Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Strayer University

2.6
94 Reviews
5 15 
4 24 
3 10 
2 12 
1 33 
0 0 

 

Strayer University Reviews:

Strayer and American Soldiers do not mix

Business and MBA - January 8, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Strayer University for just a few short weeks. While enrolling everyone was there to hurry up and get my signature. Along the enrollment I asked many questions about benefits and my entitlements as a combat Veteran. All questions were received short to no proper answer. Most phone calls and emails went un-answered. To top it off, I am a soldier and my duties were being effected by the hours required for online classes. Professors were hounding me all day asking me to do my work when it was supposed to be at my pace which would of been in the afternoons. I soon had to drop and submitted active duty orders which were ignored and Strayer began to violate the Service Member Civil Relief Act even after I mentioned my rights as an Active Duty Soldier and faxed them my orders for duty. The school is now asking that I pay close to $3,000.00 for attending only 3 weeks. This is Absurd, especially considering I tried to drop the proper way and my advisor would never return my calls to afford me the opportunity to drop within the time limit of having no charges. This week I was sent to collections while still on my Active Orders! If Strayer doesn't support the Men and Women that fight for there right to operate, then I say they don't deserve American money.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

The right school for the right person

Business and MBA - November 3, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read some of the good and bad reviews about Strayer and just wanted to add a few comments. The first is that Strayer offers all of the resources necessary to complete a degree efficiently and reasonably affordably. Costly degrees are not for everyone. Online classes are not for everyone. What you put in is what you get out. A straight A student at Strayer is just as smart as a straight A student at Columbia. The only area that Strayer is sadly lacking in is career placement. Most students go to school expecting to have a job at graduation. Most schools do a MUCH better job than Strayer as far as career outcomes. So this is important: Strayer would only be ideal in regards to careers for those who already have a job and looking for a promotion, or those planning on going directly to law or a traditional graduate school immediately after undergrad graduation from Strayer. I would not recommend Strayer (or any online graduate program for that matter) for graduate school because of the absence of career placement.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Amazing School!!!

Business and MBA - July 23, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Stayer University in March 2012 with a Bachelor of Business Administration. I completed my MBA in December 2014. I have nothing but good things to say about Strayer University. I loved going to school there. I can honestly say that I believe I received excellent education. The school officials were always willing to help. I had some incidents with instructors; however, that happens at every school including Hinds Community College where I completed my Associate's degree. In the three years since graduating with my BBA, I have more than doubled my salary. I have an excellent job with fully paid benefits. Yes, my tuition debt is higher, but I simply enrolled in an income-based payment plan and my payments are much more affordable. I would certainly recommend Strayer University to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Mixed Views

Business and MBA - June 18, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had a mixed bag of experiences with Strayer. Most of my professors have been attentive and willing to help you with any problems you may be having with the course materials. Recently however I have had a absolutely terrible experience with a healthcare financial accounting professor. This is HSA525. I have been a financial professional in healthcare for 25 years. I should for the most part be able to do this class with my eyes closed. The text book was horrific and admitted by the professor that it was incomplete and contained exercise problems with no answers due to lack of information in the problem text. I have asked for the solutions to problems and have been told on several occasions that they are forthcoming. They have never been released. The professor copies and pastes responses to discussions with the same text each week. No input is provided. His explanations or reasoning about a topic clearly shows his lack of understanding of basic financial concepts. Unfortunately this class has put a very bad taste in my mouth. If I experience this again with my next class it will be my last. I will transfer to a local college with bricks and mortar.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Honest... Not bitter review

Business and MBA - April 30, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer started out as a wonderful exceperience. Classes were easy to maintain. Advisor seemed wonderful. This is my third semester and its just honestly gone to hell for me. Classes are becoming more and more to easy. Staff will not communicate. God forbid you call when financial aid is to be released. Not even calling for that and you hold for 30 min. They promised and sold one amount as tuition and that was a lie. My friend attended for her bachelor's degree and luckily was smart and got the associates because you WILL run out of money in your third year. They have withheld $500 from me this semester with nothing but different stories from different people. I just wrote my advisor who is the fourth in line I have spoke with and she thought I was a dude. That's how much they care. They will blow your phone UP to get you signed up then they will not respond to emails. To each his own but for me I'm gone.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

My own experience

Business and MBA - April 29, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read a lot of reviews on a lot of different sites. I think everyone will have their own experiences and mine was ok for the most part. This is my third semester with them and it is the last. I have taken 2 classes every semester I have been here. This semester I was thinking to myself wow this is really expensive. Im just not seeing where the money is going either. They are not on the best of their game for as much money as they are getting off people. When I called to enroll they didn't go over tuition or anything with me. And if they did is was not the truth. Their charge for one class which is 3 credits is $1775. That's roughly %590 a credit. And my books come up to atleast $250-$300 a semester. And don't even get me started on selling back to them or on Amazon. A technology fee of $65. There is also a charge of $377 that doesn't even have an explanation. I have been taking two classes every quarter due to that is all I can afford thru them. This quarter they held $477. Told me when I called it was due to attendance. I said excuse me. I have been attending my classes. Well you are in 3 classes correct? Umm no I am in 2. So there was a silence for a good 3 min.. then she said o its still processing. You will just get two checks. Ok. I was fine with that. Then I called today (a week and a half later) and talked with a man. I told him I was just calling to make sure everything was still ok because my money is still processing. He tells me they held my money because I am not a full time student. Again, this would not be a problem, but they are not even on the same page and telling the same story. And I already waiting 30 min for them to answer. I was already looking for a new school but now with this it definitely put the nail in the coffin. After reading everyones reviews about "hidden charges" when they decided to go to a new school, I promise they can take it out of the $377 that goes God knows where and $477 that was coming but now it isn't. If I called a new representive tomorrow it would be a whole other story.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MBA in Management program

