Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

Great School - Got my BS/BA & M/MA with UOP !!!!

Master of Business Administration - September 15, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I now have my BS/BA & my M/MA degrees from UOP. I started back in 2010 with my post 9/11 GI Bill. I doubled up on some classes to graduate 1 year early with a 3.5 GPA while working 40-50 hours per week full time at my job. You will get out of it what you put into it. You will learn to do extensive research & not plagiarize. You will work on teams that you may or may not like. You will have to type your fingers to the bone to complete the work objectives. YES, YOU WILL HAVE TO EARN YOUR DEGREE!!! State colleges offer partying, frats, & fraternities for children. If you are a responsible working adult then UOP is the way to go. They are accredited! If a company you are applying at says they don't observe a UOP degree then you might not want to work for such a discriminating company in the first place!!! I have extreme success with my UOP degrees & I couldn't be happier!!!! Whiners and "No one gets left behind" people stay away from UOP because we don't want you part of our elite team of graduates "if" you are not willing to work hard & earn your degree!!!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Straight A student - The place is a JOKE

Master of Business Administration - March 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a straight A student with just a few classes left in my 4 yr Business Management degree. I attended the actual classes at the school for a year, these were sub par but at least I learned a little, I had to switch to the online only, and now it is just a horrible joke. I feel trapped and just want to finish the degree, although I know I am just wasting my time and life, I am learning absolutely nothing. The online "facilitators" just copy and paste premade statements here and there. There is noi way I have earned straight A's, I am ashamed but I will finish it out there. Lots of mindless busy work, but no learning. Please find a real school to attend if you have any dignity.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Review read

Master of Business Administration - February 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would not recommend this to anyone that has access to a community college or a 4 year in person class. I live in Manhattan so the schools here are super picky about getting in after you have received a BA which I have 2 already so I had to take a graduate program and Im not even waiting to get in to those here. I need my CPA asap so I decided to go with an online school. I like that I am teaching myself that's what life is anyway and especially in accounting but I spend more time trying to please the facilitator who counts how many words you type on message boards as your participation grade. This quarter I had to email him to ask him what more does he want because I responded to all of his message boards discussions and he wasn't giving me full credit for my participation grade. I am understanding all the material I am learning myself and still worried about my grade based on will he give me full credit based on how many words I type not did I really just understand what I learned. So no please don't do it online unless you are in my situation.. you know you need to get in and get it done asap. Oh yeah I had to chase them for 2 and half months to get my FIN AID money.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Learning Team Fiasco

Master of Business Administration - November 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are three things that are bad about the MBA program. First, they let anyone in, so, there are a lot of unqualified people in the classes. People can enter 'on probation' for the first four classes. It ends up being five classes where there are people 'on probation' that you have to suffer through having as classmates. This is acceptable as some people may step up to the challenge and rise to the level of a real graduate program. But most are ill prepared and have a bad attitude to rise to the challenge. The real rub comes with the Learning Teams of 4-5 people. Imagine having 30% of your grade dependent upon 4 other team members where none of them can construct a correct English sentence. Imagine having them summarize the book instead of processing the book's concepts and applying them to the paper's topic in the writing assignment. Imagine them blatantly plagiarizing and you having to run it through the checking tool and rewriting the Learning Team member's portion of the team paper. It is easier to write your own paper than to rewrite and redo your team mates work. But, you can't totally rewrite their work or you are accused of not being nice. One team member gets offended when you change her text from a passive voice to the required active voice. Another throws a fit and withdraws her effort to the bare minimum. Another doesn't care how you decide as a team the split of labor will be, she just does whatever she wants to do and submits it. Before the meeting she proudly declares she's going to the gym and can't make the team meeting. You carry the team, most of whom don't belong in a graduate degree program for either academic or attitude reasons. The third complaint is it has become blatantly obvious that between the 'academic adviser' and the professor that they just want to keep you in class and smooth over your valid complaints of Learning Team members' above mentioned issues. I have explained that in a brick and mortar university these things would not be tolerated. In my work place of fortune 100 companies this behavior would not be tolerated. All I have to do is talk to the derelict, and then go to my boss, who would then straighten out the derelict or fire the derelict. THAT is the real world. As for the others commenting on effort, it is true. I put a lot of effort into the class and got some out. I just wonder if the gain is as robust as if I were in a brick and mortar university. I would write more than the required number of posts in the discussion forums. I would do research and read all of the research before writing my responses to others discussion postings, and then cite the references. My papers were limited in word count so I'd pack in as much content into the limit. The other reason for graduate school is building the relationships with other industry leaders. This certainly won't happen at UOP because the level of students on average is far lower than department managers.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Ticket punch U - for profit slime

