Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Southern New Hampshire University

2.9
61 Reviews
5 14 
4 17 
3 4 
2 9 
1 17 
0 0 

 

Southern New Hampshire University Reviews:

Good School for it you want good grades but learn nothing

BS Computer Information Technology - August 8, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you want a degree where you hardly do any work, and subsequently learn little to nothing in the process then this is the school for you. Their online information technology degree is a joke. The reason being, the professors do not actually teach you how to do anything. They give you very easy assignments and the "tests" are just like regular assignments. There is no incentive for a person to even try to learn. Everyone likes things to be a little laid back, but this is a type of degree you actually have to learn how to do it. With this school, you will not get that. Potential employers will doubt your abilities at IT if you get a degree from this school. The best schools for IT degrees are ones that are ABET accredited. it is the highest accreditation you can get and one employers look for when hiring.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Mixed bag

BS Computer Information Technology - March 28, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At first, I was in love with this school, despite the fact that nearly all of my transfer credits didn't transfer! Nevertheless, things started off really well and I appreciated many aspects of taking online courses at SNHU. The staff and financial aid office were very accommodating, attentive, and helpful. The courses are a bit expensive, but not outlandish in relation to other universities. I was even surprised at how simple and user-friendly the online software was for many of the courses that I took in the beginning. Honestly, things were great and I valued the education that I was receiving at the time. However, it seems like the program has changed over the few years that I have been enrolled at SNHU. The most obvious thing is that students are basically left to teach themselves. Yes, online students are expected to be more independent than their campus counterparts, but when the role of your instructors are essentially to assign work and grade work, there's only so far a student can go before they actually need a professional to teach them the material. The most you can expect is a two page summary each week on 80 pages of reading material and MAYBE a few Youtube videos. Granted, I know the instructors welcome questions, and some do respond pretty quickly, but there's always a wait and it adds up. What's worse is often times the homework questions are based on software that is several versions old and the program features and interface have greatly changed. Either that, or each course requires that you learn a new software on top of the actual material. For instance, I've taken a few courses dealing with statistics and each course uses a different software (despite doing pretty much the same things): one will use Excel, another will use Minitab, and another will use MyMathLab - each of which have upgraded several times over by time it's your turn to answer questions that were relevant X amount of versions ago. I know it sounds petty, and maybe I'm just frustrated. If I am, it's because I feel left out to dry. I'm paying $900+ a course to teach myself subjects that hardly even relate to my degree. Every course is the same. The instructors copy and paste the same announcements they used in the last term, and the assignments are the same as well. What's worse is that each major milestone writing assignment has vague requirements that hardly relate to the material covered in the previous modules (half the time it's based on material that actually comes two weeks after that milestone is due), so you spend 40 hours extra a week researching material that may or may not actually relate to the assignment. And, after you spend all that time and effort working your butt off on some 14 page assignment, your instructor gives you a "Great job, (insert name). Keep up the good work," as feedback! I don't want a freaking pat on the back, I want to know if my research and ideas are relevant to the assignment, or if I just got an "A" on some paper because I used the right font-size and spelled my name correctly! Otherwise, why the **** am I paying you $900 a course!

Was this review helpful?

59 of 66 people found the following review helpful

SNHU is a traditional private University that is better than most colleges:

BS Computer Information Technology - January 28, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The individuals posting negative comments about SNHU are being disingenuous. I have attended several colleges over the years, and I can honestly write, that SNHU classes can be more challenging than other colleges I have attended - one of those colleges includes Texas A&M University. Simply put, SNHU is a legit University. With that said, there are things SNHU can improve upon, but they are still a better University than most. Finally, while SNHU does have an online an department, they are *not* an online school like Phoenix or DeVry. SNHU is a traditional University.

Was this review helpful?

41 of 57 people found the following review helpful

Good School

BS Computer Information Technology - July 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Over all very pleased with SNHU. Been taking classes since April 2014. I was originally a Business major but switched to IT Database Admin. The classes have all been great and I have learned a lot since starting. My math classes have all been challenging and the IT classes are all very good. I have a friend who works in IT and is a part time professor at our local university teaching Computer Science and said this program is the same as our state university minus a couple of calculus classes. I guess the negative reviews are from those who either didn't pass a class or were not doing well and couldn't drop it to get a refund. Either way this is a good school with great peer support and academic support. It is what you make of it. I don't need a lot of advising since I am already a working adult, done the in class thing, and know exactly what I am going for. You get out what you put in. Yes this school is regionally and nationally accredited which makes all the difference in the world.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 34 people found the following review helpful

