Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

Undergraduate, Decent School

Buisness administration - June 14, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've read a lot of negative reviews that sting Kaplan pretty bad for their confusion over Financial Aid and some class mix-ups. Online school is becoming a norm in society although it's not 100% accepted yet. It isn't for those looking for a traditional experience. Even in a traditional setting there is plenty to grip about when discussing financial information and even class schedules it's the two topics (anywhere in life) that people usually are pushed over the edge by. So if you’re looking for that experience online is not for you. I earned my Associates Degree (Business Administration) in 2013. I had such a great experience with my advisers, professors and it fit with my life that I decided to continue with them to obtain my Bachelors degree which I am about to finish up as of December 2015. Since I began I can see a shift in the criteria that is being taught it seemed as if a year into my program they were revamping the materials to make it more challenging. Online learning is a learning curve for everyone and it will continue to change but the experience is going to be what you make it. You cannot expect them to hand you a diploma if you're not willing to put in the time to work for it. That being said, just like any traditional school you have great professors and you also have some pretty crappy one's too - that's why you have to be engaged participate in the surveys and ask questions to get you through it. I can say that after I earned my degree it advanced my career and my career options. Online is not for everyone but I chose to go here and they give you the 5 weeks to determine if it is a good fit for you or not, take advantage of it. As this process becomes more accepting I think reviews will get better but if you're looking for the same "traditional" degree then go to a brick and mortar school. These online degrees are for working or complex scheduled people. I appreciate the fact that I can work full time, attend school and I save money on gas and books. Yes it is compensated for in tuition but I think my time is more valuable. I advise anyone who is working on a non-clinical degree, and is self motivated to give it a try. If you expect to become a doctor or a nurse with an online degree I would suggest you go to a community college at the very least to get your hands on experience. Like many others have pointed out, you get out of it what you put in it. Don’t discredit this University because someone had financial aid issues or they were upset about a scheduling issue, we all have some issue, address it and move on. Look at the core value and quality you are getting from the material these Professors. They are passionate about what they’re doing and you can tell that in how they teach every week in seminar and through the constant communications to students. It’s a decent school for online education.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan's worth every penny

Buisness administration - June 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a returning Kaplan student. I graduated in 2006 with my Bachelor's in Business from Kaplan. I am now back for my Master's in Public Administration. It's a shame that people are "bashing" Kaplan. I love this school. I too, had attended Univ. of Phoenix, prior to Kaplan. I was very displeased with their team classwork environment, and lackadaisical teaching style. I switched to Kaplan College (at the time). I worked my butt off. Nothing was handed to me, I fought for everything. I was consistently on the Dean's List, and sporadically President's List. This is a great school! I could have gone anywhere for my Master's, but I came back to Kaplan, because it deserves my loyalty. I've been Kaplan proud for many years. The quality of the online environment is what you make it. If you care about your own learning experience then you will do great.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Graduate of Kaplan University

Buisness administration - May 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a Bachelor's graduate of Kaplan University. I have never had issues or complaints with the educators or course work. All my instructor's were highly educated and always prepared for class. I found the course work challenging and had to work for my degree. I want to share my positive experience with Kaplan University since there are so many negative reviews/experiences. Overall I am very pleased with my experience. I did use financial aid (federal grants and student loans) to fund my education costs. I did experience one issue with financial aide where the University took out 2 thousand additional dollars during my last term which showed as credited in the end, but when compared to my student loan, no credit was seen. Based off my educational experience, I would recommend Kaplan University.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

The Good and the Bad

Buisness administration - September 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will be graduating from Kaplan this coming year. I am going for my associates degree in Accounting. The school educational department overall is very good. I have read a lot of these bad posts and they simply aren't true. At least from my experience. There are practice quizzes you can take repeatedly. However, the weekly final quiz, and final end of unit exam you take only once. Seminar participation is required. If you just open your computer and walk away you get a zero for it. Also for discussion posts there is a required amount of words that has to be written per unit, plus a required amount for reporting to at least 2 of your classmates posts. There are papers that are required to be written for some classes and they need to be in APA format, required length. There is a tutor center for help with math and English classes. They have a great resource library for references for papers. I have found 90 percent of my professors to be very helpful. The bad side to Kaplan is there financial department. You have to stay on top every term to make sure things are going correctly. I've had issue with my student loans being late to get sent to me. But never have they taken them. Some of the financial dept. is very helpful, but the others are just lazy plain lazy. I would only recommend kaplan if you have the time to keep up with the financial end. The educational side is excellent and I have learned a lot. Like any college, you get what you put into it. And you definitely can't just breeze through the classes, you have to put in the effort. I think there are past students who have failed and are trying to make the school look bad. For me ;accept the financial side) kaplan has been a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Avoid like the plague

Buisness administration - September 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University is a scam. While the traditionally school carries 3 credits per course, Kaplan is 6 and you can only take 2 classes at a time at 10 weeks each. What this means is that it takes you twice the time to finish and owing twice the money. This is still regarded at full time status so that Kaplan can get as much federal aid money as possible. I completed two years with Kaplan and ended up with over $30000 in student loans with nothing to show for it. There financial aid process is also messy and confused so you will spend more time doing that than your studies. Check out APUS, I beg you. None of the problems there that I have had with Kaplan.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

HATE THIS SCHOOL THEY HAVE NO COMMON SENSE

Buisness administration - April 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THE FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT SUCKS. THEY HAVE NO CLUE AS TO WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND ARE BEYOND RUDE. THE ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT IS JUST AS BAD. DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL. I REPEAT DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL. THIS HAS BEEN THE WORSE EXPERIENCE WITH SCHOOL I HAVE EVER HAD. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF FILING COMPLAINTS AGAINST THIS SCHOOL.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

If your goal is the piece of paper... GO KAPLAN!!!

Buisness administration - January 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Here's the deal. College for the most part, is a piece of paper that puts you above the rest. I'm in the military and my job is contracting. I require this degree not only to move up in the military, but also for when I retire from the military. When I'm retired from the military, I plan to still be doing contracting basically until I fully retire as a civilian. Extremely high paying jobs for contracting are easy to come by. The only reason I have to go to college is to get this piece of paper that says "I'm better", just playing the game. I already know contracting and nothing (no college anywhere) can teach me it any better than actually doing it at my job. Most of the classes do not apply at all to what I'm doing, or plan on doing for the rest of my life. That's not a knock on Kaplan either, any other college would be the same way. However, Kaplan provides a very easy way to obtain that piece of paper that makes others happy when applying for a position. No matter if I attend college or not makes no difference of my knowledge of my job. The piece of paper just gives me the edge over others. So if you want a very easy way to get that piece of paper that you know probably won't help you any further knowledge wise, Kaplan is great. That being said, if you really to make a conscious effort to learn you can become very knowledgeable on the subjects as well... so you can learn a lot, or a little and still do very well. I think Kaplan understands the hypocracy of degrees, so they leave it up to you to decide how much you decide to actually learn.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Instructor's experience

