Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Western Governors University

  • Ranking: #21
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Regional, NCATE and CAHIIM

3.7
361 Reviews
5 135 
4 133 
3 22 
2 25 
1 46 
0 0 

Western Governors University Reviews:

I finished 93 competency units in four months

B.S. Business Management - May 13, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So, I began my journey at WGU on 1 January 2016. I wanted to finish my BS in Business, and wanted to do it as quickly as possible. I never dreamed I would be able to finish everything in four months! It was a good program, I learned a lot, but I also set a punishing pace and worked 18 hours a day, 7 days a week to finish it.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Great choice for the self-motivated learner needing to complete their university degree

B.S. Business Management - February 23, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Firstly, let me say that I did not go through the financial aid process so can't comment on that. That being said, I can only image that it is Byzantine at best regardless of the school you attend. Why WGU? It is accredited and it is online, allowing for the flexibility I needed to complete my degree. My work and business travel schedule prohibited me from going to a traditional school that has strict attendance requirements and rigid schedules. In addition, my salary did not allow me to apply for financial aid so their set tuition suited my needs. That is why the set tuition, regardless of credits completed, was great for me. Additionally, I liked that I could "set my own pace". There were some courses that I felt, after years of personal and professional development, were "tedious" because I already had knowledge of the content area. Granted, the self-pacing/self-study was daunting because you have to be motivated AND organized to handle this type of learning process. Luckily, I have always thrived in this type of environment. So be forewarned that your own personal motivation and organization are the key to your success. The courses (assignments and tests). The online proctoring of tests was tedious in that there are many technical requirements that need to be met (internet connection, virus software, operating systems/computer types, etc.). That being said, it seems to be this way every time technology is involved. I feel for our IT department at work dealing with the "confusion" of us non-IT mortals! :-D Regardless, I got through it. In addition, when turning in assignments, I found it helpful to use a software program such as Grammarly that would give me a % score with regards to possible plagiarism or duplicate online content. This is because WGU, like many universities, puts your written assignments through the Turn-It-In online system used by many universities today. The assignment is given a % score based on perceived duplicated content through an online scan/search. You MUST be aware of this and address the issue BEFORE turning in an assignment to save the need for revision. Also, I would recommend actually reading the rubrics of the requirements they will be looking for in each assignment. Having a rubric checklist that I "checked off" prior to submission helped to save time with regards to resubmission and corrections. The courses (tutoring and instruction) Finally, if you require significant tutoring on subjects, this university may not be suitable since it is primarily for working professionals with a strong sense of self-management and individual initiative. There are course mentors to call on but they will usually guide you to where to find the information you need. Some will also provide online study groups or learning sessions for those struggling. But you should not expect a "classroom teaching environment". If that is what you need, you should go back to university full-time in a classroom environment. All in all, I have to say it was a great experience that allowed me to complete my degree after years of wanting to but not having a higher education university model that could fit my full-time working needs.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

It's alright

B.S. Business Management - January 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

iI have mixed feelings about WGU. Money-wise, it's a great value. If you have the time to speed through your courses, you can shave time and money off your degree. However, if you're like me and simply don't have the time to work ahead, don't expect to be graduating early. The courses are also hit-and-miss. Some I have found very useful, full of information and I have learned a lot. Some were frustrating not because the course material was hard, but because it was poorly explained and hard to understand. Some courses have assignments that don't seem to have much to do with the course itself. I have also seen many praise the mentor's within the school's community. However, my experience has been less than fantastic. In one course, their were 5 assignments you needed to pass in order to pass the class. I passes 4 of them (1-3, 5) my first try. The other was sent back for revisions several times with vague comments such as "this has errors". When I contacted the course mentor for help or clarification, I was simply told to review the course of study as if I had not done that already looking for the problem. When I explained I had utilized the Lee sources available to me, I simply never received a response. As to my own mentor (you get back personal mentor on top of the course mentors), I really don't see the purpose. I am required to speak with her every week. Many rimes, the conversation is only a few minutes long because it's basically the same conversation each week. She asks how I'm doing, if I need anything, and tells me to have a good week. What does this accomplish? I have people I actually know who can ask those same questions. So overall, it's ok. Some people seem to really love WGU and some seem to hate it. It has its pros and cons. If you're going to do an online school, I would suggest WGU because they're accredited and it's definitely not a degree mill. Just know you may not like all aspects of the school, and online learning isn't the best fit for everyone.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