Master of Business Administration - August 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This "university" is strictly for ticket punchers. There is zero educational value. UOP makes its profit, you get your ticket punch to the "next job" - if any take this degree seriously - and everyone loses because you learned nothing. I recommend staying as far away from this scummy for profit school as possible.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Hindsight is 20/20

Master of Business Administration - August 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If I had it to do over again, I would not go to U of Phoenix. I'm proud of my MBA in Global Management but it hasn't earned me a dime! The only practical thing I learned at U of P was how to take an online class. I think that all education needs reform. Please notice that the people who love U of P are the ones who already had a job they wanted to keep when they enrolled. It WAS a lot of hard work, and it WAS expensive, and I don't recommend it to anyone who doesn't already have a job that they want to use the education to add value to.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

NOT GOOD.

Master of Business Administration - July 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a money grubbing For Profit Business. Your education is not its priority. All it wants to do is turn a profit and increase it's shareholder value. You 'students' of this supposed school are just casualties of UOPs war for profit. The teaching and materials are sub-par, and the students (kind of insulting myself) have no business going here (they are better suited as McDonald's cashiers or factory lemmings). Heed my advice - stay away, bad school! Community college better!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Been There Done That

Master of Business Administration - June 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated January 2011 with an MBA, GPA 3.92. I chose UoP - San Diego, CA out of necessity, as I was laid off from my job and truly wanted to use my GI Bill benefits. After reviewing the curriculum, I was impressed with the breadth of studies and the degree of student input required to be successful in the program. The textbooks and literature (all online, forcing computer literacy) are outstanding. Furthermore, the team concept is a challenge that is NOT used in many "major" public universities. In short, I am very proud of my education, as I poured my heart and soul into it for 1.5 years. The MBA I have earned has not turned into a lucrative title for me, unfortunately. However, it is a title I can place after my name til am laid to rest. For all the folks that have had bad experiences, I am truly sorry. But, I will challenge you to think about what YOU could have, or can be, doing better. ANY school, job, event, whatever.....is what you make of it. In other words, don't do it half-assed and expect a degree on a silver platter. I personally wouldn't trade my time at UoP for anything. 'Nuff said and all the best.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

TOTAL JOKE!!!! AWFUL!!

Master of Business Administration - June 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Awful school!!! None of my classes ever have the same structure so it is hard at the begining of each new class to figure it all out. About two weeks into it I get the hang of it, but the class is only five weeks so I am doing it over and over. My financial advisor hid tons of stuff from me and lied to me about possible breaks. there is a question for the instructor, plan on waiting 24 hours. YOU LEARN NOTHING!!! It is a bunch of bullcrapt assignment and participation. Be more realistic to have to read chapters and answer questions from them to actually learn the material and vocabulary. This school is the worst mistake of my life.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Highly DON'T recommend. Think Community College...

Master of Business Administration - June 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Uop is for people that can fog a mirror and qualify for govt aid. So if you are a body (no brain required) you qualify. Education was a joke. My community college challenged me more and was more credible than UOP. This school sucks. It is a for profit business / degree mill out to milk the world for all it can get. Please explore a community college or state school over this sham. It's student loan dept and advisors are pure unadulterated SCUM. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Recent MBA Graduate

Master of Business Administration - June 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a UOP alumni, I can say without reserve that my experience at University of Phoenix was outstanding. I began my educational pursuits with Axia college in 2007, entered my bachelor's in 2010 and graduated this past Saturday with my MBA in global business. Learning teams were challenging at times but it taught me how to problem solve using principles of team building. Classes like Quantitative Reasoning for Business Problems, and Fundamental Principles of Sound Research were quite enlightening and I discovered how invaluable these two classes are and how they correspond to the relevance in real world situations. I agree that online learning is not for everyone, and certainly not for the faint at heart. University of Phoenix provided me with an opportunity to be highly educated and also provided the flexibility in my schedule to meet educational objectives. Although I am sorry for those whose experience with UOP was less than desirable, based on my personal experience, I would recommend the true seeker of knowledge and education to consider University of Phoenix. I can also say that my academic advisor, (JoAnne Cawley) was outstanding and very supportive. I am not concerned with all of the negative statements about University of Phoenix and believe that my education and experience with this institution is not only a valuable one, but is being used as an instrument to effectively obtain higher goals. I will complete my educational journey after completion of the Doctor of Business Administration. I strongly believe that a person striving to increase knowledge from any institution of higher learning receives as much as he or she gives. I do not believe that knowledge is power but that APPLIED knowledge is power and for those who refuse to apply what they have learned I say the fault lies with such negligence. KJ