Buisness administration - September 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an online instructor at Kaplan. If you are a serious student who values education and wants a worthwhile college experience and a degree that actually means something, avoid Kaplan like the plague! In my ten years with the school, standards (not very high to begin with) have been continually lowered. Courses are so "dumbed down" they're a joke. Instructors are told directly to do anything possible to keep students enrolled and passing. "Retention is of utmost importance, it's never been more critical!!" we hear over & over again from top brass. The school’s leaders care only about enrollment numbers and money. Educational quality is of NO importance whatsoever. I've seen how some of my colleagues teach & grade- or should I say, DON'T teach and grade. They give canned, generic responses to every student, along with 100% or nearly 100% points to everyone for everything. Grade inflation is rampant and even encouraged. Papers and posts are usually not even read, never mind graded accurately. I doubt most students even notice however; all they want to see is 100% points awarded. Student quality is abysmally low. The school will accept almost anyone; no screening standards seem to exist. Most of the students in my courses are ill-prepared, with extremely poor written communication skills-- yet with incredible senses of entitlement to perfect grades somehow (god forbid any points are deducted for such silly things as INCORRECT answers or ILLEGIBLE writing!!). The one-two students I see every few terms who are actually of college-level ability are sadly exceptions rather than the norm at the school. And a degree from Kaplan is basically meaningless. If students did their research ahead of time with prospective employers, they'd discover few people consider Kaplan a "real" school. I would NEVER hire or recommend someone with a Kaplan degree for anything requiring a college education. I'm embarrassed to even admit I work there (the ability to work from home is the only reason I do). My advice: An increasing number of community colleges and state universities offer online courses and degree programs. If you need the online environment to make college work for you, research your local college/university programs. Get a real education and save yourself time, money, and future disappointment. Avoid paper-mill, sham places like Kaplan whatever you do.

Was this review helpful?

71 of 85 people found the following review helpful

if you dont graduate, you will rate it poorly

Buisness administration - August 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2011. I learned a lot and took it seriously. The hardest thing is to discipline your self to study AT YOUR OWN TIME. I had no issues with Kaplan. After Graduation, they have a Alumni site and offer great tools in resumes and finding a job. Its a lot better then some state school offer.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan is wonderful!

Buisness administration - August 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First off, let me say Kaplan is a wonderful school! I am in my second term and have no problems All A's! The majority of all the reviews I see here are pertaining to Financial Aid issues. #1 Your financial aid isn't your employment they are loans you have to pay back, at Kaplan you initially only borrow the amount needed to cover your education needs. Majority of the people, especially the ones that are complaining submit whats called a Student Expense Form to receive additional loans, which adds to its current loan bill. The only way you owe is if you are dropped from class or withdraw and you were already disbursed the funds. Some students don't meet the attendance requirement and are dropped as well. But all the people that are posting negative reviews aren't going to tell the truth! They are going to say what makes them look good! Its not Kaplans fault if your internet service is cut off that is a personal responsibility you have being an online student,how else are you going to learn online? And the amount of loan debt you are left with is your decision, they tell you the cost per credit in the beginning of $371 upfront so why complain now, were you unable to comprehend? No you just wanted that refund check! You can't find a job No university you go to doesn't guarantee a job with a degree, look at this economy no matter what school you go to jobs are hard to come by for majority of graduates. You have to attempt to find it yourself no one is going to hand a job to you. Network, slam the pavements! The time you are spending writing negative reviews you could be finding a job. The main thing I can say is don't take out loans you can't afford to pay back which looks like the majority of these reviews. The work is challenging and you need to be active to maintain grades, so as long as you put forth your required effort, Kaplan will be a rewarding experience.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Please read before enrolling!

Buisness administration - July 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please look into this school before enrolling! At first, this school was great. It was incredibly expensive but it was suitable for me. Then came the problems, one after another constantly. First of all, the staff is illiterate! I still to this day wonder why they have people "teaching" online classes if they cant even use a computer! The staff is SO lazy and will do anything to get out of being active in class and actually teaching. The only one good professor there, he is wonderful. Then in my 3rd term, I wanted to drop my math class 2 days after it started (I had not participated in it at all yet) and they said I couldnt! So I asked if I could drop all 3 of my classes and take a break that term, they said the day I called was the last day to drop classes and not get charged for them. Therefore, I wouldn't get charged for them. She said I would get a call back in an hour. I NEVER HEARD FROM HER! I was disrespected and treated badly and charged over $650 for 3 classes 2 days after they started! The financial aid is a joke and I am pretty sure most of the staff there are mentally ill and very unprofessional. DONT GO THERE!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Business administration - Business Management

Buisness administration - June 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Horrible institution. I had to take a leave of absence and they would not let me resume my studies until I paid the bill in full. In the process of trying to make payments they made it extremely difficult for me to pay them each month when I tried to make a payment I would be routed so many times that the system would either hang up on me or I would hang up due to frustration from being transferred and being on hold for 20+ minutes.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Communication

Buisness administration - May 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would make some recommendations to current and former students of Kaplan University with my main recommendation being to communicate. If you have issues, whether it be financial aid, late assignments, classes, tutors, other students etc immediately contact the University and get the issues resolved. don't just sit back and hope someone will take care of it for you. Unresolved issues tend to fester, and the longer you leave it the worse it gets. So talk to someone at the University, write an email, send a letter, do something. If you don't then you don't have anyone to blame but yourself. Education is NOT free, other than grants you have to pay the money back. If you get a stipend you have to pay that back also. It is not free money. You have to pay the piper some day.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

the Kaplan Scam

Buisness administration - March 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have given the past year to this school. Long story short, I feel victim to The Kaplan Scam. Maintained a 4.0 for the year, yes, I was very hard-working student & single mom & full-time worker. After a death in the family I broke. As per suggestions of my instructors I asked for LOA. Well apparently you have to plan 3 mos in advance for an emergency, so I was dropped. Kaplan already had my $ for this term & I only authorized funds to be released to me. Financial aid told me I was owed $ & I would receive it by March 19. When that didn't happen I contacted FA again to find out they decided that $ would go back to FA instead of me. On top of that they say I now owe an additional $2100. I have since heard that this has been an issue with many others. I have contacted an attorney & would love to hear your issues. Maybe we could get back what we're owed & stop others from falling victim to The Kaplan Scam. Please feel free to email me directly.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan's Reputation...

Buisness administration - January 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Okay I recently graduated from Kaplan with a Bachelor's in Business Administration. Here is my take on my experience: The Good: I personally did not have any major issues with the school. There were a few times they screwed up on something but I caught it and they fixed it right away. Overall I felt the teachers were great. The coursework was challenging enough and I worked hard for my degree. I didnt experience a whole lot of technical issues with the KUCampus. Sometimes the site would be down and I would be unable to submit an assignment but as long as I communicated with my instructors I never ran into any real problems. The Bad: Tuition is outrageously expensive. Fortunately I had my GI Bill but if not I dont know how I would have been able to afford this school. My entire degree cost over $40k which is an obscene amount of money for an online degree. The Ugly: I did some research on Kaplan and came across some very interesting and disturbing articles. It turns out that Kaplan and several other online universities are under an investigation for fraud. There were many cases of misrepresentation during recruiting students. Apparently Kaplan recruiters were under alot of pressure to bring in more students because the more students they recruit the more profits the shareholder makes so the recruiters were telling students anything to get them in. According to some other articles, Kaplan was caught changing grades to keep failing students from dropping out so they could continue to receive tuition payments. Overall, Kaplan's reputation is in trouble. These investigations are being conducted by the GAO. Look it up for yourself, it is listed all over the internet. Overall, I worked my butt off for a degree I fear will mean nothing determining the results of this pending investigation. Once I graduated I was excited to display my diploma. Now I feel awkward and wonder how people will view my diploma. If Kaplan did the things it is being accused of, what will this mean for those of us that graduated from them?

