Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Western Governors University

  • Ranking: #21
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Regional, NCATE and CAHIIM

3.7
361 Reviews
5 135 
4 133 
3 22 
2 25 
1 46 
0 0 

Western Governors University Reviews:

I've attended both traditional and WGU, my thoughts...

B.S. Information Technology - August 31, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wasn't going to post a review, but an anonymous user posted, "Students that pass WGU exams are "C-" students at best. The university has lied to them," and I can't help but take a little umbrage to that, and I disagree. I earned 6 IT industry certifications while at WGU that also counted as my exams for many classes. This is waaaaay beyond anything I was ever tasked with competency wise at a brick and mortar school. For example: I took a networking class at the local community college (I worked there at the time), and the requirements were to pass the test-out materials and get the online "ITpro certification" and print out your certificate. After completion we were given a free test pass with the option to take the industry recognized Network + exam, with no impact to pass or fail the class, but a bonus as incentive to take it. I held on to my test pass since it lasted a year, I knew I was entering WGU next semester and I would have to take the same exam and wasn't sure how that worked through them exactly yet and did NOT want to have to take the certification exam twice. So funny thing all the students who attempted it, even those who passed that class with an A, FAILED to pass the Network + certification. Fast forward to WGU, they used THE SAME course prep with ITPro cert, BUT every student in order to pass THAT class had to go pass the much harder Network +. So I know for a fact the students in, at least this class, were far more educated in the material that those who got the "pass" from the traditional college, and even if the WGU students dropped out THAT DAY they earned an (expensive) industry recognized certification they get to keep. I have a feeling a lot of students don't research enough before they dive in. I worked for a college for years and you'd be surprised the sense of entitlement, and feeling that the college should be doing all the legwork for your degree. Everything should be laid out before you in a neat, unchanging path, and that's just not the case here or anywhere. It especially amuses me with the complaints about transcripts sent from other schools, which is most likely not a problem on WGU's end. I elected to obtain my records personally, in sealed envelopes and send them on via certified mail so I could ensure their receipt. Every student has that option, but you might have to **gasp** figure it out yourself. It's not actually their job to get your materials to them in a timely manner, it's not their job to sort out your financial aid situation. It's the student's; it's your job. They are there to help, but you must advocate for yourself, and in order to do that you have to **gasp again** educate yourself in how this college works. I found WGU much more challenging and rewarding than IT courses at traditional colleges. Saying WGU students are C students at best is ignorant and insulting. I think it's fine if you had a bad experience to vent it out here, but that's completely untrue, at least in the college of IT, and an unnecessarily broad statement that makes me feel like maybe YOU didn't research YOUR classes or YOUR degree plan properly, and are now bitter.

Was this review helpful?

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful

A great school based on competency

B.S. Information Technology - September 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have tried a couple of other online universities without success, where the school required you to for example write a blog posting every week, and comment on three other student blog posts, and the instructional material was not the greatest. WGU leverages industry certifications and community forums, but after the first class, you're not posting every week, you only need to speak with your student mentor. I like this and it's been working great for me.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

WGU Review

B.S. Information Technology - September 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pro: Certifications are built into the program Con: Business IT courses are outdated.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Western Governors University IT Degree

B.S. Information Technology - September 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I regret that I didn't start WGU sooner. When I finish my degree in IT with a Security emphasis, not only will I have my degree but also the Security+, A+, Project+, CCENT, CCNA, and CCNA Security certifications. This school is not for someone who needs their hands to be held or wants the company of meeting regularly online with your instructor or fellow students. It is basically independent study with a support system of an academic advisor (called a mentor) and mentor for the different courses. If you have a question during a course, you can contact a mentor. Learning material is supplied for all of the classes so you really don't have to buy text books. The tuition also pays for all of the IT certification exams so I don't have to spend money for testing. WGU stresses the competency approach. So I will have skills that will help me to get a real decent job. Sure, there are other online schools that offers an IT degree. Yet, if you compare their degree to WGU's, WGU wins because what is taught is what employers need their workers to know.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

