Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grantham University

3.0
189 Reviews
5 43 
4 56 
3 17 
2 26 
1 47 
0 0 

 

Grantham University Reviews:

Frustrated

MBA - August 30, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Before I started I was told I could begin on academic overload. Then the story was that I'd be able to after taking their fake 1 credit "college success class" that had no point and big brother written all over it. Then I had to complete another semester. Then the dean wouldn't approve academic overload because 3 days before the end of class with every assignment turned in and a 98% wasn't an actual "A" grade until the teacher issued it and he wanted to wait. So after 10 credits and a 4.0 GPA I was finally able to begin academic overload even though the academic counselors lied to me (and are impossible to reach if you have a problem) and the actual school standard is 6 credits. The next delay is that you can only take PRJ classes one at a time and they wont schedule (or didn't) schedule them paired with a regular class. So when all you've got left are the last four PRJ classes your forced to drop back out of academic overload "for your own good". They added literally months to the time its going to take to complete the degree program with their dean who can't rub two brain cells together and dishonest scheduling practice. If your ever able to reach them with a problem there is no actual solution they can offer. You just dance around fake answers until you realize they don't care and nothing is going to change.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

BSEET to M.B.A.-PM

MBA - December 9, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated Nov 2014 with my bachelors of science in Electronics Engineering Technology. Since then I have gained employment with a tier 1 automotive supplier as an automation/controls engineer. I have decided to go back to school this fall and I researched a lot of schools. I found Grantham to be the most affordable and user friendly. I am in my third course in MBA-PM degree. People look down on Grantham, I think their degrees are worth the time and money.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Time invested

MBA - May 18, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started with my AA in Electronics, got my BSEET and the my MBA in Project Management at Grantham. I started when the school was in Slidell and followed them through to Missouri. I gained a lot from my education there, although I feel that some instructors were less involved and less critical of assignments than others. It ocmes down to gaining what you have invested in the education. Most of the problems I have seen are in the administrative and financial aid department. I had no issues there and used my military TA throughout my education.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

In Progress of MBA

MBA - December 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my second course into my MBA-PM degree. Both of my instructors have been very professional, and when I was receiving lower than expected grades they actually took the time to show me where to improve. As for those who challenge the integrity of this university, the final I took for my first course was video proctored and when I did not show a state ID they emailed me and told me send them a copy of it. So far I have been very impressed with the course of study as well as the university staff. Honestly, I was a little worried about the DETC accreditation, but after talking to several employers they have assured me that it is within standards. This school is everything that you put into it, regardless of graduate or undergraduate degree.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

A good school with great value

MBA - November 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Grantham with my MBA in May of 2013. The school has made marked improvement since I started in 2009. I understand the financial aid issue could be a challenge but I am sure this is something they are working on correcting. The school is accredited from the DETC and this is a recognized accrediting body. I never understood why people always look to transfer. Regional schools won't except all credits from other regional schools. I assure you as long as the school is accredited whether Regional or National it is accepted by most employers. I had great instructors in my MBA who all carried a PHD. The school is affordable and for someone like me who works fulltime and has kids it was a perfect fit. I used my G.I. Bill and had no problems. I urge people to evaluate their situations because online schools are designed for self starters who are extremely disciplined. I think this school is great for those who need flexibility. Overall I loved Grantham and I am sorry some posters had a rough time.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

It's working for me!

MBA - November 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just started my MBA with Grantham and I regret not starting with them sooner. I've read many of the reviews posted and some of the opinions I've come across are misguided. As a Chief Petty Officer in the Navy and a family man, Grantham provides me with everything I need academically. The instructors are legit with remarkable credentials and are as tough if not tougher than what I dealt with at a different institution. I have recommended Grantham to many of my shipmates that are thinking about going back to school.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Great School

MBA - April 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love the format this school offers. I attended Brick and Mortar and found Grantham to be equally challenging and relevant. Good instructors and great material.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Very good MBA program.