WGU is great for motivated learners

B.S. Business Management - December 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just submitted my final capstone project to complete my BS in Business Management with WGU. Online was the really the only option for me to continue my education and I selected WGU because it offered the opportunity for me to complete my studies faster and cheaper based on how fast I could progress through my studies. I have been very pleased with the content of the courses, the course mentors and my program mentor. I found the course resources (communities, on-line books and lectures, etc) to be very helpful. I have learned concepts that I was able to put to use in my work immediately. I do think your WGU experience, just like any other educational experience, will be what you choose to make of it. You have to work very hard and disciplined. I am very proud of my accomplishments at WGU and WGU. I would recommend WGU to any potential student who really wants to learn and is willing to work.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

B.S. in Business Mgmt - on my way!

B.S. Business Management - December 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending WGU for almost 18 months. I would not have been able to afford to go back to school or able to attend classes the "traditional" way. I had 17 credit hours transfer - that wasn't as many as I'd have liked, but then I didn't take the types of classes that WOULD transfer. I have completed 42 credits as of today. The school is affordable, they assign you a mentor (motivator!) and you have mentors and teachers available for each course. You work at your own pace to learn. This school does NOT want you to fail. It isn't easy, but it is convenient and empowering. You must be the type of person who wants to succeed. I don't mean the kind of person who's been successful at dieting or rising to the top at work; I mean the person who says, "I've wanted my degree and now that it's attainable, I'm getting it..." that's all. Then, in the evenings, instead of reading for pleasure or watching TV, you're studying. I assure you, if I can do this, you can do it, too.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

WGU is the Best ONLINE college, but it is till only OK.

B.S. Business Management - October 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What are you really looking for in a Degree? Well this is my experience wit WGU. My program was BS Business Management. It took me 4 years because I live such a busy, with kids and work and whatever else. I'm going to give you my honest opinion. Keep in mind, I have been to a traditional college. I completed an AA degree at at traditional college. If you are ready to do a lot of learning on your own, then WGU is for you. Yes you will learn from this college, but most of it is self teaching. There is no professors to help you, teach you, etc. Many post on here will say, "there is no one there to hold your hand through the program." C-mon, get real. That is not what College Professors do. College Professors TEACH you the material and give very informative lectures. With WGU, it is more like reading a book and giving the book report. The negative part about that, is are you actually learning anything. More than half of the computer exam questions come from the practice exams. And most of the computer exams can be passed with just a 60% or higher. Some courses I have passed only required a % somewhere in the 50% rage. So your telling me that, you can pass a course by only knowing 50-60% of the material. Well that was me ranting on WGU. Now I have some positive things to say. It is accredited, Thank goodness. It is affordable. And it is done on your own time. You can span your degree out for a few years like I had to do, or you complete an entire program in as little as one term (6 Months). The work is challenging, so you may actually learn a few things. You definitely learn how to discipline yourself. One thing I am proud of is that I can honestly say, "If I don't know the answer, I will find the answer." Haha, that is what I mean. You pretty much have to teach yourself, so if you want that Degree, you WILL find the answer. I think that statement is consistent with other reviews here. I will say that I believe Mentors are pretty much useless. They call every week to make sure you are doing your work. Almost like someone holding your hand through your program haha. Well, I did get an e-mail from my Mentor saying that If I did not connect with her Next week, then there would be some kind of disciplinary action. Not a direct quote, I just don't remember what she said would happen. It is policy that you connect with your Mentor every week. I didn't like talking with my Mentor, it was pointless and I felt she was rude. O' and my Mentor changed mid program. Once I was comfortable with one, it switched. Well, I did call one of my State University's and asked if they accepted my WGU degree for transfer credits and I got a big YES. (Hell Ya) I still may go back to WGU for my Masters. Only because it's damn cheap. Hell of a lot cheaper than any traditional college. And still accredited just a much. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great School