WGU is awesome

B.S. Information Technology - August 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started the IT program with empahsis in network administration in April/11 and so far it's been a positive rewarding experience. I enjoy the work at your own pace model and the flexibility, plus the price is fair. Plus you will not spend years working on your degree like at a traditional state college, where sometimes there are a 100+ students in a class, or the class you nee is not available so you have to go to a CC. Basically you study when you want and how you want. WGU provides all the resources you need, discussion boards, webimars,e texts, hard copies, free software,lab simulators and a course content expert whose there to assist and explain any issues that you might have comprehending the course. No need to sit in a class and listen to some dull professor ramble about his personal life, then tells you to go home and read six chapters, due the following week. Oh and by the way your final grade will be based on solely one midterm and final. I know this from several years experience at a "Traditional College". WGU is a great alternative for adults who have established carrers and only need the diploma, and not the 18 year old fresh out of HS type. If you're looking for the Friday night frat parties and drinking binges, and cross tow football rivalries then WGU is not for you. Thanks WGU for giving the rest of us an opprtunity.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

So far, so good

B.S. Information Technology - July 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am starting my second year at WGU. I work part time and have 3 young children, and this university allows me to fit schooling into my life. It is self-paced as long as you complete the required minimum. If you don't have the drive to push yourself, then this is not the school for you. You need to be self-motivated to keep up with deadlines. This university is an excellent choice for someone who needs flexibility, is self-motivated and enjoys independent study.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Before you get started

B.S. Information Technology - March 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'll leave my ratings at neutral, because I'm not actually a WGU student. I was a prospective student looking for an affordable and creditable online degree in Computer Science. WGU meet the affordable and credibility test, however they don't offer my degree. Nonetheless, I still wanted to take some courses with the intent to transfer credits, because WGU is almost half the price of my regular college. And I want to leave college with as little student loans as possible. In speaking with an admissions counselor I was able to confirmed a few things their website doesn't go in depth in. 1. They do not have any other tuition options besides the flat $2,890/6 months. I've done the flat fee model (at another school before) and it's a double edge sword. On one hand "buying in bulk" is a good deal because the more classes you take the less per credit you're paying But on the other hand it doesn't allow for flexibility. You'll pretty much have to be taking a full-time course load whether that works for your schedule or not. Otherwise the reverse is true, the less classes you take the more per credit you're paying. So that makes it hard for busy adults that can only do one or two course at a time. 2. This program does not work for adults changing careers or people that need hard deadlines. The "traditional online" school format (if that's not an oxymoron) gives you a weekly structure. Here's your text book, read this chapter, do your homework, participate in class discussion, and here are your test dates. So it guides you week by week to keep you on track for getting through the material in 8-16weeks. WGU DOES NOT. Basically you have 6 months to take 4 assessments with no or little guidance or structure on preparation. The admissions counselor will tell you that you're not going to have an instruction, but a mentor/coach. This format is fine for those that have 5-10 years in the field and just need a degree to advance. This format does NOT work for adults changing careers. This format also does NOT work for people that need hard deadlines. When I have weekly reading, homework, discussions, and test it's a lot easier to stay on track then me setting my own deadline. So you have to know your learning style. Well those are things I found in my research. I would still encourage you to talk to an admissions counselors about your specific situation. If you're looking for an alternative that still meets the affordable and creditable online school model try America Military University (as known as America Public University). It's $250/credit (or $750/class), you pay for only the classes you take, they have a non-degree program if you just need to transfer your credits out, the application is free, and you can be up and running in 20 minutes. I'll cut it off there since this isn't the AMU review page, lol. Anyway, I hope my experience can help somebody.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Perfect program for an IT professional

