Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Thomas Edison State College

3.3
106 Reviews
5 27 
4 35 
3 12 
2 14 
1 18 
0 0 

 

Thomas Edison State College Reviews:

Very poor quality mentors - Almost a Degree Mill - Got B without doing any work.

Management - December 27, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've attending Thomas Edison University for over a year, overall, you really do not need to do much work to pass a class. I suspected that my mentors were not actually reading any of my papers so to test my assumption I posted a paper containing a single period, nothing in the paper but 1 period. The Mentor gave me an 80 on the paper. What does this tell us, well, they obviously do not even read the papers. So, are they accredited, yes, will you learn anything, possibly - more likely not. Is the degree from Thomas Edison worth anything? no more than any other For Profit school. So, after a year of Bad communication, poor oversight, conflicting information and very poor academic support I am transferring to another university. My fear is that if the poor quality of their online programs gets out, they may loose accreditation making any degree worthless. Unless you have no alternative, I strongly recommend you attend another school, why take the risk with your future. Best Of Luck

Was this review helpful?

5 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Great for continuing ed

Management - August 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Taking 3 courses (9 credits) and still able to work a full time management job at a major corporation. The work load is heavy if you actually do it. It is very self-directed and self-reliant. Like many have said here, there is plenty of writing. The best way to retain information is to read and then write articulating your thoughts. I came from a top 30 private college prior to TESC and I believe the content and workload is equivalent. You have mentors, not professors. There is no hand-holding here which is why this place is for motivated adults.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Perfect for self guided learners

Management - July 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great online program if you are self guided. People who need hand holding, interaction, cannot read directions and then follow a task, should not pursue an online program in general, but definitely not here. The school is surprisingly less responsive to email inquiries but can be reached very quickly on the phone. I was also less than impressed that some of the forms are not accessible, meaning they have to be printed and/or faxed, which is ridiculous for a school online. Other than these inconsequential things, the classes have discussion forums, good mentors, powerpoint presentations for each chapter, good texts and rigorous assignments.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

TESC experience

Management - January 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a great oppertunity for SELF DIRECTED ADULTS to finish schooling and enhance their careers. Its a school for professionals with an academically rigorous and practical educational approach. You need to be self motivated and hard working with an aptitude to learn independently to succeed at Thomas Edison State College. Its not an easy school but its a quality education that has a real world application.(I have been to other State Schools and online schools so I know)

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

You have to be highly motivated

Management - November 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let's get straight to the point - A lot of essays and work at TESC. Best for someone who is focus, motivated and committed. The institution lacks mentoring and the essential support from the faculty to take it from average to excellent. I attended a couple of traditional institutions prior to attending TESC and the same holds true - ultimately you get what you put in. Can this institution be improved? Definitely, but the curriculum is strong enough to provide a foundation to pursue your career or attain a degree beyond the bachelor level.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

New Student

Management - September 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like many of the other reviews available on this site, My experience is pretty bad. TESC is extremely slow to respond and if you are lucky enough to get one it often does not answer your question. If your fortunate enough to not require any assistance from them you should do fine. There is no accountability for errors made by TESC. I could not register for two months due to a problem on their side and then they would not waive the late registration fee. I even wrote a letter to a supervisor which they required me to fax. No response from them what so ever. Hard to understand their position considering we are paying for their support.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Alumnus MSM