Business and MBA - December 29, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've had my fair share of issues with Strayer, as many have mentioned here. However, I've found that this can be the case with many colleges if the student doesn't do his homework and follow up on things that are important. Strayer has many students and can't hold everyone's hand all the time. Know what you need to do, use your success coaches, and do the assignments. I graduated with my BBA in accounting in June of 2013 and have continued on with an MBA with a Management concentration with Strayer. Their format works for me and I have no doubt that it will benefit me greatly upon completion. No second thoughts for me, it's been a great experience!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Worst Ever

Business and MBA - December 2, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was the worst experience ever!! Financial Aid was the worst! They hold your grant and loan money waaaaaay past the disbursement date and constantly console you with lies! All they want is money! Please don't fall for the deception!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

SCAM SCHOOL

Business and MBA - September 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer University is a scam school in the fact that they only go after students with government money. Meaning Veterans with post 9/11 GI Bill or Voc Rehab and also uneducated students who take out thousands upon thousands of dollars to pay for this school. The cost per class is over $1700, which one could go to 4 classes at a community college. This is a for profit school and do not forget that. They only care about getting your money, not how much debt you could be in. They just want your money! This school is a disgrace to America in the fact that they do not properly educate students and hire below par teachers. With all the money they make you would think they would hire some real teachers and not pot smoking, can't get another job type of teachers. If you are looking to get a way below standard education then this is your place. If CNN or 20/20 were to report and investigate on this school, there would be scam central written all over it. BUYER BEWARE AND IF YOU WANT TO PAY OVER $20,000 A YEAR, WHY WOULD YOU EVEN CONSIDER HERE.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Thank you Strayer

Business and MBA - May 16, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with Strayer has been awesome! I am single working mom who wanted to finish my education. My goal, like most, is to obtain a career that would stimulate me mentally; while making a sustainable salary. I completed my MBA in accounting early 2013. After I finished, I studied for the CPA and CMA exams and passed! Although I did take a review course for these exams (most do), Strayer gave me the tools I needed to even sit for them. I took classes both online and in the classroom because of my busy schedule. And I can say, they were not easy and I did not expect them to be! I read, researched and studied for hours. During my time in school it seemed as if I had totally missed a few years of my life. I can now say it was well worth it. My employer accepted my degree because I proved to them that I knew what I was doing. I knew what I was doing because I studied hard and took advantage of all the resources that Strayer offered me. Any school is what you make of it and I made the best of my situation at Strayer. My friend, who is extremely smart, graduated from Harvard (by the way we had most of the same text books). She is employed with a top Fortune 500 firm, but guess who she comes to every now and then for assistance - me!. I just have strengths she doesn't have. The professors not only teach,they actually work in their field of expertise. By the way, again, my economics professor graduated from Harvard as well. Therefore, I received an education in both practical and theory. This dynamic combination prepared me for a competitive workforce. I am currently a senior corporate accountant up for a huge promotion. Thanks Strayer!

Was this review helpful?

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful

MBA Student Florida Coral Springs campus

Business and MBA - October 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MBA Student (Florida Coral Springs campus). I am about to graduate... Strayer was the best decision for me. It deserves five stars!Thank you Strayer University.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Almost a great school

Business and MBA - July 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This would have been my 3rd quarter at Strayer had they not been greedy and uncompromising. During the Spring quarter I had some personal issues and missed 3 classes (on-line so 1 week equals 1 class). I reached out to my professors and explained my situation. Surprisingly they cared enough to alow me to makeup the work without penalty. Several weeks later i get an email saying I had been administratively dropped from both classes not knowing what it meant i reached out to my advisor. After explaining everything including the fact my professors were allowing me to makeup the assignments he recommended emailing the camous Dean. I never heard back from the Dean, I called my advisor back and he told me just wait. About a week ago I got an email from a young lady in the business office. I promptly called her, she told me that because of the grades I received in the Spring quarter I would not get fiancial aid during the Summer.I explained the situation to her and she told me to speak with her supervisor. Her supervisor then told me to speak to the Dean because he should override the grades because I never got to complete the class due to an automatic system them have. Yes and automated system monitors your attendance NOT a human being. An automated system kicks you out of your classes NOT a human being. The sutomated system wipes out your actual grades at that point and instead puts W/F which is withdrawal fail. She stated to me that the grade should be an I for incomplete. I met with the Dean and tried to discuss this matter but instead of him listening to me he cut me off and proceeded to speak over me. He presummed to tell me what the problem was and how he thought it should be solved. After being in his office for nearly 3 hours nothing was comletely resolved. He stated he would allow me to retake the courses, of course at my expense AGAIN!! Today I received an email from the Business office manager. I called her as soon as I could. She proceeded to tell me that the changes that had been discussed with the Dean would not happen and I would have to find another form of payment if I wished to stay in my classes. Once I told her i would withdraw because without my aid I could not afford tuition st this time. She then staed that if I withdrew I would owe the school money. I asked her why she said becasue of the grades from the Sprig quarter I had a balance, and also there was additional fees for withdrawing. Excuse me?! you charge students to withdraw? She replied "yes we do, 10% of tuition for each class plus an admin fee fro withdrawal of $25". I asked her why when the summer quarter just started and we haven't even been in class 4 days yet. She stated it was policy, she then gave me an example "If a student is taking a class on campus and the class is on Thursday and the quarter started on Monday, even if the student withdraws on Monday they're still charged 10% of tuition per class. You have to think about it from a business stand point, you held up a seat that could have been for someone else." That was her explanation, I of course was confused because during the multiple conversations I had with her surrounding the issue at hand fees were not mentioned. She emailed me a form to fill out during last week and explained to me the form would kep me in my classes until everything was sorted out and after it was done if I chose to withdraw I could and I would owe the school absolutely NOTHING!! Now they're trying to tell me Iowe them nearly $2000. Which they will not get from me, I plan to go back to the campus and speak to the Dean again because it's craziness to have to deal with this.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Great school if you are willing to to do the work!

