Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Walden University

  • Walden University Reviews

    Ranking: #59
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Walden University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of The North Central Association, www.ncahlc.org; 312-263-0456

3.0
293 Reviews
5 74 
4 75 
3 22 
2 48 
1 74 
0 0 

Walden University Reviews:

Acceptable.

MSN in Nursing - September 8, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At Walden, you truly get out of it what you put into it. This is true in all courses but especially so in Walden because the material each week is generally nothing but a list of readings from books you are assigned and some supplementary papers that you have to find and read. Don't expect recorded or webcasted lectures, you're going to be reading textbooks and papers. This is probably my biggest disappointment regarding the program, I wish we got more out of the money we are paying. You are paying a bunch of money to read books and papers that are easily accessible and to write a significant amount about topics. And to then have a professor give you a passing grade if you do the work in a timely fashion. There's not much challenge, it's just a matter of grinding out a significant amount of writing. On top of that, the topics each week are somewhat disjointed so it feels like you're bouncing all over the place. Professor interaction is minimal. They'll answer questions and sometimes respond to discussion threads. I don't feel like the professors actually teach anything, they're more like administrators. Each week you have to post a discussion and two responses. These contribute very little value to the courses as the posts are often just source spam. The discussion typically requires three sources and the responses require two. This requirement for sources makes for very awkward responses as most students just write something that cites two sources. There is not much organic, natural discussion that happens in the courses. I feel like Walden is trying hard to overcome its poor reputation by pushing sources so hard. The quality and content of your writing doesn't matter, as long as you make an effort to discuss relevant topics and include sources in proper APA format you will get an A. Finding preceptors can be a challenge as a lot of organizations will NOT accept students from Walden. If you don't live in a major metro area or don't live in an area where medical workers are in high demand I suspect it might be very challenging to find preceptors. You are on your own when it comes to finding preceptors, Walden will not assist you. I was fortunate enough to have contacts to utilize for most of my preceptors. Overall, I'm happy with the program because it was a cheaper, easier way to get a MSN. It checked my checkbox to become a NP, which is what I wanted. If I actually needed to learn the course material I'd be extremely angry about the poor quality of delivery and content. If you're looking to check off that MSN requirement to become a NP, Walden should be considered. If you want more out of a program, I'd look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Walden University- Current FNP student

MSN in Nursing - August 22, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current MSN FNP student at Walden and I absolutely love this school. I would agree with some that some of the professsorsnare very slow to grade, which can be frustrating, but I have only had a couple that were slow. Walden has many resources available to assist students with succeeding and frequently have webinars that provide additional support as well. I currently have a 4.0 and I have worked hard for my grades, spending anywhere from 15 - 20 hours a week on my schoolwork. Walden is a very fast paced and if you don’t put in the time and effort, you’ not going to learn the material. I am a member of Facebook groups and it never ceases to amaze me at how many students ask on the forum about procedures or assignments, which is proof that they apparently are not reading the information, whether it be on the weekly information or from the catalog. As a graduate student, iif you don’t have enough interest in your own personal growth to read the material, don’t blame the school or the professor for you’re own failures. I think it is an excellent school and I feel like I am being prepared for my future, but I am working for it. Walden is the 2nd online program that I have attended and it is by far the most supportive school.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful

MSN FNP Walden University

MSN in Nursing - June 1, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will be completing the Walden MSN-FNP program in 5 months and would like to offer an honest opinion on this school. First off, as far as flexibility- this school is on point! I was able to continue working full-time during the first few quarters (with plenty of late nights/early mornings) but had to drop to part-time once clinicals began. The school does not decrease coursework while you are in clinical rotations, it may even be more in my opinion. However, I am overall pleased with the didactic portion of each course I have taken thus far. I underestimated this program initially from the scattered online reviews, but I am glad I chose this university. You do interactive things like filming online assessments and participating in discussion posts with your peers. I have worked my tail off and have been studying like I should be at a grad level and some people do not. This is why I think people have bad things to say. With all of this being said I have already had interviews and have already been called back for 2nd interviews with shadowing opportunities. For the cons of the program.... Finding preceptors are horrible and stressful! I have been successful being placed, however, I did have a run in with the field office due to potential delays that they tried to throw my way. I will be honest, I was not very happy with the whole situation, as they said there were not enough instructors for the online course. EVEN THOUGH I HAD A PRECEPTOR!!!! How is this possible? I am not sure, but was able to speak directly with the director of the entire program and was shortly approved thereafter. My advice get your ducks together from day 1! I did this, with the exception of my current practicum and have had no issue. The only other negative thing I would comment on is a simple one... The ped's book is awful, but this has been the only complaint so far regarding materials. Best of luck!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great school for rural learning

MSN in Nursing - September 15, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Walden’s FNP program with a 4.0 (in 2017) and just had recently passed my board exam (AANP) with no issues at all. I’ve had eclectic learning experiences that incorporated university classes taken in different countries and the USA. I have attended both brick and mortar and online schools and have several degrees. My experience with Walden University’s FNP program was positive. The program is rigorous and intense, but with proficient study habits and time management skills a self-directed student can do well. I live in a rural isolated area in Colorado and a brick and mortar school was not an option for me. There are three practicing NP’s in my town who all have graduated from Walden’s FNP program. All have been successful with their education, clinical rotations and in their current careers. None of us had issues finding preceptors for our clinical rotations, and most of us had used the same preceptors! My preceptors were thrilled to take me, a Walden “local student” because I knew the idiosyncrasies of my patients and was able to relate and connect to them. Because I had to find my own preceptors for my clinical rotations I was given the gift/opportunity tailor my experience. I was able to do my clinical rotations with highly respected providers who practice in the realm of holistic/alternative and regular medicine. If you want the opportunity to tailor your clinical education to suit your ideal future practice Walden University offers this! Choose Walden, you won’t regret it!

Was this review helpful?

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Not for undisciplined. Intellectuals will excel & appreciate flexibility

MSN in Nursing - August 25, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You will see great fluctuations in Walden reviews because, honestly, it's hard work. Not everyone can keep up and it's easier to blame the school for your shortcomings. If you're a traditional student and accustomed to being spoon fed in brick and mortar lectures or if you are a nurse practitioner student and are not able to network and use your own professional demeanor to acquire clinical sites, you're going to struggle. Not everybody gets a trophy. But if you are disciplined and can read and comprehend extensively and write critically using very strict APA format and scholarly resources, Walden is incredibly organized and well established in online learning. I have been impressed and my other two degrees are from top tier universities. I am in the MSN NP program, my last year. There are some super smart people in the program with me and there have been many before us graduating with a high NP board pass rates first time out. Not all the people that started the program with me are still with us. It is rigorous and you will wash out if you can't hang and do the work. The wash outs are the ones writing a lot of these negative reviews because Walden didn't hand hold them enough. News flash - the world won't hold your hand or go find jobs for you either. I've gotten three NP job offers while establishing my clinical sites. It's all in how you sell yourself. Walden expects you to be self sufficient and teaches you how to do it. In fact there are numerous seminars, workshops, and resources to do just that. Way more than I got in a brick and mortar school. But you have to self motivate. And do the work. It's just like the real world. I have a 4.0 GPA working full time and attending full time (have 2 other honors degrees) and have found eight clinical preceptors on my own. It's completely doable but you need to own the challenge and the process. It is not a cake walk. I am graduating with some extremely intelligent people but most of all, they are work ethic lions.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Not worth it they retaliate and they are racist

MSN in Nursing - June 7, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

GO to a reputable school don't waste your time or money on Walden The prices of books purchased through the university are excessive. A paperback book dated over 10 years old can cost $75.00 and you can never sell the books back to the university. Commonly, the reasoning provided is that books “no longer being used”. Tuition has increased four times in the two years I have attended. Instructors are confrontational, unhelpful, delayed in providing you your grades. Retaliatory actions are supported at this organization. No process in place when attempting to report and when you do report you are retaliated by the program coordinator None of your credits will be transferred over so the whole spill about getting credit hours for your knowledge is non-existence Your final grades can take up to three weeks to be posted They send you a bill for your next class while you're still in another and not even registered for the next semester and expect payment but can't provide grades on time

Was this review helpful?

