Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Maryland University College

3.4
91 Reviews
5 23 
4 35 
3 13 
2 9 
1 11 
0 0 

 

University of Maryland University College Reviews:

Very Disappointed

Computer and Information Science - July 18, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After many years of classes with this school, here is a review for anyone considering this one. The instructors don't care about the students here anymore. Many are now worried about getting paid, since they get paid so little. The administration doesn't care about the students anymore here, since they are worried about lying for to school to maintain their own tuition reimbursement. The school will cheat you out of once earned credit now, when you become to close to graduation to try and make more money. Stay away from this one, and look elsewhere!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Good Option for Online BS Degree

Computer and Information Science - January 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After deciding to go back to college and change careers, I enrolled in the Computer and Information Science program at UMUC. I earned my BS degree, graduating cum laude, in 2008. Most of the upper level instructors were seasoned professionals who brought their unique knowledge to the course. As with brick and mortar classes, some were more talented than others. The better ones were well organized, gave assignments based on real world scenarios and were readily available to answer my questions and give extra help when I needed it. I started the program overseas in the Asian division and transferred to the US for most of the 400 and some 300 levels courses. I do recall a terrible time with one advanced programming language course. This was mostly due to the instructor, but it was also as if the curriculum jumped from beginning to advanced with no mid level I was lost from the start, so I dropped the course (along with over half the class) hoping to sign up with a different instructor the following term. His class was still the only one that I could get for 2 more terms, so I felt my only option was to take a different class and not get the advanced programming that I felt I needed. Apparently, the school noticed because they finally replaced him and he was only teaching beginning programming courses. Bottom line, I worked hard, graduating cum laude and expected to land a Systems Engineering job at one of the many defense contractor companies in the area. Unfortunately, the job market was very slow at that time and I was competing with graduates of the local state college campus. After floating my resume for 3 months I was thrilled to receive an offer from a NASA contractor to do software development. Obviously, UMUC distance ed worked out well for me, but looking back, there is one thing I might do differently. If I had the option (I did not), I might take the upper level programming courses in an actual classroom. I can't know if it would have made much of a difference, but I felt I might have benefited from working directly with an instructor and other students prior to my first work experience.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Its only bad if you can adjust!

Computer and Information Science - July 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This university is only bad if you are stuck in dealing with certain learning environments, and THINK you are a people person. Moreover, most who think they are a people person are not. It can be challenging with group work; some people are wordy and some are brief. I am finishing my Masters in Cybersecurity in a couple of weeks, and I realize that UMUC replicates the real word. When I received my undergrad in Business Marketing, it was from an accredited brick and mortar school and it did the same in a DIFFERENT way. You are going to work with people who you think you are smarter than, but in reality they just think different. In fact, they may be not be a good writer, but an excellent idea generator, organizer, or motivator. As far as a GMAT, that is some fantastic foolishness! That does not prove how ready you are for the workforce or graduate school. College is not about smarts; its about perseverance, dedication, diligence, and innovation. If you have that combination, you will do well at UMUC or any other higher-level institution. UMUC is a school that will test you ability to adapt, adjust, and to modify your way of thinking. Most schools and people want to create clones and cults--not at UMUC. They make thinkers, innovators, and team players. Even if you started a loner, you will end up a team player before you leave. That is what a good education should do and offer for your dollar. UMUC at least gets a 8 out-of-ten for that.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful

UMUC Legitimate, Accredited, and for ADULT ACTIVE LEARNERS ONLY!