Was this review helpful?

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful

real review by a real (CURRENT) student

Buisness administration - November 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started my 1st term with this school on Sept 21, 2011. so far everything has been fine no problems, i honestly dont understand where all of these negative comments are coming from. I have someone from the acedemic advisors call me every friday to check up on me which is great. She tells me about scholarshps i can apply for and is really helpful. It feels good to know they are care about how you are doing. The classes are kinda challenging but its not supposed to be easy. One of my professors REALLLLLLY pushes me and my classmates to do better....and my other professor is a slacker to say the least!!!!!! So thats the only problem.. So seriously people, consider this school, dont listen to what others have to say because they were to lazy to accomplish anything. Kaplan isnt the next howard law but it really is a good school with great resources.... a REAL KAPLAN STUDENT....

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Rampant Grade Inflation

Buisness administration - October 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I worked as an instructor for KU for years. During that time, all instructors were rated solely on their student evals, which made teaching there a popularity contest. The result: LOTS of grade inflation. I would receive rosters of students in which not a SINGLE student was prepared for college-level work (Kaplan's so-called 'one-or-two risk factor' students, I guess). What was I to do - fail them all? Of course I didn't - I would get bad student evals and lose my job if I did that!! So, they got a pass. Just saying... So if that's the kind of education you're looking for, then I say GO FOR IT!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Almost done!

Buisness administration - September 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have come to this website a time or two just to see what everyone says. I have 4 terms left until I receive my bachelor's degree in business administration. I can honestly say that this has been one of the best experiences I've had with school. I have had one issue with financial aid and that was on my part not theirs. I made one phone call and the financial aid personnel helped me clear it up. The academic advisors have been great and have helped me choose classes that followed my path of study so I don't feel like I've wasted my money. Yes it is pricey, but I am paying for the convenience of going to school online. I do not have to get in my car, drive somewhere, sit in a room with others for "x" amount of time, get back in my car, drive back home and then deal with the rest of my life. I work a 50 hours a week job, have a husband, 3 boys, a home and 6 dogs to tend to. I stay focused on my school and I keep my GPA up so I can be proud of what I am doing. If you think going to school online should be easy then you are fooling yourself. Dedication to your studies is the only thing you can do to maintain self respect and be proud of what you are doing. Kaplan has been a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience getting my Master's

Buisness administration - July 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my MBA from Kaplan University (online) and I thought the program was great. The common theme to success in these courses is being responsible, organized and holding yourself accountable. If you do your assignments on time and put effort into them, the course is a breeze. I found that when I got myself in a bind, communication is a must and most of the time the professors and the school will work with you to be successful. The school wants you to succeed that is how they get paid, they don't want people dropping out. Overall I am very pleased with my MBA course work at Kaplan.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Teachers are GREAT Administration is TERRIBLE

Buisness administration - March 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm almost finished with an AAS in Business Admin; In my expereince Kaplan University Online's amdinistration is terrible and inefficient. Some of the departments cannot be reached by the other departments, which means that if ever you have an issue, it's possible to think it's being resolved, but all that really happened is a notary on your account about it. The financial department has made mistakes IN THE DOZENS on my account alone! When I try to contact individuals (each student is assigned a representative from each department - I have about 6) I seldom get a call back unless I bug them over and over via both email and phone. Even their phone service is inefficient. Randomly chosen, when you call, you're offered the opportunity to take a survey at the end to report your experience, but NOT once has it ever actually allowed me to - it just hangs up on me when I'm finished with the representative. ON A POSITIVE NOTE: Every teacher I've had (7) so far has been VERY experienced, attentive, tuned in, and efficient! I wish they ran the school. haha

Was this review helpful?

Once they hook you it's all about the $$$$

Buisness administration - March 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started the program but unfortunately I had to drop after the second "term" I had asked if I would be able to take a few terms off, but I was told I couldn't. The instructors aren't helpful at all, most of the time you can't understand them during the lectures. The material is adequat, if we actually used it. The nightmare comes with the financial portion of it. When I first talked with the "advisor" I was told it would cost 371.00 per class unit. OK that's fine not realizing or explained that each class is 10 units, so each class cost $3,710.00. WOW....And to top it off I was told I would have to get a loan...of approximately $1,200.00 NOPE.. that loan was $7,500.00. And since they wouldn't let me take a few terms off I now have to pay that back, my Pell money is used up and I still don't have my degree. DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL....

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

NOT WORTH THE $60,000 TUITION!!!!!

Buisness administration - January 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The only positive thing I can say is there are instructors who do enjoy their work and sincerely want to see students suceed. Unfortunately, the school is extremely expensive for online education and the degree is not valued in the workforce. Most people that grad and find work is due to their previous experience. Do not be pushed into enrolling if you have never taken a online class first. It is definately not for everyone. Do not commit yourself to $60,000 for a worthless degree. Go to a real school. Most campus schools offer online evening and weekend classes! Be smart...do your homework first...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

The 411 on Kaplan University

Buisness administration - December 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For those of you that are seeking a degree and feel that an online degree is your best option, Kaplan is an excellent choice IF you are self-motivated and do not require constant supervision. I am currently in my 4th term at Kaplan, and am pursuing an associates degree in Business Administration so all my comments regarding curriculum will be limited to the Kaplan School of Business. The value of the material taught in my courses is outstanding. After reading some of these reviews that state that the curriculum taught to them was severely outdated I was a little confused. Kaplan offers a very up to date and appropriate curriculum in their business classes. Lean Six Sigma and Globality are both high profile, cutting edge business practices utilized by international companies and are both included in Kaplan curriculum, and as a matter of fact, most of my text books are BRAND NEW. For those individuals that found classes to be too easy, I believe this might be the case because they have been working for several years in the same field in which they are attempting to obtain a degree and therefore have a much higher professional knowledge of the material then someone just graduating from highschool. Those that complain about feeling as though they are teaching themselves by reading the book and then completing the required coursework with minimal instructor supervision I just want to say this. First of all, when you attend an online college, the personalism offered by brick and mortar schools is impossible. It is obvious that you will not be coming into contact with your instructor or classmates in the same manner as you would in a traditional university. I too was concerned about this, but with the tutoring services such as the writing center and math center there to help you, I have NEVER gone without assistance when I needed it. Secondly, note that when you attend online, it is called distance learning, or by correspondence. If you are unable to stay on track without constant supervision, then don't go to ANY online school because that will be the case with all of them. As far as financial aid, I have to say that I receive GI Bill benefits as well as tuition reimbursement from my employer and have not had any problems other than having to make the occasional phone call to ensure the college sends my enrollment verification to the VA in a timely manner. With regard to cost, Kaplan's fees and tuition are clearly posted on their website. Do the math and determine what the total cost will be. Those who say Kaplan is expensive apparently did not go online to look at the cost. Also, a college education IS NOT FREE. If your aid doesn't cover it all, don't be upset if you have to pay a bit out of pocket. A lot of people have to pay ALL of it out of pocket. Additionally, PAY ATTENTION to your account. I check mine on a weekly basis, and if something is amis, I call. Be PROACTIVE, not REACTIVE. As far as the people who complained about Kaplan holding their degree or transcripts hostage until their final balance is paid, ALL PRIVATE SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES DO THAT. Once they give you your degree, or an offical copy of your transcripts, there is no motivation for you to pay your debt. My daughter went to a private Christian school when she was in the 2nd grade and when I decided to transfer her to public school, they would not release her transcripts to me until I paid off my balance. That is just how it works. If you call and can't get the person you are trying to reach, often there is someone else that can help you. The people that work in these student support departments are just like us. They take vacations, get sick, go to meetings and also deal with hundreds of other students. They can be quite pleasant and accomodating if you treat them the way you want to be treated. My first term academic adviser, Debra Barrett was absolutely AWESOME! She was my advisor through my first term, but still e-mails and calls me to check up on me and give me words of encouragement. Also, as far as Kaplan's accreditation is concerned, they are regionally accredited and your degree is valid. The person that posted earlier about their human resources department throwing resumes in the trash of people who have Kaplan degrees does not realize that they are violating laws regarding equal employment opportunity. I currently work for the Marine Corps and not only do they accept my Kaplan transcripts towards career advancement, but they also pay my Kaplan tuition reimbursement. My advise is if you are looking to go to an online school, and you are interested in Kaplan, do your research, not just by reading these reviews, but by thoroughly researching Kaplan's website, as well as that from other online schools. Know what you are getting into and what you want to get out of your education. Good luck to all of you.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan Business Student -- Still on the right path