B.S. Business Management - June 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from WGU in late 2011. It was a great experience. Sure there were places that were hard and I had to really buckle down, but the course work was top-notch. Through the knowledge I gained during my program I was able to achieve some significant results at work. This led to a very nice promotion. WGU has opened knew opportunities for me. I'm now working on my MBA. The best part is how affordable and flexible it is. I definitely would recommend this school!! P.S. I used Federal financial aid throughout my program and never had a problem.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Know your facts

B.S. Business Management - May 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please get your facts striaght WGU has 6 month terms - not about three month terms. Paper and assignments are graded using a matrix and yes a human grades them. You may experience a differece between one class and another. I was furstrated sometimes as well. But one thing to remember know what the assignment asks for and question the course mentor. This way there is no confusion. WGU is great, helpful and best of all you can complete it on your own schedule.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

WGU is GREAT

B.S. Business Management - April 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my masters in nursing with WGU. This was after completing my bachelors in nursing with them as well. Never had a problem. The issues with financial aid were simple questions that I had and needed clarification on. They were extremely helpful. My mentor was great and whenever I had an issue with grades not coming quickly or with papers being graded too hard, she took care of everything for me. I love this school. I believe the education I have recieved is second to none.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful

I'm generally very happy with WGU

B.S. Business Management - March 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed the RN to BSN program at WGU. I have to say that I am very happy with my experience at WGU. My student mentor was amazing! She went above and beyond, anytime I asked for help. Also, I saw a few complaints about the financial aid dept - I did not have one problem the whole time I was there. It came through every semester. For the most part, the courses were useful. It was easy to find test centers in my area. I agree that, depending on the class, it takes a little long to have your papers graded. It's an accredited program, inexpensive, and you work on your own time. I definitely got what I needed out of WGU

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

A real education for people who REALLY want it.

B.S. Business Management - March 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is not a free ride! People who want to have their hands held through their coursework need not apply. This is a real education which students can use in real world. It is all about effort. If you put forth the required effort and study, learn and apply the skills WGU teaches, you will do fine. If you expect to be handed a piece of paper for doing little or nothing, then please don't waste the university's time. I don't want to see or hear negative comments about WGU. I HATED commuting to a brick and mortal school only to sit and be forced to learn things I already knew, pay big money for it, and then go home and do "busy work"! Brick and mortar schools are a rip off and a waste of time and money. WGU is the best option for working adults who don't have hundreds of thousands of dollars and tons of time to finish a four-year degree.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Worst paper-grading system ever.

B.S. Business Management - February 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently quit WGU because I was about to defenestrate myself over the ridiculous grading process they use for written submissions. WGU assigns 4-5 papers per term, and a term is about 3 months. Even if you do manage to find time to write a paper, once you submit it to TaskStream, just kiss your sanity goodbye. The graders are completely nonsensical with their criteria; they don't even adhere to the rubric/Course of Study. They seem to reject things and send them back for revisions for no good reason. The straw that broke my back was when I submitted a project where I had to write a short work memo to my "boss" about a certain law. It was rejected (of course) and the grader said "great job! you obviously grasp the material, perfect! just elaborate more." When I asked my mentor why I have never had a single solitary paper get passed, she couldn't even answer me. She read all my papers; I emailed them to her asking her to show me what was wrong with them. She knew just as well as I did that the graders are full of crap. To this day, I have never had a single paper get passed. NOT ONE. AT ALL. EVER. The tests I pass just fine; studying and taking a test doesn't rely on some buffoon judging your work, there are clearly defined right and wrong answers. This entire thing has been ridiculous. I hope WGU reads this and fires those loons at TaskStream. Those idiots are costing you students. Let me know if things change, I'll gladly come back, it's just that my time and sanity are too precious to waste any further. I am very disappointed, WGU was very affordable and the curriculum superb.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Rebuttal to opinion that WGU's mentors are worthless

