Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Regis University

2.9
43 Reviews
5 8 
4 16 
3 2 
2 2 
1 15 
0 0 

 

Regis University Reviews:

Regis University MBA program

MBA - March 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went through the program in 3 years. Overall, I would have to say that I really had a good experience with the Regis MBA program. But keep in mind, you must put the time in, if you’re not a self starter or able to figure out things !!!! Online classes might not be for you.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Regis - Great Education

MBA - May 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my masters in accounting at Regis. I found the professors to be excellent and the material to be challenging. What surprised me was that the books and other material that we used were also used by other graduate programs such as Wharton, Northwestern and the University of Chicago. My professors were engaging and really challenged me. Overall, I thought the program was an excellent value.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

MBA Review

MBA - April 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I believe that the Regis online program is an excellent value. The MBA program offered a very rewarding and educational experience. As I was completing my program, I had friends that attended MBA programs in class at well know universities. Their program was less intensive, required much less work and generally used the same materials that Regis used. The Regis program utilized a mix of regular professors and adjunct professors that provided real world experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent experience

MBA - December 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a healthcare executive I have found that the Regis MBA has been extremely valuable to me over the years. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to move up in the ranks of management within their organization, or pursue managerial opportunities elsewhere. The teachers were knowledgeable and made the classes interesting. Regis is just a fine, well respected Denver area institution that delivers a quality educational experience.

Was this review helpful?

What a scam...

MBA - July 15, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For an exclusively online program, this school is terrible. They sell their online program by starting out with a very video oriented classroom environment and sell you the idea that you can complete your classes while running on a treadmill, etc....however this is not the case after the very first course. The next 12 courses barely utilize the "online classroom" environment, which is nothing more than a low-tech discussion forum. Regis puts no money at all in to their online program. They actually don't even have professors teaching the courses, they have "facilitators" who actually have a policy to not assist students, rather defer you to other students for help. They are all about the money, and operate at the lowest cost possible...embedded in the course materials you will find advertisements, links to 3rd party tools, etc... I got a call one day from a Regis faculty member who called to "verify" my personal information, was very nice, chatted for a while, and then asked for a donation which is all he was really after. The quality of students in this program is terrible. Most of them can't even spell. I think this says a lot about their program since this appears to be who they gear their program towards. Most of these students really think they're making something of themselves and refuse to believe they have been conned by Regis. I am near completion of my MBA, and for the very little work I have put in to maintain a 4.0 GPA, I already know that this degree will be worth nothing when I finish. VERY disappointing. I would be completely outraged had I been the one paying the tuition rather than my employer. I would recommend the Regis MBA to anyone that has their employer paying for the degree, and is only after a piece of paper that says "MBA" on it. Word to the wise, do not expect to gain any knowledge or business experience through the course of this program. The only "Masters" are those who created the Regis MBA program. They have truly built a complete gold mine scam out of a .edu website and continue to scam thousands of students across the country out of $30,000 for a worthless degree. It is one thing to run a smaller scale university and provide a reasonable education to their on-site students, but whoever is responsible for the MBA program should be ashamed of themselves. The funny thing is that Regis refuses to comment on any complaints submitted about the program, which only further proves that they are fully aware of the situation they have created, and want to ride this out until the law otherwise prohibits.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 24 people found the following review helpful

MBA - Regis review

MBA - May 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've found the MBA program at Regis University to be quite good. I reside in Colorado and have other local schools to choose from as well as the plethora of onlin &/or brick-mortar choices. I've had experience with graduate schools in my life-long learning both with Colorado schools and schools such as University of London. I chose Regis for MBA because it is a Jesuit institution with a reputation for excellence. It is known amongst MBA programs as being among the best. As for being Jesuit, any person Catholic or not would feel very comfortable at Regis (as so many non-Catholics have told me whom have attended). What makes the Jesuit part cool is that their goal is to get you to think and analyze and come to defensible conclusions. In this way it is very much not cookie-cutter as MBA programs go. Another benefit is that you don't spend your life relying on partners in group projects to get things done. Again, the focus is on your learning and your thinking (great if you're a busy professional taking class online).