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

The university that is almost credible.

Master of Business Administration - May 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I worked in enrollment at UOP for over 2 years. Before UOP I became a casualty of our great recession economy and the infamous 10% unemployment job market. Like millions of other Americans I was unemployed then under-employed at UOP. During my time there I took advantage of the the tuition assistance and earned my MBA. The program was time consuming but not challenging and my GPA was just under 4.0. UOP is the largest university in the country and you have to give them credit for building an empire. Although, the work environment is very dysfunctional and the management is incompetent. That translates into disrespect towards the employees. The attrition or turn over rate is very high. In theory it could be a well run organization but unfortunately it's not. Over a year ago following some awful press releases UOP transitioned from a sales environment to a customer service business model. No one talks about sales or number of enrollments but there is still an underlying force to hit the numbers. To make matters worse the quarterly earnings reports for the past year have been dismal. Go read them. Now, that I have graduated sometimes I hear comments about the degree not being accepted or recognized. I'm not sure if the rumors are truthful but it's very pervasive. Sometimes the comments are about not taking the GRE or GMAT to be accepted and other times it's about the business accreditation. UOP is not a research university. It's labeled as a learning institution. One thing I really wanted in the MBA program was a project or thesis. If I went to Harvard or similar school it could cost $100k versus $23k at UOP and I could have my thesis. Some academics say the faculty are less qualified because it's a second job for them. They don't teach full time but I would counter that argument by saying some faculty at research universities never held a real job. Bottom line is the business programs at UOP teach people how to apply business disciplines and principals in the business world but it doesn't carry the weight of a degree earned from a research university. UOP has more MBA students enrolled than any other university and the numbers aren't even close but it doesn't mean UOP is a best school.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Bad experience. Terrible. Go to Community college

Master of Business Administration - May 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I haven't met anyone that attended this business for profit that hasn't had A LOT of BAD to say about it. If you take one thing away from this post --- my intention wasn't to pay A LOT of $$$$ for a LESS THAN HIGH SCHOOL substandard FOR PROFIT education. TERRIBLE. Go anywhere else. Plus, their 'sharks' call you every single day until you BUY, then you never hear another word....

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

University of Phoenix online worked for me

Master of Business Administration - April 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I run a small business and needed some additional business smarts to grow my business. While I think I can now identify a production anomaly vs a defect, and understand the relative value of LIFO v FIFO for warehousing, the real value has been application of Marketing and Strategy for my small business. Fortunately for me the online instructors in both of those categories were good communicators of very helpful texts. BTW, my business is Human Resource related, and I'm sorry to report their Luddite misunderstanding of the effort and self-direction required to complete an online degree while working/ raising a family is indeed prevalent - press these clowns to either test your knowledge or explain their logic regarding their disdain for the degree and they'll fall all over themselves. In 10 years they will be following the crowd still, but praising online learning! Bill UOP MBA 2007 Ivy undergrad degree

Was this review helpful?