19 of 26 people found the following review helpful

MSN-FNP Graduate

MSN in Nursing - June 7, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Walden earning my MSN for FNP in November of 2016. I took my certification in December of 2016 and passed on the first try. I now work in my dream job making a very competitive salary as a nurse practitioner. I had clinical rotations with FNP students from all the schools in my area as well as other online schools, we had the same books, and many of the same topics week to week. All the students in my clinical rotations with me had to find their own preceptors, whether they were online students or brick and mortar students. Not one of my clinical instructors cared where I was going to school. They just cared that I worked hard to understand the specialty, and they cared that I cared about what I was doing and about learning. I am not a 4.0 student. I did this with 5 kids and a full time job. Walden more than prepared me for my practice. It is competitive to get in. It is not inexpensive. It is definitely not easy (that last year of clinical rotations is a doozy!)! However, if you are willing to put in the work, you will get there!

Was this review helpful?

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Put in the work MSN-AGPCNP

MSN in Nursing - October 27, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will be finished with my master's in 3 months. I have put a lot of work into this program as it is online and a graduate degree. Anyone not prepared to do the work will not succeed. Because you lack a professor lecturing, it does take more work on the student's part. You get out what you put in. All the help is there with Walden so don't get frustrated. Many complain about having to find preceptors. Guess what? All schools require this. You have to go out and market yourself to get them, and it is a pain. I have seen other students within my program and others that are skating by and they will not pass their boards and do not represent their school well. If you do the work, you'll pass your boards and do well.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful

FNP Program

MSN in Nursing - August 23, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started in this program as the second class (December 2012), and took my time through nearly three years as a part time student. With these years I watched the program changed and evolve. Walden as on online program allowed me to work while going to school and was one of the few options that I found worked for me with both financially and flexibility. This program is rigorous. I worked hard in my classes, putting in at least 35-40 hours of reading/studying and online coursework, in addition to countless hours researching after practicum hours. This is not a school that will hold your hand. I found the lack of help with finding preceptors disconcerting, although I have found that this is now the norm for many schools, including ivy league as I have several friends also in programs. The problem is that Walden does not pay a stipend for preceptors, which is helpful in areas that are saturated in NP/PA students. I felt prepared to take my boards and passed on my first attempt and was hired into a NP position within the first 6 months of my job search. I also went to school with several other women whom this was also the case for them. However, online schooling requires a strong work ethic and the ability to work alone and figure out things on your own. I learned the most in practicum sites and secured excellent sites. The help from my advisor and staff was minimal and sometimes required multiple phone calls to multiple departments. I found my professors engaging and helpful with the exception of one, and found pharmacology professor especially invigorating/passionate. I believe that I received an education through Walden that prepared me well for this career and would recommend it with the caution that this program requires self discipline and tenacity as well as self advocacy. I cant stress this enough: I would not attempt this program without already lining up preceptors, without practicum sites and quality preceptors this would be an expensive waste of time and resources. Expect to find those without assistance. This is also not a program for new nurses. A broad knowledge of nursing fundamentals is expected. I do feel that I received an education that was on par with other institutions in my area, and better than my private brick and mortar college BSN program.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Inconsistent, impersonal, and liars