Business and MBA - June 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found this to be a great school. I attended this school for my graduate and undergraduate school. In order to succeed I believe that a person must be serious and dedicated about their work. You should also reach out to your professors and your classmates immediately if you are having any issues completing the assignments. I believe that this is a great school and would recommend this school to my peers.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

over priced, better choices, does not help with placement

Business and MBA - April 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First they admit anyone. They only turn you away at the undergrad level if you do not have a GED or high school diploma, at the grad level if you do not have a BA/BS degree. They don't care how many schools you have flunked out of, they will take you. Their classes are watered down and assignments trivial compared to "regular education" Faculty are pressured to pass people. The upshot is that your degree isn't worth a whole lot once you come out the other side. Your debt load will be high unless someone else pays for it as they only have PELL grants, loans and they do give a few students small scholarships (but this is funded by the rest of the students - 33% of their income goes to profit for the stockholders, 33% for marketing and the remaining for all other expenses). There are many other cheaper options that are frequently better. State schools and community colleges have online classes if that is what you are looking for. The reputation of your degree will be better. There are many many employers who won't hire a graduate from Strayer (or Walden or Capella or fill in the blank for profit school). You will almost exclusively be taught by adjuncts. Their goal is to get your money and keep you in school, which in and of itself isn't all bad, the problem is that they reduce standards in order to do so. You need a quality education and for the most part Strayer is NOT IT. They can use high pressure tactics to get you to enroll, they lie to get you to enroll, they have quotas, they prey on the less informed. This, in my opinion, is not ethical. There are individually good teachers, however there are piles of really bad ones too. They care more about getting your money than giving you an education that is worth something. They do not help you find a job. As far as I can tell there is no placement office. Their primary goal is profit for the stockholders, education comes in second to that. The faculty are poorly treated and poorly paid this can be reflected in their attitudes. While some are helpful, others are not. If all you need to get ahead where you currently work then a degree from strayer would probably meet that goal. If you want a quality education then this is not a good choice. If you are hoping getting a degree from here will open up new choices at other employers, that is not likely to happen as you are on your own to find a job and many places will not hire someone with a for profit degree. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful

2nd Chance

Business and MBA - April 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My situation is a true to life testimony that “You get out what you put in”. Strayer University really gave me a second shot at a professional career. I enrolled in college at 17…because my parents wanted me to. I later dropped out with a 1.0 GPA and joined the military. Once I completed my enlistment I knew I need to go back to school because a high school diploma and no real experience I would be best suited to flip burgers or sell lumber. My degree from Strayer has been discussed in every interview, and most interviewers are impressed that I have taken the step to return to school while maintaining full time work. Strayer is not an ivy league school, but everyone knows that. Strayer is for the driven…those who have a family, and a desire for more. Strayer costs more because of the convenience. Things at the corner store cost more than the market…sometimes the trip to the market is not possible. I am a Navy wife, mother of 3, my kids are active in sports, I go to church and I volunteer in my community…oh and I have a full time job. State school does not fit into my life. I take my classes online and usually complete my homework around 6am on Saturday mornings. I worked HARD for my degree and I am VERY, VERY proud of my accomplishment. I am working on my “REAL” MBA from Strayer!

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Strayer University On-line

Business and MBA - March 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attend Strayer for my MBA program, 100% on-line. The classes I have completed have been both beneficial in progoress toward my career goals, and flexible as far as scheduling around my full-time job. The instructors are helpful, when available, and the course material is straight and to the point.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Just as good

Business and MBA - March 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't see what the fuss is with people and their heartburn with Strayer. I attended an Ivy league School for my undergrad. I had no desire to pursue an MBA until I drove by the campus and got a wild hair. I don't care what they say, all schools operate to generate a profit. Wise up! You get out what you put in. I have had a ball in my resident courses and could not believe how much work my online course entailed. My online professor pounded me after my first assignment like a government mule. After back and forth email banter I realized she was just as good, if not better than my profs at Columbia.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

STRAYER IS GOOD ONLY FOR RANDOM CLASSES OR SECOND EDUCATION

Business and MBA - March 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer is good for random classes or a second education. I would never go with Strayer for undergraduate B.A. degree.Convinient for people with work & family, including kids. Online classes are good if you got a good teacher.I had excellent, good teachers and unprofessional ones too. For instance,it's not smart policy at all to hire a professor for a taxation class who has a degree at the law with an attorney background, which pissed me off because taxation is a serious class with multiple aspects/details you need to know from licensed people like CPAs. Textbooks are very expensive like everywhere. Customer service on a local campus in my city was nice and responsive. Tuition - yes, very expensive, for undergraduate and masters programs too.If you go to a state school, you will save about $500 on each class. So, think twice before you enroll yourself to Strayer.One of my ex-classmates took only one class after passing all 4 parts of the CPA-examination in his state. It depends what is your necessity or how urgent you need those classes or degree in general. Good luck ! I guess, online education is our grandchildren's future.....

