Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Empire State College, State University of New York

3.1
95 Reviews
5 21 
4 33 
3 9 
2 9 
1 23 
0 0 

 

Empire State College, State University of New York Reviews:

Empire admits in a memo that they can't determine their students qualifications to teach!!!!

MAT - June 26, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall this program should not be able to qualify teachers for certification. They admit this themselves in a recent Memo sent to enrolled students who have paid tuition and depended on them to deliver qualifying course work. They explain that if the Pearson Tests say one is illiterate they will not, as is their ability, write and tell the State you are literate. So they accept the money from illiterate people, give a Masters degree and even straight A's but will not say you can read!!! Any Grad program can tell the State Cert Board that the test is flawed, which everyone knows, and their evidence, grades and course work confirm you can read. Empire won't do that. The tests cost about $130 a pop. Pearson earns billions every year testing all grade levels and the cert tests. So if a grad student takes the test again, more money for Pearson. And no responsibility for Empire State College ! The instructors are extremely unresponsive. Rarely participate in on line discussion or instruction. The web sites they refer you to are more often than not down! If Pearson is the God of teaching Certification why is a "program" needed at all? Give out a book about test taking strategies and save all the instructor salaries! Yea, that's what Empire offers, a course on test taking...if you can read it!!!! The Empire memo should be posted on Facebook for all to pass around. To be clear, even though the NYS Board of Regents says a program can over-ride the results of the tests Empire State College will not say its students can read! Return their money Empire

Was this review helpful?

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Why do you guys think ESC needs to find a job for you ???

MAT - May 31, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ok, I just read Anonymous' complaints about the school NOT finding a job placement for him/her in the MAT program. It's kind of funny because what school is obligated to find a job for it's students? Isn't it YOUR job to find your OWN job??? Do you even know the job situation in Western NY? It's drop dead busted. Why would you think this program would guarantee you a job in a dry economy? There are NO teaching jobs in Western NY. Why do you blame the institution for this? I'm a former ESC MAT graduate, and I too had to do my own legwork and find a job. Guess what? I'm about to finish my 7th year as a classroom teacher. Go out and get your own job ... don't complain about the school not finding you one. That's not how it works? You want to teach? Come down to NYC ... there are plenty of jobs in the Bronx, Brooklyn, and Harlem. You want a nice cushy teaching job in Western NY ... good luck, not happening. If you really want to make a difference ... come down to where teachers are needed. But don't complain about ESC.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Beware of this Program unless you already have a job

MAT - September 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I made the mistake of going into the MAT program without any connections or job offers in the education industry. The professors and Empire State administration do absolutely nothing to help you get any opportunities to build your resume in teaching even volunteer opportunities are scarce and hard to come by. I had to find completely on my own a placement to get "classroom experience hours" where I was treated as a nuisance. I can see doing this MAT program ONLY if you are already certified and in a classroom teaching or if you are guaranteed a job teaching once you are certified. For me this was a terrible waste of time and money that I will be paying back probably until the day I die. The professors were ok, the material was more or less useful, but there is absolutely nothing here that will help you get a teaching position, which are extremely scarce right now in Western NY. So unless you already know people this is not a good program that will assist you in making those necessary connections to break into teaching in New York State.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Is this really an accredited college?

MAT - January 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my second semester in a graduate program and am considering cutting my losses now. Losing the tuition money is a better option than continuing whatever it is that passes for an education at Empire "college". Here is my experience so far: The mentors are friendly and approachable at the residency, and then you will never hear from them again. Emails and phone calls are not answered, and you aren't given any instruction or feedback until you've already turned in an assignment. You are not told how to do the assignments, only that you have done them wrong. There is no information on how your grades are calculated, and questioning anything is either simply ignored or met with confusion, hostility or both. And, instilling confidence in us new students, our department chairman told us that he is only the chair "because no one else wanted the job". I would love to hear an explanation of how this school became accredited. I've talked to dozens of graduate students here and they all have similar stories. I've also heard that I am not alone. more than two thirds of the graduate students drop out of these programs. (I'm not surprized, but wonder: Why doesn't anyone in the adminstration think that there might be a problem here?) I have heard that the undergraduate programs are not as bad, but if you're looking for a good graduate school keep looking. This is certainly not it.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 27 people found the following review helpful

ESC MAT - class of 2010

MAT - December 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate of ESC's MAT program, class of 2010. I began the program in 2007. I am currently in the middle of my 5th year as a public school teacher. The negative reviews listed above are both true and not true. The concerns about obtaining a teaching position in order to graduate are legitimate, but were also outlined to all incoming students. We all knew we had to obtain a teaching position in order to complete the MAT program. Don't blame the school for this. The MAT program was a perfect fit for me. I was an adult learner looking to change careers and enter the teaching profession. The online and hybrid courses allowed me the flexibility to do this while still working. It was also up to me to find my first teaching position. ESC awards us with a Transitional B license after the first year of study, while allows us to teach in all NYS public schools. This also means we need to do the leg work and find our own jobs. There is no teaching placement or guarantee of a teaching position. Again, please do not blame the school for this. Understand that teaching positions are scarce right now. But there are opportunities for those who apply themselves. Do not expect to find a cushy position teaching in posh suburban school district. You must go to where the jobs are ... Brooklyn and Bronx. ESC's MAT program changed my life and gave me an opportunity which I would not have otherwise had. But it is up to YOU to find a teaching position to complete the program. Do not blame the school.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Empire State College - BEWARE!

MAT - December 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a waste of $20K, and this is coming from someone who has attended two other academic institutions.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Where are my instructors?

MAT - May 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Is ironic that in a course that is all about assessment, the instructor did not provide any feedback for weeks. Is this an institute that collects money, gives a degree, but doesn't care about learning?

Was this review helpful?

13 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Teacher Education

MAT - January 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm a second year grad student in the teacher certification program. It is bad when most instructors are adjuncts. It is worst when I see the adjunt is not qualified to teach the course. It is even worst when I have to find a teaching job to be certified and graduate.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Teaching Certificate at Empire State College, SUNY

MAT - December 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To earn a degree and teaching certificate from the MAT Program at Empire State College, you must have a teaching job in your first year in the program. MAT claims 16% of their English and SS perspective teachers are offered a job. This must be an old data, or there would be more students in the Mentored Teaching courses. I left the program for not securing a teaching position. I hope this does not happen to others. Know what you are getting into.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Empire State College, State University of New York in any way.