Buisness administration - October 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see alot of currently attending students complaining about how bad they think Kaplan is. Firstly, the Financial Aid department has given me some problems, this mainly being because of their inability to really listen. Overall, I have gotten every one of my FA issues handled in a proper amount of time. The classes are tough at times, especially the critical thinking and writing classes. The discussion threads can be mundane at times and can seem quite juvenile. I completely stopped attending seminars as it became just a bunch of babble between students. There never seemed to be much value in the seminars. One of the biggest things that bothers me about the university is the type of people they let in. I was suprised to see the amount of misspelled words, run-on sentences, and lack of proper puncuation. It's hard to add value to a discussion that lacks intelligence and thought to begin with. Overall, this has been an outstanding school and has already been a huge value in my search for a career.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

THEY ARE A BUNCH OF CAR SALESMEN! DO NOT SIGN UP!

Buisness administration - September 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have never written an online review (positive or negative) but the anger and disappointment I feel towards Kaplan have compelled me to speak out and warn others about the nature of this company (and yes, they are a private, profit-seeking corporation). Basically, the only thing Kaplan is concerned about is getting your money. They are a company built on "smoke and mirrors" and are entirely dependent upon their sales and marketing team to survive. I am a smart, well-educated person who is neither careless nor easily manipulated, and I can honestly say, that never in my life have I felt so swindled and deceived by anyone. Essentially, Kaplan stole $3000 from me in the form of federal student loan money. Their financial department is completely broken and their academic system is ineffective and way below par. This corporation is a sham; they are selling a faulty product and making an extremely high profit from it. My decision to trust them was one of the worst financial decisions of my life.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan is a scam

Buisness administration - August 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the worst school that I have ever attended. I was dismissed a few months back and you wouldnt believe they tell you that you have to wait 6-9 months to even get an answer if you can return or not. I never knew that saying yes or no could be so hard. I later found out that this school is a scam because no other schools will accept credits from them, but they are "accredited". Dont waste your time or money. If you are dismissed and they deny your appeal you have to go to a different school and can not return to kaplan under no circumstances. Sounds like a spam to me because if they dont take you back and their credits dont transfer, whats the purpose of going there.

Was this review helpful?

Just unenrolled after nearly two years

Buisness administration - June 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was in tears today after yet another back and forth nearly raging dispute with their Student accounts office. they have been tanpering with my account for months; Calling me all throughout the day, every day and sometimes hanging up in my face. Even though I have not yet completed my degree, and I owe thousands of dollars in student loans, I feel more relief than I have in months to get this school out of my life. I failed seveeral classes during my journey, not due to some of there excellent teachers, but due to the stress from FA. I was scammed just as everyone has claimed and /i now owe the school money before they will release my transcripts. It's a long story, but I will leave you with this, please save yourself, RUN. And I have never regretteed anything in my life...until now.

Was this review helpful?

Good Program, Horrible Support

Buisness administration - June 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

School is good overall, Financial Aid and Student Accounts are the absolute worst on the planet. I recently graduated with my AAS in Business management and that is when the problems started with Kaplan. First, I wanted to stay and continue taking my bachelors degree with Kaplan. Someone in FA processed me as finished with my degree instead of continuing and processed my Final Graduate Review. I received a bill of 1215.55. This is after I never missed a 200 dollar a month payment. I paid the balance and was told that my account was satisfied and also received a receipt. Then I got another phone call saying that they made an error and I owe another 300 dollars and they suspended my account. I got the feeling that Kaplan was just after my money and didnt care anything of my education and that is why I have chose to continue my education elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

I like Kaplan a lot

Buisness administration - June 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am almost done with my Business Administration degree and am continuing on with my MBA. I like Kaplan a lot. A lot of the negative posts are about Kaplan Career schools which are separate from Kaplan online. Career schools are tough and the programs are very demanding. Many career institute students work 40 hours a week + and attend early morning or evening class for 20+ hours a week at the campus. It is a hard program and many people drop out. Also, many of those students sign up expecting to learn just nursing or just HVAC but get discouraged when the first few months of classes are about basic math and other things they will never use in their career. They have to teach these classes in order to be accredited which allows them to offer financial aid. I attended University of Phoenix before Kaplan and I found it very easy go get and A. At Kaplan it requires a lot more work to maintain a high GPA which makes me feel it is a better quality education. Financial aid offices in ever school are filled with problems. Almost every college graduate and student I have ever met in my life has horror stories about Financial Aid. It is a government program; it is flawed, confusing and ever changing. Also, the student loan program’s M.O. is to tell you everything is fine and then come back a month later and tell you it is messed up. Also, read what you sign in FA, most people don't. If your FA gets messed up, you are on the hook for your tuition; this is true for every school in the country. FA works the same at every college and it has problems at every college. Just ask a student who has attended college for a few years, not someone who just enrolled and you will find a lot of problems with FA. I have found my instructors to be very knowledgeable. A lot of colleges and universities feature instructors who have never really done anything but instructed. My online instructors who teach accounting are actually CPAs who work during the day and teach at night. My business law class was taught by an actual practicing business lawyer, not by someone who just spits out what they learned in their college. My management classes are taught by people who run factories and companies during the day. I think it is a great school and I think if you read more into the negative posts and consider the sources you will find that there is more to these negative stories.

Was this review helpful?