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Regis MBA

MBA - April 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I travel constantly for work this was my only option. I researched other programs but felt a bricks and mortar institution was a better investment. The MBA education is good; you get out of it what you put into it. If you are a self starter and can succeed on your own you will do fine. I completed the course in two years without any breaks. Having attended law school which I can use as my only comparison to gradute course work, I felt I spent an equal amount of time required for the class work.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Regis MBA

MBA - March 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, I would have to say that I really had a good experience with the Regis MBA program. At first, I was a little apprehensive about it due to its lack of professional accreditation (AACSB, ACBSP), but I was quickly put at ease by my academic advisor and the outlook of the institution. The learning model is structured in a way to teach current business trends by way of practitioners in the field. All of my instructors were well qualified and the subject matter was extremely relevant. I attended a large state university when I was younger and I would have to say that the attention I got from Regis faculty was above and beyond what I had gotten from any other institution. The online platform is pretty innovative and the school uses it as best they can. During several of my courses, they actually had streaming video recorded interviews of leading business professionals that provided valuable insight and supplemented the subject matter nicely. This was extremely helpful and I wish they had that for all the subjects. Every course had some sort of end goal, which made the material a little easier to digest. As an example, in finance, the course was set up as a large case study where we were the CFO's making the decisions for the entire course. One suggestion I would offer is possibly changing the first two foundation courses, Essentials of Business Development I & II. The courses are composed of clusters of subject matter and take an integrated approach to foundational business learning. I would suggest replacing those two courses with two solid courses that focus on two separate emphasis areas (i.e. accounting, information systems, general management, etc). Regis is a well established school with a reputation for quality. The program is very solid in content and delivery and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Regis is a joke

MBA - January 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I got involved in this program because my company would cover all the charges. My other option was University of Denver but the cost was so much higher, so I took the Regis route. This is a 1-800 anyone get a degree college. If you disagree, you are just trying to validate yourself, for waisting your money, I didn't pay for it. A majority of the professors only have Masters Degrees. One of my professors is getting his PHD at Colorado Tech, another joke school. I did my undergrad at CU and I'll tell you, the quality of professors there vs. Regis is night and day. A lot of professors work for the government. If you don't get why that is potentially poor for your education, I really feel bad for you. I had group members, who's quality of work was so poor, I couldn't even believe they finished undergrad. I come from a family of educators, so I feel confident that I'm a good judge. I did have a couple good Professors, so I apologize to them, however, the rest are a joke. My cousin went to a top 10 business college and graduated with an MBA. He came out with me and a couple of friends and talked to us about his degree. We sounded like we had never even went to an "mba" degree. We were lost. Other students felt the same way, the ones who say how great it is, are not that bright and could never make it anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Regis University MBA

MBA - December 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience has been pretty good. The classes range from very challenging to rather easy. The best part for me is the flexibility, the sessions are 8 weeks and no travel is involved. Another advantage for me is that most assignments are individual based rather than team based. I expect that this will be well worth the investment of time and effort, as I expect a 40K annual salary boost when I finish.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Program for Working Adults

MBA - September 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently taking my final course in the online MBA program and I must say that the past year and a half has been a challenging but very useful experience. The courses are not independent studies nor are they like undergrad lectures, as no graduate program is. I believe the research and discussions among students helps managers open up a new line of thinking to their respective area of responsibilty, as it did for me. The previous negative posts appear to be about negative isolated incidents and not really related to the program itself. It does require alot of determination and self-discipline, but the information gained was well worth it for me. As each course builds upon the last, looking back I realize that I have learned a considerable amount about where my firm's focus should be and how I can help it reach it's goals. Also, the staff at the campus was very helpful with everything from Alumni contacts to resume revision to job placement. One example: Regis is a part of the Jesuit network (Loyola, Georgetown, etc.) so I was able to attend a MBA students only career fair at Fordham University (Jesuit) in NYC because of this. All in all, I think its a great program.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

TERRIBLE!