Management - May 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the Master's of Management degree with this exceptional institution. I do not agree with the reviews that are less than favorable for this college. TESC is a fantastic college for highly motivated students (particularly motivated, smart professionals)seeking a high-quality education. I can attest to this because not only did I complete a master's degree (honor society), I also completed a bachelor's degree in business with TESC. This college is not for students who want an easy curriculum like you find at the traditional schools (walls and mortar). I say this because I have attended traditional schools such as Trenton State (now College of New Jersey), Saint Leo University, Maryland University, and Florida State University), but found there curiculum very easy and unchallenging because of the slow pace. I was bored out of my mind sitting in a class and waiting for the next assignment. TESC was intellectually challenging for me because of the dynamic pace of the assignments (writing, reading, projects, discussions, etc.). If you are looking for a free ride, please consider another school. However, if you are seeking a quality education (challenging and stimulating) TESC is for you. I feel very sorry for the reviewer who expressed that TESC gave way too much work. Perhaps you should consider staying with a more traditional (slower paced,i.e. Rutgers, Harvard, etc.) school, because TESC is for those students who thrive off of knowledge and are motivated to learn as much as possible and at whatever pace. Also, anyone with a mindset such as this reviewer should not consider graduate school. Foremost, you can not beat TESC's quality of education and value. I would put the education I received from TESC against any school on this planet. NOTE: Everyone will experience at one or even on several occasions disagree (teaching styles, methods, etc.) with an instructor or professor, but one must adjust and adapt to the circumstances and focus on getting the education.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

BSAST in Technical Studies

Management - March 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school but slow corespondence due to faculty size in relationship to student body. TESC gives the oppertunity of a quality accredited education for indiduals who are mature and self motivated.If you are a proactive learner or a mature indivual with a lot of research experience, they might be the school for you. Especially if you have a fragmented educational background among different colleges. If you need to be told things,not a seeker of knowledge and prefer to have your hand held than stick with a community college and their study groups. Thomas Edison State College is a great school for grown ups.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Really?

Management - December 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Unlike the last reviewer, I attended TESC sometime this century. I feel my review would be better off for anyone interested in TESC since the school was very much a correspondence school back then and not a online learning school. The work is fine for people who want to take a course or two each semester but don't expect to get great grades if you decide to take 4 or 5 classes. Lets compare a traditional college with TESC. In a traditional college environment you will start your semester on September first and finish sometime in late December or early January. At TESC you will start it on September first and be finished by the third week of November. The courses run 12 weeks. So expect to read all your books in 10 weeks while spending the other 2 on exams. It doesn't seem so bad until you start to throw in the additional requirements. Every online class requires you to post on a message board weekly. You then are required to respond to every person with your comments. This would work well if half the students weren't in the military and posting 20 minutes before the due date. Another area where TESC goes nuts is with the essays. Just about every class requires you to do a weekly essay. Most of the essays are 1,000+ pages. In all honesty it's not really too hard to get good grades on the essays. The weekly essays and posting typically make up anywhere between 50 to 60 percent of your final grade. The midterms are typically 30 percent and the final 10 percent. Lets be honest here. How much time do you have as a working parent or even just a working student? Lets say you can spend 4 hours a night on your studying. Lets say you have 4 classes with each class requiring you to read 60 pages, post on a message board, respond to posts and do 1,000+ word essays. How much are you really going to learn? My advice is to take two classes max if you want to attend this school. Anything more is a waste of time and money, especially if you want to transfer somewhere else with As.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

-

Management - December 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hold a BS/BA '99 and an MS '01 from TESC. Yes, the work load is highly competitive and that's what makes the degree so valuable and gives the institution such high integrity. Cohort XIII

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

How can you possibly learn in this school?

Management - November 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

TESC is a complete joke. Every single class you take requires you to do WEEKLY essays. Some of the essays are between 2,000 and 4,000 words. This is for EVERY class you take. This is on top of your reading and weekly online discussions that you are required to do. My cousin went to Rutgers, Brooklyn Law, NYU and is headed to Penn and he hasn't seen anything like this. There is way too much work. You can not possible read things and soak them in because all you are doing is trying to finish essays at the end of each week. The teachers are non-existent. In many cases they take weeks to get back to you via email or phone. Why even have a mentor? They seem to be nothing more than hired graders. I came to this school from Rutgers thinking that it would allow me to work full-time while going to school I'll be headed back to Rutgers in the summer since TESC thinks they need to give more work than Harvard.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

ok school

Management - November 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Alot of room for improvement I have had alot better professors at the community college level.Out of the 5 teachers I had at the college only one was great Dr.Page.Dr.Page help raise the scores I was going to give the college.Most of the people when you call up have no idea what they are doing.It is really scary if someone is new to college they might give up after only a couple of classes.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Flexible Programs, Incompetent Staff