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

STAY AWAY FROM THEM : Only Money Matters to them

Business and MBA - February 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Initially I was pleased with this school. The flexibility of the school worked for me, having a family, but the work load was not conducive wo a working adult as they stated. However I got through it. When they calculated my finances to complete my degree they failed to let me know that the loan would not cover my degree completion until I was at the end and had 2 classes to go. I could have been making arrangements or saving to take care o those 2 classes. NO ONE NOT EVEN THE DEAN tried to assist me. I was refused from signing up for the last class even though I was on a payment plan. They sent threatening letter about payment totally disregarding that I WAS making payments monthly, but not what they expected - being a single mother its difficult but I never stopped trying. Now I am 1 class away, and cannot complete it because they are unwilling to work out a final payment plan for me. I WILL FINISH THIS DEGREE WITH OR WITHOUT THEIR HELP...it will just take ma another year to be able to take that last class!! THEY JUST DON'T CARE!

Was this review helpful?

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Save your money and go elsewhere!

Business and MBA - January 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I spent thousands of dollars attending Strayer. I am missing credits on my transcripts even though I have contacted them nearly 15 times regarding this. I cannot get my loans transferred to a new school because they didnt fill out a form correctly and then had the nerve to tell me it was my fault. I've sent them the forms they asked for numerous times but they "never get them" . I had the GI Bill. It took them 14 weeks to bill the VA for the quarter. I had to continuously call VA and call them to get it straightened out. They dropped me from classes in the last two weeks because their system said I wasnt attending and told me to submit a help ticket to get reinstated but it would take up to 6 weeks. How this makes sense, I dont know since I only had 2 weeks left of school. This is the worst experience I have had and thanks to it I was close to giving up on my degree.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Not Service Oriented for the Most Part

Business and MBA - December 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The support system as I experienced it was nearly nonexistent. Today, I got someone on the phone from the academic affairs department locally that effectively refused to honor my request to even look up my academic record. She did not seem knowledgeable about the degree verification process, and was not of any real assistance at all. I had gotten used to this kind of behavior from most of the support staff, which factored into my going to another school for my masters degree. This second school was quite a bit more expensive, but it seems that you get what you pay for. I have had helpful folks at Strayer, particularly in the finance department at the local campus. The very few numbers of service-oriented staff are overshadowed by the larger, overall unhelpful problem folks.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

I read the venom here and this has not been my experience

Business and MBA - November 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read all the comments here so far and the one thing that I recall from my experiences with customer service is that most people only complain when they have a problem, it is rare to see positive responses in print. Well, Strayer is expensive, but it is not a bad school. Most of my experiences have been positive and I have sat in classes next to some students who are not motivated, who don't even attempt to complete assignments on time and then have the temerity to complain about the professor and the school when they fail. That is why I am not shocked by some (not all) of the comments here. Strayer is just like any endeavor in life, you get out of it what you put into it.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Talk about a double standard!

Business and MBA - November 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let's start out with the good. I love not being restrained to a classroom setting. I also love the quarter format instead of the semester. Ok, now onto the bad. First off, the teachers are not required to communicate with their students like the students are required to communicate with the teachers. I was informed by one of the admins at my local campus that the teachers do not check their email or voicemails. Imagine how frustrating it is to ask about a paper via text! Secondly, the price is absolutely outrageous. I am going to be over $20k in debt just for a year and a half. That's not including the $1000 a quarter I had to pay out of pocket. One class is over $1,000. The only reason why I decided to go with Strayer was because I felt that they didn't play the "minorities" card with their applicants. I probably would have been better off just to wait for an opening at a normal four year. They really have not come to terms yet with the fact that people do not have disposable cash anymore. Adding on to that, the books are expensive and they use custom editions for almost all of their classes so you can not buy them at a used book store or online. Thirdly, none of their classes transfer to a four year. So, once you start taking classes, you are stuck.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

NOBODY WANTS TO HIRE GRADS FROM STRAYER.

Business and MBA - October 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Six months after finishing MBA at Strayer, and no positive job responds, I learned from one of the national banks, that they DO NOT even take a look at resume's from applicants with Staryer's degree. They suggested that I should go the state school and do another master!! Can you believed?? I wasted few years of my life, I robbed my own children from out time we could spend together while studying, and now, I am jobless, hopeless, and with $100K to pay back of students loans. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY IN THIS SCHOOL.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 23 people found the following review helpful

MBA -

Business and MBA - September 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I believe that my success in my career is due to the foundation that my education at Strayer University provided. I earned both a MBA and Master Science in Information Systems degrees while working full time. The student body at Strayer was very diverse and gave me the opportunity to understand the impact of international business. The professors challenged me to use critical thinking against theory to apply to the actual situations I encountered.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Not Worth It, Seriously

Business and MBA - September 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is a measure of what true failure is. It prides itself as an university that changes lives, however, it seeks to only to extract as much money from students as possibe. An undergrad degree will cost you an average of $69,000.00 at Strayer University (at $1725.00 per 4.5 quarter hours); however, finacial aid will only pay approx $58,000.00. Therefore, if you do not quatlify for grants you are, well, out of luck. Furthermore, the chances of acquiring a job with a degree from a for-profit university with ivy league prices are truly slim to none, simply because the average student tends to come from a minority background with limited income and little exprerence that is required to earn an income in the high fives low six figures. The unversity is not design for the working adult as it claims. The primary focus are the shareholders and generous dividends paid every fiscal year. Strayer University has failed its students and ought to vet carefully prior to enrolling.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Know the Facts BEFORE Enrolling

