Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Nova Southeastern University

3.0
45 Reviews
5 7 
4 15 
3 7 
2 7 
1 9 
0 0 

 

Nova Southeastern University Reviews:

Courses Okay, Disseration needs lots of work

DCIS - September 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The faculty I was involved with did not demonstrate any interest in mentoring dissertations. The Administration was unresponsive to communications. If you get a mentor that wants to help, then the program is okay. If you get a mentor like I got, it's time to move on. It's easier to start over than try and work through Nova's bureaucracy looking for help getting the faculty to meet their own guidelines.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Ph.D. Computer Information Systems

DCIS - April 27, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed the doctorate program in Computer Information Systems at Nova. My dissertation was in the area of network security. I was very pleased with the quality of the program and the professors. It is not easy to complete the required coursework with the required minimum 3.25 GPA which allows students to work on the dissertation. The dissertation itself is very tough. While working full time it took me 5 1/2 years to complete the program. 3 years for the required classes and the rest for the dissertation. I averaged about 30-35 study hours a week during my first 3 years and about 40 study hours a week during the dissertation. I hold a Master in Computer Science and had about 20 years of telecommunication experience when I started the program. I really enjoyed the experience at the Nova campus, where a student is required to attend 3 days at the beginning and 3 days close to the end of each semester for tests and classes. I made some great friendships that I will cherish forever. Those people who are considering Nova Southeastern as a possible school for a doctorate degree, and wonder about the school reputation, should take a look at dissertations or publications from students who completed the Ph.D. program at Nova and judge for themselves.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Bad Experience

DCIS - February 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had started my PhD in 2004, as a result of it being (then) a job requirement. I am actually ABD, and had one semester of dissertation. After an accident (2009)that almost had me lose my leg, a job that kept me overseas for over a year (14 - 16 hour days), then moving to another state for a new job, I decided to re-enter the dissertation phase, and finish my degree. Imagine my shock, and anger, when no one wanted to look at me, due to my having been out of the loop for almost 3 years. I had an interesting discussion with 2 fellow classmates just recently - their cohort was about 6 months (maybe a year?) behind mine,and they were having the same problems - major politics. They had asked if I had finished my degree, and if not, what were the problems I had encountered? It seems there are (still) very few professors in the InfoSec programs, and if your topic is not within their field of interest, you do not have a dissertation topic. There is absolutely little to no help. While I enjoyed my time at Nova, some of the professors were extremely difficult to work with, and communications with some of them is virtually non-existent - even if you in their class....and their success rate in producing PhD's, overall, is not something to be proud of. With 30 of us at ABD, seemingly out of luck, of ever achieving our PhD, NSU has failed in their quest to help. Maybe a class-action suit would wake them up. As it stands, I am now involved in pursuing my JD online, as I had no hope of ever finishing with NSU - thanks for nothing.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

More Value Than My M.B.A.

DCIS - February 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my Ph.D. with the DISS program at Nova in just over 3 years and I'm pretty surprised at the negativity of most of the reviews of the Ph.D. program so I guess I'll be a counterpoint to those. I have an M.B.A. from UCONN and frankly got a lot more out of this Ph.D. program because the courseware was highly relevant and caught me up with currents in I.T., and I've been a practitioner in the field for 23 years! Likewise, the teachers were knowledgeable in the field and, while there was some unevenness in their effectiveness, I found it all relevant. Most important, I hooked up with a very helpful and supportive advisor within my first year and so was able to achieve my goals quickly. This is a very solid program and I wouldn't have been able to achieve my Ph.D. any other way, since I have a senior position in IT during the "day." What folks have to realize is that the professors are there to help, but its true: they clearly state your idea needs to resonate with one of them to proceed. I think, moreover, you really need intrinsic motivation to keep pushing yourself. They're there, but its more important that you're there driving and pushing. They won't do it for you. This was an excellent experience and I'm proud to have gone to NSU.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Want to be seen as a piggy bank? Go here!

DCIS - June 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had the supreme misfortune to attend Nova for a year. Don't get me wrong, a teacher here and there are decent, but in general they are just there to supplement their income. But that is nothing to how the administration views its students. Students, are treated like cattle. The financial aid department is deplorable, loses paper, and makes huge mistakes. For me, they made a mistake that wound up making my account ineligible to receive loans. Administration told me, "well, just borrow money from your parents." Really? So I told them to drop me from the rolls that were mid-session as I couldn't afford the high tuition. They did so. A week or two later I received a bill for the full tuition amount! I told them that this was their mistake, I had unenrolled because of their screw-up and they continued to harass me. Still are.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Former DCIS Student

DCIS - June 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was an overall bad experience after 2 semester. 1. Heavy work load, very stressful especially if student has full employment. 2. Professors are helpful in that they will tell you to redo an assignment,(10 page paper), when the context doesn't comply with their vague syllabus. Other help is minimal. 3. Professors are very arrogant and don't care about your progress. Some don't even bother to show up for a lecture. 4. Late assignments recieve a zero, no excuses, which usually means dimissal from the program. 5. All reseach ideas must fall within the area of interest of the professors, not the student. It seems that the faculty at this college are more interested in garnishing failure rather than success.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Very Suspect