MSN in Nursing - February 22, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended this school from June 2013 and just graduated with a master's in nursing in November of last year. The program classes and instructors were not an issue for me. Enrollment was easy, books were sent without issues....I will say that I think the class material could have been more challenging. It's like they want everyone to pass so they can keep your money coming. My problem is with administration, specifically, financial aid. I don't think the financial aid office, bursar's office or any of the support departments talk to each other. They are also rude, especially in financial aid. Financial aid representatives will give you varying answers depending on who is answering your question. There is no consistency, no professionalism, especially when your financial aid runs out. They are argumentative and write emails in red font. Awful. Rude. You don't get much for your $550/credit hour here folks. Also, finding clinical sites is a joke and this was something I was most certainly lied to about as I was told the school will help you find preceptors. They don't. They do provide you with a generic list of "approved sites" in your area - the problem is, most of these sites have never even heard of Walden University and many in my area will not accept students from Walden. When you finally find a preceptor, it takes forever for the field site office to approve anything and again, if you have any issues and questions, you may get different answers to your questions depending on who is answering. If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't waste my time or money here. Seems everyone knew Walden was a joke except me and by the time I found out, it was too late. My final advice regarding Walden University is simple: GO ELSEWHERE!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Still under review

MSN in Nursing - October 31, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't give a full review because I stated the program this August. I'm not doing as well as I expected because I didn't take it as seriously as my advisor told me. I am getting better now that I'm learning the ropes but it is definitely not a program to take lightly which is probably why the retention rate is low. Maybe they do accept a lot of students other universities won't but if those students graduate then they deserve the degree. You see, I'm one that couldn't get in to some other universities because I wasn't born with a silver spoon. I had to work my way through nursing school and had a family. I buried a child and went through a divorce during the time as well but that doesn't make me less educated or experienced even though my gpa is a 2.5. They give people like me a chance. As far as the amount of clinical hours, they don't offer as many as Duke offers but then again they don't charge $90,000 either when the minimum for licensure is only 500 hours. Most universities only offer 500 but walden requires 576. Do more research before just reading reviews and forming opinions from them. The states not listed are states that clinical a haven't been applied to and doesn't mean you can't get a license there. I'm from Louisiana and I spoke with bon who stated they look at each individual case not the schools. They only guarantee their state universities. Research people. Walden is a good school and my advisor is calling me ever other week to check on me.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Not enough clinical hours

MSN in Nursing - March 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not a Walden student, I am a Nurse Practitioner currently precepting a Walden student who is in her final clinical rotation and near graduation. I am extremely concerned about the relatively few clinical hours required of the students. Based on a general review of clinical hours required to graduate from a number of schools, including Duke University, where I received my MSN, Walden had the lowest requirements. And, sadly, it shows. My student is intelligent and motivated, and I expect that she will pass nursing boards on her first attempt, but she will have more difficulty in her first year of practice than she would have, if Walden required more clinical precepted hours. There simply is no substitute for this time. She will have only 288 total clinical hours in a family practice setting, and an additional 288 hours divided between pediatrics and women's health (ob/gyn). This is, very simply, not enough hands-on, precepted, clinical time.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Avoid - I was falsely accused based on their error!

MSN in Nursing - February 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Walden University (WU) from 2013 unitl January 2015 when I withdrew from the class, nursing program, and university. I was in the MSN-FNP program. I have 15 years nursing experience with extensive bedside and management experience.I possess excellent writing and people skills and use rhetoric to make valid, clear points. I was 2 classes away from graduation and had rerouted by life and career in order to complete my MSN degree. I received permission from my instructor to use some parts of a previously submitted assignment in a current assignment for her class. On New Year's Day I received an email falsely accusing me of "academic dishonesty" and "self-plagiarism". They told me I had to do some remedial on-line modules and explain my actions. I completed the modules to discover blantant contradictions in their studnet code of conduct and the modules as well as information on the univeristy's writing center site regarding both topics I have been wrongly accused of. Why would I get permisison to cheat? How do you plagiarize yourself? Why did you grant me permission to do something you were going to punish me for doing? About 2 weeks of back and forth emails, attempted telephone conferences to bully me into seeing it their way, and threats of failure and I withdrew rather than look at by diploma and regret conceding my values. I have $40,000 in debt without any degree and a balance on my account to prevent me from event investigating transferrability of credits. This is the most glaring problem I had with WU; I had other issues with trying to contact academic advising, the MSN application departments, and a practicum field advisor. DO NOT ATTENT THIS UNIVERISTY, if you can even give it that name!!! Attend your local university at night or through online classes. At least with a traditional brick and mortar school, there is a person at a building in an office you can look at face to face when you have a problem.