Financial Aid Issues

Buisness administration - June 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think that one department can change the minds of many individual. I am suppose to enrolled in my first class next week but Im having issues with FA that I have never had before. I have been at University Of Phoenix for two years and have had great experiences but I chose online Kaplan because I could possible graduate earlier and it illiminates the driving time for me. At KU, my academic advisor...I truley have nothing but terrific things to say about him. He has done a great job with getting me started. My problem comes from being given a scholarship from Kaplan and then told that I have a monthly payment of over a $100 a month for 8months. I dont know where they do that at. I have not paid a penny since I have been at U Of P but now I have to pay out of pocket now at a new school. This doesnt sit right with me after I was approved for $4200/fafsa. I have a child who is entering college and two other kids. I have completely changed my mind about Kaplan because of Financial Aid. What I dont understand is Univeristy of Phoenix is more, less credits, 120 credtis for program and I pay nothing and always get excess monies refunded to me. Kaplan is less, require more credit hours but give you more credits,applied my fafsa with no excess monies, gave me a scholarship and still requires me to make a monthly payment. I should be able to use my money anyway I want if you give it to me and not take it to offset my out of pocket expenses. I wanted to take a chance at Kaplan but I dont think anyone should have to make decisions that dont seem right. I think it the Financial Aid Department.

Was this review helpful?

as a militarty soldier,father,husband, and student

Buisness administration - May 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I serve active in the Army and am a father of 5 children all under the age of 7. Not only that, I take all my coarses online as well. Support is great, the instructors are approachable, and even the people that assist me with my classes to take that obtain to my degree are in my interest, not just theirs. I highly reccommend this to others, for this is my first degree program with them, but my second over all. And if you do have a another degree heres the kicker, they are in your favor of getting more credit hours transferred over, which means less classes down the road.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

FA NIGHTMARE

Buisness administration - May 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Financial Aid will steal your stipend money and keep you in the dark about the funds they will fax and email you documents that you will fill out and return in order for them to say that you never handed it in to further fix the books you will complain and they will lie the education is challenging there is no EASY way to complete your degree here but the financial aid will screw you in the ass and ruin you financially education at its best? Maybe a world class scheme ? IDK but please check it rip off report before you begin !!!!! There is certainly something fishy going on here I feel like if I leace the school there will be more trouble if you are rich then go ahead if you need financial aid then go to a brand name local university

Was this review helpful?

Waste of time and money

Buisness administration - May 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending this school for about a year now. I'm am/was suppose to graduate in 7 months. I went into school today to get my books and new schedule since the new term starts tomorrow. They couldn't find my schedule so I had to go to students services and found they had academically dismissed me for failing 2 classes. I don't understand how they do this. Especially without a warning!! I also never did get any financial aid for this school and had to pay monthly payments out of pocket. I also have about a $15,000 loan to now pay off from my associates degree that I obviously did not receive. Also my credits will not transfer anywhere so Kaplan University wasted my time and money!! So with my bad experience I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Cracker-Jack University, SCAM, FA Dept rips u off

Buisness administration - May 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Kaplan for 4 years. I spent four years calling and emailing the Financial Aid Dept to get no responses. They over awarded me too much in aid and now I am unable to go back for my masters at any school. They put me over the aggregate limit and now they wont even do anything to fix it. The professors are a joke, they never answer emails, or even read assignments, they just give you an A. I submitted several assignments that were blank documents because the instructor never emailed me back when I had questions. When the grades were posted they responded with "an excellent research paper, very well written and right on topic." what a joke to say that about a blank paper. I got my Bachelors Degree but in my opinion, it might as well say Cracker-Jack University instead of Kaplan University. If you want a real education, do not attend Kaplan. If you want to get a degree without doing any work and have time to spend on the phone with the Fin Aid Dept, then Kaplan is the school for you.

Was this review helpful?

Not Recommended

Buisness administration - April 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Support upon entering Kaplan is excellent; but once you are enrolled, that support stops. I too had life to happen which caused me to fall behind in classes. I received a letter that I was being put on probation, which caused me to sort out my personal issues and concentrate on school. Completed four classes with an A and was dismissed from school while in the 5th class. Unbeknownest to me, no matter how well I did in my classes, due to some scoring system, I would not have been able to continue at Kaplan. When I asked why was I allowed to continue at Kaplan, my advisor told me that he had too many students and it was not his job to inform me of what would happen. I appealed the decision and the entire appeals process was a big joke. First, no one seemed to know who was handling my appeal, then when found, I was told that due to the holidays it would be viewed later. And finally after 3 months of calling and following up, I gave up and enrolled in another school; at which time I received an email that my appeal had been denied. I would not recommend Kaplan at all.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan=Scam+lazy professors

Buisness administration - April 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan has Professors who are lazy, don't answer emails, can't teach worth a flip, financial aid department scams students out of money, and the textbooks are a total joke!! They are the worst material I have ever seen and I should know, I got my AAS from a real college and had a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

Better than half the CRAP people on here write!

Buisness administration - April 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The classes are hard! The teachers are precise and clear and though they don't send you little emails that encourage you to do better, they definitely respond to your emails in a timely manor. They also comment on all of the work you do and tell you what you did right and need to work on. I have some professors that I can tell push me. They don't let me slide with work that is just okay. They make me work for my A's. The books are their own and they just as full of great quality material as any other textbook I've had. One thing they COULD work on is their student involvement. There is a lot but they could add more. I have no idea what all these other people are talking about.lol

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan University

Buisness administration - March 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am attending my third term at Kaplan, and I absolutely love it. The professors are great, as are the Academic Advisors AND Financial Aide department. I did have one issue in the beginning with FA, but it was resolved with one quick phone call. They sent me a bill for my first term, but the tuition amount should have been placed on my student loan account with Discover. I have absolutely no complaints about Kaplan. As I go on the classes become more and more challenging and if I ever have any questions the professors are more than willing to help. Some of them even give you their cell phone numbers incase you have an emergency or need help outside of the office hours. LOVE IT! I would reccommend this school to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

cost

Buisness administration - December 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my associates degree @ Kaplan. I started on my bachelors and then they bumped up the tech fees to 100 dollars per class extra. they are a for profit school and all about the money. The finacial aid dept. really has alot to be desired. I won't ever go back!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Financial aid and business office blows

Buisness administration - December 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

kaplan does not care about their students. Their financial aid office has held over 8k in student loans for the last 4 months. They will lie and tell you that they were sent. They will hold on to your money as long as they can. It has been a real battle. I have been emailing and calling for 3 months. I think I finally annoyed them enough with emails and calls every day, that I may actually receive my money this week. Plus, the school is a joke. I never studied and got 4.0 in all of the classes I have taken. Now, I am studying for the Gmat exam and plan on going to a real university next spring.

Was this review helpful?

Awful...

Buisness administration - December 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in Kaplan University in May of 2009 in the MBA online program. I was anxious to start my degree and did not complete as much research as I should have. The classes are a complete joke. I walked away with four A's with maybe putting in about 2 hours of work a week, without opening a book at all. The statistics class was rediculous. I never submitted one assignment correctly but managed to pass the class with a 97%. You want to talk about teachers giving out A's, well if thats what you want then Kaplan is the school for you. I like to be challenged, and not once did I ever feel challenged with Kaplan. The work was easier then some of the work I had to complete in high school let alone my bachelor degree. The teachers are simply there to pretend like they are adding to discussions and to grade the work. By grade I mean give you an A as long as you turned in the assignment. I finished five classes with Kaplan and now I am done. I transferred to a better school which luckily accepted 2 of the 5 classes I completed for transfer. I'm now in $11,000 worth of debt and have absolutely nothing to show for it. What a joke.

Was this review helpful?

