smoothly and the online format is very similar to my undergrad program that I completed with UMUC. I like the 8 week class format and the syllabus is easy to follow along with. They also provide a 10% discount on tuition to Veterans. I would highly recommend this school to anyone that is a self-directed learner.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 18, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Online Education I have been a student at UIU online since 2007 and I definitely made the right choice. Every Summer I have attended the IEXL 1 week accelerated courses they offer at the main campus and this has saved me an extra year of course work. The campus is beautiful and visiting the campus is motivating. I would suggest all online learners to take one undergraduate course on campus, it changes your view of all the other online schools. I have had great professors at UIU and the course's were challeging and eduactional. Just like any school, some classes are more difficult and require more studying than others. I am working on my senior progect now and I have always had easy access to my professer's. My current professor has been so helpfull and is helping me on the format of my current 20 page paper. I have noticed that most of the professors go out of their way to help their students. I have also found that I learned more in the UIU online setting when I look back to my community college years. The online classroom delivery format has just been updated to a new state-of-the-art online classroom. The older outlook classroom is retired as of March, 2010. The Fayette campus is currently getting $75 million in upgrades to it's older student center, a new arts building, and dorms. Over all, I am very satisfied with my experience with UIU and would highly recommend this online program to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Coaks8 (Graduate) on August 28, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
B.S. Criminal Justice Overall excellent experience. Most of the professors are very knowledgeable and helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 10, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Human Resource Management I can honestly say that I didn't enjoy my time at UIU. The majority of the teachers were not helpful and some were down right rude. The OWA for online classes is not user friendly at all. The demands for online classes were a lot more time consuming than any classroom setting that I have ever attended. I was failed for one class by a teacher for a paper and took it over with a different teacher turned in the EXACT same paper and passed with an A. Figure that one out! I tried to appeal the F only to find out that the professor who gave it to me was on the board of appeals. Sound shady?! The senior project directions are not clear at all so don't count on passing with a good grade or getting any feedback what so ever. You have to turn in your rough draft by week 5 with the hopes that you are actually going to get feedback and some thoughts from the teacher only to receive a sentence, literally one sentence. No notes on your 20+ pages or edits, just one sentence. You are required to do a paper yet no where in the directions did it state that it was a "research" project. You also have to do a power point presentation for this project yet it's not worth any points. How can something that is required for you to pass not be worth any points?! Do yourself a favor and look into all online programs before you chose UIU. I wish I had.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 5, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA (Online) It was an option to my local University that wanted the same amount of money for the program and have to commuted and expend time in a classroom. Some Professors were not helpful. But overall is a good University. It worked for me, they made a great transition from Master of Arts to the MBA.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Srluna67 (In Progress) on December 29, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great choice I made!!! I am about to begin my last class in the MBA program and I have nothing to offer but compliments about the studies. I have partaken in class projects that many of my friends have not in the master's curriculums at their schools. Obtaining an MBA from Upper Iowa University is a choice that one should not regret!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 4, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Upper Iowa University Accounting Program Technology is awful - Outlook Web Access is not a good platform for online education. It is slow and not at all user friendly. Program needs many improvements
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Isabel_vo (In Progress) on November 16, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Simply Great!!! I started my MBA online in August 2007. I was kind of skeptic at first but I have to say it was the best decision I made joining UIU. Not only do they have cheap tuition compared to other Universities, but they also offer great service; academically as well as administrative. I can just say it is great.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 1, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
reputable low-tuition RA MBA I am a current UIU MBA student from Hong Kong. It is a reputable program and it needs interactive learning with your classmates. The timetable is tough but I enjoy it very well. It just cost about $72,000 HKD (below $10,000 USD) It is almost the lowest price in RA MBA. Vincent
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Upper Iowa University