MBA - May 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hate this school. Their billing practices are extremely opaque and they will try to get money out of you at every opportunity. Colleages in the MBA program were really incompetent and unable to do even simple presenations with professionalism. With a handful of exceptions, I would never hire anyone in my classes. Though I had one good instructor, the others were really terrible. I have withdrawn from this school and I will stress that everyone I meet never attend!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Regis University is not worth it.

MBA - March 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started the MBA program at Regis and was cruising along nicely unitl I took Finance. I was struggling to maintain a low B/high C average with 3 weeks left in the course. 2 other classmates emailed me and wanted to work together on some assignments because our instructor (A WOMAN NAMED ALEX) was not helpful and actually very rude to each of us when we asked for help. Anyway, we would all work thru problems on the phone and on IM to try to better understand the materials. I'm a teacher and what we were doing would be considered peer tutoring, but Alex said we were cheating. She then failed me for the course. I took the issue up with the Dean but never had anything resolved and later found out the other two students did not suffer my fate. This soured me on Regis and I switched to another school and changed my Masters area even though I had completed 21 of the 36 hours towards my MBA at Regis. As far as other teachers go, they were not bad at all, but my experience with Alex and the lack of a resolution from the Dean get Regis a low score from me. Another issue with Regis is the cost. It is more expensive that JIU, Walden, The University of Phoenix, and a host of other schools, yet their degree is no more prestigious than any of those I listed. The one good thing I about Regis is they do mail you the best course materials of any of the universities I've attended(5). The stuff was great and very easy to read and absorb.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience with Regis

MBA - December 13, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had an excellent experience with Regis. I felt the quality of the education I received online has been on the par with the brick and mortar experience. The instructors had not only a great academic background but also provided some real world situations for discussion. The utilization of materials from the Harvard Business School was terrific. I found that a friend who was obtaining his MBA from Berkeley and another friend who was at ASU were going over the same materials as I was and even utilizing similar text materials. This gave me a sense of confidence in the design of the education and its curriculum. The only down side I found in my experience were that the videos provided for each course did not provide much to the experience. I found that the information posted by the professor, the interactive chat between class members and other online resources were much more effective than the video lecture. I found myself using them less and less as my courses went on. The only course I found them effective for was some of the financial and statistical classes. Overall though, I would highly recommend the experience and would recommend the online version if you are self motivated, goal oriented, flexible and determined.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional School with great Resources

MBA - October 9, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After looking at several schools, I chose Regis University for my degree for a number of reasons. First, the reputation of the degree received from Regis University is excellent in the business community. More so in Colorado than other states, but even back east, those in the know, know of Regis' strong academic reputation. Class schedules have so far worked out for my evening class time needs as I work during the day. I like to take a mix of online and in-class courses. My general preference in in-class, just because I like the personal interaction better, but the online class has been good too so far, even though it took a couple of days to get the feel of how to get the most out of the online class experience. The instructors and curriculum are challenging and always relevant to what I'm doing in my career, so it's great to be able to directly apply new things I learn right away. As for support, I think its great. They have a student support line with extended hours and you can call for help in finding research items through the online library to getting your email account set-up. Always very nice and helpful. Tuition seems a bit high, but where isn't it these days? Overall, I beleive I made a good choice in selecting Regis University for my Marketing degree. Can't wait to wrap it up!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Stay away from this school

MBA - August 9, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a bad experience in this school. They seemed very unorganized. Very difficult to get any type of help with technical issues, questions about the course etc etc. The lectures were very generic and I felt like I was teaching myself everything. I would not recommend this school.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Regis University in any way.