Bad Fin Aid Dept

Buisness administration - November 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In my fourth term. I have one year left to finish my associates in business adminiatration. My experience so far has been mediocre. I have had multiple run ins with financial aid. All have been supposedly resolved but they took several months of headaches, phone call and bills to resolve. Fina aid is very difficult to contact. My advisor is great. Some teachers seem like they are not professional. I just hope I can do something with this degree and by the time I graduate I will owe over 20k in student loans.

Was this review helpful?

GLARING FINANCIAL AID ISSUES

Buisness administration - October 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read many posts about how financial aid issues checks then tells students they are not past due and will be blocked from class.... THAT HAT JUST HAPPENED TO ME! I received a past due notice and was given 7 days to pay up or I would be blocked. I am one week away from starting my last class. I can not begin to tell you how incredibly PISSED OFF I am at this. I have emailed everyone I can think of, including the commission that accredited Kaplan and am still waiting for a resolution. Unless your wealthy and don't have to rely on financial aid... watch them like a hawk. The classes were awesome and the faculty was great.

Was this review helpful?

Any Fool Can Get a Degree from Kaplan

Buisness administration - June 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I left a local community college to attend Kaplan University in the Spring of 07. My experience there was a complete joke. I learned absolutely nothing and found the curriculum to be too easy. Anyone who even attempted to go to seminar would get an A, there was no challenge. The professors seemed to have great credentials, but that only matters if they teach you. For example, any test I took I could retake as many times as I liked until I was happy with my grade. Where is the learning in that? I wanted to be a CPA and decided that I needed to go to a "real" school to get my degree. So I left and am now attending Illinois State University. I knew that there was no way Kaplan would prepare me for the real world. My husband continued to attend Kaplan and will graduate next month. For him it was the answer because he was looking for an easy way out. To compare, we both go full time and I spend 40 hours a week on school and he spends 2. He has learned nothing. We joke about just paying them the 30k so we can get the degree and skip all the waiting. I am most definitely challenged at my University and I would challenge ANY graduate of Accountancy at Kaplan to match what I have learned at my brick and mortar building. Kaplan doesn't even offer a real degree in Accounting, its some BA with Accounting emphasis that means nothing. You are not an Accountant until you earned your way with a real degree. Good luck to any future students wanting to pass the CPA with a Kaplan degree. I wouldn't trust it.

Was this review helpful?

Mixed Review

Buisness administration - April 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University is like any other institution and want to make a profit and try to make their numbers. I have been with Kaplan since I started my Associates and am currently enrolled in the Masters program of Business Management with an emphasis. I have had many misleading problems with Financial Aid and the Business department in regards to loans and grants and have to call them to get my living expenses and then have to wait two additional weeks to have them cut. This is very frustrating and has made my experience regretful. I would like to say that the online teachers are excellent for the most part but some are just incoherent and I could teach myself. I knew from the beginning that Kaplan was a sticky academic venture but as time goes on, they really need to improve their values, compensation, and even customer results. Kaplan is like any other college except for it is too demanding and needs to get their financial departments attuned to the students. I keep track of my loans and so far, I have had a few discrepancies but I keep up with statements from lenders as well as Kaplan and when I see the red flag, I am on the phone right away. It's a shame this institution has went from well to not worthy but I guess that goes from how they interact strategically in the Human Resource department to the actual enrollment. Just do your homework and make sure that you can afford Kaplan or if another place might be better for you.

Was this review helpful?

They Sell Your Information

Buisness administration - March 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I first contacted Kaplan University because I wanted to earn my MBA online due to work schedule, etc. They called and called - even after I'd answered and spoken with them! - wanting to give me information on their school. After I began my first semester of classes (just recently), they STILL CALLED ME WANTING TO GIVE ME INFORMATION ABOUT THEIR DEGREE PROGRAMS AND SCHOOL!!! I finally told them that the number they were calling was not who they thought it was. The man said that I would be taken off THEIR list, but he can't guarantee I would be taken off the list of the other schools who now had my number. WHAT? It seems they sold my information to other online schools. At least he was open about it! HA! I honestly can't decide whether or not to sign up for another semester with a school that treats its students' information like marketing tools and a way to conduct business with other online schools. What a crock.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful!!!

Buisness administration - March 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my 5th term at Kaplan. All of my books have been new. In additional, my teachers are very good. My academic advisor is always there when I need him as well as my financial aid counselor. At the end of each semester, I get my stipends as promised. I would recommend to anyone looking to go to school on-line...

Was this review helpful?

Waste of Money - Just an expensive Mill

Buisness administration - March 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm sorry I signed up. It was a waste of money, and trying to communicate with anyone felt like they had rote answers just to placate people to get them off the phone. I could have used the money and just bought the books and read them myself and received more out of it. It's very hard to get ahold of anyone beyond just a call line customer service trainee. Just as a warning if you buy into the program - whether you like it or not you are stuck with the entire payment to the end. Think before you purchase. Also for the online training program - if you like jumping across 20 websites for each chapters of a book to find information - you might like it. I like all my information in one area to work with, coinciding with a book is perfect. Again, the layout was vague and hard to follow.

Was this review helpful?

Too Much of a Hassle

Buisness administration - February 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While I felt this school offered a moderate education experience there are too many upsetting things about this school for me to EVER recommend it to another. For the most part the academic advisors were accomodating, I only had one semi-bad one that did not enroll me in the emphasis I requested, and by the time I found out I would have had to take additional courses. This is minor though. The largest problem is all the headaches with the financial department. I had to call for a month straight before I got my two semesters worth of scholarships applied to my account the first time and a year later I discovered they had missed five terms of scholarships. They are terrible at communicating. Then there was issues with money leaving my lender and not being applied to my account or not being correctly applied (both have happened). To me that is BS. When the money leaves the bank and arrives in theirs (Kaplan confirmed they recieved the funds), it should hit my account equally as quick. All that I've said still can't fully describe the TERRIBLE service they provide. As for the one review stating that people have to read their lenders contracts, you are an idiot. I don't have a problem with the lender. I can fully see what and when they've disbursed money. It's Kaplan's financial department that is the problem. They are too incompetent to do their job and apply funds correctly to an individuals account. Clearly I'm not the only one that has had issues, if you go to the better business bureau site you can see the numerous complaints (mostly financial) against this institution.

Was this review helpful?

Working out great!

Buisness administration - January 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my 6th term with Kaplan. I work full time and have a family. Attending an online school is the only way I could reaonably get my degree. I checked into local schools that have online programs but you can only take certain classes at certain times and it would have taken me years to finish. I am almost halfway done with my Associate's Degree after one year. I work with someone who will be finishing their Associate's Degree this summer from a local traditional college after 5 YEARS of classes! The classes are pretty easy at first but they do get harder and the whole thing is you have to actually do the work that is assigned each week or you will struggle. I probably spend about 15 hours a week on my school work. I have never had a problem with any of my instructors getting back to me and most of them will work with you if you have problems. The cost - very high. The only reason this working for me is because I have tuition assistance from my employer, I got a government grant, and the rest is financed trough financial aid. With that I only have to pay less than a third of the actual tuition, otherwise I could not afford it. All-in-all my experience at Kaplan has been great and I would recommend it for those who don't have the option of attending a traditional classroom and can afford it.

Was this review helpful?