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Meant for a Phoenix

Master of Business Administration - December 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So I think what happens is those with a bad experience feel more inclined to write negative reviews while others don't write a review, so I feel obligated to speak up. I just completed my M.B.A. a few weeks ago. My experience with UoPX was fantastic. I found the three staff (admissions, academics, and financial) were extremely supportive and accessible, much more than my previous on-site Umass Amherst experience. As for academics, I learned a ton! I do think it was somewhat less rigorous than SOME on-site programs, but I thought the framework was excellent, the only real issue was how we didn't delve too deeply into subject matter - but come on it's an M.B.A. its supposed to be an overview of everything in the business world. The team assignments are controversial, but they certainly taught me to work in a group efficiently using technology, and deal with the occasional BS and difficult peers without so much stress - this is absolutely an asset to working in any organization. Classes like accounting, stats, and finance were very hard without a background in math and numbers! However I felt extremely accomplished when I discovered I survived. Now I know that if I need to figure out an NPV of a project or WACC of a company I can do so with a little refreshing and ms excel. Some people note that they aren't accredited by the AASCB, however don't let them fool you to think they don't have accreditation. Specific to business they are accredited by ACBSP. On the overall level they are accredited by Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association - the standard for overall college accreditation. This is by all means a product! It is designed to be competitively priced and with high quality content. Some people don't seem to understand the concept of capitalism and assume the private nature of UoPX prevents it from working to the best of its ability to provide a value for your dollar. Just like any other product it is up to you to do the research. On that note much of the detractors seem to be either A) people who don't take responsibility for their uninformed decisions and need to have their hand held or B) former employees with an axe to grind over their internal employee practices. Let's focus on the point, which is "does the degree help you achieve your goals to the extent of overcoming the opportunity cost of the decision?" My answer is yes it does. The cost is similar to state schools, somewhere around $26,000 for the full M.B.A. program. That's really not expensive when you look at the skyrocketing public school rates and certainly private schools. There are no hidden fees or any of the nonsense typical of state schools. You pay a class fee and a materials fee, possibly things like registration fee, but even that was waived under whatever promotion I caught when I signed up. As far as the workplace. The simple truth is, it depends on the organization. By paying attention to the news it is clear that the anti-online school bias is pure elitism and classism. It just burns people up to see education performed in a new format and specifically designed for the underprivaledged and overburdoned. If they have true comments about the rigor as compared to, for example, Ivy League schools then fair enough. But to discount the value of the knowledge gained by 100% as compared to the thousands of crummy state schools shows a complete lack of insight. Therefore your biggest decision should be about what kind of organization you intend to work for. Do you want the degree for personal enrichment? (I'd like to open a business someday) Do you want the degree for mobility within certain sectors? (I work in non-profit where they judge me on my competency not merely the name of the schools I attended, and having the M.B.A. simply provides more options for growth) Do you expect the M.B.A. to land you a $75,000 finance position at an elite private investment firm right off of the street? (maybe this isn't for you then). Most people interested in UoPX would not be able to gain the degree in the traditional format reserved for people with a lot of time on their hands and low personal overhead costs. This is for them, and they are constantly improving. The technology is top-notch and it seemed every few months a new convenient feature was implemented in my student center. So please, make your decision carefully and you won't be disappointed. In the end it really is a matter of you getting out what you put in. If you aren't cut out for the business environment this won't transform you. If you have the yearning and potential, this will supply you with tools and routes to proceed on to accomplish your long-term goals. You need to be a "pull yourself up by your bootstraps" kind of person, not only to survive the highly independant curriculum, but to put it to good use in the real world. True to its name it is meant for the phoenix, the person who can rise up from the rubble of the economy and modern life and make something of themselves. If these conditions suit you and you are dedicated to furthering yourself despite life challenges and public snobbery, I would absolutely recommend the M.B.A. program. I expect UoPX to continue to be a trailblazer in non-traditional education, a leader in empowering the economically and socially disadvantaged, and although it is a little lame, I am definitely proud to be a Phoenix.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Scam school

Master of Business Administration - December 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school manipulated me and charged me way too much for a mediocre education. I recommend your local community college then state school over this diploma mill. I have not gotten a promised job, and I'm about to default on one of my Uop arranged loans. Help. Uop sux.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