Business and MBA - August 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed a BBA with concentration in HR in 2011. Initially, my experience with Strayer was quite positive. I requested info on a Friday evening and the enrollment advisor (salesperson, frankly) called me that same evening. We spoke for almost 2 hours but I told him that I needed to take time to consider all my choices before completing an application. He only called me once during the next 2 weeks to see where I was in making a decision. (This is NOT the experience a buddy of mine had - he was called 2 times a day every day). Strayer accepted all my transfer credits - even those that were over 10 years old. This saved me a ton of money. They even took course work from a nationally accredited school - something that most regionally accredited programs will not do. This left me with about 2 years of work remaining. It was a LONG 2 years. First, materials: With the exception of one or two books, all materials had to be Strayer special editions. I discovered, however, that some of those were exactly the same as widely available texts that were published under a different name with a different cover, etc. (You have to do some digging around to see if the text is the same, but it isn't rocket science)so I saved some money by using, for instance, a statistics text that was word for word the same as the Strayer special edition. Book from Amazon? $30. Same book from Strayer? $110. A few of the books were terrible. My finance book, for example, was a hot mess. Even the instructor hated it - but she had to use it because the university would not let her choose her own book. I was able to sell my books on Ebay and there is a facebook page for Strayer students where you can find great deals on texts from time to time. The problem is that the texts change frequently and you have to contact the instructors to see if the old editions will still get you through or if you need to get the new one. Teachers: Well, some of them quite frankly should not be teaching. I had some very interesting professors who brought a great deal of life to the courses by sharing their experiences and leading us to outside resources. Others did the bare minimum and were almost unapproachable. I recall one particular course where the instructor complained to anyone that asked a question of her. "I am a doctoral student myself; I don't have time for constant questions. Read the text and the material in the online lecture to find your answers." Well - even a complaint by several students to the school's online support department didn't correct that issue. She was the worst, however - and out of the many other courses I took, the instructors were quite good and tried to really teach, not just grade papers. I found that the more contact you initiated with them, the more you were able to feel engaged in the course. The institution itself is POORLY run. I am told that the local campuses are an exception, but the online school is an example of how not to run an educational institution. Online students have a right to expect reasonable customer service and timely responses to issues. I had four different advisors during my time with this school. Only ONE would I have recommended to anyone. With the other three, I could never get a question answered the first time I called. And, almost every time, I had to call more than once to get the answer since the advisor did not return my calls. (Again - this was my experience - yours may be different) Being a for-profit institution, the emphasis is on getting your money. The business office was often rude to me. The one lady in that office who seemed to truly care about student issues was unable to make decisions without her boss approving them - and he was terribly heartless. Support: Academic: Fair. Other issues? Poor to fair, depending on the issue at hand. Value: Poor for the money. There are other institutions that will offer a very good education for less money. Use of technology: Fair. An example of an exercise in futility is the online discussion board. While I had a few classes in which students really contributed to active and engaging discussions, the vast majority of students could barely put a sentence together. I swear if I see the words "I agree" one more time, I might have a seizure. Even when instructors would say that a response to someone's post MUST be something more than simple agreement, students would still use those dreaded two words. Pathetic. Discussions could take place via various technologies; conference calls, online meetings, etc; but instead, the discussion board is the norm - and appears to be so at most institutions. It sucks. One of the most frustrating issues I had with Strayer has been mentioned before: Because of the cost, I ran out of available financial aid funds before completing the degree and had to pay out of pocket. At that time, they offered NO scholarships - and their monthly payment plans were not simple to meet. KNOW where you stand with regard to the amount of loan funds, etc that you have and plan accordingly. While most schools will tell you this, it is YOUR responsibility to know, too - so keep on top of it. Don't get to the last three or four classes only to find you can't afford them. Strayer is NOT cheap. There are many schools with lower tuition costs. I would advise brick and mortar schools offering online programs as a great alternative. My degree was accepted for entrance into a good grad school and it has also helped me advance in my career; however, it came at a huge expense and lots of frustration. Shop around. Don't let the pressure that a for profit school is going to put on you sway your decisions. Don't get suckered into enrolling the first time you speak to someone. I cannot stress that enough. You must have time to really see that the program in which you enroll is the right one for you academically, financially, and career-wise.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful

VERY POOR TUTOR SUPPORT

Business and MBA - August 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Although I am just beginning at Strayer I have already found some fundamental flaws at this institution. I was told that I would receive a lot of tutor support when I enrolled at Strayer. Since working with their Math course I have received little to no support at all. The online tutor program titled Smart Thinking has very uneducated tutors working there. I have gone through this portal for assistance about a dozen times and the tutors have no idea how to work the Math problems or get the answer incorrect all together. So, I decided to try the campus tutor and found that she only wants to meet in the middle of the day. Well, like many online students I work five days a week eight hours a day. So, coming in at 2:PM is not an option. I had to contact the campus Dean just to make this tutor make arrangements with me to meet after work. To make things worse, she isn't even able to meet with me until next week. My course work is due Sunday. I have also attempted to contact my instructor who has been very unhelpful as well. He talks in code like he is not there to instruct you, only leave you guessing as to how to work a problem. So between my Math book being unhelpful, my instructor being unhelpful as well, me having to tutor their online tutors and their on-campus tutor being unavailable it has been a very frustrating experience with Strayer.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Very good school for professionals