Positive Kaplan Experience

Buisness administration - December 3, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated from Kaplan in September 2008 with my BS in Business/Accounting. I have nothing but good things to say about them. All of the people that I worked with were professionals. They returned my phone calls and emails promptly, worked with me when I needed to change classes. The registrar's office even when above and beyond when I needed extra paperwork for an international business work visa based on my degree. It annoys me that there are few positive reviews at Kaplan, just like for most products. The people who scream the loudest are those that have problems. Not only did I graduate with a BS, I have also been accepted to graduate school for my M.Acc. based on that degree. It is a traditional public university that is accredited by the AACSB and I start in January 2009.

Was this review helpful?

Great School!

Buisness administration - October 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently graduated from Kaplan University in June 2008 with my Associates Degree in Business Management. I had very good experiences with most of my instructors, only one instructor that I had I didn't like. But with any school that will happen whether it be online or at a "brick and mortar" campus. My only complaint was the Financial Aid office, they were tough to get a hold of and once on the phone I was able to get the answers I needed. I would recommend before choosing any school do the research and make sure its a good fit. The online environment is not for everyone, if you do decide to take online classes make sure you are someone that has great time management skills. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan Honest Review

Buisness administration - June 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am Kaplan student as well as Kaplan employee. Things which I like about kaplan 1. Materials 2. Technology Things I do not like 1. Student Quality 2. Some of the professor are not good, they will not contribute or provide feedback I get 75% employee discount so for me it is not expensive compare to what I am getting. If you are self learner, kaplan is great but if you prefer lectures then honestly online MBA are not for you. I have learned from my classes but I may have done that from any class. I cannot compare to any other institution as I never attended them.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan NOT recommended

Buisness administration - May 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a business student at Kaplan. My first semester started out fine until they changed the details of finance and demanded over $2,000 from me immediately instead of over 6 months like I was told. Now, the second semester has classes that require APA formatting, but they haven't taught that yet, so you have to teach yourself. They also have requirements that make it necessary to have a substantial amount of knowledge with Word, yet that class is next, after you need it. Unlike most schools where common sense class placement would have you taking the basics, they have them after you have almost failed the classes you needed them for. They say you can take this because it will fit your lifestyle. They forgot to add that you had better not have a job or relationship because the requirements and the lack of assistance WILL consume ALL of your time. I really would not recommended Kaplan to anyone. Look elsewhere. I am planning on taking my credits and going to a different school.

Was this review helpful?

Great School

Buisness administration - April 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Kaplan University and I have nothing but great things to say about the University. I have attended a brick and mortar university and also the online setting and I find them very similar in terms of level of education. I have never had a problem with the financial aid staff, quite the contrary. I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration. The classes start out easy for some and then progress into the higher level courses which are very difficult. You need to have self discipline, organization and be self motivated to be a successful student. I don’t really get the students that go to this school and then quit, doesn’t really make sense, maybe you’re not a good student. Who enrolls into a University and then quits after a couple of classes there’s a reason why you don’t have a degree. Quit making excuses and ruining it for the students that have graduated and will graduate just because you couldn’t deal with the classes and environment and lack of financial aid understanding!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Two weeks until Graduation-not excited

Buisness administration - March 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to agree with many of the postings stating the financial aid/student accounts departments need to get training with how to deal with the consumers. I have attended Kaplan University Online since August 2004 and now have two weeks before my last classes end. (April 8,2008). I am not excited since I found out I will need to pay an additional $1700 before I will get my degree. I did not find this out until the earlier part of March, even though I have called, sent e-mails and tried to find out what my account looked like. In August 2007, I contacted my financial aid advisor and agreed to pay a certain amount each month until January 2008 to cover my tituation expenses until graduation. However, even though I paid the certain amount, my balance did not zero it's self. I have contacted my dean to find out what needs to be done or can be done. This was a week ago and I have not received a response. If you do go to Kaplan, you would do better if you have all money to cover your tituation out of pocket. If you do not decide to attend Kaplan, you will miss a wonderful learning experience. The professors are wonderful. The supporting staff needs to get customer service training as well as educated on how to handle student loans.

Was this review helpful?

Your Kaplan experience is determined by YOU!!

Buisness administration - March 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a Kaplan student myself, I found the diversity of reviews on Kaplan rather interesting. Let's face it people, Kaplan is not the only educational insitution that has had or will have complaints. I just think that is life in general - full of complainers! Kaplan could give it away for free, do all of the homework, guarantee you an A+ and a six figure salary once completed... but you'd still have people that complain. Give it a break all ready!! First, yes, the online book thing can be a pain (especially for those that like to highlight and make notes while reading). Like anything else, there is a solution! Print the book or buy it used online (like I did). I find the work very challenging (despite what others say). It's time consuming and very writing intense, but in the real world, your writing skills are essential. I have learned better time managment skills as a result of my KU online experience. For those of you that complain at the cost of your degree -- I ask you this.... CAN YOU PUT A PRICETAG ON YOUR EDUCATION?? I think the cost of not having an education is worse in the end. If you want a "free ride", go to a community college or continue to live off of the state and those that work to pay your bills. If you go into this with negative thoughts, you will get negative results. You are where you are as a result of your own thoughts and actions. Keep your negative comments to yourself and do not bash a good school for your failures in life!

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan, A Joke of a University

Buisness administration - March 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to Kaplan for two semesters and found it to be way to easy. I became ashamed that I was going to Kaplan. I wanted to be challenged, because that is what college is about, and Kaplan appears to be a diploma mill. You can breeze through the classes; standards are very low, and Joe Schmoe can get a degree from Kaplan. I am currently attending a "real" university and am quite challenged. I know that when I do finally graduate I will have no student loans and my degree will mean a lot more than a Kaplan degree. Don't waste your breath unless you want a crappy degree that cost thousands of dollars.

Was this review helpful?

BEWARE!

Buisness administration - February 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just signed up at Kaplan this past Monday. I went over my financial aid benefits with an advisor over the phone & electronically signed my award letter that stated I would receive $2156.00 in pell grants, that I was to pay a $95.00 deposit (which I did), & that Stafford loans I took out through Chase would cover all but the last $149.04 of my tuition for the first three terms. I saved screen prints of the figures I was given & it's a good thing I did because this morning when I checked my email I had a letter from Kaplan's financial aid office stating that I never signed my award letter, so they would be "going ahead with the figures on a new letter". (Wasn't aware they could do this without my consent), so I logged back in & noticed they had changed my figures so I would be paying them hundreds of dollars. I immediately called Chase & told them what happened, so they cancelled disbursement to Kaplan & I also contacted FAFSA who told me to delete Kaplan's school code from my application so they cannot receive my pell grants. I sent Kaplan a scathing letter telling them that they better disenroll me without any problems or I'll be contacting a lawyer. Oh, & I am also filing a complaint with BBB. DON'T GO HERE & IF YOU DO, SAVE EVERYTHING & MAKE SCREEN PRINTS OF ALL FACTS & FIGURES THEY GIVE YOU!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Great school

Buisness administration - February 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I joined Kaplan University in August 2006 and have had a great experience thus far. The format and requirements for the classes are simple and easy to understand. The classes are a lot of work, so if you intend on joining get your paper and pencils ready!! As with most college classes some are harder than others, but they are require a significant amount of time each week in order to be successful. I think Kaplan is a great value. At 30 years old, the choice of finishing my bachelors degree online seems as if it was a great decision!