Was this review helpful?

32 of 46 people found the following review helpful

No Problems- Walden MSN-FNP

MSN in Nursing - February 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in the Fall of 2012 for the MSN-FNP program. I was hesitant at first because it was a new program, but many schools are just now or have recently started 100% online programs, such as Georgetown. If you have 80-90K to go to Georgetown then by all means go for it. Yes, it is a internationally known school but the cost is just too high. The program at Walden is very rigorous, so be prepared to spend a great deal of time in your coursework. I spent on average 20-30 hours per week writing papers, reading, and studying and that was before I started my clinical rotations. I did find my own preceptors(course 1-NP, course 2-NP, course 3-MD, course 4-DO) which was a hassle, but definitely doable. When I began my rotations, which I doubled up on, I spent 40 hours per week at my rotation and then most every night and weekend tackling the actual coursework. It was brutal, but I completed the program with honors, Sigma Theta Tau international. I have taken the live in-person Barkley review course and I am currently studying for the AANP certification. I will be taking this in a few weeks. I have already submitted my licensure paperwork for my state and all they are waiting for is my certification in order to issue my license. I have had offers for employment in both acute and primary care. I do not regret completing my degree at Walden. I am currently enrolled in a brick and mortar DNP program and there was no issue with my MSN from Walden. I feel like most people who write reviews are those people who have had a negative experience, but I really feel like it is necessary to portray the positive experience I had. Good luck to all.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 34 people found the following review helpful

MSN-FNP Program

MSN in Nursing - December 16, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an experienced, certified, cardiac registered nurse who works in a hospital. My first online experience with continuing my education with nursing school was with a local brick and mortar school that had an "online" program that was a mess, very disorganized, instructors were not experienced. I ended up taking a break for a year, and many times thinking I may never go back. I began to explore various online programs for my FNP. My grades have always been high, I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa and Sigma Theta Tau, and entry to FNP school is competitive. I applied everywhere, and I was accepted at several public programs with wait lists for the following year. I went to a seminar for the FNP program at Walden where I spoke to advisors and other nursing students. I applied, and I was accepted for six months out. They called me two months later and said they would like to offer me a spot that opened up. I began one quarter earlier than promised. I chose them because I wanted to get started, the cost was not as low as a public university, but it was less than many of the other online programs. I want to say that if you are not accustomed to or even prepared for taking rigorous online courses, Walden is not for you. If you do not like to write in strict APA format, you do not want to learn to write well using research, or you feel it is not for you to have to learn to discuss things in writing on a scholarly, evidenced-based level, Walden is not for you. If you are not prepared to spend 15-20 hours per week at a minimum on your classwork, do not waste your money by going to Walden. I am an A-B student, I do not have a 4.0. I have three children, two of which are school age. I work full time. It is difficult. Most of the instructors are not only experienced, they are currently working in a full time position outside of their instructional position, so they are well versed in current clinical issues. We take two 5 hour classes at a time for which we post 1 main post (350 words minimum, with references) and a minimum of 3 discussion posts (150 word minimum, with references). We write one paper every other week in each class, they are usually staggered between the two classes. Those papers are sometimes 3-5 page papers, but there is usually a large project or a longer paper due once per quarter per class towards the end. I am currently in my Advanced Pathophysiology class, and, very much like RN school, it is like taking a sip out of a fire hydrant. It is a ton of information, and it takes a lot of time to sort out. Last week we had 15 chapters of reading assigned and a 3-5 page paper with a mind map. There were two discussions so we had to post the two 350 word posts and then have 4 responses with APA format by the end of the week. My instructor has her DNP and she is an experienced, practicing nurse practitioner. Each nursing instructor I have had has either had her Doctorate or her PhD. On a side note, I live in Texas, and the Board of Nursing does accept practicums from Walden. I work with many nurses who are in graduate school and taking online courses from several different schools, and it is a given that you have to find your own preceptors. I am not shocked that people are not happy with the program, because I think that people go into these programs without realizing how disciplined you must be to earn a clinical degree online. For the lady who thought the program was "boring," all I have to say is that graduate school is not for your entertainment. For the ones who did not get their paperwork in on time, I am sorry to hear it. I think that Walden does a great job with the organization because they have been an online school for a long time. The classes have consistency across the board. The rules are the same, it is only the subjects and assignments that change for the course content. The advisors do take some time to get ahold of at times, but it is still better than most brick and mortar schools I have attended where the advisors are almost impossible to talk to. However, my instructors are readily available and believe in what they do. I cannot finish this review without talking about the people who I attend graduate school with. They are from all over the country. They have all levels of experience. They work in all kinds of specialties. The discussions we have are enlightening. We all support each other and often discuss solutions for issues in our workplace. I feel so satisfied with my experience at Walden because it is a great education for the people who take the time to really interact. Online classes are not for everyone. Graduate school is not for everyone either. It is really important to be realistic about what your strengths are, and how you learn, before you choose a place to prepare to become an Advanced Practice Nurse. For me, Walden has been a great experience so far, well worth the money, and well worth the time investment in myself.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 40 people found the following review helpful