Business and MBA - August 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer's flexibility makes it a great school for working professionals. I was able to start my degree on campus and finish it online when I got transferred away from my home campus. The teachers all understand how hard it is to work and go to school, but they are not pushovers so you have to do the work.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Statistics

Business and MBA - July 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are planning to take Statistics as an online course, do NOT take it with Gelonia Dent. You will end up teaching the course to yourself. I worked my butt off for 11 weeks for this class. The teacher was useless. Sent repeated emails asking for help and she would ignore the emails or take quite some time to respond. I ended up with a B in the class (could have made an A if the teacher had done her job) which took my GPA down. Several of my classmates had the exact same complaints and we took these complaints to our respective Deans. Bottom line? The Senior Provost advised me that this class met Strayer's "quality standards." I have now dropped out of Strayer.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Run away

Business and MBA - June 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Worst experience ever, I couldn't finish... Now they're tryng to charge a lot money and they aren't flexible to pay... Horribles professors, Horrible costumer services. They were so nice in the begining, promisse a lot help, a lot stufs and bla bla bla, but when you realy need them... They don't care about you, that's why I stoped in the very first month... For only 03 weeks and now they're trying to charge me U$ 3.000,00 (03 weeks)

Was this review helpful?

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful

ALL SCHOOLS ARE NOT BAD

Business and MBA - June 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

GREAT SCHOOL! I attend Strayer University in Memphis, TN. I have not one Bad experience while attending Strayer. Everyone attend schools in different Locations, so not all of the schools are bad. So with that being said,let others evaluate the school for themselves. What bad to you might not be bad to others.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Do not go here

Business and MBA - May 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just got taken for a 1,700 dollar ride by Strayer. There is a long story here but I will not bother typing it out and getting mad all over again. The summary is that after 5 months of trying to get my credits evaluated, I have discovered that the discrepancy at my previous college is fairly common and that they generally have to make a telephone call to the Bursar’s office and all can be resolved. I have told this to my advisor, advisor’s supervisor, Campus Dean, and Campus Director, currently they have all told me that is a Strayer policy that they cannot change and that none of the credits will be transferred. This is total BS, these credits have been evaluated and accepted at multiple other regionally accredited universities. This issue was never brought to light before I started making payments and there has been no offer to help by anyone at Strayer. I know that this college is a for-profit university, but regardless of my feelings this is a poor business decision to not make a phone call and get the credit approved so I can start going to school fulltime with the 9-11 GI Bill until I graduate. Strayer if you are watching, look up my case and change this policy. Potential students, you should really make sure that everything is evaluated and approved before you start any classes, DO NOT TRUST PEOPLE AT THIS COLLEGE, make sure that the credits are posted on your account.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Big Waste

Business and MBA - May 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer is a waste of time and money. Customer service stinks. with the cost of this school, customer service should be at the top of their list. Financial aid process is a joke, no one can answer a question. The so called scholarships for returning students are a bust. I am still waiting on my scholarship!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 16 people found the following review helpful

A Great Experience

Business and MBA - May 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer was a great university for me. The professors were phenomenal and offered tons of assistance when needed. The overall experience was a great one and I would choose this university again without a second thought! Courses were well organized and the material was great. Instructors made due with text books that were not the best, but that worked out because the instructors have such vast experience in their fields of study.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Economics B.S. -Online

Business and MBA - May 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Strayer for 3 years, and am rather shocked by some of the other reviewers experiences. I have had nothing about good experiences with the business office, who has been very professional and helpful. The classes and instructors have both ranged from easy to very hard. The quality of instruction has been mixed, but overall I would say it has been good. I attended a state university for two years, and I found the same mix of quality there. I am not a fan of blackboard, but the online experience is organized and easy to follow. The major drawback to Strayer is its price, but for people working full time it is difficult to find a state school that offers online programs. I wold recommend Strayer to working adults who find it impractical or impossible to attend a physical campus full time. If you are a young adult without a family, I would suggest attending a state school. I find many, if not all of the negative reviews here to not be representative of my experience.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