B.S. Business Management - June 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In regards to "Anonymous" post that WGU's mentors are worthless and don't know the material, but rather are merely cheerleaders--there are two types of mentors every student has at WGU. One type is a student mentor who helps the student navigate the curriculum, communicates with them weekly about their progress and does some "cheerleading" when some additional motivation is needed. Student mentors are assigned to work with individuals and are not content based individuals. Course mentors, on the other hand are specialists in their field of study and they are the ones available to help with content issues. If you have had challenges with the content, you should have communicated that to your student mentor and s/he would have made sure you had contact with the appropriate course mentor. As many have said before me, at WGU the expectation is that YOU take responsibility for expressing and seeking out what you need. No one will spoon feed you, but there are plenty of resources and knowledgeable people at your disposal if you take the intiative to use them.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Best education decision I ever made!!

B.S. Business Management - June 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After complFinishing my degree was always a priority of mine. I had completed two A.A. programs at the local community college. I was in my mid 30’s, working full time with a family. For me a conventional brick and mortar school was just not an option. After a lot of research I settled on WGU and I am very happy with my decision. As others have said, this is not an EASY program. Yes, I was able to finish my B.S. in two semesters. Once I started I didn’t stop until I was finished. I didn’t take a Christmas break, a spring break, a summer break, or any other breaks. For one full year I dedicated my time to school. The other thing is, if I would have taken these same classes when I was in my early 20’s it would have been MUCH harder. I had over 10 years of working experience that directly related to the school work I was doing. One month before completing my program I was laid off! The community I live in has an unemployment rate of 20% and within just a couple of months I was able to land a good job. I am very confident that my degree from WGU was a positive factor. While I understand WGU is not for everyone, for many working adults WGU is a perfect fit.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Time to complete

B.S. Business Management - June 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The time it takes you to complete your degree is entirely up to you. I had to push my mentor a bit but I completed my degree in 1 semester with no transfer credits. I usually woke up at around 6 AM and studied until an average at 6pm. So 10-12 hours per day 5 days a week. Half of the semester I maybe only put in 5-8 hours per day, others I put in more than 12. I worked weekends so I only did schoolwork Monday-Friday. Point being, I completed my Bachelors in accounting in 1 semester from start to finish with no transfer credits. I paid $3,000 (only purchased 1 book)for a 4 year degree where my wife went to a private school and paid about 60,000 (and took her 4 years). Needless to say the return on investment is much better with WGU. I will be starting my Masters in August. To my knowledge I am the only student to complete a program this fast (there are probably but others I haven't asked the school). If it takes you 4 years to get a degree from WGU you should still be proud of yourself and its most likely going to be more enjoyable than a traditional school because you don't have to sit through a boring class when you don't want to. Beware... Taskstream (the grading company for roughly half of your classes) is garbage. The graders almost never understand the material they are grading, they simply look for key words and phrases so you have to submit all of the work to them as if you are discussing it to a 3rd grader. Some graders are very helpful and good, but its about as rare as getting great service at a fast food restaurant. Other than that, its up to you for completion time and as far as quality of education, I have many friends who attend other local state universities and WGU's material is more up to date and field relevant (by a small but noticeable amount). Obviously WGU is not on par with Harvard, Notre Dame, or other top tier schools but I would place it at the bottom of the top 25% schools for quality of education.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Simply Brilliant!