B.S. Information Technology - March 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in WGU on 01APR08 to obtain a BS in IT - Network Design & Management; yesterday I completed the degree. I work 84+ hours a week in a war zone. If I didn't have "a day job", I would have done it in a year...tops! My mentor called me only occasionally to ensure that I was focused enough to complete my courses. Sometimes I was, sometimes I wasn't. My responsibilities running the Army's network did take priority, but also gave me material to use as my Capstone project. The IT Program is based on real world requirements. It isn't watered down and there are plenty of resources to help you succeed. The entire program is flexible and COMPETENCY based. If you are competent and motivated THIS IS THE SCHOOL FOR YOU!!! You can complete the program as fast as you can show competency in all of your courses. I highly recommend this school and this program to anyone trying to save money and earn an accredited degree in the least amount of time. Your only limitation is YOU!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great Program... Affordable and Well Respected

B.S. Information Technology - February 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a B.S. Information Technology - Software Emphasis. Earning my degree from WGU has been a fantastic experience. I work full-time, am married with four children, and was able to complete my degree in 3 terms (with some credits transferred from previous college credits). Finishing my degree is an old, old dream that has finally come true. I don't know of another school that could have allowed me to do it ...especially not for such a low price. Additionally, my degree is respected. My current employer is very excited about my degree, along with the professional certifications that I attained during the course of my studies. I have talked with other technology recruiters and hiring managers in my area, and many of them have heard of WGU and have a positive impression of the school. Even more important to me is that I know how hard I worked. I know how difficult it was and how much I've learned. Not only have I earned an accredited bachelor's degree, but I feel like I have improved myself as a professional and in general. I am proud of myself and my degree, and that alone would be worth the tuition.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Recognition for Graduate School

B.S. Information Technology - December 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

One concern I have seen from various reviewers and comments is the ability to enter non-WGU graduate programs after completing a bachelors program at WGU. I want to state that this should be no more of a concern than with any other school. I graduated from WGU with a BS in Information Technology in 2009. After a year I determined that obtaining a Master of Science degree more closely aligned with my career would be worthwhile. I applied to an online graduate program at Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering (Engineering for Professionals)and was accepted immediately without any questions about the credibility of my bachelors degree. My 30+ years of industry experience may have contributed to my acceptance, but this would be true of any graduate program as well.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

One of the best IT programs available anywhere

B.S. Information Technology - October 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enrolled in the B.S. Information Technology program with an emphasis on Security. Those of us in the IT world are lucky, as the jobs you interview for require certifications and not too much interpersonal interaction, thereby minimizing the "stigma" of having an online degree listed on your resume. WGU's IT programs are ALL a real bang for your buck. For my degree in particular, I am required to obtain nine IT certifications in order to graduate, and all nine certs will be GREAT for my resume and for my job. They are basic, globally recognized industry certs, your standards like Microsoft and Cisco. WGU has consistently provided top-notch (and EXPENSIVE) study software and printed materials to study for these certs. I think the cost of my CIW Associate cert plus study materials was over $2K alone. Of course that is all included in the ridiculously low tuition. I really feel I am getting a great value. Due to the nature of IT competencies, I do not feel like I am missing out on anything by not getting much interaction with my teachers or with my peers. WGU has Internet forums and chat rooms set up for each course and for each "major" but participation is optional. Most people in the IT world are by their very nature quite independent making this an ideal program for IT types in particular. Also, my mentor is great. I lost my job about a month ago and he encouraged me to list him as a personal reference. I did, and he had a prospective employer call him. He then sent me a very nice detailed email with all the nice things he said about me. I thought that was really swell. (By the way, I got the job. I also got three other job offers, even in this awful economy. Employers who take the time to learn about WGU are VERY impressed by the IT curriculum. My program at WGU is actually better than the local colleges in my city.) In short, I would highly recommend this school particularly for others in the IT industry who are looking to get their degree or even continue on with their Master's. I could not be happier with the education I've received thus far. I will definitely be continuing my studies with my Master's once I've completed my Bachelor's. One last note... I have noticed that many of the negative reviews on this website come from people enrolled in WGU's teaching programs. I would like to ask those people how they expect to learn how to become a teacher via online study. Teaching involves lots of interpersonal interaction, so that may explain why many of your interviewers look at you skeptically when you are interviewing for a kindergarten teaching position without any relevant experience... Just saying... Those strike me as people who did not fully do their research and now they try to place the blame on WGU. Your experience would have been bad even if Harvard had an online program... Some training just DOES NOT TRANSLATE to the online method!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Finished and reenrolling for more