Management - October 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Thomas Edison State College has a wide range of degree offerings, if you're looking for a specific program or major. However, the staff are unnecessarily difficult to deal with. Do not expect a timely response to inquiries, or knowledgeable staff. Expect to do most of your learning on your own. The tuition of nearly $7000 a year is outrageous for the level of service and the likely negative experience you will encounter. You'll spend much less out of pocket and financial aid will go much further at a traditional college, especially community college.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Bummer

Management - September 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am sorry, but I have NOTHING good to say about this university. After completion of my two classes I will try my luck with "AMU". This university uses out date teaching materials. I wonder if somebody that works with TESC wrote the good comments about their school in the hopes to sucker some students in. The bottom line is that your education is an investment for life and it should be taking seriously by an institution.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great MHRM and BA experience

Management - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have always been an online student and after graduating from Mercer County College with an AAS, I transfered to TESC. I had 85 credits and they took all of them for my BA. I have had very little issues with the school and only 3 tough professors. I Have had an amazing experience with my MHRM program and it went real quick in just over a year. The only downside I can think of is how long it takes to get grades posted and often how long it takes certain mentors to respond, but that varies greatly. The value is really good, but I caution any one thinking of online courses, the work is just as hard as the in classroom classes, and you do not have someone reminding you of due dates and of the work that needs to be done. If you are not self motivated, do not take online classes, it will be hard to keep up and do well. The flexibility is wonderful, and I am actually oonsidering a second masters from there

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Good program, but communication is bad from school

Management - May 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school promises what it says. You will get practically all your credits transferred. You can test out of many courses and receive the credit. My biggest complaint and the reason why I would never recommend anyone else to this school is the time everything takes to be accomplished. From them receiving transcripts and taking 8 weeks to put the credits on your evaluation, to the mentors to take 3 to 4 weeks before grading an assignment, all the while other assignments are due weekly. Calling the school is a nightmare. I have never been been transferred no less than 3 times before getting to the department i need. Each time having to explain my situation. If you have a low level of patience stay far away, if you are ok with all that, great school and you get what they promise you.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great School, Great Price, Great Mentors

Management - April 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I only have great things to say about this school. I transfer with my associate and had to attain 55 credits from TESC. The price per credit is very good, the mentors (professors) are all very experienced and a well educated. I always got the help I needed when I called the school, everyone was so kind and helpful. No regrets for attending this school and I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent School

Management - February 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my associates at a brick and mortor school and it took me forever, so i decided to do online classes which I felt would let me finish much faster. After several searches I found TESC and enrolled for reasons of it being online, cost, and the flexbility of being able to start a semester every month. I also liked the fact that the classes were 11-12 weeks long. The mentors (professors) are very well educated and experienced in the field they are teaching. I think that this school is an excellent choice. For people who mentioned before about some teachers not being good thats at any and all schools that you find that.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

MSM Degree

Management - April 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Thomas Edison's MSM program in 2000. I remain very pleased with the experience, the quality of instruction I received, the technology employed and the method of study. The instructors were always communicative and helpful, the technology useful and the study experience excellent. I was able to study in a small group of fellow students at various points in their careers and with various talents. We all learned from each other. I still use the knowledge I gained here in my current career and feel the experience added to my marketability and success in my field. I would reccomend this program.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

MSM

Management - February 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the MSM program in 2001 and I still recommend the program to anyone who is looking for an advanced degree. My experience with the program, the staff, and the instructors was all positive. As an example: in my first class I was having a problem relating to the assignments and the required responses. The professor spent almost an hour on the phone with me and responded to a multiple of e-mails to make sure I had understood the concept. When ever I asked for additional information or explanation of his critiques of my work he never hesitated to answer my questions. For me, the ability to work online and on my schedule did a great service towards allowing me to complete the degree.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Thomas Edison State College in any way.