Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Anthem College

2.2
33 Reviews
5 6 
4 4 
3 1 
2 7 
1 15 
0 0 

 

Anthem College Reviews:

medical assistant

Medical Billing and Coding - March 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended anthem a year ago. I had to drop classes due to picking up custody of my lil sister. When I returned I was asked to contact a number to recieve some more money to cover the last 3 classes that I needed. I had already did a day in a class and was loaded with work that I had already completed. So I couldn't get the money and now have to wait 6 months...all that school is really concerned about is money..the director of financial aid made me seem like there was no hope for my life..i couldnt sit out and refresh what i needed to know or nothing......I will not be going back will be looking for another school

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Bad. Just Bad.

Medical Billing and Coding - September 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I didn't actually go to this school, but I did take a tour and talk to a representative about it. I will protect names and all that but it was an awful experience. I felt very pressured and calling 5 plus times a day and harrassing will not make one want to go to the school any faster. At least not with me anyway. Thumbs down.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Instructors are sooo unprofessional

Medical Billing and Coding - June 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

We have a husband and wife duo thst seams to think they run the department. The husband at the memphis campus seams to think when his can't control a student she says looked at her funny and with disrespect because she twisted her head as she was talking and also looked at the time on her cell phone like she was saying b***** will you please hurry the F*** up. "WHAT!" I've never witnessed so much childishness. So she runs out of the class room crying, because she feels disrespected,at that point she goes to her husband he then goes in her class room chastising the whole class about being disrespectful to his wife and how they allow everybody to get away with things they shouldn't. Holding her class up for over an hour. Counting it up, that was 2 hours wasted on foolishness. Is this what we are paying for we really deserve a better education from Anthem. I really wish someone would do something about this. I'm ready to throw in the towel. If she can,t stand the heat she needs to get out the kitchen, stop running to her husband interupting his class as well. Too much DRAMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

NO GOOD NO GOOD

Medical Billing and Coding - June 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in this school so that I could apply for a better job at the company I work at now. I applied at Anthem (in Irving, TX) in the Medical Billing & Coding Program. My first two classes were OK which were Medical Terminology classes. My main class which were Billing and Coding and MediSoft were terrible. In the coding class I was the only student. This was terrible. First of all the teacher Mrs. Morales was very stuck on her self. She only talked about how she had servents in another country she stayed in when she was younger and that women were intimated by here especially black women. The classes were for 16 days and she wanted to talk so much the first and part of the second week then had the nerve to pile things on me. The second class with her there were only 2 students she did the samething. I could take having her in another class. I then went to the dean to let him know that I was having family problems and I needed take a leave but will return. He told me the only way that I could do that is that I would have to be in jail or really sick. I had to drop because I am a single parent and had things I had to do. I called FASFA to let them know they told me to contact financial aid at the school so that they could send the funds back to me or to them. I called Mrs. Violet and she stated that she will contact me back after she spoke to the dean. I heard nothing. Another school in Florida took over the school. I called back and spoke to someone else. She told me exactly what was going on. I had to wait until the dean signed off on it. Since then no one has enrolled because of the bad reviews. THIS SCHOOL IS TERRIBLE. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

pharmacy tech

Medical Billing and Coding - November 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Anthem College was the worst school I had ever attended.the Finical Aid Department and Career Services weren't very helpful. Make sure you inspect your financial award letter carefully because they will rip you off, and will short change you.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Don't Waste Your Money

Medical Billing and Coding - September 15, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Do not waste your time and money with this school if you are interested in pursuing a career in medical billing and coding. The advertising and staff makes Anthem College Online is such a great school to attend. There were only two textbooks used for the medical billing and coding portion of the associate degree program. These were used off and on during the entirety of the program.I could have saved money and just bought those books and studied them on my own. Also, the staff never gave out any information about certification. It is almost impossible to land a job in the coding field without any kind of certification. The website advertises that there is an externship. This is not true if you are taking medical billing and coding on line. I tried to arrange an externship on my own and had no luck. Most places do not want to take in students from a school they never even heard of and Anthem didn't offer any help in that area. The career placement office did a poor job. Luckily I know how to write resumes and already had job interviewing skills. I found employment on my own.I didn't appreciate the fact that the career placement office for Anthem College hounded me for verification of my employment when they had nothing to do with that. I found employment in a different career which I already had a degree in. Do not waste your money on this school. You are better off taking classes at a community college or a vocational school in your area. Save your money for a school that you will receive a real education from.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

They lie about what degree you get! Huge ripoff!

Medical Billing and Coding - May 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled and finished my degree with Anthem a few years ago. I explained in VERY high detail that I needed to graduate with an RHIT or RHIA or else I could not get a job locally. I told them I did not want to enroll unless I would be able to take the test through AHIMA when I was finished for rhit or rhia. They guaranteed me on enrollment that the courses were accredited for the exams, they confirmed it when I questioned it 4 months later, and when I graduated they STILL tried to lie to me when I called AHIMA and was told anthem was not accredited for either exam. They even gave me a fake code over the phone. I tried resolving through better business bureau and all they could say was "oh, well your enrolling agent must have been confused. So sorry--you're stuck with the bill" I paid over 15k in student loans for a 3k education I could of gotten locally. Don't go to Anthem college-I can not get hired anywhere and my family is suffering a huge debt that we can't afford to pay now.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL. IT IS A RIP OFF!

Medical Billing and Coding - July 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL TO MY WORST ENEMY! IF YOU DECIDE TO GO TO THIS SCHOOL MAKE SURE TO DOCUMENT EVERYTHING LITTLE THING EVEN IF YOU FEEL IT'S NOT IMPORTANT! ALSO IF YOU TAKE A LEAVE OF ABSENCE MAKE SURE TO GET IT IN WRITING BEFORE YOU STOP SIGNING INTO CLASS, DON NOT TAKE THERE WORD THAT YOU ARE ON A LEAVE IF YOU DON'T HAVE VIA EMAIL/FAX ETC. BECAUSE WITH OUT NOTICE YOU WILL BE DISMISSED FROM SCHOOL. DON'T LISTEN TO YOUR ADVISOR IF HER NAME IS ESPERANZA, SHE HAS NO CLUE OF THE RULES AND HOW THEY ARE TO UTILIZED. ALSO, DON'T BE SUPRISED AT THE BILL THAT FOLLOWS YOU ONCE YOUR NO LONGER ATTENDING CLASSES. ALSO KNOW THAT YOU CANNOT BE REINSTATED IN SCHOOL ONCE YOU ARE GONE, DECISIONS WILL BE MADE ABOUT THAT IN OCT 2008, SUPPOSEDLY! GOOD LUCK TO ALL!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Anthem College in any way.