Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Baker College

2.5
41 Reviews
5 10 
4 5 
3 2 
2 6 
1 18 
0 0 

 

Baker College Reviews:

Can only complete with online courses

BBA Management - November 2, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Campuses are clean, would be nice if they offered more classes there, to get the BBA for management you can only take you major classes online. How awesome is that? Not at all. There professors are from all over so good luck getting real time feedback and most of them usually respond with, "I don't write the curriculum" (but then they will correct you for using contractions). So you have a bunch of people you cant talk to teaching you something that they did not design, ergo it does not suit their teaching style, and the amount of work is overwhelming so that they can "make up for the loss of classroom time" then why in the world are they half semester courses. Every student I have met who has taken them hates them, they are to the point that they are hostile towards administration for how ridiculous the structure is. It is sad when most on campus classes start with 2/3 of the class saying "I tried to take this online but i had to drop it to protect my GPA" that should tell you something. So if you would like a degree that every time someone talks about it you can tell them what a terrible school it was to attend then by all means, come over to baker, where you have to pay to teach yourself.

Was this review helpful?

diploma mill

BBA Management - June 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It's a diploma mill. I know my work is shabby but I get A's. The teachers don't want bad reviews so they pass everybody. If they do something you don't like, you can go straight to the top and complain and get what you want.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 15 people found the following review helpful

School Sucks

BBA Management - November 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is nothing but a diploma mill school. They expect you to post to discussion at least 4 times a day on 5 different days. As if you dont have a life and it revolves around them. The teachers are very rude and have no education or qualifications to be teaching the courses. I have experience many online schools and this one has to be the worse of them all.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Excellent College

BBA Management - March 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a wonderful experience at Baker College. After attending one major university and having one bad experience after another, I decided to take on Baker. I enjoyed all of my classes including my online classes. I have had my best college experiences with Baker.I have met new friends and became acquinted with many faculty and staff, all have provided support throughout my experience there. Nothing goes without some conflict and there were just a few bumps. I received an AAS, BBA and an MBA from Baker. In total, I have had 3 bad instructors but I did not let them get in the way of all of the wonderful experiences that I had with the good instructors. I believe that Baker has great technology compared to some of the other colleges I have attended. The staff is professional and my fellow students were very friendly and down to earth. I learned a great deal of information and I don't regret ever attending. I always recommend Baker to family and friends. I Love Baker!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

I adore Baker College

BBA Management - November 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been attending Baker College for 2 years and in 2 semesters I will have my Bachelor Degree in Health Services Administration. This institution has been great. They have answered all of my questions and I've learned a tremendous amount of information. I was a transfer student from Davenport University and the classes here are very similar in size and intensity without the additional costs. Most of my classes have been online and I absolutely love them. They are great for individuals that are willing to buckle down and stay on task. If you take responsibility for your education and manage your time well you too can be successful in these types of classes. As in any other facility, your grades will NOT be given to you. You’re expected to do the work and in order to obtain the grade. I love the fact that as soon as the classes start you are given a list of all the assignment due dates. This allows you the opportunity to prepare your schedule so that you're not missing homework. They also post all of the assignments and due dates at the beginning of the week so that you can once again be aware of the assignments that are due and when they are expected. Being able to sign in anywhere and complete the required participation is also a plus. This is a good school and as long as you are not expecting the administrative staff and the teachers to carry you throughout the entire process you will do fine.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

I was wrong

BBA Management - October 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I thought I made the right decision on transfering from my community college to baker college online, but now I see I made the wrong move. I used to read online reviews on how people were unsatisfied as well as satisfied so I was confused and decided to give it a try. In the beginning, it was going great and I have a 3.5 gpa and made the deans list. I didn't mind the massive amount of homework or the so called "posting at least twice a day for attendence". I come to realize the teachers are completely unfair. First of all I had a 3.5 gpa all on my own. Baker college online teachers DON'T teach. You are required to read your book, do your homework, and answer discussion questions. Second (not all) some instructors do not even respond to your emails. Instructors can decide to fail you if they want to for no reason. Sucking up to them doesn't work. I emailed him and he never responded why I recieved a 0 for participation when I have participated more than once everyday. Sooner or later this school will find a way to screw you over. And that they did to me. Never going to an online school again. All my Accounting classes I have completed aren't even transferable to my community college; Go figure. If you want to go to baker online go right ahead no one's stopping you. This is my personal experience and maybe it can knock some sense to some of you.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Baker College Online

BBA Management - September 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a recent graduate of Baker College Online. I enjoyed being student at Baker College. I obtained my Associated Degree in 2008 and my Bachelors in 2011. My degree will open doors for me to full fill my long-term goal of becoming a kindergarten teacher and advancing when new career opportunities become available at my current employer. Go Baker! I must comment on the student who thought posting 2 substantial posts (5) days out of seven. This is standard and the norm at most universities.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

BBA in Finance

BBA Management - July 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my second year at Baker College Online. I feel that the classes are very demanding which requires the student to be self-motivated and willing to actually do work. I see some complaints of previous students, and if working through a problem or challenge in any life event is going to make you quit, then maybe college is not for you. From my experience, I get more feedback and interaction from students and instructors than in a traditional classroom with the flexibility of an online classroom. The material can be tough, but reading the book and participating in class is necessary to learn the material. Baker College Online is not a diploma mill, it is actually a college. You will have to do work to EARN your degree.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Bad Experience

BBA Management - February 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was previously a student at Baker College Online. I left because, I grew frustrated with Baker College's unrealistic and insensitive method of delivery. Students were required to submit 2 'substantive posts' 5 to 6 days a week. This was analogous to a traditional student going to the same class 5 to 6 days a week and actively participating each day. To compound this burden, I found that few of the instructors actively facilitated discussion. Sometimes I was relegated to a form of discussion board trivia or simply paraphrasing relevant text. Imagine how difficult the 10 to 12 posts per week were when taking courses such as algebra or accounting. The lack of instructor facilitation did not prevent them from deducting participation points for missing a daily post, or for the post not being 'substantive' enough. One instructor (with a bachelor's degree) made up for his lack of credentials by grading extra hard, which means that even if I had 13 weekly posts, a few just weren't 'substantive' enough. It gets worse. Since Baker College is in Michigan, they are on Eastern Standard Time; which means that their students across the world are also on Eastern Standard Time. I was in Washington, which meant that I had to do all of my participation by 9 pm. That was never less than 24 posts; 36 when I took three classes. Those posts were in addition to all of the assignments which were also due by 9 pm. Due by 9pm, 12 EST, meant that exclusively. There were few instructors that allowed late work. I just didn't understand that at all. Were there instructors waiting until midnight to grade papers? When I brought this to the attention of a dean and a professor, they both said something to the effect of 'although east coast students have more time at the end of their day, you have more time at the beginning of yours.' I countered that, just like them, I wake up when it is dark, go to work, and get off at 5 pm. The difference is that east coast students have 7 hours to eat dinner with their families, perform course work, and perform other activities. I had 4! They were also quite insulting with the amount of transfer credits awarded for military training. They gave me a whopping 8 credits. By contrast, my new school gave me 32! I was going to tough it out for one more semester to get my associates degree, but then it hit me; I had 88 credits and still needed 5 more classes for an associates! The worst part about their technology was that none of it was intertwined. For class, I had to log into Blackboard. To register, I had to log into the Solar System. To use my email, I had to log into Baker Webmail. The school library, which you can only get to through the Solar System still required an additional login!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Baker College in any way.