MSN LEADERSHIP AND MANAGEMENT!

MSN in Nursing - June 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

i am enrolled in the MSN Leadership and management program! I was a bit skeptical about Walden when I first started. Some people have had bad experiences, but online schooling is what you make of it. Also, you know about your practicum from day 1 so you should start looking for preceptors in your area as soon as school starts so when it is time for your practicum you are not stuck and have to transfer to another school. THEY DO NOT HOLD YOUR HAND!!! The teachers have been amazing, the course work has been great! Some of the course work has been challenging. My academic adviser is wonderful. You can get help from the writing center, library, academic adviser, and your teacher! They also have a program where you can submit your papers before turning them in and it will tell you what you need to correct to make it the right APA format and your grammar errors. I can not say enough good things about Walden! When you first start, not a lot of things are explained so you have to dig in and ask the questions that you need answered! Like I said, they will not hold your hand. My experience has been Awesome and I can not wait to graduate. I would recommend this program to everyone. You MUST be able to manage your time and outside activities. You can spend anywhere from 10-20 hours a week on school work due to the required readings and assignments. It's not a walk in the park but it can be done if you really want to succeed. DEFINITELY COME TO WALDEN IF YOU WANT A CHALLENGING, YET REWARDING PROGRAM!!!

Was this review helpful?

18 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Skip Walden

MSN in Nursing - June 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Walden for 3 years, with a 4.0 GPA. All coursework is done but I cannot graduate with my MSN-FNP because Walden cannot find any placements for internships where I live. I have called over 140 different places and NOBODY takes Walden students. Only way is if your employer will take you - otherwise you are done after 3 years, $50K. If you transfer, you have to start over with a new college. This is a scam and the worst decision that I ever made.

Was this review helpful?

41 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Do not attend this school for FNP

MSN in Nursing - April 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Previous comments about Walden University and their support is true. I never felt supported and had to ask numerous times to get questions answered. They told me they would assist with clinical placements and they did not. I am currently 3/4 done with the program and am now going to have to transfer to another program and repeat classes because I could not find a clinical placement. And the Walden staff could care less! Thousands of dollars spent on this degree and now I will have to transfer and spend more money to complete it. The instructors were marginal at best. Do not waste your money on this school!

Was this review helpful?