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan is great

Buisness administration - January 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University has done everything to help me achieve my degree in Accounting. I have finished one degree through Kaplan and I am working towards another. It is really worth talking to an admissions adviser to see if Kaplan is the school for you.

Was this review helpful?

I love Kaplan

Buisness administration - December 30, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently pursuing my MBA degree at Kaplan. I have taken 12 classes and am beginning my 13th class out of 17 total. I received my undergrad degree from the University of Wisconsin, a traditional brick and mortar school. I don't know what many of these people are ranting about. No school is perfect, I was frustrated with UW when I was there for their screwed up financial aid department and the slow response of student advisors. I don't know if these people have never attended large schools before or what, but suck it up. I have had two advisors during my tenure at Kaplan. I started in July 2006 on my degree and have been enrolled ever since. I have had no problem contacting my advisor. She responds within 24 hours to my concerns. I too tried to withdraw from a class, as I was really struggling in it and had never encountered that before. I wanted to drop the class and take it with a different prof another term. I was advised I could drop it but then I would be disenrolled from the college. While I was really frustrated at the time, I am glad they did this, as it forced me to trudge ahead, roll up my sleeves and finish the class. I ended up with a B. I honestly think they do this to stop people from giving up.

Was this review helpful?

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION/ACCOUNTING

Buisness administration - December 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am at the end of my second term and I find Kaplan to be a great school. I have heard some horror stories about Kaplan but I haven't into any problems yet. My admissions counselor was very personable he even still keeps in contact with me to see how I'm doing. My finanical aid counsleor is great. I needed a student expense loan and I got it within two weeks of applying. My Academic Advisor is so cool too. After I took Intro to Business I decided to change from Management to Accounting and she made it so easy to convert. I always get a call back whenever I call. So far my courses have been fairly easy so I haven't needed to contact my professors for additional help but whenever I have general question they have always been prompt about responding. The tutors are great.

Was this review helpful?

I'm happy at Kaplan

Buisness administration - December 22, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read the reviews on here and I have to say I have been very happy with Kaplan. First, the anonymous man who said Kaplan is not accredited by the ABA -- Well, no -- because the ABA only accredits LAW SCHOOLS. I am getting my Bachelors Degree and plan on going to Concorde Law School -- A Kaplan School that is also regionally accredited. I have done my homework. I have had basically good experiences, I checked into Phoenix and AIU and they were way more expensive. I will complete my degree in 3 years because I am working hard and taking extra classes. Some of my books have been e - books, but I just take them to Kinkos and print them. The professors are great and they have really challenged me to grow and to think harder than I thought I could. My admissions advisor is pretty cool, always on the phone so I have to leave a message, but he usually calls me back the same day. I am surprised about some of the things I have read on here, I guess every company has some bad apples, but my experience has been a GREAT one!

Was this review helpful?

MBA Student Perspective

Buisness administration - December 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school. Strong acedemics. As with most colleges the billing department needs a bit of improvement, but overall I am very happy with the instruction.

Was this review helpful?

DON'T GO TO KAPLAN

Buisness administration - December 13, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This online school leaves you in the dark! The online classroom is very hard to understand, its hard to understand when you even have assignments. I would not recommend this school to anyone! I thought it would be easier attending an online school(no commute, flexible schedule). Boy I was wrong. The setup is completely confusing, and there is no communication, I was so lost. What a bad experience.

Was this review helpful?

Almost the biggest mistake of my life

Buisness administration - December 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I dont even know how Kaplan expects anyone to trust them with Online Education. One day I received a phone call and one of the Kaplan admission advisors began to tell me how well known and admired Kaplan University is...how great the school is and gauranteed accredidation...Since I lived in NC i was curious as to how this would all work out as smoothly as he promised, but everytime i was assured it was no problem for they had one of the best Online Education programs in the country. He left out that it was A LIE...The advisor himself seemed very honest and eager to help me with my education and building a better future...tho he wanted me to start the following week with classes! I have been in college a couple times before and know first hand it takes at least three months to get everything squared away etc...but i was willing to hear what he had to say. I was very concerned however, when the enrollment process came along since their website was malfunctioning! "Hmm, thats weird, let me ask someone." said the Head of Admissions! The site did not work for three more days...and after that it was still very squeeky...Then, everytime my advisor called me and i was busy, it was like he didn't care...and he practically forced me to stay on the phone with him. I hated the whole process! Finally, he asked how i wanted to handle the $95 up front fee. I informed him that i didnt have that extra money at the time and he said "Oh, well you can write an essay...etc...but it doesnt have to be that good, i've never seen on rejected." I was floored. If you can write an essay and it doesnt have to be good, who wouldnt do that?? AND the cost of tuition is outrageous!!! It seemed all they wanted me to do was get a few loans. Like it was no big deal. I felt they were leaving out some important information since ive gotten grants in the past with no problem. But the thing that really made up my mind was reading the reviews. Who reading this can honestly say youd spend over $20,000 on a school that leaves out info that benefits you, has poor technology, and not one positive reivew? Thanks for the reviews! I might have made one of the worst mistakes of my life.

Was this review helpful?

Support System Broken

Buisness administration - November 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University should fix their support system. Their have been many occasions that calls have went unanswered. You can not easily take a term off. I had a very good adviser for the first three or so terms, and then the changes began and things began on a downward spiral. One lasted thirteen days. The financial department is also in need of repairs. I have tuition reimbursement for work and getting an invoice with grade is very difficult. Their invoicing changes from day to day and you get conflicting answers as to why those changes happen. My advice, if you take classes at Kaplan document all conversations, save e-mails and any hard documents they may send.

Was this review helpful?

A lot of problems with Kaplan

Buisness administration - August 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started my education with Kaplan Feb. 2006 and was really happy with them the first term. Loved the online classes and my professors were really wonderful..... But, then they called me one day that I was behind on my payments and that I needed to pay over $1000. I was stunned, since I had been paying my $197 every 15th of the month and stated when I entered the school. I found out that they had changed something and forgot to tell me, so suddenly I had to come up with an additional $500 a month for two month to I could start my classes next term. That was just the beginning. Later on they wanted some additional information regarding my FASFA application. I filled it out and faxed my entire 1040 back to my Financial Aid officer. The next day I received a call from a company in Canada saying that they had received my fax and that I needed to tell Kaplan that they needed to get their fax numbers straight, since this was not the first time. I was freaking out. My social security number and my husband’s number ended up in some company in Canada. Long story short, I told my Financial Aid officer and she just said, "OK, here is the correct number". I was furious. Then earlier this year I look a leave of absence, so I could spend the summer with my kids and I filled out the correct form and my Academic Advisor said that it had been approved and I just had to sign up for classes for the August term, which I did. A couple weeks after I received a email saying that Kaplan was sorry that I had left the University and that they needed to have a exit interview with me!!!! I found out that they had messed up my status and had dropped me from the University. I have been trying to get this fixed for over 2 months now and I am about to start my classes her Aug. 22nd and it has still not been fixed. I work full time and have a family and this is the last thing I want to worry about. It is stressful enough trying to juggle it all, but that they keep messing things up, does not help my stress level. I have to say, that I really like the classes, and that the professors have been very helpful and good, but somehow all these problems I have had with the regular staff, is just putting a black cloud over everything.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.