University of Phoenix inside report

Master of Business Administration - November 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Take it from a faculty member who graduated with an MBA from UOPHX and then began teaching there for over 10 years. The academic affairs department and the executive management are mainly concerned about financial goals and enrolling more and more students. While academic integrity is touted as important, at the end of the day they put pressure on faculty to pass students to improve their retention numbers. If you review the most recent financials for the University of Phoenix, you will see enrollment numbers are down by about 40%, this only increases the the pressure they put on their employees and often leads to unethical practices in each campus, including online. The faculty management staff maintains a report called the Faculty Performance Review, which they maintain as a secret way to evaluate faculty based on their student retention statistics. The review has nothing to do with academic quality. Another concern is the lack of PhD professors in their graduate programs, in most cases and most often at the local campuses, the courses are taught by people with masters degrees. This University has a hard time recruiting people with doctorate degrees as the pay is low and professors have little room to teach as there are so many policies designed to pass students, rather than to provide a quality academic experience. As far as enrollment practices, I worked at a local campus and my desk was located in the same room as the enrollment staff (so called enrollment counselors), the enrollment people call potential students all day long (much like a telemarketing firm) and when they do reach someone willing to listen, the sales pressure and misleading statements belongs in a class lower than a used car sales person. My advice, do not go to school there, it is overpriced and when you graduate (after accumulating a large student loan) you most likely will end up in job with low pay despite all the money you borrowed. If I had it to do over again, I would have never become involved with the University of Phoenix. Beware, as they continue to advertise and expand their marketing efforts. Hopefully, the U.S. Department of Education will shut them down and stop their fraud on the American Tax payers by exploiting the student loan and grant programs.

Was this review helpful?

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful

This is a WARNING!!!

Master of Business Administration - April 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What rip off I got from this place! I hope all that did will share it on FACEBOOK and other places on the internet because I was lied to, never given the academic help needed nor the financial assistance needed. As a matter of fact, I was told that because they recognized their mistake that they owed me for a class or would pay me the money. Instead they have been hounding me for two or more years for $2250.00. I am shocked that they get away with this crap. I read all of the bad reviews like this online and can't believe that someone hasn't done something about it. Just SAY AWAY and you wont have these problems to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MBA costs more than it's worth due to poor reputation

Master of Business Administration - March 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a 2006 UoP MBA graduate, I've found that the degree doesn't carry nearly the same weight as traditional programs and is scoffed at more often than not. While I certainly learned quite a bit from the program, I now realize that it would have been a much better investment of my time and money had I earned my MBA from a school with a reputable program. Don't let UoP's marketing campaign fool you. Their degrees cost more than they're worth.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Under Investigation

Master of Business Administration - September 11, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is under investigation by the Dept of Education. I was dissappointed in the lack of PhD staff, the disfunctional team projects, and the questionable grading. Once the 'scamming' of the recruiting dept was discovered, I left immediately. I'm now attending another online with a solid rep. UoP is bad news.

Was this review helpful?

Not AASCB accredited

Master of Business Administration - August 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Beware, this business school is not AASCB accredited. UoP is not a member, nor in the process of obtaining this accreditation, that would make their curriculum harder, and cost them millions. Your MBA from here is laughed at.

Was this review helpful?

Unprofessional

Master of Business Administration - August 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My financial aide was cancelled due to a mistake made in the financial aide department and, as a result, had me disenrolled from the school program. I still owe $3,000 and the university of phoenix will NOT see a penny from me; they sent back the money that was to pay for the semester I was unable to take. THIS IS THE UNIVERSITY'S FAULT AND THEY WILL GET NOTHING FROM ME! I was very unhappy with the lost time and money I had to endure from a school that helped me in NO way.

Was this review helpful?

UOP is a great School

Master of Business Administration - June 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

University of Phoenix is a good school. My views are the learning methodology is acceptable. The MBA program particularly was quite promising from the beginning, and met my expectations at the end of the program. The program is recognizable by my Job, which subsequently reimbursed me the total cost of the program. I am happy I undertook the program.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

You Get What You Give

Master of Business Administration - April 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have nearly completed the MBA/GM program and have to say that I am pleased with the level of instruction and overall quality of the program. I started my adventure in 2004 and had to take a break because I was deployed to Iraq. I restarted in March 2009 and have three course remaining. After reading all the review, both positive and negative, I have to say that my experience with UoP has been very positive. Not only has the institution itself provided great service - the facilitators have been, for the most part, outstanding. The only issue I have is with the use of Learning Teams - that it's one of the factors that can negatively impact the whole experience. Fortunately, most of the teams I was on have worked well - Out of a dozen, only two were sub par. Overall though, I firmly believe that you only get out of any program what you're willing to put into it. If a company is unwilling to consider me because I earned my MBA from UoP - it's their loss as far as I'm concerned.

Was this review helpful?