25 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Great School

MSN in Nursing - March 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently graduated from Walden's FNP program. 10 days after I finished school I took the AANP certification examination, without taking a review course. I only studying about 3 weeks for the exam, a few hours per day, and passed it easily. Walden is not for everyone, they will not hold your hand in this program, but they will teach you everything you need to know to be successful You can make your experience at Walden as good as you choose it to be. I had a great experience, and learned an immense amount. I am now working at a rural health clinic Monday through Friday, with a fantastic salary. I am well respected by my colleagues, who have never once been concerned about my education. I have even been told that I seem very well prepared for the job. Walden is a great school!

Was this review helpful?

32 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Do not go to this school!

MSN in Nursing - January 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is out to get your money. I am in the MSN program everything was great until it came to my practicum. They lie to get in the school. My advisor told me the school will help find preceptors but they do not. Once they got you in they got you. I should have known something was wrong when it was too easy to get in the program. The quality of the curriculum is awful I feel as though I am teaching myself. This school does not prepare student nurse practitioners to be confident or competent enough to go out into the field and make accurate diagnoses. When I talk to people in the field, they say Walden University where is that school located then they frown when they realize it is an online program. In fact, some preceptors told me they won't even touch Walden students. Buyer beware I would look for another school. I wished someone warned me before I spent money. I am leaving this school and going to a real school that will teach real hands on skills.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Frustrating Experience

MSN in Nursing - November 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Walden is an online school and they all have there pros and cons. I have a 4.0 in my Masters program and I have worked my tail off for it at Walden. It is NO cakewalk! If there is anything I dislike about Walden's online programs it is this: You are enrolled in classes by the academic advising department. They do not desire or respond to your input. They select the professor for you, order your books, and basically have the control to do it without your input. I recently was enrolled in two nursing practicums at once and received a bill for both. It was an error or oversight on the part of the academic advising department. The issue is having to undo what is done. Many phone calls, waiting, hoping, and nailbiting while they fixed the problem. Then, I was enrolled in a practicum before my preceptor had been approved and began receiving strict guidelines from the instructor early in the morning on the weekend, a week before the class was to start. I immediately decided this was an over-zealous, micro-managing type of person who did not care that students were intently studying for their final tests in the classes that were ending. She just decided to save some time and work ahead and invade our email with detailed restrictive guidelines that she wanted students to follow for her class a week off. When I requested to be moved from her class to another, it was like an act of Congress. It's a very powerless feeling. She had no clinical experience in Nursing but instead had completed her undergraduate degree and then worked straight through for her Doctorate. My parents were both teachers. Their moto was, "Those that can, do. Those who can't, teach." That is why it is important to read the instructor's qualifications first and select someone who has Nursing experience and has actually been a nurse. Education is great. But we all know that Experience is a Great teacher!! Walden would be a better school if they would give students the opportunity to have input into their educational experience and not dictate the process. Just my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 26 people found the following review helpful

An awesome experience

MSN in Nursing - September 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished 8/30/2013. A good experience, teacher were supportive, the writing center, the student support and the student adviser. There were challenging time but at the end of it all the whole journey was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Just after your money

MSN in Nursing - August 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Teachers late in grading papers, grade for things that are not on the requirements for the paper such as if you dont put the teachers name on the paper and if you complain you are targeted by the teacher.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program

MSN in Nursing - March 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in the MSN-specialization in Leadership and Management and it has been an excellent experience. Compared to other online institutions, it really is a good deal for the money. The program is accrediated by Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)which is the same accrediation that many major university nursing programs have CCNE (Duke, UNC, John Hopkins, UMASS, Univ. Maryland, etc.). All of my professors are PhD nurses and all my classes have been engaging and I have truly has a great masters education. I am set to be done in October 2012 and believe I have received a great education to prepare me to be a contributing nursing leader.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Avoid walden at all cost.

MSN in Nursing - February 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Sorry to say this is not a school of learning. Primary focus is volume of assignments. I have assisted several students from various schools with communications and math courses. My advice is avoid Walden!!

Was this review helpful?