Computer and Information Science - May 16, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you do not understand the terms, “Active Learning” or “Accredited Institution”, look it up. I am not doing your homework for you! It may be your first time if you choose to research it, but I guarantee it will not be your last in life if you attend UMUC. UMUC is an institution for ADULT Learning and does not provide or promise anything else. If you seek social bonding events, frat parties, or even instructors handholding you through your class assignments and lectures similar to high school, you need to look elsewhere – PLEASE! The instructors are “field tested” experts and are to be used for intelligent/complex questions that cannot be found in the textbooks or through other resources. I graduated from both traditional UofM (College Park, 1985) and UMUC (2013) and in comparison I discovered UMUC’s distance learning program significantly more demanding than the traditional model (your major will be a factor here). First, a review of the comments/complaints here and on other sites, indicates administration/student interaction issues NOT education - understand the difference. I personally experienced a lapse in FASFA funding due to submitting my taxes on an extension date. Meaning I did not get funding for a semester and had to come up with alternative payments. This is my fault and not UMUC fault! Accountability stressed here because I only see one name on the DEGREE earned – get it. Every institution has administrative issues not just UMUC. As for WebTycho, you post your work there, it is a bulletin board setup (big deal), the minimum requirements are disclosed on the website before you register or attend any courses (e.g. pc or mac, IE or FIREFOX browsers, etc.). Yes, there will be latency in supporting and adopting emerging and non-traditional platform technologies such as iPads or smartphones, that is why you pick something you can run a web browser and MS OFFICE. Why? You are required to write papers and submit them in MS Word or PDF format (APA 6th or MLA format) – Industry Standards. How else do you communicate your research papers and summarize your findings? That brings up quality of classmates work. You will have group projects/teams that experiences symptoms of “real world” situations. For example, there are always individuals that do not carry their weight but share the accolades. I bet you have experience that in your lifetime. Get over it, if you keep your nose to the grind to achieve your goal, you will get what you EARNED and they will not get what they have not earned (unless politics or being married to the CEOs daughter is one of the factors). Another law, “Life is not fair”. I dropped a letter grade myself due to inadequate writing skills of a group member who emphatically stated they could do it. From that point on in my UMUC journey, I personally took on the added responsibility of owning the projects before submission. In all cases, they received a grade range of 95% - 100%. Repeat of what ALL GRADUATES from ALL UNIVERSITIES have stated, “YOU GET OUT WHAT YOU PUT IN.” If you have a weak spot, for example writing or mathematics, strengthen and reinforce it! PROUD TO BE PART OF THE UMUC ALUMNI.

Was this review helpful?

47 of 56 people found the following review helpful

Hard, Time-Consuming, but Rewarding

Computer and Information Science - December 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love UMUC Europe. The professors will challenge the heck out of you and expect your work to be college level. If you can barely read or write, you should spend your tuition money somewhere else because the 8 week terms are very fast paced and the instructors demand your work on-time. Upper level classes will have tons of essays that are expected to be written well with correct APA, MLA, etc citing. They'll run your essays through plagerism sites to make sure you haven't copied or bought them. If you're willing to work hard and have the to spend on assignments, this is your college.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great for working adults!

Computer and Information Science - May 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is an excellent school for a self-motivated adult that is willing to take the time out to read and complete each assignment. The value of the education is comparable to some of the traditional four-year institutes, but the cost and convenience of online degrees and certificate programs are the real reasons for its success. I'm only slightly concerned with the eight-week semesters since some of the course material covered cannot possibly be absorbed within such a short time frame. So far though, UMUC has been a decent school that has met my expectations.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Decent overall

Computer and Information Science - August 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my BS degree at UMUC. Overall, this is a good school but as previous posters have said, you need to be self-motivated to get the most out of your education. Also, to all of the people complaining about advisors and support, it helps a lot if you know how to use a computer. I had to call and talk to someone only one time during my 4 years, when an approval from the VA didnt arrive in time for the start of classes. EVERYTHING YOU NEED: Class lists, schedules, outstanding classes/requirements for your degree, registration etc. is online via MyUMUC. My experience overall was good. Teachers seemed to be hit or miss, some were great and provided valuable discussions & feedback while others rarely participated in discussions and graded assignments weeks after they were submitted. Its not an Ivy league school, but I wasn’t expecting one. The classes do great to fit with a working schedule.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Great Program

Computer and Information Science - December 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school. This school will hammer you if you are a poor student that is simply looking for a fast degree. If you want to LEARN something along the way, this is your school. It is about time that I found a school that actualy enforces standards. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Recent BS Graduate

Computer and Information Science - October 24, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at UMUC has been wonderful. My major was Computer and Information Science with a minor in Business Administration. The course format was great in that I took both online and face-to-face courses. The teams I was on during that time were great. It helped me to be a team player, meet deadlines and and work with many people, some in other countries. The cost of a UMUC education is quite reasonable. I work for a DoD contractor and I compel my co-workers, especially the military to work on their education.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Maryland University College in any way.