Exceed my expectations

Master of Business Administration - November 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Im a 2008 UoP MBA program graduate and completed a Bachelor of Sciences in Electrical Engineering from a traditional B&M School. If you are a non-traditional student I highly recommend this program. Classes were challenging and the international perspective of the learning teams was an excellent experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great School but Unfortunately Bad Reputation

Master of Business Administration - September 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I earned a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Florida which was phenominal. When I started UoP I must say that I didn't feel challenged until I started taking the accounting and finance classes. Those classes were taken on ground. I must say that had it not been for some of my team members I would not have understood what I learned because some of the instructors really were not that great, but I can say that for some of my undergrad courses as well!!! Thank God I had no slackers in my advanced classes. I am worked hard but I can't say that I really learned or retained any information in those harder math based classes, but then again I can say that about many undergrad courses I took at UF!! Now, I am finishing my classes online and it is so much better because there is less focus on the team learning and I feel more responsible for my work and I am working very hard. I do have to say that I almost quit when I first began because of so much bad publicity UoP was receiving and I didn't want to be associated with that university. I wanted people to know that I had a REAL degree. I am finishing my MBA because I am too close to finishing and I don't want to be known as a quitter. I guess time will tell after I earn my degree if I do get that desired position. I think that online degrees are getting better reviews nowadays. I only wish that UoP would stop advertising so much. It does appear to be a degree mill in that sense but it is not. I am working HARD. I know that I am earning my MBA and that my degree is REAL!!! I think that many haters of UoP are lazy dropouts who want an easy way out and make it bad for the rest of us hard working students. It is a shame, but when there is a university as big as UoP, there are going to be many critics as well.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

On-line MBA

Master of Business Administration - April 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Terrible, not worth the time, effort, or money. I was told by three HR departments that their companies do NOT hire people with on-line degrees. Left UofP on-line off my resume and found a job in a month. I wish I had known better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Super expensive school..find somewhere else to go!

Master of Business Administration - January 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about halfway through my degree program, and I'm appalled at how much my student loan debt has risen. It cost me less to get both my AA and BA than it does for MBA here at Phoenix. The class curriculum is mediocre, and the learning team assignments are just ridiculous. Having your grade based partly on someone else's work is frustrating. I get very little help from instructors, and my student counselor support is even worse. I have attempted to contact him many times and I never hear back from him. I have tried to transfer to a different school, but no other place accepts their credits. Essentially, I'm unhappily stuck here unless I want to start the program all over again somewhere else. My advice is to find a program that focuses more on you as a student and not so much on your checkbook.

Was this review helpful?

2007 UOP MBA Grad

Master of Business Administration - January 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at UOP has been quite rewarding both on a personal and professional level. Here is my two cents with regard to the MBA flexnet program. I graduated in September of 2007 at the Western Washington campus. The majority of the instructors in the graduate business program were very good to excellent, however at any institution (top ivy league institutions included) there are bound to be a few bad apples and UOP is no exception. Even in a city like Seattle, recently ranked as the #1 educated city in America. Therefore, you must realize this fact exists at any institution, so grow up and get over it. You must be stubbornly determined to stay the course and finish the program. Yes, the learning team environment has pros and cons, but what learning model is perfect? I was fortunate to have stayed with two members of my learning team for most of the program and one relocated for an outstanding career opportunity after about 85% of the program was complete. I believe what set our team apart from others is newcomers had to prove themselves, otherwise they were provided an exit strategy upon course completion. Sounds cruel? Well, that’s part of life and perhaps the individual learned something in the rejection process that is reflected in the working world. Otherwise, you are crippling them in the educational process and the future challenge of life. Additionally, our team kept each other accountable through constant contact and meetings. If you expect the professor to manage your learning team, they don’t have the time and your team is responsible to assume ownership. Brainstorm a process and use it or you will be disappointed and discouraged. In terms of promotional opportunities, I interviewed for an internal position with my company and I received a substantial increase in salary (double digit) and responsibility. After graduation, I still keep in touch with many colleagues and the student alumni association at www.phoenixalumni.com Networking is perhaps the single most powerful tool one can use to uncover career possibilities. There will always be negative people, especially with the current paradigm shift occurring in academia. This pattern is typical of new issues that arise with the advent of technology and education is no different. Initially change is resisted, evolves over a period of time and eventually become a standard policy or procedure. Furthermore, at minimum verify the online program is regionally accredited. UOP now enjoys both regional and ACBSP accreditation. I wish you the best of luck in your future education. My graduate education at UOP has served me well thus far.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good Learning Experience