MBA - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I didn't plan on giving this school such high marks, but based on the ranking areas, I had to. I previously attended a traditional college for my graduate degree, but felt like I was not getting much out of it. Having taken many years off from school and thinking I would never return, along came Grantham. I was extremely skeptical, especially after watching my wife struggle through the technology portion of online courses with her brick and mortar school. I have no struggles. The coursework is much more difficult than my previous studies, but I could work at my pace. My pace is much faster than the course schedule. The tests are open book, but one took me 6 hours to complete. Don't tell me it was easy. I don't want to hear it. Same books, same material as with other schools. Not sure why some give it bad marks.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Great School that Keeps Getting Better

MBA - December 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the process of obtaining my MBA here at Grantham. I have already received my Associates and Bachelors here as well. Since I started the school has made significant strides to make the experience even more meaningful. I hate that people complain about support. This is an online school that offers more support than I got at Walden. They are accredited and I am happy with the school and the progress they are making I hope to complete my MBA by April of 2012 and I am grateful to even have the opportunity since Brick and Mortar schools don't fit my lifestyle. I think for the working parent this school is a formidable option.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Great Value and Content

MBA - November 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham University has made drastic improvements over the past few years. I started at AMU on-line and feel Grantham offers equal or better classes. They are nationally accredited and I hope they get the regional nod soon. Most employers really don't distinguish between the two as long as they are accredited by a formally accrediting body. All my instructors have been PhD's in the MBA program and they grade strict but fair. Plagiarism is not exclusive to on-line schools and happens in almost every institution. I feel Grantham is improving greatly and they offer a good value for the self starter that is looking to expand their educational goals. Many of the complaints you read are unilateral with all on-line schools. If you have the discipline and time management skills the on-line school offers the best option for you.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful

A Good School that is better than it is given credit for

MBA - October 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham University offers significant value for the money. I have read all the reviews and I am writing this based on my experience with Grantham as oppose to other online schools and brick and mortar schools I have attended. I am in my MBA with Grantham and have attended Walden and St.Leo's for a few terms. The DETC accreditation is generally accepted by most employers. The regional vs. national is strictly a ego thing between schools. The instructors I have had are all Doctors and have been extremely strict with the grading. I also read the concerns about plagiarism with assignments and this is a legitimate argument. The fact remains ,cheating occurs everywhere and is not exclusive to only online degrees. I have worked in business for the better part of ten years and could tell you for certain my company which is fortune 500 has accepted and supported my Grantham Degree path. The degree is really scrutinized when you are young and entering the workforce to help add value in place of inexperience. Grantham has applied for regional accreditation review and I am certain they will get it. The work is challenging and the instructors carry very impressive credentials. I also realize people have had mixed opinions on Grantham. If you really do the research you will see similar complaints with all on-line schools. I am not writing this to bolster Grantham’s image by any stretch. The purpose of online education is to better yourself while maintaining a fulltime job, raising a family, and living the adult life. The online experience is what you make of it plain and simple. If you are not a disciplined person you may want to attend a regular college. I noticed many complaints that seemed more vengeful than constructive. The school has always been upfront with me and never set untruthful expectations. In my view he MBA program has really challenged my mind and has kept me extremely engaged. I have six classes left and I am proud to have earned a degree regardless of what the school name is. The end game is betterment of one self and this should be the real motivation. Grantham continues to improve and I think if you do enough research you will see that all online schools have a similar feel and flavor. In my final thought a degree mill is a place you pay a fee without doing any work and receive a phony degree. I assure you Grantham is far from a degree Mill. If you look on CHEA and DETC site they are considered a legitimate higher education provider. I wish school was as simple as paying $120 to receive a fake diploma but then everyone would be doing that. I am extremely satisfied with the level of education I have received thus far and would recommend Grantham to those who need the flexibility and affordability this school provides.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Negative

MBA - September 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed my MBA with Gramtham but have found that only the federal government will recognize this degree. My undergrad was from a real university and was much more difficult to complete. The system at this school is set up to pass everyone. The idea of being spoon fed everything with open book tests works in the military but not in the real world. I would suggest passing on this school and going somewhere with real standards for graduation. I would never hire a Grantham graduate if that was their only post secondary education.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 28 people found the following review helpful