B.S. Business Management - June 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I transfered to WGU after attempting several times to return to school. I completed my associates degree several years ago but work commitments, lack of local university flexibility and finances got in my way. After looking at several online universities including Franklin and Arizona, I settled with WGU because of its location, competency based programs, 6 month terms and $$$ savings. Best decision I've made yet!! Don't expect much the first month. It takes time to get everything set up and to understand how the classes work. . . even for computer savy people like me. It was a bit different from anything I've done before. THE PROGRAM IS NOT, I repeat, IS NOT an easy out. The work is hard and it does take awhile but you can test out of the information you know to finish faster. The more time you have to complete tasks the faster you will graduate. Its that simple. At WGU, YOU are the only person holding you back. I finished 7 classes my first semester. Which means I have two semsters to go. At the local university this program would have taken me AT LEAST 3 years to complete. Thanks WGU. Brilliance online!!!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

So Good So Far

B.S. Business Management - October 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started at WGU August 1st of 2010. They gave me an expected graduation date of February 2012. This was disappointing because I thought it'd be faster than that, but I went along with it. As of today I have completed five classes (will be six on Thursday of next week). My mentor is great...it is true that mentors are not teachers, they just help with your schedule and direct you as to where and how to study for your courses.I love going to this school and I went to a major university in Florida this information IS comparable. I am looking forward to graduating and going on to my master's degree. I will tell you this if you're worried about if your degree will be accredited...yes. If you're worried if you can do the work-maybe you shouldn't go here because it is A LOT of work and there is no one on your back making you do this so you need self discipline or you will lose your money. I only spent close to $3000 for this semester and I will spend the same next...a bachelor's degree from an accredited university for $6000 not bad.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Some FACTS You Should Note

B.S. Business Management - October 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After reviewing some of the comments about this institution, I thought that it would make sense for me to offer a reply with facts and personal experience. A "scam" is when you pay for something and do not receive what you paid for. I find it insulting for Western Governors University to be called a "scam". The degrees are recognized by the government and if your employer doesn’t consider the degree “credible,” your employer needs to step into learning of the 21st century. Online learning is more difficult then traditional brick and mortar learning. Majority of the information you "need to know" to pass is presented to you daily in lecture in traditional brick and mortar learning environments and you are specifically guided to where to find the information you need to "pass the exam". WGU is structured in a way where majority of the research and learning is completed by you on an individualized basis, using the "course of study" as a road map. The main benefit from distant learning is the ability to learn on your own time, however, the drawback is that for the most part you must learn on your OWN. The realities of the college student today are not like they were 20 or 30 years ago and more colleges will start to adapt to the new marketplace. Today’s student is balancing a full time work schedule and perhaps a family, all while trying to also complete a full time degree enrollment. Gone are the days where you just go to school and study only, so learning of the 21st century will start to adapt to this model more and more, offering more distant learning courses in my opinion. Either you catch up with the tide or drown in the wave.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Now Obtaining Masters from Texas A&M

B.S. Business Management - September 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my BS in 2008. I've read some reviews on here that the courses were not transferrable. To those people, are you sure? My courses were transferrable. I was going to do all of my degree except the last few classes and transfer to Texas A&M so I could have that name on my Diploma. The classes would have transferred but in order to graduate from A&M you have to take a minimum of 20 hours. I opted to finish from WGU and then obtain my Master's from Tx A&M. I enrolled in A&M as soon as I graduated from WGU and I did not have to take any prerequisite classes. I also am well prepared for my Master's because of WGU and haven't had any problems. You have to be disciplined in order to do any online coursework. My only complaint with WGU was my mentor; however, I was able to work independently and did not require much interaction with my mentor. There is still the negative attitude toward an online college. If your schedule allows a brick and mortar school, I would prefer that but ONLY because I am sometimes involved in the hiring process and have witnessed several applicants be immediately ignored because they graduated from an online university. Hopefully, as more of us take higher level positions, we can change the attitude towards an online degree from an accredited university. I do believe it will take time.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Online Education - Are You a Fit?

B.S. Business Management - February 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending WGU for 2.5 yrs now and will be graduating this year. Due to living in a rural area, online learning was very attractive to me. I have also attended a "traditional" classroom university and find that the materials are comparable, though I can only speak to my degree path. I thoroughly enjoy WGU and would recommend them to anyone. However, the one thing to remember with an all online course structure is it is self-directed. You will not have people holding your hand, but you will have the support and the tools you'll need. You must have the passion and focus to get the tasks completed. Not everyone is a good fit so please ensure you have done some serious self-reflection or you will set yourself up for failure. Good luck in all your education endeavors!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great School

B.S. Business Management - January 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think that WGU is a great school. The mentors are great, easy to get a hold of and very helpful. The material can be challenging, but it should be considering this is college level material. If you do your work, it is easily doable.