SNHU IT program better than most

BS Computer Information Technology - October 16, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my BS in Information Technology program at SNHU. This was my second bachelor's degree - the other one I completed on-campus at the University of Notre Dame. I was pleasantly surprised with the program at SNHU. It was more challenging than a number of classes I took at Notre Dame. The degree at SNHU prepared me well for the IT workforce. Anyone that says SNHU hands out 4.0 GPA's is absolutely lying! I know a number of classmates who have failed classes at SNHU. The notation that SNHU is a diploma mill is absolutely preposterous! In addition, *all* my teachers and professors knew the material well. Its also *not* true that SNHU only has adjuncts - that is just a silly thing for people to say, since its simply not true. With that said, there are areas SNHU could definitely improve upon. For one, they need to do a better job of paying attention to student feedback! I know from sources that they don't pay attention to student feedback, which bothers me. Finally, SNHU advertises way too much about their online program. I am not sure who the simpletons are behind this decision, but they are damaging their brand and they don't even realize it! The advertisements make SNHU look like an online school similar to the University of Phoenix, Kaplan and Devry. In the long run this will hurt them. For some of you who don't know, SNHU is a regular brick-and-mortar university like all the other *real* uni's. The difference, is that they have a huge online presence in-comparison to other similar universities.

Was this review helpful?

54 of 64 people found the following review helpful

Happy I Got Out

BS Computer Information Technology - December 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a joke. It is not quite a degree mill, but they give out 4.0's for merely completing the work; the objectivity needed to require quality work is definitely not there for the instructors. It's obvious the university condones grading easily to keep the average student happy. Keep in mind this is a private university, and they rely mostly on enrollment fees to subsidize operation costs. High GPAs= happy students= student retention. I'm assuming most of the positive reviews are from students that are feeling joyous that they've retained a high GPA with little work. Those of you that do work hard, kudos, but it is definitely not required.I, however, have always been more concerned with receiving a quality education, and I can honestly say; I got a 4.0 with learning little to nothing that was not achieved through extra curricular learning. Bottom line: Yes, they are better than for-profit universities such as UoP, Devry, and Kaplan. No, they are not anywhere near equal to state universities and the academic difficulty resembles that of a high school classroom. My Advice: Venture elsewhere if you're able. If you're required to get a degree for career advancement, therefore not requiring much of a knowledge gain from your degree, then yes, SNHU will suit you just fine, but don't expect it to be highly revered by anyone.

Was this review helpful?

50 of 100 people found the following review helpful

Such a Joke

BS Computer Information Technology - November 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

SNHU is of a joke. They masquerade around as a brick and mortar with a good reputation, but when in actuality, they are EXACTLY like University of Phoenix, Kaplan, and (insert for-profit name here). The instructors are all adjuncts, and with the exception of a SMALL handful, they know nothing about the subject they are teaching, so do not expect any guidance if you do not understand the material. I was made to feel like a part-time, insignificant obligation by almost all of my instructors, was graded incorrectly by many, and received no guidance. Fortunately the online learning systems used are manageable- myitlab/mymathlab, so are you are able to learn if you REALLY put your best foot forward. I was fortunate enough to transfer my credits to a good school and pursue a degree that will actually mean something. Look elsewhere for a meaningful degree.

Was this review helpful?

53 of 91 people found the following review helpful

SNHU is the best online school I've tried

BS Computer Information Technology - September 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have audited or taken classes at many online schools including Kaplan, ITT Tech, ECPI, Phoenix, and DeVry. SNHU has been a superior experience from my initial contact with the school to classes to advising. All of my interactions with staff from advising to financial aid has been world class. I find the coursework challenging and fulfilling, more so than any other school I've tried. I have attended a brick and mortar school local to me several years ago and my experience at SNHU is the closest to going to a traditional college than any other online school I've tried. The best part is I don't feel like I'm getting extorted with high tuition rates. With grants my total cost of attendance for a BS degree will be under @28k. Phoenix and Kaplan were both over $60k. Also, I've contacted a few admissions departments in regards to graduate programs and Penn State, Virginia Tech, Virginia Commonwealth, and Old Dominion all said my degree at SNHU will enable me to attend grad school. Education is what you make of it. I really do not understand how some of these folks could have had such a poor experience. I highly recommend SNHU if you are a busy working adult that is seeking a quality education.

Was this review helpful?

51 of 66 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Southern New Hampshire University in any way.