DCIS - March 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The courses weren't bad although there were only couple where I felt I learned anything or that the assessments actually indicated anything. When I started the dissertation process I only heard from my 'adviser' when the grades were due. Of the 20 or so students who started with me only a couple made it to the dissertation and all of us got no support from their faculty, advisers or committee.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Bait and switch

DCIS - March 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a student at Nova for a few semesters and generally happy. I was receiving finacial aid and there was not a problem. Midway through my 3rd semester, Nova's financial aid wrote me an email saying they had made a mistake and could not offer me finnacial aid any more. They demanded that I return the money they had promised me as a dispersment and also towards tution. They told me to go secure a private loan and pay them. I told them that I was unemployed and that there was no way that I could secure a loan. Additionally, I told them that I was stopping my program of study as it was early in the term and I could not afford to pay them. This was their mistake and I should not be charged tution for this term. I offered to pay the amount of cash they sent me, but as I was not participating in the program I would not pay tution for a program where they promissed me a loan for, and then decided later they would renig on. Nova basically said "we'll run up your student loans and then even if we can't get them anymore, we'll make you pay for education we are no longer providing."

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Ph.D NSU, Nova is a SCAM !

DCIS - February 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Nova, NSU is a total SCAM ! After years spent at the so called University there is little to be said about the school in the way of getting a Ph.D. The course work is usually completed within 2-3 years. The classes are not that difficult just time consuming. After the course work is where the CON begins. The professors generally have you do papers or publications. Like many of the other complaints the school system purposely slows a person down as to MILK them for all the money they can get over the 10 year period. They raised it from 8 years to 10; you know to extend their income stream more. Basically you get 1 or 2 replies a semester from an instructor that cost $4K to 8K a year. I have been called at night from other students that were in the same program as me with the same problems. I was originally told on the first day that the graduation rate was about 50%. I was then later told by my advisor that is was some where in the 17% to 11%. If I would have known that I would have walked out the first day. Many of my fellow students see the Professors as a bunch of NSU grads that raise the bar that they did not even pass. It's a fact look at the Professors, the Assistant Deans in which they all graduated from NSU. The funny thing is that they raised the bar for the Dissertation defense, and publications, when they did not even do it themselves. I have talked with many of other students with the same experience; they are just too ashamed that they got SCAMED to. Please do yourself a favor, avoid this school like the plague! Run don't walk!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Not Worth it

DCIS - February 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a student at Nova for a number of years and I knew I was in trouble when I attended a seminar on the dissertation process. I was shocked at what I heard so I asked "Does this mean that if I have a great idea that it may never get accepted at Nova". The person giving the seminar said that I was correct and that if you want your degree you are pretty much at the mercy of the instructors to accept your idea. What you should know is this, when you get to the dissertation portion of the degree, you are on your own. I thought I had a professor interested in my idea and he strung me along. I flat out asked him if the idea had merit because if it didn't I was done and didn't want to pay any more tuition. He told me that I had a good start but was unable to tell. In the end he dismissed me. This is after I paid for another semester of tuition. I sent the idea to several other professors and got at least one rude reply. In my opinion, the professors at Nova have no incentive to help you through your degree. If you do decide to go to Nova you should have an idea paper accepted before you get there otherwise I believe your chances of getting a degree are slim. I would love to see the success rate numbers if anyone has them please post them. Someone here posted that the degree was much better than going to Capella. If you look at Capella many of the instructors are from top tier colleges. At Nova most are Nova graduates. The other thing is that schools like Capella and the rest are truly interested in you getting a dissertation. Final suggestion, do your research before you pick a school like Nova to avoid the disappointment!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Happy with Nova's PhD program

DCIS - November 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my course work and dissertation in two years. My instructors were excellent and very supportive, especially during the dissertation process. The courses were quite rigorous and provided me with useful skills--I taught three online courses each of four semesters while simultaneously completing my coursework. This program was far more difficult than the MLIS program I completed at the University of California, Berkeley.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Get over it!

DCIS - October 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is really difficult to understand the attitude of anyone throwing stones at Nova Southeastern University. The programs are fully accredited, intense and well respected throughout the business and academic realms. The campus is 'real' with walls, not virtual like many others - it does not just offer online oriented degree programs. However, I attended class on campus in Davie, FL, and continued my PhD dissertation by communicating with my advisor committee both face-to-face, as well as via the internet (who does not communicate like this today?) until I was finished. It was a rigorous program, and certainly not easy; It is also important to note that Nova has a reputable faculty across its many schools from well respected schools like Harvard, MIT, Stanford, Duke, etc., (to include a well known ex-Presidential candidate within its law school); NSU competes in numerous sports collegiately (its stadium also serves as the host training facility for the Miami Dolphins!); Consistently has outstanding guest speakers and lecturers; has agreements with several major international universities to allow for semester abroad programs; host major international professional and academic oriented conferences; has made significant headway in the areas of oceanograhy, computer science, law, medicine, and many, many other areas - the list goes on. People need to quit comparing it with the no-wall, for-profit universities that are out there - and get over it. NSU is a very good school - Period. Check it out by visiting on campus and talk with students and faculty before making a snap judgement. From someone who knows - a successful and proud Alum.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Nova Southeastern University in any way.