Master of Business Administration - January 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First of all we all need to take responcibility for ourselves. UOP is not here to hold your hand they are here to give you viable information. I received my undergrad in accounting at UOP and I am now in the last class for my MBA (ground campus)and I must say that before UOP and all of the papers I was only a bean counter and I knew nothing of writing papers. UOP has taught me to get along with team mates as to get the work done and it has taught me how to articulate myself correctly and how to present myself to groups and large crowds. I am currently an employee of Capital One Bank in Consumer Lending and working in learning teams has helped me tremendously. So to all who have complaints about financial aid, keep up with your own progress, do not rely on some one else to do it for you. You are an adult! To the ones who do not like the papers neither did I but when you are looking to become a member of that upper management team you will need to know how to correctly write a report. All in all we all need to grow up cause the CEO of a company will not hire someone who can not handle responcibility and multitasking. Lastly to all who felt it was unfair not to have homework extensions, try raising two kids alone, working a full-time job and going to school and let me know how you make it. I DID TWICE!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

I am done now....

Master of Business Administration - January 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was the one who wrote the 3 classes left review.... I finished in April.... I have since started teaching at a community college. I feel that I learned a lot in this program. The benefits of learning in a more globally minded and tech savvy industry/institution is a plus. This is where education is headed and how can we expect instructors to teach on this front who have not experienced it. The school has become much more "legit" in their accreditations and advertising. I tend to see the negative stereotypes less and less about this school and online learning as a whole. While this is a great school that is on par with many mid major programs in the country I would look around before going here....the reason being that there are now many alternatives to this school that cost far less.

Was this review helpful?

MBA UOP

Master of Business Administration - January 5, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think the most important thing you must consider as an adult learner is time. Does a regular campus program fit into your scehdule? For myself I did not want to stop or put aside a job for education, so an online program from University of Phoenix was perfect. I found the program a great and challenging program that had very knowledgable instructors that understood the challenges of adult learners. I am happy with the program and likely to attend UOP for future education.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Master of Business Administration - December 30, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in January 07 with an MBA from the UOP. It was a long three years as the work is very difficult and time consuming, but so worth it. I think I am still having dreams of all of the research papers I had to write. I enjoyed every class and every learning team. Masters programs by their very nature need to challenge the student on every academic level. If they were easy, anyone would do it, only the best of the best will finish. I would encourage anyone contemplating earning their MBA degree to do allot of research. I researched many schools and decided on UOP due to their accreditations and their structure. Do not take this lightly and do not rush it, it is a commitment not only for you but for your family as well. You will spend many late nights in front of your computer doing your work and interacting with your class/teammates. Online degrees have taken some criticism, but things that are not fully understood typically do. I received my BS in Management degree at a traditional ground campus and after my online experience my opinion is earning an online degree is actually more difficult that earning a degree from a traditional ground campus. You have virtually no support base except for your family, so I think those that earn their MBA's online have even more wherewithal. I am a big fan of education, but it must be earned. I have heard of some online programs giving favorable grades if you show up and submit your work on time. UOP has very strict rules and guidelines regarding this in their Masters level program, the work must satisfy all academic criteria. GPA's must stay above 3.0 or you are on academic probation. Cost is high but so is the level and respect of the degree.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good Education Exist Here

Master of Business Administration - June 22, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you have the capacity to learn; you only need the desire/money (money can be found in grants and government student loans). UOP delivers excellent resources and knowledgeable educators to the students. Most of the individuals I have heard /read complaining about UOP never finished the program. The university delivers a good program that is the sum of its parts. By the end of the UOP program, most individuals are washed from the system due to the inherently difficult process experienced in attaining a degree. If I was only exposed to a fraction of the classes of the full degree, I would probably feel disgruntled. Yet within the full scope of the degree, I believe the education delivered in the degree is worth the money spent. Good luck with your choice of education.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

3 classes left

Master of Business Administration - October 2, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pro 1.I think that this is a good program. There is a lot of reading and writing involved, group work and research..... 2.The text books used are the same ones used by a local state school here in IL. 3.The problems people had with outlook express should be squashed now that UoP has a new blackboard program. 4.The teachers are as good as any I had at state schools Con 1. I would like to see them do less marketing or somthing to improve what people think about them in general......

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.