This school has improved greatly

MBA - July 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham University really has become a great University. I see some of the former instructors concerns about plagiarism and this is a valid issue. The truth is my friend attends Rutgers and told me is fraternity has files full of papers they use to cheat. The cheater is only cheeping their own experience. The school offers plenty of challenging classes and the instructors all have respectable credentials. I started my schooling at St. Leo's which was good but Grantham is just as hard. I no they applied for Regional accreditation and I hope they get it. This school has improved dramatically since I started and I feel they should be looked at more seriously. Many of the arguments against them seem common place with all other on-line Universities. These degrees require discipline and self motivation and that is based on individual choice.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Grantham Is Great for Me

MBA - June 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham University is what you make of it. I have received my Associates and Bachelors at this school and currently am enrolled in my MBA. The school has improved dramatically in all areas since I started. They are for profit but so what. The value is reasonable and the classes are plenty challenging. I was happy to see they are under review for regional accreditation. This will help them in all areas. Grantham is a good school for the military and the working individual. The instructors all have impressive credentials and offer great guidance when you need them. The individuals that complain about lectures are better served in a brick and mortar setting.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Great school, great value, not just military

MBA - February 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MBA at Grantham last year. It took me two and a half years of hard work. Online schools are no joke. Grantham is known for being a military friendly school but anyone can attend, even non-military like myself. I would recommend Grantham to anyone looking at online schools.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Starting My Final Class

MBA - December 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my second to the last class and now all I have to complete is my Cap Stone Project for my MBA. Most of my instructors were very easy to get ahold of and the two that I called were quick to get back to me. I have to give a 10 to my advisor. She was great and kept me focused throughout my degree program. She helped me when I needed it the most. I have attended several colleges and Universities and only once before had I felt like I had someone that cared about my success as much as she did. I’m proud to say I studied and worked very hard to achieve my 3.9 GPA but, like most things you are only going to get out of it what you put into it. I could have skated by and still graduated with a 3.6 but it’s more than a GPA it’s the value of education I wanted, not just the degree. I would recommend this University to anyone. I wish it offered a DBA.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Dishonesty in this school

MBA - September 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a joke because they have received their money to pay their salaries from my financial aid loan but will not refund me my credit from my financial aid loan. Every time I call, I get told a different story or promise. I only work part-time and go to school the other time so I have expenses!! Not sure if I want to continue going here if this is the way they do their business! On a positive note, the classes are great and the instructor is too. I've only taken one graduate class at Grantham but, not sure if they want me to continue.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Final

MBA - September 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have recently completed my MBA with Grantham and wanted to give my honest assessment of the experience. I have found that some instructors are better than others, while the contact with some was easy while others was like pulling teeth. Based on my undergrad experience at a traditional university the same could be said about their faculty as well. My SPR was excellent, could not have been better. I did notice that sometimes the instuctor would issue an A for an assignment even if it was not of the highest caliber. There were times that I was rushed and did not do well but still recieved an A which should have been a B or C. I must say there seems to be some grade inflation. In the discussion forums it seemed like a lot of the students were late in submitting assignments, typical student stuff. The program is what you make it to be, one could skate by and graduate but if you applied yourself then it was very useful.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Post Graduate Summary

MBA - March 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am retired military and also work as a government civilian on a military installation. I completed my bachelor's degree as well as my Master's degree at Grantham. ALL of my transcripts have been entered as official documents into my civilian personnel record and are deemed accredited for purposes of career advancement.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

So far so good

MBA - March 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just recently completed my fourth class toward my MBA. I'd have to say I'm pleased with how everything is progressing at this point. Early on there were some issues with student reps changing but I have now had a great student rep for the last couple of classes who keeps in touch on a regular basis. Earning an MBA for me with give me personal satisfaction and hopefully more opportunities. I enjoy online learning using their G-Life platform. At the end of the day I don't know that I'll be competing against MBA's from Harvard or Yale but if I am I'd feel good about my chances as much of it is personality based anyway. I looked at other schools like University of Phoenix, Capella and for the price I am able to maximize my tuition reimbursement. Grantham is one of about four online schools that my company reccomends and I work for a Fortune 300 company who would not align themselves with just anyone.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grantham University in any way.