My experience with Strayer

Business and MBA - April 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school, and every aspect of it, has been outrageously incompetent, misleading, and a complete waste of time, money, and energy. They seem to make every mistake it is possible to make, from enrolling me in the wrong classes (which I had to correct by phone, it should have been possible from their site but that didn't work) to never once maintaining a correct accounting of debt and payments made (which I have never been able to correct.) Their web site is practically useless, I couldn't even change my password but had to have someone do it manually over the phone via tech support. They misrepresented their prices to me, informing me that I was eligible for a scholarship of $1000 but never explaining that it would be revoked if I dropped any classes prematurely. They claim that I received a letter to that effect but I did not. It's now only the third week of the quarter (and the deadline to drop classes for half the cost) and they're telling me that I'll owe them more if I drop now than if I finish the quarter because the scholarship will be revoked. I'm enrolled in two courses, BUS100 (Introduction to Business) and ECO100 (Introduction to Economics.) The paperback textbooks for these two courses cost $256.72 (they are Strayer Branded books needlessly--there are plenty of excellent equivalents available for a tiny fraction of that price.) The Economics textbook supposedly comes with access to an online lab from Pearson (www.myeconlab.com) but it only grants you partial access to the lab and doesn't even cover the questions that end each chapter of the textbook! For access to that I had to pay an additional $50 to the Pearson site directly. There is very little interaction with the instructors. The assignments can be ambiguous, for example, here's one from the BUS100 class: > "Free Trade" Please respond to the following: > Determine if the benefits of free trade outweigh the drawbacks, and what could be done to address the drawbacks (if anything). > State whether you believe fair trade is a fad or a trend. Provide support for your reasons. Note that the term of "fair trade" is never mentioned in the textbook, and a related concept is called "social audit." When I asked the instructor whether the term fair trade was a typo and should have been "free trade" she replied thusly: > Strayer University set up all courses, which includes the discussions, quizzes, and assignments. The only sections that i ensure are > there the Class Information, Professor Contact Information, and the Grading Center includes all sections and is set up correctly. > They set up the classes in Blackboard to ensure all students taking a particular course receive the same information. I apologize > for whatever errors exists within those areas. I will look in the book to see if there is a difference. I never did hear any more about it. At this point I'm pretty much stuck for the rest of the quarter because it will cost more to drop out than it will to complete the term. But I felt that I should document my dissatisfaction as soon as possible to prevent others from being exploited by this school. It would have been far wiser to buy workbooks designed for self-study and pay for testing to establish mastery of the material. In my opinion, this school is very expensive way to get a very poor education.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Why oh Why?!

Business and MBA - April 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm a current student with Strayer. I've been attending off and on since 2002, when at that time I was attending Averett U. (wish I remained there). I had gotten duped to attend Strayer because of my employer and the fact that they do offer online classes. Initially, my preference was VCU, however, VCU did not have a curriculum for working adults. Strayer appeared to fit the bill, however, they are strictly a for profit diploma mill, their only concern is your (soon to be theirs) finances. One of the biggest issues I have with Strayer is with 'their' books and I mean their books. They change them every other quarter, which means there's a strong chance they will not buy them back and making it impossible to sell them to other students. My strongest and sincerest suggestion is to look elsewhere for your education, you want a weighty degree from a college (2 yr) or university (4 yr) that has stature and great affliations. Besides when you read the information on those running Strayer....NONE OF THEM ATTENDED NOR HOLD A DEGREE FROM STRAYER!!! What does that tell you?!

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Strayer Tampa Westshore Campus

Business and MBA - March 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very good school to be at. Excellent help with staff that is always willing to assist you with the extra mile. I always have proessional instructors and the Dean is awsome. Great open door policy and very personable. Academic staff top knotch.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Not as bad as other for-profit schools

Business and MBA - March 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending to Strayer University for 6 months, and counting. SU is not as bad as to other for-profit universities and colleges, because you actually have to do work in order to pass. As for other for-profit universities and college, the professor actually let you pass. The blackboard system that was upgraded when I started attending to this school is a great way for students to keep up with their professors. One of the local universities that is around my area, actually use the same exact program that SU uses. Therefore, before you start bashing SU about bad professor, blackboard, and the quality of the education, you should really check out other online universities and colleges. Although, the tuition for SU is pretty expensive, also the tuition is still continuing to rise as well.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Unethical, Unprofessional, and the biggest scam. 3 Wasted

Business and MBA - February 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am going on my third year with Strayer. At first, I thought it was okay. Things went smoothly. Now, as a Junior, I am being bombarded with numerous problems and it appears that I am not going to be able to finish my degree. It all revolves around financial aid. Last summer, I re-did my financial aid and was told that I did not have enough to finish. So, I withdrew. Today, i find out that the school is charging me for a quarter I did not attend. SUPPOSEDLY, I now owe Strayer $1500 because "funds were returned and the quarter was prorated". REALLY????? I withdrew. How can I owe anything? Then, in January, some miraculous funds were found and now I am told "there are enough funds to complete the degree (6 classes away)". So, I start back to try and finish my degree. Last week, I get a call from SFS (Student Financial Services) to make sure everything is appearing correctly with my awards. At that time, everything was fine. After the fiasco I have endured with dealing with the business office, I checked again today to make sure the money gremlins hadn't shown up again. All those funds that I had to finish my degree have been eaten by the money gremlins once again and now, I don't even have enough funds to pay for my tuition for next quarter. And to make it worse, I can't get anyone to talk to me or respond to emails. This is a pathetic way to treat students. Had I known this would happen AGAIN, i would have not re-enrolled and incurred more debt for nothing. Unless you want to be in debt up to your eyeballs with no degree to show for it, I would strongly suggest you go somewhere else. I am trying to withdraw again for the final time and they changed everything and I can't find the withdrawal form. It seems like they just want to trap you. I have contacted Sally Mae and Direct Loans about their unethical practices. They need to be stopped.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Turn the other way

Business and MBA - February 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please turn the other way... Do not waste your money or time with this school. The poor quality of education and staff (do not speak correct grammar) isn't worth your time. The school is all about the money therefore it's not about the students. Only the staff have something good to say because of the paycheck. If you never been in the ghetto you will experience it from Strayer. They do not follow their own rules or policies... please complain to the government officials and department of education about your wasted time and money.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful

PLEASE I BEG YOU ... DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

Business and MBA - February 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My Professor threaten me because I asked a question. He didn't want to assist me in my classes, gave us work that wasn't in the book we brought and didn't show us examples. In addition, some of the work wasn't on the syllabus and me made up assignments different from the syllabus. The quality of education is not worth your time or investment. They have faculty who don't speak good English which is a major turn off.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Unethical Institution - BEWARE!!!!!!!