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful

I LOVE Walden

MSN in Nursing - November 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a Walden student in the MSN-education prograam, and I love it. This has been a wonderful experience and oppurtunity to advance my self and career. The program is intense but so is life, the instructors will prepare you to teach others the wonderful art and science of nursing upon completon. I am off to realize my dreams come Spring 2012, Thanks walden

Was this review helpful?

13 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Great Online School

MSN in Nursing - August 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently graduated in the MSN-nurse educator program, and I absolutely loved it! I felt like i was in traditional classes because its semester based and you take one class every 8 weeks with week or 2 break in between semesters. The text book are included in the tuition and they are delivered before classes begin. The intructors were very attentive and available. Student support services always available, never had any problems with advising. Great School!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

No one cared enough to answer me

MSN in Nursing - August 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Walden university from May of 2005 until April 2008 when my world crashed. In my final course, the school claimed that they never received the paperwork necessary for my practicum and thus refused to accept anymore of my work. my grade resulted in a zero. I spent countless hours trying to communicate someone at the school with no success. My advice to any potential student or existing student is to save all paperwork, emails, etc; have a back up plan and have multiple contact folks who can help you. My advisor never called me, the professor simply wrote an email and told me to stop sending her work. Needless to say, I am currently paying the student loan for a degree I never received. I have since moved on and have earned my degree from another reputable online school and I am currently pursuing my doctoral degree. The experiences have been great and I am so sorry for all of the students who are being ripped off. Once these folks have your money, no one answers the phone, email, letter, or any other form of communication. Buyer beware!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Excellent program!

MSN in Nursing - March 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the MSN in Nursing Education with Walden, and I am glad I did. The faculty was excellent, the coursework was challenging and the program was organized so I could plan my work and family life around it. I am considering a post masters certificate, and I am coming right back to Walden. I would recommend this school to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

MSN In Nursing Informatics

MSN in Nursing - December 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Walden is an excellent place to advance my career. My classes have taught me a great deal about informatics. I have more knowledge than my directors! The classes are very hard and time consuming. I am getting all A's. I am learning relevant and current information. I am one step ahead of everyone at work because of this program. I can see myself advancing very quickly with this degree. I have already been asked to sit on the executive committee board. I feel so sorry for those who did not have a good experience at Walden. They probably just didn't get it. Walden is an accredited university, equal to other brick and mortar state colleges. I recommend Walden highly. The professors must have a PhD. Many professors have certifications, publications, and years of experience. The only con of Walden is the cost. I paid far too much per credit. It is outrageous. It's close to 1800 per class now. It is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Walden U - MSN Nursing Education

MSN in Nursing - August 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am reading some of these reviews about Walden and I wonder what school these people really attended. I recently graduated from the MSN - Nursing Education Specialization and my experience was exceptional. I learned to be a leader and scholar. I learned information about adult learning principles that are current and up-to-date. I never once had a facilitator that was poor - never once! I will admit that at times I felt financial aid or advising could have been more receptive or a little more helpful on the phone, but any issues I ever had were resolved timely. To say that Walden's programs offer diploma mill pieces of paper is an insult to people like myself that have worked hard, in a rigorous program. I am proud of my masters degree and Walden University!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Keep looking for another school!

MSN in Nursing - November 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Walden for a year now, and I want out. I chose Walden because it is all on-line and I have kids, but I wish I wouldn't have wasted my time. The classes are boring and a waste of time. I have received A's in all of my classes, but I feel I have not learned anything useful to my career. Advising is VERY unhelpful and rude. I don't have much nice to say about this program. I am getting out and starting over, take my advise, don't get in!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Challenging Study

MSN in Nursing - November 14, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a bit skeptical when I began the Walden MSN program, but I am impressed with not only its quality, but the fact that the textbooks are current, the information is NOW, and the price includes the cost of textbooks. I am being challenged, but I am also being respected for my knowledge obtained from experience. I highly recommend this program. It's not for anyone needing hand-holding, or anyone needing constant reassurance and direction. You must be adult enough to be able to know what is expected of you as a professional, and an adult learner, and deliver it without requiring an explanation.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Walden University in any way.