B.S. Information Technology - September 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the only place I can think of that I can spend 15,000 and 2.5 years and complete a BSIT and MBAIT. You need to go into this with an attacking mind set. If you arent looking to finish your degree but want to take a class here or there then don't enroll. I wanted to finish and thats why I got so much from WGU.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Success at WGU is self determined

B.S. Information Technology - June 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU provides a progressive educational model that removes logistic and financial barriers in education. It's different, so different that for some it's exceptional, and for others a bad choice. You must be motivated, diligent, and able to work within what is largely a self guided program of study. If you can study on your own and pass a test, you can do well here. If you are driven, you can accomplish great things here. I've been able to go from a freshman to a junior and I'm still in my first term. I hope to graduate 10 months after transferring in with 15 credits. I've finally found a place in which I can work to my potential. Check out the folks on linkedin with a WGU degree to see a sample of the alumni. And I don't have to compromise my lifestyle to do it. WGU, like life, is what you make of it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great for Self disciplined Students

B.S. Information Technology - April 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great program for motivated students. Although there is plenty of support, you will get out of it what you put in. You can't beat the price if you take advantage of their "pay for time not credits" policy. The material available is extensive, although typically the material they send you can be insufficient alone if you are coming in with no prior experience. They provide access to many other forms of online study/learning material, but you have to search for it yourself. Although there are no formal teachers, there are mentors in each area of study and they are helpful and responsive. You have an assigned mentor who acts as an advisor and motivator throughout your program. The value is outstanding if you take advantage of it. I can understand how some individuals may have a hard time if they can't devote the time or push themselves to complete work on their own. They use a variety of technologies from online study material, videos, chat programs, forums, and interactive simulations. This is truly a "you get out what you put in" university.

Was this review helpful?

Challenging yet Achievable

B.S. Information Technology - January 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my BS in Information Technology (Network Design and Management focus) in 2.5 years. Overall the program was challenging. I previously had gone to a traditional university and I found the level of work at WGU comparable. I learned more at WGU though, I contribute this to the fact that I'm in my early 30s now and much more mature. Having to pay the bill yourself helps as well. This is not a school for the unmotivated. It's very easy to let life get in the way since there are no set class times and you have to work at your own pace. If you have a tendency to get distracted and procrastinate you will struggle. Like any school a few of the classes I had to take (Critical Thinking and Reasoning comes to mind) I abolutely despised, so pushing through them was difficult but I did get it done. Note that like in life not all of what you need to do is spelled out for you! Some classes give very simple instructions and it's up to you to learn how to construct your replies and answers. The forums can be a great help for this, along with the mentors, but again it is completely up to you. Some of the graders were a bit perplexing at times, I don't remember a time in school from first grade on up that I've agreed with every grade I have gotten, but at least at WGU I was provided feedback and could then make the corrections needed. This is no cakewalk school, you get from it what you put into it. It is regionally and nationally accredited, which was important to me; and it is most definitely NOT a diploma mill. I can't comment on the financial aid side of the house since I didn't use it. I did transfer credits in and did not have a problem, although like any other school at a lot of my past work did not count. This is pretty common folks so you can't hold that against the school, the whole school to school transfer situation in the US is pretty much completely undefined. My mentor was great and was able to help me navigate the school and what I needed to do. Overall it was a great experience for a student like me. I consider myself a well-motivated adult learner with a busy job (IT manager, so I work a lot of hours) so WGU's competency-based model was a great fit for my situation.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Western Governors University in any way.