Was this review helpful?

Exceptional school! A+!

B.S. Business Management - September 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't understand why people are saying bad things about this school. I have attended so many college and/or university from the past, and WGU is one of the best! Easy to pass assessments?! Are you kidding? WGU assessments come in many forms, and they are certainly not just multiple choice questions. And with the multiple choice assessments, they still remain on moderate college level. The degree itself is respected everywhere with support from large corporations in USA and it has received full accreditation. It is one of the very few non-profit and private universities, so tuition itself is an attraction. This university is highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Makin it happen

B.S. Business Management - July 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So I'm in my 2nd year at WGU n I love it...yeah u have to work hard n yeah it takes a while. When you have a family n a full time job you do what you can. My mentor is good, if she doesn't know something finds out quickly n responds. I don't know a damn thing about business but with the websites they give you that go along with the books it all comes together. You have to work at it like anything else in life.

Was this review helpful?

WGU - A Good Education and a Great Value

B.S. Business Management - June 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate of the College of Business at WGU and after over 25 years of industry experience in Marketing Management I can verify that the educational standards and course of study at WGU are comprehensive and relevant. During my career I had attained the position of Director of Business Development, without a Bachelors degree, at a division of a $20B global leading manufacturer of aerospace electronics. Most of my peers hold undergrad and graduate degrees and as such advancement beyond the Director of BD level was unlikely. I graduated with a BS in Marketing Management and I am now pursuing an MBA at WGU and I am now a VP of Marketing and Sales. I accomplished the completion of the degree, received the promotion and I am continuing studies in the MBA program only two years after initially enrolling at WGU in the Spring of 2007 with only 25 credits transferred. WGU is relevant, credible, accelerated and a great value.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

TERRIBLE

B.S. Business Management - May 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are a VA don't even think about going to this school. I have not received my VA benefits for 3 months due to errors in their processing and finacial aid department. Now after a year of going to school they just took back some of my financial aid saying I was getting to much because of my GI Bill. My GI Bill is not for tuition it is for living expenses and my family depends on it right now. DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER THEM IF YOU ARE GOING TO NEED FINANCIAL AID, THE OFFICE IS TERRIBLE.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

good value and accreditation

B.S. Business Management - April 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know that some people who attended WGU have left unsatisfied, but I believe this college is/was the best option for me. If your well organised and motivated you can succeed here. What this means-Your mentor goes over your classes for the term(six months) and you start to work, how fast or slow is up to you. Your mentor(school contact) communicates with you on a bi-monthly basis or as needed. If you put the time and effort in, you can finish early and take extra classes.I average an extra two classes a term, since the college charges by the term I was able to take the classes at no cost to me! I have had a few minor glitches, but they were corrected quickly in a day or two. I am 38 years old and before discovering this school thought going back to college was a dream. I would definitely recommend this school, if you are flexible.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great School

B.S. Business Management - March 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Clearly none of the above posters actually enrolled at WGU because if they did, they would know that it is accredited by NCATE as well as NWCCU and both are recognized by CHEA and thereby the U.S. Department of Education. This is a great school for people who are self motivated and can learn in a virtual environment. I have been enrolled for five months and have finished eleven classes. That puts me more than one third of the way towards my business management degree. Tuition is the most reasonable of all the online schools as it only costs approximately $6K per year regardless of how many classes you finish. I believe I will have my degree for less than $10K and that is a bargain! If you are in the market for a school, then check out WGU and the WGU Student Hall and see what real students are saying.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