Business and MBA - January 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After completing over two years worth of classes for my MSA with a concentration in public accounting, Strayer University discontinued the program. They told me I had to choos another concentration or move to another state that accepted the courses the program required. I am now two years behind and Strayer is refusing to refund any money for the courses they knew were not accredited. I am now starting all over at another university. Beware of this institution, it is not founded on educational values.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Not too Happy

Business and MBA - January 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the process of transferring from Strayer to return to Univ of Phoenix. It takes too long to finish one class (11 weeks vs 5 at Phoenix), the books are too expensive and the voucher that they give you doesn't cover the whole cost, so you still have to come out of pocket. I don't even know who my academic counselor is. Whoever it is, there is a serious lack of communication. The counselor is supposed to check up on you from time to time to see if you need anything. Called the school today and left a message for one of the staff regarding making a schedule change, no one returned the call so I had to call a second time. After furhter research, it turns out that Phoenix can get my BACHELORS in the same amount of time it takes Strayer to get me an ASSOCIATES DEGREE! Why do I need to take Biology if my major is Information Systems?? I was told the I.T. classes are not available for this semester so I was forced to take two classes outside of my major. I think it's time to move on.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Good program

Business and MBA - December 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Strayer has a good MBA program. The most impressive parts for me were the inclusion of a master thesis and the materials that were used. The delivery was through Blackboard and most courses were set up in the same format. Most of the faculty taught part time and held other positions at other public local colleges and universities. I currently teach at a well regarded private university with my degree.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Unprofessional service there is!

Business and MBA - October 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There has to be a law against the bad treatment and the unprofessional treatment at this school and they should not be allow to be open their doors. We as students pay so much money to go there and they treat us like second class citizen as they don't know that we pay their salary and in return, bad instructors, bad service from their other staff as well. They can not keep your records correctly as anything you need, you account is on HOLD for no reason and you have to continue calling to straighten it out. They falsely accuse their students for cheating due to unprofessional professors. You request for official transcripts, your account is on HOLD; you put in for your degrees - your account is on HOLD, for what? No reason at all, its always a error on their part. I wish that I can file a lawsuit against Strayer University but I just don't know where to start. Wish that someone can help me with this - I truly appreciate it.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO MY WORST ENEMY!

Business and MBA - October 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This started out to be a pretty good school. I was told that I would be able to receive my full degree going to physical classes. Due to the recession they were unable to keep enough teachers on staff to accomodate. I attempted to attend an online class and the instructor wanted our work in by Thursday and we were supposed to have until Sunday. I tried to contact her but she did not respond. I dropped the class the Monday after the 1st week and they would not refund all of my money - I was out over $300. I had four more classes to take to receive my Master's degree so I figure I would attempt the online classes again. When I contacted the school they had changed the curriculum for my degree and they wanted me to take six more classes instead of four.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO STRAYER!

Business and MBA - September 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DO NOT GO TO STRAYER! After 45k later, completion of the program in Dec. 2010, and 20 emails later, I still have not received my Diploma. I've been getting the run-around ever since I turned in my graduation application, paid my graduation fees, and all my money in Strayer's pocket. It is not worth it AT ALL to get your non-education from this University. I wish I would have gone to a State University that is reputable and well known. When I first started with SU I thought I was getting a quality education, tried to transfer to another University, but was talked out of it by their administrative staff. I made the wrong choice we staying with Strayer. For those of you who are already attending SU, take my advise.... TRANSFER TO ANOTHER UNIVERSITY (TRY STATE UNIVERSITY) as soon as you have the opportunity to. You'll THANK me!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Look Elsewhere

Business and MBA - August 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, the poor quality of the teachers at this school is not enough to justify spending $1,665 per course plus the cost of books. The instructors don't email you back and I encountered some whom did not even demonstrate proper grammar techniques. Obviously, the value of a degree from a regionally accredited college is going to be rated as excellent. The materials (books) that they use are quality. I had to submit a formal teacher complaint because my entire class once started emailing each other wondering if everyone was experiencing the same issues. The school acted as if they did not care and I literally sat on hold for over two hours trying to get a hold of Student Affairs. The customer service is great when you are signing up and if you have questions along the way, however, once you have a problem you are on your own. I was a transfer student when I came into Strayer University and transferred out of Strayer University after only spending 4 semesters there. I would strongly suggest that people look elsewhere for an online education.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

BS in Accounting

Business and MBA - December 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in March of 2008 with my Bachelors degree. A year before I began a job in the accounting field and found that I not only knew what I was doing I was able to expand the bookkeeping process to include much of what the accountant usually does and make her job much easier. The professors either had jobs in the area which they were teaching or if they were now full time professors then previous to that they had held full time jobs in the accounting profession. This added an element of experience with course work. I did have some issues with the state grant, it seems the school never filed on time and I lost all state grants which would have been money I would not have had to pay back. They dropped the ball and I had to pay for their mistake. All and All I felt I had received a quality education. Although I got the impression if I were to have continued with my Masters program, I am not sure they would have had the professors in house to be capable of teaching that high of course work. I could be wrong. I did take half of my course work online (all classes which were not accounting related)and found that it was much involved and required lots of writing and dialog with other students and the professor assigned to the course. One other note, I had a professor who had taught at Temple University (the school I had transferred from) and asked him what he thought of the quality of education and he felt it was equivalent to Temple if not more difficult, only because at Strayer you meet one time per week for 4 hours rather than spreading out the weeks lesson over two or three classes.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Strayer University in any way.