I'm happy w/ WGU

B.S. Business Management - December 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see a lot of people who are upset by their experiences at WGU. My personal experience has been pretty good... I've been a student at 2 different universities rated in the top 10, and didn't finish. It wasn't the difficulty that washed me out, in fact, I had a 3.7 GPA @ the one of the world's best engineering schools studying petroleum engineering, and I've found many challenges in the WGU program. Quantitative Analysis was tough, and I worked many hours on each problem. The math and econ stuff was at least as difficult as I had seen in other schools. I imagine that if you publicly polled all students who went to Harvard, they would also have detractors. I personally didn't let that stuff discourage me, rather, I took a look at the fact that they were accredited regionally, they had similar admission standards as other universities I've attended, and now that I'm 40, what the learning model looked like. I know better today how I perform in certain situations, and found the WGU model to be adequate for me. I recently left my job, and started looking for work with other companies. Not a single organization has questioned their credential. The school is not for everyone, if you need a lot of personal attention steer clear. If you want to have 1:1 time with a professor, WGU is not for you. The entire model is about your willingness to pay the price to obtain your degree by learning from a book, and then passing a proctored test that ecompasses the breadth and depth of the topic you are supposed to learn about. Finally, many have complained about graders. They use a company called Taskstream. Many other institutions use them too (Purdue is one). Are they perfect? No. Do you always agree as a student? Nope...I even was mad a couple of times. Do they get it right? Yes, according to the standard, they do. Does it take some time? It does, but 5 days was the max for me. If I were starting again today, I would look at accreditation, acceleration, cost, and would make the same decision I made before. Do your research...

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Think Real Hard Before You Start

B.S. Business Management - November 14, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Leave this off of your resume. Even if the state governor is listed as one of the founders of this so called college, does not mean it is accepted in that state. The non-traditional compentancy credit is not accepted at most businesses.

Was this review helpful?

WGU

B.S. Business Management - September 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am near completion with WGU. I wanted to say this in response to those saying WGU is a scam and employers frown on the school. I work in business administration at a local public school district. In the past three years, we have hired several WGU graduates and enrolled several WGU students into our student teaching program. Prior to enrolling into the school, I contacted Texas A&M and asked if they recognize WGU courses as transferrable since it is pass/fail. I was told by the department head, WGU courses are considered passing at 80% or higher and all passing courses transfer to their program. I then asked if I wanted to obtain my Masters from Texas A&M after I completed my studies with WGU and was assured WGU is recognized just as any other traditional university. I then saw a representative from WGU on CNN talking to several representatives from Ivy League schools about their online programs. WGU is legit but for your own piece of mind, do your own research prior to enrolling. And yes, some of the courses you can google the questions and find answers, but I WANT to learn and have taken the time to research textbooks and truly understand the concepts. My only complaint has been my mentor. She is highly educated, but not very organized and forgets meetings, doesn't give me 100% of her time when we speak on the phone and it takes me emailing her superiors in order to get responses from her. If I wasn't almost done, I'd switch mentors, but with it being this late in the game, I don't need much from her other than approving my request to take the final assessments.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Western Governors University

B.S. Business Management - March 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Western Governors University is a complete ripoff. The program deliberately slows you down, so that WGU can charge you more. I thought that this would be a quicker way to finish my degree, but I would have easily finished by now if I had gone to a different college, and taken the traditional route. It often takes weeks to get a simple assignment graded. And when you finally get it back, the grader is often wrong! Example: I failed an accounting assignment, because I was told revenues/expenses are not part of operating cash flows in a cash flow statement! What?? Every accounting text book confirmed I was right. Who's grading these papers??? Besides this, I was told before I enrolled at WGU that I could test out of courses that I already knew - the majority of courses turned out to be assignment based. Of course I should have known what I was getting into soon after I enrolled. After I enrolled they refused to give me credit for my associates degree - even though they guaranteed me that everything would transfer BEFORE I paid my tuition/fees. When I threatened legal action and showed them written proof that I had received from their "mentors" BEFORE I enrolled, they were suddenly able to transfer everything. Their "mentors" are also completely useless. My various mentors had completely no idea about business-related subjects, even though I am majoring in a business degree. If you intend to study at WGU, think of the mentors more as cheerleaders than anything else. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Western Governors University in any way.